# Infrastructure Resilience Advisory Task Force



Evelyn Weiner | Research Analyst

### Establishment & Duties

The Infrastructure Resilience Advisory Task Force is established to evaluate issues related to coordination, sustainability, resiliency, and federal funding on state, local, and private infrastructure in the state.

- Develop objectives and strategies to:
  - Provide for effective and efficient management of state, local, and private infrastructure;
  - Enhance sustainability and resiliency of infrastructure throughout the state;
  - Respond to and mitigate the effects of adverse weather events across the state, including natural disasters, droughts, and floods; and
  - Provide for equitable treatment in areas of persistent poverty and historically disadvantaged communities;
- Identify approaches to enhance infrastructure coordination across jurisdictions, agencies, state and local

government, and public and private sectors, including in planning, design, engineering, construction,

maintenance, and operations;

- Identify methods to maximize federal formula and discretionary funds provided to recipients in the state for infrastructure purposes;
- Evaluate options for organizational design of state agencies to meet the purposes above, including consideration of:
  - Options for establishment of a board, council, office, or other agency;
  - Models in other states; and
  - Develop findings and recommendations related to the duties specified in this subdivision.

### Membership

- Rep. Erin Koegel, Chair
- Rep. Dawn Gillman, Vice-Chair
- Sen. Jim Carlson
- Sen. John Jasinski
- Jessica Burdette, Director of the Office of Energy Reliability and Security for the Minnesota Department of Commerce
- Sandeep Burman, State Drinking Water Administrator for the Minnesota Department of Health
- Dana Vanderbosch, Assistant Commissioner for Water Policy and Agriculture at Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
- Jean Wallace, Deputy Commissioner and Chief Engineer for the Minnesota Department of Transportation
- Mike Zastoupil, Agricultural and Food Systems Planner for the Minnesota Department of Agriculture
- James Pearson, Principal Manager of State Government Affairs for Xcel Energy
- Micah Intermill, Enterprise Director of Federal Funds Implementation for the State of Minnesota

- Tom Dicklich, Executive Director of the Minnesota Building and Construction Trades Council
- Greg Ewig, Division Director of Real Estate and Construction Services for the State of Minnesota
- Lyle Femrite, Chairman of Decoria Township
- Paul Krabbenhoft
- Brian Olson, Director of Public Works for the City of Edina
- Kris Manderfeld
- Russ Matthys, Public Works Director for the City of Eagan
- Samantha Minkler, Capital Asset Manager for the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources
- Bree Maki, Director of the Office of Broadband Development for the Department of Employment and Economic Development
- John Paulson, Project, Environmental, and Regulatory Manager for the City of Hutchinson
- Laura Ziegler, Director of Highway and Government Affairs for the Associated General Contractors of Minnesota

### Meetings

- September 25, 2023 first meeting, Chair and Co-Chair elected.
- October 9, 2023 second meeting, testimony heard from the Michigan Infrastructure Council and the Climate Action Framework.
- October 23, 2023 third meeting, discussion.
- November 20, 2023 fourth meeting, testimony heard from the University of Minnesota's Empowering Small Communities project.

- December 4, 2023 fifth meeting, mission statement drafted.
- December 18, 2023 sixth meeting, mission statement and board structure finalized.
- January 16, 2024 seventh meeting, discussion.
- January 29, 2024 eighth meeting, report finalized and approved.

#### Michigan Infrastructure Council - Membership

- The Michigan Infrastructure Council (MIC) is comprised of nine appointed voting members who are representative of one or more of the following: (1) asset management experts from the public and private sectors with knowledge of and expertise in the areas of planning, design, construction, management, operations and maintenance for drinking water, wastewater, storm water, transportation, energy, and communications, (2) financial and procurement experts from the public or private sector, and (3) experts in regional asset management planning across jurisdictions and infrastructure sectors. All voting members serve 3-year terms. Five of the voting positions are appointed by the Governor, one by the Senate Majority Leader, one by the Speaker of the House, one by the Senate Minority Leader, and one by the House Minority Leader.
- The MIC is also comprised of nine non-voting members representing state agencies, the Water Asset Management Council (WAMC), the Transportation Asset Management Council (TAMC), and the Michigan Public Service Commission (MPSC).

#### Michigan Infrastructure Council – Mission and Goals

Define a vision for Michigan's infrastructure that provides the foundation for public and environmental health, economic prosperity, and quality of life.

- Collaborate Facilitate a coordinated, holistic approach that optimizes the engagement of all who manage and use Michigan's infrastructure
- Coordinate Align strategies for infrastructure management to ensure that Michigan's assets are effectively and efficiently constructed, operated, and maintained
- Educate Provide accurate and trusted information to support effective infrastructure decisions
- Invest Determine, recommend, and advocate for adequate funding for Michigan's infrastructure and promote effective and efficient investments to achieve maximum benefit
- Prioritize Establish and document the condition of Michigan's infrastructure to identify the needs of greatest priority

#### Recommendations

This board would be charged with defining and maintaining a vision for the future of Minnesota's infrastructure that provides for proper management, coordination, and investment.

The board will work in a non-regulatory capacity and in tandem with stakeholders to identify and promote best practices that will preserve and extend the longevity of Minnesota's public and privately-owned infrastructure.

The board will consist of fifteen non-voting members that are experts in an aspect of infrastructure and eleven voting members.

The duties the board is charged with include, but are not limited to, electing a chair, hiring an executive director, identifying approaches to enhance and expedite infrastructure coordination across jurisdictions, agencies, state, and local government, and public and private sectors. Areas of coordination could include planning, design, engineering, construction, maintenance, and operations. Other duties of the board include developing an educational program on asset management and writing an annual report to the legislature.

# Thank You

Evelyn Weiner evelyn.weiner@lcc.mn.gov