
1.1 Senator .................... moves to amend S.F. No. 5326 as follows:​

1.2 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:​

1.3 "ARTICLE 1​

1.4 HIGHER EDUCATION APPROPRIATIONS​

1.5 Section 1. Laws 2022, chapter 42, section 2, is amended to read:​

1.6 Sec. 2. APPROPRIATION; ALS RESEARCH.​

1.7 (a) $20,000,000 $396,000 in fiscal year 2023 is appropriated from the general fund to​

1.8 the commissioner of the Office of Higher Education to award competitive grants to applicants​

1.9 for research into amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS). The commissioner may work with​

1.10 the Minnesota Department of Health to administer the grant program, including identifying​

1.11 clinical and translational research and innovations, developing outcomes and objectives​

1.12 with the goal of bettering the lives of individuals with ALS and finding a cure for the disease,​

1.13 and application review and grant recipient selection. Not more than $400,000 may be used​

1.14 by the commissioner to administer the grant program. This is a onetime appropriation.​

1.15 Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.28, unencumbered balances under this​

1.16 section do not cancel until June 30, 2026.​

1.17 (b) $19,604,000 in fiscal year 2024 is appropriated from the general fund to the​

1.18 commissioner of the Office of Higher Education to award competitive grants to applicants​

1.19 for research into amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS). The commissioner may work with​

1.20 the Minnesota Department of Health to administer the grant program, including identifying​

1.21 clinical and translational research and innovations, developing outcomes and objectives​

1.22 with the goal of bettering the lives of individuals with ALS and finding a cure for the disease,​

1.23 and application review and grant recipient selection. Up to $15,000,000 may be used by the​

1.24 commissioner for grants to the Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis Association, Never Surrender,​

1.25 or other similar organizations to award and administer a competitive grant to applicants for​

1.26 research into ALS under this section. This is a onetime appropriation. Notwithstanding​

1.27 Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.28, unencumbered balances under this section do not cancel​

1.28 until June 30, 2029.​

1.29 (b) (c) Grants shall be awarded to support clinical and translational research related to​

1.30 ALS. Research topics may include but are not limited to environmental factors, disease​

1.31 mechanisms, disease models, biomarkers, drug development, clinical studies, precision​

1.32 medicine, medical devices, assistive technology, and cognitive studies.​

1​Article 1 Section 1.​
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2.1 (c) (d) Eligible applicants for the grants are research facilities, universities, and health​

2.2 systems located in Minnesota. Applicants must submit proposals to the commissioner in​

2.3 the time, form, and manner established by the commissioner. Applicants may coordinate​

2.4 research endeavors and submit a joint application. When reviewing the proposals, the​

2.5 commissioner shall make an effort to avoid approving a grant for an applicant whose research​

2.6 is duplicative of an existing grantee's research.​

2.7 (d) (e) Beginning January 15, 2023, and annually thereafter until January 15, 2027 2030,​

2.8 the commissioner shall submit a report to the legislature specifying the applicants receiving​

2.9 grants under this section, the amount of each grant, the purposes for which the grant funds​

2.10 were used, and the amount of the appropriation that is unexpended. The report must also​

2.11 include relevant findings, results, and outcomes of the grant program, and any other​

2.12 information which the commissioner deems significant or useful.​

2.13 (e) This is a onetime appropriation. Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.28,​

2.14 unencumbered balances under this section do not cancel until June 30, 2026.​

2.15 Sec. 2. Laws 2023, chapter 41, article 1, section 4, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

676,294,000​686,558,000​2.16 Subd. 2. Operations and Maintenance​

2.17 (a) $15,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 and​

2.18 $15,000,000 in fiscal year 2025 are to: (1)​

2.19 increase the medical school's research​

2.20 capacity; (2) improve the medical school's​

2.21 ranking in National Institutes of Health​

2.22 funding; (3) ensure the medical school's​

2.23 national prominence by attracting and​

2.24 retaining world-class faculty, staff, and​

2.25 students; (4) invest in physician training​

2.26 programs in rural and underserved​

2.27 communities; and (5) translate the medical​

2.28 school's research discoveries into new​

2.29 treatments and cures to improve the health of​

2.30 Minnesotans.​

2.31 (b) $7,800,000 in fiscal year 2024 and​

2.32 $7,800,000 in fiscal year 2025 are for health​

2.33 training restoration. This appropriation must​

2.34 be used to support all of the following: (1)​

2​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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3.1 faculty physicians who teach at eight residency​

