1.1 1.2	Senator Klein from the Commit which was referred	ttee on Commerce and Consumer Protection, to	
1.3 1.4 1.5 1.6 1.7 1.8	changes to various provisions govern amending Minnesota Statutes 2022, s subdivision 3; 82B.13, subdivision 1;	ating to commerce; making technical and housekeeping ing or administered by the Department of Commerce; sections 82B.021, subdivision 26; 82B.094; 82B.095, ; 82B.19, subdivision 1; 115C.08, subdivision 2; ; section 53B.28, subdivision 18; repealing Minnesota 25.	
1.9	Reports the same back with the re	ecommendation that the bill be amended as follows:	
1.10	Delete everything after the enacting	ng clause and insert:	
1.11		"ARTICLE 1	
1.12	INS	URANCE POLICY	
1.13	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022,	, section 60A.201, is amended by adding a subdivision	
1.14	to read:		
1.15	Subd. 6. Coverage deemed unav	vailable. Coverage for a risk that was referred to a	
1.16	surplus lines broker by a Minnesota l	icensed insurance producer who is not affiliated with	
1.17	that surplus lines broker shall be deer	med unavailable from a licensed insurer.	
1.18	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, se	ection 67A.01, subdivision 2, is amended to read:	
1.19	Subd. 2. Authorized territory. (a	a) A township mutual fire insurance company may be	
1.20	authorized to write business in up to	nine adjoining counties in the aggregate at the same	
1.21	time. If policyholder surplus is at least \$500,000 as reported in the company's last annual		
1.22	financial statement filed with the commissioner, the company may, if approval has been		
1.23	granted by the commissioner, be authorized to write business in ten or more counties in the		
1.24	aggregate at the same time, subject to a maximum of 20 30 adjoining counties, in accordance		
1.25	with the following schedule:		
1.26	Number of Counties	Surplus Requirement	
1.27	10	\$500,000	
1.28	11	600,000	
1.29	12	700,000	
1.30	13	800,000	
1.31	14	900,000	
1.32	15	1,000,000	
1.33	16	1,100,000	
1.34	17	1,200,000	
1.35	18	1,300,000	

	03/25/24	SENATEE	LB	SS4097R
2.1	19		1,400,000	
2.2	20		1,500,000	
2.3	<u>21</u>		1,600,000	
2.4	<u>22</u>		1,700,000	
2.5	<u>23</u>		1,800,000	
2.6	<u>24</u>		1,900,000	
2.7	<u>25</u>		2,000,000	
2.8	<u>26</u>		2,100,000	
2.9	27		2,200,000	
2.10	<u>28</u>		2,300,000	
2.11	<u>29</u>		2,400,000	
2.12	<u>30</u>		2,500,000	
2.13	(b) In the case of a merger of two or	more companies	having contiguou	s territories, the
2.14	surviving company in the merger may transact business in the entire territory of the merged			
2.15	companies; however, the territory of the surviving company in the merger may not be larger			
2.16	than 20 must be approved by the commissioner and may not be in excess of 30 counties,			
2.17	provided the company complies with the additional reporting requirements stipulated in			
2.18	paragraph (g).			
2.19	(c) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), a policy issued by a constituent company to the			
2.20	merger may remain effective, without respect to the policy being issued in a county outside			
2.21	the territory of the surviving company, until the policy:			
2.22	(1) expires or is terminated by the policy's terms; or			
2.23	(2) is terminated or annulled and ca	nceled in accordar	ce with section 6	7A.18.
2.24	The surviving company must not amen	d or renew a polic	y issued in a cour	nty outside the
2.25	surviving company's territory.			
2.26	(c) (d) A township mutual fire insurance company may write new and renewal insurance			
2.27	on property in cities within the company's authorized territory having a population less than			
2.28	25,000. A township mutual fire insurance company may continue to write new and renewal			
2.29	insurance once the population increases to 25,000 or greater provided that amended and			
2.30	restated articles are filed with the comm	nissioner along wi	th a certification t	that such city's
2.31	population has increased to 25,000 or g	greater.		
2.32	(d)(e) A township mutual fire insura	ince company may	write new and ren	newal insurance
2.33	on property in cities within the compan	y's authorized terr	itory with a popul	lation of 25,000
2.34	or greater, but less than 150,000, if app	roval has been gra	nted by the comn	nissioner. No

03/25/24 SENATEE LB SS4097R township mutual fire insurance company shall insure any property in cities with a population 3.1 of 150,000 or greater. 3.2 (e) (f) If a township mutual fire insurance company provides evidence to the 3.3 commissioner that the company had insurance in force on December 31, 2007, in a city 3.4 within the company's authorized territory with a population of 25,000 or greater, but less 3.5 than 150,000, the company may write new and renewal insurance on property in that city 3.6 provided that the company files amended and restated articles by July 31, 2010, naming 3.7 that city. 3.8 (g) If a surviving company of a merger writes in more than 20 counties, that company 3.9 must report to the commissioner the following items on a quarterly basis: 3.10 (1) income statement; 3.11 3.12 (2) balance sheet; (3) insurance in force; and 3.13 (4) number of policies. 3.14 3.15 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 67A.14, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

3.16 Subdivision 1. Kinds of property; property outside authorized territory. (a) Township
3.17 mutual fire insurance companies may insure qualified property. Qualified property means
3.18 dwellings, household goods, appurtenant structures, farm buildings, farm personal property,
3.19 churches, church personal property, county fair buildings, community and township meeting
3.20 halls and their usual contents.

(b) Township mutual fire insurance companies may extend coverage to include an
insured's secondary property if the township mutual fire insurance company covers qualified
property belonging to the insured. Secondary property means any real or personal property
that is not considered qualified property for a township mutual fire insurance company to
cover under this chapter. The maximum amount of coverage that a township mutual fire
insurance company may write for secondary property is 25 percent of the total limit of
liability of the policy issued to an insured covering the qualified property.

3.28 (c) A township mutual fire insurance company may insure any real or personal property,
3.29 including qualified or secondary property, subject to the limitations in subdivision 1,
3.30 paragraph (b), located outside the limits of the territory in which the company is authorized
3.31 by its certificate or articles of incorporation to transact business, if the company is already
3.32 covering qualified property belonging to the insured, inside the limits of the company's

- 4.1 territory. For purposes of this paragraph, qualified property inside the limits of the company's
 4.2 territory includes qualified property outside the territory of the surviving company to a
 4.3 merger for the duration of the policy insuring the qualified property if the qualified property
 4.4 was qualified property inside the territory of a constituent company to the merger.
 4.5 (d) A township mutual fire insurance company may insure property temporarily outside
 4.6 of the authorized territory of the township mutual fire insurance company.
 4.7 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 507.071, is amended to read:
- 4.8

507.071 TRANSFER ON DEATH DEEDS.

4.9 Subdivision 1. Definitions. For the purposes of this section the following terms have4.10 the meanings given:

4.11 (a) "Beneficiary" or "grantee beneficiary" means a person or entity named as a grantee
4.12 beneficiary in a transfer on death deed, including a successor grantee beneficiary.

4.13 (b) "County agency" means the county department or office designated to recover medical
4.14 assistance benefits from the estates of decedents.

4.15 (c) "Grantor owner" means an owner, whether individually, as a joint tenant, or as a
4.16 tenant in common, named as a grantor in a transfer on death deed upon whose death the
4.17 conveyance or transfer of the described real property is conditioned. Grantor owner does
4.18 not include a spouse who joins in a transfer on death deed solely for the purpose of conveying
4.19 or releasing statutory or other marital interests in the real property to be conveyed or
4.20 transferred by the transfer on death deed.

(d) "Owner" means a person having an ownership or other interest in all or part of the
real property to be conveyed or transferred by a transfer on death deed either at the time the
deed is executed or at the time the transfer becomes effective. Owner does not include a
spouse who joins in a transfer on death deed solely for the purpose of conveying or releasing
statutory or other marital interests in the real property to be conveyed or transferred by the
transfer on death deed.

(e) "Property" and "interest in real property" mean any interest in real property located
in this state which is transferable on the death of the owner and includes, without limitation,
an interest in real property defined in chapter 500, a mortgage, a deed of trust, a security
interest in, or a security pledge of, an interest in real property, including the rights to
payments of the indebtedness secured by the security instrument, a judgment, a tax lien,
both the seller's and purchaser's interest in a contract for deed, land contract, purchase

SENATEE

LB

agreement, or earnest money contract for the sale and purchase of real property, including
the rights to payments under such contracts, or any other lien on, or interest in, real property.
(f) "Recorded" means recorded in the office of the county recorder or registrar of titles,

- as appropriate for the real property described in the instrument to be recorded.
- 5.5 (g) "State agency" means the Department of Human Services or any successor agency.
- 5.6 (h) "Transfer on death deed" means a deed authorized under this section.

5.7 Subd. 2. Effect of transfer on death deed. A deed that conveys or assigns an interest in real property, to a grantee beneficiary and that expressly states that the deed is only 5.8 effective on the death of one or more of the grantor owners, transfers the interest to the 5.9 grantee beneficiary upon the death of the grantor owner upon whose death the conveyance 5.10 or transfer is stated to be effective, but subject to the survivorship provisions and requirements 5.11 of section 524.2-702. Until a transfer on death deed becomes effective, it has no effect on 5.12 title to the real property described in the deed, but it does create an insurable interest in the 5.13 real property in favor of the designated grantee beneficiary or beneficiaries for purposes of 5.14 insuring the real property against loss or damage that occurs on or after the transfer on death 5.15 deed becomes effective. A transfer on death deed must comply with all provisions of 5.16 Minnesota law applicable to deeds of real property including, but not limited to, the 5.17 provisions of sections 507.02, 507.24, 507.34, 508.48, and 508A.48. If a spouse who is 5.18 neither a grantor owner nor an owner joins in the execution of, or consents in writing to, 5.19 the transfer on death deed, such joinder or consent shall be conclusive proof that upon the 5.20 transfer becoming effective, the spouse no longer has or can claim any statutory interest or 5.21 other marital interest in the interest in real property transferred by the transfer on death deed. 5.22 However, such transfer shall remain an interest as identified in section 256B.15 for purposes 5.23 of complying with and satisfying any claim or lien as authorized by subdivision 3. 5.24

Subd. 3. Rights of creditors and rights of state and county under sections 246.53, 5.25 256B.15, 256D.16, 261.04, and 514.981. The interest transferred to a beneficiary under a 5.26 transfer on death deed after the death of a grantor owner is transferred subject to all effective 5.27 5.28 conveyances, assignments, contracts, mortgages, deeds of trust, liens, security pledges, judgments, tax liens, and any other matters or encumbrances to which the interest was 5.29 subject on the date of death of the grantor owner, upon whose death the transfer becomes 5.30 effective including, but not limited to, any claim by a surviving spouse who did not join in 5.31 the execution of, or consent in writing to, the transfer on death deed, and any claim or lien 5.32 by the state or county agency authorized by sections 246.53, 256B.15, 256D.16, 261.04, 5.33 and 514.981, if other assets of the deceased grantor's estate are insufficient to pay the amount 5.34

of any such claim. A beneficiary to whom the interest is transferred after the death of a 6.1 grantor owner shall be liable to account to the state or county agency with a claim or lien 6.2 authorized by section 246.53, 256B.15, 256D.16, 261.04, or 514.981, to the extent necessary 6.3 to discharge any such claim remaining unpaid after application of the assets of the deceased 6.4 grantor owner's estate, but such liability shall be limited to the value of the interest transferred 6.5 to the beneficiary. To establish compliance with this subdivision and subdivision 23, the 6.6 beneficiary must record a clearance certificate issued in accordance with subdivision 23 in 6.7 each county in which the real property described in the transfer on death deed is located. 6.8

6.9 Subd. 4. Multiple grantee beneficiaries. A transfer on death deed may designate multiple
6.10 grantee beneficiaries to take title as joint tenants, as tenants in common or in any other form
6.11 of ownership or tenancy that is valid under the laws of this state. If a grantee joint tenant
6.12 dies before the grantor owner upon whose death the transfer occurs and no successor
6.13 beneficiary for the deceased grantee is designated in the transfer on death deed, the surviving

6.14 joint tenants are the successors and no interest lapses.

6.15 Subd. 5. Successor grantee beneficiaries. A transfer on death deed may designate one
6.16 or more successor grantee beneficiaries or a class of successor grantee beneficiaries, or
6.17 both. If the transfer on death deed designates successor grantee beneficiaries or a class of
6.18 successor grantee beneficiaries, the deed shall state the condition under which the interest
6.19 of the successor grantee beneficiaries would vest.

Subd. 6. Multiple joint tenant grantors. If an interest in real property is owned as joint 6.20 tenants, a transfer on death deed executed by all of the owners and, if required by section 6.21 507.02, their respective spouses, if any, that conveys an interest in real property to one or 6.22 more grantee beneficiaries transfers the interest to the grantee beneficiary or beneficiaries 6.23 effective only after the death of the last surviving grantor owner. If the last surviving joint 6.24 tenant owner did not execute the transfer on death deed, the deed is ineffective to transfer 6.25 any interest and the deed is void. An estate in joint tenancy is not severed or affected by the 6.26 subsequent execution of a transfer on death deed and the right of a surviving joint tenant 6.27 owner who did not execute the transfer on death deed shall prevail over a grantee beneficiary 6.28 named in a transfer on death deed unless the deed specifically states that it severs the joint 6.29 tenancy ownership. 6.30

6.31 Subd. 7. Execution by attorney-in-fact. A transfer on death deed may be executed by
6.32 a duly appointed attorney-in-fact pursuant to a power of attorney which grants the
6.33 attorney-in-fact the authority to execute deeds.

LB

Subd. 8. Recording requirements and authorization. A transfer on death deed is valid 7.1 if the deed is recorded in a county in which at least a part of the real property described in 7.2 the deed is located and is recorded before the death of the grantor owner upon whose death 7.3 the conveyance or transfer is effective. Notwithstanding the definition of recorded under 7.4 subdivision 1, if the real property is registered property, a transfer on death deed that was 7.5 recorded incorrectly or incompletely is valid if the deed was recorded before the death of 7.6 the grantor owner in the office of the county recorder or the registrar of titles in a county 7.7 in which at least part of the real property is located, and is memorialized on the certificate 7.8 of title after death. A transfer on death deed is not effective for purposes of section 507.34, 7.9 508.47, or 508A.47 until the deed is properly recorded in the county in which the real 7.10 property is located. When a transfer on death deed is presented for recording, no certification 7.11 by the county auditor as to transfer of ownership and current and delinquent taxes shall be 7.12 required or made and the transfer on death deed shall not be required to be accompanied 7.13 by a certificate of real estate value. A transfer on death deed that otherwise satisfies all 7.14 statutory requirements for recording may be recorded and shall be accepted for recording 7.15 in the county in which the property described in the deed is located. If any part of the property 7.16 described in the transfer on death deed is registered property, the registrar of titles shall 7.17 accept the transfer on death deed for recording only if at least one of the grantors who 7.18 executes the transfer on death deed appears of record to have an ownership interest or other 7.19 interest in the real property described in the deed. No certification or approval of a transfer 7.20 on death deed shall be required of the examiner of titles prior to recording of the deed in 7.21 the office of the registrar of titles. 7.22

Subd. 9. Deed to trustee or other entity. A transfer on death deed may transfer an
interest in real property to the trustee of an inter vivos trust even if the trust is revocable, to
the trustee of a testamentary trust or to any other entity legally qualified to hold title to real
property under the laws of this state.

Subd. 10. Revocation or modification of transfer on death deed. (a) A transfer on 7.27 death deed may be revoked at any time by the grantor owner or, if there is more than one 7.28 7.29 grantor owner, by any of the grantor owners. A revocation revokes the transfer on death deed in its entirety. To be effective, the revocation must be recorded in a county in which 7.30 at least a part of the real property is located before the death of the grantor owner or owners 7.31 who execute the revocation. Notwithstanding the definition of recorded under subdivision 7.32 1, if the real property is registered property, a revocation that was recorded incorrectly or 7.33 incompletely is effective if it was recorded before the death of the grantor owner in the 7.34

7.35 office of the county recorder or the registrar of titles in a county in which at least part of

8.3

LB

the real property is located, and is memorialized on the certificate of title after death. The
revocation is not effective for purposes of section 507.34, 508.47, or 508A.47 until the

revocation is properly recorded in a county in which the real property is located.

(b) If a grantor owner conveys to a third party, subsequent to the recording of the transfer 8.4 on death deed, by means other than a transfer on death deed, all or a part of such grantor 8.5 owner's interest in the property described in the transfer on death deed, no transfer of the 8.6 conveyed interest shall occur on such grantor owner's death and the transfer on death deed 8.7 shall be ineffective as to the conveyed or transferred interests, but the transfer on death deed 8.8 remains effective with respect to the conveyance or transfer on death of any other interests 8.9 described in the transfer on death deed owned by the grantor owner at the time of the grantor 8.10 owner's death. 8.11

(c) A transfer on death deed is a "governing instrument" within the meaning of section
524.2-804 and, except as may otherwise be specifically provided for in the transfer on death
deed, is subject to the same provisions as to revocation, revival, and nonrevocation set forth
in section 524.2-804.

Subd. 11. Antilapse; deceased beneficiary; words of survivorship. (a) Except when 8.16 a successor grantee beneficiary is designated in the transfer on death deed for the grantee 8.17 beneficiary who did not survive the grantor owner, if a grantee beneficiary who is a 8.18 grandparent or lineal descendant of a grandparent of the grantor owner fails to survive the 8.19 grantor owner, the issue of the deceased grantee beneficiary who survive the grantor owner 8.20 take in place of the deceased grantee beneficiary. If they are all of the same degree of kinship 8.21 to the deceased grantee beneficiary, they take equally. If they are of unequal degree, those 8.22 of more remote degree take by right of representation. 8.23

(b) For the purposes of this subdivision, words of survivorship such as, in a conveyance
to an individual, "if he or she survives me," or, in a class gift, to "my surviving children,"
are a sufficient indication of intent to condition the conveyance or transfer upon the
beneficiary surviving the grantor owner.

8.28 (c) When issue of a deceased grantee beneficiary or members of a class take in place of
the named grantee beneficiary pursuant to subdivision 5 or paragraph (a) or (b) or when a
beneficiary dies and has no issue under paragraph (a), an affidavit of survivorship stating
the names and shares of the beneficiaries or stating that a deceased beneficiary had no issue
is not conclusive and a court order made in accordance with Minnesota probate law
determining the beneficiaries and shares must also be recorded.

Article 1 Sec. 4.

SENATEE

SS4097R

LB

9.1 Subd. 12. Lapse. If all beneficiaries and all successor beneficiaries, if any, designated
9.2 in a transfer on death deed, and also all successor beneficiaries who would take under the
9.3 antilapse provisions of subdivision 11, fail to survive the grantor owner or the last survivor
9.4 of the grantor owners if there are multiple grantor owners, if the beneficiary is a trust which
9.5 has been revoked prior to the grantor owner's death, or if the beneficiary is an entity no
9.6 longer in existence at the grantor owner's death, no transfer shall occur and the transfer on

9.7 death deed is void.

9.8 Subd. 13. Multiple transfer on death deeds. If a grantor owner executes and records more than one transfer on death deed conveying the same interest in real property or a 9.9 greater interest in the real property, or conveying part of the property in the earlier transfer 9.10 on death deed, the transfer on death deed that has the latest acknowledgment date and that 9.11 is recorded before the death of the grantor owner upon whose death the conveyance or 9.12 transfer is conditioned is the effective transfer on death deed and all other transfer on death 9.13 deeds, if any, executed by the grantor owner or the grantor owners are ineffective to transfer 9.14 any interest and are void, except that if the later transfer on death deed included only part 9.15 of the land of the earlier deed, the earlier deed is effective for the lands not included in the 9.16 subsequent deed, absent language to the contrary in the subsequent deed. 9.17

Subd. 14. Nonademption; unpaid proceeds of sale, condemnation, or insurance; 9.18 sale by conservator or guardian. If at the time of the death of the grantor owner upon 9.19 whose death the conveyance or transfer is stated to be effective, the grantor owner did not 9.20 own a part or all of the real property described in the transfer on death deed, no conveyance 9.21 or transfer to the beneficiary of the nonowned part of the real property shall occur upon the 9.22 death of the grantor owner and the transfer on death deed is void as to the nonowned part 9.23 of the real property, but the beneficiary shall have the same rights to unpaid proceeds of 9.24 sale, condemnation or insurance, and, if sold by a conservator or guardian of the grantor 9.25 owner during the grantor owner's lifetime, the same rights to a general pecuniary devise, as 9.26 that of a specific devisee as set forth in section 524.2-606. 9.27

Subd. 15. Nonexoneration. Except as otherwise provided in subdivision 3, a conveyance
or transfer under a transfer on death deed passes the described property subject to any
mortgage or security interest existing at the date of death of the grantor owner, without right
of exoneration, regardless of any statutory obligations to pay the grantor owner's debts upon
death and regardless of a general directive in the grantor owner's will to pay debts.

9.33 Subd. 16. Disclaimer by beneficiary. A grantee beneficiary's interest under a transfer
9.34 on death deed may be disclaimed as provided in sections 524.2-1101 to 524.2-1116, or as
9.35 otherwise provided by law.

10.1 Subd. 17. Effect on other conveyances. This section does not prohibit other methods 10.2 of conveying property that are permitted by law and that have the effect of postponing 10.3 ownership or enjoyment of an interest in real property until the death of the owner. This 10.4 section does not invalidate any deed that is not a transfer on death deed and that is otherwise 10.5 effective to convey title to the interests and estates described in the deed that is not recorded 10.6 until after the death of the owner.

Subd. 18. Notice, consent, and delivery not required. The signature, consent or
agreement of, or notice to, a grantee beneficiary under a transfer on death deed, or delivery
of the transfer on death deed to the grantee beneficiary, is not required for any purpose
during the lifetime of the grantor owner.

Subd. 19. Nonrevocation by will. A transfer on death deed that is executed,
acknowledged, and recorded in accordance with this section is not revoked by the provisions
of a will.

Subd. 20. Proof of survivorship and clearance from public assistance claims and 10.14 liens; recording. An affidavit of identity and survivorship with a certified copy of a record 10.15 of death as an attachment may be combined with a clearance certificate under this section 10.16 and the combined documents may be recorded separately or as one document in each county 10.17 in which the real estate described in the clearance certificate is located. The affidavit must 10.18 include the name and mailing address of the person to whom future property tax statements 10.19 should be sent. The affidavit, record of death, and clearance certificate, whether combined 10.20 or separate, shall be prima facie evidence of the facts stated in each, and the registrar of 10.21 titles may rely on the statements to transfer title to the property described in the clearance 10.22 certificate, except in cases where a court order is required pursuant to the provisions of 10.23 subdivision 11, paragraph (c). 10.24

Subd. 21. After-acquired property. Except as provided in this subdivision, a transfer on death deed is not effective to transfer any interest in real property acquired by a grantor owner subsequent to the date of signing of a transfer on death deed. A grantor owner may provide by specific language in a transfer on death deed that the transfer on death deed will apply to any interest in the described property acquired by the grantor owner after the signing or recording of the deed.

Subd. 22. Anticipatory alienation prohibited. The interest of a grantee beneficiary
under a transfer on death deed which has not yet become effective is not subject to alienation;
assignment; encumbrance; appointment or anticipation by the beneficiary; garnishment;
attachment; execution or bankruptcy proceedings; claims for alimony, support, or

maintenance; payment of other obligations by any person against the beneficiary; or any 11.1 other transfer, voluntary or involuntary, by or from any beneficiary. 11.2

11.3 Subd. 23. Clearance for public assistance claims and liens. Any person claiming an interest in real property conveyed or transferred by a transfer on death deed, or the person's 11.4 attorney or other agent, may apply to the county agency in the county in which the real 11.5 property is located for a clearance certificate for the real property described in the transfer 11.6 on death deed. The application for a clearance certificate and the clearance certificate must 11.7 11.8 contain the legal description of each parcel of property covered by the clearance certificate. The county agency shall provide a sufficient number of clearance certificates to allow a 11.9 clearance certificate to be recorded in each county in which the real property described in 11.10 the transfer on death deed is located. The real property described in the clearance certificate 11.11 is bound by any conditions or other requirements imposed by the county agency as specified 11.12 in the clearance certificate. If the real property is registered property, a new certificate of 11.13 title must not be issued until the clearance certificate is recorded. If the clearance certificate 11.14 shows the continuation of a medical assistance claim or lien after issuance of the clearance 11.15 certificate, the real property remains subject to the claim or lien. If the real property is 11.16 registered property, the clearance certificate must be carried forward as a memorial in any 11.17 new certificate of title. The application shall contain the same information and shall be 11.18 submitted, processed, and resolved in the same manner and on the same terms and conditions 11.19 as provided in section 525.313 for a clearance certificate in a decree of descent proceeding, 11.20 except that a copy of a notice of hearing does not have to accompany the application. The 11.21 application may contain a statement that the applicant, after reasonably diligent inquiry, is 11.22 not aware of the existence of a predeceased spouse or the existence of a claim which could 11.23 be recovered under section 246.53, 256B.15, 256D.16, 261.04, or 514.981. If the county 11.24 agency determines that a claim or lien exists under section 246.53, 256B.15, 256D.16, 11.25 261.04, or 514.981, the provisions of section 525.313 shall apply to collection, compromise, 11.26 11.27 and settlement of the claim or lien. A person claiming an interest in real property transferred or conveyed by a transfer on death deed may petition or move the district court, as 11.28 appropriate, in the county in which the real property is located or in the county in which a 11.29 probate proceeding affecting the estate of the grantor of the transfer on death deed is pending, 11.30 for an order allowing sale of the real property free and clear of any public assistance claim 11.31 or lien but subject to disposition of the sale proceeds as provided in section 525.313. On a 11.32 showing of good cause and subject to such notice as the court may require, the court without 11.33 hearing may issue an order allowing the sale free and clear of any public assistance claim 11.34 or lien on such terms and conditions as the court deems advisable to protect the interests of 11.35 11.36 the state or county agency.

Article 1 Sec. 4.

12.1	Subd. 24. Form of transfer on death deed. A transfer on death deed may be substantially
12.2	in the following form:
12.3	Transfer on Death Deed
12.4	I (we) (grantor owner or owners and spouses, if any, with
12.5	marital status designated), grantor(s), hereby convey(s) and quitclaim(s) to
12.6	(grantee beneficiary, whether one or more) effective (check
12.7	only one of the following)
12.8	on the death of the grantor owner, if only one grantor is named above, or on the
12.9	death of the last of the grantor owners to die, if more than one grantor owner is named
12.10	above, or
12.11	on the death of (name of grantor owner)
12.12	(must be one of the grantor owners named above), the
12.13	following described real property:
12.14	(Legal description)
12.15	If checked, the following optional statement applies:
12.16	When effective, this instrument conveys any and all interests in the described real
12.17	property acquired by the grantor owner(s) before, on, or after the date of this
12.18	instrument.
12.19	
12.20	(Signature of grantor(s))
12.21	(acknowledgment)
12.22	Subd. 25. Form of instrument of revocation. An instrument of revocation may be
12.23	substantially in the following form:
12.24	Revocation of Transfer on Death Deed
12.25	The undersigned hereby revokes the transfer on death deed recorded on,
12.26	as Document No (or in Book of, Page) in the office of the
12.27	(County Recorder) (Registrar of Titles) of County, Minnesota, affecting real
12.28	property legally described as follows:
12.29	(legal description)
12.30	Dated:
12.31	

	03/25/24	SENATEE	LB	SS4097R
13.1		Signature		
13.2	(acknowledgment)	-		
13.3	Subd. 26. Jurisdiction. In countie	s where the district	court has a probat	e division, <u>the</u>
13.4	application of subdivision 11 or other	issues of interpreta	tion or validity of	the transfer on
13.5	death deed, and actions to enforce a m	nedical assistance lie	en or claim agains	t real property
13.6	described in a transfer on death deed a	nd any matter raised	d in connection wi	th enforcement
13.7	shall be determined in the probate div	ision. Notwithstand	ing any other law	to the contrary,
13.8	the provisions of section 256B.15 sha	ll apply to any proc	eeding to enforce	a medical
13.9	assistance lien or claim under chapter	524 or 525. In othe	r counties, the dist	trict court shall
13.10	have jurisdiction to determine any mat	ter affecting real pro	perty purporting to	be transferred
13.11	by a transfer on death deed. Notwithst	tanding any other la	w to the contrary,	the provisions
13.12	of section 256B.15 shall apply to any	proceeding to enfor	rce a medical assis	tance lien or
13.13	claim under chapter 524 or 525.			
13.14	Sec. 5. [507.072] PROPERTY INS	URANCE FOR G	RANTEE BENE	FICIARIES
13.15	OF TRANSFER ON DEATH DEEL	DS.		
13.16	Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For	r purposes of this se	ection, the followin	ng definitions
13.17	apply unless the context indicates other	erwise.		
13.18	(b) "Grantee beneficiary" has the r	neaning given in se	ction 507.071, sub	odivision 1.
13.19	(c) "Insurance policy" means an in	surance policy gov	erned by chapter 6	<u>5</u> A.
13.20	(d) "Transfer on death deed" mean	s a deed described	in section 507.071	÷
13.21	(e) "Grantor owner" has the meani	ng given in section	507.071, subdivis	<u>ion 1.</u>
13.22	(f) "Extended coverage" or "tempo	orary extended cove	rage" means insur	ance coverage
13.23	continuing beyond the death of the na	med insured.		
13.24	Subd. 2. Insurance policy to inclu	ude grantee benefi	ciary. <u>An insurer</u> j	providing an
13.25	insurance policy on real property trans	sferred by a transfer	r on death deed sha	all provide
13.26	temporary extended coverage on the re-	eal property to the d	esignated grantee	beneficiary for
13.27	a period commencing on the date of de	ath of the grantor ov	wner and ending w	hen the grantee
13.28	beneficiary replaces the insurance pol	icy on the insured p	property with an in	surance policy
13.29	or the expiration of the time limitation	ns set forth in subdiv	vision 4, whicheve	er is sooner.
13.30	Subd. 3. Notice to the insurer. To	obtain temporary e	xtended coverage	for a transfer
13.31	on death deed as provided in this section	ion, the grantor owr	ner must notify the	insurer of the

SENATEE

LB

existence of a transfer on death deed. The notice shall include the names and contact 14.1 information of all designated grantee beneficiaries. 14.2 14.3 Subd. 4. Coverage extended. The coverage to be extended under this section applies only with respect to the insurance policy insuring the real property of the grantor owner. 14.4 14.5 The period of extended coverage shall not exceed 30 days from the date of the grantor owner's death or the expiration date of the insurance policy, whichever is less. An insurer 14.6 is not required to provide notice to the grantee beneficiary for cancellation of coverage 14.7 14.8 following the shorter of the 30 days or expiration date of the policy or the placement of replacement insurance coverage. 14.9 14.10 Subd. 5. Proof demanded; policy conditions. Before making any payment for a claim under this section, the insurer may require proof that the claimant is a grantee beneficiary 14.11 under a transfer on death deed, the transfer on death deed was recorded as provided in 14.12 section 507.071, and that an affidavit of survivorship and death certificate of the grantor 14.13 owner was recorded as provided in section 507.071. The grantee beneficiary shall comply 14.14 with the conditions of the policy. 14.15 Subd. 6. Insurable interest. A grantee beneficiary does not hold an insurable interest 14.16 in the real property described in a transfer on death deed prior to the death of the grantor 14.17 owner. Any claim on the insured real property described in a transfer on death deed initiated 14.18 before the death of the grantor owner or the death benefits associated with the policy prior 14.19 to the death of the grantor owner shall be settled with the estate of the grantor owner, not 14.20 with the grantee beneficiary. A grantee beneficiary is not entitled to recover benefits under 14.21 an insurance policy extended as provided in this section in an amount greater than the grantee 14.22 beneficiary's insurable interest at the time of loss or damage. A grantee beneficiary is not 14.23 entitled to any amounts paid out in prior claims on the property. If the transfer on death 14.24 deed designates multiple grantee beneficiaries, nothing in this section requires the insurer 14.25 to pay an amount for loss or damage to the insured real property that exceeds the amount 14.26 14.27 that would be owed to the grantor owner if the grantor owner was living at the time of loss or damage. 14.28 Subd. 7. Warnings on transfer on death deeds. On or after August 1 of the year of the 14.29 effective date of this section, a transfer on death deed shall contain the following warnings 14.30 in substantially the following form: 14.31 "Warning to Grantor Owner: Temporary extended coverage of any fire and casualty 14.32 insurance policy on the property under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 65A, will exist only if 14.33 the grantor owner has given notice to the insurer under Minnesota Statutes, section 507.072, 14.34

LB

15.1	subdivision 3, including the existence of a transfer on death deed and the names and contact
15.2	information of all designated grantee beneficiaries. Any temporary extended coverage
15.3	terminates on the earlier of (1) 30 days after the date of the grantor owner's death, (2) the
15.4	expiration date of the policy, or (3) upon placement of a replacement insurance policy.
15.5	Warning to Grantee Beneficiary: A grantee beneficiary shall not presume insurance
15.6	coverage continues after the death of the grantor owner. Upon the death of the grantor
15.7	owner, the grantee beneficiary should determine whether the provisions of Minnesota
15.8	Statutes, section 507.072, apply and consult with an insurance agent or attorney."
15.9	The failure to include warnings in a transfer on death deed in accordance with this
15.10	subdivision shall not invalidate the transfer on death deed or affect recording of the transfer
15.11	on death deed.
15.12	Sec. 6. DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONERS; REVIEW OF SERVICE
15.13	TERMINATION REQUIREMENTS FOR RESIDENTIAL SERVICES.
15.14	By August 1, 2024, the commissioners of human services and health must begin
15.15	consulting with residential services providers licensed under Minnesota Statutes, chapters
15.16	144G and 245D, whose facilities provide services to individuals reimbursed under medical
15.17	assistance to examine issues related to resident and staff safety and to roadblocks in the
15.18	continuum of care for disability and behavioral health services arising from the application
15.19	of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 504B, to licensed settings. By January 15, 2025, the
15.20	commissioners must provide the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative
15.21	committees with jurisdiction over assisted living and home and community-based services
15.22	licensure with recommendations, including draft legislation, to address issues of safety and
15.23	access to care.
15.24	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.
15.25	Sec. 7. EFFECTIVE DATE.

