
1.1 Senator .................... moves to amend S.F. No. 4097 as follows:​

1.2 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:​

1.3 "ARTICLE 1​

1.4 INSURANCE POLICY​

1.5 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62J.26, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

1.6 Subd. 4. Sources of funding. (a) The commissioner shall not use any funds for purposes​

1.7 of this section subdivisions 1 to 3 other than as provided in this subdivision or as specified​

1.8 in an appropriation.​

1.9 (b) The commissioner may seek and accept funding from sources other than the state to​

1.10 pay for evaluations under this section to supplement or replace state appropriations. Any​

1.11 money received under this paragraph must be deposited in the state treasury, credited to a​

1.12 separate account for this purpose in the special revenue fund, and is appropriated to the​

1.13 commissioner for purposes of this section.​

1.14 (c) If an evaluation is required under this section, the commissioner may use for purposes​

1.15 of the evaluation:​

1.16 (1) any funds appropriated to the commissioner specifically for purposes of this section;​

1.17 or​

1.18 (2) funds available under paragraph (b), if use of the funds for evaluation of that mandated​

1.19 health benefit proposal is consistent with any restrictions imposed by the source of the funds.​

1.20 (d) The commissioner must ensure that the source of the funding has no influence on​

1.21 the process or outcome of the evaluation.​

1.22 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62J.26, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

1.23 read:​

1.24 Subd. 6. Defrayal of cost. If an evaluation concludes that the proposal increases​

1.25 premiums, upon passage of the law the commissioner must make payments to defray the​

1.26 cost within 60 days of the date a statement is received from a health plan company. The​

1.27 existing process under Code of Federal Regulations, title 45, section 155.170, to defray the​

1.28 cost and ensure quantifiable cost calculations meets the requirements of this subdivision.​
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2.1 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 67A.01, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

2.2 Subd. 2. Authorized territory. (a) A township mutual fire insurance company may be​

2.3 authorized to write business in up to nine adjoining counties in the aggregate at the same​

2.4 time. If policyholder surplus is at least $500,000 as reported in the company's last annual​

2.5 financial statement filed with the commissioner, the company may, if approval has been​

2.6 granted by the commissioner, be authorized to write business in ten or more counties in the​

2.7 aggregate at the same time, subject to a maximum of 20 40 adjoining counties, in accordance​

2.8 with the following schedule:​

Surplus Requirement​2.9 Number of Counties​

$500,000​2.10 10​

600,000​2.11 11​

700,000​2.12 12​

800,000​2.13 13​

900,000​2.14 14​

1,000,000​2.15 15​

1,100,000​2.16 16​

1,200,000​2.17 17​

1,300,000​2.18 18​

1,400,000​2.19 19​

1,500,000​2.20 20​

1,600,000​2.21 21​

1,700,000​2.22 22​

1,800,000​2.23 23​

1,900,000​2.24 24​

2,000,000​2.25 25​

2,100,000​2.26 26​

2,200,000​2.27 27​

2,300,000​2.28 28​

2,400,000​2.29 29​

2,500,000​2.30 30​

2,600,000​2.31 31​

2,700,000​2.32 32​

2,800,000​2.33 33​

2,900,000​2.34 34​

3,000,000​2.35 35​

3,100,000​2.36 36​

3,200,000​2.37 37​
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3,300,000​3.1 38​

3,400,000​3.2 39​

3,500,000​3.3 40​

3.4 (b) In the case of a merger of two or more companies having contiguous territories, the​

3.5 surviving company in the merger may transact business in the entire territory of the merged​

3.6 companies; however, the territory of the surviving company in the merger may not be larger​

3.7 than 20 must be approved by the commissioner and may not be in excess of 40 counties,​

3.8 provided the company complies with the additional reporting requirements.​

3.9 (c) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), a policy issued by a constituent company to the​

3.10 merger may remain effective, without respect to the policy being issued in a county outside​

3.11 the territory of the surviving company, until the policy (1) expires or is terminated by the​

3.12 policy's terms; or (2) is terminated or annulled and canceled in accordance with section​

3.13 67A.18. The surviving company must not amend or renew a policy issued in a county outside​

3.14 the surviving company's territory.​

3.15 (c) (d) A township mutual fire insurance company may write new and renewal insurance​

3.16 on property in cities within the company's authorized territory having a population less than​

3.17 25,000. A township mutual fire insurance company may continue to write new and renewal​

3.18 insurance once the population increases to 25,000 or greater provided that amended and​

3.19 restated articles are filed with the commissioner along with a certification that such city's​

3.20 population has increased to 25,000 or greater.​

3.21 (d) (e) A township mutual fire insurance company may write new and renewal insurance​

3.22 on property in cities within the company's authorized territory with a population of 25,000​

3.23 or greater, but less than 150,000, if approval has been granted by the commissioner. No​

3.24 township mutual fire insurance company shall insure any property in cities with a population​

3.25 of 150,000 or greater.​

3.26 (e) (f) If a township mutual fire insurance company provides evidence to the​

3.27 commissioner that the company had insurance in force on December 31, 2007, in a city​

3.28 within the company's authorized territory with a population of 25,000 or greater, but less​

3.29 than 150,000, the company may write new and renewal insurance on property in that city​

3.30 provided that the company files amended and restated articles by July 31, 2010, naming​

3.31 that city.​
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4.1 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 67A.14, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

4.2 Subdivision 1. Kinds of property; property outside authorized territory. (a) Township​

4.3 mutual fire insurance companies may insure qualified property. Qualified property means​

4.4 dwellings, household goods, appurtenant structures, farm buildings, farm personal property,​

4.5 churches, church personal property, county fair buildings, community and township meeting​

4.6 halls and their usual contents.​

4.7 (b) Township mutual fire insurance companies may extend coverage to include an​

4.8 insured's secondary property if the township mutual fire insurance company covers qualified​

4.9 property belonging to the insured. Secondary property means any real or personal property​

4.10 that is not considered qualified property for a township mutual fire insurance company to​

4.11 cover under this chapter. The maximum amount of coverage that a township mutual fire​

4.12 insurance company may write for secondary property is 25 percent of the total limit of​

4.13 liability of the policy issued to an insured covering the qualified property.​

4.14 (c) A township mutual fire insurance company may insure any real or personal property,​

4.15 including qualified or secondary property, subject to the limitations in subdivision 1,​

4.16 paragraph (b), located outside the limits of the territory in which the company is authorized​

4.17 by its certificate or articles of incorporation to transact business, if the company is already​

4.18 covering qualified property belonging to the insured, inside the limits of the company's​

4.19 territory. For purposes of this paragraph, qualified property inside the limits of the company's​

4.20 territory includes qualified property outside the territory of the surviving company to a​

4.21 merger for the duration of the policy insuring the qualified property if the qualified property​

4.22 was qualified property inside the territory of a constituent company to the merger.​

4.23 (d) A township mutual fire insurance company may insure property temporarily outside​

4.24 of the authorized territory of the township mutual fire insurance company.​

4.25 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 507.071, is amended to read:​

4.26 507.071 TRANSFER ON DEATH DEEDS.​

4.27 Subdivision 1. Definitions. For the purposes of this section the following terms have​

4.28 the meanings given:​

4.29 (a) "Beneficiary" or "grantee beneficiary" means a person or entity named as a grantee​

4.30 beneficiary in a transfer on death deed, including a successor grantee beneficiary.​

4.31 (b) "County agency" means the county department or office designated to recover medical​

4.32 assistance benefits from the estates of decedents.​
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5.1 (c) "Grantor owner" means an owner, whether individually, as a joint tenant, or as a​

5.2 tenant in common, named as a grantor in a transfer on death deed upon whose death the​

5.3 conveyance or transfer of the described real property is conditioned. Grantor owner does​

5.4 not include a spouse who joins in a transfer on death deed solely for the purpose of conveying​

5.5 or releasing statutory or other marital interests in the real property to be conveyed or​

5.6 transferred by the transfer on death deed.​

5.7 (d) "Owner" means a person having an ownership or other interest in all or part of the​

5.8 real property to be conveyed or transferred by a transfer on death deed either at the time the​

5.9 deed is executed or at the time the transfer becomes effective. Owner does not include a​

5.10 spouse who joins in a transfer on death deed solely for the purpose of conveying or releasing​

5.11 statutory or other marital interests in the real property to be conveyed or transferred by the​

5.12 transfer on death deed.​

5.13 (e) "Property" and "interest in real property" mean any interest in real property located​

5.14 in this state which is transferable on the death of the owner and includes, without limitation,​

5.15 an interest in real property defined in chapter 500, a mortgage, a deed of trust, a security​

5.16 interest in, or a security pledge of, an interest in real property, including the rights to​

5.17 payments of the indebtedness secured by the security instrument, a judgment, a tax lien,​

5.18 both the seller's and purchaser's interest in a contract for deed, land contract, purchase​

5.19 agreement, or earnest money contract for the sale and purchase of real property, including​

5.20 the rights to payments under such contracts, or any other lien on, or interest in, real property.​

5.21 (f) "Recorded" means recorded in the office of the county recorder or registrar of titles,​

5.22 as appropriate for the real property described in the instrument to be recorded.​

5.23 (g) "State agency" means the Department of Human Services or any successor agency.​

5.24 (h) "Transfer on death deed" means a deed authorized under this section.​

5.25 Subd. 2. Effect of transfer on death deed. A deed that conveys or assigns an interest​

5.26 in real property, to a grantee beneficiary and that expressly states that the deed is only​

5.27 effective on the death of one or more of the grantor owners, transfers the interest to the​

5.28 grantee beneficiary upon the death of the grantor owner upon whose death the conveyance​

5.29 or transfer is stated to be effective, but subject to the survivorship provisions and requirements​

5.30 of section 524.2-702. Until a transfer on death deed becomes effective, it has no effect on​

5.31 title to the real property described in the deed, but it does create an insurable interest in the​

5.32 real property in favor of the designated grantee beneficiary or beneficiaries for purposes of​

5.33 insuring the real property against loss or damage that occurs on or after the transfer on death​

5.34 deed becomes effective. A transfer on death deed must comply with all provisions of​
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6.1 Minnesota law applicable to deeds of real property including, but not limited to, the​

6.2 provisions of sections 507.02, 507.24, 507.34, 508.48, and 508A.48. If a spouse who is​

6.3 neither a grantor owner nor an owner joins in the execution of, or consents in writing to,​

6.4 the transfer on death deed, such joinder or consent shall be conclusive proof that upon the​

6.5 transfer becoming effective, the spouse no longer has or can claim any statutory interest or​

6.6 other marital interest in the interest in real property transferred by the transfer on death deed.​

6.7 However, such transfer shall remain an interest as identified in section 256B.15 for purposes​

6.8 of complying with and satisfying any claim or lien as authorized by subdivision 3.​

6.9 Subd. 3. Rights of creditors and rights of state and county under sections 246.53,​

6.10 256B.15, 256D.16, 261.04, and 514.981. The interest transferred to a beneficiary under a​

6.11 transfer on death deed after the death of a grantor owner is transferred subject to all effective​

6.12 conveyances, assignments, contracts, mortgages, deeds of trust, liens, security pledges,​

6.13 judgments, tax liens, and any other matters or encumbrances to which the interest was​

6.14 subject on the date of death of the grantor owner, upon whose death the transfer becomes​

6.15 effective including, but not limited to, any claim by a surviving spouse who did not join in​

6.16 the execution of, or consent in writing to, the transfer on death deed, and any claim or lien​

6.17 by the state or county agency authorized by sections 246.53, 256B.15, 256D.16, 261.04,​

6.18 and 514.981, if other assets of the deceased grantor's estate are insufficient to pay the amount​

6.19 of any such claim. A beneficiary to whom the interest is transferred after the death of a​

6.20 grantor owner shall be liable to account to the state or county agency with a claim or lien​

6.21 authorized by section 246.53, 256B.15, 256D.16, 261.04, or 514.981, to the extent necessary​

6.22 to discharge any such claim remaining unpaid after application of the assets of the deceased​

6.23 grantor owner's estate, but such liability shall be limited to the value of the interest transferred​

6.24 to the beneficiary. To establish compliance with this subdivision and subdivision 23, the​

6.25 beneficiary must record a clearance certificate issued in accordance with subdivision 23 in​

6.26 each county in which the real property described in the transfer on death deed is located.​

6.27 Subd. 4. Multiple grantee beneficiaries. A transfer on death deed may designate multiple​

6.28 grantee beneficiaries to take title as joint tenants, as tenants in common or in any other form​

6.29 of ownership or tenancy that is valid under the laws of this state. If a grantee joint tenant​

6.30 dies before the grantor owner upon whose death the transfer occurs and no successor​

6.31 beneficiary for the deceased grantee is designated in the transfer on death deed, the surviving​

6.32 joint tenants are the successors and no interest lapses.​

6.33 Subd. 5. Successor grantee beneficiaries. A transfer on death deed may designate one​

6.34 or more successor grantee beneficiaries or a class of successor grantee beneficiaries, or​

6.35 both. If the transfer on death deed designates successor grantee beneficiaries or a class of​
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7.1 successor grantee beneficiaries, the deed shall state the condition under which the interest​

7.2 of the successor grantee beneficiaries would vest.​

7.3 Subd. 6. Multiple joint tenant grantors. If an interest in real property is owned as joint​

7.4 tenants, a transfer on death deed executed by all of the owners and, if required by section​

7.5 507.02, their respective spouses, if any, that conveys an interest in real property to one or​

7.6 more grantee beneficiaries transfers the interest to the grantee beneficiary or beneficiaries​

7.7 effective only after the death of the last surviving grantor owner. If the last surviving joint​

7.8 tenant owner did not execute the transfer on death deed, the deed is ineffective to transfer​

7.9 any interest and the deed is void. An estate in joint tenancy is not severed or affected by the​

7.10 subsequent execution of a transfer on death deed and the right of a surviving joint tenant​

7.11 owner who did not execute the transfer on death deed shall prevail over a grantee beneficiary​

7.12 named in a transfer on death deed unless the deed specifically states that it severs the joint​

7.13 tenancy ownership.​

7.14 Subd. 7. Execution by attorney-in-fact. A transfer on death deed may be executed by​

7.15 a duly appointed attorney-in-fact pursuant to a power of attorney which grants the​

7.16 attorney-in-fact the authority to execute deeds.​

7.17 Subd. 8. Recording requirements and authorization. A transfer on death deed is valid​

7.18 if the deed is recorded in a county in which at least a part of the real property described in​

7.19 the deed is located and is recorded before the death of the grantor owner upon whose death​

7.20 the conveyance or transfer is effective. Notwithstanding the definition of recorded under​

7.21 subdivision 1, if the real property is registered property, a transfer on death deed that was​

7.22 recorded incorrectly or incompletely is valid if the deed was recorded before the death of​

7.23 the grantor owner in the office of the county recorder or the registrar of titles in a county​

7.24 in which at least part of the real property is located, and is memorialized on the certificate​

7.25 of title after death. A transfer on death deed is not effective for purposes of section 507.34,​

7.26 508.47, or 508A.47 until the deed is properly recorded in the county in which the real​

7.27 property is located. When a transfer on death deed is presented for recording, no certification​

7.28 by the county auditor as to transfer of ownership and current and delinquent taxes shall be​

7.29 required or made and the transfer on death deed shall not be required to be accompanied​

7.30 by a certificate of real estate value. A transfer on death deed that otherwise satisfies all​

7.31 statutory requirements for recording may be recorded and shall be accepted for recording​

7.32 in the county in which the property described in the deed is located. If any part of the property​

7.33 described in the transfer on death deed is registered property, the registrar of titles shall​

7.34 accept the transfer on death deed for recording only if at least one of the grantors who​

7.35 executes the transfer on death deed appears of record to have an ownership interest or other​

7​Article 1 Sec. 5.​

COUNSEL OS/SC SCS4097A-1​03/21/24 03:21 pm ​



8.1 interest in the real property described in the deed. No certification or approval of a transfer​

8.2 on death deed shall be required of the examiner of titles prior to recording of the deed in​

8.3 the office of the registrar of titles.​

8.4 Subd. 9. Deed to trustee or other entity. A transfer on death deed may transfer an​

8.5 interest in real property to the trustee of an inter vivos trust even if the trust is revocable, to​

8.6 the trustee of a testamentary trust or to any other entity legally qualified to hold title to real​

8.7 property under the laws of this state.​

8.8 Subd. 10. Revocation or modification of transfer on death deed. (a) A transfer on​

8.9 death deed may be revoked at any time by the grantor owner or, if there is more than one​

8.10 grantor owner, by any of the grantor owners. A revocation revokes the transfer on death​

8.11 deed in its entirety. To be effective, the revocation must be recorded in a county in which​

8.12 at least a part of the real property is located before the death of the grantor owner or owners​

8.13 who execute the revocation. Notwithstanding the definition of recorded under subdivision​

8.14 1, if the real property is registered property, a revocation that was recorded incorrectly or​

8.15 incompletely is effective if it was recorded before the death of the grantor owner in the​

8.16 office of the county recorder or the registrar of titles in a county in which at least part of​

8.17 the real property is located, and is memorialized on the certificate of title after death. The​

8.18 revocation is not effective for purposes of section 507.34, 508.47, or 508A.47 until the​

8.19 revocation is properly recorded in a county in which the real property is located.​

8.20 (b) If a grantor owner conveys to a third party, subsequent to the recording of the transfer​

8.21 on death deed, by means other than a transfer on death deed, all or a part of such grantor​

8.22 owner's interest in the property described in the transfer on death deed, no transfer of the​

8.23 conveyed interest shall occur on such grantor owner's death and the transfer on death deed​

8.24 shall be ineffective as to the conveyed or transferred interests, but the transfer on death deed​

8.25 remains effective with respect to the conveyance or transfer on death of any other interests​

8.26 described in the transfer on death deed owned by the grantor owner at the time of the grantor​

8.27 owner's death.​

8.28 (c) A transfer on death deed is a "governing instrument" within the meaning of section​

8.29 524.2-804 and, except as may otherwise be specifically provided for in the transfer on death​

8.30 deed, is subject to the same provisions as to revocation, revival, and nonrevocation set forth​

8.31 in section 524.2-804.​

8.32 Subd. 11. Antilapse; deceased beneficiary; words of survivorship. (a) Except when​

8.33 a successor grantee beneficiary is designated in the transfer on death deed for the grantee​

8.34 beneficiary who did not survive the grantor owner, if a grantee beneficiary who is a​
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9.1 grandparent or lineal descendant of a grandparent of the grantor owner fails to survive the​

9.2 grantor owner, the issue of the deceased grantee beneficiary who survive the grantor owner​

9.3 take in place of the deceased grantee beneficiary. If they are all of the same degree of kinship​

9.4 to the deceased grantee beneficiary, they take equally. If they are of unequal degree, those​

9.5 of more remote degree take by right of representation.​

9.6 (b) For the purposes of this subdivision, words of survivorship such as, in a conveyance​

9.7 to an individual, "if he or she survives me," or, in a class gift, to "my surviving children,"​

9.8 are a sufficient indication of intent to condition the conveyance or transfer upon the​

9.9 beneficiary surviving the grantor owner.​

9.10 (c) When issue of a deceased grantee beneficiary or members of a class take in place of​

9.11 the named grantee beneficiary pursuant to subdivision 5 or paragraph (a) or (b) or when a​

9.12 beneficiary dies and has no issue under paragraph (a), an affidavit of survivorship stating​

9.13 the names and shares of the beneficiaries or stating that a deceased beneficiary had no issue​

9.14 is not conclusive and a court order made in accordance with Minnesota probate law​

9.15 determining the beneficiaries and shares must also be recorded.​

9.16 Subd. 12. Lapse. If all beneficiaries and all successor beneficiaries, if any, designated​

9.17 in a transfer on death deed, and also all successor beneficiaries who would take under the​

9.18 antilapse provisions of subdivision 11, fail to survive the grantor owner or the last survivor​

9.19 of the grantor owners if there are multiple grantor owners, if the beneficiary is a trust which​

9.20 has been revoked prior to the grantor owner's death, or if the beneficiary is an entity no​

9.21 longer in existence at the grantor owner's death, no transfer shall occur and the transfer on​

9.22 death deed is void.​

9.23 Subd. 13. Multiple transfer on death deeds. If a grantor owner executes and records​

9.24 more than one transfer on death deed conveying the same interest in real property or a​

9.25 greater interest in the real property, or conveying part of the property in the earlier transfer​

9.26 on death deed, the transfer on death deed that has the latest acknowledgment date and that​

9.27 is recorded before the death of the grantor owner upon whose death the conveyance or​

9.28 transfer is conditioned is the effective transfer on death deed and all other transfer on death​

9.29 deeds, if any, executed by the grantor owner or the grantor owners are ineffective to transfer​

9.30 any interest and are void, except that if the later transfer on death deed included only part​

9.31 of the land of the earlier deed, the earlier deed is effective for the lands not included in the​

9.32 subsequent deed, absent language to the contrary in the subsequent deed.​

9.33 Subd. 14. Nonademption; unpaid proceeds of sale, condemnation, or insurance;​

9.34 sale by conservator or guardian. If at the time of the death of the grantor owner upon​
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10.1 whose death the conveyance or transfer is stated to be effective, the grantor owner did not​

10.2 own a part or all of the real property described in the transfer on death deed, no conveyance​

10.3 or transfer to the beneficiary of the nonowned part of the real property shall occur upon the​

10.4 death of the grantor owner and the transfer on death deed is void as to the nonowned part​

10.5 of the real property, but the beneficiary shall have the same rights to unpaid proceeds of​

10.6 sale, condemnation or insurance, and, if sold by a conservator or guardian of the grantor​

10.7 owner during the grantor owner's lifetime, the same rights to a general pecuniary devise, as​

10.8 that of a specific devisee as set forth in section 524.2-606.​

10.9 Subd. 15. Nonexoneration. Except as otherwise provided in subdivision 3, a conveyance​

10.10 or transfer under a transfer on death deed passes the described property subject to any​

10.11 mortgage or security interest existing at the date of death of the grantor owner, without right​

10.12 of exoneration, regardless of any statutory obligations to pay the grantor owner's debts upon​

10.13 death and regardless of a general directive in the grantor owner's will to pay debts.​

10.14 Subd. 16. Disclaimer by beneficiary. A grantee beneficiary's interest under a transfer​

10.15 on death deed may be disclaimed as provided in sections 524.2-1101 to 524.2-1116, or as​

10.16 otherwise provided by law.​

10.17 Subd. 17. Effect on other conveyances. This section does not prohibit other methods​

10.18 of conveying property that are permitted by law and that have the effect of postponing​

10.19 ownership or enjoyment of an interest in real property until the death of the owner. This​

10.20 section does not invalidate any deed that is not a transfer on death deed and that is otherwise​

10.21 effective to convey title to the interests and estates described in the deed that is not recorded​

10.22 until after the death of the owner.​

10.23 Subd. 18. Notice, consent, and delivery not required. The signature, consent or​

10.24 agreement of, or notice to, a grantee beneficiary under a transfer on death deed, or delivery​

10.25 of the transfer on death deed to the grantee beneficiary, is not required for any purpose​

10.26 during the lifetime of the grantor owner.​

10.27 Subd. 19. Nonrevocation by will. A transfer on death deed that is executed,​

10.28 acknowledged, and recorded in accordance with this section is not revoked by the provisions​

10.29 of a will.​

10.30 Subd. 20. Proof of survivorship and clearance from public assistance claims and​

10.31 liens; recording. An affidavit of identity and survivorship with a certified copy of a record​

10.32 of death as an attachment may be combined with a clearance certificate under this section​

10.33 and the combined documents may be recorded separately or as one document in each county​

10.34 in which the real estate described in the clearance certificate is located. The affidavit must​
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11.1 include the name and mailing address of the person to whom future property tax statements​

11.2 should be sent. The affidavit, record of death, and clearance certificate, whether combined​

11.3 or separate, shall be prima facie evidence of the facts stated in each, and the registrar of​

11.4 titles may rely on the statements to transfer title to the property described in the clearance​

11.5 certificate, except in cases where a court order is required pursuant to the provisions of​

11.6 subdivision 11, paragraph (c).​

11.7 Subd. 21. After-acquired property. Except as provided in this subdivision, a transfer​

11.8 on death deed is not effective to transfer any interest in real property acquired by a grantor​

11.9 owner subsequent to the date of signing of a transfer on death deed. A grantor owner may​

11.10 provide by specific language in a transfer on death deed that the transfer on death deed will​

11.11 apply to any interest in the described property acquired by the grantor owner after the signing​

11.12 or recording of the deed.​

11.13 Subd. 22. Anticipatory alienation prohibited. The interest of a grantee beneficiary​

11.14 under a transfer on death deed which has not yet become effective is not subject to alienation;​

11.15 assignment; encumbrance; appointment or anticipation by the beneficiary; garnishment;​

11.16 attachment; execution or bankruptcy proceedings; claims for alimony, support, or​

11.17 maintenance; payment of other obligations by any person against the beneficiary; or any​

11.18 other transfer, voluntary or involuntary, by or from any beneficiary.​

11.19 Subd. 23. Clearance for public assistance claims and liens. Any person claiming an​

11.20 interest in real property conveyed or transferred by a transfer on death deed, or the person's​

11.21 attorney or other agent, may apply to the county agency in the county in which the real​

11.22 property is located for a clearance certificate for the real property described in the transfer​

11.23 on death deed. The application for a clearance certificate and the clearance certificate must​

11.24 contain the legal description of each parcel of property covered by the clearance certificate.​

11.25 The county agency shall provide a sufficient number of clearance certificates to allow a​

11.26 clearance certificate to be recorded in each county in which the real property described in​

11.27 the transfer on death deed is located. The real property described in the clearance certificate​

11.28 is bound by any conditions or other requirements imposed by the county agency as specified​

11.29 in the clearance certificate. If the real property is registered property, a new certificate of​

11.30 title must not be issued until the clearance certificate is recorded. If the clearance certificate​

11.31 shows the continuation of a medical assistance claim or lien after issuance of the clearance​

11.32 certificate, the real property remains subject to the claim or lien. If the real property is​

11.33 registered property, the clearance certificate must be carried forward as a memorial in any​

11.34 new certificate of title. The application shall contain the same information and shall be​

11.35 submitted, processed, and resolved in the same manner and on the same terms and conditions​
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12.1 as provided in section 525.313 for a clearance certificate in a decree of descent proceeding,​

12.2 except that a copy of a notice of hearing does not have to accompany the application. The​

12.3 application may contain a statement that the applicant, after reasonably diligent inquiry, is​

12.4 not aware of the existence of a predeceased spouse or the existence of a claim which could​

12.5 be recovered under section 246.53, 256B.15, 256D.16, 261.04, or 514.981. If the county​

12.6 agency determines that a claim or lien exists under section 246.53, 256B.15, 256D.16,​

12.7 261.04, or 514.981, the provisions of section 525.313 shall apply to collection, compromise,​

12.8 and settlement of the claim or lien. A person claiming an interest in real property transferred​

12.9 or conveyed by a transfer on death deed may petition or move the district court, as​

12.10 appropriate, in the county in which the real property is located or in the county in which a​

12.11 probate proceeding affecting the estate of the grantor of the transfer on death deed is pending,​

12.12 for an order allowing sale of the real property free and clear of any public assistance claim​

12.13 or lien but subject to disposition of the sale proceeds as provided in section 525.313. On a​

12.14 showing of good cause and subject to such notice as the court may require, the court without​

12.15 hearing may issue an order allowing the sale free and clear of any public assistance claim​

12.16 or lien on such terms and conditions as the court deems advisable to protect the interests of​

12.17 the state or county agency.​

12.18 Subd. 24. Form of transfer on death deed. A transfer on death deed may be substantially​

12.19 in the following form:​

12.20 Transfer on Death Deed​

12.21 I (we) ................................... (grantor owner or owners and spouses, if any, with​

12.22 marital status designated), grantor(s), hereby convey(s) and quitclaim(s) to​

12.23 .................................. (grantee beneficiary, whether one or more) effective (check​

12.24 only one of the following)​

12.25 .... on the death of the grantor owner, if only one grantor is named above, or on the​

12.26 death of the last of the grantor owners to die, if more than one grantor owner is named​

12.27 above, or​

12.28 .... on the death of (name of grantor owner)​

12.29 ........................................... (must be one of the grantor owners named above), the​

12.30 following described real property:​

12.31 (Legal description)​

12.32 If checked, the following optional statement applies:​
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13.1 ....When effective, this instrument conveys any and all interests in the described real​

13.2 property acquired by the grantor owner(s) before, on, or after the date of this​

13.3 instrument.​

13.4 ...................................................................

13.5 (Signature of grantor(s))​

13.6 (acknowledgment)​

13.7 Subd. 25. Form of instrument of revocation. An instrument of revocation may be​

13.8 substantially in the following form:​

13.9 Revocation of Transfer on Death Deed​

13.10 The undersigned hereby revokes the transfer on death deed recorded on .........., ....,​

13.11 as Document No. .......... (or in Book .......... of ........., Page .....) in the office of the​

13.12 (County Recorder) (Registrar of Titles) of ............ County, Minnesota, affecting real​

13.13 property legally described as follows:​

13.14 (legal description)​

13.15 Dated:​

13.16 ...................................................................

13.17 Signature​

13.18 (acknowledgment)​

13.19 Subd. 26. Jurisdiction. In counties where the district court has a probate division, the​

13.20 application of subdivision 11 or other issues of interpretation or validity of the transfer on​

13.21 death deed, and actions to enforce a medical assistance lien or claim against real property​

13.22 described in a transfer on death deed and any matter raised in connection with enforcement​

13.23 shall be determined in the probate division. Notwithstanding any other law to the contrary,​

13.24 the provisions of section 256B.15 shall apply to any proceeding to enforce a medical​

13.25 assistance lien or claim under chapter 524 or 525. In other counties, the district court shall​

13.26 have jurisdiction to determine any matter affecting real property purporting to be transferred​

13.27 by a transfer on death deed. Notwithstanding any other law to the contrary, the provisions​

13.28 of section 256B.15 shall apply to any proceeding to enforce a medical assistance lien or​

13.29 claim under chapter 524 or 525.​

13.30 Sec. 6. [507.072] PROPERTY INSURANCE FOR GRANTEE BENEFICIARIES​

13.31 OF TRANSFER ON DEATH DEEDS.​

13.32 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following definitions​

13.33 apply unless the context indicates otherwise.​
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14.1 (b) "Grantee beneficiary" has the meaning given in section 507.071, subdivision 1.​

14.2 (c) "Insurance policy" means an insurance policy governed by chapter 65A.​

14.3 (d) "Transfer on death deed" means a deed described in section 507.071.​

14.4 (e) "Grantor owner" has the meaning given in section 507.071, subdivision 1.​

14.5 (f) "Extended coverage" or "temporary extended coverage" means insurance coverage​

14.6 continuing beyond the death of the named insured.​

14.7 Subd. 2. Insurance policy to include grantee beneficiary. An insurer providing an​

14.8 insurance policy on real property transferred by a transfer on death deed shall provide​

14.9 temporary extended coverage on the real property to the designated grantee beneficiary for​

14.10 a period commencing on the date of death of the grantor owner and ending when the grantee​

14.11 beneficiary replaces the insurance policy on the insured property with an insurance policy​

14.12 or the expiration of the time limitations set forth in subdivision 4, whichever is sooner.​

14.13 Subd. 3. Notice to the insurer. To obtain temporary extended coverage for a transfer​

14.14 on death deed as provided in this section, the grantor owner must notify the insurer of the​

14.15 existence of a transfer on death deed. The notice shall include the names and contact​

14.16 information of all designated grantee beneficiaries.​

14.17 Subd. 4. Coverage extended. The coverage to be extended under this section applies​

14.18 only with respect to the insurance policy insuring the real property of the grantor owner.​

14.19 The period of extended coverage shall not exceed 30 days from the date of the grantor​

14.20 owner's death or the expiration date of the insurance policy, whichever is less. An insurer​

14.21 is not required to provide notice to the grantee beneficiary for cancellation of coverage​

14.22 following the shorter of the 30 days or expiration date of the policy or the placement of​

14.23 replacement insurance coverage.​

14.24 Subd. 5. Proof demanded; policy conditions. Before making any payment for a claim​

14.25 under this section, the insurer may require proof that the claimant is a grantee beneficiary​

14.26 under a transfer on death deed, the transfer on death deed was recorded as provided in​

14.27 section 507.071, and that an affidavit of survivorship and death certificate of the grantor​

14.28 owner was recorded as provided in section 507.071. The grantee beneficiary shall comply​

14.29 with the conditions of the policy.​

14.30 Subd. 6. Insurable interest. A grantee beneficiary does not hold an insurable interest​

14.31 in the real property described in a transfer on death deed prior to the death of the grantor​

14.32 owner. Any claim on the insured real property described in a transfer on death deed initiated​

14.33 before the death of the grantor owner or the death benefits associated with the policy prior​
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15.1 to the death of the grantor owner shall be settled with the estate of the grantor owner, not​

15.2 with the grantee beneficiary. A grantee beneficiary is not entitled to recover benefits under​

15.3 an insurance policy extended as provided in this section in an amount greater than the grantee​

15.4 beneficiary's insurable interest at the time of loss or damage. A grantee beneficiary is not​

15.5 entitled to any amounts paid out in prior claims on the property. If the transfer on death​

15.6 deed designates multiple grantee beneficiaries, nothing in this section requires the insurer​

15.7 to pay an amount for loss or damage to the insured real property that exceeds the amount​

15.8 that would be owed to the grantor owner if the grantor owner was living at the time of loss​

15.9 or damage.​

15.10 Subd. 7. Warnings on transfer on death deeds. On or after August 1 of the year of the​

15.11 effective date of this section, a transfer on death deed shall contain the following warnings​

15.12 in substantially the following form:​

15.13 "Warning to Grantor Owner: Temporary extended coverage of any fire and casualty​

15.14 insurance policy on the property under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 65A, will exist only if​

15.15 the grantor owner has given notice to the insurer under Minnesota Statutes, section 507.072,​

15.16 subdivision 3, including the existence of a transfer on death deed and the names and contact​

15.17 information of all designated grantee beneficiaries. Any temporary extended coverage​

15.18 terminates on the earlier of (1) 30 days after the date of the grantor owner's death, (2) the​

15.19 expiration date of the policy, or (3) upon placement of a replacement insurance policy.​

15.20 Warning to Grantee Beneficiary: A grantee beneficiary shall not presume insurance​

15.21 coverage continues after the death of the grantor owner. Upon the death of the grantor​

15.22 owner, the grantee beneficiary should determine whether the provisions of Minnesota​

15.23 Statutes, section 507.072, apply and consult with an insurance agent or attorney."​

15.24 The failure to include warnings in a transfer on death deed in accordance with this​

15.25 subdivision shall not invalidate the transfer on death deed or affect recording of the transfer​

15.26 on death deed.​

15.27 Sec. 7. DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONERS; REVIEW OF SERVICE​

15.28 TERMINATION REQUIREMENTS FOR RESIDENTIAL SERVICES.​

15.29 By August 1, 2024, the commissioners of human services and health must begin​

15.30 consulting with residential services providers licensed under Minnesota Statutes, chapters​

