Minnesota State Senate

Environment, Climate, and Legacy Committee Tuesday, March 5, 2024 3:00 PM, 1150 Minnesota Senate Bldg.

Minutes

<u>Present</u>: Senator Foung Hawj - Chair, Senator Jennifer A. McEwen Vice Chair, Senator Justin D. Eichorn, Senator Steve Green, Senator Grant Hauschild, Senator John A. Hoffman, Senator Mary K. Kunesh, Senator Andrew R. Lang, Senator Kelly L. Morrison, Senator Nathan Wesenberg

Absent: No Members Absent

Senator Foung Hawj called the meeting to order at 3:10pm, Senator McEwen had gavel 3:41pm, Senator Hawj had gavel back at 3:55pm.

Call To Order

S.F. 4116: Senator McEwen: Minnesota Resilient Community Act.

The following individuals testified on S.F.4116: Frank Kohlasch, Assistant Commissioner, MPCA

Senator Hawj moved that S.F. 4116, be laid over for possible inclusion in the omnibus bill. - **MOTION PREVAILED**.

<u>S.F. 3907:</u> Senator Hauschild: Land transfers fee provisions modifications; state parks land additions; surplus state lands sales and conveyances; Upper Sioux Agency State Park deauthorization; appropriating money.

Senator Hauschild offers the A-1 Author's Amendment and the A-2 Author's Amendment, was pass by voice vote

The following individuals testified on S.F.3907: Lorie Klein, Attorney, Lands and Minerals, DNR Joe Henderson, DNR Anne Pierce, Director Parks & Trails

Senator Hauschild moved that S.F. 3907, as amended, be laid over. - MOTION PREVAILED.

S.F. 3905: Senator Hawj: Natural resource electronic licensing system establishment.

The following individuals testified on S.F.3905: Col. Rodmen Smith, Director, Enforcement, DNR

Senator Hawj moved that S.F. 3905, be recommended to pass and re-referred to the State and Local Government and Veterans Committee. - **MOTION PREVAILED**.

S.F. 4168: Senator Mitchell: Waste composition studies requirement.

The following individuals testified on S.F.4168: Kirk Koudelka, Assistant Commissioner, MPCA



Brian Martinson, Solida Waste Administration Association

Senator Hawj moved that S.F. 4168, be laid over for possible inclusion in the omnibus bill. - MOTION PREVAILED.

S.F. 3940: Senator Kupec: Recycled electronic waste collection program establishment, creating an account, and appropriating money.

Senator Hoffman moves that the A-1 amendment be adopted, was pass by voice vote. Senator Morrison moves that the A-2 amendment be adopted, was pass by voice vote.

The following individuals testified on S.F.3940:

Maria Jensen, Recycling Electronics for Climate Action

Brian Martinson, Solid Waste Administrators Association

Tamara Gillard, Minnesota Tech for Success

Tony Celt, Integrated Recycling Technologies

Lucy Mullany, Eureka Recycling

Avonna Starck, Clean Water Action

Kirk Koudelka, Assistant Commissioner, MN Pollution Control Agency

Amber Backhaus, National Waste and Recycling Association – MN Chapter

Sarah Psick, CTIA – The Wireless Association

Walter Alcorn, Consumer Technology Association (CTA) (REMOTE)

Senator Hauschild moved that S.F. 3940, as amended, recommended to pass and re-referred to the Commerce and Consumer Protection Committee. - **MOTION PREVAILED**.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:55pm	
Senator Foung Hawj, Chair	Maikao Vue, Legislative Assistant