15.26 Sections 1 and 2 are effective on the day following final enactment and apply to insurance

15.27 policies issued or renewed in Minnesota on or after August 1 of the year of final enactment.

15.28 Sections 1 and 2 do not apply to insurance policies issued or renewed prior to August 1 of

15.29 the year of final enactment or to transfer on death deeds recorded prior to that date unless

15.30 the grantor owner provides the notice specified by section 2, subdivision 3.

	03/25/24	SENATEE	LB	SS4097R
16.1		ARTICLE 2		
16.2	FINANC	IAL INSTITUTI	ONS	
16.3	Section 1. [46A.01] DEFINITIONS	<u>.</u>		
16.4	Subdivision 1. Terms. For the purp	oses of this chant	er the terms defined	l in this section
16.5	have the meanings given them.	oses of this chapt	er, me terms dermed	t in this section
		· 1 · 1	1	
16.6	Subd. 2. Authorized user. "Author			
16.7	or other person who: (1) participates in			
16.8	is authorized to access and use any of	the financial instit	ution's information	systems and
16.9	data.			
16.10	Subd. 3. Commissioner. "Commis	sioner" means the	commissioner of co	ommerce.
16.11	Subd. 4. Consumer. (a) "Consume	r" means an indiv	idual who obtains o	or has obtained
16.12	from a financial institution a financial	product or service	that is used primaril	ly for personal,
16.13	family, or household purposes, or is use	ed by the individua	al's legal representat	tive. Consumer
16.14	includes but is not limited to an indivi-	dual who:		
16.15	(1) applies to a financial institution	for credit for perso	nal, family, or house	chold purposes,
16.16	regardless of whether the credit is exte	ended;		
16.17	(2) provides nonpublic personal in	formation to a fina	ancial institution in	order to obtain
16.18	a determination whether the individua	l qualifies for a los	an used primarily fo	or personal,
16.19	family, or household purposes, regard	ess of whether the	e loan is extended;	
16.20	(3) provides nonpublic personal inf	formation to a final	ncial institution in co	onnection with
16.21	obtaining or seeking to obtain financial,	investment, or eco	nomic advisory serv	ices, regardless
16.22	of whether the financial institution esta	ablishes a continu	ing advisory relation	nship with the
16.23	individual; or			
16.24	(4) has a loan for personal, family, or	r household purpos	ses in which the finar	ncial institution
16.25	has ownership or servicing rights, even	n if the financial in	nstitution or one or	more other
16.26	institutions that hold ownership or servi	cing rights in conju	nction with the final	ncial institution
16.27	hires an agent to collect on the loan.			
16.28	(b) Consumer does not include an i	individual who:		
16.29	(1) is a consumer of another financi	al institution that u	uses a different finan	ncial institution
16.30	to act solely as an agent for, or provide	e processing or oth	ner services to, the c	consumer's
16.31	financial institution;			
16.32	(2) designates a financial institution	n solely for the pur	poses to act as a tru	stee for a trust;

17.1	(3) is the beneficiary of a trust for which the financial institution serves as trustee; or
17.2	(4) is a participant or a beneficiary of an employee benefit plan that the financial
17.3	institution sponsors or for which the financial institution acts as a trustee or fiduciary.
17.4	Subd. 5. Continuing relationship. (a) "Continuing relationship" means a consumer:
17.5	(1) has a credit or investment account with a financial institution;
17.6	(2) obtains a loan from a financial institution;
17.7	(3) purchases an insurance product from a financial institution;
17.8	(4) holds an investment product through a financial institution, including but not limited
17.9	to when the financial institution acts as a custodian for securities or for assets in an individual
17.10	retirement arrangement;
17.11	(5) enters into an agreement or understanding with a financial institution whereby the
17.12	financial institution undertakes to arrange or broker a home mortgage loan, or credit to
17.13	purchase a vehicle, for the consumer;
17.14	(6) enters into a lease of personal property on a nonoperating basis with a financial
17.15	institution;
17.16	(7) obtains financial, investment, or economic advisory services from a financial
17.17	institution for a fee;
17.18	(8) becomes a financial institution's client to obtain tax preparation or credit counseling
17.19	services from the financial institution;
17.20	(9) obtains career counseling while: (i) seeking employment with a financial institution
17.21	or the finance, accounting, or audit department of any company; or (ii) employed by a
17.22	financial institution or department of any company;
17.23	(10) is obligated on an account that a financial institution purchases from another financial
17.24	institution, regardless of whether the account is in default when purchased, unless the
17.25	financial institution does not locate the consumer or attempt to collect any amount from the
17.26	consumer on the account;
17.27	(11) obtains real estate settlement services from a financial institution; or
17.28	(12) has a loan for which a financial institution owns the servicing rights.
17.29	(b) Continuing relationship does not include situations where:
17.30	(1) the consumer obtains a financial product or service from a financial institution only
17.31	in isolated transactions, including but not limited to: (i) using a financial institution's

03/25/24

18.1	automated teller machine to withdraw cash from an account at another financial institution;
18.2	(ii) purchasing a money order from a financial institution; (iii) cashing a check with a
18.3	financial institution; or (iv) making a wire transfer through a financial institution;
18.4	(2) a financial institution sells the consumer's loan and does not retain the rights to service
18.5	the loan;
18.6	(3) a financial institution sells the consumer airline tickets, travel insurance, or traveler's
18.7	checks in isolated transactions;
18.8	(4) the consumer obtains onetime personal or real property appraisal services from a
18.9	financial institution; or
18.10	(5) the consumer purchases checks for a personal checking account from a financial
18.11	institution.
18.12	Subd. 6. Customer. "Customer" means a consumer who has a customer relationship
18.13	with a financial institution.
10.14	
18.14	Subd. 7. Customer information. "Customer information" means any record containing
18.15	nonpublic personal information about a financial institution's customer, whether the record
18.16	is in paper, electronic, or another form, that is handled or maintained by or on behalf of the
18.17	financial institution or the financial institution's affiliates.
18.18	Subd. 8. Customer relationship. "Customer relationship" means a continuing relationship
18.19	between a consumer and a financial institution under which the financial institution provides
18.20	to the consumer one or more financial products or services that are used primarily for
18.21	personal, family, or household purposes.
18.22	Subd. 9. Encryption. "Encryption" means the transformation of data into a format that
18.23	results in a low probability of assigning meaning without the use of a protective process or
18.24	key, consistent with current cryptographic standards and accompanied by appropriate
18.25	safeguards for cryptographic key material.
18.26	Subd. 10. Federally insured depository financial institution. "Federally insured
18.27	depository financial institution" means a bank, credit union, savings and loan association,
18.28	trust company, savings association, savings bank, industrial bank, or industrial loan company
18.29	organized under the laws of the United States or any state of the United States, when the
18.30	bank, credit union, savings and loan association, trust company, savings association, savings
18.31	bank, industrial bank, or industrial loan company has federally insured deposits.
18.32	Subd. 11. Financial product or service. "Financial product or service" means any
18.33	product or service that a financial holding company could offer by engaging in a financial

LB

19.1	activity under section 4(k) of the Bank Holding Company Act of 1956, United States Code,
19.2	title 12, section 1843(k). Financial product or service includes a financial institution's
19.3	evaluation or brokerage of information that the financial institution collects in connection
19.4	with a request or an application from a consumer for a financial product or service.
19.5	Subd. 12. Financial institution. "Financial institution" means a consumer small loan
19.6	lender under section 47.60, a person owning or maintaining electronic financial terminals
19.7	under section 47.62, a trust company under chapter 48A, a loan and thrift company under
19.8	chapter 53, a currency exchange under chapter 53A, a money transmitter under chapter 53B,
19.9	a sales finance company under chapter 53C, a regulated loan lender under chapter 56, a
19.10	residential mortgage originator or servicer under chapter 58, a student loan servicer under
19.11	chapter 58B, a credit service organization under section 332.54, a debt management service
19.12	provider or person providing debt management services under chapter 332A, or a debt
19.13	settlement service provider or person providing debt settlement services under chapter 332B.
19.14	Subd. 13. Information security program. "Information security program" means the
19.15	administrative, technical, or physical safeguards a financial institution uses to access, collect,
19.16	distribute, process, protect, store, use, transmit, dispose of, or otherwise handle customer
19.17	information.
19.18	Subd. 14. Information system. "Information system" means a discrete set of electronic
19.19	information resources organized to collect, process, maintain, use, share, disseminate, or
19.20	dispose of electronic information, as well as any specialized system, including but not
19.21	limited to industrial process controls systems, telephone switching and private branch
19.22	exchange systems, and environmental controls systems, that contains customer information
19.23	or that is connected to a system that contains customer information.
19.24	Subd. 15. Multifactor authentication. "Multifactor authentication" means authentication
19.25	through verification of at least two of the following factors:
19.26	(1) knowledge factors, including but not limited to a password;
19.27	(2) possession factors, including but not limited to a token; or
19.28	(3) inherence factors, including but not limited to biometric characteristics.
19.29	Subd. 16. Nonpublic personal information. (a) "Nonpublic personal information"
19.30	means:
19.31	(1) personally identifiable financial information; or

20.1	(2) any list, description, or other grouping of consumers, including publicly available
20.2	information pertaining to the list, description, or other grouping of consumers, that is derived
20.3	using personally identifiable financial information that is not publicly available.
20.4	(b) Nonpublic personal information includes but is not limited to any list of individuals'
20.5	names and street addresses that is derived in whole or in part using personally identifiable
20.6	financial information that is not publicly available, including account numbers.
20.7	(c) Nonpublic personal information does not include:
20.8	(1) publicly available information, except as included on a list described in paragraph
20.9	(a), clause (2);
20.10	(2) any list, description, or other grouping of consumers, including publicly available
20.11	information pertaining to the list, description, or other grouping of consumers, that is derived
20.12	without using any personally identifiable financial information that is not publicly available;
20.13	or
20.14	(3) any list of individuals' names and addresses that contains only publicly available
20.15	information, is not derived in whole or in part using personally identifiable financial
20.16	information that is not publicly available, and is not disclosed in a manner that indicates
20.17	that any individual on the list is the financial institution's consumer.
20.18	Subd. 17. Notification event. "Notification event" means the acquisition of unencrypted
20.19	customer information without the authorization of the individual to which the information
20.20	pertains. Customer information is considered unencrypted for this purpose if the encryption
20.21	key was accessed by an unauthorized person. Unauthorized acquisition is presumed to
20.22	include unauthorized access to unencrypted customer information unless the financial
20.23	institution has reliable evidence showing that there has not been, or could not reasonably
20.24	have been, unauthorized acquisition of customer information.
20.25	Subd. 18. Penetration testing. "Penetration testing" means a test methodology in which
20.26	assessors attempt to circumvent or defeat the security features of an information system by
20.27	attempting to penetrate databases or controls from outside or inside a financial institution's
20.28	information systems.
20.29	Subd. 19. Personally identifiable financial information. (a) "Personally identifiable
20.30	financial information" means any information:
20.31	(1) a consumer provides to a financial institution to obtain a financial product or service;
20.32	(2) about a consumer resulting from any transaction involving a financial product or
20.33	service between a financial institution and a consumer; or

	03/25/24	SENATEE	LB	SS4097R
21.1	(3) a financial institution otherwise of	otains about a consumer	r in connection w	vith providing
21.2	a financial product or service to the cus	tomer.		
21.3	(b) Personally identifiable financial	information includes:		
21.4	(1) information a consumer provides	s to a financial institution	on on an applicat	tion to obtain
21.5	a loan, credit card, or other financial pr	oduct or service;		
21.6	(2) account balance information, pa	yment history, overdra	ft history, and ci	redit or debit
21.7	card purchase information;			
21.8	(3) the fact that an individual is or h	as been a financial ins	titution's custom	ter or has
21.9	obtained a financial product or service	from the financial inst	itution;	
21.10	(4) any information about a financial	institution's consumer,	if the information	n is disclosed
21.11	in a manner that indicates that the indiv	vidual is or has been th	e financial instit	ution's
21.12	consumer;			
21.13	(5) any information that a consumer	provides to a financial	institution or the	at a financial
21.14	institution or a financial institution's ag	ent otherwise obtains i	n connection wi	th collecting
21.15	on or servicing a credit account;			
21.16	(6) any information a financial insti	tution collects through	an Internet info	ormation
21.17	collecting device from a web server; an	<u>id</u>		
21.18	(7) information from a consumer re	port.		
21.19	(c) Personally identifiable financial	information does not i	nclude:	
21.20	(1) a list of customer names and add	resses for an entity that	t is not a financia	al institution;
21.21	and			
21.22	(2) information that does not identify	y a consumer, including	g but not limited	to aggregate
21.23	information or blind data that does not	contain personal ident	ifiers, including	account
21.24	numbers, names, or addresses.			
21.25	Subd. 20. Publicly available inform	nation. (a) "Publicly a	vailable information	ation" means
21.26	any information that a financial institution	on has a reasonable bas	is to believe is la	wfully made
21.27	available to the general public from:			
21.28	(1) federal, state, or local governme	nt records;		
21.29	(2) widely distributed media; or			
21.30	(3) disclosures to the general public	that are required unde	er federal, state, o	or local law.
21.31	(b) Publicly available information in	ncludes but is not limit	ted to:	

SENATEE

LB

22.1	(1) with respect to government records, information in government real estate records
22.2	and security interest filings; and
22.3	(2) with respect to widely distributed media, information from a telephone book, a
22.4	television or radio program, a newspaper, or a website that is available to the general public
22.5	on an unrestricted basis. A website is not restricted merely because an Internet service
22.6	provider or a site operator requires a fee or a password, provided that access is available to
22.7	the general public.
22.8	(c) For purposes of this subdivision, a financial institution has a reasonable basis to
22.9	believe that information is lawfully made available to the general public if the financial
22.10	institution has taken steps to determine: (1) that the information is of the type that is available
22.11	to the general public; and (2) whether an individual can direct that the information not be
22.12	made available to the general public and, if so, that the financial institution's consumer has
22.13	not directed that the information not be made available to the general public. A financial
22.14	institution has a reasonable basis to believe that mortgage information is lawfully made
22.15	available to the general public if the financial institution determines the information is of
22.16	the type included on the public record in the jurisdiction where the mortgage would be
22.17	recorded. A financial institution has a reasonable basis to believe that an individual's
22.18	telephone number is lawfully made available to the general public if the financial institution
22.19	has located the telephone number in the telephone book or the consumer has informed the
22.20	financial institution that the telephone number is not unlisted.
22.21	Subd. 21. Qualified individual. "Qualified individual" means the individual designated
22.22	by a financial institution to oversee, implement, and enforce the financial institution's
22.23	information security program.
22.24	Subd. 22. Security event. "Security event" means an event resulting in unauthorized
22.25	access to, or disruption or misuse of: (1) an information system or information stored on an
22.26	information system; or (2) customer information held in physical form.
22.27	Subd. 23. Service provider. "Service provider" means any person or entity that receives,
22.28	maintains, processes, or otherwise is permitted access to customer information through the
22.29	service provider's provision of services directly to a financial institution that is subject to
22.30	this chapter.
22.31	Sec. 2. [46A.02] SAFEGUARDING CUSTOMER INFORMATION; STANDARDS.

22.32 <u>Subdivision 1.</u> Information security program. (a) A financial institution must develop,
 22.33 <u>implement, and maintain a comprehensive information security program.</u>

23.1	(b) The information security program must: (1) be written in one or more readily
23.2	accessible parts; and (2) contain administrative, technical, and physical safeguards that are
23.3	appropriate to the financial institution's size and complexity, the nature and scope of the
23.4	financial institution's activities, and the sensitivity of any customer information at issue.
23.5	(c) The information security program must include the elements set forth in section
23.6	46A.03 and must be reasonably designed to achieve the objectives of this chapter, as
23.7	established under subdivision 2.
23.8	Subd. 2. Objectives. The objectives of this chapter are to:
23.9	(1) ensure the security and confidentiality of customer information;
23.10	(2) protect against any anticipated threats or hazards to the security or integrity of
23.11	customer information; and
23.12	(3) protect against unauthorized access to or use of customer information that might
23.13	result in substantial harm or inconvenience to a customer.
23.14	Sec. 3. [46A.03] ELEMENTS.
23.15	Subdivision 1. Generally. In order to develop, implement, and maintain an information
23.16	security program, a financial institution must comply with this section.
23.17	Subd. 2. Qualified individual. (a) A financial institution must designate a qualified
23.18	individual responsible for overseeing, implementing, and enforcing the financial institution's
23.19	information security program. The qualified individual may be employed by the financial
23.20	institution, an affiliate, or a service provider.
23.21	(b) If a financial institution designates an individual employed by an affiliate or service
23.22	provider as the financial institution's qualified individual, the financial institution must:
23.23	(1) retain responsibility for complying with this chapter;
23.24	(2) designate a senior member of the financial institution's personnel to be responsible
23.25	for directing and overseeing the qualified individual's activities; and
23.26	(3) require the service provider or affiliate to maintain an information security program
23.27	that protects the financial institution in a manner that complies with the requirements of
23.28	this chapter.
23.29	Subd. 3. Security risk assessment. (a) A financial institution must base the financial
23.30	institution's information security program on a risk assessment that:

24.1	(1) identifies reasonably foreseeable internal and external risks to the security,
24.2	confidentiality, and integrity of customer information that might result in the unauthorized
24.3	disclosure, misuse, alteration, destruction, or other compromise of customer information;
24.4	and
24.5	(2) assesses the sufficiency of any safeguards in place to control the risks identified
24.6	under clause (1).
24.7	(b) The risk assessment must be made in writing and must include:
24.8	(1) criteria to evaluate and categorize identified security risks or threats the financial
24.9	institution faces;
24.10	(2) criteria to assess the confidentiality, integrity, and availability of the financial
24.11	institution's information systems and customer information, including the adequacy of
24.12	existing controls in the context of the identified risks or threats the financial institution
24.13	faces; and
24.14	(3) requirements describing how:
24.15	(i) identified risks are mitigated or accepted based on the risk assessment; and
24.16	(ii) the information security program addresses the risks.
24.17	(c) A financial institution must periodically perform additional risk assessments that:
24.18	(1) reexamine the reasonably foreseeable internal and external risks to the security,
24.19	confidentiality, and integrity of customer information that might result in the unauthorized
24.20	disclosure, misuse, alteration, destruction, or other compromise of customer information;
24.21	and
24.22	(2) reassess the sufficiency of any safeguards in place to control the risks identified
24.23	under clause (1).
24.24	Subd. 4. Risk control. A financial institution must design and implement safeguards to
24.25	control the risks the financial institution identifies through the risk assessment under
24.26	subdivision 3, including by:
24.27	(1) implementing and periodically reviewing access controls, including technical and,
24.28	as appropriate, physical controls to:
24.29	(i) authenticate and permit access only to authorized users to protect against the
24.30	unauthorized acquisition of customer information; and

LB

25.1	(ii) limit an authorized user's access to only customer information that the authorized
25.2	user needs to perform the authorized user's duties and functions or, in the case of a customer,
25.3	to limit access to the customer's own information;
25.4	(2) identifying and managing the data, personnel, devices, systems, and facilities that
25.5	enable the financial institution to achieve business purposes in accordance with the business
25.6	purpose's relative importance to business objectives and the financial institution's risk
25.7	strategy;
25.8	(3) protecting by encryption all customer information held or transmitted by the financial
25.9	institution both in transit over external networks and at rest. To the extent a financial
25.10	institution determines that encryption of customer information either in transit over external
25.11	networks or at rest is infeasible, the financial institution may secure the customer information
25.12	using effective alternative compensating controls that have been reviewed and approved by
25.13	the financial institution's qualified individual;
25.14	(4) adopting: (i) secure development practices for in-house developed applications
25.15	utilized by the financial institution to transmit, access, or store customer information; and
25.16	(ii) procedures to evaluate, assess, or test the security of externally developed applications
25.17	the financial institution uses to transmit, access, or store customer information;
25.18	(5) implementing multifactor authentication for any individual that accesses any
25.19	information system, unless the financial institution's qualified individual has approved in
25.20	writing the use of a reasonably equivalent or more secure access control;
25.21	(6) developing, implementing, and maintaining procedures to securely dispose of
25.22	customer information in any format no later than two years after the last date the information
25.23	is used in connection with providing a product or service to the customer which relates,
25.24	unless the information is necessary for business operations or for other legitimate business
25.25	purposes, is otherwise required to be retained by law or regulation, or if targeted disposal
25.26	is not reasonably feasible due to the manner in which the information is maintained;
25.27	(7) periodically reviewing the financial institution's data retention policy to minimize
25.28	the unnecessary retention of data;
25.29	(8) adopting procedures for change management; and
25.30	(9) implementing policies, procedures, and controls designed to: (i) monitor and log the
25.31	activity of authorized users; and (ii) detect unauthorized access to, use of, or tampering with
25.32	customer information by authorized users.

26.1	Subd. 5. Testing and monitoring. (a) A financial institution must regularly test or
26.2	otherwise monitor the effectiveness of the safeguards' key controls, systems, and procedures,
26.3	including the controls, systems, and procedures that detect actual and attempted attacks on,
26.4	or intrusions into, information systems.
26.5	(b) For information systems, monitoring and testing must include continuous monitoring
26.6	or periodic penetration testing and vulnerability assessments. Absent effective continuous
26.7	monitoring or other systems to detect on an ongoing basis any changes in information
26.8	systems that may create vulnerabilities, a financial institution must conduct:
26.9	(1) annual penetration testing of the financial institution's information systems, based
26.10	on relevant identified risks in accordance with the risk assessment; and
26.11	(2) vulnerability assessments, including systemic scans or information systems reviews
26.12	that are reasonably designed to identify publicly known security vulnerabilities in the
26.13	financial institution's information systems based on the risk assessment, at least every six
26.14	months, whenever a material change to the financial institution's operations or business
26.15	arrangements occurs, and whenever the financial institution knows or has reason to know
26.16	circumstances exist that may have a material impact on the financial institution's information
26.17	security program.
26.18	Subd. 6. Internal policies and procedures. A financial institution must implement
26.19	policies and procedures to ensure that the financial institution's personnel are able to enact
26.20	the financial institution's information security program by:
26.21	(1) providing the financial institution's personnel with security awareness training that
26.22	is updated as necessary to reflect risks identified by the risk assessment;
26.23	(2) utilizing qualified information security personnel employed by the financial institution,
26.24	an affiliate, or a service provider sufficient to manage the financial institution's information
26.25	security risks and to perform or oversee the information security program;
26.26	(3) providing information security personnel with security updates and training sufficient
26.27	to address relevant security risks; and
26.28	(4) verifying that key information security personnel take steps to maintain current
26.29	knowledge of changing information security threats and countermeasures.
26.30	Subd. 7. Provider oversight. A financial institution must oversee service providers by:
26.31	(1) taking reasonable steps to select and retain service providers that are capable of
26.32	maintaining appropriate safeguards for the customer information at issue;

	03/25/24	SENATEE	LB	SS4097R
27.1	(2) requiring by contract the finance	ial institution's serv	ice providers to im	plement and
27.2	maintain appropriate safeguards; and			
27.3	(3) periodically assessing the finance	cial institution's ser	vice providers base	d on the risk
27.4	the service providers present and the cor	tinued adequacy of	the service provider	s' safeguards.
27.5	Subd. 8. Information security prog	ram; evaluation; ad	ljustment. <u>A financ</u>	cial institution
27.6	must evaluate and adjust the financial i	nstitution's informa	tion security progra	am to reflect:
27.7	(1) the results of the testing and monito	oring required unde	r subdivision 5; (2)	any material
27.8	changes to the financial institution's op	erations or business	arrangements; (3)	the results of
27.9	risk assessments performed under subdiv	vision 3, paragraph (c); or (4) any other c	rcumstances
27.10	that the financial institution knows or h	as reason to know	may have a materia	l impact on
27.11	the financial institution's information s	ecurity program.		
27.12	Subd. 9. Incident response plan. A	financial institution	n must establish a wr	ritten incident
27.13	response plan designed to promptly resp	ond to and recover f	rom any security eve	ent materially
27.14	affecting the confidentiality, integrity, o	or availability of cu	stomer information	the financial
27.15	institution controls. An incident respon	se plan must addre	<u>ss:</u>	
27.16	(1) the goals of the incident response	se plan;		
27.17	(2) the internal processes to respond	d to a security even	<u>t;</u>	
27.18	(3) clear roles, responsibilities, and	levels of decision r	naking authority;	
27.19	(4) external and internal communic	ations and informat	ion sharing;	
27.20	(5) requirements to remediate any i	dentified weakness	es in information sy	ystems and
27.21	associated controls;			
27.22	(6) documentation and reporting reg	arding security eve	nts and related incid	dent response
27.23	activities; and			
27.24	(7) evaluation and revision of the in	ncident response pla	an as necessary afte	r a security
27.25	event.			
27.26	Subd. 10. Annual report. (a) A fina	ncial institution mus	t require the financia	al institution's
27.27	qualified individual to report at least an	nnually in writing to	the financial instit	ution's board
27.28	of directors or equivalent governing bo	ody. If a board of di	rectors or equivaler	nt governing
27.29	body does not exist, the report under th	is subdivision mus	t be timely presente	ed to a senior
27.30	officer responsible for the financial ins	titution's information	on security program	<u>1.</u>
27.31	(b) The report made under this subo	livision must includ	le the following inf	ormation:

28.1	(1) the overall status of the financial institution's information security program, including
28.2	compliance with this chapter and associated administrative rules; and
28.3	(2) material matters related to the financial institution's information security program,
28.4	including but not limited to addressing issues pertaining to: (i) the risk assessment; (ii) risk
28.5	management and control decisions; (iii) service provider arrangements; (iv) testing results;
28.6	(v) security events or violations and management's responses to the security event or
28.7	violation; and (vi) recommendations for changes in the information security program.
28.8	Subd. 11. Business continuity; disaster recovery. A financial institution must establish
28.9	a written plan addressing business continuity and disaster recovery.
28.10	Sec. 4. [46A.04] EXCEPTIONS AND EXEMPTIONS.
28.11	(a) The requirements under section 46A.03, subdivisions 3; 5, paragraph (a); 9; and 10,
28.12	do not apply to financial institutions that maintain customer information concerning fewer
28.13	than five thousand consumers.
28.14	(b) This chapter does not apply to credit unions or federally insured depository
28.15	institutions.
28.16	Sec. 5. [46A.05] ALTERATION OF FEDERAL REGULATION.
28.17	(a) If an amendment to Code of Federal Regulations, title 16, part 314, results in a
28.18	complete lack of federal regulations in the area, the version of the state requirements in
28.19	effect at the time of the amendment remain in effect for two years from the date the
28.20	amendment becomes effective.
28.21	(b) During the time period under paragraph (a), the department must adopt replacement
28.22	administrative rules as necessary and appropriate.
28.23	Sec. 6. [46A.06] NOTIFICATION EVENT.
28.24	Subdivision 1. Notification requirement. (a) Upon discovering a notification event as
28.25	described in subdivision 2, if the notification event involves the information of at least 500
28.26	consumers, a financial institution must notify the commissioner without undue delay, but
28.27	no later than 45 days after the date the event is discovered. The notice must be made (1) in
28.28	a format specified by the commissioner, and (2) electronically on a form located on the
28.29	department's website.
28.30	(b) The notice must include:
28.31	(1) the name and contact information of the reporting financial institution;

03/25/24 SENATEE LB SS4097R (2) a description of the types of information involved in the notification event; 29.1 (3) if possible to determine, the date or date range of the notification event; 29.2 (4) the number of consumers affected or potentially affected by the notification event; 29.3 (5) a general description of the notification event; and 29.4 (6) a statement (i) disclosing whether a law enforcement official has provided the financial 29.5 institution with a written determination indicating that providing notice to the public regarding 29.6 29.7 the breach would impede a criminal investigation or cause damage to national security, and (ii) if a written determination described under item (i) was provided to the financial 29.8 institution, providing contact information that enables the commissioner to contact the law 29.9 enforcement official. A law enforcement official may request an initial delay of up to 45 29.10 days following the date that notice was provided to the commissioner. The delay may be 29.11 extended for an additional period of up to 60 days if the law enforcement official seeks an 29.12 extension in writing. An additional delay may be permitted only if the commissioner 29.13 determines that public disclosure of a security event continues to impede a criminal 29.14 investigation or cause damage to national security. 29.15 Subd. 2. Notification event treated as discovered. A notification event must be treated 29.16 as discovered on the first day when the event is known to a financial institution. A financial 29.17 institution is deemed to have knowledge of a notification event if the event is known to any 29.18 person, other than the person committing the breach, who is the financial institution's 29.19 employee, officer, or other agent. 29.20 Sec. 7. [46A.07] COMMISSIONER'S POWERS. 29.21

29.22 (a) The commissioner has the power to examine and investigate the affairs of any covered
 29.23 financial institution to determine whether the financial institution has been or is engaged in
 29.24 any conduct that violates this chapter. This power is in addition to the powers granted to
 29.25 the commissioner under section 46.01.

- 29.26 (b) If the commissioner has reason to believe that a financial institution has been or is
 29.27 engaged in conduct in Minnesota that violates this chapter, the commissioner may take
 29.28 action necessary or appropriate to enforce this chapter.
- 29.29 Sec. 8. [46A.08] CONFIDENTIALITY.
- 29.30 Subdivision 1. Financial institution information. (a) Any documents, materials, or
- 29.31 <u>other information in the control or possession of the department that are furnished by a</u>
- 29.32 licensee or a licensee's employee or agent acting on behalf of a financial institution pursuant

30.1	to section 46A.06 or that are obtained by the commissioner in an investigation or examination
30.2	pursuant to section 46A.07: (1) are classified as confidential, protected nonpublic, or both;
30.3	(2) are not subject to subpoena; and (3) are not subject to discovery or admissible in evidence
30.4	in any private civil action.
30.5	(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (3), the commissioner is authorized to
30.6	use the documents, materials, or other information in the furtherance of any regulatory or
30.7	legal action brought as a part of the commissioner's duties.
30.8	Subd. 2. Certain testimony prohibited. Neither the commissioner nor any person who
30.9	received documents, materials, or other information while acting under the authority of the
30.10	commissioner is permitted or required to testify in a private civil action concerning
30.11	confidential documents, materials, or information subject to subdivision 1.
30.12	Subd. 3. Information sharing. In order to assist in the performance of the commissioner's
30.13	duties under sections 46A.01 to 46A.08, the commissioner may:
30.14	(1) share documents, materials, or other information, including the confidential and
30.15	privileged documents, materials, or information subject to subdivision 1, with other state,
30.16	federal, and international regulatory agencies, with the Conference of State Bank Supervisors,
30.17	the Conference of State Bank Supervisors' affiliates or subsidiaries, and with state, federal,
30.18	and international law enforcement authorities, provided that the recipient agrees in writing
30.19	to maintain the confidentiality and privileged status of the document, material, or other
30.20	information;
30.21	(2) receive documents, materials, or information, including otherwise confidential and
30.22	privileged documents, materials, or information, from the Conference of State Bank
30.23	Supervisors, the Conference of State Bank Supervisors' affiliates or subsidiaries, and from
30.24	regulatory and law enforcement officials of other foreign or domestic jurisdictions, and
30.25	must maintain as confidential or privileged any document, material, or information received
30.26	with notice or the understanding that the document, material, or information is confidential
30.27	or privileged under the laws of the jurisdiction that is the source of the document, material,
30.28	or information;
30.29	(3) share documents, materials, or other information subject to subdivision 1 with a
30.30	third-party consultant or vendor, provided the consultant agrees in writing to maintain the
30.31	confidentiality and privileged status of the document, material, or other information; and
30.32	(4) enter into agreements governing the sharing and use of information that are consistent
30.33	with this subdivision.

LB

31.1	Subd. 4. No waiver of privilege or confidentiality; information retention. (a) The
31.2	disclosure of documents, materials, or information to the commissioner under this section
31.3	or as a result of sharing as authorized in subdivision 3 does not result in a waiver of any
31.4	applicable privilege or claim of confidentiality in the documents, materials, or information.
31.5	(b) A document, material, or information disclosed to the commissioner under this section
31.6	about a cybersecurity event must be retained and preserved by the financial institution for
31.7	five years.
31.8	Subd. 5. Certain actions public. Nothing in sections 46A.01 to 46A.08 prohibits the
31.9	commissioner from releasing final, adjudicated actions that are open to public inspection
31.10	pursuant to chapter 13 to a database or other clearinghouse service maintained by the
31.11	Conference of State Bank Supervisors, the Conference of State Bank Supervisors' affiliates,
31.12	or the Conference of State Bank Supervisors' subsidiaries.
31.13	Subd. 6. Classification, protection, and use of information by others. Documents,
31.14	materials, or other information in the possession or control of the Conference of State Bank
31.15	Supervisors or a third-party consultant pursuant to sections 46A.01 to 46A.08: (1) are
31.16	classified as confidential, protected nonpublic, and privileged; (2) are not subject to subpoena;
31.17	and (3) are not subject to discovery or admissible in evidence in a private civil action.
31.18	Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 47.20, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
31.19	Subd. 2. Definitions. For the purposes of this section the terms defined in this subdivision
31.20	have the meanings given them:
31.21	(1) "Actual closing costs" mean reasonable charges for or sums paid for the following,
31.22	whether or not retained by the mortgagee or lender:
31.23	(a) Any insurance premiums including but not limited to premiums for title insurance,
31.24	fire and extended coverage insurance, flood insurance, and private mortgage insurance, but
31.25	excluding any charges or sums retained by the mortgagee or lender as self-insured retention.
31.26	(b) Abstracting, title examination and search, and examination of public records.
31.27	(c) The preparation and recording of any or all documents required by law or custom
31.28	for closing a conventional or cooperative apartment loan.
31.29	(d) Appraisal and survey of real property securing a conventional loan or real property
31.30	owned by a cooperative apartment corporation of which a share or shares of stock or a
31.31	membership certificate or certificates are to secure a cooperative apartment loan.

