Minnesota State Senate

Commerce and Consumer Protection Committee
Tuesday, April 30, 2024
15 Minutes After Session, 1150 Minnesota Senate Bldg.

Minutes

<u>Present</u>: Senator Matt D. Klein - Chair, Senator Judy Seeberger Vice Chair, Senator Gary H. Dahms, Senator Zach Duckworth, Senator Nick A. Frentz, Senator Jeff R. Howe, Senator Ron Latz, Senator Jordan Rasmusson, Senator Ann H. Rest, Senator Melissa H. Wiklund

Absent: No Members Absent

Senator Matt D. Klein called the meeting to order at 2:50 p.m.

S.F. 5430: Senator Mann: Minnesota Paid Leave Law provisions modifications (pending re-referral).

Senator Mann presented SF 5430.

Amendments:

Senator Wiklund offered the A13. Amendment adopted on a voice vote.

Senator Rasmusson offered the A14. Amendment adopted on a voice vote.

Testifiers:

Devin Bruce, Minnesota Association of Professional Employees (MAPE)

Senator Seeberger moved that SF 5430 (as amended) be recomended to pass and be sent to the Committee on Judiciary and Public Safety. Motion passed on a voice vote.

Senator Seeberger moved that S.F. 5430, be recommended to pass and re-referred to the Judiciary and Public Safety Committee.

H.F. 4757: Senator Port: Office of Cannabis Management modifications and appropriations.

Senator Klein recessed at 2:57 pm.

Senator Klein returned from recess at 3:00 pm.

Senator Port presented HF 4757.

Amendments:

Senator Wiklund offered the A1. Amendment adopted on a voice vote.

Senator Wiklund offered the A3. Amendment adopted on a voice vote.

Senator Wiklund offered the A4. Amendment adopted on a voice vote.

Senator Wiklund offered the A25. Amendment adopted on a voice vote.

Senator Wiklund offered the A6. Amendment adopted on a voice vote.

Senator Wiklund offered the A7. Amendment adopted on a voice vote.

Senator Wiklund offered the A8. Amendment adopted on a voice vote.

Senator Wiklund offered the A16. Amendment adopted on a voice vote.

Senator Wiklund offered the A26. Amendment adopted on a voice vote.

Senator Wiklund offered the A22. Amendment adopted on a voice vote.

Senator Wiklund offered the A24. Amendment adopted on a voice vote.

Senator Wiklund offered the A14. Amendment adopted on a voice vote.

Senator Wiklund offered the A27. Amendment adopted on a voice vote.

Senator Rasmusson offered the A2. Amendment not adopted on a voice vote.

Senator Rasmusson offered the A12. Amendment not adopted on a voice vote.

Senator Rasmusson offered the A13. Amend not adopted on a roll call vote 4-5. Yes-Dahms, Duckworth, Howe, Rasmusson. No-Klein, Seeberger, Frentz, Wiklund, Latz.

Senator Rasmusson offered the A23. Divided 1.1-1.5 and 1.6-1.16. 1.6-1.16 was not adopted on a roll call vote 4-5. Yes-Dahms, Duckworth, Howe, Rasmusson. No-Klein, Seeberger, Frentz, Wiklund, Latz. Senator Rasmusson withdrew the first part of the amendment 1.1-1.5.

Senator Rasmusson offered the A29. Amendment not adopted on a voice vote.

Senator Duckworth offered the A28. Senator Duckworth Withdrew the A28.

Testifiers:

Charlene Briner, Office of Cannabis Management Leili Fatehi, Minnesota Cannabis Resource Center Nick McKenna, Great North Oil Mike Gawlik, Natreum Mandy Nintzel, MN Technology Colin Jones, Erba Jen Randolph Reise, North Star Law Group Silas Houston, Minnesota Cannabis Institute, Inc. **Janssen Hang, Hmong American Farmers Association** Josh Wilken-Simon, Legacy Glass Paul Slattery, Teamsters Local 120 **Jacob Iverson, Darkhorse Hemp Farms** Shawn Weber, Cannabis Grower's Cooperative & Industry Council **Amber Shimpa, Vireo Health** Stefan Egan Angela Elsner-Brown, That Stoner's Mom Saydee Whitebird, Whitebird Logistics **Ali Britton, Perduco Ventures**

John Hyduke, Minnesota Marijuana Association Nathan Young, MN Black Chamber of Commerce

John Pacheco, MN Latino Chamber of Commerce
Stephen Bernard, B/C Brand
Holies Winston, CREAATEC
D. Tomme Beevas, CREAATEC
Angela Dawson, The Great Rise
Senator Wiklund moved that HF 4757 as amended be sent to the Senate Floor. Motion adopted on a voice vote.
Senator Wiklund moved that H.F. 4757, as amended, be recommended to pass.
S.F. 4778: Senator Wiklund: MinnesotaCare public option establishment, MinnesotaCare eligibility and various other provisions, and appropriation.
Senator Wiklund presented SF 4778.
Amendments:
Senator Wiklund offered the A3. Senator Wiklund withdrew the A3.
Senator Wiklund offered the A3 Amendment adopted on a voice vote.
Testifiers:
Gail Larson, SEIU Healthcare MN & IA
Dr. Katie Guthrie, ISAIAH MN
Mary Krinkie, Minnesota Hospital Association
Dan Endreson, MN Council of Health Plans
Stu Lourey, MN Farmers Union
Bentley Graves, MN Chamber of Commerce
Michelle Benson, Health Plan Partnership of MN
Abby Loesch, Minnesota Business Partnership
RaeAnna Lee, Americans for Prosperity
Senator Klein laid over SF 4778
Senator Klein moved that S.F. 4778, as amended, be laid over.
The meeting was adjourned at 7:59 p.m.

Senator Matt D. Klein, Chair

Tyler Kline, Legislative Assistant