

Chair

Mary Kunesh 95 University Ave W St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 296-4334 sen.mary.kunesh@mnsenate.gov

Vice Chair

Heather Gustafson

Ranking Minority Member

Jason Rarick

Members

Steve A. Cwodzinski Robert D. Farnsworth Michael E. Kreun Eric Lucero Erin K. Maye Quade Clare Oumou Verbeten Bonnie S. Westlin

Committee Staff:

Committee Administrator

Sami Rajab (651) 296-3350 sami.rajab@mnsenate.gov

Committee Legislative Assistant

Emma Zellmer (651) 296-4334 emma.zellmer@mnsenate.gov

Research

Ryan Majerus (DFL) Ed Cook (R)

Senate Counsel

Ann Marie Lewis

Legislative Analyst

Bjorn Arneson

Fiscal Analyst

Jenna Hofer

Minnesota Education Finance Committee

Tuesday, April 16, 2024 8:30 a.m. Room 1150

Agenda

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Overview of Senator Kunesh's S.F. 5252 A-4
- 3. Public testimony
 - i. Testifiers
 - 1. Willie Jett, Commissioner at the Minnesota Department of Education
 - 2. Priscilla Mayowa, Director at the Minnesota Alliance with Youth
 - 3. Brent Domstrand, Principal Lake Marion Elementary (Lakeview) (MESPA)
 - 4. Jenny Kelly, Principal, St. Michael Middle School East (MASSP)
 - 5. Matt Shaver, Policy Director, EdAllies
 - 6. Amy Anderson, Executive Director of the Center for youth voice
 - 7. Justin Killian, PhD, Education Issues Specialist, Education Minnesota
 - 8. Sarah Burt, Lobbyist, Education Minnesota
 - 9. Denise Dittrich, Minnesota School Boards Association
 - 10. Sara Gangelhoff, Advocacy and Community Relations Manager, Girl Scouts River Valleys
 - 11. Sarah Florman, MNCASA
 - 12. Janett Jimenez of the Young Women's Cabinet
 - 13. Julia Quanrud, CEO, ServeMinnesota
 - Scott Croonquist, Executive Director, Association of Metropolitan School Districts
 - 15. Valerie Dosland, MASA
 - 16. Joey Cienian, Executive Director of Minnesota Association of Charter Schools
 - 17. Jim Grathwol, SPPS
- 4. Adjournment

Minnesota Education Finance Committee