SS4097R

LB

(e) A single service charge, which includes any consideration, not otherwise specified 32.1 herein as an "actual closing cost" paid by the borrower and received and retained by the 32.2 lender for or related to the acquisition, making, refinancing or modification of a conventional 32.3 or cooperative apartment loan, and also includes any consideration received by the lender 32.4 for making a borrower's interest rate commitment or for making a borrower's loan 32.5 commitment, whether or not an actual loan follows the commitment. The term service charge 32.6 does not include forward commitment fees. The service charge shall not exceed one percent 32.7 32.8 of the original bona fide principal amount of the conventional or cooperative apartment loan, except that in the case of a construction loan, the service charge shall not exceed two 32.9 percent of the original bona fide principal amount of the loan. That portion of the service 32.10 charge imposed because the loan is a construction loan shall be itemized and a copy of the 32.11 itemization furnished the borrower. A lender shall not collect from a borrower the additional 32.12 one percent service charge permitted for a construction loan if it does not perform the service 32.13 for which the charge is imposed or if third parties perform and charge the borrower for the 32.14 service for which the lender has imposed the charge. 32.15

(f) Charges and fees necessary for or related to the transfer of real or personal property
 securing a conventional or cooperative apartment loan or the closing of a conventional or
 cooperative apartment loan paid by the borrower and received by any party other than the
 lender.

(2) "Contract for deed" means an executory contract for the conveyance of real estate,
the original principal amount of which is less than \$300,000. A commitment for a contract
for deed shall include an executed purchase agreement or earnest money contract wherein
the seller agrees to finance any part or all of the purchase price by a contract for deed.

32.24 (3) "Conventional loan" means a loan or advance of credit, other than a loan or advance of credit made by a credit union or made pursuant to section 334.011, to a noncorporate 32.25 borrower in an original principal amount of less than \$100,000 or equal to the conforming 32.26 loan limit established by the Federal Housing Finance Agency under the Housing and 32.27 Recovery Act of 2018, Public Law 110-289, secured by a mortgage upon real property 32.28 32.29 containing one or more residential units or upon which at the time the loan is made it is intended that one or more residential units are to be constructed, and which is not insured 32.30 or guaranteed by the secretary of housing and urban development, by the administrator of 32.31 veterans affairs, or by the administrator of the Farmers Home Administration, and which 32.32 is not made pursuant to the authority granted in subdivision 1, clause (3) or (4). The term 32.33 mortgage does not include contracts for deed or installment land contracts. 32.34

SS4097R

LB

(4) "Cooperative apartment loan" means a loan or advance of credit, other than a loan 33.1 or advance of credit made by a credit union or made pursuant to section 334.011, to a 33.2 noncorporate borrower in an original principal amount of less than \$100,000, secured by a 33.3 security interest on a share or shares of stock or a membership certificate or certificates 33.4 issued to a stockholder or member by a cooperative apartment corporation, which may be 33.5 accompanied by an assignment by way of security of the borrower's interest in the proprietary 33.6 lease or occupancy agreement in property issued by the cooperative apartment corporation 33.7 33.8 and which is not insured or guaranteed by the secretary of housing and urban development, by the administrator of veterans affairs, or by the administrator of the Farmers Home 33.9 Administration. 33.10

(5) "Cooperative apartment corporation" means a corporation or cooperative organized
under chapter 308A or 317A, the shareholders or members of which are entitled, solely by
reason of their ownership of stock or membership certificates in the corporation or
association, to occupy one or more residential units in a building owned or leased by the
corporation or association.

(6) "Forward commitment fee" means a fee or other consideration paid to a lender for 33.16 the purpose of securing a binding forward commitment by or through the lender to make 33.17 conventional loans to two or more credit worthy purchasers, including future purchasers, 33.18 of residential units, or a fee or other consideration paid to a lender for the purpose of securing 33.19 a binding forward commitment by or through the lender to make conventional loans to two 33.20 or more credit worthy purchasers, including future purchasers, of units to be created out of 33.21 existing structures pursuant to chapter 515B, or a fee or other consideration paid to a lender 33.22 for the purpose of securing a binding forward commitment by or through the lender to make 33.23 cooperative apartment loans to two or more credit worthy purchasers, including future 33.24 purchasers, of a share or shares of stock or a membership certificate or certificates in a 33.25 cooperative apartment corporation; provided, that the forward commitment rate of interest 33.26 does not exceed the maximum lawful rate of interest effective as of the date the forward 33.27 commitment is issued by the lender. 33.28

(7) "Borrower's interest rate commitment" means a binding commitment made by a
lender to a borrower wherein the lender agrees that, if a conventional or cooperative
apartment loan is made following issuance of and pursuant to the commitment, the
conventional or cooperative apartment loan shall be made at a rate of interest not in excess
of the rate of interest agreed to in the commitment, provided that the rate of interest agreed
to in the commitment is not in excess of the maximum lawful rate of interest effective as
of the date the commitment is issued by the lender to the borrower.

SENATEE

SS4097R

LB

(8) "Borrower's loan commitment" means a binding commitment made by a lender to a 34.1 borrower wherein the lender agrees to make a conventional or cooperative apartment loan 34.2 pursuant to the provisions, including the interest rate, of the commitment, provided that the 34.3 commitment rate of interest does not exceed the maximum lawful rate of interest effective 34.4 as of the date the commitment is issued and the commitment when issued and agreed to 34.5 shall constitute a legally binding obligation on the part of the mortgagee or lender to make 34.6 a conventional or cooperative apartment loan within a specified time period in the future at 34.7 34.8 a rate of interest not exceeding the maximum lawful rate of interest effective as of the date the commitment is issued by the lender to the borrower; provided that a lender who issues 34.9 a borrower's loan commitment pursuant to the provisions of a forward commitment is 34.10 authorized to issue the borrower's loan commitment at a rate of interest not to exceed the 34.11 maximum lawful rate of interest effective as of the date the forward commitment is issued 34.12 by the lender. 34.13

(9) "Finance charge" means the total cost of a conventional or cooperative apartment 34.14 loan including extensions or grant of credit regardless of the characterization of the same 34.15 and includes interest, finders fees, and other charges levied by a lender directly or indirectly 34.16 against the person obtaining the conventional or cooperative apartment loan or against a 34.17 seller of real property securing a conventional loan or a seller of a share or shares of stock 34.18 or a membership certificate or certificates in a cooperative apartment corporation securing 34.19 a cooperative apartment loan, or any other party to the transaction except any actual closing 34.20 costs and any forward commitment fee. The finance charges plus the actual closing costs 34.21 and any forward commitment fee, charged by a lender shall include all charges made by a 34.22 lender other than the principal of the conventional or cooperative apartment loan. The finance 34.23 charge, with respect to wraparound mortgages, shall be computed based upon the face 34.24 amount of the wraparound mortgage note, which face amount shall consist of the aggregate 34.25 of those funds actually advanced by the wraparound lender and the total outstanding principal 34.26 34.27 balances of the prior note or notes which have been made a part of the wraparound mortgage note. 34.28

(10) "Lender" means any person making a conventional or cooperative apartment loan,
or any person arranging financing for a conventional or cooperative apartment loan. The
term also includes the holder or assignee at any time of a conventional or cooperative
apartment loan.

34.33 (11) "Loan yield" means the annual rate of return obtained by a lender over the term of
a conventional or cooperative apartment loan and shall be computed as the annual percentage
rate as computed in accordance with sections 226.5 (b), (c), and (d) of Regulation Z, Code

of Federal Regulations, title 12, part 226, but using the definition of finance charge provided
for in this subdivision. For purposes of this section, with respect to wraparound mortgages,

35.3 the rate of interest or loan yield shall be based upon the principal balance set forth in the

35.4 wraparound note and mortgage and shall not include any interest differential or yield

differential between the stated interest rate on the wraparound mortgage and the stated
interest rate on the one or more prior mortgages included in the stated loan amount on a
wraparound note and mortgage.

35.8 (12) "Person" means an individual, corporation, business trust, partnership or association
35.9 or any other legal entity.

(13) "Residential unit" means any structure used principally for residential purposes or
any portion thereof, and includes a unit in a common interest community, a nonowner
occupied residence, and any other type of residence regardless of whether the unit is used
as a principal residence, secondary residence, vacation residence, or residence of some other
denomination.

35.15 (14) "Vendor" means any person or persons who agree to sell real estate and finance
any part or all of the purchase price by a contract for deed. The term also includes the holder
or assignee at any time of the vendor's interest in a contract for deed.

35.18 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 47.54, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Approval order. (a) If no objection is received by the commissioner within 35.19 15 days after the publication of the notice, the commissioner shall issue an order must 35.20 provide written consent approving the application without a hearing if it is found the 35.21 commissioner finds that (a): (1) the applicant bank meets current industry standards of 35.22 capital adequacy, management quality, and asset condition, (b); (2) the establishment of the 35.23 proposed detached facility will improve improves the quality or increase the availability of 35.24 banking services in the community to be served; and (e) (3) the establishment of the proposed 35.25 detached facility will does not have an undue adverse effect upon the solvency of existing 35.26 financial institutions in the community to be served. 35.27

35.28 Otherwise, (b) The commissioner shall must deny the an application that does not meet 35.29 the criteria under paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (3).

35.30 (c) Any proceedings for judicial review of <u>an order of written consent provided by</u> the
 35.31 commissioner issued under this subdivision without a contested case hearing shall be
 35.32 conducted pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act relating to judicial
 35.33 review of agency decisions, sections 14.63 to 14.69, and the scope of judicial review in

such proceedings shall be as provided therein. Nothing herein shall be construed as requiring
the commissioner to conduct a contested case hearing if no written objection is timely
received by the commissioner from a bank within three miles of the proposed location of
the detached facility.

36.5 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 47.54, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Expiration and extension of order approval. If a facility is not activated 36.6 within 18 months from the date of the order approval is granted under subdivision 2, the 36.7 approval order automatically expires. Upon a request of made by the applicant prior to 36.8 before the automatic expiration date of the order approval expires, the commissioner may 36.9 grant reasonable extensions of time to the applicant to activate the facility as the 36.10 commissioner deems necessary. The extensions of time shall not exceed a total of an 36.11 additional 12 months. If the commissioner's order approval is the subject of an appeal in 36.12 accordance with chapter 14, the time period referred to in this section for activation of to 36.13 activate the facility and any extensions shall begin begins when all appeals or rights of 36.14 appeal from the commissioner's order approval have concluded or expired. 36.15

36.16 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 48.24, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Loan liabilities. Loans not exceeding 25 percent of such capital and surplus 36.17 made upon first mortgage security on improved real estate in any state in which the bank 36.18 or a branch established under section 49.411 detached facility of the bank is located, or in 36.19 any state adjoining a state in which the bank or a branch established under section 49.411 36.20 detached facility of the bank is located, shall not constitute a liability of the maker of the 36.21 notes secured by such mortgages within the meaning of the foregoing provision limiting 36.22 liability, but shall be an actual liability of the maker. These mortgage loans shall be limited 36.23 to, and in no case exceed, 50 percent of the cash value of the security covered by the 36.24 36.25 mortgage, except mortgage loans guaranteed as provided by the Servicemen's Readjustment Act of 1944, as now or hereafter amended, or for which there is a commitment to so guarantee 36.26 or for which a conditional guarantee has been issued, which loans shall in no case exceed 36.27 60 percent of the cash value of the security covered by such mortgage. For the purposes of 36.28 this subdivision, real estate is improved when substantial and permanent development or 36.29 36.30 construction has contributed substantially to its value, and agricultural land is improved when farm crops are regularly raised on such land without further substantial improvements. 36.31

37.1 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 53B.28, subdivision 18, is amended
37.2 to read:

37.3 Subd. 18. Money transmission. (a) "Money transmission" means:

37.4 (1) selling or issuing payment instruments to a person located in this state;

37.5 (2) selling or issuing stored value to a person located in this state; or

37.6 (3) receiving money for transmission from a person located in this state.

37.7 (b) Money includes payroll processing services. Money does not include the provision
37.8 solely of online or telecommunications services or network access.

37.9 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 53B.28, subdivision 25, is amended
37.10 to read:

Subd. 25. Payroll processing services. "Payroll processing services" means receiving 37.11 money for transmission pursuant to a contract with a person to deliver delivering wages or 37.12 salaries, make making payment of payroll taxes to state and federal agencies, make making 37.13 payments relating to employee benefit plans, or make making distributions of other authorized 37.14 deductions from wages or salaries, or transmitting other funds on behalf of an employer in 37.15 connection with transactions related to employees. The term payroll processing services 37.16 does not include includes an employer performing payroll processing services on the 37.17 employer's own behalf or on behalf of the employer's affiliate, or a and professional 37.18 employment organization subject to regulation under other applicable state law organizations. 37.19

37.20 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 53B.29, is amended to read:

53B.29 EXEMPTIONS.

37.22 This chapter does not apply to:

(1) an operator of a payment system, to the extent the operator of a payment system
provides processing, clearing, or settlement services between or among persons exempted
by this section or licensees in connection with wire transfers, credit card transactions, debit
card transactions, stored-value transactions, automated clearing house transfers, or similar
funds transfers;

(2) a person appointed as an agent of a payee to collect and process a payment from a
payor to the payee for goods or services, other than money transmission itself, provided to
the payor by the payee, provided that:

LB

(i) there exists a written agreement between the payee and the agent directing the agent
 to collect and process payments from payors on the payee's behalf;

(ii) the payee holds the agent out to the public as accepting payments for goods or serviceson the payee's behalf; and

(iii) payment for the goods and services is treated as received by the payee upon receipt
by the agent so that the payor's obligation is extinguished and there is no risk of loss to the
payor if the agent fails to remit the funds to the payee;

(3) a person that acts as an intermediary by processing payments between an entity that
has directly incurred an outstanding money transmission obligation to a sender, and the
sender's designated recipient, provided that the entity:

38.11 (i) is properly licensed or exempt from licensing requirements under this chapter;

(ii) provides a receipt, electronic record, or other written confirmation to the sender
identifying the entity as the provider of money transmission in the transaction; and

(iii) bears sole responsibility to satisfy the outstanding money transmission obligation
to the sender, including the obligation to make the sender whole in connection with any
failure to transmit the funds to the sender's designated recipient;

38.17 (4) the United States; a department, agency, or instrumentality of the United States; or
38.18 an agent of the United States;

38.19 (5) money transmission by the United States Postal Service or by an agent of the United
38.20 States Postal Service;

38.21 (6) a state; county; city; any other governmental agency, governmental subdivision, or
38.22 instrumentality of a state; or the state's agent;

(7) a federally insured depository financial institution; bank holding company; office of
an international banking corporation; foreign bank that establishes a federal branch pursuant
to the International Bank Act, United States Code, title 12, section 3102, as amended or
recodified from time to time; corporation organized pursuant to the Bank Service Corporation
Act, United States Code, title 12, sections 1861 to 1867, as amended or recodified from
time to time; or corporation organized under the Edge Act, United States Code, title 12,
sections 611 to 633, as amended or recodified from time to time;

38.30 (8) electronic funds transfer of governmental benefits for a federal, state, county, or
38.31 governmental agency by a contractor on behalf of the United States or a department, agency,

SENATEE

LB

SS4097R

39.1 or instrumentality thereof, or on behalf of a state or governmental subdivision, agency, or
39.2 instrumentality thereof;

39.3 (9) a board of trade designated as a contract market under the federal Commodity
39.4 Exchange Act, United States Code, title 7, sections 1 to 25, as amended or recodified from
39.5 time to time; or a person that in the ordinary course of business provides clearance and
39.6 settlement services for a board of trade to the extent of its operation as or for a board;

39.7 (10) a registered futures commission merchant under the federal commodities laws, to
39.8 the extent of the registered futures commission merchant's operation as a merchant;

39.9 (11) a person registered as a securities broker-dealer under federal or state securities
39.10 laws, to the extent of the person's operation as a securities broker-dealer;

39.11 (12) an individual employed by a licensee, authorized delegate, or any person exempted
39.12 from the licensing requirements under this chapter when acting within the scope of
39.13 employment and under the supervision of the licensee, authorized delegate, or exempted
39.14 person as an employee and not as an independent contractor;

39.15 (13) a person expressly appointed as a third-party service provider to or agent of an
39.16 entity exempt under clause (7), solely to the extent that:

39.17 (i) the service provider or agent is engaging in money transmission on behalf of and
39.18 pursuant to a written agreement with the exempt entity that sets forth the specific functions
39.19 that the service provider or agent is to perform; and

(ii) the exempt entity assumes all risk of loss and all legal responsibility for satisfying
the outstanding money transmission obligations owed to purchasers and holders of the
outstanding money transmission obligations upon receipt of the purchaser's or holder's
money or monetary value by the service provider or agent; or

39.24 (14) payroll processing services providers; or

 $\frac{(14)(15)}{(15)}$ a person exempt by regulation or order if the commissioner finds that (i) the exemption is in the public interest, and (ii) the regulation of the person is not necessary for the purposes of this chapter.

39.28 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to39.29 read:

39.30 Subd. 15a. Nationwide Multistate Licensing System and Registry. "Nationwide
 39.31 Multistate Licensing System and Registry" has the meaning given in section 58A.02,
 39.32 subdivision 8.

40.1 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58.02, subdivision 18, is amended to read:

Subd. 18. Residential mortgage loan. "Residential mortgage loan" means a loan secured
primarily by either: (1) a mortgage, deed of trust, or other equivalent security interest on
residential real property estate; or (2) certificates of stock or other evidence of ownership
interest in and proprietary lease from corporations, partnerships, or other forms of business
organizations formed for the purpose of cooperative ownership of residential real property
estate.

40.8 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58.02, subdivision 21, is amended to read:

40.9 Subd. 21. Residential real estate. "Residential real estate" means real property located
40.10 in Minnesota upon which a dwelling, as defined in United States Code, title 15, section
40.11 <u>1602(w)</u>, is constructed or is intended to be constructed, whether or not the owner occupies
40.12 the real property.

40.13 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58.04, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

40.14 Subdivision 1. Residential mortgage originator licensing requirements. (a) No person
40.15 shall act as a residential mortgage originator, or make residential mortgage loans without
40.16 first obtaining a license from the commissioner according to the licensing procedures
40.17 provided in this chapter.

40.18 (b) A licensee must be either a partnership, limited liability partnership, association,
40.19 limited liability company, corporation, or other form of business organization, and must
40.20 have and maintain a surety bond in the amounts prescribed under section 58.08.

40.21 (c) The following persons are exempt from the residential mortgage originator licensing
 40.22 requirements:

40.23 (1) a person who is not in the business of making residential mortgage loans and who
40.24 makes no more than three such loans, with its own funds, during any 12-month period;

40.25 (2) a financial institution as defined in section 58.02, subdivision 10;

40.26 (3) an agency of the federal government, or of a state or municipal government;

40.27 (4) an employee or employer pension plan making loans only to its participants;

40.28 (5) a person acting in a fiduciary capacity, such as a trustee or receiver, as a result of a
40.29 specific order issued by a court of competent jurisdiction;

LB

41.1 (6) a person who is a bona fide nonprofit organization that meets all the criteria required

41.2 by the federal Secure and Fair Enforcement Licensing Act in Regulation H, adopted pursuant

41.3 to Code of Federal Regulations, title 12, part 1008, subpart B, section 1008.103 (e)(7)(ii);

41.4 (6) (7) a person exempted by order of the commissioner; or

41.5 (7)(8) a manufactured home dealer, as defined in section 327B.01, subdivision 7 or 11b, 41.6 or a manufactured home salesperson, as defined in section 327B.01, subdivision 19, that:

41.7 (i) performs only clerical or support duties in connection with assisting a consumer in
41.8 filling out a residential mortgage loan application but does not in any way offer or negotiate
41.9 loan terms, or hold themselves out as a housing counselor;

(ii) does not receive any direct or indirect compensation or gain from any individual or
company for assisting consumers with a residential mortgage loan application, in excess of
the customary salary or commission from the employer in connection with the sales
transaction; and

41.14 (iii) discloses to the borrower in writing:

41.15 (A) if a corporate affiliation with a lender exists;

41.16 (B) if a corporate affiliation with a lender exists, that the lender cannot guarantee the 41.17 lowest or best terms available and the consumer has the right to choose their lender; and

41.18 (C) if a corporate affiliation with a lender exists, the name of at least one unaffiliated41.19 lender.

(d) For the purposes of this subdivision, "housing counselor" means an individual who
provides assistance and guidance about residential mortgage loan terms including rates,
fees, or other costs.

(e) The disclosures required under paragraph (c), clause (7) (8), item (iii), must be made
on a one-page form prescribed by the commissioner and developed in consultation with the
Manufactured and Modular Home Association. The form must be posted on the department's
website.

41.27 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58.04, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Residential mortgage servicer licensing requirements. (a) Beginning August
1, 1999, no person shall engage in activities or practices that fall within the definition of
"servicing a residential mortgage loan" under section 58.02, subdivision 22, without first
obtaining a license from the commissioner according to the licensing procedures provided
in this chapter.

Article 2 Sec. 20.

42.1	(b) The following persons are exempt from the residential mortgage servicer licensing
42.2	requirements:
42.3	(1) a person licensed as a residential mortgage originator;
42.4	(2) an employee of one licensee or one person holding a certificate of exemption based
42.5	on an exemption under this subdivision;
42.6	(3) a person servicing loans made with its own funds, if no more than three such loans
42.7	are made in any 12-month period;
42.8	(4) a financial institution as defined in section 58.02, subdivision 10;
42.9	(5) an agency of the federal government, or of a state or municipal government;
42.10	(6) an employee or employer pension plan making loans only to its participants;
42.11	(7) a person acting in a fiduciary capacity, such as a trustee or receiver, as a result of a
42.12	specific order issued by a court of competent jurisdiction; or
42.13	(8) a person who is a bona fide nonprofit organization that meets all the criteria required
42.14	by the federal Secure and Fair Enforcement Licensing Act in Regulation H, Code of Federal
42.15	Regulations, title 12, part 1008, subpart B, section 1008.103 (e)(7)(ii); or
42.16	(8) (9) a person exempted by order of the commissioner.
42.17	Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58.05, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
42.18	Subdivision 1. Exempt person. (a) An exempt person, as defined by section 58.04,
42.19	subdivision 1, paragraph (c), and subdivision 2, paragraph (b), is exempt from the licensing
42.20	requirements of this chapter, but is subject to all other provisions of this chapter.
42.21	(b) Paragraph (a) does not apply to an institution covered under section 58.04, subdivision
42.22	4, even if the institution is otherwise an exempt person.
42.23	Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58.05, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
42.24	Subd. 3. Certificate of exemption. A person (a) The following persons must obtain a
42.25	certificate of exemption from the commissioner to qualify as an exempt person under section
42.26	58.04, subdivision 1, paragraph (c); (1) a financial institution under section 58.04,
42.27	subdivision 1, paragraph (c), clause (2); (2) a bona fide nonprofit organization under section
42.28	58.04, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), clause (6); or (3) a person exempted by order of the
42.29	commissioner under section 58.04, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), clause (6); or (7).

LB

(b) The following persons must obtain a certificate of exemption from the commissioner 43.1 to qualify as an exempt person under section 58.04, subdivision 2, paragraph (b), as: (1) a 43.2 43.3 financial institution under section 58.04, subdivision 2, paragraph (b), clause (4); (2) a bona fide nonprofit organization under section 58.04, subdivision 2, paragraph (b), clause (8); or 43.4 (3) a person exempted by order of the commissioner under clause (8) (9). 43.5 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to 43.6 read: 43.7 Subd. 5. Background checks. In connection with an application for a residential mortgage 43.8 43.9 loan originator or servicer license, any person in control of an applicant must, at a minimum, provide the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System and Registry information concerning 43.10 the person's identity, including: 43.11 (1) fingerprints for submission to the Federal Bureau of Investigation and a governmental 43.12 agency or entity authorized to receive the information for a state, national, and international 43.13 criminal history background check; and 43.14 (2) personal history and experience in a form prescribed by the Nationwide Multistate 43.15 43.16 Licensing System and Registry, including the submission of authorization for the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System and Registry and the commissioner to obtain: 43.17 43.18 (i) an independent credit report obtained from a consumer reporting agency described in United States Code, title 15, section 1681a(p); and 43.19 (ii) information related to administrative, civil, or criminal findings by a governmental 43.20 jurisdiction. 43.21 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to 43.22 43.23 read: Subd. 6. Requesting and distributing criminal information; agency. For the purposes 43.24 of this section and in order to reduce the points of contact the Federal Bureau of Investigation 43.25 43.26 may have to maintain for purposes of subdivision 5, clauses (1) and (2), the commissioner may use the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System and Registry as a channeling agent 43.27 to request information from and distribute information to the United States Department of 43.28 Justice or any governmental agency. 43.29

- 44.1 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to
 44.2 read:
- 44.3 Subd. 7. Requesting and distributing noncriminal information; agency. For the
 44.4 purposes of this section and in order to reduce the points of contact the commissioner may
 44.5 <u>have to maintain for purposes of subdivision 5, clause (2), the commissioner may use the</u>
 44.6 <u>Nationwide Multistate Licensing System and Registry as a channeling agent to request and</u>
 44.7 distribute information from and to any source, as directed by the commissioner.
- 44.8 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58.08, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:

Subd. 1a. Residential mortgage originators. (a) An applicant for a residential mortgage 44.9 originator license must file with the department a surety bond in the amount of \$100,000 44.10 \$125,000, issued by an insurance company authorized to do so in this state. The bond must 44.11 cover all mortgage loan originators who are employees or independent agents of the applicant. 44.12 The bond must be available for the recovery of expenses, fines, and fees levied by the 44.13 commissioner under this chapter and for losses incurred by borrowers as a result of a 44.14 licensee's noncompliance with the requirements of this chapter, sections 325D.43 to 325D.48, 44.15 and 325F.67 to 325F.69, or breach of contract relating to activities regulated by this chapter. 44.16

(b) The bond must be submitted with the originator's license application and evidence
of continued coverage must be submitted with each renewal. Any change in the bond must
be submitted for approval by the commissioner, within ten days of its execution. The bond
or a substitute bond shall remain in effect during all periods of licensing.

(c) Upon filing of the mortgage call report as required by section <u>58A.17</u> <u>58.141</u>, a
licensee shall maintain or increase <u>its</u> the licensee's surety bond to reflect the total dollar
amount of the closed residential mortgage loans originated in this state in the preceding
year according to the table in this paragraph. A licensee may decrease <u>its</u> the licensee's
surety bond according to the table in this paragraph if the surety bond required is less than
the amount of the surety bond on file with the department.

44.27 44.28	Dollar Amount of Closed Residential Mortgage Loans	Surety Bond Required
44.29	\$0 to \$5,000,000 <u>\$10,000,000</u>	\$100,000 \$125,000
44.30 44.31	\$5,000,000.01 \$10,000,000.01 to \$10,000,000 \$25,000,000	\$125,000
44.32 44.33	\$10,000,000.01 \$25,000,000.01 to \$25,000,000 \$100,000,000	\$150,000
44.34	Over \$25,000,000 \$100,000,000	<u>\$200,000</u> \$300,000

SENATEE

LB

For purposes of this subdivision, "mortgage loan originator" has the meaning given the 45.1 term in section 58A.02, subdivision 7. 45.2

Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58.08, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 45.3

Subd. 2. Residential mortgage servicers. (a) A residential mortgage servicer licensee 45.4 shall continuously maintain a surety bond or irrevocable letter of credit in an amount not 45.5 less than \$100,000 \$125,000 in a form approved by the commissioner, issued by an insurance 45.6 company or bank authorized to do so in this state. The bond or irrevocable letter of credit 45.7 must be available for the recovery of expenses, fines, and fees levied by the commissioner 45.8 under this chapter, and for losses or damages incurred by borrowers or other aggrieved 45.9 parties as the result of a licensee's noncompliance with the requirements of this chapter, 45.10 sections 325D.43 to 325D.48, and 325F.67 to 325F.69, or breach of contract relating to 45.11 activities regulated by this chapter. 45.12

(b) The bond or irrevocable letter of credit must be submitted with the servicer's license 45.13 application and evidence of continued coverage must be submitted with each renewal. Any 45.14 change in the bond or letter of credit must be submitted for approval by the commissioner, 45.15 within ten days of its execution. The bond or a substitute bond must remain in effect during 45.16 all periods of a license. 45.17

(c) Upon filing the mortgage call report under section 58.141, a licensee must maintain 45.18 or increase the licensee's surety bond to reflect the total dollar amount of unpaid principal 45.19 balance for residential mortgage loans serviced in Minnesota during the preceding quarter 45.20 according to the table in this paragraph. A licensee may decrease the licensee's surety bond 45.21 according to the table in this paragraph if the surety bond required is less than the amount 45.22 of the surety bond on file with the department. 45.23 Dollar Amount of Unpaid Principal Balance Surety Bond Required

for Serviced Residential Mortgage Loans 45.25 \$0 to \$10,000,000 45.26 \$125,000 \$10,000,000.01 to \$50,000,000 \$200,000 45.27 Over \$50,000,000 \$300,000 45.28

Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58.10, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 45.29

Subd. 3. Consumer education account; money credited and appropriated. (a) The 45.30 consumer education account is created in the special revenue fund. Money credited to this 45.31 account may be appropriated to the commissioner for the purpose of making to: (1) make 45.32 grants to programs and campaigns designed to help consumers avoid being victimized by 45.33

45.24

46.1 unscrupulous lenders and mortgage brokers; and (2) pay for expenses the commissioner

46.2 incurs to provide outreach and education related to affordable housing and home ownership

46.3 <u>education</u>. <u>The commissioner must give preference shall be given for grants</u> to programs

46.4 and campaigns designed by coalitions of public sector, private sector, and nonprofit agencies,
46.5 institutions, companies, and organizations.

46.6 (b) A sum sufficient is appropriated annually from the consumer education account to46.7 the commissioner to make the grants described in paragraph (a).

46.8 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58.115, is amended to read:

46.9 **58.115 EXAMINATIONS.**

46.10 The commissioner has under this chapter the same powers with respect to examinations

that the commissioner has under section 46.04. In addition to the powers under section

46.12 <u>46.04</u>, the commissioner may accept examination reports prepared by a state agency that

46.13 has comparable supervisory powers and examination procedures. The authority under section

46.14 49.411, subdivision 7, applies to examinations of institutions under this chapter.