15.31 144G and 245D, whose facilities provide services to individuals reimbursed under medical​

15.32 assistance to examine issues related to resident and staff safety and to roadblocks in the​

15.33 continuum of care for disability and behavioral health services arising from the application​

15.34 of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 504B, to licensed settings. By January 15, 2025, the​
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16.1 commissioners must provide the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative​

16.2 committees with jurisdiction over assisted living and home and community-based services​

16.3 licensure with recommendations, including draft legislation, to address issues of safety and​

16.4 access to care.​

16.5 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

16.6 Sec. 8. EFFECTIVE DATE.​

16.7 Sections 1 and 2 are effective on the day following final enactment and apply to insurance​

16.8 policies issued or renewed in Minnesota on or after August 1 of the year of final enactment.​

16.9 Sections 1 and 2 do not apply to insurance policies issued or renewed prior to August 1 of​

16.10 the year of final enactment or to transfer on death deeds recorded prior to that date unless​

16.11 the grantor owner provides the notice specified by section 2, subdivision 3.​

16.12 ARTICLE 2​

16.13 FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS​

16.14 Section 1. [46A.01] DEFINITIONS.​

16.15 Subdivision 1. Terms. For the purposes of this chapter, the terms defined in this section​

16.16 have the meanings given them.​

16.17 Subd. 2. Authorized user. "Authorized user" means any employee, contractor, agent,​

16.18 or other person who: (1) participates in a financial institution's business operations; and (2)​

16.19 is authorized to access and use any of the financial institution's information systems and​

16.20 data.​

16.21 Subd. 3. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of commerce.​

16.22 Subd. 4. Consumer. (a) "Consumer" means an individual who obtains or has obtained​

16.23 from a financial institution a financial product or service that is used primarily for personal,​

16.24 family, or household purposes, or is used by the individual's legal representative. Consumer​

16.25 includes but is not limited to an individual who:​

16.26 (1) applies to a financial institution for credit for personal, family, or household purposes,​

16.27 regardless of whether the credit is extended;​

16.28 (2) provides nonpublic personal information to a financial institution in order to obtain​

16.29 a determination whether the individual qualifies for a loan used primarily for personal,​

16.30 family, or household purposes, regardless of whether the loan is extended;​
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17.1 (3) provides nonpublic personal information to a financial institution in connection with​

17.2 obtaining or seeking to obtain financial, investment, or economic advisory services, regardless​

17.3 of whether the financial institution establishes a continuing advisory relationship with the​

17.4 individual; or​

17.5 (4) has a loan for personal, family, or household purposes in which the financial institution​

17.6 has ownership or servicing rights, even if the financial institution or one or more other​

17.7 institutions that hold ownership or servicing rights in conjunction with the financial institution​

17.8 hires an agent to collect on the loan.​

17.9 (b) Consumer does not include an individual who:​

17.10 (1) is a consumer of another financial institution that uses a different financial institution​

17.11 to act solely as an agent for, or provide processing or other services to, the consumer's​

17.12 financial institution;​

17.13 (2) designates a financial institution solely for the purposes to act as a trustee for a trust;​

17.14 (3) is the beneficiary of a trust for which the financial institution serves as trustee; or​

17.15 (4) is a participant or a beneficiary of an employee benefit plan that the financial​

17.16 institution sponsors or for which the financial institution acts as a trustee or fiduciary.​

17.17 Subd. 5. Continuing relationship. (a) "Continuing relationship" means a consumer:​

17.18 (1) has a credit or investment account with a financial institution;​

17.19 (2) obtains a loan from a financial institution;​

17.20 (3) purchases an insurance product from a financial institution;​

17.21 (4) holds an investment product through a financial institution, including but not limited​

17.22 to when the financial institution acts as a custodian for securities or for assets in an individual​

17.23 retirement arrangement;​

17.24 (5) enters into an agreement or understanding with a financial institution whereby the​

17.25 financial institution undertakes to arrange or broker a home mortgage loan, or credit to​

17.26 purchase a vehicle, for the consumer;​

17.27 (6) enters into a lease of personal property on a nonoperating basis with a financial​

17.28 institution;​

17.29 (7) obtains financial, investment, or economic advisory services from a financial​

17.30 institution for a fee;​
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18.1 (8) becomes a financial institution's client to obtain tax preparation or credit counseling​

18.2 services from the financial institution;​

18.3 (9) obtains career counseling while: (i) seeking employment with a financial institution​

18.4 or the finance, accounting, or audit department of any company; or (ii) employed by a​

18.5 financial institution or department of any company;​

18.6 (10) is obligated on an account that a financial institution purchases from another financial​

18.7 institution, regardless of whether the account is in default when purchased, unless the​

18.8 financial institution does not locate the consumer or attempt to collect any amount from the​

18.9 consumer on the account;​

18.10 (11) obtains real estate settlement services from a financial institution; or​

18.11 (12) has a loan for which a financial institution owns the servicing rights.​

18.12 (b) Continuing relationship does not include situations where:​

18.13 (1) the consumer obtains a financial product or service from a financial institution only​

18.14 in isolated transactions, including but not limited to: (i) using a financial institution's​

18.15 automated teller machine to withdraw cash from an account at another financial institution;​

18.16 (ii) purchasing a money order from a financial institution; (iii) cashing a check with a​

18.17 financial institution; or (iv) making a wire transfer through a financial institution;​

18.18 (2) a financial institution sells the consumer's loan and does not retain the rights to service​

18.19 the loan;​

18.20 (3) a financial institution sells the consumer airline tickets, travel insurance, or traveler's​

18.21 checks in isolated transactions;​

18.22 (4) the consumer obtains onetime personal or real property appraisal services from a​

18.23 financial institution; or​

18.24 (5) the consumer purchases checks for a personal checking account from a financial​

18.25 institution.​

18.26 Subd. 6. Customer. "Customer" means a consumer who has a customer relationship​

18.27 with a financial institution.​

18.28 Subd. 7. Customer information. "Customer information" means any record containing​

18.29 nonpublic personal information about a financial institution's customer, whether the record​

18.30 is in paper, electronic, or another form, that is handled or maintained by or on behalf of the​

18.31 financial institution or the financial institution's affiliates.​
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19.1 Subd. 8. Customer relationship. "Customer relationship" means a continuing relationship​

19.2 between a consumer and a financial institution under which the financial institution provides​

19.3 to the consumer one or more financial products or services that are used primarily for​

19.4 personal, family, or household purposes.​

19.5 Subd. 9. Encryption. "Encryption" means the transformation of data into a format that​

19.6 results in a low probability of assigning meaning without the use of a protective process or​

19.7 key, consistent with current cryptographic standards and accompanied by appropriate​

19.8 safeguards for cryptographic key material.​

19.9 Subd. 10. Federally insured depository financial institution. "Federally insured​

19.10 depository financial institution" means a bank, credit union, savings and loan association,​

19.11 trust company, savings association, savings bank, industrial bank, or industrial loan company​

19.12 organized under the laws of the United States or any state of the United States, when the​

19.13 bank, credit union, savings and loan association, trust company, savings association, savings​

19.14 bank, industrial bank, or industrial loan company has federally insured deposits.​

19.15 Subd. 11. Financial product or service. "Financial product or service" means any​

19.16 product or service that a financial holding company could offer by engaging in a financial​

19.17 activity under section 4(k) of the Bank Holding Company Act of 1956, United States Code,​

19.18 title 12, section 1843(k). Financial product or service includes a financial institution's​

19.19 evaluation or brokerage of information that the financial institution collects in connection​

19.20 with a request or an application from a consumer for a financial product or service.​

19.21 Subd. 12. Financial institution. "Financial institution" means a consumer small loan​

19.22 lender under section 47.60, a person owning or maintaining electronic financial terminals​

19.23 under section 47.62, a trust company under chapter 48A, a loan and thrift company under​

19.24 chapter 53, a currency exchange under chapter 53A, a money transmitter under chapter 53B,​

19.25 a sales finance company under chapter 53C, a regulated loan lender under chapter 56, a​

19.26 residential mortgage originator or servicer under chapter 58, a student loan servicer under​

19.27 chapter 58B, a credit service organization under section 332.54, a debt management service​

19.28 provider or person providing debt management services under chapter 332A, or a debt​

19.29 settlement service provider or person providing debt settlement services under chapter 332B.​

19.30 Subd. 13. Information security program. "Information security program" means the​

19.31 administrative, technical, or physical safeguards a financial institution uses to access, collect,​

19.32 distribute, process, protect, store, use, transmit, dispose of, or otherwise handle customer​

19.33 information.​
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20.1 Subd. 14. Information system. "Information system" means a discrete set of electronic​

20.2 information resources organized to collect, process, maintain, use, share, disseminate, or​

20.3 dispose of electronic information, as well as any specialized system, including but not​

20.4 limited to industrial process controls systems, telephone switching and private branch​

20.5 exchange systems, and environmental controls systems, that contains customer information​

20.6 or that is connected to a system that contains customer information.​

20.7 Subd. 15. Multifactor authentication. "Multifactor authentication" means authentication​

20.8 through verification of at least two of the following factors:​

20.9 (1) knowledge factors, including but not limited to a password;​

20.10 (2) possession factors, including but not limited to a token; or​

20.11 (3) inherence factors, including but not limited to biometric characteristics.​

20.12 Subd. 16. Nonpublic personal information. (a) "Nonpublic personal information"​

20.13 means:​

20.14 (1) personally identifiable financial information; or​

20.15 (2) any list, description, or other grouping of consumers, including publicly available​

20.16 information pertaining to the list, description, or other grouping of consumers, that is derived​

20.17 using personally identifiable financial information that is not publicly available.​

20.18 (b) Nonpublic personal information includes but is not limited to any list of individuals'​

20.19 names and street addresses that is derived in whole or in part using personally identifiable​

20.20 financial information that is not publicly available, including account numbers.​

20.21 (c) Nonpublic personal information does not include:​

20.22 (1) publicly available information, except as included on a list described in paragraph​

20.23 (a), clause (2);​

20.24 (2) any list, description, or other grouping of consumers, including publicly available​

20.25 information pertaining to the list, description, or other grouping of consumers, that is derived​

20.26 without using any personally identifiable financial information that is not publicly available;​

20.27 or​

20.28 (3) any list of individuals' names and addresses that contains only publicly available​

20.29 information, is not derived in whole or in part using personally identifiable financial​

20.30 information that is not publicly available, and is not disclosed in a manner that indicates​

20.31 that any individual on the list is the financial institution's consumer.​
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21.1 Subd. 17. Notification event. "Notification event" means the acquisition of unencrypted​

21.2 customer information without the authorization of the individual to which the information​

21.3 pertains. Customer information is considered unencrypted for this purpose if the encryption​

21.4 key was accessed by an unauthorized person. Unauthorized acquisition is presumed to​

21.5 include unauthorized access to unencrypted customer information unless the financial​

21.6 institution has reliable evidence showing that there has not been, or could not reasonably​

21.7 have been, unauthorized acquisition of customer information.​

21.8 Subd. 18. Penetration testing. "Penetration testing" means a test methodology in which​

21.9 assessors attempt to circumvent or defeat the security features of an information system by​

21.10 attempting to penetrate databases or controls from outside or inside a financial institution's​

21.11 information systems.​

21.12 Subd. 19. Personally identifiable financial information. (a) "Personally identifiable​

21.13 financial information" means any information:​

21.14 (1) a consumer provides to a financial institution to obtain a financial product or service;​

21.15 (2) about a consumer resulting from any transaction involving a financial product or​

21.16 service between a financial institution and a consumer; or​

21.17 (3) a financial institution otherwise obtains about a consumer in connection with providing​

21.18 a financial product or service to the customer.​

21.19 (b) Personally identifiable financial information includes:​

21.20 (1) information a consumer provides to a financial institution on an application to obtain​

21.21 a loan, credit card, or other financial product or service;​

21.22 (2) account balance information, payment history, overdraft history, and credit or debit​

21.23 card purchase information;​

21.24 (3) the fact that an individual is or has been a financial institution's customer or has​

21.25 obtained a financial product or service from the financial institution;​

21.26 (4) any information about a financial institution's consumer, if the information is disclosed​

21.27 in a manner that indicates that the individual is or has been the financial institution's​

21.28 consumer;​

21.29 (5) any information that a consumer provides to a financial institution or that a financial​

21.30 institution or a financial institution's agent otherwise obtains in connection with collecting​

21.31 on or servicing a credit account;​
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22.1 (6) any information a financial institution collects through an Internet information​

22.2 collecting device from a web server; and​

22.3 (7) information from a consumer report.​

22.4 (c) Personally identifiable financial information does not include:​

22.5 (1) a list of customer names and addresses for an entity that is not a financial institution;​

22.6 and​

22.7 (2) information that does not identify a consumer, including but not limited to aggregate​

22.8 information or blind data that does not contain personal identifiers, including account​

22.9 numbers, names, or addresses.​

22.10 Subd. 20. Publicly available information. (a) "Publicly available information" means​

22.11 any information that a financial institution has a reasonable basis to believe is lawfully made​

22.12 available to the general public from:​

22.13 (1) federal, state, or local government records;​

22.14 (2) widely distributed media; or​

22.15 (3) disclosures to the general public that are required under federal, state, or local law.​

22.16 (b) Publicly available information includes but is not limited to:​

22.17 (1) with respect to government records, information in government real estate records​

22.18 and security interest filings; and​

22.19 (2) with respect to widely distributed media, information from a telephone book, a​

22.20 television or radio program, a newspaper, or a website that is available to the general public​

22.21 on an unrestricted basis. A website is not restricted merely because an Internet service​

22.22 provider or a site operator requires a fee or a password, provided that access is available to​

22.23 the general public.​

22.24 (c) For purposes of this subdivision, a financial institution has a reasonable basis to​

22.25 believe that information is lawfully made available to the general public if the financial​

22.26 institution has taken steps to determine: (1) that the information is of the type that is available​

22.27 to the general public; and (2) whether an individual can direct that the information not be​

22.28 made available to the general public and, if so, that the financial institution's consumer has​

22.29 not directed that the information not be made available to the general public. A financial​

22.30 institution has a reasonable basis to believe that mortgage information is lawfully made​

22.31 available to the general public if the financial institution determines the information is of​

22.32 the type included on the public record in the jurisdiction where the mortgage would be​
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23.1 recorded. A financial institution has a reasonable basis to believe that an individual's​

23.2 telephone number is lawfully made available to the general public if the financial institution​

23.3 has located the telephone number in the telephone book or the consumer has informed the​

23.4 financial institution that the telephone number is not unlisted.​

23.5 Subd. 21. Qualified individual. "Qualified individual" means the individual designated​

23.6 by a financial institution to oversee, implement, and enforce the financial institution's​

23.7 information security program.​

23.8 Subd. 22. Security event. "Security event" means an event resulting in unauthorized​

23.9 access to, or disruption or misuse of: (1) an information system or information stored on an​

23.10 information system; or (2) customer information held in physical form.​

23.11 Subd. 23. Service provider. "Service provider" means any person or entity that receives,​

23.12 maintains, processes, or otherwise is permitted access to customer information through the​

23.13 service provider's provision of services directly to a financial institution that is subject to​

23.14 this chapter.​

23.15 Sec. 2. [46A.02] SAFEGUARDING CUSTOMER INFORMATION; STANDARDS.​

23.16 Subdivision 1. Information security program. (a) A financial institution must develop,​

23.17 implement, and maintain a comprehensive information security program.​

23.18 (b) The information security program must: (1) be written in one or more readily​

23.19 accessible parts; and (2) contain administrative, technical, and physical safeguards that are​

23.20 appropriate to the financial institution's size and complexity, the nature and scope of the​

23.21 financial institution's activities, and the sensitivity of any customer information at issue.​

23.22 (c) The information security program must include the elements set forth in section​

23.23 46A.03 and must be reasonably designed to achieve the objectives of this chapter, as​

23.24 established under subdivision 2.​

23.25 Subd. 2. Objectives. The objectives of this chapter are to:​

23.26 (1) ensure the security and confidentiality of customer information;​

23.27 (2) protect against any anticipated threats or hazards to the security or integrity of​

23.28 customer information; and​

23.29 (3) protect against unauthorized access to or use of customer information that might​

23.30 result in substantial harm or inconvenience to a customer.​
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24.1 Sec. 3. [46A.03] ELEMENTS.​

24.2 Subdivision 1. Generally. In order to develop, implement, and maintain an information​

24.3 security program, a financial institution must comply with this section.​

24.4 Subd. 2. Qualified individual. (a) A financial institution must designate a qualified​

24.5 individual responsible for overseeing, implementing, and enforcing the financial institution's​

24.6 information security program. The qualified individual may be employed by the financial​

24.7 institution, an affiliate, or a service provider.​

24.8 (b) If a financial institution designates an individual employed by an affiliate or service​

24.9 provider as the financial institution's qualified individual, the financial institution must:​

24.10 (1) retain responsibility for complying with this chapter;​

24.11 (2) designate a senior member of the financial institution's personnel to be responsible​

24.12 for directing and overseeing the qualified individual's activities; and​

24.13 (3) require the service provider or affiliate to maintain an information security program​

24.14 that protects the financial institution in a manner that complies with the requirements of​

24.15 this chapter.​

24.16 Subd. 3. Security risk assessment. (a) A financial institution must base the financial​

24.17 institution's information security program on a risk assessment that:​

24.18 (1) identifies reasonably foreseeable internal and external risks to the security,​

24.19 confidentiality, and integrity of customer information that might result in the unauthorized​

24.20 disclosure, misuse, alteration, destruction, or other compromise of customer information;​

24.21 and​

24.22 (2) assesses the sufficiency of any safeguards in place to control the risks identified​

24.23 under clause (1).​

24.24 (b) The risk assessment must be made in writing and must include:​

24.25 (1) criteria to evaluate and categorize identified security risks or threats the financial​

24.26 institution faces;​

24.27 (2) criteria to assess the confidentiality, integrity, and availability of the financial​

24.28 institution's information systems and customer information, including the adequacy of​

24.29 existing controls in the context of the identified risks or threats the financial institution​

24.30 faces; and​

24.31 (3) requirements describing how:​
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25.1 (i) identified risks are mitigated or accepted based on the risk assessment; and​

25.2 (ii) the information security program addresses the risks.​

25.3 (c) A financial institution must periodically perform additional risk assessments that:​

25.4 (1) reexamine the reasonably foreseeable internal and external risks to the security,​

25.5 confidentiality, and integrity of customer information that might result in the unauthorized​

25.6 disclosure, misuse, alteration, destruction, or other compromise of customer information;​

25.7 and​

25.8 (2) reassess the sufficiency of any safeguards in place to control the risks identified​

25.9 under clause (1).​

25.10 Subd. 4. Risk control. A financial institution must design and implement safeguards to​

25.11 control the risks the financial institution identifies through the risk assessment under​

25.12 subdivision 3, including by:​

25.13 (1) implementing and periodically reviewing access controls, including technical and,​

25.14 as appropriate, physical controls to:​

25.15 (i) authenticate and permit access only to authorized users to protect against the​

25.16 unauthorized acquisition of customer information; and​

25.17 (ii) limit an authorized user's access to only customer information that the authorized​

25.18 user needs to perform the authorized user's duties and functions or, in the case of a customer,​

25.19 to limit access to the customer's own information;​

25.20 (2) identifying and managing the data, personnel, devices, systems, and facilities that​

25.21 enable the financial institution to achieve business purposes in accordance with the business​

25.22 purpose's relative importance to business objectives and the financial institution's risk​

25.23 strategy;​

25.24 (3) protecting by encryption all customer information held or transmitted by the financial​

25.25 institution both in transit over external networks and at rest. To the extent a financial​

25.26 institution determines that encryption of customer information either in transit over external​

25.27 networks or at rest is infeasible, the financial institution may secure the customer information​

25.28 using effective alternative compensating controls that have been reviewed and approved by​

25.29 the financial institution's qualified individual;​

25.30 (4) adopting: (i) secure development practices for in-house developed applications​

25.31 utilized by the financial institution to transmit, access, or store customer information; and​
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26.1 (ii) procedures to evaluate, assess, or test the security of externally developed applications​

26.2 the financial institution uses to transmit, access, or store customer information;​

26.3 (5) implementing multifactor authentication for any individual that accesses any​

26.4 information system, unless the financial institution's qualified individual has approved in​

26.5 writing the use of a reasonably equivalent or more secure access control;​

26.6 (6) developing, implementing, and maintaining procedures to securely dispose of​

26.7 customer information in any format no later than two years after the last date the information​

26.8 is used in connection with providing a product or service to the customer which relates,​

26.9 unless the information is necessary for business operations or for other legitimate business​

26.10 purposes, is otherwise required to be retained by law or regulation, or if targeted disposal​

26.11 is not reasonably feasible due to the manner in which the information is maintained;​

26.12 (7) periodically reviewing the financial institution's data retention policy to minimize​

26.13 the unnecessary retention of data;​

26.14 (8) adopting procedures for change management; and​

26.15 (9) implementing policies, procedures, and controls designed to: (i) monitor and log the​

26.16 activity of authorized users; and (ii) detect unauthorized access to, use of, or tampering with​

26.17 customer information by authorized users.​

26.18 Subd. 5. Testing and monitoring. (a) A financial institution must regularly test or​

26.19 otherwise monitor the effectiveness of the safeguards' key controls, systems, and procedures,​

26.20 including the controls, systems, and procedures that detect actual and attempted attacks on,​

26.21 or intrusions into, information systems.​

26.22 (b) For information systems, monitoring and testing must include continuous monitoring​

26.23 or periodic penetration testing and vulnerability assessments. Absent effective continuous​

26.24 monitoring or other systems to detect on an ongoing basis any changes in information​

26.25 systems that may create vulnerabilities, a financial institution must conduct:​

26.26 (1) annual penetration testing of the financial institution's information systems, based​

26.27 on relevant identified risks in accordance with the risk assessment; and​

26.28 (2) vulnerability assessments, including systemic scans or information systems reviews​

26.29 that are reasonably designed to identify publicly known security vulnerabilities in the​

26.30 financial institution's information systems based on the risk assessment, at least every six​

26.31 months, whenever a material change to the financial institution's operations or business​

26.32 arrangements occurs, and whenever the financial institution knows or has reason to know​
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27.1 circumstances exist that may have a material impact on the financial institution's information​

27.2 security program.​

27.3 Subd. 6. Internal policies and procedures. A financial institution must implement​

27.4 policies and procedures to ensure that the financial institution's personnel are able to enact​

27.5 the financial institution's information security program by:​

27.6 (1) providing the financial institution's personnel with security awareness training that​

27.7 is updated as necessary to reflect risks identified by the risk assessment;​

27.8 (2) utilizing qualified information security personnel employed by the financial institution,​

27.9 an affiliate, or a service provider sufficient to manage the financial institution's information​

27.10 security risks and to perform or oversee the information security program;​

27.11 (3) providing information security personnel with security updates and training sufficient​

27.12 to address relevant security risks; and​

27.13 (4) verifying that key information security personnel take steps to maintain current​

27.14 knowledge of changing information security threats and countermeasures.​

27.15 Subd. 7. Provider oversight. A financial institution must oversee service providers by:​

27.16 (1) taking reasonable steps to select and retain service providers that are capable of​

27.17 maintaining appropriate safeguards for the customer information at issue;​

27.18 (2) requiring by contract the financial institution's service providers to implement and​

27.19 maintain appropriate safeguards; and​

27.20 (3) periodically assessing the financial institution's service providers based on the risk​

27.21 the service providers present and the continued adequacy of the service providers' safeguards.​

27.22 Subd. 8. Information security program; evaluation; adjustment. A financial institution​

27.23 must evaluate and adjust the financial institution's information security program to reflect:​

27.24 (1) the results of the testing and monitoring required under subdivision 5; (2) any material​

27.25 changes to the financial institution's operations or business arrangements; (3) the results of​

27.26 risk assessments performed under subdivision 3, paragraph (c); or (4) any other circumstances​

27.27 that the financial institution knows or has reason to know may have a material impact on​

27.28 the financial institution's information security program.​

27.29 Subd. 9. Incident response plan. A financial institution must establish a written incident​

27.30 response plan designed to promptly respond to and recover from any security event materially​

27.31 affecting the confidentiality, integrity, or availability of customer information the financial​

27.32 institution controls. An incident response plan must address:​
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28.1 (1) the goals of the incident response plan;​

28.2 (2) the internal processes to respond to a security event;​

28.3 (3) clear roles, responsibilities, and levels of decision making authority;​

28.4 (4) external and internal communications and information sharing;​

28.5 (5) requirements to remediate any identified weaknesses in information systems and​

28.6 associated controls;​

28.7 (6) documentation and reporting regarding security events and related incident response​

28.8 activities; and​

28.9 (7) evaluation and revision of the incident response plan as necessary after a security​

28.10 event.​

28.11 Subd. 10. Annual report. (a) A financial institution must require the financial institution's​

28.12 qualified individual to report at least annually in writing to the financial institution's board​

28.13 of directors or equivalent governing body. If a board of directors or equivalent governing​

28.14 body does not exist, the report under this subdivision must be timely presented to a senior​

28.15 officer responsible for the financial institution's information security program.​

28.16 (b) The report made under this subdivision must include the following information:​

28.17 (1) the overall status of the financial institution's information security program, including​

28.18 compliance with this chapter and associated administrative rules; and​

28.19 (2) material matters related to the financial institution's information security program,​

28.20 including but not limited to addressing issues pertaining to: (i) the risk assessment; (ii) risk​

28.21 management and control decisions; (iii) service provider arrangements; (iv) testing results;​

28.22 (v) security events or violations and management's responses to the security event or​

28.23 violation; and (vi) recommendations for changes in the information security program.​

28.24 Subd. 11. Business continuity; disaster recovery. A financial institution must establish​

28.25 a written plan addressing business continuity and disaster recovery.​

28.26 Sec. 4. [46A.04] EXCEPTIONS AND EXEMPTIONS.​

28.27 (a) The requirements under section 46A.03, subdivisions 3; 5, paragraph (a); 9; and 10,​

28.28 do not apply to financial institutions that maintain customer information concerning fewer​

28.29 than five thousand consumers.​

28.30 (b) This chapter does not apply to credit unions or federally insured depository​

28.31 institutions.​
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29.1 Sec. 5. [46A.05] ALTERATION OF FEDERAL REGULATION.​

29.2 (a) If an amendment to Code of Federal Regulations, title 16, part 314, results in a​

29.3 complete lack of federal regulations in the area, the version of the state requirements in​

29.4 effect at the time of the amendment remain in effect for two years from the date the​

29.5 amendment becomes effective.​

29.6 (b) During the time period under paragraph (a), the department must adopt replacement​

29.7 administrative rules as necessary and appropriate.​

29.8 Sec. 6. [46A.06] NOTIFICATION EVENT.​

29.9 Subdivision 1. Notification requirement. (a) Upon discovering a notification event as​

29.10 described in subdivision 2, if the notification event involves the information of at least 500​

29.11 consumers, a financial institution must notify the commissioner without undue delay, but​

29.12 no later than 45 days after the date the event is discovered. The notice must be made (1) in​

29.13 a format specified by the commissioner, and (2) electronically on a form located on the​

29.14 department's website.​

29.15 (b) The notice must include:​

29.16 (1) the name and contact information of the reporting financial institution;​

29.17 (2) a description of the types of information involved in the notification event;​

29.18 (3) if possible to determine, the date or date range of the notification event;​

29.19 (4) the number of consumers affected or potentially affected by the notification event;​

29.20 (5) a general description of the notification event; and​

29.21 (6) a statement (i) disclosing whether a law enforcement official has provided the financial​

29.22 institution with a written determination indicating that providing notice to the public regarding​

29.23 the breach would impede a criminal investigation or cause damage to national security, and​

29.24 (ii) if a written determination described under item (i) was provided to the financial​

29.25 institution, providing contact information that enables the commissioner to contact the law​

29.26 enforcement official. A law enforcement official may request an initial delay of up to 45​

29.27 days following the date that notice was provided to the commissioner. The delay may be​

29.28 extended for an additional period of up to 60 days if the law enforcement official seeks an​

29.29 extension in writing. An additional delay may be permitted only if the commissioner​

29.30 determines that public disclosure of a security event continues to impede a criminal​

29.31 investigation or cause damage to national security.​
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30.1 Subd. 2. Notification event treated as discovered. A notification event must be treated​

30.2 as discovered on the first day when the event is known to a financial institution. A financial​

30.3 institution is deemed to have knowledge of a notification event if the event is known to any​

30.4 person, other than the person committing the breach, who is the financial institution's​

30.5 employee, officer, or other agent.​

30.6 Sec. 7. [46A.07] COMMISSIONER'S POWERS.​

30.7 (a) The commissioner has the power to examine and investigate the affairs of any covered​

30.8 financial institution to determine whether the financial institution has been or is engaged in​

30.9 any conduct that violates this chapter. This power is in addition to the powers granted to​

30.10 the commissioner under section 46.01.​

30.11 (b) If the commissioner has reason to believe that a financial institution has been or is​

30.12 engaged in conduct in Minnesota that violates this chapter, the commissioner may take​

30.13 action necessary or appropriate to enforce this chapter.​

30.14 Sec. 8. [46A.08] CONFIDENTIALITY.​

30.15 Subdivision 1. Financial institution information. (a) Any documents, materials, or​

30.16 other information in the control or possession of the department that are furnished by a​

30.17 licensee or a licensee's employee or agent acting on behalf of a financial institution pursuant​

30.18 to section 46A.06 or that are obtained by the commissioner in an investigation or examination​

30.19 pursuant to section 46A.07: (1) are classified as confidential, protected nonpublic, or both;​

30.20 (2) are not subject to subpoena; and (3) are not subject to discovery or admissible in evidence​

30.21 in any private civil action.​

30.22 (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (3), the commissioner is authorized to​

30.23 use the documents, materials, or other information in the furtherance of any regulatory or​

30.24 legal action brought as a part of the commissioner's duties.​

30.25 Subd. 2. Certain testimony prohibited. Neither the commissioner nor any person who​

30.26 received documents, materials, or other information while acting under the authority of the​

30.27 commissioner is permitted or required to testify in a private civil action concerning​

30.28 confidential documents, materials, or information subject to subdivision 1.​

30.29 Subd. 3. Information sharing. In order to assist in the performance of the commissioner's​

30.30 duties under sections 46A.01 to 46A.08, the commissioner may:​

30.31 (1) share documents, materials, or other information, including the confidential and​

30.32 privileged documents, materials, or information subject to subdivision 1, with other state,​
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31.1 federal, and international regulatory agencies, with the Conference of State Bank Supervisors,​

31.2 the Conference of State Bank Supervisors' affiliates or subsidiaries, and with state, federal,​

31.3 and international law enforcement authorities, provided that the recipient agrees in writing​

31.4 to maintain the confidentiality and privileged status of the document, material, or other​

31.5 information;​

31.6 (2) receive documents, materials, or information, including otherwise confidential and​

31.7 privileged documents, materials, or information, from the Conference of State Bank​

31.8 Supervisors, the Conference of State Bank Supervisors' affiliates or subsidiaries, and from​

31.9 regulatory and law enforcement officials of other foreign or domestic jurisdictions, and​

31.10 must maintain as confidential or privileged any document, material, or information received​

31.11 with notice or the understanding that the document, material, or information is confidential​

31.12 or privileged under the laws of the jurisdiction that is the source of the document, material,​

31.13 or information;​

31.14 (3) share documents, materials, or other information subject to subdivision 1 with a​

31.15 third-party consultant or vendor, provided the consultant agrees in writing to maintain the​

31.16 confidentiality and privileged status of the document, material, or other information; and​

31.17 (4) enter into agreements governing the sharing and use of information that are consistent​

31.18 with this subdivision.​

31.19 Subd. 4. No waiver of privilege or confidentiality; information retention. (a) The​

31.20 disclosure of documents, materials, or information to the commissioner under this section​

31.21 or as a result of sharing as authorized in subdivision 3 does not result in a waiver of any​

31.22 applicable privilege or claim of confidentiality in the documents, materials, or information.​

31.23 (b) A document, material, or information disclosed to the commissioner under this section​

31.24 about a cybersecurity event must be retained and preserved by the financial institution for​

31.25 five years.​

31.26 Subd. 5. Certain actions public. Nothing in sections 46A.01 to 46A.08 prohibits the​

31.27 commissioner from releasing final, adjudicated actions that are open to public inspection​

31.28 pursuant to chapter 13 to a database or other clearinghouse service maintained by the​

31.29 Conference of State Bank Supervisors, the Conference of State Bank Supervisors' affiliates,​

31.30 or the Conference of State Bank Supervisors' subsidiaries.​

31.31 Subd. 6. Classification, protection, and use of information by others. Documents,​

31.32 materials, or other information in the possession or control of the Conference of State Bank​

31.33 Supervisors or a third-party consultant pursuant to sections 46A.01 to 46A.08: (1) are​
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32.1 classified as confidential, protected nonpublic, and privileged; (2) are not subject to subpoena;​

32.2 and (3) are not subject to discovery or admissible in evidence in a private civil action.​

32.3 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 47.20, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

32.4 Subd. 2. Definitions. For the purposes of this section the terms defined in this subdivision​

32.5 have the meanings given them:​

32.6 (1) "Actual closing costs" mean reasonable charges for or sums paid for the following,​

32.7 whether or not retained by the mortgagee or lender:​

32.8 (a) Any insurance premiums including but not limited to premiums for title insurance,​

32.9 fire and extended coverage insurance, flood insurance, and private mortgage insurance, but​

32.10 excluding any charges or sums retained by the mortgagee or lender as self-insured retention.​

32.11 (b) Abstracting, title examination and search, and examination of public records.​

32.12 (c) The preparation and recording of any or all documents required by law or custom​

32.13 for closing a conventional or cooperative apartment loan.​

32.14 (d) Appraisal and survey of real property securing a conventional loan or real property​

32.15 owned by a cooperative apartment corporation of which a share or shares of stock or a​

32.16 membership certificate or certificates are to secure a cooperative apartment loan.​

32.17 (e) A single service charge, which includes any consideration, not otherwise specified​

32.18 herein as an "actual closing cost" paid by the borrower and received and retained by the​

32.19 lender for or related to the acquisition, making, refinancing or modification of a conventional​

32.20 or cooperative apartment loan, and also includes any consideration received by the lender​

32.21 for making a borrower's interest rate commitment or for making a borrower's loan​

32.22 commitment, whether or not an actual loan follows the commitment. The term service charge​

32.23 does not include forward commitment fees. The service charge shall not exceed one percent​

32.24 of the original bona fide principal amount of the conventional or cooperative apartment​

32.25 loan, except that in the case of a construction loan, the service charge shall not exceed two​

32.26 percent of the original bona fide principal amount of the loan. That portion of the service​

32.27 charge imposed because the loan is a construction loan shall be itemized and a copy of the​

32.28 itemization furnished the borrower. A lender shall not collect from a borrower the additional​

