Minnesota State Senate

Education Policy Committee Wednesday, April 17, 2024 12:30 PM, 1200 Minnesota Senate Bldg.

Print

Minutes

<u>Present</u>: Senator Steve A. Cwodzinski - Chair, Senator Julia E. Coleman, Senator Jim Abeler, Senator Mary K. Kunesh, Senator Alice Mann

<u>Absent</u>: Senator Erin K. Maye Quade - Vice Chair, Senator Liz Boldon, Senator Zach Duckworth, Senator Grant Hauschild, Senator Nathan Wesenberg

Senator Steve A. Cwodzinski called the meeting to order at

All Star Day Speakers

Shannon Seaver, Co-lead of the Career and Technical Education (CTE) department, Edina Public Schools, Tekne Tech Educator of the Year

Sarah Dallum, 5th grade teacher at Valley View Elementary, Bloomington Public Schools, 2024 Teacher of the year finalist

Leah Hood, Art teacher, Lakeville S. High School, MN Human Rights Award

Joe Gothard, St. Paul Public Schools, National Superintendent of the Year

Leigh Feily, School Psychologist of the Year, Edina Public Schools

Mindy Chevalier, Principal of the Year, Assistant principal, Belle Plaine Public Schools

Laura Jensen, Hopkins North Middle School, 7th grade Language Arts and Literature teacher, 2024 Teacher of the Year finalist

Eric Sawatzke, Mn Ag Educator of the year, West Central Area Public Schools

Nyisha Williams, Hopkins School District Director of Transportation, 2023 recipient Holly Hoglund Klein Award

Laura Jensen, reading teacher, GSA advisor, district community LGBTQ+ liaison Hopkins North Middle School, teacher of the year finialistr

Derek Anderson, Northstar Bus Driver, 2023 MN Association of Pupil Transportation, Special Education Driver of the year

Rachel Lund, Elementary School Counselor of the Year, Garden City Schools

Tanya Shroyer, Middle School Counselor of the Year, Pipestone Area Schools

Tara Thukral, Director of Teaching and Learning, Columbia Heights Public Schools.

Todd Travis, Special Education Administrator of the Year, Director of Special Education, Midwest Special Education Cooperative

Lida Casper, Coordinator of Community Partnerships, Rochester Public Schools

Lynn Jennissen, Minnesota Assistant Principal of the Year, St. Michael-Albertville Middle School West

The meeting was adjourned at 2:30

Store have

Senator Steve A. Cwodzinski, Chair

Chelsea Barks

Chelsea Barks, Legislative Assistant