46.15 Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58.13, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

46.16 Subdivision 1. Generally. (a) No person acting as a residential mortgage originator or
46.17 servicer, including a person required to be licensed under this chapter, and no person exempt
46.18 from the licensing requirements of this chapter under section 58.04, except as otherwise
46.19 provided in paragraph (b), shall:

46.20 (1) fail to maintain a trust account to hold trust funds received in connection with a46.21 residential mortgage loan;

46.22 (2) fail to deposit all trust funds into a trust account within three business days of receipt;
46.23 commingle trust funds with funds belonging to the licensee or exempt person; or use trust
46.24 account funds for any purpose other than that for which they are received;

46.25 (3) unreasonably delay the processing of a residential mortgage loan application, or the
46.26 closing of a residential mortgage loan. For purposes of this clause, evidence of unreasonable
46.27 delay includes but is not limited to those factors identified in section 47.206, subdivision
46.28 7, paragraph (d);

46.29 (4) fail to disburse funds according to its contractual or statutory obligations;

46.30 (5) fail to perform in conformance with its written agreements with borrowers, investors,
46.31 other licensees, or exempt persons;

47.1 (6) charge a fee for a product or service where the product or service is not actually
47.2 provided, or misrepresent the amount charged by or paid to a third party for a product or
47.3 service;

47.4 (7) fail to comply with sections 345.31 to 345.60, the Minnesota unclaimed property
47.5 law;

47.6 (8) violate any provision of any other applicable state or federal law regulating residential
47.7 mortgage loans including, without limitation, sections 47.20 to 47.208 and 47.58;

(9) make or cause to be made, directly or indirectly, any false, deceptive, or misleading
statement or representation in connection with a residential loan transaction including,
without limitation, a false, deceptive, or misleading statement or representation regarding
the borrower's ability to qualify for any mortgage product;

47.12 (10) conduct residential mortgage loan business under any name other than that under
47.13 which the license or certificate of exemption was issued;

(11) compensate, whether directly or indirectly, coerce or intimidate an appraiser for
the purpose of influencing the independent judgment of the appraiser with respect to the
value of real estate that is to be covered by a residential mortgage or is being offered as
security according to an application for a residential mortgage loan;

47.18 (12) issue any document indicating conditional qualification or conditional approval for
47.19 a residential mortgage loan, unless the document also clearly indicates that final qualification
47.20 or approval is not guaranteed, and may be subject to additional review;

47.21 (13) make or assist in making any residential mortgage loan with the intent that the loan
47.22 will not be repaid and that the residential mortgage originator will obtain title to the property
47.23 through foreclosure;

(14) provide or offer to provide for a borrower, any brokering or lending services under
an arrangement with a person other than a licensee or exempt person, provided that a person
may rely upon a written representation by the residential mortgage originator that it is in
compliance with the licensing requirements of this chapter;

47.28 (15) claim to represent a licensee or exempt person, unless the person is an employee
47.29 of the licensee or exempt person or unless the person has entered into a written agency
47.30 agreement with the licensee or exempt person;

47.31 (16) fail to comply with the record keeping and notification requirements identified in
47.32 section 58.14 or fail to abide by the affirmations made on the application for licensure;

(17) represent that the licensee or exempt person is acting as the borrower's agent after
providing the nonagency disclosure required by section 58.15, unless the disclosure is
retracted and the licensee or exempt person complies with all of the requirements of section
58.16;

(18) make, provide, or arrange for a residential mortgage loan that is of a lower investment grade if the borrower's credit score or, if the originator does not utilize credit scoring or if a credit score is unavailable, then comparable underwriting data, indicates that the borrower may qualify for a residential mortgage loan, available from or through the originator, that is of a higher investment grade, unless the borrower is informed that the borrower may qualify for a higher investment grade loan with a lower interest rate and/or lower discount points, and consents in writing to receipt of the lower investment grade loan;

For purposes of this section, "investment grade" refers to a system of categorizing residential mortgage loans in which the loans are distinguished by interest rate or discount points or both charged to the borrower, which vary according to the degree of perceived risk of default based on factors such as the borrower's credit, including credit score and credit patterns, income and employment history, debt ratio, loan-to-value ratio, and prior bankruptcy or foreclosure;

(19) make, publish, disseminate, circulate, place before the public, or cause to be made,
directly or indirectly, any advertisement or marketing materials of any type, or any statement
or representation relating to the business of residential mortgage loans that is false, deceptive,
or misleading;

(20) advertise loan types or terms that are not available from or through the licensee or exempt person on the date advertised, or on the date specified in the advertisement. For purposes of this clause, advertisement includes, but is not limited to, a list of sample mortgage terms, including interest rates, discount points, and closing costs provided by licensees or exempt persons to a print or electronic medium that presents the information to the public;

(21) use or employ phrases, pictures, return addresses, geographic designations, or other
means that create the impression, directly or indirectly, that a licensee or other person is a
governmental agency, or is associated with, sponsored by, or in any manner connected to,
related to, or endorsed by a governmental agency, if that is not the case;

48.31 (22) violate section 82.77, relating to table funding;

(23) make, provide, or arrange for a residential mortgage loan all or a portion of the
proceeds of which are used to fully or partially pay off a "special mortgage" unless the
borrower has obtained a written certification from an authorized independent loan counselor

SENATEE

SS4097R

LB

that the borrower has received counseling on the advisability of the loan transaction. For 49.1 purposes of this section, "special mortgage" means a residential mortgage loan originated, 49.2 subsidized, or guaranteed by or through a state, tribal, or local government, or nonprofit 49.3 organization, that bears one or more of the following nonstandard payment terms which 49.4 substantially benefit the borrower: (i) payments vary with income; (ii) payments of principal 49.5 or interest are not required or can be deferred under specified conditions; (iii) principal or 49.6 interest is forgivable under specified conditions; or (iv) where no interest or an annual 49.7 49.8 interest rate of two percent or less is charged in connection with the loan. For purposes of this section, "authorized independent loan counselor" means a nonprofit, third-party 49.9 individual or organization providing home buyer education programs, foreclosure prevention 49.10 services, mortgage loan counseling, or credit counseling certified by the United States 49.11 Department of Housing and Urban Development, the Minnesota Home Ownership Center, 49.12 the Minnesota Mortgage Foreclosure Prevention Association, AARP, or NeighborWorks 49.13 America; 49.14

(24) make, provide, or arrange for a residential mortgage loan without verifying the 49.15 borrower's reasonable ability to pay the scheduled payments of the following, as applicable: 49.16 principal; interest; real estate taxes; homeowner's insurance, assessments, and mortgage 49.17 insurance premiums. For loans in which the interest rate may vary, the reasonable ability 49.18 to pay shall be determined based on a fully indexed rate and a repayment schedule which 49.19 achieves full amortization over the life of the loan. For all residential mortgage loans, the 49.20 borrower's income and financial resources must be verified by tax returns, payroll receipts, 49.21 bank records, or other similarly reliable documents. 49.22

Nothing in this section shall be construed to limit a mortgage originator's or exempt 49.23 person's ability to rely on criteria other than the borrower's income and financial resources 49.24 to establish the borrower's reasonable ability to repay the residential mortgage loan, including 49.25 criteria established by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs or the United States 49.26 Department of Housing and Urban Development for interest rate reduction refinancing loans 49.27 or streamline loans, or criteria authorized or promulgated by the Federal National Mortgage 49.28 49.29 Association or Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporation; however, such other criteria must be verified through reasonably reliable methods and documentation. The mortgage 49.30 originator's analysis of the borrower's reasonable ability to repay may include, but is not 49.31 limited to, consideration of the following items, if verified: (1) the borrower's current and 49.32 expected income; (2) current and expected cash flow; (3) net worth and other financial 49.33 resources other than the consumer's equity in the dwelling that secures the loan; (4) current 49.34 financial obligations; (5) property taxes and insurance; (6) assessments on the property; (7) 49.35

SS4097R

LB

employment status; (8) credit history; (9) debt-to-income ratio; (10) credit scores; (11) tax 50.1 returns; (12) pension statements; and (13) employment payment records, provided that no 50.2 50.3 mortgage originator shall disregard facts and circumstances that indicate that the financial or other information submitted by the consumer is inaccurate or incomplete. A statement 50.4 by the borrower to the residential mortgage originator or exempt person of the borrower's 50.5 income and resources or sole reliance on any single item listed above is not sufficient to 50.6 establish the existence of the income or resources when verifying the reasonable ability to 50.7 50.8 pay;

(25) engage in "churning." As used in this section, "churning" means knowingly or 50.9 intentionally making, providing, or arranging for a residential mortgage loan when the new 50.10 residential mortgage loan does not provide a reasonable, tangible net benefit to the borrower 50.11 considering all of the circumstances, including the terms of both the new and refinanced 50.12 loans, the cost of the new loan, and the borrower's circumstances;. In order to demonstrate 50.13 a reasonable, tangible net benefit to the borrower, the circumstances must be documented 50.14 in writing and must be signed by the borrower and lender three days before the closing date. 50.15 The written analysis must, with respect to the prior loan and the new loan, document the: 50.16 (i) origination date; (ii) loan amount; (iii) loan balance; (iv) loan term; (v) loan program; 50.17 (vi) type of loan; (vii) interest rate; (viii) monthly amount of principal and interest paid; (ix) 50.18 monthly amount of private mortgage insurance paid; (x) loan purpose; (xi) loan origination 50.19 cost; (xii) cash to borrower, if applicable; and (xiii) time to recoup the loan cost, if applicable, 50.20 expressed in months; 50.21

(26) the first time a residential mortgage originator orally informs a borrower of the 50.22 anticipated or actual periodic payment amount for a first-lien residential mortgage loan 50.23 which does not include an amount for payment of property taxes and hazard insurance, the 50.24 residential mortgage originator must inform the borrower that an additional amount will be 50.25 due for taxes and insurance and, if known, disclose to the borrower the amount of the 50.26 anticipated or actual periodic payments for property taxes and hazard insurance. This same 50.27 oral disclosure must be made each time the residential mortgage originator orally informs 50.28 50.29 the borrower of a different anticipated or actual periodic payment amount change from the amount previously disclosed. A residential mortgage originator need not make this disclosure 50.30 concerning a refinancing loan if the residential mortgage originator knows that the borrower's 50.31 existing loan that is anticipated to be refinanced does not have an escrow account; or 50.32

50.33 (27) make, provide, or arrange for a residential mortgage loan, other than a reverse
50.34 mortgage pursuant to United States Code, title 15, chapter 41, if the borrower's compliance

with any repayment option offered pursuant to the terms of the loan will result in negativeamortization during any six-month period.

(b) Paragraph (a), clauses (24) through (27), do not apply to a state or federally chartered
bank, savings bank, or credit union, an institution chartered by Congress under the Farm
Credit Act, or to a person making, providing, or arranging a residential mortgage loan
originated or purchased by a state agency or a tribal or local unit of government. This
paragraph supersedes any inconsistent provision of this chapter.

51.8 Sec. 31. [58.141] REPORTS AND UNIQUE IDENTIFIER.

51.9 Subdivision 1. Mortgage call reports. A residential mortgage originator or servicer

51.10 must submit reports of condition to the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System and Registry.

51.11 Reports submitted under this subdivision must be in the form and contain the information

51.12 required by the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System and Registry.

51.13 Subd. 2. Report to Nationwide Multistate Licensing System and Registry. Subject

51.14 to section 58A.14, the commissioner must regularly report violations of this chapter, as well

51.15 as enforcement actions and other relevant information, to the Nationwide Multistate Licensing
51.16 System and Registry.

51.17Subd. 3. Unique identifier; display. The unique identifier of any person originating a51.18residential mortgage loan must be clearly displayed on all residential mortgage loan

51.19 application forms, solicitations, or advertisements, including business cards or websites,

- 51.20 and any other documents the commissioner establishes by rule or order.
- 51.21 Sec. 32. [60M.01] DEFINITIONS.

51.22 Subdivision 1. Terms. For the purposes of this chapter, the terms defined in this section
51.23 have the meanings given them.

51.24 Subd. 2. Bail bond agency. "Bail bond agency" means an agency contracted by a surety
51.25 to supervise or otherwise manage the bail bond business written in Minnesota by producers
51.26 appointed by the surety.

- 51.27 Subd. 3. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of commerce.
- 51.28 Subd. 4. Department. "Department" means the Department of Commerce.
- 51.29 Subd. 5. Negotiate. "Negotiate" means the act of conferring directly with or offering
- 51.30 advice directly to a purchaser or prospective purchaser of a particular insurance contract

52.1	concerning any of the substantive benefits, terms, or conditions of the contract, if the person
52.2	engaged in the act either sells insurance or obtains insurance from insurers for purchasers.
52.3	Subd. 6. Net premium. "Net premium" means a bond's premium, less any commission
52.4	agreed to in advance and in writing between a producer and the surety or bail bond agency.
52.5	Subd. 7. Personal information. "Personal information" has the meaning given in section
52.6	72A.491, subdivision 17.
52.7	Subd. 8. Privileged information. "Privileged information" has the meaning given in
52.8	section 72A.491, subdivision 19.
52.9	Subd. 9. Producer. "Producer" means a person that works for a supervising bail bond
52.10	agency and is appointed by a surety to execute or countersign bail bonds for the surety in
52.11	connection with judicial proceedings.
52.12	Subd. 10. Sell. "Sell" means to exchange on behalf of an insurance company an insurance
52.13	contract by any means for money or money's equivalent.
52.14	Subd. 11. Solicit. "Solicit" means: (1) any written or printed presentation or advertising
52.15	made by mail or other publication which implies that an individual is licensed to sell bail
52.16	bonds; (2) an oral presentation or advertising in person or by means of telephone, radio, or
52.17	television, which implies that an individual is licensed to sell bail bonds; (3) an activity in
52.18	arranging for bail which results in compensation or anything of value to the individual
52.19	conducting that activity; or (4) an attempt to sell or ask or urge a person to apply for a bail
52.20	bond from a surety.
52.21	Subd. 12. Surety. "Surety" means a domestic, foreign, or alien insurance company that
52.22	is licensed to transact surety business in Minnesota under section 60A.06.
52.23	Sec. 33. [60M.02] PREMIUMS.
52.24	Subdivision 1. Premiums; generally. (a) Regardless of whether a producer is an
52.25	employee or an independent contractor, a producer must charge the approved, filed rate of
52.26	the surety being used to post a bail bond. Except as provided in subdivision 2 or in a situation
52.27	where cash bail is set by the court under subdivision 5, the rate charged must not be less
52.28	than the surety's filed rate.
52.29	(b) A producer is prohibited from providing a premium rebate.
52.30	(c) A producer may charge travel or other related fees, provided the producer complies
52.31	with section 60K.46, subdivision 2.

53.1	Subd. 2. Minimum premium. A producer must charge a minimum premium of \$100.
53.2	Any premium amount must be included in the surety's rate filing with the commissioner.
53.3	Subd. 3. Bail bonds less than \$10,000. (a) A producer is prohibited from posting a bail
53.4	bond with a penal sum of \$10,000 or less unless the producer has:
53.5	(1) received at least 50 percent of the total premium owed under the surety's rate filing;
53.6	(2) provided the premium's payer with a receipt that indicates the premium paid; and
53.7	(3) if the payment in full is not made before posting the bond, obtained a promissory
53.8	note from the premium payer that requires the premium payer to pay the unpaid premium
53.9	in full within 120 days after the date the bond is posted.
53.10	(b) A promissory note issued under paragraph (a), clause (3), must be made on a surety
53.11	or bail bond agency form that has been approved by the commissioner. The maximum
53.12	interest rate allowed in a promissory note under this subdivision is six percent. A promissory
53.13	note may authorize collection of the actual costs incurred to collect the premium, including
53.14	reasonable attorney fees, in the event of a default.
53.15	Subd. 4. Bail bonds greater than \$10,000. (a) A producer is prohibited from posting
53.16	a bail bond with a penal sum greater than \$10,000 unless the producer has:
53.17	(1) received at least 30 percent of the total premium owed under the surety's rate filing;
53.18	(2) provided the premium's payer with a receipt that indicates the premium paid; and
53.19	(3) if the payment in full is not made before posting the bond, obtained a promissory
53.20	note from the premium payer that requires the premium payer to pay the unpaid premium
53.21	in full, making at a minimum equal monthly payments, within 12 days of the date the bond
53.22	is posted.
53.23	(b) A promissory note issued under paragraph (a), clause (3), must be made on a surety
53.24	or bail bond agency form that has been approved by the commissioner. The maximum
53.25	interest rate allowed in a promissory note under this subdivision is six percent. A promissory
53.26	note may authorize collection of the actual costs incurred to collect the premium, including
53.27	reasonable attorney fees, in the event of a default.
53.28	Subd. 5. Alternative premium structure. (a) A bail bond agency or principal may
53.29	include an alternative premium structure as part of the bail bond agency or producer's surety
53.30	rate filing submitted to the commissioner. The commissioner may approve the alternative
53.31	premium structure's use in circumstances as provided under this subdivision.

54.1	(b) If a court sets bail at 15 percent or less of the bond's penal amount, a surety, bail
54.2	bond agency, or principal may charge an alternative premium that is as low as one-half of
54.3	the cash bail amount set by the court. An alternative premium charged under this subdivision
54.4	is subject to the minimum premium requirement under subdivision 2.
54.5	(c) A bail bond agency or principal is required to obtain from the court documentation
54.6	indicating the cash bail amount set by the court and must maintain the documentation in
54.7	the bond file.
54.8	(d) A bail bond agency and producer must maintain a log of all bonds where an alternative
54.9	premium was charged under this subdivision.
54.10	(e) Subdivisions 3 and 4 apply to the payment of an alternative premium structure under
54.11	this subdivision.
54.12	Subd. 6. Late payments. If a payment, including a minimum monthly payment, that is
54.13	required under a promissory note executed pursuant to subdivision 3 or 4 is more than 90
54.14	days late, the bail bond agency or producer must, within 20 days of the date a payment
54.15	becomes 90 days late:
54.16	(1) for amounts owed that are \$1,000 or less, assign the debt to a Minnesota-licensed
54.17	debt collector; or
54.18	(2) for amounts owed that are greater than $1,000$:
54.19	(i) file a civil action against the delinquent premium payer; and
54.20	(ii) make all reasonable efforts to: (A) serve a summons and complaint; (B) enter
54.21	judgment, unless the matter is settled while the action is pending; and (C) enforce the
54.22	judgment, which may be satisfied by assigning the debt to a licensed debt collector.
54.23	Subd. 7. Form of payment. A surety, bail bond agency, or producer must accept only
54.24	cash, money orders, checks, wire transfers, electronic funds transfers, debit cards, prepaid
54.25	cash cards, or credit cards as a premium payment method. Any balance owed must be
54.26	evidenced by a promissory note, as provided under subdivision 3 or 4.
54.27	Subd. 8. Payments made directly to producer; premium trust account. (a) Unless
54.28	payment was previously forwarded to the surety or bail bond agency, within five business
54.29	days of the date a bond is posted or a payment is made on a promissory note, a producer
54.30	must deposit payments directly to the producer into a premium trust account that the producer,
54.31	bail bond agency, or surety maintains.

LB

(b) A premium trust account must be used only for premium payments and travel or 55.1 other related fees authorized under subdivision 1, paragraph (c). A producer, bail bond 55.2 agency, or surety is prohibited from depositing any other money into a premium trust 55.3 account. 55.4 (c) A deposit into a premium trust account must be accompanied by a deposit slip that: 55.5 (1) separately designates the source of the deposit; and (2) lists the power of attorney number 55.6 for the bond that the premium is being collected on. 55.7 (d) Money may be withdrawn from a producer's premium trust account only to: 55.8 (1) pay the net premium to the surety or bail bond agency; 55.9 (2) pay a surety or bail bond agency any build-up fund or escrow account required by 55.10 a contract executed by the producer and the surety or bail bond agency; 55.11 (3) pay travel or other related fees authorized under subdivision 1, paragraph (c); 55.12 (4) pay the producer any fees or charges deducted electronically by credit card processing 55.13 55.14 vendors, provided the fees and charges comply with section 60K.46, subdivision 2; and (5) distribute any excess amounts to the producer's operating account. 55.15 Sec. 34. [60M.03] COLLATERAL. 55.16 55.17 Subdivision 1. Collateral generally. (a) When collateral is accepted, the producer, or a surety or bail bond agency if collateral is provided directly to the surety or bail bond 55.18 55.19 agency, must provide a written, numbered receipt to the individual on whose behalf the collateral is being held. The receipt must: 55.20 (1) contain the date; depositor's name and address; bail bond agency's name and address; 55.21 surety's name and address; defendant's name; bond amount; and cash amount or a detailed 55.22 description of the collateral, if the collateral is not cash; and 55.23 55.24 (2) be signed by: (i) the producer, surety, or bail bond agency; and (ii) the individual on whose behalf the collateral is being held. 55.25 (b) Collateral must be reasonably cared for in a manner that complies with this section 55.26 and other law. 55.27 Subd. 2. Collateral received; transfer; control. (a) Except as otherwise provided under 55.28 paragraph (b), a producer or bail bond agency must transfer all cash and noncash collateral 55.29 55.30 that the producer or bail bond agency receives to the surety.

SS4097R

LB

56.1	(b) A surety may, at the surety's discretion, permit: (1) a producer to transfer all cash				
56.2	and noncash collateral that the producer receives to the bail bond agency; and (2) the bail				
56.3	bond agency to retain possession and control over the cash and noncash collateral without				
56.4	transferring the cash and noncash collateral to the surety. If a surety exercises the surety's				
56.5	discretion under this paragraph, the bail bond agency assumes the surety's responsibilities				
56.6	and responsibilities under this section. A producer is prohibited from retaining possession				
56.7	or control of cash or noncash collateral beyond the time periods established in this section.				
56.8	Subd. 3. Cash collateral trust account. (a) All cash collateral must be deposited into				
56.9	a cash collateral account maintained by a surety within five business days of the date the				
56.10	cash collateral is received.				
56.11	(b) All checks, money orders, wire transfers, or similar money transfer for collateral				
56.12	must be made payable to the bail bond agency and deposited into the surety's or bail bond				
56.13	agency's collateral account within ten business days of the date the payment was received.				
56.14	(c) When required by law, a bail bond agency or producer must: (1) file an IRS Form				
56.15	8300 and informational notice; and (2) retain a copy of the filed IRS Form 8300 and				
56.16	informational notice in the bail bond agency's or producer's files.				
56.17	Subd. 4. Separate cash collateral account. At the surety's discretion, the surety or a				
56.18	bail bond agency may maintain a separate cash collateral trust account. A cash collateral				
56.19	trust account may be an interest-bearing account or a noninterest-bearing account. If the				
56.20	separate cash collateral trust account is an interest-bearing account, the interest earned is				
56.21	for the benefit of the individual on whose behalf the collateral is being held.				
56.22	Subd. 5. Surety liable. The surety is liable to return any cash or noncash collateral that				
56.23	a producer or bail bond agency collects, even if the collected collateral is not transferred to				
56.24	the surety.				
56.25	Subd. 6. Prohibitions. (a) A surety, bail bond agency, or producer is prohibited from				
56.26	collecting collateral in excess of the bond's penal sum.				
56.27	(b) A surety, bail bond agency, or producer is prohibited from using collateral for personal				
56.28	benefit or gain.				
56.29	(c) A surety, bail bond agency, or producer is prohibited from taking a quitclaim deed				
56.30	on real property as collateral for a bond.				
56.31	Subd. 7. Collateral log. (a) A bail bond agency or producer must maintain a collateral				
56.32	log that includes:				
56.33	(1) the power of attorney number;				

Article 2 Sec. 34.

57.1	(2) the defendant's name;
57.2	(3) the depositor's name;
57.3	(4) the cash collateral amount, including whether the cash collateral is being held in an
57.4	interest-bearing account;
57.5	(5) if the collateral is noncash collateral, a detailed description of the collateral;
57.6	(6) the date the collateral was taken; and
57.7	(7) the dates the collateral was sent to the surety, returned to the depositor, liquidated,
57.8	or applied to a loss or cost incurred by the producer, bail bond agency, or surety.
57.9	(b) For purposes of paragraph (a), an indemnity agreement does not constitute collateral
57.10	and is not required to be included in the collateral log. For purposes of paragraph (a), clause
57.11	(7), the amount of a loss incurred must be listed separately from other costs in the collateral
57.12	<u>log.</u>
57.13	Subd. 8. Mortgages and deeds of trust. (a) A mortgage or deed of trust, if applicable
57.14	for property located outside of Minnesota, taken as collateral for a bond must name the
57.15	surety as a mortgagee. At the discretion of the surety, a bail bond agency may be named as
57.16	the mortgagee in lieu of the surety being named as the mortgagee.
57.16 57.17	the mortgagee in lieu of the surety being named as the mortgagee. (b) A producer is prohibited from being named as a mortgagee for a mortgage or deed
57.17	(b) A producer is prohibited from being named as a mortgagee for a mortgage or deed
57.17 57.18	(b) A producer is prohibited from being named as a mortgagee for a mortgage or deed of trust taken as collateral for a bond.
57.17 57.18 57.19	(b) A producer is prohibited from being named as a mortgagee for a mortgage or deed of trust taken as collateral for a bond. Subd. 9. Return of collateral. (a) A surety or bail bond agency that controls the collateral
57.17 57.18 57.19 57.20	(b) A producer is prohibited from being named as a mortgagee for a mortgage or deed of trust taken as collateral for a bond. Subd. 9. Return of collateral. (a) A surety or bail bond agency that controls the collateral must return cash and noncash collateral to the depositor named in the collateral receipt
 57.17 57.18 57.19 57.20 57.21 	(b) A producer is prohibited from being named as a mortgagee for a mortgage or deed of trust taken as collateral for a bond. Subd. 9. Return of collateral. (a) A surety or bail bond agency that controls the collateral must return cash and noncash collateral to the depositor named in the collateral receipt within 21 days of the date the depositor provides the surety or bail bond agency with written
57.17 57.18 57.19 57.20 57.21 57.22	(b) A producer is prohibited from being named as a mortgagee for a mortgage or deed of trust taken as collateral for a bond. Subd. 9. Return of collateral. (a) A surety or bail bond agency that controls the collateral must return cash and noncash collateral to the depositor named in the collateral receipt within 21 days of the date the depositor provides the surety or bail bond agency with written proof that the bond has been discharged.
 57.17 57.18 57.19 57.20 57.21 57.22 57.23 	 (b) A producer is prohibited from being named as a mortgagee for a mortgage or deed of trust taken as collateral for a bond. Subd. 9. Return of collateral. (a) A surety or bail bond agency that controls the collateral must return cash and noncash collateral to the depositor named in the collateral receipt within 21 days of the date the depositor provides the surety or bail bond agency with written proof that the bond has been discharged. (b) If the depositor owes the surety, bail bond agency, or producer a premium; is liable
 57.17 57.18 57.19 57.20 57.21 57.22 57.23 57.24 	 (b) A producer is prohibited from being named as a mortgagee for a mortgage or deed of trust taken as collateral for a bond. Subd. 9. Return of collateral. (a) A surety or bail bond agency that controls the collateral must return cash and noncash collateral to the depositor named in the collateral receipt within 21 days of the date the depositor provides the surety or bail bond agency with written proof that the bond has been discharged. (b) If the depositor owes the surety, bail bond agency, or producer a premium; is liable for a loss or expense related to a breach of the bond; or is liable pursuant to the terms of an
 57.17 57.18 57.19 57.20 57.21 57.22 57.23 57.24 57.25 	 (b) A producer is prohibited from being named as a mortgagee for a mortgage or deed of trust taken as collateral for a bond. Subd. 9. Return of collateral. (a) A surety or bail bond agency that controls the collateral must return cash and noncash collateral to the depositor named in the collateral receipt within 21 days of the date the depositor provides the surety or bail bond agency with written proof that the bond has been discharged. (b) If the depositor owes the surety, bail bond agency, or producer a premium; is liable for a loss or expense related to a breach of the bond; or is liable pursuant to the terms of an indemnity or other agreement, the surety or bail bond agency may retain from the collateral
 57.17 57.18 57.19 57.20 57.21 57.22 57.23 57.24 57.25 57.26 	 (b) A producer is prohibited from being named as a mortgagee for a mortgage or deed of trust taken as collateral for a bond. Subd. 9. Return of collateral. (a) A surety or bail bond agency that controls the collateral must return cash and noncash collateral to the depositor named in the collateral receipt within 21 days of the date the depositor provides the surety or bail bond agency with written proof that the bond has been discharged. (b) If the depositor owes the surety, bail bond agency, or producer a premium; is liable for a loss or expense related to a breach of the bond; or is liable pursuant to the terms of an indemnity or other agreement, the surety or bail bond agency may retain from the collateral all money required to satisfy the depositor's debts.
 57.17 57.18 57.19 57.20 57.21 57.22 57.23 57.24 57.25 57.26 57.27 	 (b) A producer is prohibited from being named as a mortgage for a mortgage or deed of trust taken as collateral for a bond. Subd. 9. Return of collateral. (a) A surety or bail bond agency that controls the collateral must return cash and noncash collateral to the depositor named in the collateral receipt within 21 days of the date the depositor provides the surety or bail bond agency with written proof that the bond has been discharged. (b) If the depositor owes the surety, bail bond agency, or producer a premium; is liable for a loss or expense related to a breach of the bond; or is liable pursuant to the terms of an indemnity or other agreement, the surety or bail bond agency may retain from the collateral all money required to satisfy the depositor's debts. (c) If all of the depositor's debts secured by collateral are satisfied, the surety or bail
 57.17 57.18 57.19 57.20 57.21 57.22 57.23 57.24 57.25 57.26 57.27 57.28 	 (b) A producer is prohibited from being named as a mortgagee for a mortgage or deed of trust taken as collateral for a bond. Subd. 9. Return of collateral. (a) A surety or bail bond agency that controls the collateral must return cash and noncash collateral to the depositor named in the collateral receipt within 21 days of the date the depositor provides the surety or bail bond agency with written proof that the bond has been discharged. (b) If the depositor owes the surety, bail bond agency, or producer a premium; is liable for a loss or expense related to a breach of the bond; or is liable pursuant to the terms of an indemnity or other agreement, the surety or bail bond agency may retain from the collateral all money required to satisfy the depositor's debts. (c) If all of the depositor's debts secured by collateral are satisfied, the surety or bail bond agency must file documentation to release any liens, security interests, mortgages, or

LB

58.1	Subd. 10. Bond or indemnity agreement; breach. If a bond or indemnity agreement
58.2	is breached and the surety, bail bond agency, or producer suffers a loss, the surety or bail
58.3	bond agency that controls the collateral must send to the depositor written notice that notifies
58.4	the depositor that the surety or bail bond agency intends to liquidate noncash collateral. The
58.5	written notice must be sent by certified mail to the depositor's last known address at least
58.6	30 days before the date the surety or bail bond agency liquidates the noncash collateral.
58.7	Subd. 11. Compliance with Minnesota law. Any action taken to enforce or foreclose
58.8	on cash or noncash collateral must comply with Minnesota law.
58.9	Subd. 12. Collateral documentation; audit and inspection. (a) All collateral and related
58.10	documentation held in trust by the surety or bail bond agency must be made available for
58.11	immediate audit and inspection by the department.
58.12	(b) All collateral and related documentation held in trust by the bail bond agency must
58.13	be made available for immediate audit and inspection by the surety.
58.14	Sec. 35. [60M.04] PRODUCER AUDITS.
58.15	Subdivision 1. Premium audits. (a) By April 30 each year, a surety must audit each
58.16	licensed bail bond producer's bonds written during the previous calendar year to ensure the
58.17	licensed bail bond producer has complied with this subdivision.
58.18	(b) The premium audits must include a review of an adequate sample of bonds written
58.19	by each bail bond producer. A review sample is adequate if it consists of the lesser of: (1)
58.20	20 percent of the bonds written by the bail bond producer; (2) 24 bonds; or (3) all of the
58.21	bonds written by the bail bond producer, if the bail bond producer wrote fewer than 12
58.22	bonds during the previous calendar year. The audit sample must include the four largest
58.23	bonds written by the bail bond producer and four bonds that charged an alternative premium
58.24	under section 60M.02, subdivision 5, if applicable. Of the remaining bonds audited and to
58.25	the extent the quantity of bonds supports the percentages, 50 percent must be randomly
58.26	selected bonds with a penal sum that is \$10,000 or less, and 50 percent must be randomly
58.27	selected bonds with a penal sum that is greater than \$50,000.
58.28	(c) The premium audit must be conducted at the producer's office or the bail bond
58.29	agency's office, depending on which entity maintains the physical records. The surety must
58.30	not disclose to the producer or bail bond agency, or anyone affiliated with the surety or bail
58.31	bond agency, which files the surety intends to audit until the surety's on-site audit of the
58.32	producer begins.
58.33	(d) For each bond audited, the surety must confirm that:

	03/25/24	SENATEE	LB	SS4097R		
59.1	(1) the proper premium was charged and collected, including a review of the premium					
59.2	account statements and deposit slips;					
59.3	(2) a proper premium receipt is in the producer's file;					
59.4	(3) if the full premium was not part	id before the bond w	vas posted, a proper	r promissory		
59.5	note was executed;					
59.6	(4) if the premium was not paid as	required, a lawsuit	was filed; and			
59.7	(5) all reasonable efforts were made	le to: (i) serve the su	mmons and compl	aint; (ii) enter		
59.8	judgment, unless the matter was settle					
59.9	judgment.					
59.10	(e) An annual premium audit unde	er this section must a	ulso include a follo	w-up review		
59.11	of each bond audited the previous yea	r for which full prer	nium had not yet b	een collected		
59.12	at the time the audit occurred. For each	h bond subject to a fo	ollow-up review, th	e surety must:		
59.13	(1) review the premium account and c	leposit slips to confi	rm that the full pre	mium was		
59.14	collected; or (2) if full payment of the	e premium was not re	eceived, confirm th	at: (i) the		
59.15	required action was filed; (ii) all reaso	onable efforts were r	nade to enter judgr	nent, unless		
59.16	the matter was settled while the action	n was pending; and ((iii) all reasonable	efforts were		
59.17	made to enforce the judgment.					
59.18	Subd. 2. Collateral audits. (a) By	April 30 each year,	a surety must audit	each licensed		
59.19	bail bond producer's bonds written du	ring the previous cal	endar year to ensur	e the licensed		
59.20	bail bond producer has complied with	this subdivision.				
59.21	(b) A collateral audit under this su	bdivision must inclu	ade confirmation th	iat:		
59.22	(1) a collateral log was maintained	<u>l;</u>				
59.23	(2) a cash collateral account exists	<u>.</u>				
59.24	(3) the balance of the cash collater	al indicated on the c	collateral log is iden	ntical to the		
59.25	amount held in the collateral trust acc	ount; and				
59.26	(4) a collateral receipt exists for co	llateral collected, as	represented by a sa	ampling of the		
59.27	lesser of: (i) 20 percent of all bonds se	cured by collateral;	or (ii) 12 bonds that	were secured		
59.28	by collateral.					
59.29	Subd. 3. Audits report. (a) By Ma	ay 31 each year, a su	rety must prepare	a report of the		
59.30	audits conducted under this section du	aring that year. The	report must include	<u>.</u>		

(1) a list of the bonds audited under subdivision 1 for each producer, including the power 60.1 of attorney number used for each audited bond and whether full premium payment was 60.2 60.3 made by the date the audit occurred; (2) a list of the bonds included in a follow-up review of the previous year's audit, 60.4 60.5 including whether full premium payment was collected by the date the audit occurred; (3) the compliance certifications required under section 60M.07, subdivision 4; and 60.6 60.7 (4) details regarding any violations discovered during the audit or a statement that no violations were discovered, as applicable. 60.8 (b) The annual report under this subdivision must be maintained for a period of at least 60.9 36 months from the date the report is complete. Annual reports must be submitted to the 60.10 commissioner by June 30 each year. 60.11 Sec. 36. [60M.05] SOLICITATION. 60.12 Subdivision 1. Solicitation generally. (a) A producer is prohibited from, in or on the 60.13 grounds of a jail, prison, or other location where an incarcerated person is confined, or in 60.14 60.15 or on the grounds of a court: (1) approaching, enticing, inviting, or soliciting a person to use a bail bondsman's services; 60.16 60.17 (2) distributing, displaying, or wearing an item that advertises a bail bondsman's services; 60.18 or 60.19 (3) otherwise soliciting business as a bail bondsman. (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), clause (3), permissible print advertising in a jail is 60.20 60.21 limited to: (1) a listing in a telephone directory; and 60.22 60.23 (2) posting the producer's or bail bond agency's name, address, and telephone number in a designated location within the jail, as approved by the jail. 60.24 60.25 Subd. 2. Identification; marketing material. A producer is prohibited from wearing or displaying any information, other than identification approved by the surety or bail bond 60.26 agency, which constitutes marketing material that a surety or bail bond agency must approve 60.27 and maintain under Minnesota Rules, chapter 2790. A producer is prohibited from displaying 60.28 any information constituting marketing material in or on the property or grounds of: (1) a 60.29 60.30 jail, prison, or other location where incarcerated people are confined; or (2) a court.

61.1	Subd. 3. Other prohibited conduct. (a) A producer is prohibited from loitering in or
61.2	about the courthouse, jail, or any other place where individuals are held in custody.
61.3	(b) A producer is prohibited from making unauthorized and unsolicited cold calls without
61.4	having first spoken with or having a connection to a criminal defendant.
61.5	(c) A producer or bail bond agency is prohibited from initiating in-person or telephone
61.6	solicitation before 8:00 a.m. or after 9:00 p.m.
61.7	(d) A producer is prohibited from soliciting a bond to a person by recorded or electronic
61.8	communication, or by live telephone contact, unless the producer otherwise complies with
61.9	applicable state and federal law, including but not limited to:
61.10	(1) the National Do Not Call Registry under Code of Federal Regulations, title 16, part
61.11	<u>310; and</u>
61.12	(2) the Telephone Consumer Protection Act of 1991, Code of Federal Regulations, title
61.13	<u>47, part 64.1200.</u>
61.14	(e) A surety, bail bond agency, or producer is prohibited from obtaining a credit check
61.15	on a person unless the person has authorized the surety, bail bond agency, or producer to
61.16	do so in writing. The surety, bail bond agency, or producer must retain the written
61.17	authorization provided by the person subject to the credit check.
61.18	Subd. 4. Compliance with other law. (a) A surety, bail bond agency, and producer
61.19	must comply with all federal and state privacy laws related to information provided to a
61.20	producer during the application process and during bond underwriting by a bond principal,
61.21	indemnitor, or other person.
61.22	(b) A surety, bail bond agency, and producer must comply with sections 60K.46,
61.23	subdivision 6; 72A.494; 72A.496, subdivision 1; 72A.501; and 72A.502, subdivision 1.
61.24	(c) A surety, bail bond agency, and producer must receive preauthorization before
61.25	collecting and disclosing personal or privileged information about an applicant or proposed
61.26	insured, and must provide all notices otherwise required by Minnesota law.
61.27	(d) A surety, bail bond agency, and producer must otherwise comply with all applicable
61.28	Minnesota law.
61.29	Subd. 5. Insurance transaction. The act of soliciting, underwriting, negotiating, or
61.30	selling a bail bond constitutes an insurance transaction.