32.29 one percent service charge permitted for a construction loan if it does not perform the service​

32.30 for which the charge is imposed or if third parties perform and charge the borrower for the​

32.31 service for which the lender has imposed the charge.​

32.32 (f) Charges and fees necessary for or related to the transfer of real or personal property​

32.33 securing a conventional or cooperative apartment loan or the closing of a conventional or​
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33.1 cooperative apartment loan paid by the borrower and received by any party other than the​

33.2 lender.​

33.3 (2) "Contract for deed" means an executory contract for the conveyance of real estate,​

33.4 the original principal amount of which is less than $300,000. A commitment for a contract​

33.5 for deed shall include an executed purchase agreement or earnest money contract wherein​

33.6 the seller agrees to finance any part or all of the purchase price by a contract for deed.​

33.7 (3) "Conventional loan" means a loan or advance of credit, other than a loan or advance​

33.8 of credit made by a credit union or made pursuant to section 334.011, to a noncorporate​

33.9 borrower in an original principal amount of less than $100,000 or equal to the conforming​

33.10 loan limit established by the Federal Housing Finance Agency under the Housing and​

33.11 Recovery Act of 2018, Public Law 110-289, secured by a mortgage upon real property​

33.12 containing one or more residential units or upon which at the time the loan is made it is​

33.13 intended that one or more residential units are to be constructed, and which is not insured​

33.14 or guaranteed by the secretary of housing and urban development, by the administrator of​

33.15 veterans affairs, or by the administrator of the Farmers Home Administration, and which​

33.16 is not made pursuant to the authority granted in subdivision 1, clause (3) or (4). The term​

33.17 mortgage does not include contracts for deed or installment land contracts.​

33.18 (4) "Cooperative apartment loan" means a loan or advance of credit, other than a loan​

33.19 or advance of credit made by a credit union or made pursuant to section 334.011, to a​

33.20 noncorporate borrower in an original principal amount of less than $100,000, secured by a​

33.21 security interest on a share or shares of stock or a membership certificate or certificates​

33.22 issued to a stockholder or member by a cooperative apartment corporation, which may be​

33.23 accompanied by an assignment by way of security of the borrower's interest in the proprietary​

33.24 lease or occupancy agreement in property issued by the cooperative apartment corporation​

33.25 and which is not insured or guaranteed by the secretary of housing and urban development,​

33.26 by the administrator of veterans affairs, or by the administrator of the Farmers Home​

33.27 Administration.​

33.28 (5) "Cooperative apartment corporation" means a corporation or cooperative organized​

33.29 under chapter 308A or 317A, the shareholders or members of which are entitled, solely by​

33.30 reason of their ownership of stock or membership certificates in the corporation or​

33.31 association, to occupy one or more residential units in a building owned or leased by the​

33.32 corporation or association.​

33.33 (6) "Forward commitment fee" means a fee or other consideration paid to a lender for​

33.34 the purpose of securing a binding forward commitment by or through the lender to make​
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34.1 conventional loans to two or more credit worthy purchasers, including future purchasers,​

34.2 of residential units, or a fee or other consideration paid to a lender for the purpose of securing​

34.3 a binding forward commitment by or through the lender to make conventional loans to two​

34.4 or more credit worthy purchasers, including future purchasers, of units to be created out of​

34.5 existing structures pursuant to chapter 515B, or a fee or other consideration paid to a lender​

34.6 for the purpose of securing a binding forward commitment by or through the lender to make​

34.7 cooperative apartment loans to two or more credit worthy purchasers, including future​

34.8 purchasers, of a share or shares of stock or a membership certificate or certificates in a​

34.9 cooperative apartment corporation; provided, that the forward commitment rate of interest​

34.10 does not exceed the maximum lawful rate of interest effective as of the date the forward​

34.11 commitment is issued by the lender.​

34.12 (7) "Borrower's interest rate commitment" means a binding commitment made by a​

34.13 lender to a borrower wherein the lender agrees that, if a conventional or cooperative​

34.14 apartment loan is made following issuance of and pursuant to the commitment, the​

34.15 conventional or cooperative apartment loan shall be made at a rate of interest not in excess​

34.16 of the rate of interest agreed to in the commitment, provided that the rate of interest agreed​

34.17 to in the commitment is not in excess of the maximum lawful rate of interest effective as​

34.18 of the date the commitment is issued by the lender to the borrower.​

34.19 (8) "Borrower's loan commitment" means a binding commitment made by a lender to a​

34.20 borrower wherein the lender agrees to make a conventional or cooperative apartment loan​

34.21 pursuant to the provisions, including the interest rate, of the commitment, provided that the​

34.22 commitment rate of interest does not exceed the maximum lawful rate of interest effective​

34.23 as of the date the commitment is issued and the commitment when issued and agreed to​

34.24 shall constitute a legally binding obligation on the part of the mortgagee or lender to make​

34.25 a conventional or cooperative apartment loan within a specified time period in the future at​

34.26 a rate of interest not exceeding the maximum lawful rate of interest effective as of the date​

34.27 the commitment is issued by the lender to the borrower; provided that a lender who issues​

34.28 a borrower's loan commitment pursuant to the provisions of a forward commitment is​

34.29 authorized to issue the borrower's loan commitment at a rate of interest not to exceed the​

34.30 maximum lawful rate of interest effective as of the date the forward commitment is issued​

34.31 by the lender.​

34.32 (9) "Finance charge" means the total cost of a conventional or cooperative apartment​

34.33 loan including extensions or grant of credit regardless of the characterization of the same​

34.34 and includes interest, finders fees, and other charges levied by a lender directly or indirectly​

34.35 against the person obtaining the conventional or cooperative apartment loan or against a​
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35.1 seller of real property securing a conventional loan or a seller of a share or shares of stock​

35.2 or a membership certificate or certificates in a cooperative apartment corporation securing​

35.3 a cooperative apartment loan, or any other party to the transaction except any actual closing​

35.4 costs and any forward commitment fee. The finance charges plus the actual closing costs​

35.5 and any forward commitment fee, charged by a lender shall include all charges made by a​

35.6 lender other than the principal of the conventional or cooperative apartment loan. The finance​

35.7 charge, with respect to wraparound mortgages, shall be computed based upon the face​

35.8 amount of the wraparound mortgage note, which face amount shall consist of the aggregate​

35.9 of those funds actually advanced by the wraparound lender and the total outstanding principal​

35.10 balances of the prior note or notes which have been made a part of the wraparound mortgage​

35.11 note.​

35.12 (10) "Lender" means any person making a conventional or cooperative apartment loan,​

35.13 or any person arranging financing for a conventional or cooperative apartment loan. The​

35.14 term also includes the holder or assignee at any time of a conventional or cooperative​

35.15 apartment loan.​

35.16 (11) "Loan yield" means the annual rate of return obtained by a lender over the term of​

35.17 a conventional or cooperative apartment loan and shall be computed as the annual percentage​

35.18 rate as computed in accordance with sections 226.5 (b), (c), and (d) of Regulation Z, Code​

35.19 of Federal Regulations, title 12, part 226, but using the definition of finance charge provided​

35.20 for in this subdivision. For purposes of this section, with respect to wraparound mortgages,​

35.21 the rate of interest or loan yield shall be based upon the principal balance set forth in the​

35.22 wraparound note and mortgage and shall not include any interest differential or yield​

35.23 differential between the stated interest rate on the wraparound mortgage and the stated​

35.24 interest rate on the one or more prior mortgages included in the stated loan amount on a​

35.25 wraparound note and mortgage.​

35.26 (12) "Person" means an individual, corporation, business trust, partnership or association​

35.27 or any other legal entity.​

35.28 (13) "Residential unit" means any structure used principally for residential purposes or​

35.29 any portion thereof, and includes a unit in a common interest community, a nonowner​

35.30 occupied residence, and any other type of residence regardless of whether the unit is used​

35.31 as a principal residence, secondary residence, vacation residence, or residence of some other​

35.32 denomination.​
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36.1 (14) "Vendor" means any person or persons who agree to sell real estate and finance​

36.2 any part or all of the purchase price by a contract for deed. The term also includes the holder​

36.3 or assignee at any time of the vendor's interest in a contract for deed.​

36.4 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 47.54, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

36.5 Subd. 2. Approval order. (a) If no objection is received by the commissioner within​

36.6 15 days after the publication of the notice, the commissioner shall issue an order must​

36.7 provide written consent approving the application without a hearing if it is found the​

36.8 commissioner finds that (a): (1) the applicant bank meets current industry standards of​

36.9 capital adequacy, management quality, and asset condition, (b); (2) the establishment of the​

36.10 proposed detached facility will improve improves the quality or increase the availability of​

36.11 banking services in the community to be served,; and (c) (3) the establishment of the proposed​

36.12 detached facility will does not have an undue adverse effect upon the solvency of existing​

36.13 financial institutions in the community to be served.​

36.14 Otherwise, (b) The commissioner shall must deny the an application that does not meet​

36.15 the criteria under paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (3).​

36.16 (c) Any proceedings for judicial review of an order of written consent provided by the​

36.17 commissioner issued under this subdivision without a contested case hearing shall be​

36.18 conducted pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act relating to judicial​

36.19 review of agency decisions, sections 14.63 to 14.69, and the scope of judicial review in​

36.20 such proceedings shall be as provided therein. Nothing herein shall be construed as requiring​

36.21 the commissioner to conduct a contested case hearing if no written objection is timely​

36.22 received by the commissioner from a bank within three miles of the proposed location of​

36.23 the detached facility.​

36.24 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 47.54, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

36.25 Subd. 6. Expiration and extension of order approval. If a facility is not activated​

36.26 within 18 months from the date of the order approval is granted under subdivision 2, the​

36.27 approval order automatically expires. Upon a request of made by the applicant prior to​

36.28 before the automatic expiration date of the order approval expires, the commissioner may​

36.29 grant reasonable extensions of time to the applicant to activate the facility as the​

36.30 commissioner deems necessary. The extensions of time shall not exceed a total of an​

36.31 additional 12 months. If the commissioner's order approval is the subject of an appeal in​

36.32 accordance with chapter 14, the time period referred to in this section for activation of to​
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37.1 activate the facility and any extensions shall begin begins when all appeals or rights of​

37.2 appeal from the commissioner's order approval have concluded or expired.​

37.3 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 47.59, subdivision 2, is amended​

37.4 to read:​

37.5 Subd. 2. Application. (a) Extensions of credit or purchases of extensions of credit by​

37.6 financial institutions under sections 47.20, 47.21, 47.201, 47.204, 47.58, 48.153, 48.185,​

37.7 48.195, 59A.01 to 59A.15, 334.01, 334.011, 334.012, 334.022, 334.06, and 334.061 to​

37.8 334.19 may, but need not, be made according to those sections in lieu of the authority set​

37.9 forth in this section to the extent those sections authorize the financial institution to make​

37.10 extensions of credit or purchase extensions of credit under those sections. If a financial​

37.11 institution elects to make an extension of credit or to purchase an extension of credit under​

37.12 those other sections, the extension of credit or the purchase of an extension of credit is​

37.13 subject to those sections and not this section, except this subdivision, and except as expressly​

37.14 provided in those sections. A financial institution may also charge an organization a rate of​

37.15 interest and any charges agreed to by the organization and may calculate and collect finance​

37.16 and other charges in any manner agreed to by that organization. Except for extensions of​

37.17 credit a financial institution elects to make under section 334.01, 334.011, 334.012, 334.022,​

37.18 334.06, or 334.061 to 334.19, chapter 334 does not apply to extensions of credit made​

37.19 according to this section or the sections listed in this subdivision. This subdivision does not​

37.20 authorize a financial institution to extend credit or purchase an extension of credit under​

37.21 any of the sections listed in this subdivision if the financial institution is not authorized to​

37.22 do so under those sections. A financial institution extending credit under any of the sections​

37.23 listed in this subdivision shall specify in the promissory note, contract, or other loan document​

37.24 the section under which the extension of credit is made.​

37.25 (b) In accordance with section 525 of the federal Depository Institutions Deregulation​

37.26 and Monetary Control Act of 1980, Public Law 96-221, the legislature declares that the​

37.27 state of Minnesota does not want the amendments to the Federal Deposit Insurance Act,​

37.28 United States Code, title 12, section 1811, et seq., the federal National Housing Act, United​

37.29 States Code, title 12, section 1701, et seq., and the Federal Credit Union Act, United States​

37.30 Code, title 12, section 1757, made by sections 521 to 523 of the federal Depository​

37.31 Institutions Deregulation and Monetary Control Act of 1980, Public Law 96-221, prescribing​

37.32 interest rates and preempting state interest rates to apply to consumer loans made in​

37.33 Minnesota. Consumer loans made in Minnesota are subject to the rates established in this​

37.34 section and as otherwise provided by the laws of Minnesota.​
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38.1 (c) A consumer loan is deemed to be made in Minnesota and is subject to this section​

38.2 and other applicable laws of Minnesota if the borrower is a Minnesota resident and the​

38.3 borrower completes the transaction, either personally or electronically, while physically​

38.4 located in Minnesota.​

38.5 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 47.59, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

38.6 Subd. 3. Finance charge for loans. (a) With respect to a loan, including a loan pursuant​

38.7 to open-end credit but excluding open-end credit pursuant to a credit card, a financial​

38.8 institution may contract for and receive a finance charge on the unpaid balance of the​

38.9 principal amount not to exceed the greater of:​

38.10 (1) an annual percentage rate not exceeding 21.75 percent; or​

38.11 (2) the total of:​

38.12 (i) 33 percent per year on that part of the unpaid balance of the principal amount not​

38.13 exceeding $1,350; and​

38.14 (ii) 19 percent per year on that part of the unpaid balance of the principal amount​

38.15 exceeding $1,350.​

38.16 With respect to open-end credit pursuant to a credit card, the financial institution may​

38.17 contract for and receive a finance charge on the unpaid balance of the principal amount at​

38.18 an annual percentage rate not exceeding 18 percent per year or, if the financial institution​

38.19 is an out-of-state bank, as defined in section 48.92, or out-of-state credit union, as defined​

38.20 in section 52.001, the rate allowed by the financial institution's home state, if that rate​

38.21 exceeds 18 percent per year.​

38.22 (b) On a loan where the finance charge is calculated according to the method provided​

38.23 for in paragraph (a), clause (2), the finance charge must be contracted for and earned as​

38.24 provided in that provision or at the single annual percentage rate computed to the nearest​

38.25 one-tenth of one percent that would earn the same total finance charge at maturity of the​

38.26 contract as would be earned by the application of the graduated rates provided in paragraph​

38.27 (a), clause (2), when the debt is paid according to the agreed terms and the calculations are​

38.28 made according to the actuarial method.​

38.29 (c) With respect to a loan, the finance charge must be considered not to exceed the​

38.30 maximum annual percentage rate permitted under this section if the finance charge contracted​

38.31 for and received does not exceed the equivalent of the maximum annual percentage rate​

38.32 calculated in accordance with Code of Federal Regulations, title 12, part 226, but using the​

38.33 definition of finance charge provided in this section.​
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39.1 (d) This subdivision does not limit or restrict the manner of calculating the finance​

39.2 charge, whether by way of add-on, discount, discount points, precomputed charges, single​

39.3 annual percentage rate, variable rate, interest in advance, compounding, average daily​

39.4 balance method, or otherwise, if the annual percentage rate does not exceed that permitted​

39.5 by this section. Discount points permitted by this paragraph and not collected but included​

39.6 in the principal amount must not be included in the amount on which credit insurance​

39.7 premiums are calculated and charged.​

39.8 (e) With respect to a loan secured by real estate, if a finance charge is calculated or​

39.9 collected in advance, or included in the principal amount of the loan, and the borrower​

39.10 prepays the loan in full, the financial institution shall credit the borrower with a refund of​

39.11 the charge to the extent that the annual percentage rate yield on the loan would exceed the​

39.12 maximum rate permitted under paragraph (a), taking into account the prepayment. The​

39.13 refund need not be made if it would be less than $9.00.​

39.14 (f) With respect to all other loans, if the finance charge is calculated or collected in​

39.15 advance, or included in the principal amount of the loan, and the borrower prepays the loan​

39.16 in full, the financial institution shall credit the borrower with a refund of the charge to the​

39.17 extent the annual percentage rate yield on the loan would exceed the annual percentage rate​

39.18 on the loan as originally determined under paragraph (a) and taking into account the​

39.19 prepayment. The refund need not be made if it would be less than $9.00.​

39.20 (g) For the purpose of calculating the refund under this subdivision, the financial​

39.21 institution may assume that the contract was paid before the date of prepayment according​

39.22 to the schedule of payments under the loan and that all payments were paid on their due​

39.23 dates.​

39.24 (h) For loans repayable in substantially equal successive monthly installments, the​

39.25 financial institution may calculate the refund under paragraph (f) as the portion of the finance​

39.26 charge allocable on an actuarial basis to all wholly unexpired payment periods following​

39.27 the date of prepayment, based on the annual percentage rate on the loan as originally​

39.28 determined under paragraph (a), and for the purpose of calculating the refund may assume​

39.29 that all payments are made on the due date.​

39.30 (i) The dollar amounts in this subdivision, subdivision 6, paragraph (a), clause (4), and​

39.31 the dollar amount of original principal amount of closed-end credit in subdivision 6,​

39.32 paragraph (d), shall change periodically, as provided in this section, according to and to the​

39.33 extent of changes in the implicit price deflator for the gross domestic product, 2005 = 100,​

39.34 compiled by the United States Department of Commerce, and hereafter referred to as the​
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40.1 index. The index for December 2011 is the reference base index for adjustments of dollar​

40.2 amounts.​

40.3 (j) The designated dollar amounts shall change on July 1 of each even-numbered year​

40.4 if the percentage of change, calculated to the nearest whole percentage point, between the​

40.5 index for December of the preceding year and the reference base index is ten percent or​

40.6 more; but​

40.7 (1) the portion of the percentage change in the index in excess of a multiple of ten percent​

40.8 shall be disregarded and the dollar amounts shall change only in multiples of ten percent​

40.9 of the amounts appearing in Laws 1995, chapter 202, on May 24, 1995; and​

40.10 (2) the dollar amounts shall not change if the amounts required by this section are those​

40.11 currently in effect pursuant to Laws 1995, chapter 202, as a result of earlier application of​

40.12 this section.​

40.13 (k) If the index is revised, the percentage of change pursuant to this section shall be​

40.14 calculated on the basis of the revised index. If a revision of the index changes the reference​

40.15 base index, a revised reference base index shall be determined by multiplying the reference​

40.16 base index then applicable by the rebasing factor furnished by the Department of Commerce.​

40.17 If the index is superseded, the index referred to in this section is the one represented by the​

40.18 Department of Commerce as reflecting most accurately changes in the purchasing power​

40.19 of the dollar for consumers.​

40.20 (l) The commissioner shall:​

40.21 (1) announce and publish on or before April 30 of each year in which dollar amounts​

40.22 are to change, the changes in dollar amounts required by paragraph (j);​

40.23 (2) announce and publish promptly after the changes occur, changes in the index required​

40.24 by paragraph (k) including, if applicable, the numerical equivalent of the reference base​

40.25 index under a revised reference base index and the designation or title of any index​

40.26 superseding the index; and​

40.27 (3) promptly notify the revisor of statutes in writing of the changes announced and​

40.28 published by the commissioner pursuant to clauses (1) and (2). The revisor shall publish​

40.29 the changes in the next edition of Minnesota Statutes.​

40.30 (m) A person does not violate this chapter with respect to a transaction otherwise​

40.31 complying with this chapter if that person relies on dollar amounts either determined​

40.32 according to paragraph (j), clause (2), or appearing in the last publication of the commissioner​

40.33 announcing the then current dollar amounts.​
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41.1 (n) The adjustments provided in this section shall not be affected unless explicitly​

41.2 provided otherwise by law.​

41.3 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 48.24, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

41.4 Subd. 2. Loan liabilities. Loans not exceeding 25 percent of such capital and surplus​

41.5 made upon first mortgage security on improved real estate in any state in which the bank​

41.6 or a branch established under section 49.411 detached facility of the bank is located, or in​

41.7 any state adjoining a state in which the bank or a branch established under section 49.411​

41.8 detached facility of the bank is located, shall not constitute a liability of the maker of the​

41.9 notes secured by such mortgages within the meaning of the foregoing provision limiting​

41.10 liability, but shall be an actual liability of the maker. These mortgage loans shall be limited​

41.11 to, and in no case exceed, 50 percent of the cash value of the security covered by the​

41.12 mortgage, except mortgage loans guaranteed as provided by the Servicemen's Readjustment​

41.13 Act of 1944, as now or hereafter amended, or for which there is a commitment to so guarantee​

41.14 or for which a conditional guarantee has been issued, which loans shall in no case exceed​

41.15 60 percent of the cash value of the security covered by such mortgage. For the purposes of​

41.16 this subdivision, real estate is improved when substantial and permanent development or​

41.17 construction has contributed substantially to its value, and agricultural land is improved​

41.18 when farm crops are regularly raised on such land without further substantial improvements.​

41.19 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 53B.28, subdivision 18, is amended​

41.20 to read:​

41.21 Subd. 18. Money transmission. (a) "Money transmission" means:​

41.22 (1) selling or issuing payment instruments to a person located in this state;​

41.23 (2) selling or issuing stored value to a person located in this state; or​

41.24 (3) receiving money for transmission from a person located in this state.​

41.25 (b) Money includes payroll processing services. Money does not include the provision​

41.26 solely of online or telecommunications services or network access.​

41.27 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 53B.28, subdivision 25, is amended​

41.28 to read:​

41.29 Subd. 25. Payroll processing services. "Payroll processing services" means receiving​

41.30 money for transmission pursuant to a contract with a person to deliver delivering wages or​

41.31 salaries, make making payment of payroll taxes to state and federal agencies, make making​
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42.1 payments relating to employee benefit plans, or make making distributions of other authorized​

42.2 deductions from wages or salaries, or transmitting other funds on behalf of an employer in​

42.3 connection with transactions related to employees. The term payroll processing services​

42.4 does not include includes an employer performing payroll processing services on the​

42.5 employer's own behalf or on behalf of the employer's affiliate, or a and professional​

42.6 employment organization subject to regulation under other applicable state law organizations.​

42.7 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 53B.29, is amended to read:​

42.8 53B.29 EXEMPTIONS.​

42.9 This chapter does not apply to:​

42.10 (1) an operator of a payment system, to the extent the operator of a payment system​

42.11 provides processing, clearing, or settlement services between or among persons exempted​

42.12 by this section or licensees in connection with wire transfers, credit card transactions, debit​

42.13 card transactions, stored-value transactions, automated clearing house transfers, or similar​

42.14 funds transfers;​

42.15 (2) a person appointed as an agent of a payee to collect and process a payment from a​

42.16 payor to the payee for goods or services, other than money transmission itself, provided to​

42.17 the payor by the payee, provided that:​

42.18 (i) there exists a written agreement between the payee and the agent directing the agent​

42.19 to collect and process payments from payors on the payee's behalf;​

42.20 (ii) the payee holds the agent out to the public as accepting payments for goods or services​

42.21 on the payee's behalf; and​

42.22 (iii) payment for the goods and services is treated as received by the payee upon receipt​

42.23 by the agent so that the payor's obligation is extinguished and there is no risk of loss to the​

42.24 payor if the agent fails to remit the funds to the payee;​

42.25 (3) a person that acts as an intermediary by processing payments between an entity that​

42.26 has directly incurred an outstanding money transmission obligation to a sender, and the​

42.27 sender's designated recipient, provided that the entity:​

42.28 (i) is properly licensed or exempt from licensing requirements under this chapter;​

42.29 (ii) provides a receipt, electronic record, or other written confirmation to the sender​

42.30 identifying the entity as the provider of money transmission in the transaction; and​
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43.1 (iii) bears sole responsibility to satisfy the outstanding money transmission obligation​

43.2 to the sender, including the obligation to make the sender whole in connection with any​

43.3 failure to transmit the funds to the sender's designated recipient;​

43.4 (4) the United States; a department, agency, or instrumentality of the United States; or​

43.5 an agent of the United States;​

43.6 (5) money transmission by the United States Postal Service or by an agent of the United​

43.7 States Postal Service;​

43.8 (6) a state; county; city; any other governmental agency, governmental subdivision, or​

43.9 instrumentality of a state; or the state's agent;​

43.10 (7) a federally insured depository financial institution; bank holding company; office of​

43.11 an international banking corporation; foreign bank that establishes a federal branch pursuant​

43.12 to the International Bank Act, United States Code, title 12, section 3102, as amended or​

43.13 recodified from time to time; corporation organized pursuant to the Bank Service Corporation​

43.14 Act, United States Code, title 12, sections 1861 to 1867, as amended or recodified from​

43.15 time to time; or corporation organized under the Edge Act, United States Code, title 12,​

43.16 sections 611 to 633, as amended or recodified from time to time;​

43.17 (8) electronic funds transfer of governmental benefits for a federal, state, county, or​

43.18 governmental agency by a contractor on behalf of the United States or a department, agency,​

43.19 or instrumentality thereof, or on behalf of a state or governmental subdivision, agency, or​

43.20 instrumentality thereof;​

43.21 (9) a board of trade designated as a contract market under the federal Commodity​

43.22 Exchange Act, United States Code, title 7, sections 1 to 25, as amended or recodified from​

43.23 time to time; or a person that in the ordinary course of business provides clearance and​

43.24 settlement services for a board of trade to the extent of its operation as or for a board;​

43.25 (10) a registered futures commission merchant under the federal commodities laws, to​

43.26 the extent of the registered futures commission merchant's operation as a merchant;​

43.27 (11) a person registered as a securities broker-dealer under federal or state securities​

43.28 laws, to the extent of the person's operation as a securities broker-dealer;​

43.29 (12) an individual employed by a licensee, authorized delegate, or any person exempted​

43.30 from the licensing requirements under this chapter when acting within the scope of​

43.31 employment and under the supervision of the licensee, authorized delegate, or exempted​

43.32 person as an employee and not as an independent contractor;​
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44.1 (13) a person expressly appointed as a third-party service provider to or agent of an​

44.2 entity exempt under clause (7), solely to the extent that:​

44.3 (i) the service provider or agent is engaging in money transmission on behalf of and​

44.4 pursuant to a written agreement with the exempt entity that sets forth the specific functions​

44.5 that the service provider or agent is to perform; and​

44.6 (ii) the exempt entity assumes all risk of loss and all legal responsibility for satisfying​

44.7 the outstanding money transmission obligations owed to purchasers and holders of the​

44.8 outstanding money transmission obligations upon receipt of the purchaser's or holder's​

44.9 money or monetary value by the service provider or agent; or​

44.10 (14) payroll processing services providers; or​

44.11 (14) (15) a person exempt by regulation or order if the commissioner finds that (i) the​

44.12 exemption is in the public interest, and (ii) the regulation of the person is not necessary for​

44.13 the purposes of this chapter.​

44.14 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

44.15 read:​

44.16 Subd. 15a. Nationwide Multistate Licensing System and Registry. "Nationwide​

44.17 Multistate Licensing System and Registry" has the meaning given in section 58A.02,​

44.18 subdivision 8.​

44.19 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58.02, subdivision 18, is amended to read:​

44.20 Subd. 18. Residential mortgage loan. "Residential mortgage loan" means a loan secured​

44.21 primarily by either: (1) a mortgage, deed of trust, or other equivalent security interest on​

44.22 residential real property estate; or (2) certificates of stock or other evidence of ownership​

44.23 interest in and proprietary lease from corporations, partnerships, or other forms of business​

44.24 organizations formed for the purpose of cooperative ownership of residential real property​

44.25 estate.​

44.26 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58.02, subdivision 21, is amended to read:​

44.27 Subd. 21. Residential real estate. "Residential real estate" means real property located​

44.28 in Minnesota upon which a dwelling, as defined in United States Code, title 15, section​

44.29 1602(w), is constructed or is intended to be constructed, whether or not the owner occupies​

44.30 the real property.​
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45.1 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58.04, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

45.2 Subdivision 1. Residential mortgage originator licensing requirements. (a) No person​

45.3 shall act as a residential mortgage originator, or make residential mortgage loans without​

45.4 first obtaining a license from the commissioner according to the licensing procedures​

45.5 provided in this chapter.​

45.6 (b) A licensee must be either a partnership, limited liability partnership, association,​

45.7 limited liability company, corporation, or other form of business organization, and must​

45.8 have and maintain a surety bond in the amounts prescribed under section 58.08.​

45.9 (c) The following persons are exempt from the residential mortgage originator licensing​

45.10 requirements:​

45.11 (1) a person who is not in the business of making residential mortgage loans and who​

45.12 makes no more than three such loans, with its own funds, during any 12-month period;​

45.13 (2) a financial institution as defined in section 58.02, subdivision 10;​

45.14 (3) an agency of the federal government, or of a state or municipal government;​

45.15 (4) an employee or employer pension plan making loans only to its participants;​

45.16 (5) a person acting in a fiduciary capacity, such as a trustee or receiver, as a result of a​

45.17 specific order issued by a court of competent jurisdiction;​

45.18 (6) a person who is a bona fide nonprofit organization that meets all the criteria required​

45.19 by the federal Secure and Fair Enforcement Licensing Act in Regulation H, adopted pursuant​

45.20 to Code of Federal Regulations, title 12, part 1008, subpart B, section 1008.103 (e)(7)(ii);​

45.21 (6) (7) a person exempted by order of the commissioner; or​

45.22 (7) (8) a manufactured home dealer, as defined in section 327B.01, subdivision 7 or 11b,​

45.23 or a manufactured home salesperson, as defined in section 327B.01, subdivision 19, that:​

45.24 (i) performs only clerical or support duties in connection with assisting a consumer in​

45.25 filling out a residential mortgage loan application but does not in any way offer or negotiate​

45.26 loan terms, or hold themselves out as a housing counselor;​

45.27 (ii) does not receive any direct or indirect compensation or gain from any individual or​

45.28 company for assisting consumers with a residential mortgage loan application, in excess of​

45.29 the customary salary or commission from the employer in connection with the sales​

45.30 transaction; and​

45.31 (iii) discloses to the borrower in writing:​
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46.1 (A) if a corporate affiliation with a lender exists;​

46.2 (B) if a corporate affiliation with a lender exists, that the lender cannot guarantee the​

46.3 lowest or best terms available and the consumer has the right to choose their lender; and​

46.4 (C) if a corporate affiliation with a lender exists, the name of at least one unaffiliated​

46.5 lender.​

46.6 (d) For the purposes of this subdivision, "housing counselor" means an individual who​

46.7 provides assistance and guidance about residential mortgage loan terms including rates,​

46.8 fees, or other costs.​

46.9 (e) The disclosures required under paragraph (c), clause (7) (8), item (iii), must be made​

46.10 on a one-page form prescribed by the commissioner and developed in consultation with the​

46.11 Manufactured and Modular Home Association. The form must be posted on the department's​

46.12 website.​

46.13 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58.04, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

46.14 Subd. 2. Residential mortgage servicer licensing requirements. (a) Beginning August​

46.15 1, 1999, no person shall engage in activities or practices that fall within the definition of​

46.16 "servicing a residential mortgage loan" under section 58.02, subdivision 22, without first​

46.17 obtaining a license from the commissioner according to the licensing procedures provided​

46.18 in this chapter.​

46.19 (b) The following persons are exempt from the residential mortgage servicer licensing​

46.20 requirements:​

46.21 (1) a person licensed as a residential mortgage originator;​

46.22 (2) an employee of one licensee or one person holding a certificate of exemption based​

46.23 on an exemption under this subdivision;​

46.24 (3) a person servicing loans made with its own funds, if no more than three such loans​

46.25 are made in any 12-month period;​

46.26 (4) a financial institution as defined in section 58.02, subdivision 10;​

46.27 (5) an agency of the federal government, or of a state or municipal government;​

46.28 (6) an employee or employer pension plan making loans only to its participants;​

46.29 (7) a person acting in a fiduciary capacity, such as a trustee or receiver, as a result of a​

46.30 specific order issued by a court of competent jurisdiction; or​
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47.1 (8) a person who is a bona fide nonprofit organization that meets all the criteria required​

47.2 by the federal Secure and Fair Enforcement Licensing Act in Regulation H, Code of Federal​

47.3 Regulations, title 12, part 1008, subpart B, section 1008.103 (e)(7)(ii); or​

47.4 (8) (9) a person exempted by order of the commissioner.​

47.5 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58.05, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

47.6 Subdivision 1. Exempt person. (a) An exempt person, as defined by section 58.04,​

47.7 subdivision 1, paragraph (c), and subdivision 2, paragraph (b), is exempt from the licensing​

47.8 requirements of this chapter, but is subject to all other provisions of this chapter.​

47.9 (b) Paragraph (a) does not apply to an institution covered under section 58.04, subdivision​

47.10 4, even if the institution is otherwise an exempt person.​

47.11 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58.05, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

47.12 Subd. 3. Certificate of exemption. A person (a) The following persons must obtain a​

47.13 certificate of exemption from the commissioner to qualify as an exempt person under section​

47.14 58.04, subdivision 1, paragraph (c),: (1) a financial institution under section 58.04,​

47.15 subdivision 1, paragraph (c), clause (2),; (2) a bona fide nonprofit organization under section​

47.16 58.04, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), clause (6); or (3) a person exempted by order of the​

47.17 commissioner under section 58.04, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), clause (6); or (7).​

47.18 (b) The following persons must obtain a certificate of exemption from the commissioner​

47.19 to qualify as an exempt person under section 58.04, subdivision 2, paragraph (b), as: (1) a​

47.20 financial institution under section 58.04, subdivision 2, paragraph (b), clause (4),; (2) a bona​

47.21 fide nonprofit organization under section 58.04, subdivision 2, paragraph (b), clause (8); or​

47.22 (3) a person exempted by order of the commissioner under clause (8) (9).​

47.23 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

47.24 read:​

47.25 Subd. 5. Background checks. In connection with an application for a residential mortgage​

47.26 loan originator or servicer license, any person in control of an applicant must, at a minimum,​

47.27 provide the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System and Registry information concerning​

47.28 the person's identity, including:​

47.29 (1) fingerprints for submission to the Federal Bureau of Investigation and a governmental​

47.30 agency or entity authorized to receive the information for a state, national, and international​

47.31 criminal history background check; and​

47​Article 2 Sec. 25.​

COUNSEL OS/SC SCS4097A-1​03/21/24 03:21 pm ​



48.1 (2) personal history and experience in a form prescribed by the Nationwide Multistate​

48.2 Licensing System and Registry, including the submission of authorization for the Nationwide​

48.3 Multistate Licensing System and Registry and the commissioner to obtain:​

48.4 (i) an independent credit report obtained from a consumer reporting agency described​

48.5 in United States Code, title 15, section 1681a(p); and​

48.6 (ii) information related to administrative, civil, or criminal findings by a governmental​

48.7 jurisdiction.​

48.8 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

48.9 read:​

48.10 Subd. 6. Requesting and distributing criminal information; agency. For the purposes​

48.11 of this section and in order to reduce the points of contact the Federal Bureau of Investigation​

