

Minnesota Environment, Climate, & Legacy Committee

March 26, 2024 3:00 p.m. MSB 1150

Agenda

Chair

Foung Hawj 3231 University Ave W St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 296-5285 Sen.foung.hawj@mnsenate.gov

Vice Chair

Jennifer McEwen

Ranking Minority Member

Justin Eichorn

Members

Steve Green
Grant Hauschild
John Hoffman
Mary Kunesh
Andrew Lang
Kelly Morrison
Nathan Wesenberg

Committee Staff:

Committee Administrator

Kära Josephson (651) 296-7891

Kara.josephson@ mnsenate.gov

Committee Legislative Assistant-Chair

Maikao Vue (651) 296-5285

Maikao.vue@ mnsenate.gov

Committee Legislative Assistant-Vice Chair

Jack Fischer

Research

Cassie Tommerdahl (D) Greg Exley (R)

Senate Counsel

Ben Stanley

Fiscal Analyst

Dan Mueller

Committee Pages

CJ Larson Mikayla Hartje

Olivia Mack-Wiederanders

1. Call to Order

2. SF 3444 (Gustafson) Nonlethal beaver management grant program establishment and appropriation

- o Mark Herwig, Citizen, Conservationist
- o Pat Rivers, Deputy Director, DNR Fish and Wildlife
- o Graham Berg-Moberg, Staff Attorney, MN Assoc. of Townships (MAT)
- 3. SF 3527 (Gustafson) Manure management grants appropriation
- o Carly Griffith, MN Center For Environmental Advocacy
- o John Lenczewski, MN Trout Unlimited
- 4. SF 4850 (Morrison) State agency salt purchases report and reduction goal requirement
- 5. SF 3869 (Eichorn) Installation of permeable synthetic turf added to best management practices to control stormwater runoff provision
- o Troy Johnson, VP, ForeverLawn
- o Linda Warner, Community Member, St. Paul Resident
- o Tom Johnson, MN Pollution Control Agency (MPCA)
- o Avonna Starck, State Director, Clean Water Action
- o Becky Wardell Gaertner, Coalition for Plastic Reduction
- 6. Adjourn