62.1	Sec. 37. [60M.06] UNLICENSED INDIVIDUALS; NO REBATES OR PAYMENT.
62.2	(a) A surety, bail bond agency, or producer is prohibited from paying a fee or commission,
62.3	or otherwise giving or promising anything of value, to: (1) a jailer, police officer, peace
62.4	officer, or any other person who has the power to arrest or hold an individual in custody;
62.5	or (2) a judge, public official, or public employee.
62.6	(b) A surety, bail bond agency, or producer is prohibited from paying a fee or rebate, or
62.7	otherwise giving or promising anything of value, to the individual seeking the producer's
62.8	services or the individual seeking the producer's services on another individual's behalf.
62.9	(c) A surety, bail bond agency, or producer is prohibited from paying a fee or commission,
62.10	or otherwise giving or promising anything of value, to a person for selling, soliciting, or
62.11	negotiating a bail bond if the person is not properly licensed as a producer.
62.12	(d) A surety, bail bond agency, or producer is prohibited from paying a fee, rebate, or
62.13	commission, or otherwise giving or promising anything of value, to an inmate for referring
62.14	business or for any other reason related to soliciting, negotiating, or selling a bail bond.
62.15	Sec. 38. [60M.07] OTHER PROVISIONS.
62.16	Subdivision 1. Compliance with standards of conduct. A producer must comply with
62.17	the Minnesota Court Administrator's Office's bail bond procedures and standards of conduct,
62.18	including but not limited to while in or on the property of courts, jails, or other detention
62.19	facilities in Minnesota. A surety or bail bond agency must require the surety or bail bond
62.20	agency's producers to affirm that the producer complies with any changes to the bail bond
62.21	procedures and standards of conduct as the changes are posted to the Minnesota state court
62.22	website or the Minnesota Court Administrator's Office's website.
62.23	Subd. 2. No waiver. A producer is prohibited from soliciting or accepting a waiver of
62.24	any requirement under this chapter.
62.25	Subd. 3. Record maintenance. (a) A bail bond agency and producer must maintain the
62.26	following records on each bond for at least seven years after the date the bond is terminated:
62.27	(1) power of attorney;
62.28	(2) premium receipts;
62.29	(3) the promissory note for unpaid premium, if any;
62.30	(4) the cash bond amount set by the court, if an amount less than the filed rate is accepted
62.31	for the premium;

	03/25/24	SENATEE	LB	SS4097R
63.1	(5) all documents related to any laws	uit filed to collect t	he premium;	
63.2	(6) indemnity agreements;			
63.3	(7) collateral receipts, if any;			
63.4	(8) proof that collateral was returned	, if any;		
63.5	(9) proof of bond exoneration or forf	eiture payment;		
63.6	(10) all records relating to liquidating	and converting col	llateral, including	g fees or costs;
63.7	and			
63.8	(11) proof of any expenses incurred of	or losses paid by the	e surety, bail bon	d agency, or
63.9	producer.			
63.10	(b) A bail bond agency and producer	must maintain all p	premium account	, collateral
63.11	account, and operating account bank reco	ords, including depo	sit slips, for at lea	ist seven years
63.12	after the records are made available.			
63.13	(c) All records that a bail bond agence	y or producer main	tain under this ch	napter must be
63.14	kept in the bail bond agency or producer	's office, as applica	ble. If a bail bone	d agency or
63.15	producer's relationship with a surety is te	rminated, the inform	nation and docum	nentation must
63.16	be immediately transferred to:			
63.17	(1) the bail bond agency, if the produce	cer is terminated; c	<u>or</u>	
63.18	(2) the surety, if the bail bond agency	v is terminated.		
63.19	(d) A bail bond agency and producer	's records must be a	vailable for the c	commissioner
63.20	or the surety to inspect, with or without	notice.		
63.21	Subd. 4. Compliance certification.	(a) During the suret	y's annual audit o	of a producer,
63.22	the producer must sign a compliance cer	tification form that	attests to the pro	oducer's
63.23	compliance with this chapter during the	previous calendar y	/ear.	
63.24	(b) Before a producer is appointed by	a surety and at each	ch license renewa	al thereafter, a
63.25	producer must sign an affidavit of comp	liance form in whic	h the producer ac	cknowledges
63.26	the producer is familiar and continually	complies with the re	equirements unde	er this chapter.
63.27	The surety must retain completed affidavi	ts and send requeste	d affidavits to the	commissioner
63.28	within ten days of the date an affidavit is	s requested.		
63.29	(c) The commissioner must establish	the compliance cer	rtification and aff	idavit of
63.30	compliance forms for use under this sub	division.		

64.2

LB

64.1 Subd. 5. Producer termination; notice. (a) If a producer's relationship with a surety is

voluntarily or involuntarily terminated due to a violation of this chapter or because the

- 64.3 surety determined the producer violated this chapter during an annual audit, the surety must,
- 64.4 within 30 days of the date the producer is terminated, provide the commissioner with the
- 64.5 terminated producer's name and the reason the producer was terminated.
- (b) Another surety is prohibited from appointing a producer subject to a termination
 under paragraph (a) unless the department approves the appointment.
- 64.7 <u>under paragraph (a) unless the department approves the appointment.</u>
- 64.8 Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 80A.50, is amended to read:

64.9 80A.50 SECTION 302; FEDERAL COVERED SECURITIES; SMALL 64.10 CORPORATE OFFERING REGISTRATION.

64.11 (a) Federal covered securities.

(1) Required filing of records. With respect to a federal covered security, as defined
in Section 18(b)(2) of the Securities Act of 1933 (15 U.S.C. Section 77r(b)(2)), that is not
otherwise exempt under sections 80A.45 through 80A.47, a rule adopted or order issued
under this chapter may require the filing of any or all of the following records:

(A) before the initial offer of a federal covered security in this state, all records that are
part of a federal registration statement filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission
under the Securities Act of 1933 and a consent to service of process complying with section
80A.88 signed by the issuer;

(B) after the initial offer of the federal covered security in this state, all records that are
part of an amendment to a federal registration statement filed with the Securities and
Exchange Commission under the Securities Act of 1933; and

(C) to the extent necessary or appropriate to compute fees, a report of the value of the
federal covered securities sold or offered to persons present in this state, if the sales data
are not included in records filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission.

(2) Notice filing effectiveness and renewal. A notice filing under subsection (a) is 64.26 effective for one year commencing on the later of the notice filing or the effectiveness of 64.27 the offering filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission. On or before expiration, 64.28 the issuer may renew a notice filing by filing a copy of those records filed by the issuer with 64.29 the Securities and Exchange Commission that are required by rule or order under this chapter 64.30 to be filed. A previously filed consent to service of process complying with section 80A.88 64.31 may be incorporated by reference in a renewal. A renewed notice filing becomes effective 64.32 upon the expiration of the filing being renewed. 64.33

65.1 (3) Notice filings for federal covered securities under section 18(b)(4)(D). With 65.2 respect to a security that is a federal covered security under Section 18(b)(4)(D) of the 65.3 Securities Act of 1933 (15 U.S.C. Section 77r(b)(4)(D)), a rule under this chapter may 65.4 require a notice filing by or on behalf of an issuer to include a copy of Form D, including 65.5 the Appendix, as promulgated by the Securities and Exchange Commission, and a consent 65.6 to service of process complying with section 80A.88 signed by the issuer not later than 15 65.7 days after the first sale of the federal covered security in this state.

(4) Stop orders. Except with respect to a federal security under Section 18(b)(1) of the
Securities Act of 1933 (15 U.S.C. Section 77r(b)(1)), if the administrator finds that there is
a failure to comply with a notice or fee requirement of this section, the administrator may
issue a stop order suspending the offer and sale of a federal covered security in this state.
If the deficiency is corrected, the stop order is void as of the time of its issuance and no
penalty may be imposed by the administrator.

65.14 (b) Small corporation offering registration.

65.15 (1) Registration required. A security meeting the conditions set forth in this section
65.16 may be registered as set forth in this section.

(2) Availability. Registration under this section is available only to the issuer of securities
and not to an affiliate of the issuer or to any other person for resale of the issuer's securities.
The issuer must be organized under the laws of one of the states or possessions of the United
States. The securities offered must be exempt from registration under the Securities Act of
1933 pursuant to Rule 504 of Regulation D (15 U.S.C. Section 77c).

65.22 (3) Disqualification. Registration under this section is not available to any of the65.23 following issuers:

(A) an issuer subject to the reporting requirements of Section 13 or 15(d) of the Securities
Exchange Act of 1934;

65.26 (B) an investment company;

- (C) a development stage company that either has no specific business plan or purpose
 or has indicated that its business plan is to engage in a merger or acquisition with an
 unidentified company or companies or other entity or person;
- (D) an issuer if the issuer or any of its predecessors, officers, directors, governors,
 partners, ten percent stock or equity holders, promoters, or any selling agents of the securities
 to be offered, or any officer, director, governor, or partner of the selling agent:

66.1 (i) has filed a registration statement that is the subject of a currently effective registration
66.2 stop order entered under a federal or state securities law within five years before the filing
66.3 of the small corporate offering registration application;

66.4 (ii) has been convicted within five years before the filing of the small corporate offering
66.5 registration application of a felony or misdemeanor in connection with the offer, purchase,
66.6 or sale of a security or a felony involving fraud or deceit, including, but not limited to,
66.7 forgery, embezzlement, obtaining money under false pretenses, larceny, or conspiracy to
66.8 defraud;

(iii) is currently subject to a state administrative enforcement order or judgment entered
by a state securities administrator or the Securities and Exchange Commission within five
years before the filing of the small corporate offering registration application, or is subject
to a federal or state administrative enforcement order or judgment in which fraud or deceit,
including, but not limited to, making untrue statements of material facts or omitting to state
material facts, was found and the order or judgment was entered within five years before
the filing of the small corporate offering registration application;

(iv) is currently subject to an order, judgment, or decree of a court of competent
jurisdiction temporarily restraining or enjoining, or is subject to an order, judgment, or
decree of a court of competent jurisdiction permanently restraining or enjoining the party
from engaging in or continuing any conduct or practice in connection with the purchase or
sale of any security or involving the making of a false filing with a state or with the Securities
and Exchange Commission entered within five years before the filing of the small corporate
offering registration application; or

(v) is subject to a state's administrative enforcement order, or judgment that prohibits,
denies, or revokes the use of an exemption for registration in connection with the offer,
purchase, or sale of securities,

(I) except that clauses (i) to (iv) do not apply if the person subject to the disqualification
is duly licensed or registered to conduct securities-related business in the state in which the
administrative order or judgment was entered against the person or if the dealer employing
the party is licensed or registered in this state and the form BD filed in this state discloses
the order, conviction, judgment, or decree relating to the person, and

66.31 (II) except that the disqualification under this subdivision is automatically waived if the
66.32 state securities administrator or federal agency that created the basis for disqualification
66.33 determines upon a showing of good cause that it is not necessary under the circumstances
66.34 to deny the registration.

(4) Filing and effectiveness of registration statement. A small corporate offering 67.1 registration statement must be filed with the administrator. If no stop order is in effect and 67.2 no proceeding is pending under section 80A.54, such registration statement shall become 67.3 effective automatically at the close of business on the 20th day after filing of the registration 67.4 statement or the last amendment of the registration statement or at such earlier time as the 67.5 administrator may designate by rule or order. For the purposes of a nonissuer transaction, 67.6 other than by an affiliate of the issuer, all outstanding securities of the same class identified 67.7 67.8 in the small corporate offering registration statement as a security registered under this chapter are considered to be registered while the small corporate offering registration 67.9 statement is effective. A small corporate offering registration statement is effective for one 67.10 year after its effective date or for any longer period designated in an order under this chapter. 67.11 A small corporate offering registration statement may be withdrawn only with the approval 67.12 of the administrator. 67.13

67.14 (5) Contents of registration statement. A small corporate offering registration statement
67.15 under this section shall be on Form U-7, including exhibits required by the instructions
67.16 thereto, as adopted by the North American Securities Administrators Association, or such
67.17 alternative form as may be designated by the administrator by rule or order and must include:

67.18 (A) a consent to service of process complying with section 80A.88;

(B) a statement of the type and amount of securities to be offered and the amount ofsecurities to be offered in this state;

67.21 (C) a specimen or copy of the security being registered, unless the security is
67.22 uncertificated, a copy of the issuer's articles of incorporation and bylaws or their substantial
67.23 equivalents in effect, and a copy of any indenture or other instrument covering the security
67.24 to be registered;

67.25 (D) a signed or conformed copy of an opinion of counsel concerning the legality of the 67.26 securities being registered which states whether the securities, when sold, will be validly 67.27 issued, fully paid, and nonassessable and, if debt securities, binding obligations of the issuer;

(E) the states (i) in which the securities are proposed to be offered; (ii) in which a
registration statement or similar filing has been made in connection with the offering
including information as to effectiveness of each such filing; and (iii) in which a stop order
or similar proceeding has been entered or in which proceedings or actions seeking such an
order are pending;

67.33 (F) a copy of the offering document proposed to be delivered to offerees; and

- (G) a copy of any other pamphlet, circular, form letter, advertisement, or other sales
 literature intended as of the effective date to be used in connection with the offering and
 any solicitation of interest used in compliance with section 80A.46(17)(B).
- 68.4 (6) Copy to purchaser. A copy of the offering document as filed with the administrator
 68.5 must be delivered to each person purchasing the securities prior to sale of the securities to
 68.6 such person.
- (c) Offering limit. Offers and sales of securities under a small corporate offering
 registration as set forth in this section are allowed up to the limit prescribed by Code of
 Federal Regulations, title 17, part 230.504 (b)(2), as amended.
- 68.10 (d) Regulation A Tier 2 filing requirements.
- 68.11 (1) **Initial filing.** An issuer planning to offer and sell securities in Minnesota in an
- 68.12 offering exempt under Tier 2 of federal Regulation A must, at least 21 calendar days before
- 68.13 the date of the initial sale of securities in Minnesota, submit to the administrator:
- 68.14 (A) a completed Regulation A Tier 2 offering notice filing form or copies of all the
- 68.15 documents filed with the Securities Exchange Commission; and
- 68.16 (B) a consent to service of process on Form U-2, if consent to service of process is not
- 68.17 provided in the Regulation A Tier 2 offering notice filing form.
- 68.18 The initial notice filing made in Minnesota is effective for 12 months after the date the
- 68.19 filing is made.
- 68.20 (2) **Renewal.** For each additional 12-month period in which the same offering is
- 68.21 <u>continued</u>, an issuer conducting a Tier 2 offering under federal Regulation A may renew
- 68.22 the notice filing by filing (i) the Regulation A Tier 2 offering notice filing form marked
- 68.23 <u>"renewal," or (ii) a cover letter or other document requesting renewal. The renewal filing</u>
- 68.24 <u>must be made on or before the date notice filing expires.</u>
- 68.25 (3) Amendment. An issuer may increase the amount of securities offered in Minnesota
- 68.26 by submitting a Regulation A Tier 2 offering notice filing form or other document
- 68.27 describing the transaction.

	03/25/24	SENATEE	LB	SS4097R
69.1	Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2022,	section 80A.61, is an	nended to read:	

69.2 80A.61 SECTION 406; REGISTRATION BY BROKER-DEALER, AGENT, 69.3 FUNDING PORTAL, INVESTMENT ADVISER, AND INVESTMENT ADVISER 69.4 REPRESENTATIVE.

(a) Application for initial registration by broker-dealer, agent, investment adviser,
or investment adviser representative. A person shall register as a broker-dealer, agent,
investment adviser, or investment adviser representative by filing an application and a
consent to service of process complying with section 80A.88, and paying the fee specified
in section 80A.65 and any reasonable fees charged by the designee of the administrator for
processing the filing. The application must contain:

69.11 (1) the information or record required for the filing of a uniform application; and

(2) upon request by the administrator, any other financial or other information or recordthat the administrator determines is appropriate.

69.14 (b) Amendment. If the information or record contained in an application filed under
69.15 subsection (a) is or becomes inaccurate or incomplete in a material respect, the registrant
69.16 shall promptly file a correcting amendment.

(c) Effectiveness of registration. If an order is not in effect and a proceeding is not
pending under section 80A.67, registration becomes effective at noon on the 45th day after
a completed application is filed, unless the registration is denied. A rule adopted or order
issued under this chapter may set an earlier effective date or may defer the effective date
until noon on the 45th day after the filing of any amendment completing the application.

(d) Registration renewal. A registration is effective until midnight on December 31 of
the year for which the application for registration is filed. Unless an order is in effect under
section 80A.67, a registration may be automatically renewed each year by filing such records
as are required by rule adopted or order issued under this chapter, by paying the fee specified
in section 80A.65, and by paying costs charged by the designee of the administrator for
processing the filings.

(e) Additional conditions or waivers. A rule adopted or order issued under this chapter
may impose such other conditions, not inconsistent with the National Securities Markets
Improvement Act of 1996. An order issued under this chapter may waive, in whole or in
part, specific requirements in connection with registration as are in the public interest and
for the protection of investors.

LB

(f) Funding portal registration. A funding portal that has its principal place of business
in the state of Minnesota shall register with the state of Minnesota by filing with the
administrator a copy of the information or record required for the filing of an application
for registration as a funding portal in the manner established by the Securities and Exchange
Commission and/or the Financial Institutions Regulatory Authority (FINRA), along with
any rule adopted or order issued, and any amendments thereto.

70.7

(g) Application for investment adviser representative registration.

(1) The application for initial registration as an investment adviser representative pursuant
to section 80A.58 is made by completing Form U-4 (Uniform Application for Securities
Industry Registration or Transfer) in accordance with the form instructions and by filing
the form U-4 with the IARD. The application for initial registration must also include the
following:

(i) proof of compliance by the investment adviser representative with the examinationrequirements of:

70.15 (A) the Uniform Investment Adviser Law Examination (Series 65); or

(B) the General Securities Representative Examination (Series 7) and the Uniform
Combined State Law Examination (Series 66);

(ii) any other information the administrator may reasonably require.

70.19 (2) The application for the annual renewal registration as an investment adviser70.20 representative shall be filed with the IARD.

(3)(i) The investment adviser representative is under a continuing obligation to update
 information required by Form U-4 as changes occur;

(ii) An investment adviser representative and the investment adviser must file promptly
with the IARD any amendments to the representative's Form U-4; and

(iii) An amendment will be considered to be filed promptly if the amendment is filed
within 30 days of the event that requires the filing of the amendment.

(4) An application for initial or renewal of registration is not considered filed for purposes
of section 80A.58 until the required fee and all required submissions have been received
by the administrator.

(5) The application for withdrawal of registration as an investment adviser representative
 pursuant to section 80A.58 shall be completed by following the instructions on Form U-5

- 71.1 (Uniform Termination Notice for Securities Industry Registration) and filed upon Form U-5
 71.2 with the IARD.
- 71.3 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

71.4 Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 80A.66, is amended to read:

71.5 **80A.66 SECTION 411; POSTREGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS.**

(a) Financial requirements. Subject to Section 15(h) of the Securities Exchange Act
of 1934 (15 U.S.C. Section 78o(h)) or Section 222 of the Investment Advisers Act of 1940
(15 U.S.C. Section 80b-22), a rule adopted or order issued under this chapter may establish
minimum financial requirements for broker-dealers registered or required to be registered
under this chapter and investment advisers registered or required to be registered under this
chapter.

(b) Financial reports. Subject to Section 15(h) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 71.12 (15 U.S.C. Section 780(h)) or Section 222(b) of the Investment Advisers Act of 1940 (15 71.13 U.S.C. Section 80b-22), a broker-dealer registered or required to be registered under this 71.14 chapter and an investment adviser registered or required to be registered under this chapter 71.15 shall file such financial reports as are required by a rule adopted or order issued under this 71.16 71.17 chapter. If the information contained in a record filed under this subsection is or becomes inaccurate or incomplete in a material respect, the registrant shall promptly file a correcting 71.18 amendment. 71.19

(c) Record keeping. Subject to Section 15(h) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934
(15 U.S.C. Section 78o(h)) or Section 222 of the Investment Advisers Act of 1940 (15
U.S.C. Section 80b-22):

(1) a broker-dealer registered or required to be registered under this chapter and an
investment adviser registered or required to be registered under this chapter shall make and
maintain the accounts, correspondence, memoranda, papers, books, and other records
required by rule adopted or order issued under this chapter;

(2) broker-dealer records required to be maintained under paragraph (1) may be
maintained in any form of data storage acceptable under Section 17(a) of the Securities
Exchange Act of 1934 (15 U.S.C. Section 78q(a)) if they are readily accessible to the
administrator; and

(3) investment adviser records required to be maintained under paragraph (d)(1) may
be maintained in any form of data storage required by rule adopted or order issued under
this chapter.

(d) Records and reports of private funds. 72.1 (1) In general. An investment adviser to a private fund shall maintain such records of, 72.2 and file with the administrator such reports and amendments thereto, that an exempt reporting 72.3 adviser is required to file with the Securities and Exchange Commission pursuant to SEC 72.4 Rule 204-4, Code of Federal Regulations, title 17, section 275.204-4. 72.5 (2) Treatment of records. The records and reports of any private fund to which an 72.6 investment adviser provides investment advice shall be deemed to be the records and reports 72.7 of the investment adviser. 72.8 (3) Required information. The records and reports required to be maintained by an 72.9 investment adviser, which are subject to inspection by a representative of the administrator 72.10 at any time, shall include for each private fund advised by the investment adviser, a 72.11 description of: 72.12 (A) the amount of assets under management; 72.13 (B) the use of leverage, including off-balance-sheet leverage, as to the assets under 72.14 72.15 management; (C) counterparty credit risk exposure; 72.16 (D) trading and investment positions; 72.17 (E) valuation policies and practices of the fund; 72.18 72.19 (F) types of assets held; (G) side arrangements or side letters, whereby certain investors in a fund obtain more 72.20 favorable rights or entitlements than other investors; 72.21 (H) trading practices; and 72.22 (I) such other information as the administrator determines is necessary and appropriate 72.23 in the public interest and for the protection of investors, which may include the establishment 72.24 of different reporting requirements for different classes of fund advisers, based on the type 72.25 or size of the private fund being advised. 72.26 (4) Filing of records. A rule or order under this chapter may require each investment 72.27 adviser to a private fund to file reports containing such information as the administrator 72.28 deems necessary and appropriate in the public interest and for the protection of investors. 72.29

(e) Audits or inspections. The records of a broker-dealer registered or required to be
 registered under this chapter and of an investment adviser registered or required to be

registered under this chapter, including the records of a private fund described in paragraph 73.1 (d) and the records of investment advisers to private funds, are subject to such reasonable 73.2 periodic, special, or other audits or inspections by a representative of the administrator, 73.3 within or without this state, as the administrator considers necessary or appropriate in the 73.4 public interest and for the protection of investors. An audit or inspection may be made at 73.5 any time and without prior notice. The administrator may copy, and remove for audit or 73.6 inspection copies of, all records the administrator reasonably considers necessary or 73.7 appropriate to conduct the audit or inspection. The administrator may assess a reasonable 73.8 charge for conducting an audit or inspection under this subsection. 73.9

(f) Custody and discretionary authority bond or insurance. Subject to Section 15(h) 73.10 of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 (15 U.S.C. Section 78o(h)) or Section 222 of the 73.11 Investment Advisers Act of 1940 (15 U.S.C. Section 80b-22), a rule adopted or order issued 73.12 under this chapter may require a broker-dealer or investment adviser that has custody of or 73.13 discretionary authority over funds or securities of a customer or client to obtain insurance 73.14 or post a bond or other satisfactory form of security in an amount of at least \$25,000, but 73.15 not to exceed \$100,000. The administrator may determine the requirements of the insurance, 73.16 bond, or other satisfactory form of security. Insurance or a bond or other satisfactory form 73.17 of security may not be required of a broker-dealer registered under this chapter whose net 73.18 capital exceeds, or of an investment adviser registered under this chapter whose minimum 73.19 financial requirements exceed, the amounts required by rule or order under this chapter. 73.20 The insurance, bond, or other satisfactory form of security must permit an action by a person 73.21 to enforce any liability on the insurance, bond, or other satisfactory form of security if 73.22 instituted within the time limitations in section 80A.76(j)(2). 73.23

(g) Requirements for custody. Subject to Section 15(h) of the Securities Exchange Act 73.24 of 1934 (15 U.S.C. Section 780(h)) or Section 222 of the Investment Advisers Act of 1940 73.25 (15 U.S.C. Section 80b-22), an agent may not have custody of funds or securities of a 73.26 customer except under the supervision of a broker-dealer and an investment adviser 73.27 representative may not have custody of funds or securities of a client except under the 73.28 73.29 supervision of an investment adviser or a federal covered investment adviser. A rule adopted or order issued under this chapter may prohibit, limit, or impose conditions on a broker-dealer 73.30 regarding custody of funds or securities of a customer and on an investment adviser regarding 73.31 custody of securities or funds of a client. 73.32

(h) Investment adviser brochure rule. With respect to an investment adviser registered
or required to be registered under this chapter, a rule adopted or order issued under this
chapter may require that information or other record be furnished or disseminated to clients

LB

or prospective clients in this state as necessary or appropriate in the public interest and forthe protection of investors and advisory clients.

(i) Continuing education. A rule adopted or order issued under this chapter may require
an individual registered under section 80A.57 or 80A.58 to participate in a continuing
education program approved by the Securities and Exchange Commission and administered
by a self-regulatory organization.

74.7 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025.

74.8 Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 80C.05, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Escrow or impoundment of fees and other funds by commissioner. If the commissioner finds that the applicant has failed to demonstrate that adequate financial arrangements have been made to fulfill obligations to provide real estate, improvements, equipment, inventory, training or other items included in the offering, the commissioner may by rule or order require the escrow or, impoundment, or deferral of franchise fees and other funds paid by the franchisee or subfranchisor until no later than the time of opening of the franchise business.

74.16 Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 82B.021, subdivision 26, is amended to read:

Subd. 26. Standards of professional practice. "Standards of professional practice"
means the version of the uniform standards of professional appraisal practice of the
Appraisers Appraisal Standards Board of the Appraisal Foundation in effect as of January
1, 1991, or other version of these standards the commissioner may by order designate on

74.21 <u>the date the appraiser signs the appraisal report.</u>

74.22 Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 82B.094, is amended to read:

74.23 **82B.094 SUPERVISION OF TRAINEE REAL PROPERTY APPRAISERS.**

(a) A certified residential real property appraiser or a certified general real property
appraiser, in good standing, may engage a trainee real property appraiser to assist in the
performance of real estate appraisals, provided that the certified residential real property
appraiser or a certified general real property appraiser:

(1) has been licensed in good standing as either a certified residential real property
appraiser or a certified general real property appraiser for the three-year period immediately
preceding the individual's application to become a supervisor;

(2) has completed a six-hour course, approved in advance by the commissioner and
provided by an education provider approved by the commissioner, that is specifically oriented
to the requirements and responsibilities of supervisory appraisers and trainee appraisers. A
course approved by the commissioner for the purposes of this section must be given the
course title "Minnesota Supervisor/Trainee Appraiser Course";

(3) has not been the subject of any license or certificate suspension or revocation or has
not been prohibited from supervising activities in this state or any other state within the
three years immediately preceding the individual's application to become a supervisor;

(4) has no more than three trainee real property appraisers working under supervisionat any one time;

(5) actively and personally supervises the trainee real property appraiser, which includes
ensuring that research of general and specific data has been adequately conducted and
properly reported, application of appraisal principles and methodologies has been properly
applied, that the analysis is sound and adequately reported, and that any analyses, opinions,
or conclusions are adequately developed and reported so that the appraisal report is not
misleading;

(6) discusses with the trainee real property appraiser any necessary and appropriate
changes that are made to a report, involving any trainee appraiser, before it is transmitted
to the client. Changes not discussed with the trainee real property appraiser that are made
by the supervising appraiser must be provided in writing to the trainee real property appraiser
upon completion of the appraisal report;

(7) accompanies the trainee real property appraiser on the inspections of the subject
properties and drive-by inspections of the comparable sales on all appraisal assignments
for which the trainee will perform work until the trainee appraiser is determined to be
competent, in accordance with the competency rule of USPAP for the property type;

(8) accepts full responsibility for the appraisal report by signing and certifying that thereport complies with USPAP; and

(9) reviews and signs the trainee real property appraiser's appraisal report or reports or
if the trainee appraiser is not signing the report, states in the appraisal the name of the trainee
and scope of the trainee's significant contribution to the report.

(b) The supervising appraiser must review and sign the applicable experience log requiredto be kept by the trainee real property appraiser.

(c) The supervising appraiser must notify the commissioner within ten days when the
 supervision of a trainee real property appraiser has terminated or when the trainee appraiser
 is no longer under the supervision of the supervising appraiser.

76.4 (d) The supervising appraiser must maintain a separate work file for each appraisal76.5 assignment.

(e) The supervising appraiser must verify that any trainee real property appraiser that is
 subject to supervision is properly licensed and in good standing with the commissioner.

76.8 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2026.

76.9 Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 82B.095, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Conformance to Appraisal Qualifications Board criteria. (a) The requirements to obtain <u>and maintain</u> a trainee real property appraiser, licensed real property appraiser, certified residential real property appraiser, or certified general real property appraiser license are the education, examination, and experience requirements established by the Appraiser Qualifications Board of the Appraisal Foundation and published in the most recent version of the Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria.

(b) An applicant must complete the applicable education and experience requirementsbefore taking the required examination.

76.18 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2026.

76.19 Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 82B.13, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Trainee real property appraiser. As a prerequisite for licensing as a 76.20 trainee real property appraiser, an applicant must present evidence satisfactory to the 76.21 commissioner that the person has successfully completed a six-hour course that is specifically 76.22 oriented to the requirements and responsibilities of supervisory appraisers and trainee 76.23 appraisers. A course approved by the commissioner for the purposes of this subdivision 76.24 must be given the course title "Minnesota Supervisor/Trainee Appraiser Course." This The 76.25 76.26 course under this subdivision must not be counted toward qualifying education to upgrade to a higher level appraiser license. 76.27

76.28 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2026.

76.29 Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 82B.19, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. License renewals. (a) The commissioner must determine that a licensed
 real estate appraiser has met the continuing education requirements of this chapter before

Article 2 Sec. 47.

SS4097R

LB

the commissioner renews a license. This determination must be based on, for a resident
appraiser, course completion records uploaded electronically in a manner prescribed by the
commissioner and, for a nonresident appraiser, course completion records presented by
electronic transmission or uploaded electronically in a manner prescribed by the

77.5 commissioner.

The basic continuing education requirement for renewal of a license is the completion 77.6 by the applicant either as a student or as an instructor, during the immediately preceding 77.7 77.8 term of licensing, of at least 30 classroom hours of instruction in courses or seminars that have received the approval of the commissioner. Classroom hour credit must not be accepted 77.9 for courses of less than two hours. As part of the continuing education requirements of this 77.10 section, the commissioner must require that all real estate appraisers successfully complete 77.11 the seven-hour national USPAP update course every two years. If the applicant's immediately 77.12 preceding term of licensing consisted of six or more months, but fewer than 24 months, the 77.13 applicant must provide evidence of completion of 15 hours of instruction during the license 77.14 period. The credit hours required under this section may be credited to a person for distance 77.15 education courses that meet Appraiser Qualifications Board criteria. An approved prelicense 77.16 education course may be taken for continuing education credit. 77.17

(b) The 15-hour USPAP course cannot be used to satisfy the requirement to complete
 the seven-hour national USPAP update course every two years.

77.20 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2026.

77.21 Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 115C.08, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Imposing fee. The board shall notify the commissioner of revenue if the
unencumbered balance of the fund falls below \$4,000,000, and within 60 90 days after
receiving notice from the board, the commissioner of revenue shall impose the fee established
in subdivision 3 on the use of a tank for four calendar months, with payment to be submitted
with each monthly distributor tax return.

77.27 Sec. 49. <u>RULEMAKING.</u>

The commissioner of commerce must adopt rules to conform with the changes made in

77.29 sections 3 and 4 with respect to investment advisor registration continuing education and

77.30 <u>franchise fees deferral, respectively. The commissioner of commerce may use the good</u>

77.31 <u>cause exemption under Minnesota Statutes, section 14.388, subdivision 1, clause (3), to</u>

amend the rule under this section, and Minnesota Statutes, section 14.386, does not apply

77.33 except as provided under Minnesota Statutes, section 14.388.

78.1	Sec. 50. <u>RULEMAKING.</u>
78.2	The commissioner of commerce must amend Minnesota Rules, part 2675.2170, to comply
78.3	with the changes made in this act. The commissioner of commerce may use the good cause
78.4	exemption under Minnesota Statutes, section 14.388, subdivision 1, clause (3), to amend
78.5	the rule under this section. Minnesota Statutes, section 14.386, does not apply, except as
78.6	provided under Minnesota Statutes, section 14.388.
78.7	Sec. 51. <u>REPEALER.</u>
78.8	(a) Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 45.014, is repealed.
78.9	(b) Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 82B.25, is repealed.
78.10	EFFECTIVE DATE. Paragraph (b) is effective January 1, 2026.
78.11	Sec. 52. <u>REPEALER.</u>
78.12	Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 53B.58, is repealed.
78.13	Sec. 53. <u>REPEALER.</u>
78.14	Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58.08, subdivision 3, is repealed.
78.15	Sec. 54. EFFECTIVE DATE.
/8.13	Sec. 94. EFFECTIVE DATE.
78.16	Sections 1 and 2 are effective August 1, 2024, and apply to loans executed on or after
78.17	that date.
78.18	ARTICLE 3
78.19	COMMERCIAL REGULATION AND CONSUMER PROTECTION
78.20	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 45.011, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
78.21	Subdivision 1. Scope. As used in chapters 45 to 80C, 80E to 83, 155A, 216C, 332, 332A,
78.22	332B, 345, and 359, and sections 81A.22 to 81A.37; 123A.21, subdivision 7, paragraph
78.23	(a), clause (23); 123A.25; 325D.30 to 325D.42; 326B.802 to 326B.885; 386.62 to 386.78;
78.24	471.617; and 471.982; and 513.80, unless the context indicates otherwise, the terms defined
78.25	in this section have the meanings given them.