48.12 may have to maintain for purposes of subdivision 5, clauses (1) and (2), the commissioner​

48.13 may use the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System and Registry as a channeling agent​

48.14 to request information from and distribute information to the United States Department of​

48.15 Justice or any governmental agency.​

48.16 Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

48.17 read:​

48.18 Subd. 7. Requesting and distributing noncriminal information; agency. For the​

48.19 purposes of this section and in order to reduce the points of contact the commissioner may​

48.20 have to maintain for purposes of subdivision 5, clause (2), the commissioner may use the​

48.21 Nationwide Multistate Licensing System and Registry as a channeling agent to request and​

48.22 distribute information from and to any source, as directed by the commissioner.​

48.23 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58.08, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:​

48.24 Subd. 1a. Residential mortgage originators. (a) An applicant for a residential mortgage​

48.25 originator license must file with the department a surety bond in the amount of $100,000​

48.26 $125,000, issued by an insurance company authorized to do so in this state. The bond must​

48.27 cover all mortgage loan originators who are employees or independent agents of the applicant.​

48.28 The bond must be available for the recovery of expenses, fines, and fees levied by the​

48.29 commissioner under this chapter and for losses incurred by borrowers as a result of a​

48.30 licensee's noncompliance with the requirements of this chapter, sections 325D.43 to 325D.48,​

48.31 and 325F.67 to 325F.69, or breach of contract relating to activities regulated by this chapter.​
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49.1 (b) The bond must be submitted with the originator's license application and evidence​

49.2 of continued coverage must be submitted with each renewal. Any change in the bond must​

49.3 be submitted for approval by the commissioner, within ten days of its execution. The bond​

49.4 or a substitute bond shall remain in effect during all periods of licensing.​

49.5 (c) Upon filing of the mortgage call report as required by section 58A.17 58.141, a​

49.6 licensee shall maintain or increase its the licensee's surety bond to reflect the total dollar​

49.7 amount of the closed residential mortgage loans originated in this state in the preceding​

49.8 year according to the table in this paragraph. A licensee may decrease its the licensee's​

49.9 surety bond according to the table in this paragraph if the surety bond required is less than​

49.10 the amount of the surety bond on file with the department.​

Surety Bond Required​49.11 Dollar Amount of Closed Residential​
49.12 Mortgage Loans​

$100,000 $125,000​49.13 $0 to $5,000,000 $10,000,000​

$125,000 $150,000​
49.14 $5,000,000.01 $10,000,000.01 to $10,000,000​
49.15 $25,000,000​

$150,000 $200,000​
49.16 $10,000,000.01 $25,000,000.01 to​
49.17 $25,000,000 $100,000,000​

$200,000 $300,000​49.18 Over $25,000,000 $100,000,000​

49.19 For purposes of this subdivision, "mortgage loan originator" has the meaning given the​

49.20 term in section 58A.02, subdivision 7.​

49.21 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58.08, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

49.22 Subd. 2. Residential mortgage servicers. (a) A residential mortgage servicer licensee​

49.23 shall continuously maintain a surety bond or irrevocable letter of credit in an amount not​

49.24 less than $100,000 $125,000 in a form approved by the commissioner, issued by an insurance​

49.25 company or bank authorized to do so in this state. The bond or irrevocable letter of credit​

49.26 must be available for the recovery of expenses, fines, and fees levied by the commissioner​

49.27 under this chapter, and for losses or damages incurred by borrowers or other aggrieved​

49.28 parties as the result of a licensee's noncompliance with the requirements of this chapter,​

49.29 sections 325D.43 to 325D.48, and 325F.67 to 325F.69, or breach of contract relating to​

49.30 activities regulated by this chapter.​

49.31 (b) The bond or irrevocable letter of credit must be submitted with the servicer's license​

49.32 application and evidence of continued coverage must be submitted with each renewal. Any​

49.33 change in the bond or letter of credit must be submitted for approval by the commissioner,​

49.34 within ten days of its execution. The bond or a substitute bond must remain in effect during​

49.35 all periods of a license.​
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50.1 (c) Upon filing the mortgage call report under section 58.141, a licensee must maintain​

50.2 or increase the licensee's surety bond to reflect the total dollar amount of unpaid principal​

50.3 balance for residential mortgage loans serviced in Minnesota during the preceding quarter​

50.4 according to the table in this paragraph. A licensee may decrease the licensee's surety bond​

50.5 according to the table in this paragraph if the surety bond required is less than the amount​

50.6 of the surety bond on file with the department.​

Surety Bond Required​50.7 Dollar Amount of Unpaid Principal Balance​
50.8 for Serviced Residential Mortgage Loans​

$125,000​50.9 $0 to $10,000,000​

$200,000​50.10 $10,000,000.01 to $50,000,000​

$300,000​50.11 Over $50,000,000​

50.12 Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58.10, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

50.13 Subd. 3. Consumer education account; money credited and appropriated. (a) The​

50.14 consumer education account is created in the special revenue fund. Money credited to this​

50.15 account may be appropriated to the commissioner for the purpose of making to: (1) make​

50.16 grants to programs and campaigns designed to help consumers avoid being victimized by​

50.17 unscrupulous lenders and mortgage brokers; and (2) pay for expenses the commissioner​

50.18 incurs to provide outreach and education related to affordable housing and home ownership​

50.19 education. The commissioner must give preference shall be given for grants to programs​

50.20 and campaigns designed by coalitions of public sector, private sector, and nonprofit agencies,​

50.21 institutions, companies, and organizations.​

50.22 (b) A sum sufficient is appropriated annually from the consumer education account to​

50.23 the commissioner to make the grants described in paragraph (a).​

50.24 Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58.115, is amended to read:​

50.25 58.115 EXAMINATIONS.​

50.26 The commissioner has under this chapter the same powers with respect to examinations​

50.27 that the commissioner has under section 46.04. In addition to the powers under section​

50.28 46.04, the commissioner may accept examination reports prepared by a state agency that​

50.29 has comparable supervisory powers and examination procedures. The authority under section​

50.30 49.411, subdivision 7, applies to examinations of institutions under this chapter.​
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51.1 Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58.13, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

51.2 Subdivision 1. Generally. (a) No person acting as a residential mortgage originator or​

51.3 servicer, including a person required to be licensed under this chapter, and no person exempt​

51.4 from the licensing requirements of this chapter under section 58.04, except as otherwise​

51.5 provided in paragraph (b), shall:​

51.6 (1) fail to maintain a trust account to hold trust funds received in connection with a​

51.7 residential mortgage loan;​

51.8 (2) fail to deposit all trust funds into a trust account within three business days of receipt;​

51.9 commingle trust funds with funds belonging to the licensee or exempt person; or use trust​

51.10 account funds for any purpose other than that for which they are received;​

51.11 (3) unreasonably delay the processing of a residential mortgage loan application, or the​

51.12 closing of a residential mortgage loan. For purposes of this clause, evidence of unreasonable​

51.13 delay includes but is not limited to those factors identified in section 47.206, subdivision​

51.14 7, paragraph (d);​

51.15 (4) fail to disburse funds according to its contractual or statutory obligations;​

51.16 (5) fail to perform in conformance with its written agreements with borrowers, investors,​

51.17 other licensees, or exempt persons;​

51.18 (6) charge a fee for a product or service where the product or service is not actually​

51.19 provided, or misrepresent the amount charged by or paid to a third party for a product or​

51.20 service;​

51.21 (7) fail to comply with sections 345.31 to 345.60, the Minnesota unclaimed property​

51.22 law;​

51.23 (8) violate any provision of any other applicable state or federal law regulating residential​

51.24 mortgage loans including, without limitation, sections 47.20 to 47.208 and 47.58;​

51.25 (9) make or cause to be made, directly or indirectly, any false, deceptive, or misleading​

51.26 statement or representation in connection with a residential loan transaction including,​

51.27 without limitation, a false, deceptive, or misleading statement or representation regarding​

51.28 the borrower's ability to qualify for any mortgage product;​

51.29 (10) conduct residential mortgage loan business under any name other than that under​

51.30 which the license or certificate of exemption was issued;​

51.31 (11) compensate, whether directly or indirectly, coerce or intimidate an appraiser for​

51.32 the purpose of influencing the independent judgment of the appraiser with respect to the​
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52.1 value of real estate that is to be covered by a residential mortgage or is being offered as​

52.2 security according to an application for a residential mortgage loan;​

52.3 (12) issue any document indicating conditional qualification or conditional approval for​

52.4 a residential mortgage loan, unless the document also clearly indicates that final qualification​

52.5 or approval is not guaranteed, and may be subject to additional review;​

52.6 (13) make or assist in making any residential mortgage loan with the intent that the loan​

52.7 will not be repaid and that the residential mortgage originator will obtain title to the property​

52.8 through foreclosure;​

52.9 (14) provide or offer to provide for a borrower, any brokering or lending services under​

52.10 an arrangement with a person other than a licensee or exempt person, provided that a person​

52.11 may rely upon a written representation by the residential mortgage originator that it is in​

52.12 compliance with the licensing requirements of this chapter;​

52.13 (15) claim to represent a licensee or exempt person, unless the person is an employee​

52.14 of the licensee or exempt person or unless the person has entered into a written agency​

52.15 agreement with the licensee or exempt person;​

52.16 (16) fail to comply with the record keeping and notification requirements identified in​

52.17 section 58.14 or fail to abide by the affirmations made on the application for licensure;​

52.18 (17) represent that the licensee or exempt person is acting as the borrower's agent after​

52.19 providing the nonagency disclosure required by section 58.15, unless the disclosure is​

52.20 retracted and the licensee or exempt person complies with all of the requirements of section​

52.21 58.16;​

52.22 (18) make, provide, or arrange for a residential mortgage loan that is of a lower investment​

52.23 grade if the borrower's credit score or, if the originator does not utilize credit scoring or if​

52.24 a credit score is unavailable, then comparable underwriting data, indicates that the borrower​

52.25 may qualify for a residential mortgage loan, available from or through the originator, that​

52.26 is of a higher investment grade, unless the borrower is informed that the borrower may​

52.27 qualify for a higher investment grade loan with a lower interest rate and/or lower discount​

52.28 points, and consents in writing to receipt of the lower investment grade loan;​

52.29 For purposes of this section, "investment grade" refers to a system of categorizing​

52.30 residential mortgage loans in which the loans are distinguished by interest rate or discount​

52.31 points or both charged to the borrower, which vary according to the degree of perceived​

52.32 risk of default based on factors such as the borrower's credit, including credit score and​
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53.1 credit patterns, income and employment history, debt ratio, loan-to-value ratio, and prior​

53.2 bankruptcy or foreclosure;​

53.3 (19) make, publish, disseminate, circulate, place before the public, or cause to be made,​

53.4 directly or indirectly, any advertisement or marketing materials of any type, or any statement​

53.5 or representation relating to the business of residential mortgage loans that is false, deceptive,​

53.6 or misleading;​

53.7 (20) advertise loan types or terms that are not available from or through the licensee or​

53.8 exempt person on the date advertised, or on the date specified in the advertisement. For​

53.9 purposes of this clause, advertisement includes, but is not limited to, a list of sample mortgage​

53.10 terms, including interest rates, discount points, and closing costs provided by licensees or​

53.11 exempt persons to a print or electronic medium that presents the information to the public;​

53.12 (21) use or employ phrases, pictures, return addresses, geographic designations, or other​

53.13 means that create the impression, directly or indirectly, that a licensee or other person is a​

53.14 governmental agency, or is associated with, sponsored by, or in any manner connected to,​

53.15 related to, or endorsed by a governmental agency, if that is not the case;​

53.16 (22) violate section 82.77, relating to table funding;​

53.17 (23) make, provide, or arrange for a residential mortgage loan all or a portion of the​

53.18 proceeds of which are used to fully or partially pay off a "special mortgage" unless the​

53.19 borrower has obtained a written certification from an authorized independent loan counselor​

53.20 that the borrower has received counseling on the advisability of the loan transaction. For​

53.21 purposes of this section, "special mortgage" means a residential mortgage loan originated,​

53.22 subsidized, or guaranteed by or through a state, tribal, or local government, or nonprofit​

53.23 organization, that bears one or more of the following nonstandard payment terms which​

53.24 substantially benefit the borrower: (i) payments vary with income; (ii) payments of principal​

53.25 or interest are not required or can be deferred under specified conditions; (iii) principal or​

53.26 interest is forgivable under specified conditions; or (iv) where no interest or an annual​

53.27 interest rate of two percent or less is charged in connection with the loan. For purposes of​

53.28 this section, "authorized independent loan counselor" means a nonprofit, third-party​

53.29 individual or organization providing home buyer education programs, foreclosure prevention​

53.30 services, mortgage loan counseling, or credit counseling certified by the United States​

53.31 Department of Housing and Urban Development, the Minnesota Home Ownership Center,​

53.32 the Minnesota Mortgage Foreclosure Prevention Association, AARP, or NeighborWorks​

53.33 America;​
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54.1 (24) make, provide, or arrange for a residential mortgage loan without verifying the​

54.2 borrower's reasonable ability to pay the scheduled payments of the following, as applicable:​

54.3 principal; interest; real estate taxes; homeowner's insurance, assessments, and mortgage​

54.4 insurance premiums. For loans in which the interest rate may vary, the reasonable ability​

54.5 to pay shall be determined based on a fully indexed rate and a repayment schedule which​

54.6 achieves full amortization over the life of the loan. For all residential mortgage loans, the​

54.7 borrower's income and financial resources must be verified by tax returns, payroll receipts,​

54.8 bank records, or other similarly reliable documents.​

54.9 Nothing in this section shall be construed to limit a mortgage originator's or exempt​

54.10 person's ability to rely on criteria other than the borrower's income and financial resources​

54.11 to establish the borrower's reasonable ability to repay the residential mortgage loan, including​

54.12 criteria established by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs or the United States​

54.13 Department of Housing and Urban Development for interest rate reduction refinancing loans​

54.14 or streamline loans, or criteria authorized or promulgated by the Federal National Mortgage​

54.15 Association or Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporation; however, such other criteria​

54.16 must be verified through reasonably reliable methods and documentation. The mortgage​

54.17 originator's analysis of the borrower's reasonable ability to repay may include, but is not​

54.18 limited to, consideration of the following items, if verified: (1) the borrower's current and​

54.19 expected income; (2) current and expected cash flow; (3) net worth and other financial​

54.20 resources other than the consumer's equity in the dwelling that secures the loan; (4) current​

54.21 financial obligations; (5) property taxes and insurance; (6) assessments on the property; (7)​

54.22 employment status; (8) credit history; (9) debt-to-income ratio; (10) credit scores; (11) tax​

54.23 returns; (12) pension statements; and (13) employment payment records, provided that no​

54.24 mortgage originator shall disregard facts and circumstances that indicate that the financial​

54.25 or other information submitted by the consumer is inaccurate or incomplete. A statement​

54.26 by the borrower to the residential mortgage originator or exempt person of the borrower's​

54.27 income and resources or sole reliance on any single item listed above is not sufficient to​

54.28 establish the existence of the income or resources when verifying the reasonable ability to​

54.29 pay;​

54.30 (25) engage in "churning." As used in this section, "churning" means knowingly or​

54.31 intentionally making, providing, or arranging for a residential mortgage loan when the new​

54.32 residential mortgage loan does not provide a reasonable, tangible net benefit to the borrower​

54.33 considering all of the circumstances, including the terms of both the new and refinanced​

54.34 loans, the cost of the new loan, and the borrower's circumstances;. In order to demonstrate​

54.35 a reasonable, tangible net benefit to the borrower, the circumstances must be documented​
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55.1 in writing and must be signed by the borrower and lender three days before the closing date.​

55.2 The written analysis must, with respect to the prior loan and the new loan, document the:​

55.3 (i) origination date; (ii) loan amount; (iii) loan balance; (iv) loan term; (v) loan program;​

55.4 (vi) type of loan; (vii) interest rate; (viii) monthly amount of principal and interest paid; (ix)​

55.5 monthly amount of private mortgage insurance paid; (x) loan purpose; (xi) loan origination​

55.6 cost; (xii) cash to borrower, if applicable; and (xiii) time to recoup the loan cost, if applicable,​

55.7 expressed in months;​

55.8 (26) the first time a residential mortgage originator orally informs a borrower of the​

55.9 anticipated or actual periodic payment amount for a first-lien residential mortgage loan​

55.10 which does not include an amount for payment of property taxes and hazard insurance, the​

55.11 residential mortgage originator must inform the borrower that an additional amount will be​

55.12 due for taxes and insurance and, if known, disclose to the borrower the amount of the​

55.13 anticipated or actual periodic payments for property taxes and hazard insurance. This same​

55.14 oral disclosure must be made each time the residential mortgage originator orally informs​

55.15 the borrower of a different anticipated or actual periodic payment amount change from the​

55.16 amount previously disclosed. A residential mortgage originator need not make this disclosure​

55.17 concerning a refinancing loan if the residential mortgage originator knows that the borrower's​

55.18 existing loan that is anticipated to be refinanced does not have an escrow account; or​

55.19 (27) make, provide, or arrange for a residential mortgage loan, other than a reverse​

55.20 mortgage pursuant to United States Code, title 15, chapter 41, if the borrower's compliance​

55.21 with any repayment option offered pursuant to the terms of the loan will result in negative​

55.22 amortization during any six-month period.​

55.23 (b) Paragraph (a), clauses (24) through (27), do not apply to a state or federally chartered​

55.24 bank, savings bank, or credit union, an institution chartered by Congress under the Farm​

55.25 Credit Act, or to a person making, providing, or arranging a residential mortgage loan​

55.26 originated or purchased by a state agency or a tribal or local unit of government. This​

55.27 paragraph supersedes any inconsistent provision of this chapter.​

55.28 Sec. 33. [58.141] REPORTS AND UNIQUE IDENTIFIER.​

55.29 Subdivision 1. Mortgage call reports. A residential mortgage originator or servicer​

55.30 must submit reports of condition to the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System and Registry.​

55.31 Reports submitted under this subdivision must be in the form and contain the information​

55.32 required by the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System and Registry.​

55.33 Subd. 2. Report to Nationwide Multistate Licensing System and Registry. Subject​

55.34 to section 58A.14, the commissioner must regularly report violations of this chapter, as well​
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56.1 as enforcement actions and other relevant information, to the Nationwide Multistate Licensing​

56.2 System and Registry.​

56.3 Subd. 3. Unique identifier; display. The unique identifier of any person originating a​

56.4 residential mortgage loan must be clearly displayed on all residential mortgage loan​

56.5 application forms, solicitations, or advertisements, including business cards or websites,​

56.6 and any other documents the commissioner establishes by rule or order.​

56.7 Sec. 34. [60M.01] DEFINITIONS.​

56.8 Subdivision 1. Terms. For the purposes of this chapter, the terms defined in this section​

56.9 have the meanings given them.​

56.10 Subd. 2. Bail bond agency. "Bail bond agency" means an agency contracted by a surety​

56.11 to supervise or otherwise manage the bail bond business written in Minnesota by producers​

56.12 appointed by the surety.​

56.13 Subd. 3. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of commerce.​

56.14 Subd. 4. Department. "Department" means the Department of Commerce.​

56.15 Subd. 5. Negotiate. "Negotiate" means the act of conferring directly with or offering​

56.16 advice directly to a purchaser or prospective purchaser of a particular insurance contract​

56.17 concerning any of the substantive benefits, terms, or conditions of the contract, if the person​

56.18 engaged in the act either sells insurance or obtains insurance from insurers for purchasers.​

56.19 Subd. 6. Net premium. "Net premium" means a bond's premium, less any commission​

56.20 agreed to in advance and in writing between a producer and the surety or bail bond agency.​

56.21 Subd. 7. Personal information. "Personal information" has the meaning given in section​

56.22 72A.491, subdivision 17.​

56.23 Subd. 8. Privileged information. "Privileged information" has the meaning given in​

56.24 section 72A.491, subdivision 19.​

56.25 Subd. 9. Producer. "Producer" means a person that works for a supervising bail bond​

56.26 agency and is appointed by a surety to execute or countersign bail bonds for the surety in​

56.27 connection with judicial proceedings.​

56.28 Subd. 10. Sell. "Sell" means to exchange on behalf of an insurance company an insurance​

56.29 contract by any means for money or money's equivalent.​

56.30 Subd. 11. Solicit. "Solicit" means: (1) any written or printed presentation or advertising​

56.31 made by mail or other publication which implies that an individual is licensed to sell bail​
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57.1 bonds; (2) an oral presentation or advertising in person or by means of telephone, radio, or​

57.2 television, which implies that an individual is licensed to sell bail bonds; (3) an activity in​

57.3 arranging for bail which results in compensation or anything of value to the individual​

57.4 conducting that activity; or (4) an attempt to sell or ask or urge a person to apply for a bail​

57.5 bond from a surety.​

57.6 Subd. 12. Surety. "Surety" means a domestic, foreign, or alien insurance company that​

57.7 is licensed to transact surety business in Minnesota under section 60A.06.​

57.8 Sec. 35. [60M.02] PREMIUMS.​

57.9 Subdivision 1. Premiums; generally. (a) Regardless of whether a producer is an​

57.10 employee or an independent contractor, a producer must charge the approved, filed rate of​

57.11 the surety being used to post a bail bond. Except as provided in subdivision 2 or in a situation​

57.12 where cash bail is set by the court under subdivision 5, the rate charged must not be less​

57.13 than the surety's filed rate.​

57.14 (b) A producer is prohibited from providing a premium rebate.​

57.15 (c) A producer may charge travel or other related fees, provided the producer complies​

57.16 with section 60K.46, subdivision 2.​

57.17 Subd. 2. Minimum premium. A producer must charge a minimum premium of $100.​

57.18 Any premium amount must be included in the surety's rate filing with the commissioner.​

57.19 Subd. 3. Bail bonds less than $10,000. (a) A producer is prohibited from posting a bail​

57.20 bond with a penal sum of $10,000 or less unless the producer has:​

57.21 (1) received at least 50 percent of the total premium owed under the surety's rate filing;​

57.22 (2) provided the premium's payer with a receipt that indicates the premium paid; and​

57.23 (3) if the payment in full is not made before posting the bond, obtained a promissory​

57.24 note from the premium payer that requires the premium payer to pay the unpaid premium​

57.25 in full within 120 days after the date the bond is posted.​

57.26 (b) A promissory note issued under paragraph (a), clause (3), must be made on a surety​

57.27 or bail bond agency form that has been approved by the commissioner. The maximum​

57.28 interest rate allowed in a promissory note under this subdivision is six percent. A promissory​

57.29 note may authorize collection of the actual costs incurred to collect the premium, including​

57.30 reasonable attorney fees, in the event of a default.​

57.31 Subd. 4. Bail bonds greater than $10,000. (a) A producer is prohibited from posting​

57.32 a bail bond with a penal sum greater than $10,000 unless the producer has:​
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58.1 (1) received at least 30 percent of the total premium owed under the surety's rate filing;​

58.2 (2) provided the premium's payer with a receipt that indicates the premium paid; and​

58.3 (3) if the payment in full is not made before posting the bond, obtained a promissory​

58.4 note from the premium payer that requires the premium payer to pay the unpaid premium​

58.5 in full, making at a minimum equal monthly payments, within 12 days of the date the bond​

58.6 is posted.​

58.7 (b) A promissory note issued under paragraph (a), clause (3), must be made on a surety​

58.8 or bail bond agency form that has been approved by the commissioner. The maximum​

58.9 interest rate allowed in a promissory note under this subdivision is six percent. A promissory​

58.10 note may authorize collection of the actual costs incurred to collect the premium, including​

58.11 reasonable attorney fees, in the event of a default.​

58.12 Subd. 5. Alternative premium structure. (a) A bail bond agency or principal may​

58.13 include an alternative premium structure as part of the bail bond agency or producer's surety​

58.14 rate filing submitted to the commissioner. The commissioner may approve the alternative​

58.15 premium structure's use in circumstances as provided under this subdivision.​

58.16 (b) If a court sets bail at 15 percent or less of the bond's penal amount, a surety, bail​

58.17 bond agency, or principal may charge an alternative premium that is as low as one-half of​

58.18 the cash bail amount set by the court. An alternative premium charged under this subdivision​

58.19 is subject to the minimum premium requirement under subdivision 2.​

58.20 (c) A bail bond agency or principal is required to obtain from the court documentation​

58.21 indicating the cash bail amount set by the court and must maintain the documentation in​

58.22 the bond file.​

58.23 (d) A bail bond agency and producer must maintain a log of all bonds where an alternative​

58.24 premium was charged under this subdivision.​

58.25 (e) Subdivisions 3 and 4 apply to the payment of an alternative premium structure under​

58.26 this subdivision.​

58.27 Subd. 6. Late payments. If a payment, including a minimum monthly payment, that is​

58.28 required under a promissory note executed pursuant to subdivision 3 or 4 is more than 90​

58.29 days late, the bail bond agency or producer must, within 20 days of the date a payment​

58.30 becomes 90 days late:​

58.31 (1) for amounts owed that are $1,000 or less, assign the debt to a Minnesota-licensed​

58.32 debt collector; or​
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59.1 (2) for amounts owed that are greater than $1,000:​

59.2 (i) file a civil action against the delinquent premium payer; and​

59.3 (ii) make all reasonable efforts to: (A) serve a summons and complaint; (B) enter​

59.4 judgment, unless the matter is settled while the action is pending; and (C) enforce the​

59.5 judgment, which may be satisfied by assigning the debt to a licensed debt collector.​

59.6 Subd. 7. Form of payment. A surety, bail bond agency, or producer must accept only​

59.7 cash, money orders, checks, wire transfers, electronic funds transfers, debit cards, prepaid​

59.8 cash cards, or credit cards as a premium payment method. Any balance owed must be​

59.9 evidenced by a promissory note, as provided under subdivision 3 or 4.​

59.10 Subd. 8. Payments made directly to producer; premium trust account. (a) Unless​

59.11 payment was previously forwarded to the surety or bail bond agency, within five business​

59.12 days of the date a bond is posted or a payment is made on a promissory note, a producer​

59.13 must deposit payments directly to the producer into a premium trust account that the producer,​

59.14 bail bond agency, or surety maintains.​

59.15 (b) A premium trust account must be used only for premium payments and travel or​

59.16 other related fees authorized under subdivision 1, paragraph (c). A producer, bail bond​

59.17 agency, or surety is prohibited from depositing any other money into a premium trust​

59.18 account.​

59.19 (c) A deposit into a premium trust account must be accompanied by a deposit slip that:​

59.20 (1) separately designates the source of the deposit; and (2) lists the power of attorney number​

59.21 for the bond that the premium is being collected on.​

59.22 (d) Money may be withdrawn from a producer's premium trust account only to:​

59.23 (1) pay the net premium to the surety or bail bond agency;​

59.24 (2) pay a surety or bail bond agency any build-up fund or escrow account required by​

59.25 a contract executed by the producer and the surety or bail bond agency;​

59.26 (3) pay travel or other related fees authorized under subdivision 1, paragraph (c);​

59.27 (4) pay the producer any fees or charges deducted electronically by credit card processing​

59.28 vendors, provided the fees and charges comply with section 60K.46, subdivision 2; and​

59.29 (5) distribute any excess amounts to the producer's operating account.​
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60.1 Sec. 36. [60M.03] COLLATERAL.​

60.2 Subdivision 1. Collateral generally. (a) When collateral is accepted, the producer, or​

60.3 a surety or bail bond agency if collateral is provided directly to the surety or bail bond​

60.4 agency, must provide a written, numbered receipt to the individual on whose behalf the​

60.5 collateral is being held. The receipt must:​

60.6 (1) contain the date; depositor's name and address; bail bond agency's name and address;​

60.7 surety's name and address; defendant's name; bond amount; and cash amount or a detailed​

60.8 description of the collateral, if the collateral is not cash; and​

60.9 (2) be signed by: (i) the producer, surety, or bail bond agency; and (ii) the individual on​

60.10 whose behalf the collateral is being held.​

60.11 (b) Collateral must be reasonably cared for in a manner that complies with this section​

60.12 and other law.​

60.13 Subd. 2. Collateral received; transfer; control. (a) Except as otherwise provided under​

60.14 paragraph (b), a producer or bail bond agency must transfer all cash and noncash collateral​

60.15 that the producer or bail bond agency receives to the surety.​

60.16 (b) A surety may, at the surety's discretion, permit: (1) a producer to transfer all cash​

60.17 and noncash collateral that the producer receives to the bail bond agency; and (2) the bail​

60.18 bond agency to retain possession and control over the cash and noncash collateral without​

60.19 transferring the cash and noncash collateral to the surety. If a surety exercises the surety's​

60.20 discretion under this paragraph, the bail bond agency assumes the surety's responsibilities​

60.21 and responsibilities under this section. A producer is prohibited from retaining possession​

60.22 or control of cash or noncash collateral beyond the time periods established in this section.​

60.23 Subd. 3. Cash collateral trust account. (a) All cash collateral must be deposited into​

60.24 a cash collateral account maintained by a surety within five business days of the date the​

60.25 cash collateral is received.​

60.26 (b) All checks, money orders, wire transfers, or similar money transfer for collateral​

60.27 must be made payable to the bail bond agency and deposited into the surety's or bail bond​

60.28 agency's collateral account within ten business days of the date the payment was received.​

60.29 (c) When required by law, a bail bond agency or producer must: (1) file an IRS Form​

60.30 8300 and informational notice; and (2) retain a copy of the filed IRS Form 8300 and​

60.31 informational notice in the bail bond agency's or producer's files.​

60.32 Subd. 4. Separate cash collateral account. At the surety's discretion, the surety or a​

60.33 bail bond agency may maintain a separate cash collateral trust account. A cash collateral​
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61.1 trust account may be an interest-bearing account or a noninterest-bearing account. If the​

61.2 separate cash collateral trust account is an interest-bearing account, the interest earned is​

61.3 for the benefit of the individual on whose behalf the collateral is being held.​

61.4 Subd. 5. Surety liable. The surety is liable to return any cash or noncash collateral that​

61.5 a producer or bail bond agency collects, even if the collected collateral is not transferred to​

61.6 the surety.​

61.7 Subd. 6. Prohibitions. (a) A surety, bail bond agency, or producer is prohibited from​

61.8 collecting collateral in excess of the bond's penal sum.​

61.9 (b) A surety, bail bond agency, or producer is prohibited from using collateral for personal​

61.10 benefit or gain.​

61.11 (c) A surety, bail bond agency, or producer is prohibited from taking a quitclaim deed​

61.12 on real property as collateral for a bond.​

61.13 Subd. 7. Collateral log. (a) A bail bond agency or producer must maintain a collateral​

61.14 log that includes:​

61.15 (1) the power of attorney number;​

61.16 (2) the defendant's name;​

61.17 (3) the depositor's name;​

61.18 (4) the cash collateral amount, including whether the cash collateral is being held in an​

61.19 interest-bearing account;​

61.20 (5) if the collateral is noncash collateral, a detailed description of the collateral;​

61.21 (6) the date the collateral was taken; and​

61.22 (7) the dates the collateral was sent to the surety, returned to the depositor, liquidated,​

61.23 or applied to a loss or cost incurred by the producer, bail bond agency, or surety.​

61.24 (b) For purposes of paragraph (a), an indemnity agreement does not constitute collateral​

61.25 and is not required to be included in the collateral log. For purposes of paragraph (a), clause​

61.26 (7), the amount of a loss incurred must be listed separately from other costs in the collateral​

61.27 log.​

61.28 Subd. 8. Mortgages and deeds of trust. (a) A mortgage or deed of trust, if applicable​

61.29 for property located outside of Minnesota, taken as collateral for a bond must name the​

61.30 surety as a mortgagee. At the discretion of the surety, a bail bond agency may be named as​

61.31 the mortgagee in lieu of the surety being named as the mortgagee.​
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62.1 (b) A producer is prohibited from being named as a mortgagee for a mortgage or deed​

62.2 of trust taken as collateral for a bond.​

62.3 Subd. 9. Return of collateral. (a) A surety or bail bond agency that controls the collateral​

62.4 must return cash and noncash collateral to the depositor named in the collateral receipt​

62.5 within 21 days of the date the depositor provides the surety or bail bond agency with written​

62.6 proof that the bond has been discharged.​

62.7 (b) If the depositor owes the surety, bail bond agency, or producer a premium; is liable​

62.8 for a loss or expense related to a breach of the bond; or is liable pursuant to the terms of an​

62.9 indemnity or other agreement, the surety or bail bond agency may retain from the collateral​

62.10 all money required to satisfy the depositor's debts.​

62.11 (c) If all of the depositor's debts secured by collateral are satisfied, the surety or bail​

62.12 bond agency must file documentation to release any liens, security interests, mortgages, or​

62.13 other security interests that were filed or obtained in relation to the collateral. The​

62.14 documentation must be filed within 21 days of the date the depositor provides the surety or​

62.15 bail bond agency with written proof that the bond has been discharged.​

62.16 Subd. 10. Bond or indemnity agreement; breach. If a bond or indemnity agreement​

62.17 is breached and the surety, bail bond agency, or producer suffers a loss, the surety or bail​

62.18 bond agency that controls the collateral must send to the depositor written notice that notifies​

62.19 the depositor that the surety or bail bond agency intends to liquidate noncash collateral. The​

62.20 written notice must be sent by certified mail to the depositor's last known address at least​

62.21 30 days before the date the surety or bail bond agency liquidates the noncash collateral.​

62.22 Subd. 11. Compliance with Minnesota law. Any action taken to enforce or foreclose​

62.23 on cash or noncash collateral must comply with Minnesota law.​

62.24 Subd. 12. Collateral documentation; audit and inspection. (a) All collateral and related​

62.25 documentation held in trust by the surety or bail bond agency must be made available for​

62.26 immediate audit and inspection by the department.​

62.27 (b) All collateral and related documentation held in trust by the bail bond agency must​

62.28 be made available for immediate audit and inspection by the surety.​

62.29 Sec. 37. [60M.04] PRODUCER AUDITS.​

62.30 Subdivision 1. Premium audits. (a) By April 30 each year, a surety must audit each​

62.31 licensed bail bond producer's bonds written during the previous calendar year to ensure the​

62.32 licensed bail bond producer has complied with this subdivision.​
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63.1 (b) The premium audits must include a review of an adequate sample of bonds written​

63.2 by each bail bond producer. A review sample is adequate if it consists of the lesser of: (1)​

63.3 20 percent of the bonds written by the bail bond producer; (2) 24 bonds; or (3) all of the​

63.4 bonds written by the bail bond producer, if the bail bond producer wrote fewer than 12​

63.5 bonds during the previous calendar year. The audit sample must include the four largest​

63.6 bonds written by the bail bond producer and four bonds that charged an alternative premium​

63.7 under section 60M.02, subdivision 5, if applicable. Of the remaining bonds audited and to​

63.8 the extent the quantity of bonds supports the percentages, 50 percent must be randomly​

63.9 selected bonds with a penal sum that is $10,000 or less, and 50 percent must be randomly​

