

Minnesota Senate Education Policy Committee

Wednesday, April 17th, 2024 12:30 p.m. - 2:30 p.m.Room 1200 MSB

Chair

Steve Cwodzinski 3207 Minnesota Senate Bldg. St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 296-1314 stevec@mnsenate.gov

Vice Chair Erin Maye Quade

Ranking Minority Member Julia Coleman

Members

Jim Abeler Liz Boldon Zach Duckworth Grant Hauschild Mary Kunesh Alice Mann Andrew Mathews Nathan Wesenberg

Committee Staff: Committee Administrator Danna Elling

(651) 296-4175 danna.elling@mnsenate.gov

Committee Legislative Assistant Chelsea Barks (651) 296-1314

chelsea.barks@mnsenate.gov

Caucus Research Ryan Majerus (DFL) Ed Cook (R)

Senate Counsel Ann Marie Lewis

Research Analyst Bjorn Arneson

Fiscal Analyst Jenna Hofer

<u>Agenda</u>

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Opening Remarks

All Star Day

- Speakers i.
- Shannon Seaver, Co-lead of the Career and Technical Education (CTE) department, Edina Public Schools, Tekne Tech Educator of the Year
- Sarah Dallum, 5th grade teacher at Valley View Elementary, Bloomington Public Schools, 2024 Teacher of the year finalist
- Leah Hood, Art teacher, Lakeville S. High School, MN Human Rights Award
- Joe Gothard, St. Paul Public Schools, National Superintendent of the Year
- Leigh Feily, School Psychologist of the Year, Edina Public Schools
- Mindy Chevalier, Principal of the Year, Assistant principal, Belle Plaine **Public Schools**
- Laura Jensen, Hopkins North Middle School, 7th grade Language Arts and Literature teacher, 2024 Teacher of the Year finalist
- Eric Sawatzke, Mn Ag Educator of the year, West Central Area Public **Schools**
- Nyisha Williams, Hopkins School District Director of Transportation, 2023 recipient Holly Hoglund Klein Award
- Laura Jensen, reading teacher, GSA advisor, district community LGBTQ+ liaison Hopkins North Middle School, teacher of the year finalist
- Derek Anderson, Northstar Bus Driver, 2023 MN Association of Pupil Transportation, Special Education Driver of the year
- Rachel Lund, Elementary School Counselor of the Year, Garden City **Schools**
- Tanya Shroyer, Middle School Counselor of the Year, Pipestone Area **Schools**
- Tara Thukral, Director of Teaching and Learning, Columbia Heights Public Schools.
- Todd Travis, Special Education Administrator of the Year, Director of Special Education, Midwest Special Education Cooperative
- Lida Casper, Coordinator of Community Partnerships, Rochester Public Schools Minnesota Senate Education Policy Committee

•	Lynn Jennissen,
	Minnesota Assistant Principal of the Year St
	Principal of the Year, St. Michael-Albertville
	Middle School West
	Minnesota Senate Education Policy Committee Monday Wednesday
	Monday Wodnesday