3.2 program sites, including medical resident and​

3.3 student training programs in the Department​

3.4 of Family Medicine; (2) the Mobile Dental​

3.5 Clinic; and (3) expansion of geriatric​

3.6 education and family programs.​

3.7 (c) $4,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 and​

3.8 $4,000,000 in fiscal year 2025 are for the​

3.9 Minnesota Discovery, Research, and​

3.10 InnoVation Economy funding program for​

3.11 cancer care research.​

3.12 (d) $500,000 in fiscal year 2024 and $500,000​

3.13 in fiscal year 2025 are for the University of​

3.14 Minnesota, Morris branch, to cover the costs​

3.15 of tuition waivers under Minnesota Statutes,​

3.16 section 137.16.​

3.17 (e) $5,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 and​

3.18 $5,000,000 in fiscal year 2025 are for​

3.19 systemwide safety and security measures on​

3.20 University of Minnesota campuses. The base​

3.21 amount for this appropriation is $1,000,000​

3.22 in fiscal year 2026 and later.​

3.23 (f) $366,000 in fiscal year 2024 and $366,000​

3.24 in fiscal year 2025 are for unemployment​

3.25 insurance aid under Minnesota Statutes,​

3.26 section 268.193.​

3.27 (g) $10,000,000 the first year is for programs​

3.28 at the University of Minnesota Medical School​

3.29 Campus on the CentraCare Health System​

3.30 Campus in St. Cloud. This appropriation may​

3.31 be used for tuition support, a residency​

3.32 program, a rural health research program, a​

3.33 program to target scholarships to students from​

3.34 diverse backgrounds, and a scholarship​

3​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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4.1 program targeted at students who will practice​

4.2 in rural areas including a scholarship​

4.3 endowment fund targeted at students who will​

4.4 practice in rural areas and targeted at students​

4.5 from diverse backgrounds; costs associated​

4.6 with opening and operating a new regional​

4.7 campus; costs associated with the expansion​

4.8 of a residency program; and costs associated​

4.9 with starting and operating a rural health​

4.10 research program. This appropriation is​

4.11 available until June 30, 2027, and must be​

4.12 spent on for activities on or associated with​

4.13 the CentraCare Health System Campus in the​

4.14 greater St. Cloud area. This is a onetime​

4.15 appropriation.​

4.16 (h) $374,000 the first year and $110,000 the​

4.17 second year are to pay the cost of supplies and​

4.18 equipment necessary to provide access to​

4.19 menstrual products for purposes of article 2,​

4.20 section 2.​

4.21 (i) The total operations and maintenance base​

4.22 for fiscal year 2026 and later is $672,294,000.​

4.23 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

4.24 Sec. 3. APPROPRIATION; KIDS ON CAMPUS INITIATIVE.​

4.25 $500,000 in fiscal year 2025 is appropriated from the general fund to the Board of​

4.26 Trustees of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities to participate in the Kids on​

4.27 Campus initiative with the National Head Start Association and the Association of​

4.28 Community College Trustees. This appropriation may be used for a temporary statewide​

4.29 project coordinator, stipends to parenting students, engaging with local Head Start programs,​

4.30 and for other costs associated with creating campus Head Start partnerships. The duties of​

4.31 the temporary statewide project coordinator include assessing the feasibility of partnerships​

4.32 between Minnesota State Colleges and Universities campuses and Head Start programs​

4.33 across the state, consulting with the Minnesota Head Start Association and existing Head​

4.34 Start partnership programs to develop best practices, working with campus-based navigators​

4​Article 1 Sec. 3.​
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5.1 for parenting students to provide resources for financial aid and basic needs support to Head​

5.2 Start programs, and developing strategies to grow the early childhood care and education​

5.3 workforce through partnerships between Head Start programs and early childhood degree​

5.4 and certificate programs. This is a onetime appropriation and is available until June 30,​

5.5 2026.​

5.6 ARTICLE 2​

5.7 HIGHER EDUCATION POLICY​

5.8 Section 1. [135A.062] CONSIDERATION OF CRIMINAL RECORDS LIMITED.​

5.9 Subdivision 1. Applicability. This section applies to postsecondary institutions under​

5.10 section 136A.155, except the Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota is requested​

5.11 to comply with this section.​

5.12 Subd. 2. Definition. As used in this section "a violent felony or sexual assault" includes​

5.13 a felony-level violation or attempted violation of section 609.185; 609.19; 609.195; 609.20;​

5.14 609.221; 609.2242, subdivision 4; 609.2247; 609.245, subdivision 1; 609.247, subdivision​

5.15 2; 609.282; 609.322; 609.342; 609.343; 609.344; 609.345; 609.3451; 609.3458; 609.561,​

5.16 subdivision 1 or 2; 609.582, subdivision 1; 609.66, subdivision 1e; or 609.749.​

5.17 Subd. 3. Consideration of criminal records limited. A postsecondary institution may​

5.18 not inquire into, consider, or require disclosure of the criminal record or criminal history​

