

MINNESOTA ASSOCIATION OF SCHOOL ADMINISTRATORS

Region 7 • Districts 27/28



Senator Mary Kunesh Chair, Senate Education Finance Committee 95 University Avenue W. Minnesota Senate Bldg., Room 3209 St. Paul, MN 55155 Representative Cheryl Youakim Chair, House Education Finance Committee 443 State Office Building * St. Paul, MN 55155

SENT VIA EMAIL

April 8, 2024

RE: Seasonal/Recreational Property Tax Replacement Aid –SF 4995/HF 4986 Letter of Support from Northeastern Minnesota School Superintendents

Dear Chairs Kunesh and Youakim; committee members:

As school superintendents in Northern Minnesota facing a funding crisis in our schools, we strongly urge you to pass SF 4995/HF 4986 (Hauschild, Lislegard).

There are 92 rural school districts without an operating levy, and all of them are in Greater Minnesota. Despite historic investments last year, districts across northeastern Minnesota are experiencing the compounding effect of historic underfunding of education and projecting cutting budgets and staff. Due to lower tax base in greater Minnesota, our districts watch from the sidelines as Metro counterparts pass referendum after referendum to support schools. Recent operating levy referendum failures across northeastern Minnesota have sent a chilling effect through our regional communities desperately needing tools to get to "yes". Many have given up hope of trying to generate the necessary funds for their districts.

Current school operating levy dollars on seasonal/recreational property are directed to the state business levy, not the school district. This bill creates a new tool where districts are allowed to redirect local property tax dollars back to the school district from where it was generated. For these districts, especially those who currently have a levy, this will mean immediate savings for homeowners and commercial/industrial properties in the district.

We are extremely grateful that bill authors Senator Hauschild and Representative Lislegard are tackling this disparity between rural and urban schools and are embracing this new solution. Please help us direct our local dollars toward delivering on the promise of a uniform system of public instruction for Minnesota students and pass SF 4995/HF 4986 to give our schools a fighting chance.

Sincerely,

/S/

Northeastern Minnesota School Superintendents



MINNESOTA ASSOCIATION OF SCHOOL ADMINISTRATORS

Region 7 • Districts 27/28



Richard Aldrich, Superintendent, ISD 701, Hibbing

Jay Belcastro, Superintendent, ISD 381, Lake Superior

Dr. Jeff Burgess, Superintendent, ISD 2711, Mesabi East

Dr. Matt Grose, Superintendent, ISD 318, Grand Rapids

Kevin Grover, Superintendent, ISD361, International Falls

Dr. Reggie Ingebritsen, Superintendent, ISD 2142, St. Louis County Schools & ISD 712 Mountin Iron-Buhl

Chris Lindholm, Superintendent, ISD 166, Cook County

Anne Oelke, Superintendent, ISD 696, Ely

David Pace, Superintendent, ISD 316, Greenway

Dr. Rae Villebrun, Superintendent, ISD 319, Nashwauk-Keewatin

Pat Rendle, Superintendent, ISD 317, Deer River

Dr. Noel Schmidt, Superintendent, ISD 2909, Rock Ridge

Dr. Jamie Skjeveland, Superintendent, ISD 182, Crosby-Ironton

Dan Stifter, Superintendent, ISD 1, Aitkin

Approved 4/5/24 by Board Resolution

Sent via email

cc: Range Delegation

House Education Finance Committee Senate Education Finance Committee

Rep. Aisha Gomez, Chair, House Tax Committee

MASA Districts 27/28 – Region 7

Chair: Superintendent Dr. Jeff Burgess, Mesabi East, <u>jburgess@isd2711.org</u> Chair Elect: Superintendent Adam Johnson, Hill City, <u>ajohnson@isd002.org</u>

Secretary: Superintendent Dr. Rae Villebrun, Nashwauk-Keewatin, rvillebrun@isd319.org

Treasurer: Executive Director Cindy Olson, ARCC, cindylee@arcc.org

Member Districts (serving the Iron Range and northeastern Minnesota):

Aitkin, Chisholm, Deer River, Ely, Floodwood, Grand Rapids, Greenway, Hibbing, Hill City, IASC, International Falls, Littlefork/Big Falls, Mesabi East, Mountain Iron-Buhl, Nashwauk-Keewatin, Nett lake, Northland Community Schools, Northland Learning Center, Rock Ridge, St. Louis County Schools.