

Chair

Matt D. Klein 2105 Minnesota Senate Building St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 296-4370 sen.matt.klein@mnsenate.gov

Vice Chair

Judy Seeberger

Ranking Minority Member

Gary H. Dahms

Members

Zach Duckworth Nick A. Frentz Jeff R. Howe Ron Latz Jordan Rasmusson Ann H. Rest Melissa H. Wiklund

Committee Staff:

Committee Administrator

Bill Lunzer (651) 296-2090 bill.lunzer@mnsenate.gov

Committee Legislative Assistant

Tyler Kline (651) 296-4370 tyler.kline@mnsenate.gov

Caucus Research

Amanda Pedersen (DFL) Linnea Michaelson (R)

Counsel

Olivia Syverson

Fiscal Analyst

Hannah Grunewald Noeldner

Minnesota Senate Commerce and Consumer Protection Committee

Thursday, March 21st, 2024 12:30 p.m. Room G-15 Capitol

AGENDA

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. S.F. 3561 (Morrison) Packaging Waste and Cost Reduction Act
 - Laurie Halverson, Minnesota Inter-County Association and the Partnership on Waste and Energy
 - Nels Paulsen, Conservation Minnesota
 - Kirk Koudelka, MN Pollution Control Agency
 - Gabbie Batzko, Solid Waste Administrators Association
 - Amber Backhaus, National Waste and Recycling Association
 - Tim Wilkin, Minnesota Beverage Association
 - Tony Kwilas, MN Chamber of Commerce
- 3. S.F. 1037 (Frentz) Commissioner of commerce requirement to defray costs to health plan companies for additional benefits
 - Bentley Graves, MN Chamber of Commerce
- 4. S.F. 5031 (Rasmusson) Money transmitters governing provisions modifications
 - Melissa Reed, Park Street Public
- 5. S.F. 3993 (Boldon) Active transportation requirements amendments including electric bicycles and sales regulations, complete streets requirements, drivers education and appropriations
 - CJ Lindor, BikeMn
 - Matt Moore, PeopleForBikes
- 6. S.F. 4351 (Gustafson) Advertisement, distribution, and sale prohibition of certain vapor products
- 7. S.F. 3345 (Mitchell) Banning certain mercury-containing lighting
 - Eric Fowler, Fresh Energy
 - Josh McClenney, Appliance Standards Awareness Project
- 8. S.F. 4909 (McEwen) Terms definition relating to virtual currency
 - Zack Eichten, RockItCoin
 - Larry Lipka, CoinFlip
- 9. Adjournment