63.10 selected bonds with a penal sum that is greater than $50,000.​

63.11 (c) The premium audit must be conducted at the producer's office or the bail bond​

63.12 agency's office, depending on which entity maintains the physical records. The surety must​

63.13 not disclose to the producer or bail bond agency, or anyone affiliated with the surety or bail​

63.14 bond agency, which files the surety intends to audit until the surety's on-site audit of the​

63.15 producer begins.​

63.16 (d) For each bond audited, the surety must confirm that:​

63.17 (1) the proper premium was charged and collected, including a review of the premium​

63.18 account statements and deposit slips;​

63.19 (2) a proper premium receipt is in the producer's file;​

63.20 (3) if the full premium was not paid before the bond was posted, a proper promissory​

63.21 note was executed;​

63.22 (4) if the premium was not paid as required, a lawsuit was filed; and​

63.23 (5) all reasonable efforts were made to: (i) serve the summons and complaint; (ii) enter​

63.24 judgment, unless the matter was settled while the action was pending; and (iii) enforce the​

63.25 judgment.​

63.26 (e) An annual premium audit under this section must also include a follow-up review​

63.27 of each bond audited the previous year for which full premium had not yet been collected​

63.28 at the time the audit occurred. For each bond subject to a follow-up review, the surety must:​

63.29 (1) review the premium account and deposit slips to confirm that the full premium was​

63.30 collected; or (2) if full payment of the premium was not received, confirm that: (i) the​

63.31 required action was filed; (ii) all reasonable efforts were made to enter judgment, unless​

63.32 the matter was settled while the action was pending; and (iii) all reasonable efforts were​

63.33 made to enforce the judgment.​
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64.1 Subd. 2. Collateral audits. (a) By April 30 each year, a surety must audit each licensed​

64.2 bail bond producer's bonds written during the previous calendar year to ensure the licensed​

64.3 bail bond producer has complied with this subdivision.​

64.4 (b) A collateral audit under this subdivision must include confirmation that:​

64.5 (1) a collateral log was maintained;​

64.6 (2) a cash collateral account exists;​

64.7 (3) the balance of the cash collateral indicated on the collateral log is identical to the​

64.8 amount held in the collateral trust account; and​

64.9 (4) a collateral receipt exists for collateral collected, as represented by a sampling of the​

64.10 lesser of: (i) 20 percent of all bonds secured by collateral; or (ii) 12 bonds that were secured​

64.11 by collateral.​

64.12 Subd. 3. Audits report. (a) By May 31 each year, a surety must prepare a report of the​

64.13 audits conducted under this section during that year. The report must include:​

64.14 (1) a list of the bonds audited under subdivision 1 for each producer, including the power​

64.15 of attorney number used for each audited bond and whether full premium payment was​

64.16 made by the date the audit occurred;​

64.17 (2) a list of the bonds included in a follow-up review of the previous year's audit,​

64.18 including whether full premium payment was collected by the date the audit occurred;​

64.19 (3) the compliance certifications required under section 60M.07, subdivision 4; and​

64.20 (4) details regarding any violations discovered during the audit or a statement that no​

64.21 violations were discovered, as applicable.​

64.22 (b) The annual report under this subdivision must be maintained for a period of at least​

64.23 36 months from the date the report is complete. Annual reports must be submitted to the​

64.24 commissioner by June 30 each year.​

64.25 Sec. 38. [60M.05] SOLICITATION.​

64.26 Subdivision 1. Solicitation generally. (a) A producer is prohibited from, in or on the​

64.27 grounds of a jail, prison, or other location where an incarcerated person is confined, or in​

64.28 or on the grounds of a court:​

64.29 (1) approaching, enticing, inviting, or soliciting a person to use a bail bondsman's services;​

64.30 (2) distributing, displaying, or wearing an item that advertises a bail bondsman's services;​

64.31 or​
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65.1 (3) otherwise soliciting business as a bail bondsman.​

65.2 (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), clause (3), permissible print advertising in a jail is​

65.3 limited to:​

65.4 (1) a listing in a telephone directory; and​

65.5 (2) posting the producer's or bail bond agency's name, address, and telephone number​

65.6 in a designated location within the jail, as approved by the jail.​

65.7 Subd. 2. Identification; marketing material. A producer is prohibited from wearing​

65.8 or displaying any information, other than identification approved by the surety or bail bond​

65.9 agency, which constitutes marketing material that a surety or bail bond agency must approve​

65.10 and maintain under Minnesota Rules, chapter 2790. A producer is prohibited from displaying​

65.11 any information constituting marketing material in or on the property or grounds of: (1) a​

65.12 jail, prison, or other location where incarcerated people are confined; or (2) a court.​

65.13 Subd. 3. Other prohibited conduct. (a) A producer is prohibited from loitering in or​

65.14 about the courthouse, jail, or any other place where individuals are held in custody.​

65.15 (b) A producer is prohibited from making unauthorized and unsolicited cold calls without​

65.16 having first spoken with or having a connection to a criminal defendant.​

65.17 (c) A producer or bail bond agency is prohibited from initiating in-person or telephone​

65.18 solicitation before 8:00 a.m. or after 9:00 p.m.​

65.19 (d) A producer is prohibited from soliciting a bond to a person by recorded or electronic​

65.20 communication, or by live telephone contact, unless the producer otherwise complies with​

65.21 applicable state and federal law, including but not limited to:​

65.22 (1) the National Do Not Call Registry under Code of Federal Regulations, title 16, part​

65.23 310; and​

65.24 (2) the Telephone Consumer Protection Act of 1991, Code of Federal Regulations, title​

65.25 47, part 64.1200.​

65.26 (e) A surety, bail bond agency, or producer is prohibited from obtaining a credit check​

65.27 on a person unless the person has authorized the surety, bail bond agency, or producer to​

65.28 do so in writing. The surety, bail bond agency, or producer must retain the written​

65.29 authorization provided by the person subject to the credit check.​

65.30 Subd. 4. Compliance with other law. (a) A surety, bail bond agency, and producer​

65.31 must comply with all federal and state privacy laws related to information provided to a​
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66.1 producer during the application process and during bond underwriting by a bond principal,​

66.2 indemnitor, or other person.​

66.3 (b) A surety, bail bond agency, and producer must comply with sections 60K.46,​

66.4 subdivision 6; 72A.494; 72A.496, subdivision 1; 72A.501; and 72A.502, subdivision 1.​

66.5 (c) A surety, bail bond agency, and producer must receive preauthorization before​

66.6 collecting and disclosing personal or privileged information about an applicant or proposed​

66.7 insured, and must provide all notices otherwise required by Minnesota law.​

66.8 (d) A surety, bail bond agency, and producer must otherwise comply with all applicable​

66.9 Minnesota law.​

66.10 Subd. 5. Insurance transaction. The act of soliciting, underwriting, negotiating, or​

66.11 selling a bail bond constitutes an insurance transaction.​

66.12 Sec. 39. [60M.06] UNLICENSED INDIVIDUALS; NO REBATES OR PAYMENT.​

66.13 (a) A surety, bail bond agency, or producer is prohibited from paying a fee or commission,​

66.14 or otherwise giving or promising anything of value, to: (1) a jailer, police officer, peace​

66.15 officer, or any other person who has the power to arrest or hold an individual in custody;​

66.16 or (2) a judge, public official, or public employee.​

66.17 (b) A surety, bail bond agency, or producer is prohibited from paying a fee or rebate, or​

66.18 otherwise giving or promising anything of value, to the individual seeking the producer's​

66.19 services or the individual seeking the producer's services on another individual's behalf.​

66.20 (c) A surety, bail bond agency, or producer is prohibited from paying a fee or commission,​

66.21 or otherwise giving or promising anything of value, to a person for selling, soliciting, or​

66.22 negotiating a bail bond if the person is not properly licensed as a producer.​

66.23 (d) A surety, bail bond agency, or producer is prohibited from paying a fee, rebate, or​

66.24 commission, or otherwise giving or promising anything of value, to an inmate for referring​

66.25 business or for any other reason related to soliciting, negotiating, or selling a bail bond.​

66.26 Sec. 40. [60M.07] OTHER PROVISIONS.​

66.27 Subdivision 1. Compliance with standards of conduct. A producer must comply with​

66.28 the Minnesota Court Administrator's Office's bail bond procedures and standards of conduct,​

66.29 including but not limited to while in or on the property of courts, jails, or other detention​

66.30 facilities in Minnesota. A surety or bail bond agency must require the surety or bail bond​

66.31 agency's producers to affirm that the producer complies with any changes to the bail bond​
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67.1 procedures and standards of conduct as the changes are posted to the Minnesota state court​

67.2 website or the Minnesota Court Administrator's Office's website.​

67.3 Subd. 2. No waiver. A producer is prohibited from soliciting or accepting a waiver of​

67.4 any requirement under this chapter.​

67.5 Subd. 3. Record maintenance. (a) A bail bond agency and producer must maintain the​

67.6 following records on each bond for at least seven years after the date the bond is terminated:​

67.7 (1) power of attorney;​

67.8 (2) premium receipts;​

67.9 (3) the promissory note for unpaid premium, if any;​

67.10 (4) the cash bond amount set by the court, if an amount less than the filed rate is accepted​

67.11 for the premium;​

67.12 (5) all documents related to any lawsuit filed to collect the premium;​

67.13 (6) indemnity agreements;​

67.14 (7) collateral receipts, if any;​

67.15 (8) proof that collateral was returned, if any;​

67.16 (9) proof of bond exoneration or forfeiture payment;​

67.17 (10) all records relating to liquidating and converting collateral, including fees or costs;​

67.18 and​

67.19 (11) proof of any expenses incurred or losses paid by the surety, bail bond agency, or​

67.20 producer.​

67.21 (b) A bail bond agency and producer must maintain all premium account, collateral​

67.22 account, and operating account bank records, including deposit slips, for at least seven years​

67.23 after the records are made available.​

67.24 (c) All records that a bail bond agency or producer maintain under this chapter must be​

67.25 kept in the bail bond agency or producer's office, as applicable. If a bail bond agency or​

67.26 producer's relationship with a surety is terminated, the information and documentation must​

67.27 be immediately transferred to:​

67.28 (1) the bail bond agency, if the producer is terminated; or​

67.29 (2) the surety, if the bail bond agency is terminated.​
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68.1 (d) A bail bond agency and producer's records must be available for the commissioner​

68.2 or the surety to inspect, with or without notice.​

68.3 Subd. 4. Compliance certification. (a) During the surety's annual audit of a producer,​

68.4 the producer must sign a compliance certification form that attests to the producer's​

68.5 compliance with this chapter during the previous calendar year.​

68.6 (b) Before a producer is appointed by a surety and at each license renewal thereafter, a​

68.7 producer must sign an affidavit of compliance form in which the producer acknowledges​

68.8 the producer is familiar and continually complies with the requirements under this chapter.​

68.9 The surety must retain completed affidavits and send requested affidavits to the commissioner​

68.10 within ten days of the date an affidavit is requested.​

68.11 (c) The commissioner must establish the compliance certification and affidavit of​

68.12 compliance forms for use under this subdivision.​

68.13 Subd. 5. Producer termination; notice. (a) If a producer's relationship with a surety is​

68.14 voluntarily or involuntarily terminated due to a violation of this chapter or because the​

68.15 surety determined the producer violated this chapter during an annual audit, the surety must,​

68.16 within 30 days of the date the producer is terminated, provide the commissioner with the​

68.17 terminated producer's name and the reason the producer was terminated.​

68.18 (b) Another surety is prohibited from appointing a producer subject to a termination​

68.19 under paragraph (a) unless the department approves the appointment.​

68.20 Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 80A.50, is amended to read:​

68.21 80A.50 SECTION 302; FEDERAL COVERED SECURITIES; SMALL​

68.22 CORPORATE OFFERING REGISTRATION.​

68.23 (a) Federal covered securities.​

68.24 (1) Required filing of records. With respect to a federal covered security, as defined​

68.25 in Section 18(b)(2) of the Securities Act of 1933 (15 U.S.C. Section 77r(b)(2)), that is not​

68.26 otherwise exempt under sections 80A.45 through 80A.47, a rule adopted or order issued​

68.27 under this chapter may require the filing of any or all of the following records:​

68.28 (A) before the initial offer of a federal covered security in this state, all records that are​

68.29 part of a federal registration statement filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission​

68.30 under the Securities Act of 1933 and a consent to service of process complying with section​

68.31 80A.88 signed by the issuer;​
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69.1 (B) after the initial offer of the federal covered security in this state, all records that are​

69.2 part of an amendment to a federal registration statement filed with the Securities and​

69.3 Exchange Commission under the Securities Act of 1933; and​

69.4 (C) to the extent necessary or appropriate to compute fees, a report of the value of the​

69.5 federal covered securities sold or offered to persons present in this state, if the sales data​

69.6 are not included in records filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission.​

69.7 (2) Notice filing effectiveness and renewal. A notice filing under subsection (a) is​

69.8 effective for one year commencing on the later of the notice filing or the effectiveness of​

69.9 the offering filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission. On or before expiration,​

69.10 the issuer may renew a notice filing by filing a copy of those records filed by the issuer with​

69.11 the Securities and Exchange Commission that are required by rule or order under this chapter​

69.12 to be filed. A previously filed consent to service of process complying with section 80A.88​

69.13 may be incorporated by reference in a renewal. A renewed notice filing becomes effective​

69.14 upon the expiration of the filing being renewed.​

69.15 (3) Notice filings for federal covered securities under section 18(b)(4)(D). With​

69.16 respect to a security that is a federal covered security under Section 18(b)(4)(D) of the​

69.17 Securities Act of 1933 (15 U.S.C. Section 77r(b)(4)(D)), a rule under this chapter may​

69.18 require a notice filing by or on behalf of an issuer to include a copy of Form D, including​

69.19 the Appendix, as promulgated by the Securities and Exchange Commission, and a consent​

69.20 to service of process complying with section 80A.88 signed by the issuer not later than 15​

69.21 days after the first sale of the federal covered security in this state.​

69.22 (4) Stop orders. Except with respect to a federal security under Section 18(b)(1) of the​

69.23 Securities Act of 1933 (15 U.S.C. Section 77r(b)(1)), if the administrator finds that there is​

69.24 a failure to comply with a notice or fee requirement of this section, the administrator may​

69.25 issue a stop order suspending the offer and sale of a federal covered security in this state.​

69.26 If the deficiency is corrected, the stop order is void as of the time of its issuance and no​

69.27 penalty may be imposed by the administrator.​

69.28 (b) Small corporation offering registration.​

69.29 (1) Registration required. A security meeting the conditions set forth in this section​

69.30 may be registered as set forth in this section.​

69.31 (2) Availability. Registration under this section is available only to the issuer of securities​

69.32 and not to an affiliate of the issuer or to any other person for resale of the issuer's securities.​

69.33 The issuer must be organized under the laws of one of the states or possessions of the United​
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70.1 States. The securities offered must be exempt from registration under the Securities Act of​

70.2 1933 pursuant to Rule 504 of Regulation D (15 U.S.C. Section 77c).​

70.3 (3) Disqualification. Registration under this section is not available to any of the​

70.4 following issuers:​

70.5 (A) an issuer subject to the reporting requirements of Section 13 or 15(d) of the Securities​

70.6 Exchange Act of 1934;​

70.7 (B) an investment company;​

70.8 (C) a development stage company that either has no specific business plan or purpose​

70.9 or has indicated that its business plan is to engage in a merger or acquisition with an​

70.10 unidentified company or companies or other entity or person;​

70.11 (D) an issuer if the issuer or any of its predecessors, officers, directors, governors,​

70.12 partners, ten percent stock or equity holders, promoters, or any selling agents of the securities​

70.13 to be offered, or any officer, director, governor, or partner of the selling agent:​

70.14 (i) has filed a registration statement that is the subject of a currently effective registration​

70.15 stop order entered under a federal or state securities law within five years before the filing​

70.16 of the small corporate offering registration application;​

70.17 (ii) has been convicted within five years before the filing of the small corporate offering​

70.18 registration application of a felony or misdemeanor in connection with the offer, purchase,​

70.19 or sale of a security or a felony involving fraud or deceit, including, but not limited to,​

70.20 forgery, embezzlement, obtaining money under false pretenses, larceny, or conspiracy to​

70.21 defraud;​

70.22 (iii) is currently subject to a state administrative enforcement order or judgment entered​

70.23 by a state securities administrator or the Securities and Exchange Commission within five​

70.24 years before the filing of the small corporate offering registration application, or is subject​

70.25 to a federal or state administrative enforcement order or judgment in which fraud or deceit,​

70.26 including, but not limited to, making untrue statements of material facts or omitting to state​

70.27 material facts, was found and the order or judgment was entered within five years before​

70.28 the filing of the small corporate offering registration application;​

70.29 (iv) is currently subject to an order, judgment, or decree of a court of competent​

70.30 jurisdiction temporarily restraining or enjoining, or is subject to an order, judgment, or​

70.31 decree of a court of competent jurisdiction permanently restraining or enjoining the party​

70.32 from engaging in or continuing any conduct or practice in connection with the purchase or​

70.33 sale of any security or involving the making of a false filing with a state or with the Securities​

70​Article 2 Sec. 41.​

COUNSEL OS/SC SCS4097A-1​03/21/24 03:21 pm ​



71.1 and Exchange Commission entered within five years before the filing of the small corporate​

71.2 offering registration application; or​

71.3 (v) is subject to a state's administrative enforcement order, or judgment that prohibits,​

71.4 denies, or revokes the use of an exemption for registration in connection with the offer,​

71.5 purchase, or sale of securities,​

71.6 (I) except that clauses (i) to (iv) do not apply if the person subject to the disqualification​

71.7 is duly licensed or registered to conduct securities-related business in the state in which the​

71.8 administrative order or judgment was entered against the person or if the dealer employing​

71.9 the party is licensed or registered in this state and the form BD filed in this state discloses​

71.10 the order, conviction, judgment, or decree relating to the person, and​

71.11 (II) except that the disqualification under this subdivision is automatically waived if the​

71.12 state securities administrator or federal agency that created the basis for disqualification​

71.13 determines upon a showing of good cause that it is not necessary under the circumstances​

71.14 to deny the registration.​

71.15 (4) Filing and effectiveness of registration statement. A small corporate offering​

71.16 registration statement must be filed with the administrator. If no stop order is in effect and​

71.17 no proceeding is pending under section 80A.54, such registration statement shall become​

71.18 effective automatically at the close of business on the 20th day after filing of the registration​

71.19 statement or the last amendment of the registration statement or at such earlier time as the​

71.20 administrator may designate by rule or order. For the purposes of a nonissuer transaction,​

71.21 other than by an affiliate of the issuer, all outstanding securities of the same class identified​

71.22 in the small corporate offering registration statement as a security registered under this​

71.23 chapter are considered to be registered while the small corporate offering registration​

71.24 statement is effective. A small corporate offering registration statement is effective for one​

71.25 year after its effective date or for any longer period designated in an order under this chapter.​

71.26 A small corporate offering registration statement may be withdrawn only with the approval​

71.27 of the administrator.​

71.28 (5) Contents of registration statement. A small corporate offering registration statement​

71.29 under this section shall be on Form U-7, including exhibits required by the instructions​

71.30 thereto, as adopted by the North American Securities Administrators Association, or such​

71.31 alternative form as may be designated by the administrator by rule or order and must include:​

71.32 (A) a consent to service of process complying with section 80A.88;​

71.33 (B) a statement of the type and amount of securities to be offered and the amount of​

71.34 securities to be offered in this state;​
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72.1 (C) a specimen or copy of the security being registered, unless the security is​

72.2 uncertificated, a copy of the issuer's articles of incorporation and bylaws or their substantial​

72.3 equivalents in effect, and a copy of any indenture or other instrument covering the security​

72.4 to be registered;​

72.5 (D) a signed or conformed copy of an opinion of counsel concerning the legality of the​

72.6 securities being registered which states whether the securities, when sold, will be validly​

72.7 issued, fully paid, and nonassessable and, if debt securities, binding obligations of the issuer;​

72.8 (E) the states (i) in which the securities are proposed to be offered; (ii) in which a​

72.9 registration statement or similar filing has been made in connection with the offering​

72.10 including information as to effectiveness of each such filing; and (iii) in which a stop order​

72.11 or similar proceeding has been entered or in which proceedings or actions seeking such an​

72.12 order are pending;​

72.13 (F) a copy of the offering document proposed to be delivered to offerees; and​

72.14 (G) a copy of any other pamphlet, circular, form letter, advertisement, or other sales​

72.15 literature intended as of the effective date to be used in connection with the offering and​

72.16 any solicitation of interest used in compliance with section 80A.46(17)(B).​

72.17 (6) Copy to purchaser. A copy of the offering document as filed with the administrator​

72.18 must be delivered to each person purchasing the securities prior to sale of the securities to​

72.19 such person.​

72.20 (c) Offering limit. Offers and sales of securities under a small corporate offering​

72.21 registration as set forth in this section are allowed up to the limit prescribed by Code of​

72.22 Federal Regulations, title 17, part 230.504 (b)(2), as amended.​

72.23 (d) Regulation A - Tier 2 filing requirements.​

72.24 (1) Initial filing. An issuer planning to offer and sell securities in Minnesota in an​

72.25 offering exempt under Tier 2 of federal Regulation A must, at least 21 calendar days before​

72.26 the date of the initial sale of securities in Minnesota, submit to the administrator:​

72.27 (A) a completed Regulation A - Tier 2 offering notice filing form or copies of all the​

72.28 documents filed with the Securities Exchange Commission; and​

72.29 (B) a consent to service of process on Form U-2, if consent to service of process is not​

72.30 provided in the Regulation A - Tier 2 offering notice filing form.​

72.31 The initial notice filing made in Minnesota is effective for 12 months after the date the​

72.32 filing is made.​
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73.1 (2) Renewal. For each additional 12-month period in which the same offering is​

73.2 continued, an issuer conducting a Tier 2 offering under federal Regulation A may renew​

73.3 the notice filing by filing (i) the Regulation A - Tier 2 offering notice filing form marked​

73.4 "renewal," or (ii) a cover letter or other document requesting renewal. The renewal filing​

73.5 must be made on or before the date notice filing expires.​

73.6 (3) Amendment. An issuer may increase the amount of securities offered in Minnesota​

73.7 by submitting a Regulation A - Tier 2 offering notice filing form or other document​

73.8 describing the transaction.​

73.9 Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 80A.61, is amended to read:​

73.10 80A.61 SECTION 406; REGISTRATION BY BROKER-DEALER, AGENT,​

73.11 FUNDING PORTAL, INVESTMENT ADVISER, AND INVESTMENT ADVISER​

73.12 REPRESENTATIVE.​

73.13 (a) Application for initial registration by broker-dealer, agent, investment adviser,​

73.14 or investment adviser representative. A person shall register as a broker-dealer, agent,​

73.15 investment adviser, or investment adviser representative by filing an application and a​

73.16 consent to service of process complying with section 80A.88, and paying the fee specified​

73.17 in section 80A.65 and any reasonable fees charged by the designee of the administrator for​

73.18 processing the filing. The application must contain:​

73.19 (1) the information or record required for the filing of a uniform application; and​

73.20 (2) upon request by the administrator, any other financial or other information or record​

73.21 that the administrator determines is appropriate.​

73.22 (b) Amendment. If the information or record contained in an application filed under​

73.23 subsection (a) is or becomes inaccurate or incomplete in a material respect, the registrant​

73.24 shall promptly file a correcting amendment.​

73.25 (c) Effectiveness of registration. If an order is not in effect and a proceeding is not​

73.26 pending under section 80A.67, registration becomes effective at noon on the 45th day after​

73.27 a completed application is filed, unless the registration is denied. A rule adopted or order​

73.28 issued under this chapter may set an earlier effective date or may defer the effective date​

73.29 until noon on the 45th day after the filing of any amendment completing the application.​

73.30 (d) Registration renewal. A registration is effective until midnight on December 31 of​

73.31 the year for which the application for registration is filed. Unless an order is in effect under​

73.32 section 80A.67, a registration may be automatically renewed each year by filing such records​

73.33 as are required by rule adopted or order issued under this chapter, by paying the fee specified​
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74.1 in section 80A.65, and by paying costs charged by the designee of the administrator for​

74.2 processing the filings.​

74.3 (e) Additional conditions or waivers. A rule adopted or order issued under this chapter​

74.4 may impose such other conditions, not inconsistent with the National Securities Markets​

74.5 Improvement Act of 1996. An order issued under this chapter may waive, in whole or in​

74.6 part, specific requirements in connection with registration as are in the public interest and​

74.7 for the protection of investors.​

74.8 (f) Funding portal registration. A funding portal that has its principal place of business​

74.9 in the state of Minnesota shall register with the state of Minnesota by filing with the​

74.10 administrator a copy of the information or record required for the filing of an application​

74.11 for registration as a funding portal in the manner established by the Securities and Exchange​

74.12 Commission and/or the Financial Institutions Regulatory Authority (FINRA), along with​

74.13 any rule adopted or order issued, and any amendments thereto.​

74.14 (g) Application for investment adviser representative registration.​

74.15 (1) The application for initial registration as an investment adviser representative pursuant​

74.16 to section 80A.58 is made by completing Form U-4 (Uniform Application for Securities​

74.17 Industry Registration or Transfer) in accordance with the form instructions and by filing​

74.18 the form U-4 with the IARD. The application for initial registration must also include the​

74.19 following:​

74.20 (i) proof of compliance by the investment adviser representative with the examination​

74.21 requirements of:​

74.22 (A) the Uniform Investment Adviser Law Examination (Series 65); or​

74.23 (B) the General Securities Representative Examination (Series 7) and the Uniform​

74.24 Combined State Law Examination (Series 66);​

74.25 (ii) any other information the administrator may reasonably require.​

74.26 (2) The application for the annual renewal registration as an investment adviser​

74.27 representative shall be filed with the IARD.​

74.28 (3)(i) The investment adviser representative is under a continuing obligation to update​

74.29 information required by Form U-4 as changes occur;​

74.30 (ii) An investment adviser representative and the investment adviser must file promptly​

74.31 with the IARD any amendments to the representative's Form U-4; and​
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75.1 (iii) An amendment will be considered to be filed promptly if the amendment is filed​

75.2 within 30 days of the event that requires the filing of the amendment.​

75.3 (4) An application for initial or renewal of registration is not considered filed for purposes​

75.4 of section 80A.58 until the required fee and all required submissions have been received​

75.5 by the administrator.​

75.6 (5) The application for withdrawal of registration as an investment adviser representative​

75.7 pursuant to section 80A.58 shall be completed by following the instructions on Form U-5​

75.8 (Uniform Termination Notice for Securities Industry Registration) and filed upon Form U-5​

75.9 with the IARD.​

75.10 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

75.11 Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 80A.66, is amended to read:​

75.12 80A.66 SECTION 411; POSTREGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS.​

75.13 (a) Financial requirements. Subject to Section 15(h) of the Securities Exchange Act​

75.14 of 1934 (15 U.S.C. Section 78o(h)) or Section 222 of the Investment Advisers Act of 1940​

75.15 (15 U.S.C. Section 80b-22), a rule adopted or order issued under this chapter may establish​

75.16 minimum financial requirements for broker-dealers registered or required to be registered​

75.17 under this chapter and investment advisers registered or required to be registered under this​

75.18 chapter.​

75.19 (b) Financial reports. Subject to Section 15(h) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934​

75.20 (15 U.S.C. Section 78o(h)) or Section 222(b) of the Investment Advisers Act of 1940 (15​

75.21 U.S.C. Section 80b-22), a broker-dealer registered or required to be registered under this​

75.22 chapter and an investment adviser registered or required to be registered under this chapter​

75.23 shall file such financial reports as are required by a rule adopted or order issued under this​

75.24 chapter. If the information contained in a record filed under this subsection is or becomes​

75.25 inaccurate or incomplete in a material respect, the registrant shall promptly file a correcting​

75.26 amendment.​

75.27 (c) Record keeping. Subject to Section 15(h) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934​

75.28 (15 U.S.C. Section 78o(h)) or Section 222 of the Investment Advisers Act of 1940 (15​

75.29 U.S.C. Section 80b-22):​

75.30 (1) a broker-dealer registered or required to be registered under this chapter and an​

75.31 investment adviser registered or required to be registered under this chapter shall make and​

75.32 maintain the accounts, correspondence, memoranda, papers, books, and other records​

75.33 required by rule adopted or order issued under this chapter;​
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76.1 (2) broker-dealer records required to be maintained under paragraph (1) may be​

76.2 maintained in any form of data storage acceptable under Section 17(a) of the Securities​

76.3 Exchange Act of 1934 (15 U.S.C. Section 78q(a)) if they are readily accessible to the​

76.4 administrator; and​

76.5 (3) investment adviser records required to be maintained under paragraph (d)(1) may​

76.6 be maintained in any form of data storage required by rule adopted or order issued under​

76.7 this chapter.​

76.8 (d) Records and reports of private funds.​

76.9 (1) In general. An investment adviser to a private fund shall maintain such records of,​

76.10 and file with the administrator such reports and amendments thereto, that an exempt reporting​

76.11 adviser is required to file with the Securities and Exchange Commission pursuant to SEC​

76.12 Rule 204-4, Code of Federal Regulations, title 17, section 275.204-4.​

76.13 (2) Treatment of records. The records and reports of any private fund to which an​

76.14 investment adviser provides investment advice shall be deemed to be the records and reports​

76.15 of the investment adviser.​

76.16 (3) Required information. The records and reports required to be maintained by an​

76.17 investment adviser, which are subject to inspection by a representative of the administrator​

76.18 at any time, shall include for each private fund advised by the investment adviser, a​

76.19 description of:​

76.20 (A) the amount of assets under management;​

76.21 (B) the use of leverage, including off-balance-sheet leverage, as to the assets under​

76.22 management;​

76.23 (C) counterparty credit risk exposure;​

76.24 (D) trading and investment positions;​

76.25 (E) valuation policies and practices of the fund;​

76.26 (F) types of assets held;​

76.27 (G) side arrangements or side letters, whereby certain investors in a fund obtain more​

76.28 favorable rights or entitlements than other investors;​

76.29 (H) trading practices; and​

76.30 (I) such other information as the administrator determines is necessary and appropriate​

76.31 in the public interest and for the protection of investors, which may include the establishment​
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77.1 of different reporting requirements for different classes of fund advisers, based on the type​

77.2 or size of the private fund being advised.​

77.3 (4) Filing of records. A rule or order under this chapter may require each investment​

77.4 adviser to a private fund to file reports containing such information as the administrator​

77.5 deems necessary and appropriate in the public interest and for the protection of investors.​

77.6 (e) Audits or inspections. The records of a broker-dealer registered or required to be​

77.7 registered under this chapter and of an investment adviser registered or required to be​

77.8 registered under this chapter, including the records of a private fund described in paragraph​

77.9 (d) and the records of investment advisers to private funds, are subject to such reasonable​

77.10 periodic, special, or other audits or inspections by a representative of the administrator,​

77.11 within or without this state, as the administrator considers necessary or appropriate in the​

77.12 public interest and for the protection of investors. An audit or inspection may be made at​

77.13 any time and without prior notice. The administrator may copy, and remove for audit or​

77.14 inspection copies of, all records the administrator reasonably considers necessary or​

77.15 appropriate to conduct the audit or inspection. The administrator may assess a reasonable​

77.16 charge for conducting an audit or inspection under this subsection.​

77.17 (f) Custody and discretionary authority bond or insurance. Subject to Section 15(h)​

77.18 of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 (15 U.S.C. Section 78o(h)) or Section 222 of the​

77.19 Investment Advisers Act of 1940 (15 U.S.C. Section 80b-22), a rule adopted or order issued​

77.20 under this chapter may require a broker-dealer or investment adviser that has custody of or​

77.21 discretionary authority over funds or securities of a customer or client to obtain insurance​

77.22 or post a bond or other satisfactory form of security in an amount of at least $25,000, but​

77.23 not to exceed $100,000. The administrator may determine the requirements of the insurance,​

77.24 bond, or other satisfactory form of security. Insurance or a bond or other satisfactory form​

77.25 of security may not be required of a broker-dealer registered under this chapter whose net​

77.26 capital exceeds, or of an investment adviser registered under this chapter whose minimum​

77.27 financial requirements exceed, the amounts required by rule or order under this chapter.​

77.28 The insurance, bond, or other satisfactory form of security must permit an action by a person​

77.29 to enforce any liability on the insurance, bond, or other satisfactory form of security if​

77.30 instituted within the time limitations in section 80A.76(j)(2).​

77.31 (g) Requirements for custody. Subject to Section 15(h) of the Securities Exchange Act​

77.32 of 1934 (15 U.S.C. Section 78o(h)) or Section 222 of the Investment Advisers Act of 1940​

77.33 (15 U.S.C. Section 80b-22), an agent may not have custody of funds or securities of a​

77.34 customer except under the supervision of a broker-dealer and an investment adviser​

77.35 representative may not have custody of funds or securities of a client except under the​
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78.1 supervision of an investment adviser or a federal covered investment adviser. A rule adopted​

78.2 or order issued under this chapter may prohibit, limit, or impose conditions on a broker-dealer​

78.3 regarding custody of funds or securities of a customer and on an investment adviser regarding​

78.4 custody of securities or funds of a client.​

78.5 (h) Investment adviser brochure rule. With respect to an investment adviser registered​

78.6 or required to be registered under this chapter, a rule adopted or order issued under this​

78.7 chapter may require that information or other record be furnished or disseminated to clients​

78.8 or prospective clients in this state as necessary or appropriate in the public interest and for​

78.9 the protection of investors and advisory clients.​

78.10 (i) Continuing education. A rule adopted or order issued under this chapter may require​

78.11 an individual registered under section 80A.57 or 80A.58 to participate in a continuing​

78.12 education program approved by the Securities and Exchange Commission and administered​

78.13 by a self-regulatory organization.​

78.14 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.​

78.15 Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 80C.05, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

78.16 Subd. 3. Escrow or impoundment of fees and other funds by commissioner. If the​

78.17 commissioner finds that the applicant has failed to demonstrate that adequate financial​

78.18 arrangements have been made to fulfill obligations to provide real estate, improvements,​

78.19 equipment, inventory, training or other items included in the offering, the commissioner​

78.20 may by rule or order require the escrow or, impoundment, or deferral of franchise fees and​

78.21 other funds paid by the franchisee or subfranchisor until no later than the time of opening​

78.22 of the franchise business.​

78.23 Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 82B.021, subdivision 26, is amended to read:​

78.24 Subd. 26. Standards of professional practice. "Standards of professional practice"​

78.25 means the version of the uniform standards of professional appraisal practice of the​

78.26 Appraisers Appraisal Standards Board of the Appraisal Foundation in effect as of January​

78.27 1, 1991, or other version of these standards the commissioner may by order designate on​

78.28 the date the appraiser signs the appraisal report.​

78​Article 2 Sec. 45.​
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79.1 Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 82B.094, is amended to read:​