5.19 of an applicant for admission. After a postsecondary institution has made an offer of​

5.20 admission, the postsecondary institution may inquire into, consider, or require disclosure​

5.21 of a conviction that occurred within the previous five years for a violent felony or sexual​

5.22 assault. The postsecondary institution must provide the applicant with an opportunity to​

5.23 submit an explanatory statement, letters of recommendation, evidence of rehabilitation, and​

5.24 any other supporting documents. The institution must provide clear and detailed instructions​

5.25 and guidance to applicants related to what criminal history requires disclosure. The institution​

5.26 must not require the applicant to provide official records of criminal history. A postsecondary​

5.27 institution that rescinds an offer of admission must:​

5.28 (1) provide an explanation of the basis for the decision to rescind the offer of admission;​

5.29 and​

5.30 (2) provide the applicant with an opportunity to appeal the decision to rescind.​

5.31 Subd. 4. Other information. This section shall not prohibit or limit a postsecondary​

5.32 institution from inquiring about student conduct records at the applicant's prior postsecondary​

5.33 institution after making an offer of admission. This section shall not prohibit or limit a​

5​Article 2 Section 1.​
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6.1 postsecondary institution from inquiring about a student's ability to meet licensure​

6.2 requirements in a professional program after making an offer of admission.​

6.3 Subd. 5. Limitation on admissibility. (a) A postsecondary institution that complies​

6.4 with this section is immune from liability in a civil action arising out of the institution's​

6.5 decision to admit a student with a criminal history or the institution's failure to conduct a​

6.6 criminal background check.​

6.7 (b) Nothing in this section creates or establishes a legal duty upon a postsecondary​

6.8 institution to inquire into or require disclosure of the criminal history or criminal convictions​

6.9 of a student or an applicant for admission.​

6.10 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.69, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

6.11 Subdivision 1. Registration fees. (a) The office shall collect reasonable registration fees​

6.12 that are sufficient to recover, but do not exceed, its costs of administering the registration​

6.13 program. The office shall charge the fees listed in paragraphs (b) and (c) to (d) for new​

6.14 registrations.​

6.15 (b) A new school offering no more than one degree at each level during its first year​

6.16 must pay registration fees for each applicable level in the following amounts:​

$2,000​6.17 associate degree​

$2,500​6.18 baccalaureate degree​

$3,000​6.19 master's degree​

$3,500​6.20 doctorate degree​

6.21 (c) A new school that will offer more than one degree per level during its first year must​

6.22 pay registration fees in an amount equal to the fee for the first degree at each degree level​

6.23 under paragraph (b), plus fees for each additional nondegree program or degree as follows:​

$250​6.24 nondegree program​

$250​6.25 additional associate degree​

$500​6.26 additional baccalaureate degree​

$750​6.27 additional master's degree​

$1,000​6.28 additional doctorate degree​

6.29 (d) In addition to the fees under paragraphs (b) and (c), a fee of $600 must be paid for​

6.30 an initial application that: (1) has had four revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or​

6.31 application reminders for the same application or registration requirement; or (2) cumulatively​

6.32 has had six revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or application reminders for the​

6.33 same license application and the school seeks to continue with the application process with​

6​Article 2 Sec. 2.​
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7.1 additional application submissions. If this fee is paid, the school may submit two final​

7.2 application submissions for review prior to application denial under section 136A.65,​

7.3 subdivision 8. This provision excludes from its scope any initial process or interpretation​

7.4 questions or inquiries, initiated by the school, which do not necessitate substantial staff​

7.5 effort to review amendments or corrections, or when the office requests initial verification​

7.6 or validation of a completed application.​

7.7 (d) (e) The annual renewal registration fee is $1,500.​

7.8 (f) In addition to the fee under paragraph (e), a fee of $600 must be paid for a renewal​

7.9 application that: (1) has had four revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or application​

7.10 reminders for the same application or registration requirement; or (2) cumulatively has had​

7.11 six revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or application reminders for the same license​

7.12 application and the school seeks to continue with the application process with additional​

7.13 application submissions. If this fee is paid, the school may submit two final application​

7.14 submissions for review prior to application denial under section 136A.65, subdivision 8.​

7.15 This provision excludes from its scope any initial process or interpretation questions or​

7.16 inquiries, initiated by the school, which do not necessitate substantial staff effort to review​

7.17 amendments or corrections, or when the office requests initial verification or validation of​

7.18 a completed application.​

7.19 Sec. 3. [136A.786] INCARCERATED STUDENT AID BORROWERS.​

7.20 The commissioner of corrections shall collect information upon intake about incarcerated​

7.21 persons who have self-identified as federal student aid borrowers. The commissioner of​