79.1	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 53B.69, is amended by adding a
79.2	subdivision to read:
79.3	Subd. 3a. Transaction hash. "Transaction hash" means a unique identifier made up of
79.4	a string of characters that act as a record of and provides proof that the transaction was
79.5	verified and added to the blockchain.
79.6	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 53B.69, is amended by adding a
79.7	subdivision to read:
79.8	Subd. 3b. New customer. "New customer" means a consumer transacting at a kiosk in
79.9	Minnesota who has been a customer with a virtual currency kiosk operator for less than 96
79.10	hours. After a 96-hour period has elapsed from the day of first signing up as a customer
79.11	with a virtual currency kiosk operator, the customer will be considered an existing customer
79.12	and no longer subject to the new customer transaction limit described in this act.
79.13	Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 53B.69, is amended by adding a
79.14	subdivision to read:
79.15	Subd. 3c. Existing customer. "Existing customer" means a consumer transacting at a
79.16	kiosk in Minnesota who has been a customer with a virtual currency kiosk operator for more
79.17	than a 96-hour period. A new customer will automatically convert to an existing customer
79.18	after the 96-hour period of first becoming a new customer. An existing customer is subject
79.19	to the transaction limits described in this act.
79.20	Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 53B.69, is amended by adding a
79.21	subdivision to read:
79.22	Subd. 6a. Virtual currency address. "Virtual currency address" means an alphanumeric
79.23	identifier representing a destination for a virtual currency transfer that is associated with a
79.24	virtual currency wallet.
79.25	Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 53B.69, is amended by adding a
79.26	subdivision to read:
79.27	Subd. 10. Virtual currency kiosk. "Virtual currency kiosk" means an electronic terminal
79.28	acting as a mechanical agent of the operator to enable the operator to facilitate the exchange
79.29	of virtual currency for money, bank credit, or other virtual currency, including, but not
79.30	limited to, by (1) connecting directly to a separate virtual currency exchanger that performs

	03/25/24	SENATEE	LB	SS4097R
80.1	the actual virtual currency transmis	ssion, or (2) drawing up	on the virtual cu	rrency in the
80.2	possession of the electronic termin	al's operator.		
80.3	Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2023	Supplement, section 53I	B.69, is amended	l by adding a
80.4	subdivision to read:			
80.5	Subd. 11. Virtual currency wa	llet. "Virtual currency v	vallet" means a s	oftware
80.6	application or other mechanism pro	oviding a means for hold	ding, storing, and	d transferring
80.7	virtual currency.			
80.8	Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2023	Supplement, section 53I	3.69, is amended	l by adding a
80.9	subdivision to read:			
80.10	Subd. 12. Virtual currency kie	osk operator. <u>"Virtual c</u>	urrency kiosk op	perator" means
80.11	a corporation, limited liability com	pany, limited liability pa	artnership, foreig	gn entity, or any
80.12	other person or entity qualified to o	do business in the state of	of Minnesota wh	ich operates a
80.13	virtual currency kiosk within the st	tate of Minnesota.		
80.14	Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2023	Supplement, section 53I	3.69, is amended	l by adding a
80.15	subdivision to read:			
80.16	Subd. 13. Virtual currency kie	osk transaction. "Virtua	al currency kiosk	transaction"
80.17	means a transaction conducted or p	performed, in whole or in	n part, by electro	onic means via
80.18	a virtual currency kiosk. Virtual cu	rrency kiosk transaction	also means a tra	ansaction made
80.19	at a virtual currency kiosk to purcha	ase currency with fiat cu	rrency or to sell	virtual currency
80.20	for fiat currency.			
80.21	Sec. 10. [53B.75] VIRTUAL CU	URRENCY KIOSKS.		
80.22	Subdivision 1. Disclosures on	material risks. (a) Befo	re entering into a	an initial virtual
80.23	currency transaction for, on behalf	of, or with a person, the	virtual currency	v kiosk operator
80.24	must disclose in clear, conspicuous	s, and legibly written Eng	glish all material	risks generally
80.25	associated with virtual currency. The	he disclosures should be	e displayed on th	e screen of the
80.26	virtual currency kiosk with the abil	lity for a person to ackno	owledge the rece	eipt of such
80.27	disclosures. This includes at least t	he following informatio	<u>n:</u>	
80.28	(1) virtual currency is not legal	tender, is not backed or	insured by the g	overnment, and
80.29	accounts and value balances are no	ot subject to Federal Dep	oosit Insurance C	Corporation,
80.30	National Credit Union Administrat	tion, or Securities Invest	or Protection Co	orporation
80.31	protections;			

LB

81.1	(2) some virtual currency transactions are deemed to be made when recorded on a public
81.2	ledger, which may not be the date or time when the person initiates the transaction;
81.3	(3) virtual currency's value may be derived from market participants' continued
81.4	willingness to exchange fiat currency for virtual currency, which may result in the permanent
81.5	and total loss of a particular virtual currency's value if the market for it disappears;
81.6	(4) there is no assurance that a person who accepts a virtual currency as payment today
81.7	will do so in the future;
01.0	
81.8 81.9	(5) the volatility and unpredictability of the price of virtual currency relative to fiat currency may result in a significant loss over a short period;
01.7	
81.10	(6) virtual currency transactions are irreversible and are used by scammers, including
81.11	those impersonating loved ones, threatening jail time, stating your identity is stolen, and
81.12	insisting you withdraw money from your bank account and purchase cryptocurrency;
81.13	(7) the nature of virtual currency means that any technological difficulties experienced
81.14	by the operator may prevent access to or use of a person's virtual currency; and
81.15	(8) any bond maintained by the licensee for the benefit of a person may not cover all
81.16	losses the persons incur.
81.17	(b) The virtual currency kiosk operator must provide an additional disclosure, which
81.18	must be acknowledged by the person, written prominently and in bold type, and provided
81.19	separately from the disclosures above, stating: "WARNING: LOSSES DUE TO
81.20	FRAUDULENT OR ACCIDENTAL TRANSACTIONS ARE NOT RECOVERABLE
81.21	AND TRANSACTIONS IN VIRTUAL CURRENCY ARE IRREVERSIBLE."
81.22	Subd. 2. Disclosures. (a) A virtual currency kiosk operator must disclose all relevant
81.23	terms and conditions generally associated with the products, services, and activities of the
81.24	operator and virtual currency. A virtual currency operator must make the disclosures in
81.25	clear, conspicuous, and legibly written English, displayed on a separate screen from other
81.26	disclosures and information, in bold-face sans serif font in a size in line with other texts
81.27	displayed. These disclosures must address at least the following:
81.28	(1) the person's liability for unauthorized virtual currency transactions;
81.29	(2) the person's right to:
81.30	(i) stop payment of a virtual currency transfer and the procedure to stop the payment;
81.31	(ii) receive a receipt, trade ticket, or other evidence of a transaction at the time of
81.32	transaction; and

	03/25/24	SENATEE	LB	SS4097R
82.1	(iii) prior notice of a change in th	e rules or policies of	the operator;	
82.2	(3) under what circumstances the	operator will, without	ut a court or govern	iment order,
82.3	disclose a person's account informati	on to third parties; an	nd	
82.4	(4) other disclosures that are cust	omarily provided in	connection with the	opening of a
82.5	person's account.			
82.6	(b) Before each virtual currency tr	ansaction for, on beha	alf of, or with a pers	on, the virtual
82.7	currency kiosk operator must disclos	e the transaction's ter	rms and conditions	in clear <u>,</u>
82.8	conspicuous, and legibly written Eng	glish, displayed on a	separate screen fror	n other
82.9	disclosures and information, in bold-	face sans serif font in	n a size in line with	other texts
82.10	displayed. These disclosures must ac	ldress at least the foll	owing:	
82.11	(1) the amount of the transaction;	<u>.</u>		
82.12	(2) any fees, expenses, and charg	es, including applica	ble exchange rates;	
82.13	(3) the type and nature of the tran	saction;		
82.14	(4) a warning that, once complete	ed, the transaction ma	ay not be undone;	
82.15	(5) a daily virtual currency transa	ction limit of no more	e than \$2,000 for ne	ew customers;
82.16	(6) the difference in the virtual cu	rrency's sale price ver	rsus the current mar	ket price; and
82.17	(7) other disclosures that are cust	omarily given in con	nection with a virtu	al currency
82.18	transaction.			
82.19	Subd. 3. Acknowledgment of di	sclosures. Before con	mpleting a transacti	on, a virtual
82.20	currency kiosk operator must ensure	that each person who	o engages in a virtu	al currency
82.21	transaction using the virtual currency	operator's kiosk ackno	owledges receipt of	all disclosures
82.22	required under this section via confir	mation of consent. A	dditionally, upon a	transaction's
82.23	completion, the virtual currency oper	rator must provide a	person with a physi	cal receipt, or
82.24	a virtual receipt sent to their email ad	ldress or SMS numb	er, containing the fo	ollowing
82.25	information:			
82.26	(1) the operator's name and contact	et information, includ	ing a telephone nur	ber to answer
82.27	questions and register complaints;			
82.28	(2) the type, value, date, and preci	se time of the transac	tion, transactional ł	ash, and each
82.29	virtual currency address;			
82.30	(3) the fees charged;			
82.31	(4) the exchange rate;			

03/25/24 SENATEE LB SS4097R (5) a statement of the operator's liability for non-delivery or delayed delivery; 83.1 (6) a statement of the operator's refund policy; and 83.2 (7) any additional information the commissioner of banking may require. 83.3 Subd. 4. New customer hold. The first transaction of a new customer must be subject 83.4 to a 48-hour holding period in which the customer may reverse and cancel their transaction 83.5 for a full refund. 83.6 83.7 Subd. 5. Transaction limits. (a) There is an established maximum daily transaction limit of \$2,000 for each new customer of a virtual currency kiosk. 83.8 83.9 (b) The maximum daily transaction limit of an existing customer shall be decided by each virtual currency kiosk operator in compliance with federal law. 83.10 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58B.02, subdivision 8, is amended to read: 83.11 Subd. 8. Student loan. "Student loan" means a government, commercial, or foundation 83.12 loan extension of credit for actual costs paid for tuition and reasonable education and living 83.13 expenses. 83.14 83.15 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58B.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to read: 83.16 Subd. 8a. Lender. "Lender" means an entity engaged in the business of securing, making, 83.17 or extending student loans. Lender does not include, to the extent that state regulation is 83.18 preempted by federal law: 83.19 (1) a bank, savings banks, savings and loan association, or credit union; 83.20 (2) a wholly owned subsidiary of a bank or credit union; or 83.21 (3) an operating subsidiary where each owner is wholly owned by the same bank or 83.22 credit union. 83.23 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58B.03, is amended by adding a subdivision to 83.24 read: 83.25 Subd. 10. Annual report. (a) Beginning March 15, 2025, a student loan servicer that 83.26 secures, makes, or extends student loans in the state must report to the commissioner on the 83.27 83.28 form the commissioner provides:

LB

84.1	(1) a list of all schools attended by borrowers who received a student loan from the
84.2	student loan servicer and resided within the state at the time of the transaction and whose
84.3	debt is still outstanding, including student loans used to refinance an existing debt;
84.4	(2) the total outstanding dollar amount owed by borrowers residing in the state who
84.5	received student loans from the student loan servicer;
84.6	(3) the total number of student loans owed by borrowers residing in the state who received
84.7	student loans from the student loan servicer;
84.8	(4) the total outstanding dollar amount and number of student loans owed by borrowers
84.9	who reside in the state, associated with each school identified under clause (1);
84.10	(5) the total dollar amount of student loans provided by the student loan servicer to
84.11	borrowers who resided in the state in the prior calendar year;
84.12	(6) the total outstanding dollar amount and number of student loans owed by borrowers
84.13	who resided in the state, associated with each school identified under clause (1), that were
84.14	provided in the prior calendar year;
84.15	(7) the rate of default for borrowers residing in the state who obtained student loans
84.16	from the student loan servicer, if applicable;
84.17	(8) the rate of default for borrowers residing in the state who obtained student loans
84.18	from the student loan servicer associated with each school identified under clause (1), if
84.19	applicable;
84.20	(9) the range of initial interest rates for student loans provided by the student loan servicer
84.21	to borrowers who resided in the state in the prior calendar year;
84.22	(10) of the total number of borrowers who received student loans under clause (9), and
84.23	the percentage of borrowers who received each rate identified under clause (9);
84.24	(11) the total dollar amount and number of student loans provided in the prior calendar
84.25	year by the student loan servicer to borrowers who resided in the state at the time of the
84.26	transaction and had a cosigner for the student loans;
84.27	(12) the total dollar amount and number of student loans provided by the student loan
84.28	servicer to borrowers residing in the state used to refinance a prior student loan or federal
84.29	student loan in the prior calendar year;
84.30	(13) the total dollar amount and number of student loans for which the student loan
84.31	servicer had sued to collect from a borrower residing in the state in the prior calendar year;

LB

85.1	(14) a copy of any model promissory note, agreement, contract, or other instrument used
85.2	by the student loan servicer in the previous year to substantiate that a borrower owes a new
85.3	debt to the student loan servicer; and
85.4	(15) any other information considered necessary by the commissioner to assess the total
85.5	size and status of the student loan market and well-being of borrowers in the state.
85.6	(b) A student loan servicer that acquires or assumes student loans in the state must report
85.7	to the commissioner on the form the commissioner provides:
85.8	(1) a list of all schools attended by borrowers residing in the state who used, for
85.9	attendance, any outstanding student loans assumed or acquired by the student loan servicer;
85.10	(2) the total outstanding dollar amount and number of student loans that have been
85.11	acquired or assumed by the student loan servicer and owed by borrowers who reside in the
85.12	state;
85.13	(3) the total outstanding dollar amount and number of student loans owed by borrowers
85.14	who reside in the state that have been assumed or acquired by the student loan servicer,
85.15	associated with each school identified under clause (1);
85.16	(4) the total dollar amount and number of student loans owed by borrowers who resided
85.17	in the state that were acquired or assumed by the student loan servicer in the prior calendar
85.18	<u>year;</u>
85.19	(5) the total dollar amount and number of student loans that were acquired or assumed
85.20	by the student loan servicer and owed by borrowers who resided in the state in the prior
85.21	year, associated with each school identified under clause (1);
85.22	(6) the rate of default for student loans acquired or assumed by the student loan servicer,
85.23	<u>if applicable;</u>
85.24	(7) the rate of default for student loans acquired or assumed by the student loan servicer
85.25	associated with each school identified under clause (1), if applicable;
85.26	(8) the total outstanding dollar amount and number of student loans owed by borrowers
85.27	residing in the state who had a cosigner for the student loans, if applicable;
85.28	(9) the total outstanding dollar amount and number of student loans that were acquired
85.29	or assumed by the student loan servicer and owed by borrowers residing in the state to
85.30	refinance a prior student loan or federal student loan;

86.1	(10) the total dollar amount and number of student loans for which the student loan
86.2	servicer had sued to collect from borrowers residing in the state in the prior calendar year;
86.3	and
86.4	(11) any other information considered necessary by the commissioner to assess the total
86.5	size and status of the student loan market and well-being of borrowers in the state.
86.6	(c) The commissioner of commerce shall share data collected under this subdivision
86.7	with the commissioner of higher education.
86.8	Sec. 14. [58B.051] REGISTRATION FOR LENDERS.
86.9	(a) Beginning January 1, 2025, a lender must register with the commissioner as a lender
86.10	before providing services in Minnesota. A lender must not offer or make a student loan to
86.11	a resident of Minnesota without first registering with the commissioner as provided in this
86.12	section.
86.13	(b) A registration application must include:
86.14	(1) the lender's name;
86.15	(2) the lender's address;
86.16	(3) the name of all officers, directors, partners, and owners of controlling interests in
86.17	the lender;
86.18	(4) the addresses of all officers, directors, partners, and owners of controlling interests
86.19	in the lender; and
86.20	(5) any other information as determined by the commissioner.
86.21	(c) A lender must renew the lender's registration on an annual basis and may be required
86.22	to pay a fee at the time of renewal.
86.23	(d) The commissioner may adopt and enforce:
86.24	(1) registration procedures for lenders, which may include using the Nationwide
86.25	Multistate Licensing System and Registry;
86.26	(2) registration fees for lenders, which may include fees for using the Nationwide
86.27	Multistate Licensing System and Registry, to be paid directly by the lender;
86.28	(3) procedures and fees to renew a lender's registration, which may include fees for the
86.29	renewed use of Nationwide Multistate Licensing System and Registry, to be paid directly
86.30	by the lender; and

LB

87.1	(4) alternate registration procedures and fees for institutions of postsecondary education
87.2	that offer student loans.

87.3 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58B.06, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Transfer of student loan. (a) If a borrower's student loan servicer changes
pursuant to the sale, assignment, or transfer of the servicing, the original student loan servicer
must:

(1) require the new student loan servicer to honor all benefits that were made available,
or which may have become available, to a borrower from the original student loan servicer
<u>or is authorized under the student loan contract, including any benefits for which the student</u>
<u>loan borrower has not yet qualified unless that benefit is no longer available under the federal</u>
or state laws and regulations; and

(2) transfer to the new student loan servicer all information regarding the borrower, the
account of the borrower, and the borrower's student loan, including but not limited to the
repayment status of the student loan and the benefits described in clause (1).

(b) The student loan servicer must complete the transfer under paragraph (a), clause (2),
less than 45 days from the date of the sale, assignment, or transfer of the servicing.

(c) A sale, assignment, or transfer of the servicing must be completed no less than sevendays from the date the next payment is due on the student loan.

(d) A new student loan servicer must adopt policies and procedures to verify that theoriginal student loan servicer has met the requirements of paragraph (a).

87.21 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58B.06, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Income-driven repayment. (a) A student loan servicer must evaluate a borrower
for eligibility for an income-driven repayment program before placing a borrower in
forbearance or default.

- 87.25 (b) A student loan servicer must provide the following information on the student loan
 87.26 servicer's website:
- 87.27 (1) a description of any income-driven repayment programs available under the student
 87.28 loan contract or federal or state laws and regulations; and

87.29 (2) information on the policies and procedures the student loan servicer implements to

87.30 facilitate the evaluation of student loan income-driven repayment program requests, including

87.31 accurate information regarding any options that may be available to the borrower through

SENATEE

LB

SS4097R

88.1	the promissory note or that may have been marketed to the borrower through marketing
88.2	materials.
88.3	Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58B.07, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
88.4	Subdivision 1. Misleading borrowers. A student loan servicer must not directly or
88.5	indirectly employ any scheme, device, or artifice to attempt to defraud or mislead a borrower.
88.6	Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58B.07, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
88.7	Subd. 3. Misapplication of payments. A student loan servicer must not knowingly or
88.8	negligently misapply student loan payments to the outstanding balance of a student loan.
88.9	Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58B.07, subdivision 9, is amended to read:
88.10	Subd. 9. Incorrect information regarding student loan forgiveness loans. (a) A
88.11	student loan servicer must not misrepresent the availability of student loan forgiveness for
88.12	which the servicer has reason to know the borrower is eligible. This includes but is not
88.13	limited to student loan forgiveness programs specific to military borrowers, borrowers
88.14	working in public service, or borrowers with disabilities.
88.15	(b) A student loan servicer must not provide incorrect information related to forbearance.
88.16	If a student loan servicer suggests placing a borrower in forbearance in lieu of a repayment
88.17	program that would result in savings to the borrower and the borrower relies on this
88.18	information, the student loan servicer shall be subject to the penalties provided under section
88.19	<u>58B.09.</u>
88.20	Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58B.07, is amended by adding a subdivision to
88.21	read:
88.22	Subd. 11. Property. A student loan servicer must not obtain property by fraud or
88.23	misrepresentation.
88.24	Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58B.07, is amended by adding a subdivision to
88.25	read:
88.26	Subd. 12. Customer service. A student loan servicer must not allow a borrower to
88.27	remain on hold during an individual call for more than two hours unless the student loan
88.28	servicer returns the borrower's phone call within 24 hours of the two hours expiring. A
88.29	student loan servicer must not allow a call on hold to automatically lapse or end upon
88.30	reaching a duration of two hours to satisfy this requirement.

89.1	Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58B.07, is amended by adding a subdivision to
89.2	read:
89.3	Subd. 13. Abusive acts or practices. A student loan servicer must not engage in abusive
89.4	acts or practices when servicing a student loan in this state. An act or practice is abusive in
89.5	connection with the servicing of a student loan if that act or practice:
89.6	(1) materially interferes with the ability of a borrower to understand a term or condition
89.7	of a student loan; or
89.8	(2) takes unreasonable advantage of any of the following:
89.9	(i) a lack of understanding on the part of a borrower of the material risks, costs, or
89.10	conditions of the student loan;
89.11	(ii) the inability of a borrower to protect the interests of the borrower when selecting or
89.12	using a student loan or feature, term, or condition of a student loan; or
89.13	(iii) the reasonable reliance by the borrower on a student loan servicer to act in the
89.14	interests of the borrower.
89.15	Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58B.07, is amended by adding a subdivision to
89.16	read:
89.17	Subd. 14. Violations. A violation of this section is an unlawful practice under section
89.18	<u>325D.44.</u>
89.19	Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58B.09, is amended by adding a subdivision to
89.20	read:
89.21	Subd. 4. Private right of action. (a) A borrower who suffers damage as a result of the
89.22	failure of a student loan servicer to comply with this chapter may bring an action on a
89.23	borrower's own behalf and on behalf of a similarly situated class of persons against that
89.24	student loan servicer to recover or obtain:
89.25	(1) actual damages, except that the total award of damages must be at least $$500 \text{ per}$
89.26	plaintiff, per violation;
89.27	(2) an order enjoining the methods, acts, or practices;
89.28	(3) restitution of property;
89.29	(4) punitive damages;
89.30	(5) reasonable attorney fees; and

90.1

90.2

90.3

90.4

90.5

90.6

90.7

90.8

90.9

90.10

90.11

90.12

90.13

90.14

90.15

90.16

90.17

90.18

90.19

90.20

90.21

90.22

90.23

90.24

90.25

90.26

90.27

90.28

90.29

90.30

90.31

SS4097R

LB

(6) any other relief that the court deems proper.
(b) In addition to any other remedies provided by this subdivision or otherwise provided
by law, if a student loan servicer is shown, by a preponderance of the evidence, to have
engaged in conduct that substantially interferes with a borrower's right to an alternative
payment arrangement; loan forgiveness, cancellation, or discharge; or any other financial
benefit established under the terms of a borrower's promissory note or under the Higher
Education Act of 1965, United States Code, title 20, section 1070a, et seq., a borrower is
entitled to damages of at least \$1,500 per plaintiff, per violation.
(c) At least 45 days before bringing an action for damages or injunctive relief under this
chapter, a borrower must:
(1) provide written notice to the student loan servicer alleged to have violated this chapter
regarding the nature of the alleged violations; and
(2) demand that the student loan servicer correct and remedy the method, act, or practice
identified in the notice under clause (1).
(d) The notice required by this subdivision must be sent by certified or registered mail,
return receipt requested, to the student loan servicer's address on file with the Department
of Commerce or to the student loan servicer's principal place of business in Minnesota.
(e) An action for damages or injunctive relief brought by a borrower only on the
individual borrower's behalf must not be maintained under paragraph (a) upon a showing
by a student loan servicer that an appropriate correction and remedy is given, or is agreed
to be given within a reasonable time, to the borrower within 30 days after the notice is
received.
(f) An action for damages brought by a borrower on both the borrower's behalf and on
behalf of a similarly situated class of persons must not be maintained under paragraph (a)
upon a showing by a student loan servicer alleged to have employed or committed a method,
act, or practice declared unlawful if:
(1) all borrowers similarly situated have been identified or a reasonable effort to identify
other borrowers has been made;
(2) all borrowers identified have been notified that, upon the borrower's request, the
student loan servicer must make the appropriate correction and remedy;
(3) the correction and remedy requested by the borrower has been given or is given

90.32 within a reasonable amount of time; and

LB

91.1	(4) the student loan servicer has ceased from engaging, or if immediate cessation is
91.2	impossible or unreasonably expensive under the circumstances, the student loan servicer
91.3	ceases to engage within a reasonable amount of time, in the method, act, or practice.
91.4	(g) An attempt to comply with a demand described in paragraph (c) by a student loan
91.5	servicer that receives the demand is construed as an offer to compromise and is inadmissible
91.6	as evidence under Minnesota Rules of Evidence, rule 408. An attempt to comply with a
91.7	demand is not an admission of engaging in an act or practice declared unlawful by paragraph
91.8	(a). Evidence of compliance or attempts to comply with this section may be introduced by
91.9	a defendant to establish good faith or to show compliance with paragraph (a).
91.10	(h) An award of damages must not be given in an action based on a method, act, or
91.11	practice in violation of paragraph (a) if the student loan servicer alleged to have employed
91.12	or committed that method, act, or practice:
91.13	(1) proves by a preponderance of the evidence that the violation was not intentional and
91.14	resulted from a bona fide error, notwithstanding the use of reasonable procedures adopted
91.15	to avoid that error; and
91.16	(2) makes an appropriate correction, repair, replacement, or other remedy under
91.17	paragraphs (e) and (f).
91.18	(i) The commissioner must administer and enforce this section and must adopt rules and
91.19	issue orders consistent with the authority under this section.
91.20	Sec. 25. [65A.3025] CONDOMINIUM AND TOWNHOUSE POLICIES;
91.21	COORDINATION OF BENEFITS FOR LOSS ASSESSMENT.
91.22	Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section the following terms have
91.23	the meanings given.
91.24	(b) "Association" has the meaning given in section 515B.1-103, clause (4).
91.25	(c) "Unit owner" has the meaning given in section 515B.1-103, clause (37).
91.26	(d) "Assessable loss" means a covered loss under the terms of the policy applicable
91.27	under paragraphs (a) and (b).
91.28	Subd. 2. Loss assessment. (a) If a loss assessment is charged by an association to an
91.29	individual unit owner the insurance policy in force at the time of the assessable loss must
91.30	pay the loss assessment, subject to the limits provided in the policy, notwithstanding any
91.31	policy provisions regarding when loss assessment coverage accrues, and subject to any
91.32	other terms, conditions, and exclusions in the policy, if the following conditions are met:

03/25/24	•
----------	---

92.1	(1) the unit owner at the time of the assessable loss is the owner of the property listed
92.2	on the policy at the time the loss assessment is charged;
92.3	(2) if the insurance policy in force at the time of the assessable loss provides loss $\frac{1}{2}$
92.4	assessment coverage; and
92.5	(3) a loss assessment and the event or occurrence which triggers a loss assessment shall
92.6	be considered a single loss for underwriting and rating purposes.
92.7	(b) If a loss assessment is charged by an association to an individual unit owner the
92.8	insurance policy in force at the time the loss assessment is charged must pay the assessment,
92.9	subject to the limits provided in the policy, notwithstanding any policy provisions regarding
92.10	when loss assessment coverage accrues, and subject to any other terms, conditions, and
92.11	exclusions in the policy, if the following conditions are met:
92.12	(1) the unit owner at the time of the loss assessment is charged is different than the unit
92.13	owner at the time of the assessable loss; and
92.14	(2) the insurance policy in force at the time the loss assessment is charged provides loss
92.15	assessment coverage.
92.16	(c) For a loss assessment under paragraph (b), an insurer may require evidence
92.17	documenting that the transfer of ownership occurred prior to the assessment before the
92.18	insurer affords coverage.
92.19	Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 239.791, subdivision 8, is amended
92.20	to read:
92.21	Subd. 8. Disclosure; reporting. (a) A refinery or terminal, shall provide, at the time
92.22	gasoline is sold or transferred from the refinery or terminal, a bill of lading or shipping
92.23	manifest to the person who receives the gasoline. For oxygenated gasoline, the bill of lading
92.24	or shipping manifest must include the identity and the volume percentage or gallons of
92.25	oxygenate included in the gasoline, and it must state: "This fuel contains an oxygenate. Do
92.26	not blend this fuel with ethanol or with any other oxygenate." For nonoxygenated gasoline,
92.27	the bill or manifest must state: "This fuel is not oxygenated. It must not be sold at retail in
92.28	Minnesota." This subdivision does not apply to sales or transfers of gasoline between
92.29	refineries, between terminals, or between a refinery and a terminal.
92.30	(b) A delivery ticket required under section 239.092 for biofuel blended with gasoline
92.31	must state the volume percentage of biofuel blended into gasoline delivered through a meter
92.32	into a storage tank used for dispensing by persons not exempt under subdivisions 10 to 14

92.33 and, 16, and 17.

(c) On or before the 23rd day of each month, a person responsible for the product must 93.1 report to the department, in the form prescribed by the commissioner, the gross number of 93.2 gallons of intermediate blends sold at retail by the person during the preceding calendar 93.3 month. The report must identify the number of gallons by blend type. For purposes of this 93.4 subdivision, "intermediate blends" means blends of gasoline and biofuel in which the biofuel 93.5 content, exclusive of denaturants and other permitted components, is greater than ten percent 93.6 and no more than 50 percent by volume. This paragraph only applies to a person who is 93.7 93.8 responsible for selling intermediate blends at retail at more than ten locations. A person responsible for the product at fewer than ten locations is not precluded from reporting the 93.9 gross number of intermediate blends if a report is available. 93.10

93.11 (d) All reports provided pursuant to paragraph (c) are nonpublic data, as defined in93.12 section 13.02, subdivision 9.

93.13 Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 239.791, is amended by adding a subdivision
93.14 to read:

93.15 Subd. 17. Bulk delivery of premium grade gasoline; exemption. (a) A person
93.16 responsible for the product may offer for sale, sell, or deliver a bulk delivery of unleaded
93.17 premium grade gasoline, as defined in section 239.751, subdivision 4, that is not oxygenated
93.18 in accordance with subdivision 1 if the conditions in paragraphs (b) to (d) are met.

93.19 (b) Nonoxygenated gas is only for use in vehicles that would qualify for an exemption
 93.20 under subdivision 12, paragraph (a).

93.21 (c) No more than one bulk fuel storage tank on the premises may be used for storage of
93.22 the nonoxygenated gasoline.

93.23 (d) The bulk fuel delivery is 500 gallons or less.

93.24 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 325E.80, subdivision 1, is amended
93.25 to read:

93.26 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the terms in this subdivision
93.27 have the meanings given.

(b) "Essential consumer good or service" means a good or service that is vital and
necessary for the health, safety, and welfare of the public, including without limitation:
food; water; fuel; gasoline; shelter; construction materials; transportation; health care
services; pharmaceuticals; and medical, personal hygiene, sanitation, and cleaning supplies.

LB

94.1	(c) "Restoration and mitigation services provider" means a person or business that
94.2	provides service to prevent further damage to property following a fire, smoke, water, or
94.3	storm event. Services include but are not limited to board up of property, water extraction,
94.4	drying, smoke or odor removal, cleaning, and personal property inventory, removal, and
94.5	storage;
94.6	(d) "Seller" means a manufacturer, supplier, wholesaler, distributor, or retail seller of
94.7	goods and services.
94.8	(e) "Tree trimmer" means a person registered under section 18G.07.
94.9	$\frac{d}{d}$ (f) "Unconscionably excessive price" means a price that represents a gross disparity
94.10	compared to the seller's average price of an essential good or service, offered for sale or
94.11	sold in the usual course of business, in the 60-day period before an abnormal market
94.12	disruption is declared under subdivision 2. None of the following is an unconscionably
94.13	excessive price:
94.14	(1) a price that is substantially related to an increase in the cost of manufacturing,
94.15	obtaining, replacing, providing, or selling a good or service;
94.16	(2) a price that is no more than 25 percent above the seller's average price during the
94.17	60-day period before an abnormal market disruption is declared under subdivision 2;
94.18	(3) a price that is consistent with the fluctuations in applicable commodity markets or
94.19	seasonal fluctuations; or
94.20	(4) a contract price, or the results of a price formula, that was established before an
94.21	abnormal market disruption is declared under subdivision 2.
94.22	Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 325E.80, subdivision 5, is amended
94.23	to read:
94.24	Subd. 5. Prices and rates. Upon the occurrence of a weather event classified as a severe
94.25	thunderstorm pursuant to the criteria established by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric
94.26	Administration, a residential building contractor, tree trimmer, or restoration and mitigation
94.27	services provider operating within the geographic region impacted by the weather event
94.28	and repairing damage caused by the weather event shall not:
94.29	(1) charge an unconscionably excessive price for labor in comparison to the market price
94.30	charged for comparable services in the geographic region impacted by the weather event;
94.31	or

95.1 (2) charge an insurance company a rate that exceeds what the residential building

95.2 contractor, tree trimmer, or restoration and mitigation services provider would otherwise

95.3 <u>charges members charge a member</u> of the general public.

95.4 Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 325E.80, subdivision 6, is amended
95.5 to read:

95.6 Subd. 6. Civil penalty. A person who is found to have violated this section subdivision

95.7 <u>4</u> is subject to a civil penalty of not more than \$1,000 per sale or transaction, with a maximum
95.8 penalty of \$25,000 per day. No other penalties may be imposed for the same conduct
95.9 regulated under this section subdivision 4.

95.10 Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 325E.80, subdivision 7, is amended95.11 to read:

Subd. 7. Enforcement authority. (a) The attorney general may investigate and bring
an action <u>using the authority under section 8.31</u> against a seller or, residential building
contractor, tree trimmer, or restoration and mitigation services provider for an alleged
violation of this section.

95.16 (b) Nothing in this section creates a private cause of action in favor of a person injured95.17 by a violation of this section.