79.2 82B.094 SUPERVISION OF TRAINEE REAL PROPERTY APPRAISERS.​

79.3 (a) A certified residential real property appraiser or a certified general real property​

79.4 appraiser, in good standing, may engage a trainee real property appraiser to assist in the​

79.5 performance of real estate appraisals, provided that the certified residential real property​

79.6 appraiser or a certified general real property appraiser:​

79.7 (1) has been licensed in good standing as either a certified residential real property​

79.8 appraiser or a certified general real property appraiser for the three-year period immediately​

79.9 preceding the individual's application to become a supervisor;​

79.10 (2) has completed a six-hour course, approved in advance by the commissioner and​

79.11 provided by an education provider approved by the commissioner, that is specifically oriented​

79.12 to the requirements and responsibilities of supervisory appraisers and trainee appraisers. A​

79.13 course approved by the commissioner for the purposes of this section must be given the​

79.14 course title "Minnesota Supervisor/Trainee Appraiser Course";​

79.15 (3) has not been the subject of any license or certificate suspension or revocation or has​

79.16 not been prohibited from supervising activities in this state or any other state within the​

79.17 three years immediately preceding the individual's application to become a supervisor;​

79.18 (4) has no more than three trainee real property appraisers working under supervision​

79.19 at any one time;​

79.20 (5) actively and personally supervises the trainee real property appraiser, which includes​

79.21 ensuring that research of general and specific data has been adequately conducted and​

79.22 properly reported, application of appraisal principles and methodologies has been properly​

79.23 applied, that the analysis is sound and adequately reported, and that any analyses, opinions,​

79.24 or conclusions are adequately developed and reported so that the appraisal report is not​

79.25 misleading;​

79.26 (6) discusses with the trainee real property appraiser any necessary and appropriate​

79.27 changes that are made to a report, involving any trainee appraiser, before it is transmitted​

79.28 to the client. Changes not discussed with the trainee real property appraiser that are made​

79.29 by the supervising appraiser must be provided in writing to the trainee real property appraiser​

79.30 upon completion of the appraisal report;​

79.31 (7) accompanies the trainee real property appraiser on the inspections of the subject​

79.32 properties and drive-by inspections of the comparable sales on all appraisal assignments​

79​Article 2 Sec. 46.​
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80.1 for which the trainee will perform work until the trainee appraiser is determined to be​

80.2 competent, in accordance with the competency rule of USPAP for the property type;​

80.3 (8) accepts full responsibility for the appraisal report by signing and certifying that the​

80.4 report complies with USPAP; and​

80.5 (9) reviews and signs the trainee real property appraiser's appraisal report or reports or​

80.6 if the trainee appraiser is not signing the report, states in the appraisal the name of the trainee​

80.7 and scope of the trainee's significant contribution to the report.​

80.8 (b) The supervising appraiser must review and sign the applicable experience log required​

80.9 to be kept by the trainee real property appraiser.​

80.10 (c) The supervising appraiser must notify the commissioner within ten days when the​

80.11 supervision of a trainee real property appraiser has terminated or when the trainee appraiser​

80.12 is no longer under the supervision of the supervising appraiser.​

80.13 (d) The supervising appraiser must maintain a separate work file for each appraisal​

80.14 assignment.​

80.15 (e) The supervising appraiser must verify that any trainee real property appraiser that is​

80.16 subject to supervision is properly licensed and in good standing with the commissioner.​

80.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2026.​

80.18 Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 82B.095, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

80.19 Subd. 3. Conformance to Appraisal Qualifications Board criteria. (a) The​

80.20 requirements to obtain and maintain a trainee real property appraiser, licensed real property​

80.21 appraiser, certified residential real property appraiser, or certified general real property​

80.22 appraiser license are the education, examination, and experience requirements established​

80.23 by the Appraiser Qualifications Board of the Appraisal Foundation and published in the​

80.24 most recent version of the Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria.​

80.25 (b) An applicant must complete the applicable education and experience requirements​

80.26 before taking the required examination.​

80.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2026.​

80.28 Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 82B.13, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

80.29 Subdivision 1. Trainee real property appraiser. As a prerequisite for licensing as a​

80.30 trainee real property appraiser, an applicant must present evidence satisfactory to the​

80.31 commissioner that the person has successfully completed a six-hour course that is specifically​

80​Article 2 Sec. 48.​
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81.1 oriented to the requirements and responsibilities of supervisory appraisers and trainee​

81.2 appraisers. A course approved by the commissioner for the purposes of this subdivision​

81.3 must be given the course title "Minnesota Supervisor/Trainee Appraiser Course." This The​

81.4 course under this subdivision must not be counted toward qualifying education to upgrade​

81.5 to a higher level appraiser license.​

81.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2026.​

81.7 Sec. 49. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 82B.19, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

81.8 Subdivision 1. License renewals. (a) The commissioner must determine that a licensed​

81.9 real estate appraiser has met the continuing education requirements of this chapter before​

81.10 the commissioner renews a license. This determination must be based on, for a resident​

81.11 appraiser, course completion records uploaded electronically in a manner prescribed by the​

81.12 commissioner and, for a nonresident appraiser, course completion records presented by​

81.13 electronic transmission or uploaded electronically in a manner prescribed by the​

81.14 commissioner.​

81.15 The basic continuing education requirement for renewal of a license is the completion​

81.16 by the applicant either as a student or as an instructor, during the immediately preceding​

81.17 term of licensing, of at least 30 classroom hours of instruction in courses or seminars that​

81.18 have received the approval of the commissioner. Classroom hour credit must not be accepted​

81.19 for courses of less than two hours. As part of the continuing education requirements of this​

81.20 section, the commissioner must require that all real estate appraisers successfully complete​

81.21 the seven-hour national USPAP update course every two years. If the applicant's immediately​

81.22 preceding term of licensing consisted of six or more months, but fewer than 24 months, the​

81.23 applicant must provide evidence of completion of 15 hours of instruction during the license​

81.24 period. The credit hours required under this section may be credited to a person for distance​

81.25 education courses that meet Appraiser Qualifications Board criteria. An approved prelicense​

81.26 education course may be taken for continuing education credit.​

81.27 (b) The 15-hour USPAP course cannot be used to satisfy the requirement to complete​

81.28 the seven-hour national USPAP update course every two years.​

81.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2026.​

81.30 Sec. 50. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 115C.08, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

81.31 Subd. 2. Imposing fee. The board shall notify the commissioner of revenue if the​

81.32 unencumbered balance of the fund falls below $4,000,000, and within 60 90 days after​

81​Article 2 Sec. 50.​
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82.1 receiving notice from the board, the commissioner of revenue shall impose the fee established​

82.2 in subdivision 3 on the use of a tank for four calendar months, with payment to be submitted​

82.3 with each monthly distributor tax return.​

82.4 Sec. 51. RULEMAKING.​

82.5 The commissioner of commerce must adopt rules to conform with the changes made in​

82.6 sections 3 and 4 with respect to investment advisor registration continuing education and​

82.7 franchise fees deferral, respectively. The commissioner of commerce may use the good​

82.8 cause exemption under Minnesota Statutes, section 14.388, subdivision 1, clause (3), to​

82.9 amend the rule under this section, and Minnesota Statutes, section 14.386, does not apply​

82.10 except as provided under Minnesota Statutes, section 14.388.​

82.11 Sec. 52. RULEMAKING.​

82.12 The commissioner of commerce must amend Minnesota Rules, part 2675.2170, to comply​

82.13 with the changes made in this act. The commissioner of commerce may use the good cause​

82.14 exemption under Minnesota Statutes, section 14.388, subdivision 1, clause (3), to amend​

82.15 the rule under this section. Minnesota Statutes, section 14.386, does not apply, except as​

82.16 provided under Minnesota Statutes, section 14.388.​

82.17 Sec. 53. REPEALER.​

82.18 (a) Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 45.014, is repealed.​

82.19 (b) Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 82B.25, is repealed.​

82.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. Paragraph (b) is effective January 1, 2026.​

82.21 Sec. 54. REPEALER.​

82.22 Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 53B.58, is repealed.​

82.23 Sec. 55. REPEALER.​

82.24 Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58.08, subdivision 3, is repealed.​

82.25 Sec. 56. EFFECTIVE DATE.​

82.26 Sections 1 and 2 are effective August 1, 2024, and apply to loans executed on or after​

82.27 that date.​

82​Article 2 Sec. 56.​
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83.1 ARTICLE 3​

83.2 COMMERCIAL REGULATION AND CONSUMER PROTECTION​

83.3 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 45.011, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

83.4 Subdivision 1. Scope. As used in chapters 45 to 80C, 80E to 83, 155A, 216C, 332, 332A,​

83.5 332B, 345, and 359, and sections 81A.22 to 81A.37; 123A.21, subdivision 7, paragraph​

83.6 (a), clause (23); 123A.25; 325D.30 to 325D.42; 326B.802 to 326B.885; 386.62 to 386.78;​

83.7 471.617; and 471.982,; and 513.80, unless the context indicates otherwise, the terms defined​

83.8 in this section have the meanings given them.​

83.9 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 53B.69, is amended by adding a​

83.10 subdivision to read:​

83.11 Subd. 3a. Transaction hash. "Transaction hash" means a unique identifier made up of​

83.12 a string of characters that act as a record of and provides proof that the transaction was​

83.13 verified and added to the blockchain.​

83.14 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 53B.69, is amended by adding a​

83.15 subdivision to read:​

83.16 Subd. 3b. New customer. "New customer" means a consumer transacting at a kiosk in​

83.17 Minnesota who has been a customer with a virtual currency kiosk operator for less than 96​

83.18 hours. After a 96-hour period has elapsed from the day of first signing up as a customer​

83.19 with a virtual currency kiosk operator, the customer will be considered an existing customer​

83.20 and no longer subject to the new customer transaction limit described in this act.​

83.21 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 53B.69, is amended by adding a​

83.22 subdivision to read:​

83.23 Subd. 3c. Existing customer. "Existing customer" means a consumer transacting at a​

83.24 kiosk in Minnesota who has been a customer with a virtual currency kiosk operator for more​

83.25 than a 96-hour period. A new customer will automatically convert to an existing customer​

83.26 after the 96-hour period of first becoming a new customer. An existing customer is subject​

83.27 to the transaction limits described in this act.​

83​Article 3 Sec. 4.​
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84.1 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 53B.69, is amended by adding a​

84.2 subdivision to read:​

84.3 Subd. 6a. Virtual currency address. "Virtual currency address" means an alphanumeric​

84.4 identifier representing a destination for a virtual currency transfer that is associated with a​

84.5 virtual currency wallet.​

84.6 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 53B.69, is amended by adding a​

84.7 subdivision to read:​

84.8 Subd. 10. Virtual currency kiosk. "Virtual currency kiosk" means an electronic terminal​

84.9 acting as a mechanical agent of the operator to enable the operator to facilitate the exchange​

84.10 of virtual currency for money, bank credit, or other virtual currency, including, but not​

84.11 limited to, by (1) connecting directly to a separate virtual currency exchanger that performs​

84.12 the actual virtual currency transmission, or (2) drawing upon the virtual currency in the​

84.13 possession of the electronic terminal's operator.​

84.14 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 53B.69, is amended by adding a​

84.15 subdivision to read:​

84.16 Subd. 11. Virtual currency wallet. "Virtual currency wallet" means a software​

84.17 application or other mechanism providing a means for holding, storing, and transferring​

84.18 virtual currency.​

84.19 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 53B.69, is amended by adding a​

84.20 subdivision to read:​

84.21 Subd. 12. Virtual currency kiosk operator. "Virtual currency kiosk operator" means​

84.22 a corporation, limited liability company, limited liability partnership, foreign entity, or any​

84.23 other person or entity qualified to do business in the state of Minnesota which operates a​

84.24 virtual currency kiosk within the state of Minnesota.​

84.25 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 53B.69, is amended by adding a​

84.26 subdivision to read:​

84.27 Subd. 13. Virtual currency kiosk transaction. "Virtual currency kiosk transaction"​

84.28 means a transaction conducted or performed, in whole or in part, by electronic means via​

84.29 a virtual currency kiosk. Virtual currency kiosk transaction also means a transaction made​

84.30 at a virtual currency kiosk to purchase currency with fiat currency or to sell virtual currency​

84.31 for fiat currency.​

84​Article 3 Sec. 9.​
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85.1 Sec. 10. [53B.75] VIRTUAL CURRENCY KIOSKS.​

85.2 Subdivision 1. Disclosures on material risks. (a) Before entering into an initial virtual​

85.3 currency transaction for, on behalf of, or with a person, the virtual currency kiosk operator​

85.4 must disclose in clear, conspicuous, and legibly written English all material risks generally​

85.5 associated with virtual currency. The disclosures should be displayed on the screen of the​

85.6 virtual currency kiosk with the ability for a person to acknowledge the receipt of such​

85.7 disclosures. This includes at least the following information:​

85.8 (1) virtual currency is not legal tender, is not backed or insured by the government, and​

85.9 accounts and value balances are not subject to Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation,​

85.10 National Credit Union Administration, or Securities Investor Protection Corporation​

85.11 protections;​

85.12 (2) some virtual currency transactions are deemed to be made when recorded on a public​

85.13 ledger, which may not be the date or time when the person initiates the transaction;​

85.14 (3) virtual currency's value may be derived from market participants' continued​

85.15 willingness to exchange fiat currency for virtual currency, which may result in the permanent​

85.16 and total loss of a particular virtual currency's value if the market for it disappears;​

85.17 (4) there is no assurance that a person who accepts a virtual currency as payment today​

85.18 will do so in the future;​

85.19 (5) the volatility and unpredictability of the price of virtual currency relative to fiat​

85.20 currency may result in a significant loss over a short period;​

85.21 (6) virtual currency transactions are irreversible and are used by scammers, including​

85.22 those impersonating loved ones, threatening jail time, stating your identity is stolen, and​

85.23 insisting you withdraw money from your bank account and purchase cryptocurrency;​

85.24 (7) the nature of virtual currency means that any technological difficulties experienced​

85.25 by the operator may prevent access to or use of a person's virtual currency; and​

85.26 (8) any bond maintained by the licensee for the benefit of a person may not cover all​

85.27 losses the persons incur.​

85.28 (b) The virtual currency kiosk operator must provide an additional disclosure, which​

85.29 must be acknowledged by the person, written prominently and in bold type, and provided​

85.30 separately from the disclosures above, stating: "WARNING: LOSSES DUE TO​

85.31 FRAUDULENT OR ACCIDENTAL TRANSACTIONS ARE NOT RECOVERABLE​

85.32 AND TRANSACTIONS IN VIRTUAL CURRENCY ARE IRREVERSIBLE."​

85​Article 3 Sec. 10.​
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86.1 Subd. 2. Disclosures. (a) A virtual currency kiosk operator must disclose all relevant​

86.2 terms and conditions generally associated with the products, services, and activities of the​

86.3 operator and virtual currency. A virtual currency operator must make the disclosures in​

86.4 clear, conspicuous, and legibly written English, displayed on a separate screen from other​

86.5 disclosures and information, in bold-face sans serif font in a size in line with other texts​

86.6 displayed. These disclosures must address at least the following:​

86.7 (1) the person's liability for unauthorized virtual currency transactions;​

86.8 (2) the person's right to:​

86.9 (i) stop payment of a virtual currency transfer and the procedure to stop the payment;​

86.10 (ii) receive a receipt, trade ticket, or other evidence of a transaction at the time of​

86.11 transaction; and​

86.12 (iii) prior notice of a change in the rules or policies of the operator;​

86.13 (3) under what circumstances the operator will, without a court or government order,​

86.14 disclose a person's account information to third parties; and​

86.15 (4) other disclosures that are customarily provided in connection with the opening of a​

86.16 person's account.​

86.17 (b) Before each virtual currency transaction for, on behalf of, or with a person, the virtual​

86.18 currency kiosk operator must disclose the transaction's terms and conditions in clear,​

86.19 conspicuous, and legibly written English, displayed on a separate screen from other​

86.20 disclosures and information, in bold-face sans serif font in a size in line with other texts​

86.21 displayed. These disclosures must address at least the following:​

86.22 (1) the amount of the transaction;​

86.23 (2) any fees, expenses, and charges, including applicable exchange rates;​

86.24 (3) the type and nature of the transaction;​

86.25 (4) a warning that, once completed, the transaction may not be undone;​

86.26 (5) a daily virtual currency transaction limit of no more than $2,000 for new customers;​

86.27 (6) the difference in the virtual currency's sale price versus the current market price; and​

86.28 (7) other disclosures that are customarily given in connection with a virtual currency​

86.29 transaction.​

86.30 Subd. 3. Acknowledgment of disclosures. Before completing a transaction, a virtual​

86.31 currency kiosk operator must ensure that each person who engages in a virtual currency​

86​Article 3 Sec. 10.​
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87.1 transaction using the virtual currency operator's kiosk acknowledges receipt of all disclosures​

87.2 required under this section via confirmation of consent. Additionally, upon a transaction's​

87.3 completion, the virtual currency operator must provide a person with a physical receipt, or​

87.4 a virtual receipt sent to their email address or SMS number, containing the following​

87.5 information:​

87.6 (1) the operator's name and contact information, including a telephone number to answer​

87.7 questions and register complaints;​

87.8 (2) the type, value, date, and precise time of the transaction, transactional hash, and each​

87.9 virtual currency address;​

87.10 (3) the fees charged;​

87.11 (4) the exchange rate;​

87.12 (5) a statement of the operator's liability for non-delivery or delayed delivery;​

87.13 (6) a statement of the operator's refund policy; and​

87.14 (7) any additional information the commissioner of banking may require.​

87.15 Subd. 4. New customer hold. The first transaction of a new customer must be subject​

87.16 to a 48-hour holding period in which the customer may reverse and cancel their transaction​

87.17 for a full refund.​

87.18 Subd. 5. Transaction limits. (a) There is an established maximum daily transaction​

87.19 limit of $2,000 for each new customer of a virtual currency kiosk.​

87.20 (b) The maximum daily transaction limit of an existing customer shall be decided by​

87.21 each virtual currency kiosk operator in compliance with federal law.​

87.22 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

87.23 read:​

87.24 Subd. 5. Background checks. In connection with an application for a residential mortgage​

87.25 loan originator or servicer license, any person in control of an applicant must, at a minimum,​

87.26 provide the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System and Registry information concerning​

87.27 the person's identity, including:​

87.28 (1) fingerprints for submission to the Federal Bureau of Investigation and a governmental​

87.29 agency or entity authorized to receive the information for a state, national, and international​

87.30 criminal history background check; and​
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88.1 (2) personal history and experience in a form prescribed by the Nationwide Multistate​

88.2 Licensing System and Registry, including the submission of authorization for the Nationwide​

88.3 Multistate Licensing System and Registry and the commissioner to obtain:​

88.4 (i) an independent credit report obtained from a consumer reporting agency described​

88.5 in United States Code, title 15, section 1681a(p); and​

88.6 (ii) information related to administrative, civil, or criminal findings by a governmental​

88.7 jurisdiction.​

88.8 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58B.02, subdivision 8, is amended to read:​

88.9 Subd. 8. Student loan. "Student loan" means a government, commercial, or foundation​

88.10 loan extension of credit for actual costs paid for tuition and reasonable education and living​

88.11 expenses.​

88.12 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58B.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

88.13 read:​

88.14 Subd. 8a. Lender. "Lender" means an entity engaged in the business of securing, making,​

88.15 or extending student loans. Lender does not include, to the extent that state regulation is​

88.16 preempted by federal law:​

88.17 (1) a bank, savings banks, savings and loan association, or credit union;​

88.18 (2) a wholly owned subsidiary of a bank or credit union; or​

88.19 (3) an operating subsidiary where each owner is wholly owned by the same bank or​

88.20 credit union.​

88.21 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58B.03, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

88.22 read:​

88.23 Subd. 10. Reporting. (a) Beginning January 31, 2025, a student loan servicer that secures,​

88.24 makes, or extends student loans in the state must report to the commissioner on the form​

88.25 the commissioner provides:​

88.26 (1) a list of all schools attended by borrowers who received a student loan from the​

88.27 student loan servicer and resided within the state at the time of the transaction and whose​

88.28 debt is still outstanding, including student loans used to refinance an existing debt;​

88.29 (2) the total outstanding dollar amount owed by borrowers residing in the state who​

88.30 received student loans from the student loan servicer;​
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89.1 (3) the total number of student loans owed by borrowers residing in the state who received​

89.2 student loans from the student loan servicer;​

89.3 (4) the total outstanding dollar amount and number of student loans owed by borrowers​

89.4 who reside in the state, associated with each school identified under clause (1);​

89.5 (5) the total dollar amount of student loans provided by the student loan servicer to​

89.6 borrowers who resided in the state in the prior calendar year;​

89.7 (6) the total outstanding dollar amount and number of student loans owed by borrowers​

89.8 who resided in the state, associated with each school identified under clause (1), that were​

89.9 provided in the prior calendar year;​

89.10 (7) the rate of default for borrowers residing in the state who obtained student loans​

89.11 from the student loan servicer, if applicable;​

89.12 (8) the rate of default for borrowers residing in the state who obtained student loans​

89.13 from the student loan servicer associated with each school identified under clause (1), if​

89.14 applicable;​

89.15 (9) the range of initial interest rates for student loans provided by the student loan servicer​

89.16 to borrowers who resided in the state in the prior calendar year;​

89.17 (10) of the total number of borrowers who received student loans under clause (9), and​

89.18 the percentage of borrowers who received each rate identified under clause (9);​

89.19 (11) the total dollar amount and number of student loans provided in the prior calendar​

89.20 year by the student loan servicer to borrowers who resided in the state at the time of the​

89.21 transaction and had a cosigner for the student loans;​

89.22 (12) the total dollar amount and number of student loans provided by the student loan​

89.23 servicer to borrowers residing in the state used to refinance a prior student loan or federal​

89.24 student loan in the prior calendar year;​

89.25 (13) the total dollar amount and number of student loans for which the student loan​

89.26 servicer had sued to collect from a borrower residing in the state in the prior calendar year;​

89.27 (14) a copy of any model promissory note, agreement, contract, or other instrument used​

89.28 by the student loan servicer in the previous year to substantiate that a borrower owes a new​

89.29 debt to the student loan servicer; and​

89.30 (15) any other information considered necessary by the commissioner to assess the total​

89.31 size and status of the student loan market and well-being of borrowers in the state.​
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90.1 (b) A student loan servicer that acquires or assumes student loans in the state must report​

90.2 to the commissioner on the form the commissioner provides:​

90.3 (1) a list of all schools attended by borrowers residing in the state who used, for​

90.4 attendance, any outstanding student loans assumed or acquired by the student loan servicer;​

90.5 (2) the total outstanding dollar amount and number of student loans that have been​

90.6 acquired or assumed by the student loan servicer and owed by borrowers who reside in the​

90.7 state;​

90.8 (3) the total outstanding dollar amount and number of student loans owed by borrowers​

90.9 who reside in the state that have been assumed or acquired by the student loan servicer,​

90.10 associated with each school identified under clause (1);​

90.11 (4) the total dollar amount and number of student loans owed by borrowers who resided​

90.12 in the state that were acquired or assumed by the student loan servicer in the prior calendar​

90.13 year;​

90.14 (5) the total dollar amount and number of student loans that were acquired or assumed​

90.15 by the student loan servicer and owed by borrowers who resided in the state in the prior​

90.16 year, associated with each school identified under clause (1);​

90.17 (6) the rate of default for student loans acquired or assumed by the student loan servicer,​

90.18 if applicable;​

90.19 (7) the rate of default for student loans acquired or assumed by the student loan servicer​

90.20 associated with each school identified under clause (1), if applicable;​

90.21 (8) the total outstanding dollar amount and number of student loans owed by borrowers​

90.22 residing in the state who had a cosigner for the student loans, if applicable;​

90.23 (9) the total outstanding dollar amount and number of student loans that were acquired​

90.24 or assumed by the student loan servicer and owed by borrowers residing in the state to​

90.25 refinance a prior student loan or federal student loan;​

90.26 (10) the total dollar amount and number of student loans for which the student loan​

90.27 servicer had sued to collect from borrowers residing in the state in the prior calendar year;​

90.28 and​

90.29 (11) any other information considered necessary by the commissioner to assess the total​

90.30 size and status of the student loan market and well-being of borrowers in the state.​
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91.1 Sec. 15. [58B.051] REGISTRATION FOR LENDERS.​

91.2 (a) Beginning January 1, 2025, a lender must register with the commissioner as a lender​

91.3 before providing services in Minnesota. A lender must not offer or make a student loan to​

91.4 a resident of Minnesota without first registering with the commissioner as provided in this​

91.5 section.​

91.6 (b) A registration application must include:​

91.7 (1) the lender's name;​

91.8 (2) the lender's address;​

91.9 (3) the name of all officers, directors, partners, and owners of controlling interests in​

91.10 the lender;​

91.11 (4) the addresses of all officers, directors, partners, and owners of controlling interests​

91.12 in the lender; and​

91.13 (5) any other information the commissioner requires by rule.​

91.14 (c) A lender must renew the lender's registration on an annual basis and may be required​

91.15 to pay a fee at the time of renewal.​

91.16 (d) The commissioner may adopt and enforce:​

91.17 (1) registration procedures for lenders, which may include using the Nationwide​

91.18 Multistate Licensing System and Registry;​

91.19 (2) registration fees for lenders, which may include fees for using the Nationwide​

91.20 Multistate Licensing System and Registry, to be paid directly by the lender;​

91.21 (3) procedures and fees to renew a lender's registration, which may include fees for the​

91.22 renewed use of Nationwide Multistate Licensing System and Registry, to be paid directly​

91.23 by the lender; and​

91.24 (4) alternate registration procedures and fees for institutions of postsecondary education​

91.25 that offer student loans.​

91.26 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58B.06, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

91.27 Subd. 4. Transfer of student loan. (a) If a borrower's student loan servicer changes​

91.28 pursuant to the sale, assignment, or transfer of the servicing, the original student loan servicer​

91.29 must:​
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92.1 (1) require the new student loan servicer to honor all benefits that were made available,​

92.2 or which may have become available, to a borrower from the original student loan servicer,​

92.3 including, without limitation, any benefits for which the student loan borrower has not yet​

92.4 qualified; and​

92.5 (2) transfer to the new student loan servicer all information regarding the borrower, the​

92.6 account of the borrower, and the borrower's student loan, including but not limited to the​

92.7 repayment status of the student loan and the benefits described in clause (1).​

92.8 (b) The student loan servicer must complete the transfer under paragraph (a), clause (2),​

92.9 less than 45 days from the date of the sale, assignment, or transfer of the servicing.​

92.10 (c) A sale, assignment, or transfer of the servicing must be completed no less than seven​

92.11 days from the date the next payment is due on the student loan.​

92.12 (d) A new student loan servicer must adopt policies and procedures to verify that the​

92.13 original student loan servicer has met the requirements of paragraph (a).​

92.14 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58B.06, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

92.15 Subd. 5. Income-driven repayment. (a) A student loan servicer must evaluate a borrower​

92.16 for eligibility for an income-driven repayment program before placing a borrower in​

92.17 forbearance or default.​

92.18 (b) A student loan servicer must provide the following information on the student loan​

92.19 servicer's website:​

92.20 (1) a description of any income-driven repayment programs offered by the student loan​

92.21 servicer; and​

92.22 (2) information on the policies and procedures the student loan servicer implements to​

92.23 facilitate the evaluation of student loan income-driven repayment program requests, including​

92.24 accurate information regarding any options that may be available to the borrower through​

92.25 the promissory note or that may have been marketed to the borrower through marketing​

92.26 materials.​

92.27 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58B.07, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

92.28 Subdivision 1. Misleading borrowers. A student loan servicer must not directly or​

92.29 indirectly employ any scheme, device, or artifice to attempt to defraud or mislead a borrower.​
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93.1 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58B.07, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

93.2 Subd. 3. Misapplication of payments. A student loan servicer must not knowingly or​

93.3 negligently misapply student loan payments to the outstanding balance of a student loan.​

93.4 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58B.07, subdivision 9, is amended to read:​

93.5 Subd. 9. Incorrect information regarding student loan forgiveness loans. (a) A​

93.6 student loan servicer must not misrepresent the availability of student loan forgiveness for​

93.7 which the servicer has reason to know the borrower is eligible. This includes but is not​

93.8 limited to student loan forgiveness programs specific to military borrowers, borrowers​

93.9 working in public service, or borrowers with disabilities.​

93.10 (b) A student loan servicer must not provide incorrect information related to forbearance.​

93.11 If a student loan servicer incorrectly suggests placing a borrower in forbearance and the​

93.12 borrower relies on this information, the student loan servicer shall be subject to the penalties​

93.13 provided under section 58B.09.​

93.14 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58B.07, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

93.15 read:​

93.16 Subd. 11. Property. A student loan servicer must not obtain property by fraud or​

93.17 misrepresentation.​

93.18 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58B.07, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

93.19 read:​

93.20 Subd. 12. Customer service. A student loan servicer must not allow a borrower to​

93.21 remain on hold with a customer service representative for more than two hours.​

93.22 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58B.07, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

93.23 read:​

93.24 Subd. 13. Abusive acts or practices. A student loan servicer must not engage in abusive​

93.25 acts or practices when servicing a student loan in this state. An act or practice is abusive in​

93.26 connection with the servicing of a student loan if that act or practice:​

93.27 (1) materially interferes with the ability of a borrower to understand a term or condition​

93.28 of a student loan; or​

93.29 (2) takes unreasonable advantage of any of the following:​
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94.1 (i) a lack of understanding on the part of a borrower of the material risks, costs, or​

94.2 conditions of the student loan;​

94.3 (ii) the inability of a borrower to protect the interests of the borrower when selecting or​

94.4 using a student loan or feature, term, or condition of a student loan; or​

94.5 (iii) the reasonable reliance by the borrower on a student loan servicer to act in the​

94.6 interests of the borrower.​

94.7 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58B.07, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

94.8 read:​

94.9 Subd. 14. Violations. A violation of this section is an unlawful practice under section​

94.10 325D.44.​

94.11 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 58B.09, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

94.12 read:​

94.13 Subd. 4. Private right of action. (a) A borrower who suffers damage as a result of the​

94.14 failure of a student loan servicer to comply with this chapter may bring an action on a​

94.15 borrower's own behalf and on behalf of a similarly situated class of persons against that​

94.16 student loan servicer to recover or obtain:​

94.17 (1) actual damages, except that the total award of damages must be at least $500 per​

94.18 plaintiff, per violation;​

94.19 (2) an order enjoining the methods, acts, or practices;​

94.20 (3) restitution of property;​

94.21 (4) punitive damages;​

94.22 (5) reasonable attorney fees; and​

94.23 (6) any other relief that the court deems proper.​

94.24 (b) In addition to any other remedies provided by this subdivision or otherwise provided​

94.25 by law, if a student loan servicer is shown, by a preponderance of the evidence, to have​

94.26 engaged in conduct that substantially interferes with a borrower's right to an alternative​

94.27 payment arrangement; loan forgiveness, cancellation, or discharge; or any other financial​

94.28 benefit established under the terms of a borrower's promissory note or under the Higher​

94.29 Education Act of 1965, United States Code, title 20, section 1070a, et seq., a borrower is​

94.30 entitled to damages of at least $1,500 per plaintiff, per violation.​
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95.1 (c) At least 45 days before bringing an action for damages or injunctive relief under this​

95.2 chapter, a borrower must:​

95.3 (1) provide written notice to the student loan servicer alleged to have violated this chapter​

95.4 regarding the nature of the alleged violations; and​

95.5 (2) demand that the student loan servicer correct and remedy the method, act, or practice​

95.6 identified in the notice under clause (1).​

95.7 (d) The notice required by this subdivision must be sent by certified or registered mail,​

95.8 return receipt requested, to the student loan servicer's address on file with the Department​

95.9 of Commerce or to the student loan servicer's principal place of business in Minnesota.​

95.10 (e) An action for damages or injunctive relief brought by a borrower only on the​

95.11 individual borrower's behalf must not be maintained under paragraph (a) upon a showing​

95.12 by a student loan servicer that an appropriate correction and remedy is given, or is agreed​

95.13 to be given within a reasonable time, to the borrower within 30 days after the notice is​

95.14 received.​

95.15 (f) An action for damages brought by a borrower on both the borrower's behalf and on​

95.16 behalf of a similarly situated class of persons must not be maintained under paragraph (a)​

95.17 upon a showing by a student loan servicer alleged to have employed or committed a method,​

95.18 act, or practice declared unlawful if:​

95.19 (1) all borrowers similarly situated have been identified or a reasonable effort to identify​

95.20 other borrowers has been made;​

95.21 (2) all borrowers identified have been notified that, upon the borrower's request, the​

95.22 student loan servicer must make the appropriate correction and remedy;​

95.23 (3) the correction and remedy requested by the borrower has been given or is given​

95.24 within a reasonable amount of time; and​

95.25 (4) the student loan servicer has ceased from engaging, or if immediate cessation is​

95.26 impossible or unreasonably expensive under the circumstances, the student loan servicer​

95.27 ceases to engage within a reasonable amount of time, in the method, act, or practice.​

95.28 (g) An attempt to comply with a demand described in paragraph (c) by a student loan​

95.29 servicer that receives the demand is construed as an offer to compromise and is inadmissible​

95.30 as evidence under Minnesota Rules of Evidence, rule 408. An attempt to comply with a​

95.31 demand is not an admission of engaging in an act or practice declared unlawful by paragraph​

95.32 (a). Evidence of compliance or attempts to comply with this section may be introduced by​

95.33 a defendant to establish good faith or to show compliance with paragraph (a).​

95​Article 3 Sec. 25.​

COUNSEL OS/SC SCS4097A-1​03/21/24 03:21 pm ​



96.1 (h) An award of damages must not be given in an action based on a method, act, or​

96.2 practice in violation of paragraph (a) if the student loan servicer alleged to have employed​

96.3 or committed that method, act, or practice:​

96.4 (1) proves by a preponderance of the evidence that the violation was not intentional and​

96.5 resulted from a bona fide error, notwithstanding the use of reasonable procedures adopted​

96.6 to avoid that error; and​

96.7 (2) makes an appropriate correction, repair, replacement, or other remedy under​

96.8 paragraphs (e) and (f).​

96.9 (i) The commissioner must administer and enforce this section and must adopt rules and​

96.10 issue orders consistent with the authority under this section.​

96.11 Sec. 26. [65A.3025] CONDOMINIUM AND TOWNHOUSE POLICIES;​

96.12 COORDINATION OF BENEFITS FOR LOSS ASSESSMENT.​

96.13 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section the following terms have​

96.14 the meanings given.​

96.15 (b) "Association" has the meaning given in section 515B.1-103, clause (4).​

96.16 (c) "Unit owner" has the meaning given in section 515B.1-103, clause (37).​

96.17 (d) "Assessable loss" means a covered loss under the terms of the policy applicable​

96.18 under paragraphs (a) and (b).​

96.19 Subd. 2. Loss assessment. (a) If a loss assessment is charged by an association to an​

96.20 individual unit owner the insurance policy in force at the time of the assessable loss must​

