

#### *Chair* Foung Hawj 3231 University Ave W St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 296-5285 Sen.foung.hawj@mnsenate.gov

*Vice Chair* Jennifer McEwen

### **Ranking Minority Member** Justin Eichorn

#### Members

Steve Green Grant Hauschild John Hoffman Mary Kunesh Andrew Lang Kelly Morrison Nathan Wesenberg

### **Committee Staff:**

*Committee Administrator* Kära Josephson (651) 296-7891 Kara.josephson@ mnsenate.gov

### Committee Legislative

Assistant-Chair Maikao Vue (651) 296-5285 Maikao.vue@ mnsenate.gov

# Committee Legislative

Assistant-Vice Chair Jack Fischer

*Research* Cassie Tommerdahl (D) Greg Exley (R)

Senate Counsel Ben Stanley

*Fiscal Analyst* Dan Mueller

*Committee Pages* CJ Larson Mikayla Hartje Olivia Mack-Wiederanders

# Minnesota Environment, Climate, & Legacy Committee

March 7, 2024 3:00 p.m. MSB 1150

# <u>Agenda</u>

# 1. Call to Order

# 2. SF 4183 (Fateh) Environmental and public health considerations in comprehensive development guide requirement provision

- Peter Wagenius, Sierra Club North Star Chapter
- $\circ\,$  Peggy Sue Imihy Bean, MN Chapter of the American Planning Association
- Craig Johnson, League of MN Cities
- $\circ~$  Jack Perry, Environmental Lawyer
- $\circ~$  Jayda Pounds, North MPLS Resident and Environmental Advocate
- o Becca Aarons, MPLS Resident and Environmental Advocate
- $\circ~$  Kennedy Pounds, North MPLS Resident and Environmental Advocate
- $\circ~$  Tim Keane, Land Use Attorney and Minneapolis Resident
- o David Hartwell, Environmental Activist and Minneapolis Resident

# **3.** SF 4142 (Hawj) Aquatic farm licenses, taxidermy, game and fish possession, certain water designation, and elk management provisions modifications

- Pat Rivers, Deputy Director, Fish and Wildlife, DNR
- Tyler Winter, Native Fish for Tomorrow; Izaak Walton League of America-MN Division
- $\circ~$  Bruce Kleven, MN State Cattleman's Association
- o Kaitlyn Root, Executive Director, MN State Cattleman's Association

# 4. SF 4277 (Jasinski) French Lake water quality grant availability extension provision

# 5. SF 3751 (Hauschild) International Wolf Center of Ely appropriation

• Grant Spicklemeier, Executive Director, International Wolf Center of Ely

• Mayor Heidi Omerza, City of Ely

# 6. SF 3887 (Hawj) Minnesota Aquatic Invasive Species Research Center previous appropriation for a grant terms modification

#### 7. SF 3480 (Kunesh) White Earth State Forest land transfer to the White Earth Band of Minnesota Chippewa Tribe requirement; tax-forfeited land disposition modification; White Earth State Forest Elimination

- o Chairman Michael Fairbanks, White Earth Band of Ojibwe
- o Dustin Roy, Director, White Earth Department of Natural Resources
- Ray Higgins, MN Timber Producers Association
- Rick Horton, MN Forest Industries
- o Sheriff Todd Glander, Becker County
- o Barry Nelson, Becker County Commissioner
- o Richard Varberg, Becker County Commissioner
- David Geray, Mahnomen County Commissioner
- Craig Hall, Becker County Businessman
- Dave Vipond, Mahnomen County Farmer
- Bruce Cox, Clearwater County Land Commissioner
- Mark Titera, Clearwater County Commissioner
- Greg Sherzer, Long Lost Lake Township Chair
- Peter Eckhoff, Concerned Citizen
- o Leanna Goose, Forest Ecology Student
- o Lynn Lindow, Township Supervisor, Forest Township
- o Erica Jepson, Becker County Commissioner

### 8. Adjourn

### Minnesota Environment, Climate, & Legacy Committee