95.18 Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 325F.03, is amended to read:

95.19 **325F.03 FLAME RESISTANT PUBLIC ASSEMBLY TENTS.**

No person, firm or corporation shall establish, maintain or operate any circus, side show, 95.20 carnival, tent show, theater, skating rink, dance hall, or a similar exhibition, production, 95.21 engagement or offering or other place of assemblage in or under which ten 15 or more 95.22 persons may gather for any lawful purpose in any tent, awning or other fabric enclosure 95.23 unless such tent, awning or other fabric enclosure, and all auxiliary tents, curtains, drops, 95.24 awnings and all decorative materials, are made from a nonflammable material or are treated 95.25 and maintained in a flame resistant condition. This section shall does not apply to tents 95.26 designed or manufactured for camping, backpacking, mountaineering, or children's play; 95.27 tents used to conduct committal services on the grounds of a cemetery;; nor to tents, awnings 95.28 or other fabric enclosures erected and used within a sound stage, or other similar structural 95.29 enclosure which is equipped with an overhead automatic sprinkler system. 95.30

	03/25/24	SENATEE	LB	SS4097R
96.1	Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2022, se	ection 325F.04, is amend	ed to read:	
96.2	325F.04 FLAME RESISTANT T	ENTS AND SLEEPIN	G BAGS .	

No person, firm, or corporation may sell or offer for sale or manufacture for sale in this
state any tent subject to section 325F.03 unless all fabrics or pliable materials in the tent
are durably flame resistant. No person, firm or corporation may sell or offer for sale or
manufacture for sale in this state any sleeping bag unless it meets the standards of the
commissioner of public safety for flame resistancy. Tents and sleeping bags subject to
section 325F.03 shall be conspicuously labeled as being durably flame resistant.

96.9 Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 325F.05, is amended to read:

96.10 **325F.05 RULES.**

The commissioner of public safety shall act so as to have effective rules concerning standards for nonflammable, flame resistant and durably flame resistant materials and for labeling requirements by January 1, 1976 under sections 325F.03 and 325F.04. In order to comply with sections 325F.03 and 325F.04 all materials and labels must comply with the rules adopted by the commissioner. The commissioner has general rulemaking power to otherwise implement sections 325F.03 to 325F.07.

96.17 Sec. 35. [325F.078] SALES OF AEROSOL DUSTERS CONTAINING 1,196.18 DIFLUOROETHANE (DFE).

- 96.19 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the following terms have
 96.20 the meanings given.
- 96.21 (b) "Aerosol duster" means a product used to clean electronics and other items by means
 96.22 of an aerosol sprayed from a pressurized container.
- 96.23 (c) "Behind-the-counter" means placement by a retailer of a product to ensure that
- 96.24 customers do not have direct access to the product before a sale is made, requiring the seller
- 96.25 to deliver the product directly to the buyer.
- 96.26 (d) "DFE" or "1,1-difluoroethane" means a chemical with a Chemicals Abstract Service
 96.27 Registry Number of 75-37-6.
- 96.28 Subd. 2. Requirements for retail sale. A retailer must only sell an aerosol duster that
 96.29 contains DFE:
- 96.30 (1) from behind-the-counter;

	03/25/24	SENATEE	LB	SS4097R
97.1	(2) to a purchaser who preser	nts valid evidence that the	purchaser is at l	east 21 years of
97.2	age; and			
97.3	(3) in a quantity that complie	s with the purchasing limi	it established in s	subdivision 3.
97.4	Subd. 3. Purchasing limit. (a	a) A retailer is prohibited f	rom selling more	than three cans
97.5	of an aerosol duster containing I	DFE to a customer in a sin	gle transaction.	
97.6	(b) A retailer is prohibited fro	om selling aerosol dusters	containing DFE	through same
97.7	day pick up services or same day	y delivery services.		
97.8	Subd. 4. Exemption. (a) Sub	odivisions 2 and 3 do not a	pply to a busine	ss purchasing
97.9	aerosol dusters online.			
97.10	(b) Office wholesalers can se	ll more than three cans of	aerosol dusters	containing DFE
97.11	to a business they have a contract	et with.		
97.12	Subd. 5. Labeling. (a) An ae	rosol duster manufactured	after May 31, 20	025, must not be
97.13	sold in this state unless the aeros	ol duster clearly warns aga	ainst the dangers	of intentionally
97.14	misusing duster aerosol products	<u>S.</u>		
97.15	(b) The font size of this warni	ng shall be the same or larg	ger than other wa	rning language.
97.16	The font color and background c	of the label must be in con	trasting colors.	
97.17	(c) The label on each can of a	aerosol duster containing I	DFE must contain	n the following:
97.18	(1) the words "DANGER: D	EATH! Breathing this prod	duct to get high o	can kill you!";
97.19	and			
97.20	(2) the poison control phone	number, 1-800-222-1222.		
97.21	(d) In order to comply with s	ubdivision 5, paragraph (a), a label may inc	clude, but is not
97.22	limited to the words:			
97.23	(1) "Deliberate misuse by contained by (1)	ncentrating and inhaling th	ne contents can b	be harmful or
97.24	fatal!"; and			
97.25	(2) "Intentional misuse by de	liberately concentrating a	nd inhaling the v	apors can be
97.26	harmful or fatal!".			
97.27	(e) The safety symbols and c	olor standards of the label	described in this	s section must
97.28	conform with the ANSI Z535 safe	ety signage standards guide	lines established l	by the American
97.29	National Standards Institute.			
97.30	Subd. 6. Violations. (a) A pe	erson that violates subdivis	sion 2 or 3 is gui	lty of a
97.31	misdemeanor.			

Article 3 Sec. 35.

LB

98.1	(b) It is an affirmative defense to a charge under subdivision 2, clause (2), if the defendant
98.2	proves by a preponderance of the evidence that the defendant reasonably and in good faith
98.3	relied on proof of age as described in section 340A.503, subdivision 6.
98.4	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025, and applies to purchases
98.5	of aerosol dusters made on or after that date.
98.6	Sec. 36. [325F.676] TICKET SALES.
98.7	Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the following terms have
98.8	the meanings given.
98.9	(b) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of commerce.
98.10	(c) "Entertainment" means all forms of entertainment, including but not limited to
98.11	theatrical or operatic performances, concerts, motion pictures, entertainment at fairgrounds,
98.12	amusement parks, athletic competitions and other sports, and all other forms of diversion,
98.13	recreation, or show.
98.14	(d) "Internet domain name" means a globally unique, hierarchical reference to an Internet
98.15	host or service, which is assigned through a centralized Internet naming authority and which
98.16	is composed of a series of character strings separated by periods with the rightmost string
98.17	specifying the top of the hierarchy.
98.18	(e) "Online ticket marketplace" means the administrator of a website or other electronic
98.19	service, including an agent, employee, or assignee of such administrator, that sells tickets
98.20	or maintains a platform to facilitate the sale of tickets.
98.21	(f) "Operator" means a person, including an agent, employee, or assignee of such person,
98.22	who:
98.23	(1) owns, operates, or controls a place of entertainment;
98.24	(2) produces entertainment; or
98.25	(3) sells a ticket to a place of entertainment for original sale.
98.26	(g) "Person" means a party, individual, partnership, association, corporation, or other
98.27	legal entity.
98.28	(h) "Place of entertainment" means an entertainment facility, including but not limited
98.29	to an amphitheater, theater, stadium, arena, racetrack, museum, amusement park, venue,
98.30	club, or other place where performances, concerts, exhibits, athletic games, contests, or

	03/25/24	SENATEE	LB	SS4097R
99.1	other forms of entertainment are held. F	or the purposes of t	this section, place of	entertainment
99.2	does not include movie theaters.	• •		
99.3	(i) "Ticket reseller" means a person	that offers or sells	tickets for resale after	er the original
99.4	sale to an entertainment event located	in this state and in	cludes an operator to	o the extent
99.5	that the operator offers or sells tickets	for resale. Sales by	a ticket reseller incl	ludes sales by
99.6	any means, including, but not limited t	o, in-person, or by	telephone, mail, del	ivery service,
99.7	facsimile, Internet, e-mail or other elec	ctronic means. A ti	cket reseller does no	ot include a
99.8	person that purchases a ticket solely for	their own use or th	ne use of their invitee	s, employees,
99.9	or agents.			
99.10	(j) "URL" means a uniform resource	ce locator for a well	bsite on the Internet.	<u>.</u>
99.11	Subd. 2. Disclosures. (a) An operation	tor, ticket reseller,	or online ticket mark	etplace must,
99.12	at all times during the ticket listing and	d purchasing proce	ess, disclose in an ea	sily readable
99.13	and conspicuous manner and in dollars	<u>s:</u>		
99.14	(1) the total cost of the ticket, inclu	sive of all fees and	d surcharges that mu	st be paid in
99.15	order to purchase the ticket;			
99.16	(2) the portion of the ticket price the	at represents a ser	vice charge; and	
99.17	(3) any other fee or surcharge to the	e purchaser.		
99.18	(b) The disclosure of subtotals, fees	s, charges, and all o	other components of	the total price
99.19	must not be false or misleading, and sh	all not be presented	d more prominently	or in the same
99.20	or larger size than the total price. The	disclosure of subto	otals, fees, charges, a	and all other
99.21	components of the total price may be o	displayed in a way	that allows the purc	haser to hide
99.22	or minimize the itemized list. The price	e of a ticket must i	not increase with res	pect to a
99.23	particular person after the ticket is first	displayed to such	person, excluding re	asonable fees
99.24	for the delivery of nonelectronic ticket	ts based on the deli	ivery method selecte	d by the
99.25	purchaser and any additional purchase	s made by the pure	chaser, which must b	e disclosed
99.26	prior to accepting payment.			
99.27	(c) A ticket reseller and online tick	et marketplace mu	st disclose in an eas	ily readable
99.28	and conspicuous manner on its website	e or electronic serv	vice:	
99.29	(1) that the website or electronic set	ervice is owned or	operated by a ticket	reseller or
99.30	online ticket marketplace and that the	price of a resale tic	ket offered for sale r	nay be higher
99.31	or lower than the original purchase pri	<u>ce;</u>		
99.32	(2) that the purchaser is responsible	e for checking with	n the place of enterta	unment for
99.33	information on changes to the event or	cancellations prio	or to the event's start	time; and

LB

100.1	(3) the refund policy of the ticket reseller or online ticket marketplace.
100.2	A ticket reseller or online ticket marketplace must require a purchaser to confirm having
100.3	read the disclosures required by this paragraph before completing a transaction.
100.4	(d) A ticket reseller or online ticket marketplace must provide proof of purchase to the
100.5	purchaser which must include all event and ticket information within 24 hours of the
100.6	purchase, including:
100.7	(1) that the purchaser is responsible for checking with the place of entertainment for
100.8	information on changes to the event or cancellations prior to the event's start time; and
100.9	(2) the refund policy of the ticket reseller or online ticket marketplace.
100.10	(e) An online ticket marketplace must not use any combination of text, images, trademark,
100.11	copyright, web designs, or Internet addresses that is identical or substantially similar to text,
100.12	images, trademark, copyright, web designs, or Internet addresses associated with a place of
100.13	entertainment without the written permission of the place of entertainment duly authorized
100.14	to provide such permission. This paragraph does not prohibit an online ticket marketplace
100.15	from using text containing the name of a place of entertainment or of an event in order to
100.16	describe the location of the event or the event itself. This paragraph does not prohibit an
100.17	online ticket marketplace from providing information or images identifying the specific
100.18	seat or area the purchaser will occupy in the place of entertainment.
100.19	(f) The obligations of paragraphs (a) to (d) do not apply to any person, unless the person
100.20	engaged in annual aggregate transactions that were equal to or greater than \$5,000.
100.21	Subd. 3. Prohibitions. (a) A ticket reseller or online ticket marketplace must not:
100.22	(1) sell or offer to sell more than one copy of the same ticket to a place of entertainment;
100.23	(2) employ another person directly or indirectly to wait in line to purchase tickets for
100.24	the purpose of reselling the tickets if the practice is prohibited or if the place of entertainment
100.25	has posted a policy prohibiting the practice;
100.26	(3) sell or offer to sell a ticket without first informing the person of the location of the
100.27	place of entertainment and the ticket's assigned seat, including but not limited to the seat
100.28	number, row, and section number of the seat;
100.29	(4) sell or offer to sell a ticket for which there is no assigned seat without first informing
100.30	the person of the general admission area to which the ticket corresponds; or
100.31	(5) advertise, offer for sale, or contract for the sale of a ticket before the ticket has been
100.32	made available to the public, including via presale, without first obtaining permission from

101.1	the place of entertainment, and having actual or constructive possession of such ticket,
101.2	unless the ticket reseller owns the ticket pursuant to a season ticket package purchased by
101.3	the ticket reseller.
101.4	(b) A person must not use or cause to be used an Internet domain name or subdomain
101.5	thereof in an operator, ticket reseller, or online ticket marketplace website's URL that contains
101.6	any of the following, unless acting on behalf of the place of entertainment, event, or person
101.7	scheduled to perform or appear at the event:
101.8	(1) the name of a place of entertainment;
101.9	(2) the name of an event, including the name of a person scheduled to perform or appear
101.10	at the event; or
101.11	(3) a name substantially similar to those described in clause (1) or (2).
101.12	(c) A person must not:
101.13	(1) circumvent any portion of the process for purchasing a ticket on the Internet or for
101.14	admission to a place of entertainment, including but not limited to security or identity
101.15	validation measures or an access control system; or
101.16	(2) disguise the identity of a purchaser for the purpose of purchasing a number of tickets
101.17	for admission to a place of entertainment that exceeds the maximum number of tickets
101.18	allowed for purchase by a person.
101.19	(d) A person must not sell a ticket obtained in violation of paragraph (c) if the person:
101.20	(1) participated in or had the ability to control the conduct committed in violation of
101.21	paragraph (c); or
101.22	(2) knew that the ticket was acquired in violation of paragraph (c).
101.23	(e) An operator, online ticket marketplace, or ticket reseller must not sell a ticket unless:
101.24	(1) the ticket is in the possession or constructive possession of the operator, online ticket
101.25	marketplace, or ticket reseller; or
101.26	(2) the operator, online ticket marketplace, or ticket reseller has a written contract with
101.27	the place of entertainment to obtain the ticket.
101.28	(f) Pursuant to United States Code, title 15, section 45c, circumvention of a security
101.29	measure, access control system, or other technological control measure used by an online
101.30	ticket marketplace to enforce posted event ticket purchasing limits or to maintain the integrity
101.31	of posted online ticket purchasing order rules is prohibited.

102.1	Subd. 4. Commissioner data requests; data practices. (a) Upon request by the
102.2	commissioner, an online ticket marketplace must disclose to the commissioner information
102.3	about technology and methods used in an alleged violation of subdivision 3, paragraph (f).
102.4	Data collected or maintained by the commissioner under this subdivision are civil
102.5	investigative data under section 13.39, and the commissioner may share with the attorney
102.6	general any not public data, as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 8a, received under this
102.7	subdivision.
102.8	(b) The commissioner may enforce this section under section 45.027.
102.9	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025, and applies to tickets
102.10	sold on or after that date.
102.11	Sec. 37. [325F.782] DEFINITIONS.
102.12	Subdivision 1. Scope. For purposes of sections 325F.782 to 325F.7822, the following
102.13	terms have the meanings given.
102.14	Subd. 2. Minor. "Minor" means an individual who is younger than 21 years of age.
102.15	Subd. 3. Vapor product. "Vapor product" means a noncombustible product that employs
102.16	a heating element, power source, electronic circuit, or other electronic, chemical, or
102.17	mechanical means, regardless of shape or size, that can be used to produce vapor from
102.18	nicotine or any other substance, and the use or inhalation of which simulates smoking. Vapor
102.19	product includes an electronic cigarette, electronic cigar, electronic cigarillo, electronic
102.20	pipe, or similar product or device. Vapor product also includes a vapor cartridge or other
102.21	container of nicotine or other substance in a solution or other form that is intended to be
102.22	used with or in an electronic cigarette, electronic cigar, electronic cigarillo, electronic pipe,
102.23	or similar product or device.
102.24	Sec. 38. [325F.7821] PROHIBITION ON DECEPTIVE VAPOR PRODUCTS.
102.25	A person or entity must not market, promote, label, brand, advertise, distribute, offer
102.26	for sale, or sell a vapor product by:
102.27	(1) imitating a product that is not a vapor product, including but not limited to:
102.28	(i) a food or brand of food commonly marketed to minors, including but not limited to
102.29	candy, desserts, and beverages;
102.30	(ii) school supplies commonly used by minors, including but not limited to erasers,

102.31 highlighters, pens, and pencils; and

- 103.1 (iii) a product based on or depicting a character, personality, or symbol known to appeal
- 103.2 to minors, including but not limited to a celebrity; a character in a comic book, movie,
- 103.3 <u>television show, or video game; and a mythical creature;</u>
- 103.4 (2) attempting to conceal the nature of the vapor product from parents, teachers, or other
 103.5 adults; or
- 103.6 (3) using terms for, describing, or depicting any product described in clause (1).

103.7 Sec. 39. [325F.812] CELLULAR TELEPHONE CASES.

103.8 Subdivision 1. Certain cellular telephone cases; prohibition. A person is prohibited

103.9 from purchasing, possessing, importing, manufacturing, selling, holding for sale, or

103.10 distributing a cellular telephone case, stand, or cover that is a facsimile of or reasonably

103.11 appears to be a firearm, including but not limited to a pistol or revolver.

103.12 Subd. 2. Enforcement. This section may be enforced by the attorney general under

103.13 section 8.31, but a court may not impose a civil penalty of more than \$500 for a violation

- 103.14 of this section.
- 103.15 Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 325G.24, is amended to read:

103.16 **325G.24 RIGHT OF CANCELLATION.**

<u>Subdivision 1.</u> <u>Right of cancellation. (a)</u> Any person who has elected to become a
member of a club may <u>unilaterally</u> cancel such membership, in the person's exclusive
<u>discretion</u>, by giving written notice of cancellation <u>at</u> any time before midnight of the third
business day following the date on which membership was attained. Notice of cancellation
may be given personally or by mail.

(b) If given by mail, the notice is effective upon deposit in a mailbox, properly addressed
 and postage prepaid. Notice of cancellation need not take a particular form and is sufficient
 if it indicates, by any form of written expression, the intention of the member not to be
 bound by the contract.

103.26 (c) Cancellation <u>under this subdivision</u> shall be without liability on the part of the member 103.27 and the member shall be entitled to a refund, within ten days after notice of cancellation is 103.28 given, of the entire consideration paid for the contract. Rights of cancellation may not be 103.29 waived or otherwise surrendered.

LB

Subd. 2. Right of member unilateral termination. (a) Any person who has elected to 104.1 become a member of a club may unilaterally terminate such membership, in the person's 104.2 104.3 exclusive discretion, by giving notice of termination at any time. (b) If given by mail, the notice is effective upon deposit in a mailbox, properly addressed, 104.4 104.5 and postage prepaid. 104.6 (c) A club must not impose a termination fee or any other liability on the member for termination under this subdivision. 104.7 104.8 (d) Termination under this subdivision will be effective at the end of the membership term in which the member provides the notice of termination. If membership is at-will 104.9 without a defined membership term, then termination under this subdivision will be effective 104.10 immediately, unless the member indicates a future effective date of termination, in which 104.11 event the date indicated by the member will be the effective date of termination. 104.12 (e) If a member provides notice of termination at any time before midnight of the third 104.13 business day following the date on which membership was attained, the club must treat the 104.14 notice as a notice of cancellation under subdivision 1, unless the member specifically 104.15 provides for a future termination effective date. 104.16 Subd. 3. Notice requirements. (a) A club must accept a notice of cancellation or notice 104.17 of termination that has been given: 104.18 (1) verbally, including but not limited to personally or over the phone to customer or 104.19 account service members; 104.20 (2) in writing, including but not limited to via mail, email, or an online message through 104.21 the club's website directed to customer or account service members; 104.22 (3) through a termination election as described in section 325G.60; or 104.23 (4) in any other manner or medium by which the member initially accepted membership 104.24 to the club and that is no more burdensome to the member than was the initial acceptance. 104.25 (b) The process to cancel must be stated clearly and be easily accessible and completed 104.26 with ease. 104.27 Subd. 4. No waiver. A right of cancellation or right of termination under this section 104.28 may not be waived or otherwise surrendered. 104.29

105.1 Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 325G.25, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

105.2 Subdivision 1. Form and content. A copy of every contract shall be delivered to the 105.3 member at the time the contract is signed. Every contract must be in writing, must be signed 105.4 by the member, must designate the date on which the member signed the contract and must 105.5 state, clearly and conspicuously in boldface type of a minimum size of 14 points, the 105.6 following:

105.7

"MEMBERS' RIGHT TO CANCEL"

105.8 "If you wish to cancel this contract, you may cancel in-person, over the phone, by delivering or mailing a written notice to the club, via email or an online message through 105.9 the club's website, through the "termination election" provided on the club's website (if 105.10 applicable) and as described in Minnesota Statutes, section 325G.60, or in any other manner 105.11 or medium by which you initially accepted membership to the club. The notice must be 105.12 provided to the club say that you do not wish to be bound by the contract and must be 105.13 delivered or mailed before midnight of the third business day after you sign this contract. 105.14 The notice must be delivered or mailed to: (Insert name and mailing address of club). If 105.15 you cancel, the club will return, within ten days of the date on which you give notice of 105.16 cancellation, any payments you have made." 105.17

105.18 "MEMBERS' RIGHT TO UNILATERAL TERMINATION"

"You may unilaterally terminate this contract in your exclusive discretion at any time. 105.19 If you terminate, your membership will terminate at the end of the membership term in 105.20 which you provided the club with notice of termination. If your membership is at-will 105.21 without a defined membership term, then your membership will terminate immediately, 105.22 unless you indicate a future effective date of termination. If you wish to terminate this 105.23 contract, you may terminate in-person, over the phone, by delivering or mailing a written 105.24 notice to the club, via email or an online message through the club's website, through the 105.25 "termination election" provided on the club's website (if applicable) and as described in 105.26 Minnesota Statutes, section 325G.60, or in any other manner or medium by which you 105.27 105.28 initially accepted membership to the club. The club may not impose a termination fee or any other liability on you for termination." 105.29 "NOTICE INFORMATION" 105.30

^{105.31} "If you wish to provide notice of cancellation or notice of termination to the club:

105.32 In-person or by mail, the applicable address is: [Insert name and mailing address of105.33 club];

	03/25/24	SENATEE	LB	SS4097R	
106.1	Over the phone, the applicable phone number is: [Insert phone number of club];				
106.2	Via email, the applicable email add	ress is: [Insert ema	il address of club];		
106.3	On the club's website, the applicabl	e website address i	s: [Insert address, if ap	plicable]."	
106.4	Sec. 42. [325G.38] HANDHELD E	LECTRONIC DE	<u>VICES; DISCLOSU</u>	RES.	
106.5	If a retail establishment offers cons	umers the use of ha	andheld electronic dev	vices that	
106.6	require payment for games or other en	tertainment, the ha	ndheld electronic devi	ce must	
106.7	display a disclosure. The disclosure m	ust be provided to t	he consumer before a	game or	
106.8	entertainment is purchased and must:				
106.9	(1) require the user to affirm that the the user to affirm that the the user to be the the transformed to t	e user is 18 years o	of age or older; and		
106.10	(2) include, in at least ten-point font	and larger than all	other type viewable or	the screen	
106.11	at that time, the payment amount requi	red.			
106.12	Sec. 43. [325G.56] DEFINITIONS.				
106.13	Subdivision 1. Scope. For purposes	s of sections 325G.	56 to 325G.62, the ter	ms defined	
106.14	in this section have the meanings given				
106.15	Subd. 2. Automatic renewal. "Aut	omatic renewal" m	eans a plan or arrange	ement in	
106.16	which a subscription or purchasing ag	reement is automati	ically renewed at the e	end of a	
106.17	definite term for a subsequent term.				
106.18	Subd. 3. Clear and conspicuous.	Clear and conspice	ious" means in larger	type than	
106.19	the surrounding text, or in contrasting t	ype, font, or color to	o the surrounding text	of the same	
106.20	size, or set off from the surrounding te	xt of the same size	by symbols or other r	narks, in a	
106.21	manner that calls attention to the langu	age. In the case of	an audio disclosure, "	clear and	
106.22	conspicuous" means in a volume and c	adence sufficient to	o be readily audible ar	nd	
106.23	understandable.				
106.24	Subd. 4. Consumer. "Consumer" n	neans any individua	al who seeks or acquir	es, by	
106.25	purchase or lease, any goods, services,	money, or credit for	or personal, family, or	household	
106.26	purposes. Consumer includes, but is no	t limited to, a memb	per as defined in sectio	n 325G.23,	
106.27	unless the context clearly indicates oth	erwise.			
106.28	Subd. 5. Continuous service. "Con	ntinuous service" m	eans a plan or arrange	ement in	
106.29	which a subscription or purchasing agr	eement continues u	until the consumer terr	minates the	
106.30	agreement.				

107.1	Subd. 6. Indefinite subscription agreement. "Indefinite subscription agreement" means
107.2	a subscription or purchasing agreement:
107.3	(1) between a seller and a consumer in the state; and
107.4	(2) subject to automatic renewal or continuous service.
107.5	Indefinite subscription agreements include but are not limited to contracts, as defined in
107.6	section 325G.23, subject to automatic renewal or continuous service.
107.7	Subd. 7. Offer terms. "Offer terms" means the following disclosures:
107.8	(1) that the indefinite subscription agreement will continue until the consumer terminates
107.9	the agreement;
107.10	(2) the description of the cancellation policy that applies to the indefinite subscription
107.11	agreement;
107.12	(3) the recurring charges that will be charged to the consumer's credit or debit card or
107.13	payment account with a third party as part of the plan or arrangement and that the amount
107.14	of the charge may change, if that is the case, and the amount to which the charge will change,
107.15	<u>if known;</u>
107.16	(4) the length of the automatic renewal term or that the service is continuous, unless the
107.17	length of the term is definite and chosen by the consumer; and

- 107.18 (5) the minimum purchase obligation, if any.
- 107.19 Subd. 8. Seller. "Seller" means a seller, lessor, licensor, or professional who advertises,
- 107.20 solicits, or engages in consumer transactions, or a manufacturer, distributor, or licensor who
- 107.21 advertises and sells, leases, or licenses goods or services to be resold, leased, or sublicensed
- 107.22 by other persons in consumer transactions. Seller includes, but is not limited to, a club as
- 107.23 defined in section 325G.23, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.

107.24 Sec. 44. [325G.57] REQUIREMENTS FOR AUTOMATIC RENEWAL OR

107.25 **CONTINUOUS SERVICE.**

- 107.26 Subdivision 1. Notices upon offer. A seller making an offer for an indefinite subscription
- 107.27 agreement must, before the consumer accepts the offer, present the offer terms in a clear
- and conspicuous manner to the consumer and in visual proximity, or in the case of an offer
- 107.29 conveyed by voice, in temporal proximity, to the offer's proposal.
- 107.30 Subd. 2. Confirmation upon consumer consent. A seller making an offer for an
- 107.31 indefinite subscription agreement must, in a timely manner after the consumer accepts the

108.1	offer, provide the consumer with confirmation of the consumer's acceptance of the offer,
108.2	in a manner that is capable of being retained by the consumer, that includes the following:
108.3	(1) the offer terms;
108.4	(2) if the offer includes a free trial, information on how to cancel the free trial before
108.5	the consumer pays or becomes obligated to pay for any goods or services in connection
108.6	with the free trial; and
108.7	(3) options for termination of the indefinite subscription agreement, which options must
108.8	be easy to use, cost-effective, and timely for all consumers:
108.9	(i) if a seller makes offers for an indefinite subscription agreement through an online
108.10	website, a termination election as set forth in section 325G.60; and
108.11	(ii) if a consumer enters into the indefinite subscription agreement through any means
108.12	other than a toll-free telephone number, an electronic mail address, or a postal address, then
108.13	an option substantially similar to, as easy to use, and as accessible as the initial means of
108.14	consumer acceptance of the agreement.
108.15	A communication of the required information through electronic mail is sufficient to meet
108.16	the requirements of this subdivision.
108.17	Subd. 3. Material changes. Upon a material change in the terms of the indefinite
108.17 108.18	Subd. 3. Material changes. Upon a material change in the terms of the indefinite subscription agreement, the seller must provide to the consumer in a timely manner, and in
108.18	subscription agreement, the seller must provide to the consumer in a timely manner, and in
108.18 108.19	subscription agreement, the seller must provide to the consumer in a timely manner, and in any case prior to the implementation of the material change, a clear and conspicuous notice
108.18 108.19 108.20	subscription agreement, the seller must provide to the consumer in a timely manner, and in any case prior to the implementation of the material change, a clear and conspicuous notice of the material change and provide information regarding how to terminate the agreement
108.18 108.19 108.20 108.21	subscription agreement, the seller must provide to the consumer in a timely manner, and in any case prior to the implementation of the material change, a clear and conspicuous notice of the material change and provide information regarding how to terminate the agreement in a manner that is capable of being retained by the consumer. A material change in the
108.18 108.19 108.20 108.21 108.22	subscription agreement, the seller must provide to the consumer in a timely manner, and in any case prior to the implementation of the material change, a clear and conspicuous notice of the material change and provide information regarding how to terminate the agreement in a manner that is capable of being retained by the consumer. A material change in the terms of an indefinite subscription agreement in violation of this subdivision is void and
108.18 108.19 108.20 108.21 108.22 108.23	subscription agreement, the seller must provide to the consumer in a timely manner, and in any case prior to the implementation of the material change, a clear and conspicuous notice of the material change and provide information regarding how to terminate the agreement in a manner that is capable of being retained by the consumer. A material change in the terms of an indefinite subscription agreement in violation of this subdivision is void and unenforceable.
108.18 108.19 108.20 108.21 108.22 108.23 108.24	subscription agreement, the seller must provide to the consumer in a timely manner, and in any case prior to the implementation of the material change, a clear and conspicuous notice of the material change and provide information regarding how to terminate the agreement in a manner that is capable of being retained by the consumer. A material change in the terms of an indefinite subscription agreement in violation of this subdivision is void and <u>unenforceable</u> . <u>Subd. 4. Free trials.</u> A seller making an offer for an indefinite subscription agreement
108.18 108.19 108.20 108.21 108.22 108.23 108.24 108.25	subscription agreement, the seller must provide to the consumer in a timely manner, and in any case prior to the implementation of the material change, a clear and conspicuous notice of the material change and provide information regarding how to terminate the agreement in a manner that is capable of being retained by the consumer. A material change in the terms of an indefinite subscription agreement in violation of this subdivision is void and unenforceable. Subd. 4. Free trials. A seller making an offer for an indefinite subscription agreement that includes a free trial lasting more than 30 days must, no fewer than five days and no
108.18 108.19 108.20 108.21 108.22 108.23 108.24 108.25 108.26	subscription agreement, the seller must provide to the consumer in a timely manner, and in any case prior to the implementation of the material change, a clear and conspicuous notice of the material change and provide information regarding how to terminate the agreement in a manner that is capable of being retained by the consumer. A material change in the terms of an indefinite subscription agreement in violation of this subdivision is void and unenforceable. Subd. 4. Free trials. A seller making an offer for an indefinite subscription agreement that includes a free trial lasting more than 30 days must, no fewer than five days and no more than 30 days before the end of any such free trial, notify the consumer of the consumer's
108.18 108.19 108.20 108.21 108.22 108.23 108.24 108.25 108.26 108.27	subscription agreement, the seller must provide to the consumer in a timely manner, and in any case prior to the implementation of the material change, a clear and conspicuous notice of the material change and provide information regarding how to terminate the agreement in a manner that is capable of being retained by the consumer. A material change in the terms of an indefinite subscription agreement in violation of this subdivision is void and <u>unenforceable</u> . <u>Subd. 4. Free trials.</u> A seller making an offer for an indefinite subscription agreement that includes a free trial lasting more than 30 days must, no fewer than five days and no more than 30 days before the end of any such free trial, notify the consumer of the consumer's option to cancel the free trial before the end of the trial period to avoid an obligation to pay
108.18 108.19 108.20 108.21 108.22 108.23 108.24 108.25 108.26 108.27 108.28	subscription agreement, the seller must provide to the consumer in a timely manner, and in any case prior to the implementation of the material change, a clear and conspicuous notice of the material change and provide information regarding how to terminate the agreement in a manner that is capable of being retained by the consumer. A material change in the terms of an indefinite subscription agreement in violation of this subdivision is void and unenforceable. Subd. 4. Free trials. A seller making an offer for an indefinite subscription agreement that includes a free trial lasting more than 30 days must, no fewer than five days and no more than 30 days before the end of any such free trial, notify the consumer of the consumer's option to cancel the free trial before the end of the trial period to avoid an obligation to pay for the goods or services.
108.18 108.19 108.20 108.21 108.22 108.23 108.24 108.25 108.26 108.27 108.28 108.29	subscription agreement, the seller must provide to the consumer in a timely manner, and in any case prior to the implementation of the material change, a clear and conspicuous notice of the material change and provide information regarding how to terminate the agreement in a manner that is capable of being retained by the consumer. A material change in the terms of an indefinite subscription agreement in violation of this subdivision is void and unenforceable. Subd. 4. Free trials. A seller making an offer for an indefinite subscription agreement that includes a free trial lasting more than 30 days must, no fewer than five days and no more than 30 days before the end of any such free trial, notify the consumer of the consumer's option to cancel the free trial before the end of the trial period to avoid an obligation to pay for the goods or services. Subd. 5. Periodic notice of continuous service. (a) If an indefinite subscription
108.18 108.19 108.20 108.21 108.22 108.23 108.24 108.25 108.26 108.27 108.28 108.29 108.30	subscription agreement, the seller must provide to the consumer in a timely manner, and in any case prior to the implementation of the material change, a clear and conspicuous notice of the material change and provide information regarding how to terminate the agreement in a manner that is capable of being retained by the consumer. A material change in the terms of an indefinite subscription agreement in violation of this subdivision is void and unenforceable. Subd. 4. Free trials. A seller making an offer for an indefinite subscription agreement that includes a free trial lasting more than 30 days must, no fewer than five days and no more than 30 days before the end of any such free trial, notify the consumer of the consumer's option to cancel the free trial before the end of the trial period to avoid an obligation to pay for the goods or services. Subd. 5. Periodic notice of continuous service. (a) If an indefinite subscription agreement is subject to continuous service, the seller must give the consumer written notice

