Elections Committee Thursday, March 21, 2024 3:00 PM, 1200 Minnesota Senate Bldg.

Minutes

<u>Present</u>: Senator Jim Carlson - Chair, Senator Bonnie S. Westlin Vice Chair, Senator Mark W. Koran, Senator Bruce D. Anderson, Senator Calvin K. Bahr, Senator Liz Boldon, Senator Steve A. Cwodzinski, Senator Gene Dornink, Senator Warren Limmer, Senator John Marty, Senator Andrew Mathews, Senator Nicole Mitchell, Senator Lindsey Port, Senator Ann H. Rest

Absent: No Members Absent

Senator Jim Carlson called the meeting to order at 3:05 p.m.

Call to Order

A quorum is present.

SF 4729 Omnibus Elections Policy bill (A-5) - Amendments and Discussion

Testifiers:

Senator Carlson

Nicole Freeman, Director of Government Relations, Office of the Secretary of State Alex Hassel, Intergovernmental Relations Representative, League of MN Cities Valerie Dosland, Representing Minnesota Association of School Administrators Matt Hilgart, Director of Government Relations, Association of Minnesota Counties

Senator Carlson moved the A5 Author's Amendment. By a voice vote, the motion prevailed, and the A5 Author's Amendment was adopted.

Senator Carlson moved the A17 Technical Amendment. By a voice vote, the motion prevailed, and the A17 Technical Amendment was adopted.

Senator Carlson moved the A8 Amendment. By a voice vote, the motion prevailed, and the A8 Amendment was adopted.

Senator Mitchell moved the A21 Amendment. By a voice vote, the motion prevailed, and the A21 Amendment was adopted.

Senator Limmer moved the A11 Amendment. Senator Koran requested a roll call, and a roll call was granted.

Senator Carlson - Nay

Senator Westlin - Nay

Senator Koran – Aye

Senator Anderson - Ave

Senator Bahr – Aye

Senator Boldon - Nay

Senator Cwodzinski - Nay

Senator Dornink - Ave

Senator Limmer – Aye

Senator Marty - Nay

Senator Mathews – Aye

Senator Mitchell – Nay

Senator Port - Nay

Senator Rest – Absent

With a roll call vote of 6 Ayes, 7 Nays, and 1 Absent, the motion did not prevail, and the A11 Amendment was not adopted.

Senator Boldon moved the A6 Amendment. By a voice vote, the motion prevailed, and the A6 Amendment was adopted.

Senator Koran moved the A9 Amendment. By a voice vote, the motion prevailed, and the A9 Amendment was adopted.

Senator Mathews moved the A10 Amendment. Senator Mathews withdrew the A10 Amendment.

Senator Bahr moved the A16 Amendment. Senator Bahr requested a roll call, and a roll call was granted.

Senator Carlson – Nay

Senator Westlin – Nay

Senator Koran – Aye

Senator Anderson - Aye

Senator Bahr – Aye

Senator Boldon - Nay

Senator Cwodzinski – Nav

Senator Dornink - Aye

Senator Limmer – Aye

Senator Marty - Nay

Senator Mathews - Aye

Senator Mitchell - Nay

Senator Port - Nay

Senator Rest - Nay

With a roll call vote of 6 Ayes, 8 Nays, the motion did not prevail, and the A16 Amendment was not adopted.

Senator Mathews moved the A22 Amendment. Senator Mathews requested a roll call, and a roll call was granted.

Senator Carlson - Nay

Senator Westlin - Nav

Senator Koran - Ave

Senator Anderson - Aye

Senator Bahr – Aye

Senator Boldon - Nay

Senator Cwodzinski – Nay

Senator Dornink - Aye

Senator Limmer – Aye

Senator Marty - Pass

Senator Mathews – Aye

Senator Mitchell - Nay

Senator Port - Nay

Senator Rest - Aye

With a roll call vote of 7 Ayes, 6 Nays, and 1 Pass, the motion prevailed, and the A22 Amendment

was adopted.

Senator Koran moved the A12 Amendment. Senator Koran withdrew the A12 Amendment.

Senator Koran moved the A13 Amendment. Senator Koran requested a roll call, and a roll call was granted.

Senator Carlson - Nay

Senator Westlin - Nay

Senator Koran - Aye

Senator Anderson - Aye

Senator Bahr - Ave

Senator Boldon - Nay

Senator Cwodzinski - Nay

Senator Dornink - Aye

Senator Limmer - Ave

Senator Marty - Nay

Senator Mathews - Aye

Senator Mitchell - Nay

Senator Port - Nay

Senator Rest - Nay

With a roll call vote of 6 Ayes and 8 Nays, the motion did not prevail, and the A13 was not adopted.

Senator Anderson moved the A14 Amendment. Senator Anderson requested a roll call, and a roll call was granted.

Senator Carlson - Nay

Senator Westlin - Nav

Senator Koran - Aye

Senator Anderson - Aye

Senator Bahr - Aye

Senator Boldon - Nay

Senator Cwodzinski - Nay

Senator Dornink - Ave

Senator Limmer - Aye

Senator Marty - Nay

Senator Mathews - Aye

Senator Mitchell - Nay

Senator Port - Nay

Senator Rest - Nay

With a roll call vote of 6 Ayes and 8 Nays, the motion did not prevail, and the A14 was not adopted.

Senator Koran moved the A15 Amendment. Senator Koran requested a roll call, and a roll call was granted.

Senator Carlson - Nay

Senator Westlin - Nay

Senator Koran - Aye

Senator Anderson - Ave

Senator Bahr - Aye

Senator Boldon - Nay

Senator Cwodzinski - Nay

Senator Dornink - Aye

Senator Limmer - Aye

Senator Marty - Nay Senator Mathews - Aye Senator Mitchell - Nay Senator Port - Nay Senator Rest – Aye

With a roll call vote of 7 Ayes and 7 Nays, the motion did not prevail, and the A15 Amendment was not adopted.

Senator Carlson moved that SF 4729 Omnibus Elections Policy Bill (A-5) - Amendments and Discussion, as amended, recommended to pass and re-referred to the Judiciary and Public Safety Committee. - MOTION PREVAILED.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:08 p.m.

Senator Jim Carlson, Chair

Vim Carlson

Christine Blood, Legislative Assistant