

Minnesota Senate Energy, Utilities, Environment, and Climate Committee Wednesday, March 13, 2024 12:00 p.m. – 2:30 p.m. 1150 Minnesota Senate Building

AGENDA

Chair

Senator Nick Frentz 3109 Minnesota Senate Building St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 296-6153 Sen.Nick.Frentz@Senate.MN

Vice Chair

Tou Xiong

Ranking Minority Member

Andrew Mathews

Members

D. Scott Dibble
Steve Green
Glenn H. Gruenhagen
John A. Hoffman
Matt D. Klein
Eric Lucero
Jennifer A. McEwen
Nicole L. Mitchell
Lindsey Port
Jason Rarick
Bill Weber

Committee Staff:

Committee Administrator

Justin Emmerich 651-296-4901 Justin.Emmerich@Senate.MN

Committee Legislative Assistant

Travis Urness (651) 296-6153 Travis.Urness@Senate.MN

Caucus Research

Cassie Tommerdahl (D) Bryce Hingst (R)

Legislative Counsel

Olivia Syverson

Fiscal Analyst
Dan Mueller

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. S.F. 4784 Sen. Frentz Minnesota Energy Infrastructure Permitting Act establishment, certificates of need provisions modifications, and conforming and technical changes.

Testifiers:

- Dan Lipschultz, Lipschutz Consulting LLC
- Christy Brusven, Attorney at Law, Fredrikson & Byron
- Will Seuffert, Executive Secretary, Public Utilities Commission
- Pete Wykof, Department of Commerce
- Jenny Glumack, Director of Government Affairs, MREA
- Kevin Pranis, Marketing Manager, LIUNA MN & ND
- Dan Lesher, Manager, Transmission Permitting and Land Rights, Great River Energy
- Joel Johnson, IBEW State Council Legislative Director, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers
- Allen Gleckner, Executive Lead, Policy and Programs, Fresh Energy
- Matthew Langen, Executive Lead, Policy and Programs, Xcel Energy
- Jennifer Cady, Vice President for Regulatory and Legislative Affairs ALLETE/MN Power
- Jake Schwitzer, Executive Director, North Star Policy Action
- Aurora Vautrin, Legislative and Political Director, 100%
- Adam Sokolski, Director, Regulatory and Legislative Affairs, EDF Renewables
- George Damian, Director of Government Affairs, Clean Energy Economy MN
- Kayla Christensen, Executive Director, Minnesota Conservative Energy Forum
- Sarah Mooradian, Government Relations & Policy Director, CURE
- Jaci Christenson, Hugo resident

Remote Testifiers:

• Gene Metz, Nobles County Commissioner & Legislative Chair of the Rural Minnesota Energy Board

- 3. S.F. 4579 Sen. Dibble Single-metered utility service in residential buildings regulations and provisions.
- 4. S.F. 4794 Sen. Dibble Renewable Energy Certificate Tracking System appropriation.

Testifiers:

- Benjamin L. Gerber, President & CEO, Midwest Renewable Energy Tracking System
- Teri Bylander-Pinke, Chief Operating Officer, Midwest Renewable Energy Tracking System
- Sean Darling, Scrum Master, Midwest Renewable Energy Tracking System
- Priya Barua, Senior Director, Market and Policy Innovation, Clean Energy Buyers Association
- 5. S.F. 1457 Sen. Mathews Natural gas and propane hookups ban by political subdivisions prohibition.

Testifiers:

• Dave Wager, Executive Director, Minnesota Propane Association

Remote Testifiers:

- Karen L. Arpino, Executive Director of the North Central Hearth, Patio & Barbecue Association
- 6. S.F. 1458 Sen. Mathews Local ban on new natural gas hookups prohibition in residential construction.

Testifiers:

 Mark Foster, Vice President, Legislative and Political Affairs, Housing First Minnesota

Remote Testifiers:

• Karen L. Arpino, Executive Director of the North Central Hearth, Patio & Barbecue Association