96.21 pay the loss assessment, subject to the limits provided in the policy, notwithstanding any​

96.22 policy provisions regarding when loss assessment coverage accrues, and subject to any​

96.23 other terms, conditions, and exclusions in the policy, if the following conditions are met:​

96.24 (1) the unit owner at the time of the assessable loss is the owner of the property listed​

96.25 on the policy at the time the loss assessment is charged;​

96.26 (2) if the insurance policy in force at the time of the assessable loss provides loss​

96.27 assessment coverage; and​

96.28 (3) a loss assessment and the event or occurrence which triggers a loss assessment shall​

96.29 be considered a single loss for underwriting and rating purposes.​

96.30 (b) If a loss assessment is charged by an association to an individual unit owner the​

96.31 insurance policy in force at the time the loss assessment is charged must pay the assessment,​
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97.1 subject to the limits provided in the policy, notwithstanding any policy provisions regarding​

97.2 when loss assessment coverage accrues, and subject to any other terms, conditions, and​

97.3 exclusions in the policy, if the following conditions are met:​

97.4 (1) the unit owner at the time of the loss assessment is charged is different than the unit​

97.5 owner at the time of the assessable loss; and​

97.6 (2) the insurance policy in force at the time the loss assessment is charged provides loss​

97.7 assessment coverage.​

97.8 (c) For a loss assessment under paragraph (b), an insurer may require evidence​

97.9 documenting that the transfer of ownership occurred prior to the assessment before the​

97.10 insurer affords coverage.​

97.11 Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 239.791, subdivision 8, is amended​

97.12 to read:​

97.13 Subd. 8. Disclosure; reporting. (a) A refinery or terminal, shall provide, at the time​

97.14 gasoline is sold or transferred from the refinery or terminal, a bill of lading or shipping​

97.15 manifest to the person who receives the gasoline. For oxygenated gasoline, the bill of lading​

97.16 or shipping manifest must include the identity and the volume percentage or gallons of​

97.17 oxygenate included in the gasoline, and it must state: "This fuel contains an oxygenate. Do​

97.18 not blend this fuel with ethanol or with any other oxygenate." For nonoxygenated gasoline,​

97.19 the bill or manifest must state: "This fuel is not oxygenated. It must not be sold at retail in​

97.20 Minnesota." This subdivision does not apply to sales or transfers of gasoline between​

97.21 refineries, between terminals, or between a refinery and a terminal.​

97.22 (b) A delivery ticket required under section 239.092 for biofuel blended with gasoline​

97.23 must state the volume percentage of biofuel blended into gasoline delivered through a meter​

97.24 into a storage tank used for dispensing by persons not exempt under subdivisions 10 to 14​

97.25 and, 16, and 17.​

97.26 (c) On or before the 23rd day of each month, a person responsible for the product must​

97.27 report to the department, in the form prescribed by the commissioner, the gross number of​

97.28 gallons of intermediate blends sold at retail by the person during the preceding calendar​

97.29 month. The report must identify the number of gallons by blend type. For purposes of this​

97.30 subdivision, "intermediate blends" means blends of gasoline and biofuel in which the biofuel​

97.31 content, exclusive of denaturants and other permitted components, is greater than ten percent​

97.32 and no more than 50 percent by volume. This paragraph only applies to a person who is​

97.33 responsible for selling intermediate blends at retail at more than ten locations. A person​
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98.1 responsible for the product at fewer than ten locations is not precluded from reporting the​

98.2 gross number of intermediate blends if a report is available.​

98.3 (d) All reports provided pursuant to paragraph (c) are nonpublic data, as defined in​

98.4 section 13.02, subdivision 9.​

98.5 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 239.791, is amended by adding a subdivision​

98.6 to read:​

98.7 Subd. 17. Bulk delivery of premium grade gasoline; exemption. (a) A person​

98.8 responsible for the product may offer for sale, sell, or deliver a bulk delivery of unleaded​

98.9 premium grade gasoline, as defined in section 239.751, subdivision 4, that is not oxygenated​

98.10 in accordance with subdivision 1 if the conditions in paragraphs (b) to (d) are met.​

98.11 (b) Nonoxygenated gas is only for use in vehicles that would qualify for an exemption​

98.12 under subdivision 12, paragraph (a).​

98.13 (c) No more than one bulk fuel storage tank on the premises may be used for storage of​

98.14 the nonoxygenated gasoline.​

98.15 (d) The bulk fuel delivery is 500 gallons or less.​

98.16 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 325E.80, subdivision 1, is amended​

98.17 to read:​

98.18 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the terms in this subdivision​

98.19 have the meanings given.​

98.20 (b) "Essential consumer good or service" means a good or service that is vital and​

98.21 necessary for the health, safety, and welfare of the public, including without limitation:​

98.22 food; water; fuel; gasoline; shelter; construction materials; transportation; health care​

98.23 services; pharmaceuticals; and medical, personal hygiene, sanitation, and cleaning supplies.​

98.24 (c) "Restoration and mitigation services provider" means a person or business that​

98.25 provides service to prevent further damage to property following a fire, smoke, water, or​

98.26 storm event. Services include but are not limited to board up of property, water extraction,​

98.27 drying, smoke or odor removal, cleaning, and personal property inventory, removal, and​

98.28 storage;​

98.29 (d) "Seller" means a manufacturer, supplier, wholesaler, distributor, or retail seller of​

98.30 goods and services.​

98.31 (e) "Tree trimmer" means a person registered under section 18G.07.​
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99.1 (d) (f) "Unconscionably excessive price" means a price that represents a gross disparity​

99.2 compared to the seller's average price of an essential good or service, offered for sale or​

99.3 sold in the usual course of business, in the 60-day period before an abnormal market​

99.4 disruption is declared under subdivision 2. None of the following is an unconscionably​

99.5 excessive price:​

99.6 (1) a price that is substantially related to an increase in the cost of manufacturing,​

99.7 obtaining, replacing, providing, or selling a good or service;​

99.8 (2) a price that is no more than 25 percent above the seller's average price during the​

99.9 60-day period before an abnormal market disruption is declared under subdivision 2;​

99.10 (3) a price that is consistent with the fluctuations in applicable commodity markets or​

99.11 seasonal fluctuations; or​

99.12 (4) a contract price, or the results of a price formula, that was established before an​

99.13 abnormal market disruption is declared under subdivision 2.​

99.14 Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 325E.80, subdivision 5, is amended​

99.15 to read:​

99.16 Subd. 5. Prices and rates. Upon the occurrence of a weather event classified as a severe​

99.17 thunderstorm pursuant to the criteria established by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric​

99.18 Administration, a residential building contractor, tree trimmer, or restoration and mitigation​

99.19 services provider operating within the geographic region impacted by the weather event​

99.20 and repairing damage caused by the weather event shall not:​

99.21 (1) charge an unconscionably excessive price for labor in comparison to the market price​

99.22 charged for comparable services in the geographic region impacted by the weather event;​

99.23 or​

99.24 (2) charge an insurance company a rate that exceeds what the residential building​

99.25 contractor, tree trimmer, or restoration and mitigation services provider would otherwise​

99.26 charges members charge a member of the general public.​

99.27 Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 325E.80, subdivision 6, is amended​

99.28 to read:​

99.29 Subd. 6. Civil penalty. A person who is found to have violated this section subdivision​

99.30 4 is subject to a civil penalty of not more than $1,000 per sale or transaction, with a maximum​

99.31 penalty of $25,000 per day. No other penalties may be imposed for the same conduct​

99.32 regulated under this section subdivision 4.​
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100.1 Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 325E.80, subdivision 7, is amended​

100.2 to read:​

100.3 Subd. 7. Enforcement authority. (a) The attorney general may investigate and bring​

100.4 an action using the authority under section 8.31 against a seller or, residential building​

100.5 contractor, tree trimmer, or restoration and mitigation services provider for an alleged​

100.6 violation of this section.​

100.7 (b) Nothing in this section creates a private cause of action in favor of a person injured​

100.8 by a violation of this section.​

100.9 Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 325F.03, is amended to read:​

100.10 325F.03 FLAME RESISTANT PUBLIC ASSEMBLY TENTS.​

100.11 No person, firm or corporation shall establish, maintain or operate any circus, side show,​

100.12 carnival, tent show, theater, skating rink, dance hall, or a similar exhibition, production,​

100.13 engagement or offering or other place of assemblage in or under which ten 15 or more​

100.14 persons may gather for any lawful purpose in any tent, awning or other fabric enclosure​

100.15 unless such tent, awning or other fabric enclosure, and all auxiliary tents, curtains, drops,​

100.16 awnings and all decorative materials, are made from a nonflammable material or are treated​

100.17 and maintained in a flame resistant condition. This section shall does not apply to tents​

100.18 designed or manufactured for camping, backpacking, mountaineering, or children's play;​

100.19 tents used to conduct committal services on the grounds of a cemetery,; nor to tents, awnings​

100.20 or other fabric enclosures erected and used within a sound stage, or other similar structural​

100.21 enclosure which is equipped with an overhead automatic sprinkler system.​

100.22 Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 325F.04, is amended to read:​

100.23 325F.04 FLAME RESISTANT TENTS AND SLEEPING BAGS.​

100.24 No person, firm, or corporation may sell or offer for sale or manufacture for sale in this​

100.25 state any tent subject to section 325F.03 unless all fabrics or pliable materials in the tent​

100.26 are durably flame resistant. No person, firm or corporation may sell or offer for sale or​

100.27 manufacture for sale in this state any sleeping bag unless it meets the standards of the​

100.28 commissioner of public safety for flame resistancy. Tents and sleeping bags subject to​

100.29 section 325F.03 shall be conspicuously labeled as being durably flame resistant.​
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101.1 Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 325F.05, is amended to read:​

101.2 325F.05 RULES.​

101.3 The commissioner of public safety shall act so as to have effective rules concerning​

101.4 standards for nonflammable, flame resistant and durably flame resistant materials and for​

101.5 labeling requirements by January 1, 1976 under sections 325F.03 and 325F.04. In order to​

101.6 comply with sections 325F.03 and 325F.04 all materials and labels must comply with the​

101.7 rules adopted by the commissioner. The commissioner has general rulemaking power to​

101.8 otherwise implement sections 325F.03 to 325F.07.​

101.9 Sec. 36. [325F.078] SALES OF AEROSOL DUSTERS CONTAINING 1,1-​

101.10 DIFLUOROETHANE (DFE).​

101.11 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the following terms have​

101.12 the meanings given.​

101.13 (b) "Aerosol duster" means a product used to clean electronics and other items by means​

101.14 of an aerosol sprayed from a pressurized container.​

101.15 (c) "Behind-the-counter" means placement by a retailer of a product to ensure that​

101.16 customers do not have direct access to the product before a sale is made, requiring the seller​

101.17 to deliver the product directly to the buyer.​

101.18 (d) "DFE" or "1,1-difluoroethane" means a chemical with a Chemicals Abstract Service​

101.19 Registry Number of 75-37-6.​

101.20 Subd. 2. Requirements for retail sale. A retailer must only sell an aerosol duster that​

101.21 contains DFE:​

101.22 (1) from behind-the-counter;​

101.23 (2) to a purchaser who presents valid evidence that the purchaser is at least 21 years of​

101.24 age; and​

101.25 (3) in a quantity that complies with the purchasing limit established in subdivision 3.​

101.26 Subd. 3. Purchasing limit. A retailer is prohibited from selling more than three cans of​

101.27 an aerosol duster containing DFE to a customer in a single transaction.​

101.28 Subd. 4. Exemption. Subdivisions 2 and 3 do not apply to a business purchasing aerosol​

101.29 dusters online.​

101.30 Subd. 5. Labeling. (a) An aerosol duster containing DFE must not be sold in this state​

101.31 unless the aerosol duster conforms to the labeling requirements established in this subdivision.​
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102.1 (b) The label on each can of aerosol duster containing DFE must contain the following,​

102.2 placed within a red rectangle encompassing at least one-half of the area of the rear side of​

102.3 the can:​

102.4 (1) at the top left corner of the rectangle, the words "Inhalant Abuse Public Safety​

102.5 Announcement" in red ink on a white background that covers one quarter of the rear side​

102.6 of the can;​

102.7 (2) below the words in clause (1), the words "DANGER: DEATH! Breathing this product​

102.8 to get high can kill you" in white ink on a red background;​

102.9 (3) at the top right corner of the rectangle, a skull and crossbones symbol in black ink​

102.10 on a yellow background contained within a triangle, and the word "DANGER" in black ink​

102.11 on a yellow background just below the triangle;​

102.12 (4) below the symbol in clause (3), in black ink on a white background, the words:​

102.13 "Abuse or Misuse" underlined, under which are the words "Danger: Can stop your heart​

102.14 Caution: Can cut off air to your brain Warning: Can result in death";​

102.15 (5) below the words in clause (4), a drawing of a person lying on the ground, in white​

102.16 ink, within a red circle, on a white background, contained within a red triangle;​

102.17 (6) below the triangle in clause (5), in white ink on a red background, the word​

102.18 "WARNING," and, below that, "Risk of death when abused or misused";​

102.19 (7) across the bottom of the rectangle, in black type on a white background, the words​

102.20 "This product contains a bittering agent to help discourage inhalant abuse. The misuse and​

102.21 abuse of this product by deliberately concentrating and inhaling the chemical contents​

102.22 presents a serious health hazard and can result in fatality. Please use this product responsibly​

102.23 as the product was intended."; and​

102.24 (8) below the words in clause (7), two smaller versions of the skull and crossbones​

102.25 symbols described in clause (3) on a white background, placed equidistant from the edges​

102.26 of the red rectangle, and in between which, in red ink, is the website address​

102.27 "www.inhalant.org."​

102.28 (c) The safety symbols and color standards of the label described in this section must​

102.29 conform with the ANSI Z535 safety signage standards guidelines established by the American​

102.30 National Standards Institute.​

102.31 Subd. 6. Violations. (a) A person that violates subdivision 2 or 3 is guilty of a​

102.32 misdemeanor.​
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103.1 (b) It is an affirmative defense to a charge under subdivision 2, clause (2), if the defendant​

103.2 proves by a preponderance of the evidence that the defendant reasonably and in good faith​

103.3 relied on proof of age as described in section 340A.503, subdivision 6.​

103.4 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025, and applies to purchases​

103.5 of aerosol dusters made on or after that date.​

103.6 Sec. 37. [325F.676] TICKET SALES.​

103.7 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the following terms have​

103.8 the meanings given.​

103.9 (b) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of commerce.​

103.10 (c) "Entertainment" means all forms of entertainment, including but not limited to​

103.11 theatrical or operatic performances, concerts, motion pictures, entertainment at fairgrounds,​

103.12 amusement parks, athletic competitions and other sports, and all other forms of diversion,​

103.13 recreation, or show.​

103.14 (d) "Internet domain name" means a globally unique, hierarchical reference to an Internet​

103.15 host or service, which is assigned through a centralized Internet naming authority and which​

103.16 is composed of a series of character strings separated by periods with the rightmost string​

103.17 specifying the top of the hierarchy.​

103.18 (e) "Online ticket marketplace" means the administrator of a website or other electronic​

103.19 service, including an agent, employee, or assignee of such administrator, that sells tickets​

103.20 or maintains a platform to facilitate the sale of tickets.​

103.21 (f) "Operator" means a person, including an agent, employee, or assignee of such person,​

103.22 who:​

103.23 (1) owns, operates, or controls a place of entertainment;​

103.24 (2) produces entertainment; or​

103.25 (3) sells a ticket to a place of entertainment for original sale.​

103.26 (g) "Person" means a party, individual, partnership, association, corporation, or other​

103.27 legal entity.​

103.28 (h) "Place of entertainment" means an entertainment facility, including but not limited​

103.29 to an amphitheater, theater, stadium, arena, racetrack, museum, amusement park, venue,​

103.30 club, or other place where performances, concerts, exhibits, athletic games, contests, or​
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104.1 other forms of entertainment are held. For the purposes of this section, place of entertainment​

104.2 does not include movie theaters.​

104.3 (i) "Ticket reseller" means a person that offers or sells tickets for resale after the original​

104.4 sale to an entertainment event located in this state and includes an operator to the extent​

104.5 that the operator offers or sells tickets for resale. Sales by a ticket reseller includes sales by​

104.6 any means, including, but not limited to, in-person, or by telephone, mail, delivery service,​

104.7 facsimile, Internet, e-mail or other electronic means. A ticket reseller does not include a​

104.8 person that purchases a ticket solely for their own use or the use of their invitees, employees,​

104.9 or agents.​

104.10 (j) "URL" means a uniform resource locator for a website on the Internet.​

104.11 Subd. 2. Disclosures. (a) An operator, ticket reseller, or online ticket marketplace must,​

104.12 at all times during the ticket listing and purchasing process, disclose in an easily readable​

104.13 and conspicuous manner and in dollars:​

104.14 (1) the total cost of the ticket, inclusive of all fees and surcharges that must be paid in​

104.15 order to purchase the ticket;​

104.16 (2) the portion of the ticket price that represents a service charge; and​

104.17 (3) any other fee or surcharge to the purchaser.​

104.18 (b) The disclosure of subtotals, fees, charges, and all other components of the total price​

104.19 must not be false or misleading, and shall not be presented more prominently or in the same​

104.20 or larger size than the total price. The disclosure of subtotals, fees, charges, and all other​

104.21 components of the total price may be displayed in a way that allows the purchaser to hide​

104.22 or minimize the itemized list. The price of a ticket must not increase with respect to a​

104.23 particular person after the ticket is first displayed to such person, excluding reasonable fees​

104.24 for the delivery of nonelectronic tickets based on the delivery method selected by the​

104.25 purchaser and any additional purchases made by the purchaser, which must be disclosed​

104.26 prior to accepting payment.​

104.27 (c) A ticket reseller and online ticket marketplace must disclose in an easily readable​

104.28 and conspicuous manner on its website or electronic service:​

104.29 (1) that the website or electronic service is owned or operated by a ticket reseller or​

104.30 online ticket marketplace and that the price of a resale ticket offered for sale may be higher​

104.31 or lower than the original purchase price;​

104.32 (2) that the purchaser is responsible for checking with the place of entertainment for​

104.33 information on changes to the event or cancellations prior to the event's start time; and​
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105.1 (3) the refund policy of the ticket reseller or online ticket marketplace.​

105.2 A ticket reseller or online ticket marketplace must require a purchaser to confirm having​

105.3 read the disclosures required by this paragraph before completing a transaction.​

105.4 (d) A ticket reseller or online ticket marketplace must provide proof of purchase to the​

105.5 purchaser which must include all event and ticket information within 24 hours of the​

105.6 purchase, including:​

105.7 (1) that the purchaser is responsible for checking with the place of entertainment for​

105.8 information on changes to the event or cancellations prior to the event's start time; and​

105.9 (2) the refund policy of the ticket reseller or online ticket marketplace.​

105.10 (e) An online ticket marketplace must not use any combination of text, images, trademark,​

105.11 copyright, web designs, or Internet addresses that is identical or substantially similar to text,​

105.12 images, trademark, copyright, web designs, or Internet addresses associated with a place of​

105.13 entertainment without the written permission of the place of entertainment duly authorized​

105.14 to provide such permission. This paragraph does not prohibit an online ticket marketplace​

105.15 from using text containing the name of a place of entertainment or of an event in order to​

105.16 describe the location of the event or the event itself. This paragraph does not prohibit an​

105.17 online ticket marketplace from providing information or images identifying the specific​

105.18 seat or area the purchaser will occupy in the place of entertainment.​

105.19 (f) The obligations of paragraphs (a) to (d) do not apply to any person, unless the person​

105.20 engaged in annual aggregate transactions that were equal to or greater than $5,000.​

105.21 Subd. 3. Prohibitions. (a) A ticket reseller or online ticket marketplace must not:​

105.22 (1) sell or offer to sell more than one copy of the same ticket to a place of entertainment;​

105.23 (2) employ another person directly or indirectly to wait in line to purchase tickets for​

105.24 the purpose of reselling the tickets if the practice is prohibited or if the place of entertainment​

105.25 has posted a policy prohibiting the practice;​

105.26 (3) sell or offer to sell a ticket without first informing the person of the location of the​

105.27 place of entertainment and the ticket's assigned seat, including but not limited to the seat​

105.28 number, row, and section number of the seat;​

105.29 (4) sell or offer to sell a ticket for which there is no assigned seat without first informing​

105.30 the person of the general admission area to which the ticket corresponds; or​

105.31 (5) advertise, offer for sale, or contract for the sale of a ticket before the ticket has been​

105.32 made available to the public, including via presale, without first obtaining permission from​
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106.1 the place of entertainment, and having actual or constructive possession of such ticket,​

106.2 unless the ticket reseller owns the ticket pursuant to a season ticket package purchased by​

106.3 the ticket reseller.​

106.4 (b) A person must not use or cause to be used an Internet domain name or subdomain​

106.5 thereof in an operator, ticket reseller, or online ticket marketplace website's URL that contains​

106.6 any of the following, unless acting on behalf of the place of entertainment, event, or person​

106.7 scheduled to perform or appear at the event:​

106.8 (1) the name of a place of entertainment;​

106.9 (2) the name of an event, including the name of a person scheduled to perform or appear​

106.10 at the event; or​

106.11 (3) a name substantially similar to those described in clause (1) or (2).​

106.12 (c) A person must not:​

106.13 (1) circumvent any portion of the process for purchasing a ticket on the Internet or for​

106.14 admission to a place of entertainment, including but not limited to security or identity​

106.15 validation measures or an access control system; or​

106.16 (2) disguise the identity of a purchaser for the purpose of purchasing a number of tickets​

106.17 for admission to a place of entertainment that exceeds the maximum number of tickets​

106.18 allowed for purchase by a person.​

106.19 (d) A person must not sell a ticket obtained in violation of paragraph (c) if the person:​

106.20 (1) participated in or had the ability to control the conduct committed in violation of​

106.21 paragraph (c); or​

106.22 (2) knew that the ticket was acquired in violation of paragraph (c).​

106.23 (e) An operator, online ticket marketplace, or ticket reseller must not sell a ticket unless:​

106.24 (1) the ticket is in the possession or constructive possession of the operator, online ticket​

106.25 marketplace, or ticket reseller; or​

106.26 (2) the operator, online ticket marketplace, or ticket reseller has a written contract with​

106.27 the place of entertainment to obtain the ticket.​

106.28 (f) Pursuant to United States Code, title 15, section 45c, circumvention of a security​

106.29 measure, access control system, or other technological control measure used by an online​

106.30 ticket marketplace to enforce posted event ticket purchasing limits or to maintain the integrity​

106.31 of posted online ticket purchasing order rules is prohibited.​
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107.1 Subd. 4. Commissioner data requests; data practices. (a) Upon request by the​

107.2 commissioner, an online ticket marketplace must disclose to the commissioner information​

107.3 about technology and methods used in an alleged violation of subdivision 3, paragraph (f).​

107.4 Data collected or maintained by the commissioner under this subdivision are civil​

107.5 investigative data under section 13.39, and the commissioner may share with the attorney​

107.6 general any not public data, as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 8a, received under this​

107.7 subdivision.​

107.8 (b) The commissioner may enforce this section under section 45.027.​

107.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025, and applies to tickets​

107.10 sold on or after that date.​

107.11 Sec. 38. [325F.782] DEFINITIONS.​

107.12 Subdivision 1. Scope. For purposes of sections 325F.782 to 325F.7822, the following​

107.13 terms have the meanings given.​

107.14 Subd. 2. Minor. "Minor" means an individual who is younger than 21 years of age.​

107.15 Subd. 3. Vapor product. "Vapor product" means a noncombustible product that employs​

107.16 a heating element, power source, electronic circuit, or other electronic, chemical, or​

107.17 mechanical means, regardless of shape or size, that can be used to produce vapor from​

107.18 nicotine or any other substance, and the use or inhalation of which simulates smoking. Vapor​

107.19 product includes an electronic cigarette, electronic cigar, electronic cigarillo, electronic​

107.20 pipe, or similar product or device. Vapor product also includes a vapor cartridge or other​

107.21 container of nicotine or other substance in a solution or other form that is intended to be​

107.22 used with or in an electronic cigarette, electronic cigar, electronic cigarillo, electronic pipe,​

107.23 or similar product or device.​

107.24 Sec. 39. [325F.7821] PROHIBITION ON DECEPTIVE VAPOR PRODUCTS.​

107.25 A person or entity must not market, promote, label, brand, advertise, distribute, offer​

107.26 for sale, or sell a vapor product by:​

107.27 (1) imitating a product that is not a vapor product, including but not limited to:​

107.28 (i) a food or brand of food commonly marketed to minors, including but not limited to​

107.29 candy, desserts, and beverages;​

107.30 (ii) school supplies commonly used by minors, including but not limited to erasers,​

107.31 highlighters, pens, and pencils; and​

107​Article 3 Sec. 39.​

COUNSEL OS/SC SCS4097A-1​03/21/24 03:21 pm ​



108.1 (iii) a product based on or depicting a character, personality, or symbol known to appeal​

108.2 to minors, including but not limited to a celebrity; a character in a comic book, movie,​

108.3 television show, or video game; and a mythical creature;​

108.4 (2) attempting to conceal the nature of the vapor product from parents, teachers, or other​

108.5 adults; or​

108.6 (3) using terms for, describing, or depicting any product described in clause (1).​

108.7 Sec. 40. [325F.7822] REMEDIES.​

108.8 Subdivision 1. Private right of action. A person or entity who violates section 325F.7821​

108.9 is subject to the penalties and remedies, including a private right of action to recover damages,​

108.10 provided under section 8.31.​

108.11 Subd. 2. Civil penalty. In addition to the penalties and remedies under subdivision 1,​

108.12 the attorney general is entitled to sue for and recover on behalf of the state a civil penalty​

108.13 from a person or entity who violates section 325F.7821. The court must determine the civil​

108.14 penalty amount, which must not exceed $50,000.​

108.15 Sec. 41. [325F.812] CELLULAR TELEPHONE CASES.​

108.16 Subdivision 1. Certain cellular telephone cases; prohibition. A person is prohibited​

108.17 from purchasing, possessing, importing, manufacturing, selling, holding for sale, or​

108.18 distributing a cellular telephone case, stand, or cover that is a facsimile of or reasonably​

108.19 appears to be a firearm, including but not limited to a pistol or revolver.​

108.20 Subd. 2. Enforcement. This section may be enforced by the attorney general under​

108.21 section 8.31, but a court may not impose a civil penalty of more than $500 for a violation​

108.22 of this section.​

108.23 Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 325G.24, is amended to read:​

108.24 325G.24 RIGHT OF CANCELLATION.​

108.25 Subdivision 1. Right of cancellation. (a) Any person who has elected to become a​

108.26 member of a club may unilaterally cancel such membership, in the person's exclusive​

108.27 discretion, by giving written notice of cancellation at any time before midnight of the third​

108.28 business day following the date on which membership was attained. Notice of cancellation​

108.29 may be given personally or by mail.​

108.30 (b) If given by mail, the notice is effective upon deposit in a mailbox, properly addressed​

108.31 and postage prepaid. Notice of cancellation need not take a particular form and is sufficient​
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109.1 if it indicates, by any form of written expression, the intention of the member not to be​

109.2 bound by the contract.​

109.3 (c) Cancellation under this subdivision shall be without liability on the part of the member​

109.4 and the member shall be entitled to a refund, within ten days after notice of cancellation is​

109.5 given, of the entire consideration paid for the contract. Rights of cancellation may not be​

109.6 waived or otherwise surrendered.​

109.7 Subd. 2. Right of member unilateral termination. (a) Any person who has elected to​

109.8 become a member of a club may unilaterally terminate such membership, in the person's​

109.9 exclusive discretion, by giving notice of termination at any time.​

109.10 (b) If given by mail, the notice is effective upon deposit in a mailbox, properly addressed,​

109.11 and postage prepaid.​

109.12 (c) A club must not impose a termination fee or any other liability on the member for​

109.13 termination under this subdivision.​

109.14 (d) Termination under this subdivision will be effective at the end of the membership​

109.15 term in which the member provides the notice of termination. If membership is at-will​

109.16 without a defined membership term, then termination under this subdivision will be effective​

109.17 immediately, unless the member indicates a future effective date of termination, in which​

109.18 event the date indicated by the member will be the effective date of termination.​

109.19 (e) If a member provides notice of termination at any time before midnight of the third​

109.20 business day following the date on which membership was attained, the club must treat the​

109.21 notice as a notice of cancellation under subdivision 1, unless the member specifically​

109.22 provides for a future termination effective date.​

109.23 Subd. 3. Notice requirements. (a) A club must accept a notice of cancellation or notice​

109.24 of termination that has been given:​

109.25 (1) verbally, including but not limited to personally or over the phone to customer or​

109.26 account service members;​

109.27 (2) in writing, including but not limited to via mail, email, or an online message through​

109.28 the club's website directed to customer or account service members;​

109.29 (3) through a termination election as described in section 325G.60; or​

109.30 (4) in any other manner or medium by which the member initially accepted membership​

109.31 to the club and that is no more burdensome to the member than was the initial acceptance.​
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110.1 (b) The process to cancel must be stated clearly and be easily accessible and completed​

110.2 with ease.​

110.3 Subd. 4. No waiver. A right of cancellation or right of termination under this section​

110.4 may not be waived or otherwise surrendered.​

110.5 Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 325G.25, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

110.6 Subdivision 1. Form and content. A copy of every contract shall be delivered to the​

110.7 member at the time the contract is signed. Every contract must be in writing, must be signed​

110.8 by the member, must designate the date on which the member signed the contract and must​

110.9 state, clearly and conspicuously in boldface type of a minimum size of 14 points, the​

110.10 following:​

110.11 "MEMBERS' RIGHT TO CANCEL"​

110.12 "If you wish to cancel this contract, you may cancel in-person, over the phone, by​

110.13 delivering or mailing a written notice to the club, via email or an online message through​

110.14 the club's website, through the "termination election" provided on the club's website (if​

110.15 applicable) and as described in Minnesota Statutes, section 325G.60, or in any other manner​

110.16 or medium by which you initially accepted membership to the club. The notice must be​

110.17 provided to the club say that you do not wish to be bound by the contract and must be​

110.18 delivered or mailed before midnight of the third business day after you sign this contract.​

110.19 The notice must be delivered or mailed to: (Insert name and mailing address of club). If​

110.20 you cancel, the club will return, within ten days of the date on which you give notice of​

110.21 cancellation, any payments you have made."​

110.22 "MEMBERS' RIGHT TO UNILATERAL TERMINATION"​

110.23 "You may unilaterally terminate this contract in your exclusive discretion at any time.​

110.24 If you terminate, your membership will terminate at the end of the membership term in​

110.25 which you provided the club with notice of termination. If your membership is at-will​

110.26 without a defined membership term, then your membership will terminate immediately,​

110.27 unless you indicate a future effective date of termination. If you wish to terminate this​

110.28 contract, you may terminate in-person, over the phone, by delivering or mailing a written​

110.29 notice to the club, via email or an online message through the club's website, through the​

110.30 "termination election" provided on the club's website (if applicable) and as described in​

110.31 Minnesota Statutes, section 325G.60, or in any other manner or medium by which you​

110.32 initially accepted membership to the club. The club may not impose a termination fee or​

110.33 any other liability on you for termination."​
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111.1 "NOTICE INFORMATION"​

111.2 "If you wish to provide notice of cancellation or notice of termination to the club:​

111.3 In-person or by mail, the applicable address is: [Insert name and mailing address of​

111.4 club];​

111.5 Over the phone, the applicable phone number is: [Insert phone number of club];​

111.6 Via email, the applicable email address is: [Insert email address of club];​

111.7 On the club's website, the applicable website address is: [Insert address, if applicable]."​

111.8 Sec. 44. [325G.38] HANDHELD ELECTRONIC DEVICES; DISCLOSURES.​

111.9 If a retail establishment offers consumers the use of handheld electronic devices that​

111.10 require payment for games or other entertainment, the handheld electronic device must​

111.11 display a disclosure. The disclosure must be provided to the consumer before a game or​

111.12 entertainment is purchased and must:​

111.13 (1) require the user to affirm that the user is 18 years of age or older; and​

111.14 (2) include, in at least ten-point font and larger than all other type viewable on the screen​

111.15 at that time, the payment amount required.​

111.16 Sec. 45. [325G.56] DEFINITIONS.​

111.17 Subdivision 1. Scope. For purposes of sections 325G.56 to 325G.62, the terms defined​

111.18 in this section have the meanings given them.​

111.19 Subd. 2. Automatic renewal. "Automatic renewal" means a plan or arrangement in​

111.20 which a subscription or purchasing agreement is automatically renewed at the end of a​

111.21 definite term for a subsequent term.​

111.22 Subd. 3. Clear and conspicuous. "Clear and conspicuous" means in larger type than​

111.23 the surrounding text, or in contrasting type, font, or color to the surrounding text of the same​

111.24 size, or set off from the surrounding text of the same size by symbols or other marks, in a​

111.25 manner that calls attention to the language. In the case of an audio disclosure, "clear and​

111.26 conspicuous" means in a volume and cadence sufficient to be readily audible and​

111.27 understandable.​

111.28 Subd. 4. Consumer. "Consumer" means any individual who seeks or acquires, by​

111.29 purchase or lease, any goods, services, money, or credit for personal, family, or household​

111​Article 3 Sec. 45.​

COUNSEL OS/SC SCS4097A-1​03/21/24 03:21 pm ​



112.1 purposes. Consumer includes, but is not limited to, a member as defined in section 325G.23,​

112.2 unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.​

112.3 Subd. 5. Continuous service. "Continuous service" means a plan or arrangement in​

112.4 which a subscription or purchasing agreement continues until the consumer terminates the​

112.5 agreement.​

112.6 Subd. 6. Indefinite subscription agreement. "Indefinite subscription agreement" means​

112.7 a subscription or purchasing agreement:​

112.8 (1) between a seller and a consumer in the state; and​

112.9 (2) subject to automatic renewal or continuous service.​

112.10 Indefinite subscription agreements include but are not limited to contracts, as defined in​

112.11 section 325G.23, subject to automatic renewal or continuous service.​

112.12 Subd. 7. Offer terms. "Offer terms" means the following disclosures:​

112.13 (1) that the indefinite subscription agreement will continue until the consumer terminates​

112.14 the agreement;​

112.15 (2) the description of the cancellation policy that applies to the indefinite subscription​

112.16 agreement;​

112.17 (3) the recurring charges that will be charged to the consumer's credit or debit card or​

112.18 payment account with a third party as part of the plan or arrangement and that the amount​

112.19 of the charge may change, if that is the case, and the amount to which the charge will change,​

112.20 if known;​

112.21 (4) the length of the automatic renewal term or that the service is continuous, unless the​

112.22 length of the term is definite and chosen by the consumer; and​

112.23 (5) the minimum purchase obligation, if any.​

112.24 Subd. 8. Seller. "Seller" means a seller, lessor, licensor, or professional who advertises,​

112.25 solicits, or engages in consumer transactions, or a manufacturer, distributor, or licensor who​