109.1	Sec. 45. [325G.58] PROHIBITED CONDUCT.
109.2	Subdivision 1. Definition; agreement. For purposes of this section, "agreement" means
109.3	an indefinite subscription agreement, as defined in section 325G.56, and a contract, as
109.4	defined in section 325G.23.
109.5	Subd. 2. Charges prior to effective date. A seller must not charge the consumer's credit
109.6	or debit card or the consumer's account with a third party in connection with an agreement
109.7	before the agreement has been duly authorized by the seller and consumer and made effective.
109.8	Subd. 3. Right of first refusal. An agreement must not require the consumer to permit
109.9	the seller to match any offer the consumer has received. A provision in an agreement that
109.10	violates this subdivision is void and unenforceable.
109.11	Subd. 4. No abusive tactics or offers upon notice. (a) A seller that has received a notice
109.12	of cancellation or notice of termination of an agreement from a consumer cannot:
109.13	(1) make any misrepresentation or undertake any unfair or abusive tactic to delay,
109.14	unreasonably delay, or avoid the cancellation or termination of the agreement; or
109.15	(2) make or provide additional benefits, contract modifications, gifts, or similar offers
109.16	to the consumer until the seller has obtained permission from the consumer, granted by the
109.17	consumer after notice of cancellation or termination was given to the seller, for the seller
109.18	to engage in any such activity.
109.19	(b) A seller can only seek a consumer's permission under this paragraph once per
109.20	cancellation or termination attempt. A consumer's grant of permission under this paragraph
109.21	is limited to the immediate cancellation or termination attempt and does not apply to
109.22	subsequent attempts.
109.23	Subd. 5. Exceptions. This section does not prohibit a seller from:
109.24	(1) asking the consumer the reasons for cancellation or termination, provided that a
109.25	consumer is not required to answer as a condition of cancellation or termination;
109.26	(2) informing the consumer that there may be consequences of cancelling or terminating
109.27	the subscription; or
109.28	(3) verifying the identity of the consumer.
109.29	Sec. 46. [325G.59] CONSUMER'S RIGHT TO TERMINATE.
109.30	Subdivision 1. Termination of agreement subject to automatic renewal. A consumer
109.31	may terminate an indefinite subscription agreement subject to automatic renewal at any

03/25/24

LB

time by following the procedure set forth in the confirmation described in section 325G.57, 110.1 subdivision 2. A termination under this subdivision is effective at the end of the term in 110.2 110.3 which notice of termination is provided by the consumer, unless the consumer specifies a termination date occurring at the end of a subsequent term, in which event the termination 110.4 is effective as of the date specified by the consumer, if the option is available. 110.5 110.6 Subd. 2. Termination of agreement subject to continuous service. (a) A consumer may terminate an indefinite subscription agreement subject to continuous service at any 110.7 110.8 time by following the procedure set forth in the confirmation described in section 325G.57, subdivision 2. A termination under this subdivision must take effect no later than 31 days 110.9 from the date of a verified consumer's notice of termination unless the consumer specifies 110.10 a future termination date, in which event the termination is effective as of such date. 110.11 (b) This subdivision does not require a seller to provide an option to set a future 110.12 termination date. 110.13 Subd. 3. Termination in absence of confirmation or notice. If the seller fails to provide 110.14 either the confirmation required under section 325G.57, subdivision 2, or a notice required 110.15 by section 325G.57, subdivision 5, the consumer may terminate the indefinite subscription 110.16 agreement by any reasonable means at any time, including but not limited to by mail, 110.17 110.18 electronic mail, telephone, an online option, a termination election under section 325G.60, or the means by which the consumer entered into the agreement, at no cost to the consumer. 110.19 Sec. 47. [325G.60] TERMINATION ELECTION REQUIREMENT. 110.20 110.21 Subdivision 1. Definition; agreement. For purposes of this section, "agreement" means an indefinite subscription agreement, as defined in section 325G.56, and a contract, as 110.22 110.23 defined in section 325G.23. 110.24 Subd. 2. Termination election required. (a) If a seller has a website with profile or 110.25 subscription management capabilities, then such website must include a termination election on the website. The termination election must be clear and conspicuous on the website and 110.26 must use plain language to convey that any consumer may use the termination election to 110.27 terminate the agreement at any time. The termination election must only require a consumer 110.28 110.29 to input information that is necessary to process the termination. The termination election 110.30 must include a checkbox, submission button, or similarly common and simple mechanism for the member to indicate a desire to terminate the agreement. 110.31

	03/25/24	SENATEE	LB	SS4097R
111.1	(b) For purposes of this section,	'termination election	" means a simple an	d easily
111.2	accessible means for a consumer to c			
111.3	include undue complexity, confusion	n, or misrepresentatio	on by the seller.	
111.4	Sec. 48. [325G.61] UNCONDITI	ONAL GIFTS.		
111.5	Any good, including but not limi	ted to any ware, mer	chandise, or product	t, is an
111.6	unconditional gift to the consumer if	a seller sends the goo	d under an indefinite	e subscription
111.7	agreement without first obtaining the	e consumer's affirmat	tive consent to the a	greement in
111.8	accordance with section 325G.57. T	he consumer may use	e or dispose of the g	ood in any
111.9	manner without any obligation to the	e seller, including but	t not limited to any o	obligation
111.10	relating to shipping of the good.			
111.11	Sec. 49. [325G.62] EXEMPTION	<u>.</u>		
111.12	Sections 325G.56 to 325G.61 do	not apply to:		
111.13	(1) contracts governed by anothe	r state or federal state	ute or regulation spe	ecifically
111.14	intended to regulate automatic renew	val or continuous serv	vice;	
111.15	(2) any licensee as defined in sec	tion 60A.985, subdiv	vision 8, and any aff	iliate of such
111.16	a licensee as defined in section 60D.	15, subdivision 2;		
111.17	(3) an individual or business lice	nsed by the Departm	ent of Labor and Inc	dustry as a
111.18	technology system contractor or pov	ver limited techniciar	as defined in section	on 326B.31;
111.19	(4) any service provided by a bus	siness or its affiliate v	where either the bus	iness or its
111.20	affiliate is licensed or regulated by the	he Public Utilities Co	mmission, the Fede	eral
111.21	Communications Commission, or th	e Federal Energy Reg	gulatory Commissio	on; or
111.22	(5) any person or entity registere	d or licensed with the	e Financial Industry	Regulatory
111.23	Authority, the Securities and Exchar	ige Commission, or u	under the Minnesota	Securities
111.24	Act.			
111.25	Sec. 50. [332.3352] WAIVER OF	LICENSING AND	REGISTRATION	<u>•</u>
111.26	The commissioner of commerce	may, by order, waive	the licensing and re	egistration
111.27	requirements of this chapter for a not	nresident collection a	gency and its affilia	ted collectors
111.28	if: (1) a written reciprocal licensing	agreement is in effec	t between the comm	nissioner and
111.29	the licensing officials of the collection	on agency's home sta	te; and (2) the collect	ction agency
111.30	is licensed in good standing in that s	tate.		

- Sec. 51. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 332.71, subdivision 2, is amendedto read:
- Subd. 2. Coerced debt. (a) "Coerced debt" means all or a portion of debt in a debtor's
 name that has been incurred as a result of:
- (1) the use of the debtor's personal information without the debtor's knowledge,
- 112.6 authorization, or consent;
- 112.7 (2) the use or threat of force, intimidation, undue influence, harassment, fraud, deception,
- 112.8 coercion, or other similar means against the debtor; or
- 112.9 (3) economic abuse perpetrated against the debtor.
- 112.10 (b) Coerced debt does not include secured debt.
- 112.11 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025.
- Sec. 52. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 332.71, subdivision 4, is amendedto read:
- 112.14 Subd. 4. **Debtor.** "Debtor" means a person who (1) is a victim of domestic abuse,
- 112.15 harassment economic abuse, or sex or labor trafficking, and (2) owes coerced debt.
- 112.16 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025.
- Sec. 53. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 332.71, subdivision 5, is amendedto read:
- Subd. 5. Documentation. "Documentation" means a writing that identifies a debt or a
 portion of a debt as coerced debt, describes the circumstances under which the coerced debt
- 112.21 was incurred, and takes the form of:
- 112.22 (1) a police report;
- 112.23 (2) a Federal Trade Commission identity theft report;
- (3) an order in a dissolution proceeding under chapter 518 that declares that one or moredebts are coerced; or
- 112.26 (4) a sworn written certification.
- 112.27 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025.

Sec. 54. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 332.71, subdivision 7, is amendedto read:

Subd. 7. Economic abuse. "Economic abuse" means behavior in the context of a domestic
relationship that controls, restrains, restricts, impairs, or interferes with the ability of a vietim
of domestic abuse, harassment, or sex or labor trafficking debtor to acquire, use, or maintain
economic resources, including but not limited to:

(1) withholding or restricting access to, or the acquisition of, money, assets, credit, orfinancial information;

(2) interfering with the victim's ability to work and earn wages; or

113.10 (3) exerting undue influence over a person's financial and economic behavior or decisions.

113.11 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025.

113.12 Sec. 55. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 332.72, is amended to read:

113.13 **332.72 COERCED DEBT PROHIBITED.**

(a) A person is prohibited from causing another person to incur coerced debt.

(b) A person who causes another person to incur a coerced debt in violation of this

113.16 section is civilly liable to the creditor for the amount of the debt, or portion thereof,

113.17 determined by a court to be coerced debt, plus the creditor's reasonable attorney fees and

113.18 costs, provided the creditor follows the procedures under section 332.74, subdivision 3,

113.19 paragraph (b).

113.20 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025.

Sec. 56. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 332.73, subdivision 1, is amendedto read:

113.23 Subdivision 1. Notification. (a) Before taking an affirmative action under section 332.74,

113.24 a debtor must, by certified mail, notify a creditor that the debt or a portion of a debt on

113.25 which the creditor demands payment is coerced debt and request that the creditor cease all

113.26 collection activity on the coerced debt. The notification and request must be in writing and

113.27 include documentation. If not already included in documentation, the notification must

113.28 include a signed statement that includes:

(1) an assertion that the debtor is a victim of domestic abuse, economic abuse, or sex or
 <u>labor trafficking;</u>

	03/25/24	SENATEE	LB	SS4097R
114.1	(2) a recitation of the facts supporting	g the claim that the deb	t is coerced; and	
114.2	(3) if only a portion of the debt is cla	imed to be coerced deb	t, an itemization of	of the

114.3 portion of the debt that is claimed to be coerced debt.

114.4 (b) The creditor, within 30 days of the date the notification and request is received, must 114.5 notify the debtor in writing of the creditor's decision to either immediately cease all collection 114.6 activity or continue to pursue collection. If a creditor ceases collection but subsequently 114.7 decides to resume collection activity, the creditor must notify the debtor ten days prior to

- 114.8 <u>the date the collection activity resumes.</u>
- (b) If a creditor ceases collection but subsequently decides to resume collection activity,
 the creditor must notify the debtor ten days prior to the date the collection activity resumes.

114.11 (c) A debtor must not proceed with an action under section 332.74 until the 30-day

114.12 period provided under paragraph (a) has expired.

114.13 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025.

Sec. 57. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 332.74, subdivision 3, is amendedto read:

Subd. 3. **Relief.** (a) If a debtor shows by a preponderance of the evidence that the debtor has been aggrieved by a violation of section 332.72 and the debtor has incurred coerced debt, the debtor is entitled to one or more of the following:

114.19 (1) a declaratory judgment that the debt or portion of a debt is coerced debt;

(2) an injunction prohibiting the creditor from (i) holding or attempting to hold the debtor
liable for the debt or portion of a debt, or (ii) enforcing a judgment related to the coerced
debt; and

(3) an order dismissing any cause of action brought by the creditor to enforce or collect
the coerced debt from the debtor or, if only a portion of the debt is established as coerced
debt, an order directing that the judgment, if any, in the action be amended to reflect only
the portion of the debt that is not coerced debt.

(b) If the court orders relief for the debtor under paragraph (a), the court, after the
creditor's motion has been <u>personally</u> served <u>on the person who violated section 332.72</u>, or
<u>if personal service cannot be made, after service</u> by United States mail to the last known
address of the person who violated section 332.72 <u>and one-week published notice under</u>
<u>section 645.11</u>, shall must issue a judgment in favor of the creditor against the person in
the amount of the debt or a portion thereof.

03/25/24

LB

115.1 (c) This subdivision applies regardless of the judicial district in which the creditor's

115.2 action or the debtor's petition was filed.

115.3 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025.

Sec. 58. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 332.74, subdivision 5, is amended
to read:

115.6 Subd. 5. **Burden.** In any affirmative action taken under subdivision 1 or any affirmative

115.7 defense asserted in subdivision 4, the debtor bears the burden to show by a preponderance

of the evidence that the debtor incurred coerced debt. There is a presumption that the debtor

115.9 has incurred coerced debt if the person alleged to have caused the debtor to incur the coerced

115.10 debt has been criminally convicted, entered a guilty plea, or entered an Alford plea under

of or received a stay of adjudication for a violation of section 609.27, 609.282, 609.322, or
609.527.

115.13 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025.

115.14 Sec. 59. [513.80] RESIDENTIAL REAL ESTATE SERVICE AGREEMENTS; 115.15 UNFAIR SERVICE AGREEMENTS.

115.16 <u>Subdivision 1.</u> <u>Definitions.</u> (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have
115.17 the meanings given.

(b) "County recorder" has the meaning given in section 13.045, subdivision 1.

115.19 (c) "Person" means natural persons, corporations both foreign and domestic, trusts,

115.20 partnerships both limited and general, incorporated or unincorporated associations,

115.21 companies, business entities, and any other legal entity or any other group associated in fact

115.22 although not a legal entity or any agent, assignee, heir, employee, representative, or servant

115.23 <u>thereof.</u>

(d) "Record" or "recording" means placement of a document or instrument in the official county public land records.

- (e) "Residential real property" means real property that is located in Minnesota occupied,
 or intended to be occupied, by one to four families as their residence.
- 115.28 (f) "Service agreement" means a contract under which a person agrees to provide real

115.29 estate broker services as defined in section 82.55, subdivision 19, in connection with the

115.30 purchase or sale of residential real property.

	03/25/24	SENATEE	LB	SS4097R
116.1	(g) "Service provider" means an indi	vidual or entity	that provides service	s to a person
116.2	pursuant to a service agreement.			
116.3	Subd. 2. Unfair service agreements	s; prohibition. (a) A service agreeme	ent subject to
116.4	this section is unfair and prohibited if an	y part of the agr	eement provides an e	xclusive right
116.5	to a service provider for a term in exces	s of one year aft	er the time the servic	e agreement
116.6	is entered into and:			
116.7	(1) purports to run with the land or to	be binding on f	uture owners of intere	ests in the real
116.8	property;			
116.9	(2) allows for assignment of the righ	t to provide serv	vice without notice to	and consent
116.10	of the residential real property's owner,	including a cont	ract for deed vendee;	<u>'</u>
116.11	(3) is recorded or purports to create a	ı lien, encumbra	nce, or other real pro	perty security
116.12	interest; or			
116.13	(4) contains a provision that purports	s to automaticall	y renew the agreeme	nt upon its
116.14	expiration.			
116.15	(b) The following are not unfair serv	vice agreements	under this section:	
116.16	(1) a home warranty or similar produ	ct that covers the	e cost of maintaining	a major home
116.17	system or appliance for a fixed period;			
116.18	(2) an insurance contract;			
116.19	(3) a mortgage loan or a commitmen	t to make or rec	eive a mortgage loan	<u>2</u>
116.20	(4) an option or right of refusal to pu	rchase a resider	tial real property;	
116.21	(5) a declaration of any covenants, c	onditions, or res	trictions created in th	ne formation
116.22	of a homeowners association, a group of	f condominium	owners, or other com	mon interest
116.23	community or an amendment to the cov	enants, condition	ns, or restrictions;	
116.24	(6) a maintenance or service agreem	ent entered by a	homeowners associa	tion in a
116.25	common interest community;			
116.26	(7) a security agreement governed by	y chapter 336 th	at relates to the sale of	or rental of
116.27	personal property or fixtures; or			
116.28	(8) a contract with a gas, water, sewe	er, electric, telep	hone, cable, or other	utility service
116.29	provider.			
116.30	(c) This section does not impair any	lien right grante	ed under Minnesota la	w or that is
116.31	judicially imposed.			

117.1	Subd. 3. Recording prohibited. (a) A person is prohibited from:
117.2	(1) presenting or sending an unfair service agreement or notice or memorandum of an
117.3	unfair service agreement to any county recorder to record; or
117.4	(2) causing an unfair service agreement or notice or memorandum of an unfair service
117.5	agreement to be recorded by a county recorder.
117.6	(b) If a county recorder records an unfair service agreement, the county recorder does
117.7	not incur liability.
117.8	(c) If an unfair service agreement is recorded, the recording does not create a lien or
117.9	provide constructive notice to any third party, bona fide purchaser, or creditor.
117.10	Subd. 4. Unfair service agreements unenforceable. A service agreement that is unfair
117.11	under this section is unenforceable and does not create a contractual obligation or relationship.
117.12	Any waiver of a consumer right, including a right to trial by jury, in an unfair service
117.13	agreement is void.
117.14	Subd. 5. Unfair service agreements; solicitation. Encouraging any consumer to enter
117.15	into an unfair service agreement by any service provider constitutes:
117.16	(1) an unfair method of competition; and
117.17	(2) an unfair or deceptive act or practice under section 82.81, subdivision 12, paragraph
117.18	(c), and section 325F.69.
117.19	Subd. 6. Enforcement authority. (a) This section may be enforced by the attorney
117.20	general under section 8.31, except that any private cause of action brought under subdivision
117.21	7 is subject to the limitation under subdivision 7, paragraph (d).
117.22	(b) The commissioner of commerce may enforce this section with respect to a service
117.23	provider's real estate license.
117.24	Subd. 7. Remedies. (a) A consumer that is party to an unfair service agreement related
117.25	to residential real property or a person with an interest in the property that is the subject of
117.26	that agreement may bring an action under section 8.31 or 325F.70 in district court in the
117.27	county where the property is located.
117.28	(b) If an unfair service agreement or a notice or memorandum of an unfair service
117.29	agreement is recorded against any residential real property, any judgment obtained under
117.30	this section, after being certified by the clerk having custody of the unfair service agreement
117.31	or notice or memorandum of the unfair service agreement, may be recorded and indexed
117.32	against the real property encumbered or clouded by the unfair service agreement.

	03/25/24	SENATEE	LB	SS4097R
118.1	(c) The remedies provided under	er this section are not e	xclusive and do no	ot reduce any
118.2	other rights or remedies a party ma	y have in equity or in l	aw.	
118.3	(d) No private action may be br	ought under this sectio	on more than six y	ears after the
118.4	date the term printed in the unfair s	service agreement expi	res.	
118.5	Sec. 60. REPEALER.			
118.6	Minnesota Statutes 2022, sectio	on 332.3351, is repealed	<u>d.</u>	
118.7	Sec. 61. REPEALER.			
118.8	Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supple	ement, section 332.71,	subdivision 8, is r	repealed.
118.9	EFFECTIVE DATE. This sec	tion is effective Januar	y 1, 2025.	
118.10	Sec. 62. <u>REPEALER.</u>			
118.11	Minnesota Statutes 2022, sectio	on 325G.25, subdivisio	n 1a, is repealed.	
118.12	Sec. 63. EFFECTIVE DATE.			
118.13	This act is effective August 1, 2	2024.		
118.14	Sec. 64. EFFECTIVE DATE.			
118.15	This act is effective August 1, 2	2025, and applies to con	ntracts entered inte	o, modified, or
118.16	renewed on or after that date.			
118.17		ARTICLE 4		
118.18		LIQUOR		
118.19	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 202	22, section 340A.101,	subdivision 13, is	amended to
118.20	read:			
118.21	Subd. 13. Hotel. "Hotel" is an e	establishment where fo	od and lodging are	e regularly
118.22	furnished to transients and which h	as:		
118.23	(1) a dining room serving the g	eneral public at tables a	and having faciliti	es for seating
118.24	at least 30 guests at one time; and o	<u>or</u>		
118.25	(2) guest rooms in the following	g minimum numbers: i	n first class cities,	50; in second

118.26 class cities, 25 15; in all other cities and unincorporated areas, 10.

119.1 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 340A.404, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Special provision; city of Minneapolis. (a) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale intoxicating liquor license to the Guthrie Theater, the Cricket Theatre, the Orpheum Theatre, the State Theatre, and the Historic Pantages Theatre, notwithstanding the limitations of law, or local ordinance, or charter provision relating to zoning or school or church distances. The licenses authorize sales on all days of the week to holders of tickets for performances presented by the theaters and to members of the nonprofit corporations holding the licenses and to their guests.

(b) The city of Minneapolis may issue an intoxicating liquor license to 510 Groveland
Associates, a Minnesota cooperative, for use by a restaurant on the premises owned by 510
Groveland Associates, notwithstanding limitations of law, or local ordinance, or charter
provision.

(c) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale intoxicating liquor license to Zuhrah
Shrine Temple for use on the premises owned by Zuhrah Shrine Temple at 2540 Park Avenue
South in Minneapolis, notwithstanding limitations of law, or local ordinances, or charter
provision relating to zoning or school or church distances.

(d) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale intoxicating liquor license to the
American Association of University Women, Minneapolis branch, for use on the premises
owned by the American Association of University Women, Minneapolis branch, at 2115
Stevens Avenue South in Minneapolis, notwithstanding limitations of law, or local
ordinances, or charter provisions relating to zoning or school or church distances.

(e) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale wine license and an on-sale 3.2 percent
malt liquor license to a restaurant located at 5000 Penn Avenue South, and an on-sale wine
license and an on-sale malt liquor license to a restaurant located at 1931 Nicollet Avenue
South, notwithstanding any law or local ordinance or charter provision.

(f) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale wine license and an on-sale malt liquor 119.26 license to the Brave New Workshop Theatre located at 3001 Hennepin Avenue South, the 119.27 Theatre de la Jeune Lune, the Illusion Theatre located at 528 Hennepin Avenue South, the 119.28 Hollywood Theatre located at 2815 Johnson Street Northeast, the Loring Playhouse located 119.29 at 1633 Hennepin Avenue South, the Jungle Theater located at 2951 Lyndale Avenue South, 119.30 Brave New Institute located at 2605 Hennepin Avenue South, the Guthrie Lab located at 119.31 700 North First Street, and the Southern Theatre located at 1420 Washington Avenue South, 119.32 notwithstanding any law or local ordinance or charter provision. The license authorizes 119.33 sales on all days of the week. 119.34

119

(g) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale intoxicating liquor license to University
Gateway Corporation, a Minnesota nonprofit corporation, for use by a restaurant or catering
operator at the building owned and operated by the University Gateway Corporation on the
University of Minnesota campus, notwithstanding limitations of law, or local ordinance or
charter provision. The license authorizes sales on all days of the week.

(h) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale intoxicating liquor license to the Walker
Art Center's concessionaire or operator, for a restaurant and catering operator on the premises
of the Walker Art Center, notwithstanding limitations of law, or local ordinance or charter
provisions. The license authorizes sales on all days of the week.

(i) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale intoxicating liquor license to the Guthrie
Theater's concessionaire or operator for a restaurant and catering operator on the premises
of the Guthrie Theater, notwithstanding limitations of law, local ordinance, or charter
provisions. The license authorizes sales on all days of the week.

(j) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale wine license and an on-sale malt liquor
license to the Minnesota Book and Literary Arts Building, Inc.'s concessionaire or operator
for a restaurant and catering operator on the premises of the Minnesota Book and Literary
Arts Building, Inc. (dba Open Book), notwithstanding limitations of law, or local ordinance
or charter provision. The license authorizes sales on all days of the week.

(k) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale intoxicating liquor license to a restaurant
located at 5411 Penn Avenue South, notwithstanding any law or local ordinance or charter
provision.

(1) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale intoxicating liquor license to the Museum
of Russian Art's concessionaire or operator for a restaurant and catering operator on the
premises of the Museum of Russian Art located at 5500 Stevens Avenue South,
notwithstanding any law or local ordinance or charter provision.

(m) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale intoxicating liquor license to the
American Swedish Institute or to its concessionaire or operator for use on the premises
owned by the American Swedish Institute at 2600 Park Avenue South, notwithstanding
limitations of law, or local ordinances, or charter provision relating to zoning or school or
church distances.

(n) Notwithstanding any other law, local ordinance, or charter provision, the city of
Minneapolis may issue one or more on-sale intoxicating liquor licenses to the Minneapolis
Society of Fine Arts (dba Minneapolis Institute of Arts), or to an entity holding a concessions
or catering contract with the Minneapolis Institute of Arts for use on the premises of the

120

Minneapolis Institute of Arts. The licenses authorized by this subdivision may be issued for space that is not compact and contiguous, provided that all such space is included in the description of the licensed premises on the approved license application. The licenses authorize sales on all days of the week.

(o) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale intoxicating liquor license to Norway
House or to its concessionaire or operator for use on the premises owned by Norway House
at 913 East Franklin Avenue, notwithstanding limitations of law, or local ordinances, or
charter provision relating to zoning or school or church distances.

(p) Notwithstanding any other law, including section 340A.504, subdivision 3, relating 121.9 121.10 to seating requirements, local ordinance, or charter provision, the city of Minneapolis may issue one or more on-sale intoxicating liquor licenses to any entity holding a concessions 121.11 or catering contract with the Minneapolis Park and Recreation Board for use on the 121.12 Minneapolis Park and Recreation Board premises of the Downtown Commons Park, the 121.13 Minneapolis Sculpture Garden, or at Boom Island Park. The licenses authorized by this 121.14 subdivision may be used for space specified within the park property, provided all such 121.15 space is included in the description of the licensed premises on the approved license 121.16 application. The licenses authorize sales on the dates on the approved license application. 121.17 121.18

121.18 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective upon approval by the Minneapolis City
 121.19 Council and compliance with Minnesota Statutes, section 645.021.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 340A.412, is amended by adding a subdivisionto read:

121.22 Subd. 12a. Transfers of wine. (a) Notwithstanding the provisions of subdivision 12,

121.23 <u>the holder of an off-sale intoxicating liquor license may transfer wine from one licensed</u>
121.24 premises to another provided that:

121.25 (1) the license for the transferring and receiving premises are held by the same licensee;

121.26 (2) the licensee notifies the wholesaler from whom the wine was purchased and the

121.27 Division of Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement of the Division of Public Safety, in writing,

121.28 at least three business days before the transfer is made, the specific product and quantity of

- 121.29 product being transferred;
- (3) only one transfer is made from a licensed premises in a three-month period; and
- 121.31 (4) each transfer of wine must not exceed 75 cases of wine. Each case is limited to 12
- 121.32 bottles of wine.

121

- (b) A licensee that is delinquent beyond the 30-day period in section 340A.318 is
- 122.2 prohibited from transferring wine under this subdivision.
- 122.3 (c) Transfers of wine must only occur within the state of Minnesota.
- 122.4 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2024.
- 122.5 Sec. 4. Laws 2022, chapter 86, article 2, section 3, is amended to read:

122.6 Sec. 3. CITY OF ST. PAUL; LICENSE AUTHORIZED.

Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 340A.412, subdivision 4, the city of St.
Paul may issue a temporary on-sale malt liquor license to the Thai Cultural Council of
Minnesota or to a person or entity holding a concessions contract with the Thai Cultural
<u>Council of Minnesota</u>. The license may authorize the sale of malt liquor on the grounds of
the State Capitol for both days of the Minnesota Songkran Festival. All provisions of
Minnesota Statutes, section 340A.404, subdivision 10, not inconsistent with this section,

122.13 apply to the license authorized by this section.

122.14 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective upon approval by the St. Paul City 122.15 Council and compliance with Minnesota Statutes, section 645.021.

122.16 Sec. 5. SPORTS AND EVENT CENTER LICENSE; EAGAN.

Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, chapter 340A, or any other local law or ordinance 122.17 to the contrary, the city of Eagan may issue up to three on-sale intoxicating liquor licenses 122.18 to the owner of a multiuse sports and event center located on property in the city of Eagan, 122.19 legally described as Outlot A, Viking Lakes 3rd Addition, or as may be described hereafter 122.20 due to subdivision or replatting, or to any facility operator, concessionaire, catering operator, 122.21 or other third-party food and beverage vendor for the center under contract with the owner. 122.22 A license issued under this section may be issued for a space that is not compact and 122.23 contiguous, provided that the licensed premises shall only be the space described in the 122.24 approved license. A license issued under this section authorizes sales on all days of the 122.25 week. The provisions of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 340A, not inconsistent with this section, 122.26 apply to a license issued under this section. 122.27

122.28 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective upon approval by the Eagan City Council 122.29 and compliance with Minnesota Statutes, section 645.021.

Sec. 6. SPECIAL LIQUOR LAW; CITY OF LITCHFIELD. 123.1

Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 624.701, the city of Litchfield may issue 123.2

an on-sale license under Minnesota Statutes, section 340A.404, subdivision 1, paragraph 123.3

(d), for sales at town ball games played at a ballpark on school grounds. 123.4

123.5 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 7. SPECIAL LIQUOR LAW; CITY OF WATKINS. 123.6

Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 624.701, the city of Watkins may issue an 123.7 on-sale license under Minnesota Statutes, section 340A.404, subdivision 1, paragraph (d), 123.8 for sales at town ball games played at a ballpark on school grounds, provided the board of 123.9 Independent School District No. 463, Eden Valley-Watkins, adopts a resolution approving 123.10 123.11 the issuance of the license. The provisions of Minnesota Statutes, section 624.701, do not

- apply to the school grounds or buildings for a license issued under this section. 123.12
- 123.13

123.24

ARTICLE 5 123.14 MEDICAL SUPPLEMENT IMPLEMENTATION DELAY

Section 1. Laws 2023, chapter 57, article 2, section 7, the effective date, is amended to 123.15 123.16 read:

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2025 2026, and applies to 123.17 policies offered, issued, or renewed on or after that date. 123.18

Sec. 2. Laws 2023, chapter 57, article 2, section 8, the effective date, is amended to read: 123.19

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2025 2026, and applies to 123.20 policies offered, issued, or renewed on or after that date. 123.21

Sec. 3. Laws 2023, chapter 57, article 2, section 9, the effective date, is amended to read: 123.22

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2025 2026, and applies to 123.23 policies offered, issued, or renewed on or after that date.

Sec. 4. Laws 2023, chapter 57, article 2, section 10, the effective date, is amended to read: 123.25

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2025 2026, and applies to 123.26 123.27 policies offered, issued, or renewed on or after that date.

124.1	Sec. 5. Laws 2023, chapter 57, article 2, section 11, the effective date, is amended to read:
124.2	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2025 2026, and applies to
124.3	policies offered, issued, or renewed on or after that date.
124.4	Sec. 6. Laws 2023, chapter 57, article 2, section 12, the effective date, is amended to read:
124.5	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2025 2026, and applies to
124.6	policies offered, issued, or renewed on or after that date.
124.7	Sec. 7. Laws 2023, chapter 57, article 2, section 13, the effective date, is amended to read:
124.8	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2025 2026, and applies to
124.9	policies offered, issued, or renewed on or after that date.
124.10	Sec. 8. Laws 2023, chapter 57, article 2, section 14, the effective date, is amended to read:
124.11	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2025 2026, and applies to
124.12	policies offered, issued, or renewed on or after that date.
124.13	Sec. 9. Laws 2023, chapter 57, article 2, section 15, the effective date, is amended to read:
124.14	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2025 2026, and applies to
124.15	policies offered, issued, or renewed on or after that date."
124.16	Delete the title and insert:
124.17	"A bill for an act
124.18	relating to commerce; adding and modifying various provisions related to insurance;
124.19 124.20	regulating financial institutions; modifying provisions governing financial institutions; providing for certain consumer protections and privacy; modifying
124.20	provisions governing commerce; making technical changes; establishing civil and
124.22	criminal penalties; authorizing administrative rulemaking; requiring reports;
124.23	amending Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 45.011, subdivision 1; 47.20,
124.24	subdivision 2; 47.54, subdivisions 2, 6; 48.24, subdivision 2; 58.02, subdivisions
124.25	18, 21, by adding a subdivision; 58.04, subdivisions 1, 2; 58.05, subdivisions 1,
124.26 124.27	3; 58.06, by adding subdivisions; 58.08, subdivisions 1a, 2; 58.10, subdivision 3; 58.115; 58.13, subdivision 1; 58B.02, subdivision 8, by adding a subdivision;
124.28	58B.03, by adding a subdivision; 58B.06, subdivisions 4, 5; 58B.07, subdivisions
124.29	1, 3, 9, by adding subdivisions; 58B.09, by adding a subdivision; 60A.201, by
124.30	adding a subdivision; 67A.01, subdivision 2; 67A.14, subdivision 1; 80A.61;
124.31	80A.66; 80C.05, subdivision 3; 82B.021, subdivision 26; 82B.094; 82B.095,
124.32	subdivision 3; 82B.13, subdivision 1; 82B.19, subdivision 1; 115C.08, subdivision
124.33 124.34	2; 239.791, by adding a subdivision; 325F.03; 325F.04; 325F.05; 325G.24; 325G.25, subdivision 1; 340A.101, subdivision 13; 340A.404, subdivision 2;
124.34	340A.412, by adding a subdivision; 507.071; Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement,
124.36	sections 53B.28, subdivisions 18, 25; 53B.29; 53B.69, by adding subdivisions;
124.37	80A.50; 239.791, subdivision 8; 325E.80, subdivisions 1, 5, 6, 7; 332.71,
124.38	subdivisions 2, 4, 5, 7; 332.72; 332.73, subdivision 1; 332.74, subdivisions 3, 5;
124.39	Laws 2022, chapter 86, article 2, section 3; Laws 2023, chapter 57, article 2,
	Article 5 Sec. 9. 124

SENATEE

LB

SS4097R

03/25/24

125.8 125.9 SENATEE

sections 7; 8; 9; 10; 11; 12; 13; 14; 15; proposing coding for new law in Minnesota
Statutes, chapters 53B; 58; 58B; 65A; 325F; 325G; 332; 507; 513; proposing
coding for new law as Minnesota Statutes, chapters 46A; 60M; repealing Minnesota
Statutes 2022, sections 45.014; 58.08, subdivision 3; 82B.25; 325G.25, subdivision
1a; 332.3351; Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, sections 53B.58; 332.71,
subdivision 8."

125.7 And when so amended the bill do pass. Amendments adopted. Report adopted.

(Committee Chair)

125.10March 22, 2024.....125.11(Date of Committee recommendation)