

Chair

Senator Nick Frentz 3109 Minnesota Senate Building St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 296-6153 Sen.Nick.Frentz@Senate.MN

Vice Chair
Tou Xiong

Ranking Minority Member
Andrew Mathews

Members

D. Scott Dibble
Steve Green
Glenn H. Gruenhagen
John A. Hoffman
Matt D. Klein
Eric Lucero
Jennifer A. McEwen
Nicole L. Mitchell
Lindsey Port

Committee Staff:

Jason Rarick

Bill Weber

Committee Administrator

Justin Emmerich 651-296-4901 Justin.Emmerich@Senate.MN

Committee Legislative Assistant

Travis Urness (651) 296-6153 Travis.Urness@Senate.MN

Caucus Research

Cassie Tommerdahl (D) Bryce Hingst (R)

Legislative Counsel

Olivia Syverson

Fiscal Analyst
Dan Mueller

Minnesota Senate Energy, Utilities, Environment, and Climate Committee Wednesday, March 20, 2024 12:30 p.m. – 2:30 p.m. 1150 Minnesota Senate Building

AGENDA

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. S.F. 4784 Sen. Frentz Minnesota Energy Infrastructure Permitting Act establishment, certificates of need provisions modifications, and conforming and technical changes
- 3. S.F. 4742 Sen. McEwen Broadband Equity, Access, and Deployment Program establishment
- 4. S.F. 4562 Sen. Rarick Fuel-switching improvement achievement provisions modifications

Testifiers:

- Chris Duffrin, President, Center for Energy and Environment
- Louise Miltich, Assistant Commissioner, Department of Commerce
- Kent Sulem, Director of Government Relations and Senior Counsel, Minnesota Municipal Utilities Association
- Katie Frye, Customer Programs and Services, Minnesota Power.
- Dave Wager, Executive Director, Minnesota Propane Association
- Joe Dammel, Managing Director, Buildings, Fresh Energy
- Jeff Haase, Director, Member Services, Distributed Energy Resources and End Use Strategy for Great River Energy
- 5. S.F. 4687 Sen. McEwen Utility thermal network deployment work group establishment

Testifiers:

• Charles Sutton, Sutton Consulting LLC

6. S.F. 4740 – Sen. Klein - Dakota County energy efficient projects appropriation

Testifiers:

Joe Atkins, Dakota County Commissioner

7. S.F. 4760 – Sen. Mitchell - Pilot thermal energy network projects authorization

Testifiers:

- Aurora Vautrin, 100%
- Chuck Syverson, ISAIAH
- Amy Gilbert, MD, MPH, associated with St. Paul 350
- Jamie Fitzke, Director of Government Affairs, CenterPoint Energy
- Noah Cordoba, Senior Policy Associate, Building Decarbonization Coalition

8. Adjournment

Minnesota Senate Energy, Utilities, Environment, and Climate