112.26 advertises and sells, leases, or licenses goods or services to be resold, leased, or sublicensed​

112.27 by other persons in consumer transactions. Seller includes, but is not limited to, a club as​

112.28 defined in section 325G.23, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.​
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113.1 Sec. 46. [325G.57] REQUIREMENTS FOR AUTOMATIC RENEWAL OR​

113.2 CONTINUOUS SERVICE.​

113.3 Subdivision 1. Notices upon offer. A seller making an offer for an indefinite subscription​

113.4 agreement must, before the consumer accepts the offer, present the offer terms in a clear​

113.5 and conspicuous manner to the consumer and in visual proximity, or in the case of an offer​

113.6 conveyed by voice, in temporal proximity, to the offer's proposal.​

113.7 Subd. 2. Confirmation upon consumer consent. A seller making an offer for an​

113.8 indefinite subscription agreement must, in a timely manner after the consumer accepts the​

113.9 offer, provide the consumer with confirmation of the consumer's acceptance of the offer,​

113.10 in a manner that is capable of being retained by the consumer, that includes the following:​

113.11 (1) the offer terms;​

113.12 (2) if the offer includes a free trial, information on how to cancel the free trial before​

113.13 the consumer pays or becomes obligated to pay for any goods or services in connection​

113.14 with the free trial; and​

113.15 (3) options for termination of the indefinite subscription agreement, which options must​

113.16 be easy to use, cost-effective, and timely for all consumers:​

113.17 (i) if a seller makes offers for an indefinite subscription agreement through an online​

113.18 website, a termination election as set forth in section 325G.60; and​

113.19 (ii) if a consumer enters into the indefinite subscription agreement through any means​

113.20 other than a toll-free telephone number, an electronic mail address, or a postal address, then​

113.21 an option substantially similar to, as easy to use, and as accessible as the initial means of​

113.22 consumer acceptance of the agreement.​

113.23 A communication of the required information through electronic mail is sufficient to meet​

113.24 the requirements of this subdivision.​

113.25 Subd. 3. Material changes. Upon a material change in the terms of the indefinite​

113.26 subscription agreement, the seller must provide to the consumer in a timely manner, and in​

113.27 any case prior to the implementation of the material change, a clear and conspicuous notice​

113.28 of the material change and provide information regarding how to terminate the agreement​

113.29 in a manner that is capable of being retained by the consumer. A material change in the​

113.30 terms of an indefinite subscription agreement in violation of this subdivision is void and​

113.31 unenforceable.​

113.32 Subd. 4. Free trials. A seller making an offer for an indefinite subscription agreement​

113.33 that includes a free trial lasting more than 30 days must, no fewer than five days and no​
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114.1 more than 30 days before the end of any such free trial, notify the consumer of the consumer's​

114.2 option to cancel the free trial before the end of the trial period to avoid an obligation to pay​

114.3 for the goods or services.​

114.4 Subd. 5. Periodic notice of continuous service. (a) If an indefinite subscription​

114.5 agreement is subject to continuous service, the seller must give the consumer written notice​

114.6 of the continuous service at least once per calendar year via mail or electronic mail.​

114.7 (b) The notice required under this subdivision must include the terms of the service and​

114.8 how to terminate or manage the service.​

114.9 Sec. 47. [325G.58] PROHIBITED CONDUCT.​

114.10 Subdivision 1. Definition; agreement. For purposes of this section, "agreement" means​

114.11 an indefinite subscription agreement, as defined in section 325G.56, and a contract, as​

114.12 defined in section 325G.23.​

114.13 Subd. 2. Charges prior to effective date. A seller must not charge the consumer's credit​

114.14 or debit card or the consumer's account with a third party in connection with an agreement​

114.15 before the agreement has been duly authorized by the seller and consumer and made effective.​

114.16 Subd. 3. Right of first refusal. An agreement must not require the consumer to permit​

114.17 the seller to match any offer the consumer has received. A provision in an agreement that​

114.18 violates this subdivision is void and unenforceable.​

114.19 Subd. 4. No abusive tactics or offers upon notice. (a) A seller that has received a notice​

114.20 of cancellation or notice of termination of an agreement from a consumer cannot:​

114.21 (1) make any misrepresentation or undertake any unfair or abusive tactic to delay,​

114.22 unreasonably delay, or avoid the cancellation or termination of the agreement; or​

114.23 (2) make or provide additional benefits, contract modifications, gifts, or similar offers​

114.24 to the consumer until the seller has obtained permission from the consumer, granted by the​

114.25 consumer after notice of cancellation or termination was given to the seller, for the seller​

114.26 to engage in any such activity.​

114.27 (b) A seller can only seek a consumer's permission under this paragraph once per​

114.28 cancellation or termination attempt. A consumer's grant of permission under this paragraph​

114.29 is limited to the immediate cancellation or termination attempt and does not apply to​

114.30 subsequent attempts.​

114.31 Subd. 5. Exceptions. This section does not prohibit a seller from:​
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115.1 (1) asking the consumer the reasons for cancellation or termination, provided that a​

115.2 consumer is not required to answer as a condition of cancellation or termination;​

115.3 (2) informing the consumer that there may be consequences of cancelling or terminating​

115.4 the subscription; or​

115.5 (3) verifying the identity of the consumer.​

115.6 Sec. 48. [325G.59] CONSUMER'S RIGHT TO TERMINATE.​

115.7 Subdivision 1. Termination of agreement subject to automatic renewal. A consumer​

115.8 may terminate an indefinite subscription agreement subject to automatic renewal at any​

115.9 time by following the procedure set forth in the confirmation described in section 325G.57,​

115.10 subdivision 2. A termination under this subdivision is effective at the end of the term in​

115.11 which notice of termination is provided by the consumer, unless the consumer specifies a​

115.12 termination date occurring at the end of a subsequent term, in which event the termination​

115.13 is effective as of the date specified by the consumer, if the option is available.​

115.14 Subd. 2. Termination of agreement subject to continuous service. (a) A consumer​

115.15 may terminate an indefinite subscription agreement subject to continuous service at any​

115.16 time by following the procedure set forth in the confirmation described in section 325G.57,​

115.17 subdivision 2. A termination under this subdivision must take effect no later than 31 days​

115.18 from the date of a verified consumer's notice of termination unless the consumer specifies​

115.19 a future termination date, in which event the termination is effective as of such date.​

115.20 (b) This subdivision does not require a seller to provide an option to set a future​

115.21 termination date.​

115.22 Subd. 3. Termination in absence of confirmation or notice. If the seller fails to provide​

115.23 either the confirmation required under section 325G.57, subdivision 2, or a notice required​

115.24 by section 325G.57, subdivision 5, the consumer may terminate the indefinite subscription​

115.25 agreement by any reasonable means at any time, including but not limited to by mail,​

115.26 electronic mail, telephone, an online option, a termination election under section 325G.60,​

115.27 or the means by which the consumer entered into the agreement, at no cost to the consumer.​

115.28 Sec. 49. [325G.60] TERMINATION ELECTION REQUIREMENT.​

115.29 Subdivision 1. Definition; agreement. For purposes of this section, "agreement" means​

115.30 an indefinite subscription agreement, as defined in section 325G.56, and a contract, as​

115.31 defined in section 325G.23.​
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116.1 Subd. 2. Termination election required. (a) If a seller has a website with profile or​

116.2 subscription management capabilities, then such website must include a termination election​

116.3 on the website. The termination election must be clear and conspicuous on the website and​

116.4 must use plain language to convey that any consumer may use the termination election to​

116.5 terminate the agreement at any time. The termination election must only require a consumer​

116.6 to input information that is necessary to process the termination. The termination election​

116.7 must include a checkbox, submission button, or similarly common and simple mechanism​

116.8 for the member to indicate a desire to terminate the agreement.​

116.9 (b) For purposes of this section, "termination election" means a simple and easily​

116.10 accessible means for a consumer to quickly provide notice of termination, and that does not​

116.11 include undue complexity, confusion, or misrepresentation by the seller.​

116.12 Sec. 50. [325G.61] UNCONDITIONAL GIFTS.​

116.13 Any good, including but not limited to any ware, merchandise, or product, is an​

116.14 unconditional gift to the consumer if a seller sends the good under an indefinite subscription​

116.15 agreement without first obtaining the consumer's affirmative consent to the agreement in​

116.16 accordance with section 325G.57. The consumer may use or dispose of the good in any​

116.17 manner without any obligation to the seller, including but not limited to any obligation​

116.18 relating to shipping of the good.​

116.19 Sec. 51. [325G.62] EXEMPTION.​

116.20 Sections 325G.56 to 325G.61 do not apply to:​

116.21 (1) contracts governed by another state or federal statute or regulation specifically​

116.22 intended to regulate automatic renewal or continuous service;​

116.23 (2) any licensee as defined in section 60A.985, subdivision 8, and any affiliate of such​

116.24 a licensee as defined in section 60D.15, subdivision 2;​

116.25 (3) an individual or business licensed by the Department of Labor and Industry as a​

116.26 technology system contractor or power limited technician as defined in section 326B.31;​

116.27 (4) any service provided by a business or its affiliate where either the business or its​

116.28 affiliate is licensed or regulated by the Public Utilities Commission, the Federal​

116.29 Communications Commission, or the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission; or​

116.30 (5) any person or entity registered or licensed with the Financial Industry Regulatory​

116.31 Authority, the Securities and Exchange Commission, or under the Minnesota Securities​

116.32 Act.​
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117.1 Sec. 52. [332.3352] WAIVER OF LICENSING AND REGISTRATION.​

117.2 The commissioner of commerce may, by order, waive the licensing and registration​

117.3 requirements of this chapter for a nonresident collection agency and its affiliated collectors​

117.4 if: (1) a written reciprocal licensing agreement is in effect between the commissioner and​

117.5 the licensing officials of the collection agency's home state; and (2) the collection agency​

117.6 is licensed in good standing in that state.​

117.7 Sec. 53. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 332.71, subdivision 2, is amended​

117.8 to read:​

117.9 Subd. 2. Coerced debt. (a) "Coerced debt" means all or a portion of debt in a debtor's​

117.10 name that has been incurred as a result of:​

117.11 (1) the use of the debtor's personal information without the debtor's knowledge,​

117.12 authorization, or consent;​

117.13 (2) the use or threat of force, intimidation, undue influence, harassment, fraud, deception,​

117.14 coercion, or other similar means against the debtor; or​

117.15 (3) economic abuse perpetrated against the debtor.​

117.16 (b) Coerced debt does not include secured debt.​

117.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.​

117.18 Sec. 54. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 332.71, subdivision 4, is amended​

117.19 to read:​

117.20 Subd. 4. Debtor. "Debtor" means a person who (1) is a victim of domestic abuse,​

117.21 harassment economic abuse, or sex or labor trafficking, and (2) owes coerced debt.​

117.22 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.​

117.23 Sec. 55. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 332.71, subdivision 5, is amended​

117.24 to read:​

117.25 Subd. 5. Documentation. "Documentation" means a writing that identifies a debt or a​

117.26 portion of a debt as coerced debt, describes the circumstances under which the coerced debt​

117.27 was incurred, and takes the form of:​

117.28 (1) a police report;​

117.29 (2) a Federal Trade Commission identity theft report;​
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118.1 (3) an order in a dissolution proceeding under chapter 518 that declares that one or more​

118.2 debts are coerced; or​

118.3 (4) a sworn written certification.​

118.4 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.​

118.5 Sec. 56. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 332.71, subdivision 7, is amended​

118.6 to read:​

118.7 Subd. 7. Economic abuse. "Economic abuse" means behavior in the context of a domestic​

118.8 relationship that controls, restrains, restricts, impairs, or interferes with the ability of a victim​

118.9 of domestic abuse, harassment, or sex or labor trafficking debtor to acquire, use, or maintain​

118.10 economic resources, including but not limited to:​

118.11 (1) withholding or restricting access to, or the acquisition of, money, assets, credit, or​

118.12 financial information;​

118.13 (2) interfering with the victim's ability to work and earn wages; or​

118.14 (3) exerting undue influence over a person's financial and economic behavior or decisions.​

118.15 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.​

118.16 Sec. 57. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 332.72, is amended to read:​

118.17 332.72 COERCED DEBT PROHIBITED.​

118.18 (a) A person is prohibited from causing another person to incur coerced debt.​

118.19 (b) A person who causes another person to incur a coerced debt in violation of this​

118.20 section is civilly liable to the creditor for the amount of the debt, or portion thereof,​

118.21 determined by a court to be coerced debt, plus the creditor's reasonable attorney fees and​

118.22 costs, provided the creditor follows the procedures under section 332.74, subdivision 3,​

118.23 paragraph (b).​

118.24 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.​

118.25 Sec. 58. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 332.73, subdivision 1, is amended​

118.26 to read:​

118.27 Subdivision 1. Notification. (a) Before taking an affirmative action under section 332.74,​

118.28 a debtor must, by certified mail, notify a creditor that the debt or a portion of a debt on​

118.29 which the creditor demands payment is coerced debt and request that the creditor cease all​

118.30 collection activity on the coerced debt. The notification and request must be in writing and​
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119.1 include documentation. If not already included in documentation, the notification must​

119.2 include a signed statement that includes:​

119.3 (1) an assertion that the debtor is a victim of domestic abuse, economic abuse, or sex or​

119.4 labor trafficking;​

119.5 (2) a recitation of the facts supporting the claim that the debt is coerced; and​

119.6 (3) if only a portion of the debt is claimed to be coerced debt, an itemization of the​

119.7 portion of the debt that is claimed to be coerced debt.​

119.8 (b) The creditor, within 30 days of the date the notification and request is received, must​

119.9 notify the debtor in writing of the creditor's decision to either immediately cease all collection​

119.10 activity or continue to pursue collection. If a creditor ceases collection but subsequently​

119.11 decides to resume collection activity, the creditor must notify the debtor ten days prior to​

119.12 the date the collection activity resumes.​

119.13 (b) If a creditor ceases collection but subsequently decides to resume collection activity,​

119.14 the creditor must notify the debtor ten days prior to the date the collection activity resumes.​

119.15 (c) A debtor must not proceed with an action under section 332.74 until the 30-day​

119.16 period provided under paragraph (a) has expired.​

119.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.​

119.18 Sec. 59. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 332.74, subdivision 3, is amended​

119.19 to read:​

119.20 Subd. 3. Relief. (a) If a debtor shows by a preponderance of the evidence that the debtor​

119.21 has been aggrieved by a violation of section 332.72 and the debtor has incurred coerced​

119.22 debt, the debtor is entitled to one or more of the following:​

119.23 (1) a declaratory judgment that the debt or portion of a debt is coerced debt;​

119.24 (2) an injunction prohibiting the creditor from (i) holding or attempting to hold the debtor​

119.25 liable for the debt or portion of a debt, or (ii) enforcing a judgment related to the coerced​

119.26 debt; and​

119.27 (3) an order dismissing any cause of action brought by the creditor to enforce or collect​

119.28 the coerced debt from the debtor or, if only a portion of the debt is established as coerced​

119.29 debt, an order directing that the judgment, if any, in the action be amended to reflect only​

119.30 the portion of the debt that is not coerced debt.​
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120.1 (b) If the court orders relief for the debtor under paragraph (a), the court, after the​

120.2 creditor's motion has been personally served on the person who violated section 332.72, or​

120.3 if personal service cannot be made, after service by United States mail to the last known​

120.4 address of the person who violated section 332.72 and one-week published notice under​

120.5 section 645.11, shall must issue a judgment in favor of the creditor against the person in​

120.6 the amount of the debt or a portion thereof.​

120.7 (c) This subdivision applies regardless of the judicial district in which the creditor's​

120.8 action or the debtor's petition was filed.​

120.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.​

120.10 Sec. 60. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 332.74, subdivision 5, is amended​

120.11 to read:​

120.12 Subd. 5. Burden. In any affirmative action taken under subdivision 1 or any affirmative​

120.13 defense asserted in subdivision 4, the debtor bears the burden to show by a preponderance​

120.14 of the evidence that the debtor incurred coerced debt. There is a presumption that the debtor​

120.15 has incurred coerced debt if the person alleged to have caused the debtor to incur the coerced​

120.16 debt has been criminally convicted, entered a guilty plea, or entered an Alford plea under​

120.17 of or received a stay of adjudication for a violation of section 609.27, 609.282, 609.322, or​

120.18 609.527.​

120.19 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.​

120.20 Sec. 61. [513.80] RESIDENTIAL REAL ESTATE SERVICE AGREEMENTS;​

120.21 UNFAIR SERVICE AGREEMENTS.​

120.22 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have​

120.23 the meanings given.​

120.24 (b) "County recorder" has the meaning given in section 13.045, subdivision 1.​

120.25 (c) "Person" means natural persons, corporations both foreign and domestic, trusts,​

120.26 partnerships both limited and general, incorporated or unincorporated associations,​

120.27 companies, business entities, and any other legal entity or any other group associated in fact​

120.28 although not a legal entity or any agent, assignee, heir, employee, representative, or servant​

120.29 thereof.​

120.30 (d) "Record" or "recording" means placement of a document or instrument in the official​

120.31 county public land records.​
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121.1 (e) "Residential real property" means real property that is located in Minnesota occupied,​

121.2 or intended to be occupied, by one to four families as their residence.​

121.3 (f) "Service agreement" means a contract under which a person agrees to provide real​

121.4 estate broker services as defined in section 82.55, subdivision 19, in connection with the​

121.5 purchase or sale of residential real property.​

121.6 (g) "Service provider" means an individual or entity that provides services to a person​

121.7 pursuant to a service agreement.​

121.8 Subd. 2. Unfair service agreements; prohibition. (a) A service agreement subject to​

121.9 this section is unfair and prohibited if any part of the agreement provides an exclusive right​

121.10 to a service provider for a term in excess of one year after the time the service agreement​

121.11 is entered into and:​

121.12 (1) purports to run with the land or to be binding on future owners of interests in the real​

121.13 property;​

121.14 (2) allows for assignment of the right to provide service without notice to and consent​

121.15 of the residential real property's owner, including a contract for deed vendee;​

121.16 (3) is recorded or purports to create a lien, encumbrance, or other real property security​

121.17 interest; or​

121.18 (4) contains a provision that purports to automatically renew the agreement upon its​

121.19 expiration.​

121.20 (b) The following are not unfair service agreements under this section:​

121.21 (1) a home warranty or similar product that covers the cost of maintaining a major home​

121.22 system or appliance for a fixed period;​

121.23 (2) an insurance contract;​

121.24 (3) a mortgage loan or a commitment to make or receive a mortgage loan;​

121.25 (4) an option or right of refusal to purchase a residential real property;​

121.26 (5) a declaration of any covenants, conditions, or restrictions created in the formation​

121.27 of a homeowners association, a group of condominium owners, or other common interest​

121.28 community or an amendment to the covenants, conditions, or restrictions;​

121.29 (6) a maintenance or service agreement entered by a homeowners association in a​

121.30 common interest community;​
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122.1 (7) a security agreement governed by chapter 336 that relates to the sale or rental of​

122.2 personal property or fixtures; or​

122.3 (8) a contract with a gas, water, sewer, electric, telephone, cable, or other utility service​

122.4 provider.​

122.5 (c) This section does not impair any lien right granted under Minnesota law or that is​

122.6 judicially imposed.​

122.7 Subd. 3. Recording prohibited. (a) A person is prohibited from:​

122.8 (1) presenting or sending an unfair service agreement or notice or memorandum of an​

122.9 unfair service agreement to any county recorder to record; or​

122.10 (2) causing an unfair service agreement or notice or memorandum of an unfair service​

122.11 agreement to be recorded by a county recorder.​

122.12 (b) If a county recorder records an unfair service agreement, the county recorder does​

122.13 not incur liability.​

122.14 (c) If an unfair service agreement is recorded, the recording does not create a lien or​

122.15 provide constructive notice to any third party, bona fide purchaser, or creditor.​

122.16 Subd. 4. Unfair service agreements unenforceable. A service agreement that is unfair​

122.17 under this section is unenforceable and does not create a contractual obligation or relationship.​

122.18 Any waiver of a consumer right, including a right to trial by jury, in an unfair service​

122.19 agreement is void.​

122.20 Subd. 5. Unfair service agreements; solicitation. Encouraging any consumer to enter​

122.21 into an unfair service agreement by any service provider constitutes:​

122.22 (1) an unfair method of competition; and​

122.23 (2) an unfair or deceptive act or practice under section 82.81, subdivision 12, paragraph​

122.24 (c), and section 325F.69.​

122.25 Subd. 6. Enforcement authority. (a) This section may be enforced by the attorney​

122.26 general under section 8.31, except that any private cause of action brought under subdivision​

122.27 7 is subject to the limitation under subdivision 7, paragraph (d).​

122.28 (b) The commissioner of commerce may enforce this section with respect to a service​

122.29 provider's real estate license.​

122.30 Subd. 7. Remedies. (a) A consumer that is party to an unfair service agreement related​

122.31 to residential real property or a person with an interest in the property that is the subject of​
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123.1 that agreement may bring an action under section 8.31 or 325F.70 in district court in the​

123.2 county where the property is located.​

123.3 (b) If an unfair service agreement or a notice or memorandum of an unfair service​

123.4 agreement is recorded against any residential real property, any judgment obtained under​

123.5 this section, after being certified by the clerk having custody of the unfair service agreement​

123.6 or notice or memorandum of the unfair service agreement, may be recorded and indexed​

123.7 against the real property encumbered or clouded by the unfair service agreement.​

123.8 (c) The remedies provided under this section are not exclusive and do not reduce any​

123.9 other rights or remedies a party may have in equity or in law.​

123.10 (d) No private action may be brought under this section more than six years after the​

123.11 date the term printed in the unfair service agreement expires.​

123.12 Sec. 62. REPEALER.​

123.13 Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 332.3351, is repealed.​

123.14 Sec. 63. REPEALER.​

123.15 Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 332.71, subdivision 8, is repealed.​

123.16 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.​

123.17 Sec. 64. REPEALER.​

123.18 Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 325G.25, subdivision 1a, is repealed.​

123.19 Sec. 65. EFFECTIVE DATE.​

123.20 This act is effective August 1, 2024.​

123.21 Sec. 66. EFFECTIVE DATE.​

123.22 This act is effective August 1, 2025, and applies to contracts entered into, modified, or​

123.23 renewed on or after that date.​
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124.1 ARTICLE 4​

124.2 LIQUOR​

124.3 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 340A.101, subdivision 13, is amended to​

124.4 read:​

124.5 Subd. 13. Hotel. "Hotel" is an establishment where food and lodging are regularly​

124.6 furnished to transients and which has:​

124.7 (1) a dining room serving the general public at tables and having facilities for seating​

124.8 at least 30 guests at one time; and or​

124.9 (2) guest rooms in the following minimum numbers: in first class cities, 50; in second​

124.10 class cities, 25 20; in all other cities and unincorporated areas, 10.​

124.11 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 340A.404, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

124.12 Subd. 2. Special provision; city of Minneapolis. (a) The city of Minneapolis may issue​

124.13 an on-sale intoxicating liquor license to the Guthrie Theater, the Cricket Theatre, the​

124.14 Orpheum Theatre, the State Theatre, and the Historic Pantages Theatre, notwithstanding​

124.15 the limitations of law, or local ordinance, or charter provision relating to zoning or school​

124.16 or church distances. The licenses authorize sales on all days of the week to holders of tickets​

124.17 for performances presented by the theaters and to members of the nonprofit corporations​

124.18 holding the licenses and to their guests.​

124.19 (b) The city of Minneapolis may issue an intoxicating liquor license to 510 Groveland​

124.20 Associates, a Minnesota cooperative, for use by a restaurant on the premises owned by 510​

124.21 Groveland Associates, notwithstanding limitations of law, or local ordinance, or charter​

124.22 provision.​

124.23 (c) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale intoxicating liquor license to Zuhrah​

124.24 Shrine Temple for use on the premises owned by Zuhrah Shrine Temple at 2540 Park Avenue​

124.25 South in Minneapolis, notwithstanding limitations of law, or local ordinances, or charter​

124.26 provision relating to zoning or school or church distances.​

124.27 (d) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale intoxicating liquor license to the​

124.28 American Association of University Women, Minneapolis branch, for use on the premises​

124.29 owned by the American Association of University Women, Minneapolis branch, at 2115​

124.30 Stevens Avenue South in Minneapolis, notwithstanding limitations of law, or local​

124.31 ordinances, or charter provisions relating to zoning or school or church distances.​
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125.1 (e) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale wine license and an on-sale 3.2 percent​

125.2 malt liquor license to a restaurant located at 5000 Penn Avenue South, and an on-sale wine​

125.3 license and an on-sale malt liquor license to a restaurant located at 1931 Nicollet Avenue​

125.4 South, notwithstanding any law or local ordinance or charter provision.​

125.5 (f) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale wine license and an on-sale malt liquor​

125.6 license to the Brave New Workshop Theatre located at 3001 Hennepin Avenue South, the​

125.7 Theatre de la Jeune Lune, the Illusion Theatre located at 528 Hennepin Avenue South, the​

125.8 Hollywood Theatre located at 2815 Johnson Street Northeast, the Loring Playhouse located​

125.9 at 1633 Hennepin Avenue South, the Jungle Theater located at 2951 Lyndale Avenue South,​

125.10 Brave New Institute located at 2605 Hennepin Avenue South, the Guthrie Lab located at​

125.11 700 North First Street, and the Southern Theatre located at 1420 Washington Avenue South,​

125.12 notwithstanding any law or local ordinance or charter provision. The license authorizes​

125.13 sales on all days of the week.​

125.14 (g) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale intoxicating liquor license to University​

125.15 Gateway Corporation, a Minnesota nonprofit corporation, for use by a restaurant or catering​

125.16 operator at the building owned and operated by the University Gateway Corporation on the​

125.17 University of Minnesota campus, notwithstanding limitations of law, or local ordinance or​

125.18 charter provision. The license authorizes sales on all days of the week.​

125.19 (h) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale intoxicating liquor license to the Walker​

125.20 Art Center's concessionaire or operator, for a restaurant and catering operator on the premises​

125.21 of the Walker Art Center, notwithstanding limitations of law, or local ordinance or charter​

125.22 provisions. The license authorizes sales on all days of the week.​

125.23 (i) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale intoxicating liquor license to the Guthrie​

125.24 Theater's concessionaire or operator for a restaurant and catering operator on the premises​

125.25 of the Guthrie Theater, notwithstanding limitations of law, local ordinance, or charter​

125.26 provisions. The license authorizes sales on all days of the week.​

125.27 (j) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale wine license and an on-sale malt liquor​

125.28 license to the Minnesota Book and Literary Arts Building, Inc.'s concessionaire or operator​

125.29 for a restaurant and catering operator on the premises of the Minnesota Book and Literary​

125.30 Arts Building, Inc. (dba Open Book), notwithstanding limitations of law, or local ordinance​

125.31 or charter provision. The license authorizes sales on all days of the week.​

125.32 (k) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale intoxicating liquor license to a restaurant​

125.33 located at 5411 Penn Avenue South, notwithstanding any law or local ordinance or charter​

125.34 provision.​

125​Article 4 Sec. 2.​
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126.1 (l) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale intoxicating liquor license to the Museum​

126.2 of Russian Art's concessionaire or operator for a restaurant and catering operator on the​

126.3 premises of the Museum of Russian Art located at 5500 Stevens Avenue South,​

126.4 notwithstanding any law or local ordinance or charter provision.​

126.5 (m) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale intoxicating liquor license to the​

126.6 American Swedish Institute or to its concessionaire or operator for use on the premises​

126.7 owned by the American Swedish Institute at 2600 Park Avenue South, notwithstanding​

126.8 limitations of law, or local ordinances, or charter provision relating to zoning or school or​

126.9 church distances.​

126.10 (n) Notwithstanding any other law, local ordinance, or charter provision, the city of​

126.11 Minneapolis may issue one or more on-sale intoxicating liquor licenses to the Minneapolis​

126.12 Society of Fine Arts (dba Minneapolis Institute of Arts), or to an entity holding a concessions​

126.13 or catering contract with the Minneapolis Institute of Arts for use on the premises of the​

126.14 Minneapolis Institute of Arts. The licenses authorized by this subdivision may be issued​

126.15 for space that is not compact and contiguous, provided that all such space is included in the​

126.16 description of the licensed premises on the approved license application. The licenses​

126.17 authorize sales on all days of the week.​

126.18 (o) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale intoxicating liquor license to Norway​

126.19 House or to its concessionaire or operator for use on the premises owned by Norway House​

126.20 at 913 East Franklin Avenue, notwithstanding limitations of law, or local ordinances, or​

126.21 charter provision relating to zoning or school or church distances.​

126.22 (p) Notwithstanding any other law, including section 340A.504, subdivision 3, relating​

126.23 to seating requirements, local ordinance, or charter provision, the city of Minneapolis may​

126.24 issue one or more on-sale intoxicating liquor licenses to any entity holding a concessions​

126.25 or catering contract with the Minneapolis Park and Recreation Board for use on the​

126.26 Minneapolis Park and Recreation Board premises of the Downtown Commons Park, the​

126.27 Minneapolis Sculpture Garden, or at Boom Island Park. The licenses authorized by this​

126.28 subdivision may be used for space specified within the park property, provided all such​

126.29 space is included in the description of the licensed premises on the approved license​

126.30 application. The licenses authorize sales on the dates on the approved license application.​

126​Article 4 Sec. 2.​
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127.1 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 340A.412, is amended by adding a subdivision​

127.2 to read:​

127.3 Subd. 12a. Transfers of wine. (a) Notwithstanding the provisions of subdivision 12,​

127.4 the holder of an off-sale intoxicating liquor license may transfer wine from one licensed​

127.5 premises to another provided that:​

127.6 (1) the license for the transferring and receiving premises are held by the same licensee;​

127.7 (2) the licensee notifies the wholesaler from whom the wine was purchased and the​

127.8 Division of Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement of the Division of Public Safety, in writing,​

127.9 at least three business days before the transfer is made, the specific product and quantity of​

127.10 product being transferred;​

127.11 (3) only one transfer is made from a licensed premises in a three-month period; and​

127.12 (4) each transfer of wine must not exceed 75 cases of wine. Each case is limited to 12​

127.13 bottles of wine.​

127.14 (b) A licensee that is delinquent beyond the 30-day period in section 340A.318 is​

127.15 prohibited from transferring wine under this subdivision.​

127.16 (c) Transfers of wine must only occur within the state of Minnesota.​

127.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024.​

127.18 Sec. 4. Laws 2022, chapter 86, article 2, section 3, is amended to read:​

127.19 Sec. 3. CITY OF ST. PAUL; LICENSE AUTHORIZED.​

127.20 Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 340A.412, subdivision 4, the city of St.​

127.21 Paul may issue a temporary on-sale malt liquor license to the Thai Cultural Council of​

127.22 Minnesota or to a person or entity holding a concessions contract with the Thai Cultural​

127.23 Council of Minnesota. The license may authorize the sale of malt liquor on the grounds of​

127.24 the State Capitol for both days of the Minnesota Songkran Festival. All provisions of​

127.25 Minnesota Statutes, section 340A.404, subdivision 10, not inconsistent with this section,​

127.26 apply to the license authorized by this section.​

127.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective upon approval by the St. Paul City​

127.28 Council and compliance with Minnesota Statutes, section 645.021.​

127​Article 4 Sec. 4.​
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128.1 Sec. 5. SPORTS AND EVENT CENTER LICENSE; EAGAN.​

128.2 Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, chapter 340A, or any other local law or ordinance​

128.3 to the contrary, the city of Eagan may issue up to three on-sale intoxicating liquor licenses​

128.4 to the owner of a multiuse sports and event center located on property in the city of Eagan,​

128.5 legally described as Outlot A, Viking Lakes 3rd Addition, or as may be described hereafter​

128.6 due to subdivision or replatting, or to any facility operator, concessionaire, catering operator,​

128.7 or other third-party food and beverage vendor for the center under contract with the owner.​

128.8 A license issued under this section may be issued for a space that is not compact and​

128.9 contiguous, provided that the licensed premises shall only be the space described in the​

128.10 approved license. A license issued under this section authorizes sales on all days of the​

128.11 week. The provisions of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 340A, not inconsistent with this section,​

128.12 apply to a license issued under this section.​

128.13 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective upon approval by the Eagan City Council​

128.14 and compliance with Minnesota Statutes, section 645.021.​

128.15 Sec. 6. SPECIAL LIQUOR LAW; CITY OF LITCHFIELD.​

128.16 Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 624.701, the city of Litchfield may issue​

128.17 an on-sale license under Minnesota Statutes, section 340A.404, subdivision 1, paragraph​

128.18 (d), for sales at town ball games played at a ballpark on school grounds.​

128.19 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

128.20 Sec. 7. EFFECTIVE DATE.​

128.21 This section is effective upon approval by the Minneapolis City Council and compliance​

128.22 with Minnesota Statutes, section 645.021.​

128.23 ARTICLE 5​

128.24 MEDICAL SUPPLEMENT IMPLEMENTATION DELAY​

128.25 Section 1. Laws 2023, chapter 57, article 2, section 7, the effective date, is amended to​

128.26 read:​

128.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2025 2026, and applies to​

128.28 policies offered, issued, or renewed on or after that date.​

128​Article 5 Section 1.​
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129.1 Sec. 2. Laws 2023, chapter 57, article 2, section 8, the effective date, is amended to read:​

129.2 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2025 2026, and applies to​

129.3 policies offered, issued, or renewed on or after that date.​

129.4 Sec. 3. Laws 2023, chapter 57, article 2, section 9, the effective date, is amended to read:​

129.5 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2025 2026, and applies to​

129.6 policies offered, issued, or renewed on or after that date.​

129.7 Sec. 4. Laws 2023, chapter 57, article 2, section 10, the effective date, is amended to read:​

129.8 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2025 2026, and applies to​

129.9 policies offered, issued, or renewed on or after that date.​

129.10 Sec. 5. Laws 2023, chapter 57, article 2, section 11, the effective date, is amended to read:​

129.11 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2025 2026, and applies to​

129.12 policies offered, issued, or renewed on or after that date.​

129.13 Sec. 6. Laws 2023, chapter 57, article 2, section 12, the effective date, is amended to read:​

129.14 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2025 2026, and applies to​

129.15 policies offered, issued, or renewed on or after that date.​

129.16 Sec. 7. Laws 2023, chapter 57, article 2, section 13, the effective date, is amended to read:​

129.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2025 2026, and applies to​

129.18 policies offered, issued, or renewed on or after that date.​

129.19 Sec. 8. Laws 2023, chapter 57, article 2, section 14, the effective date, is amended to read:​

129.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2025 2026, and applies to​

129.21 policies offered, issued, or renewed on or after that date.​

129.22 Sec. 9. Laws 2023, chapter 57, article 2, section 15, the effective date, is amended to read:​

129.23 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2025 2026, and applies to​

129.24 policies offered, issued, or renewed on or after that date."​

129​Article 5 Sec. 9.​
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