
1.1 Senator .................... moves to amend S.F. No. 1318 as follows:​

1.2 Page 1, after line 9, insert:​

1.3 "Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 121A.642, subdivision 1, is​

1.4 amended to read:​

1.5 Subdivision 1. Training required. A school district or charter school must provide a​

1.6 minimum of eight 16 hours of paid orientation or professional development annually to all​

1.7 paraprofessionals, Title I aides, and other instructional support staff. Six of the eight 16​

1.8 hours must be completed before the first instructional day of the school year or within 30​

1.9 days of hire. The orientation or professional development must be relevant to the employee's​

1.10 occupation and may include collaboration time with classroom teachers and planning for​

1.11 the school year. For paraprofessionals who provide direct support to students, at least 50​

1.12 percent of the professional development or orientation must be dedicated to meeting the​

1.13 requirements of this section. Professional development for paraprofessionals may also​

1.14 address the requirements of section 120B.363, subdivision 3. A school administrator must​

1.15 provide an annual certification of compliance with this requirement to the commissioner.​

1.16 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024."​

1.17 Page 3, delete section 4 and insert:​

1.18 "Sec. 5. [126C.38] MINIMUM WAGE RATE AID.​

1.19 Subdivision 1. Minimum wage. Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, a school​

1.20 district or charter school must pay the following employees wages at a rate of at least $25​

1.21 per hour:​

1.22 (1) paraprofessionals, Title I aides, and other instructional support staff;​

1.23 (2) food service employees;​

1.24 (3) bus drivers; and​

1.25 (4) other employees who do not have a license issued by the Professional Educator​

1.26 Licensing and Standards Board or the Board of School Administrators, and who work at​

1.27 least 14 hours per week and 100 workdays per year in one position.​

1.28 Subd. 2. Minimum wage aid. (a) A school district or charter school's minimum wage​

1.29 aid equals $....... times the ratio of each district or charter school's total number of qualifying​

1.30 staff for the previous year to the statewide total number of qualifying staff for the previous​

1.31 year.​
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2.1 (b) For purposes of this section, "qualifying staff" means:​

2.2 (1) paraprofessionals, Title I aides, and other instructional support staff;​

2.3 (2) food service employees;​

2.4 (3) bus drivers; and​

2.5 (4) other employees who do not have a license issued by the Professional Educator​

2.6 Licensing and Standards Board or the Board of School Administrators.​

2.7 (c) A qualifying staff must work at an average of least 14 hours per week and 100​

2.8 workdays per school year in one position.​

2.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for the 2024–2025 school year and later."​

2.10 Page 6, line 23, delete "Nonlicensed school personnel" and insert "Minimum wage rate​

2.11 aid" and delete everything after "For" and insert "minimum wage rate aid under Minnesota​

2.12 Statutes, section 126C.38:"​

2.13 Page 6, delete line 24​

2.14 Renumber the sections in sequence​

2.15 Amend the title accordingly​
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