

Chair

Mary Kunesh 95 University Ave W St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 296-4334 sen.mary.kunesh@mnsenate.gov

Vice Chair Heather Gustafson

Ranking Minority Member Jason Rarick

Members

Steve A. Cwodzinski Robert D. Farnsworth Michael E. Kreun Eric Lucero Erin K. Maye Quade Clare Oumou Verbeten Bonnie S. Westlin

Committee Staff:

Committee Administrator Sami Rajab (651) 296-3350 sami.rajab@mnsenate.gov

Committee Legislative Assistant

Emma Zellmer (651) 296-4334 emma.zellmer@mnsenate.gov

Research

Ryan Majerus (DFL) Ed Cook (R)

Senate Counsel Ann Marie Lewis

Legislative Analyst Bjorn Arneson

Fiscal Analyst Jenna Hofer

Minnesota Education Finance Committee

Tuesday, April 9, 2024 8:30 a.m. Room 1150

<u>Agenda</u>

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Senator Kunesh's S.F. 5252
 - i. Testifiers
 - 1. Willie Jett, Commissioner of Education
 - 2. Adosh Unni, Director of Government Relations, Minnesota Department of Education
- 3. E12-Related Provisions in Public Finance Bill
 - i. Testifiers
 - 1. Joseph T. Bagnoli, Lobbyist
 - 2. Rhonda Skoby, Public Finance Attorney, Dorsey Law Firm
- 4. Senator Kunesh's S.F. 3860
 - i. Testifiers
 - 1. Michelle Higgins, Executive Director, Rebuilding the Village
 - 2. Zeke Jackson, Executive Director, People for PSEO
 - 3. Jerry Von Korff, Attorney
 - 4. Brad Jensen, President, MAAP
- 5. Senator Westlin's S.F. 4293
 - i. Testifiers
 - 1. Troy Hoehn, Minnesota Athletic Trainers' Association
 - 2. Roger J. Aronson, on behalf of School Principals and others
 - 3. Paul Weirtz, State Government Relations Director, American Heart Association
 - 4. Dale Wakasugi, Proprietor, MY AED and CPR Solutions
- 6. Senator Cwodzinski's S.F. 4907
 - i. Testifiers
 - 1. John Choi, Ramsey County Attorney
 - 2. Christine Tucci Osorio, Superintended, North St. Paul-Maplewood-Oakdale
 - 3. Brenda Lewis, Superintendent, Fridley School District
 - 4. Zena Stenvick, Superintendent, Columbia Heights School District
 - 5. Lucia Guillen, Check & Connect, Minneapolis Public Schools

Minnesota Education Finance Committee

- 6. Nona Champion, 9th Grade, Roosevelt High School
- 7. Ayaniah (Yani) Hernandez-Mata, 10th Grade, Roosevelt High School
- 8. Matt Shaver, Policy Director, EdAllies
- 7. Senator Farnsworth's S.F. 4805
 - a. Testifiers
 - i. Richard Aldrich, Superintendent, Hibbing Public Schools
 - ii. Kim McLaughlin, School Board Member, Hibbing Public Schools
- 8. Senator Hauschild's S.F. 4995
 - a. Testifiers
 - i. Jay Belcastro, Superintendent of Lake Superior Schools
 - ii. Kim Johnson, School Business Manager for St. Louis County Schools
 - iii. Christopher Belanger, Industrial Technology teacher from Lake County
 - iv. Chad Benesh, Teacher, Cook County Schools
- 9. Adjournment