Minnesota State Senate

Education Finance Committee
Thursday, February 29, 2024
8:30 AM, 1150 Minnesota Senate Bldg.

Minutes

<u>Present</u>: Senator Mary K. Kunesh - Chair, Senator Heather Gustafson - Vice Chair, Senator Steve A. Cwodzinski, Senator Robert D. Farnsworth, Senator Michael E. Kreun, Senator Eric Lucero, Senator Erin K. Maye Quade, Senator Clare Oumou Verbeten, Senator Jason Rarick, Senator Bonnie S. Westlin

Absent: No Members Absent

Senator Mary K. Kunesh called the meeting to order at 8:34am.

S.F. 3770: Senator Wiklund: Department of Children, Youth and Families statutory infrastructure establishment.

Senator Wiklund presented S.F. 3770

Senate Counsel Alyssa Hoffman Litchy describes S.F.3770

Senate Fiscal Analyst Jenna Hofer describes the A-24 amendment to S.F. 3770

Senator Kunesh moved the A-24 amendment to S.F. 3770 MOTION PREVAILED

Senator Cwodzinski moved that S.F. 3770, as amended, be recommended to pass. - MOTION PREVAILED.

Library presentations

The following individuals testified on Library presentations:

Rachel Osborne, Library Media Specialist, Saint Paul Public Schools; Rachel Haider, Library Media Specialist, Hastings Public Schools; Bethany Kauffman, Executive Director, Prairielands Library Exchange; Liz Lynch, Executive Director Lake Agassiz Regional Library; Jami Trenam, Associate Director of Collection Development, Great River Regional Library; Margaret Stone, Director, Dakota County Library; Alayne Hopkins, Senior Director of Programs and Services, Minnesota Center for the Book; Sarah Hawkins, Assistant Director, Anoka County Library; Gina Drellack, Education Services Coordinator. Northwest Service Cooperative; Sheri Levasseur, K-12 School Librarian, Pequot Lakes School District

School Trust Land presentation

The following individuals testified on School Trust Land presentation: Aaron Cande Linde, Director, Minnesota Office of School Trust Lands

S.F. 2959: Senator Mohamed: Students writing skills improvement grant authorization and appropriation.

Not heard.

Call to Order

The meeting was adjourned at 10:18am.

Senator Mary K. Kunesh, Chair

Emma Zellmer, Committee Administrator