

Minnesota Senate Education Policy Committee

Monday, February 19, 2024 12:30 p.m. – 2:30 p.m. Room 1200 MSB

Chair

Steve Cwodzinski 3207 Minnesota Senate Bldg. St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 296-1314 stevec@mnsenate.gov

Vice Chair
Erin Maye Quade

Ranking Minority Member
Julia Coleman

Members

Jim Abeler Liz Boldon Zach Duckworth Grant Hauschild Mary Kunesh Alice Mann Andrew Mathews Nathan Wesenberg

Committee Staff: Committee Administrator

Danna Elling (651) 296-4175 danna.elling@mnsenate.gov

Committee Legislative Assistant

Chelsea Barks (651) 296-1314 chelsea.barks@mnsenate.gov

Caucus Research Ryan Majerus (DFL) Ed Cook (R)

Senate Counsel Ann Marie Lewis

Research Analyst Bjorn Arneson

Fiscal Analyst Jenna Hofer

<u>Agenda</u>

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Opening Remarks

3. Agenda items

STUDENT VOICES

- Aaron Ress, Rochester John Marshall High School-Virtual
- Bree Griffin- 10th grade, Henry High School-**In person**
- Shamyra Melton-12th Grade-Henry High School-Virtual
- Jaiden Leary- junior- Saint Louis Park High School-Virtual
- Tej Bhagra-Rochester High School-Virtual (Unavailable)
- Sydney McGrath-Senior, Roosevelt High School- MN winner, US Senate

Youth Program-In person

Deepti Pillai-Senior, Minnetonka High School- MN winner, US Senate

Youth Program-In person

- Lilah Heiny-Senior-Roseville High School-In person
- Maarit Mattson-Mankato East High School-Virtual
- Dalaney Book and Julia Barce-Both Seniors from Southwest Christian High

School-In person

- Vandana Ramanathan-Eden Prairie High school-In Person
- Zahara Umar-Eden Prairie High School-Virtual (Unavailable)
- Kenneth Adah-Kennedy High School-Bloomington-In Person
- Weemon Yeakehon-Jefferson High School-Bloomington-In Person
- Joseph Lucey-Senior, Lakeville South High School-Virtual
- Kate Reed-Senior, Rosemount High School-In Person
- Yahira Baretto-Paredes-Fridley High School-In Person
- Joel Wang-Senior, Hutchinson high School-Virtual
- Clemetine Frye-Pride Institute-Virtual
- Haley Asgar-Sartell Middle School
- Mintesnot Sturm
- Luka Jacobi, Senior Edina High School

Minnesota Senate Education Policy Committee

Minnesota Senate Education Policy Committee Monday, Wednesday				

4. Adjournment