| 03/21/24 06:05 pm             | COUNSEL                           | OS/SC                      | SCS4782A-6         |
|-------------------------------|-----------------------------------|----------------------------|--------------------|
| Senator m                     | noves to amend S.F. No. 4782 a    | s follows:                 |                    |
| Page 13, after line 13, i     | insert:                           |                            |                    |
| "Sec. 9. Minnesota Statu      | tes 2023 Supplement, section 1    | 52.0263, is ame            | ended by adding a  |
| subdivision to read:          |                                   |                            |                    |
| Subd. 6. Use of cannal        | bis by a person under 21 year     | <b>rs of age.</b> (a) It i | s a misdemeanor    |
| for a person under 21 year    | s of age to unlawfully use cann   | abis flower, can           | nabis products,    |
| lower-potency hemp edible     | es, or hemp-derived consumer      | products.                  |                    |
| (b) An offense under pa       | aragraph (a) may be prosecuted    | l either in the ju         | risdiction where   |
| the use occurs or the jurisd  | liction where evidence of the u   | se is observed.            |                    |
| (c) As used in this subd      | livision, "use" includes the inge | stion of a prohib          | pited item and the |
| physical condition of havin   | ng ingested a prohibited item.    |                            |                    |
| EFFECTIVE DATE.               | This section is effective Augus   | t 1, 2024, and a           | pplies to acts     |
| committed on or after that    | date.                             |                            |                    |
| Sec. 10. Minnesota Statu      | ntes 2023 Supplement, section 1   | 152.0263, is am            | ended by adding    |
| a subdivision to read:        |                                   |                            |                    |
| Subd. 7. <b>Possession of</b> | cannabis by a person under 21     | years of age. It           | is a misdemeanor   |
|                               | s of age to unlawfully possess a  |                            |                    |
| (1) any amount up to fo       | our ounces of cannabis flower in  | any place other            | than the person's  |
| residence;                    |                                   | J 1                        | •                  |
| (2) any amount up to ty       | wo pounds of cannabis flower i    | n the person's re          | esidence;          |
| (3) any amount up to 1        | 6 grams of cannabis concentrat    | e; or                      |                    |
| (4) edible cannabis pro       | ducts, lower-potency hemp edi     | bles, or hemp-d            | erived consumer    |
| products infused with any     | amount up to 1,600 milligrams     | of tetrahydroca            | nnabinol.          |
| EFFECTIVE DATE.               | This section is effective Augus   | t 1, 2024, and a           | pplies to acts     |
| committed on or after that    | date."                            |                            |                    |
| Page 14, after line 9, in     | nsert:                            |                            |                    |
| "Sec. 12. Minnesota Statu     | utes 2022, section 260B.007, su   | ıbdivision 16, is          | amended to read:   |

Subd. 16. Juvenile petty offender; juvenile petty offense. (a) "Juvenile petty offense"

includes a juvenile alcohol offense, a juvenile controlled substance offense, a violation of

Sec. 12.

1.28

1.29

| 00/01/01 06 05    | COLDICEL | 00/00 | 0.000.4500.4.6 |
|-------------------|----------|-------|----------------|
| 03/21/24 06:05 pm | COUNSEL  | OS/SC | SCS4782A-6     |
|                   |          |       |                |

section 609.685, or a violation of a local ordinance, which by its terms prohibits conduct by a child under the age of 18 years which would be lawful conduct if committed by an adult.

- (b) Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (c), "juvenile petty offense" also includes an offense that would be a petty misdemeanor or misdemeanor if committed by an adult.
- (c) "Juvenile petty offense" does not include any of the following:

2.4

2.5

2.6

2.14

2.15

2.16

2.17

2.18

2.19

2.20

2.21

2.22

2.23

2.24

- 2.7 (1) a misdemeanor-level violation of section 518B.01, 588.20, 609.224, 609.2242, 609.324, subdivision 2 or 3, 609.5632, 609.576, 609.66, 609.746, 609.748, 609.79, or 617.23;
- 2.10 (2) a major traffic offense or an adult court traffic offense, as described in section 2.11 260B.225;
- 2.12 (3) a misdemeanor-level offense committed by a child whom the juvenile court previously
  2.13 has found to have committed a misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor, or felony offense; or
  - (4) a misdemeanor-level offense committed by a child whom the juvenile court has found to have committed a misdemeanor-level juvenile petty offense on two or more prior occasions, unless the county attorney designates the child on the petition as a juvenile petty offender notwithstanding this prior record. As used in this clause, "misdemeanor-level juvenile petty offense" includes a misdemeanor-level offense that would have been a juvenile petty offense if it had been committed on or after July 1, 1995.
  - (d) A child who commits a juvenile petty offense is a "juvenile petty offender." The term juvenile petty offender does not include a child alleged to have violated any law relating to being hired, offering to be hired, or agreeing to be hired by another individual to engage in sexual penetration or sexual conduct which, if committed by an adult, would be a misdemeanor.
- 2.25 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to acts committed on or after that date.
- Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260B.007, subdivision 18, is amended to read:
- Subd. 18. **Juvenile controlled substance offense.** "Juvenile controlled substance offense"
  means a violation by a child of section <del>152.027, subdivision 4, with respect to a small amount</del>
  of marijuana 152.0263, subdivision 6 or 7, or an equivalent local ordinance.
- 2.31 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to acts committed on or after that date."

Sec. 13. 2

03/21/24 06:05 pm COUNSEL OS/SC SCS4782A-6

Renumber the sections in sequence and correct the internal references

3.2 Amend the title accordingly

Sec. 13. 3