

PINE COUNTY

Administrator's Office

635 Northridge Drive NW Suite 200 Pine City, MN 55063 1-800-450-7463 Ext. 1620 Fax: 320-591-1628 **Commissioners**

Steve Hallan – Dist. 1 Josh Mohr – Dist. 2

Terry Lovgren – Dist. 3

J.J. Waldhalm – Dist. 4 Matt Ludwig – Dist. 5

County Administrator

David J. Minke

August 7, 2023

Bryan Wood, Executive Director Osprey Wilds Environmental Learning Center 54165 Audubon Dr. Sandstone, MN 55072

Re: Letter of Support for Outdoor School for All Minnesotans

Dear Mr. Wood:

I am writing on behalf of the Pine County Board of Commissioners who, on August 1, 2023 approved Resolution 2023-41, A Resolution In Support of Legislation for the Proposed Outdoor School for All Minnesota.

Beginning first as the Audubon Center of the North Woods and continuing as the Osprey Wilds Environmental Learning Center, the center has been a leader in environmental education since the 1970's. Pine County is proud of the impact the center has had on the local community and the entire region and supports the proposed legislation for the Outdoor School for All Minnesotans.

Sincerely,

Stephen M. Hallan, Chair

Pine County Board of Commissioners

SMH/dg

Resolution 2023-41 of the Pine County Board of Commissioners

A Resolution In Support of Legislation for the Proposed Outdoor School for All Minnesota

WHEREAS, Minnesota is home to five accredited outdoor schools, including the Osprey Wilds Environmental Learning Center in Pine County; and

WHEREAS, Minnesota has a rich outdoor heritage and ethic, and prides itself on its close connection to nature through outdoor recreation, appreciation, and conservation; and

WHEREAS, all Minnesotans benefit from education in environment-related subjects.

Now, Therefore, Be It Resolved that Pine County supports the Osprey Wilds Environmental Learning Center in its pursue of legislation to provide an opportunity for all Minnesota students in grades 4 to 8 to attend an accredited overnight outdoor school.

Approved this 1st day of August, 2023, Pine County, Minnesota.

Stephen M. Hallan, Chair

County Board of Commissioners

David J. Minke, Administrator

Clerk to Board of Commissioners