



15 Kellogg Blvd. West Suite 390 Saint Paul, MN 55102 Tel: 651-266-8989

April 7, 2024

TO: Chair Klein and Senate Commerce and Consumer Protection Committee Members

Chair Stephenson and House Commerce Finance & Policy Committee Members

FROM: Mayors of Minnesota

SUBJECT: Support HF4461 (Hollins) / SF4455 (Pappas) Copper Wire License Requirement

Dear House and Senate Commerce Committee Chairs and Committee Members:

We, as mayors across Minnesota, kindly ask for your support of HF4461 (Hollins) / SF4455 (Pappas) to reduce the market demand and reselling of copper wire in our state.

The high cost of copper has led to an exponential increase in copper wire theft from private property, as well as streetlights, traffic signal lights, and other public infrastructure. Stolen copper wire is sold to businesses that profit from selling recycled metal.

Wire theft from light structures and other public infrastructure negatively impacts our communities by reducing public safety and compromising the experience people expect while recreating and enjoying time in outdoor spaces.

While our cities and partners continue to work as quickly as possible to replace and repair damaged streetlights, the lack of a long-term sustainable solution comes at a great cost to our municipalities and residents.

We thank you for your thoughtful consideration of this request and ask for your support for this bill's passage.

Sincerely,

Melvin Carter, Mayor, City of Saint Paul Shelly Jonas, Mayor, City of Annandale Steve King, Mayor, City of Austin Margaret Ford, Mayor, City of Birchwood Village Russell Willson, Mayor, City of Breckenridge Hollies Winston, Mayor, City of Brooklyn Park Elizabeth Kautz, Mayor, City of Burnsville Ryan Sabas, Mayor, City of Champlin

CITY OF SAINT PAUL MELVIN CARTER, MAYOR



15 Kellogg Blvd. West Suite 390 Saint Paul, MN 55102 Tel: 651-266-8989

Amáda Márquez Simula, Mayor, City of Columbia Heights Tom McKee, Mayor, City of Corcoran Myron Bailey, Mayor, City of Cottage Grove Chad Olson, Mayor, City of Dilworth Ron Case, Mayor, City of Eden Prairie Ben Schierer, Mayor, City of Fergus Falls Scott Lund, Mayor, City of Fridley Gretchen Artig-Swomley, Mayor, City of Gem Lake Mary Fasbender, Mayor, City of Hastings Tom Fischer, Mayor, City of Little Canada Mike Pfeiffer, Mayor, City of Long Beach Kent Koch, Mayor, City of Loretto Patrick Baustian, Mayor, City of Luverne Paul Allen, Mayor, City of Manhattan Beach Julie Maas-Kusske, Mayor, City of Maple Plain Marylee Abrams, Mayor, City of Maplewood Bob Byrnes, Mayor, City of Marshall Jacob Frey, Mayor, City of Minneapolis John Monge, Mayor, City of North St. Paul Carol Lagergren, Mayor, City of Norwood Young America Ryland Eichhorst, Mayor, City of Oronoco William Blonigan, Mayor, City of Robbinsdale Kim Norton, Mayor, City of Rochester Ryan Fitzthum, Mayor, City of Sartell Ted Kozlowski, Mayor, City of Stillwater Nadia Mohamed, Mayor, City of St. Louis Park Daniel O'Leary, Mayor, City of Sunfish Lake Mike Krachmer, Mayor, City of Vadnais Heights Larry Cuffe Jr., Mayor, City of Virginia Dave Napier, Mayor, City of West St. Paul