7.22 corrections shall relay this information to the commissioner of higher education. The​

7.23 commissioner of corrections, in consultation with the commissioner of higher education,​

7.24 shall develop a plan by December 1, 2024, to assist incarcerated persons in enrolling in a​

7.25 federal income-driven repayment plan in which there are no monthly payments or accrual​

7.26 of interest for borrowers with earnings below the federal poverty guidelines.​

7.27 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.824, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

7.28 Subdivision 1. Initial licensure fee. (a) The office processing fee for an initial licensure​

7.29 application is:​

7.30 (1) $2,500 for a private career school that will offer no more than one program during​

7.31 its first year of operation;​

7​Article 2 Sec. 4.​
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8.1 (2) $750 for a private career school licensed exclusively due to the use of the term​

8.2 "college," "university," "academy," or "institute" in its name, or licensed exclusively in​

8.3 order to participate in state grant or SELF loan financial aid programs; and​

8.4 (3) $2,500, plus $500 for each additional program offered by the private career school,​

8.5 for a private career school during its first year of operation.​

8.6 (b) In addition to the fee under paragraph (a), a fee of $600 must be paid for an initial​

8.7 application that: (1) has had four revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or application​

8.8 reminders for the same application or licensure requirement; or (2) cumulatively has had​

8.9 six revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or application reminders for the same license​

8.10 application and the private career school seeks to continue with the application process with​

8.11 additional application submissions. If this fee is paid, the private career school may submit​

8.12 two final application submissions for review prior to application denial under section​

8.13 136A.829, subdivision 1, clause (2). This provision excludes from its scope any initial​

8.14 process or interpretation questions or inquiries, initiated by the school, which do not​

8.15 necessitate substantial staff effort to review amendments or corrections, or when the office​

8.16 requests initial verification or validation of a completed application.​

8.17 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.824, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

8.18 Subd. 2. Renewal licensure fee; late fee. (a) The office processing fee for a renewal​

8.19 licensure application is:​

8.20 (1) for a private career school that offers one program, the license renewal fee is $1,150;​

8.21 (2) for a private career school that offers more than one program, the license renewal​

8.22 fee is $1,150, plus $200 for each additional program with a maximum renewal licensing​

8.23 fee of $2,000;​

8.24 (3) for a private career school licensed exclusively due to the use of the term "college,"​

8.25 "university," "academy," or "institute" in its name, the license renewal fee is $750; and​

8.26 (4) for a private career school licensed by another state agency and also licensed with​

8.27 the office exclusively in order to participate in state student aid programs, the license renewal​

8.28 fee is $750.​

8.29 (b) If a license renewal application is not received by the office by the close of business​

8.30 at least 60 days before the expiration of the current license, a late fee of $100 per business​

8.31 day, not to exceed $3,000, shall be assessed.​

8​Article 2 Sec. 5.​
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9.1 (c) In addition to the fee under paragraph (a), a fee of $600 must be paid for a renewal​

9.2 application that: (1) has had four revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or application​

9.3 reminders for the same application or licensure requirement; or (2) cumulatively has had​

9.4 six revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or application reminders for the same license​

9.5 application and the private career school seeks to continue with the application process with​

9.6 additional application submissions. If this fee is paid, the private career school may submit​

9.7 two final application submissions for review prior to application denial under section​

9.8 136A.829, subdivision 1, clause (2). This provision excludes from its scope any initial​

9.9 process or interpretation questions or inquiries, initiated by the school, which do not​

9.10 necessitate substantial staff effort to review amendments or corrections, or when the office​

9.11 requests initial verification or validation of a completed application.​

9.12 Sec. 6. [241.267] PRISON EDUCATION PARTNERSHIPS.​

9.13 The commissioner may not enter into an agreement or establish a prison education​

9.14 partnership with a higher education institution that:​

9.15 (1) is organized as a private for-profit postsecondary institution as described in section​

9.16 136A.62, subdivision 3, clause (2), item (ii); or​

9.17 (2) charges incarcerated students a higher per-credit rate than the rate for nonincarcerated​

9.18 students.​

9.19 Sec. 7. [244.60] SUPERVISED RELEASE EMPLOYMENT REQUIREMENT;​

9.20 POSTSECONDARY EDUCATION.​

9.21 If the commissioner of corrections imposes a requirement on a person placed on​

9.22 supervised release that the person work or be employed, the commissioner shall provide​

9.23 that enrollment and participation in postsecondary education satisfies this requirement.​

9.24 Sec. 8. REPEALER.​

9.25 Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 241.265; and 609B.311, are repealed."​

9.26 Amend the title accordingly​

9​Article 2 Sec. 8.​
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