

March 4, 2024

Chair Klein and Members of the Commerce and Consumer Protection Committee,

The Minnesota Section of the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) supports SF 3532 for prior authorization reform.

Too often, prior authorization – which is truly intended as a checkpoint prior to provision of unique or experimental medical care that can be particularly expensive – stands in the way of patients receiving standard, evidence-based medical management for preventative and therapeutic care. This may prevent patients from accessing consistent contraception, mental health medications, pain management for menstrual cycles, chemotherapy for gynecologic cancers, genetic screening in pregnancy or as related to hereditary cancer syndromes, procedures for the work-up or management of concerning symptoms or conditions, and countless other components of necessary OB/Gyn care. This can become especially frustrating and dangerous in cases in which patients have been stable on one medication or therapy and a change in health insurance carrier or policy type creates new requirements for accessing it.

Prior authorization reform is included within the legislative priorities for national ACOG for 2024. ACOG supports consistent access to contraception, access to genetic screening without need for approval, removal of the ability for retroactive denials of already authorized care, ensuring authorizations are valid for at least one year or for the length of treatment for chronic conditions, reductions in the administrative burdens of prior authorizations, improving efficiency of the prior authorization process to prevent delays in access to necessary care, and collaboration between specialty groups and government bodies to identify care that should never require prior authorization.

Minnesotans deserve consistent access to healthcare and the therapies that are deemed appropriate and safe by their trusted healthcare providers without interference from insurance carriers. Please join us in supporting SF 3532.

Erin Stevens, MD

Legislative Chair for MN ACOG