Senate Counsel, Research, and Fiscal Analysis

Alexis C. Stangl, Director

Minnesota Senate Building 95 University Ave. W. Suite 3300 ST. PAUL, MN 55155-1800 (651) 296-4791 www.senate.mn/scrfa



State of Minnesota

S.F. No. 2574 – Modifications to credit for attaining a master's degree in teacher licensure field

Author:	Senator Robert J. Kupec
Prepared by:	Nora Pollock, Senate Counsel (651/297-8066)
Date:	March 21, 2023

Under current law, teachers are allowed a credit equal to the lesser of \$2,500, or the amount paid for tuition, fees, books, and instructional materials necessary to completing a master's degree in a core content area in which the teacher provides direct classroom instruction. "Core content area" means reading, English or language arts, mathematics, science, foreign languages, civics and government, economics, arts, history, or geography. The master's degree program may not include pedagogy or a pedagogy component. This bill modifies the credit to include teachers earning a master's degree relating to special education, which may include pedagogy or a pedagogy component, and to certain newly licensed teachers.

Section 1. Credit for newly licensed teachers and teachings attaining master's degrees.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. Expands the definition of "master's degree program" to include special education. Clarifies that a master's degree program is limited to degree programs related to the area in which the teacher provides direct classroom instruction. Strikes the term "qualified teacher," creates a new definition of "eligible master's degree recipient" for purposes of the individual eligible to claim the credit, and makes other clarifying changes. Adds definitions for "eligible newly licensed teacher", "license shortage area", and "qualifying teaching license."

Subdivision 2. Credit allowed. Expands the credit to include eligible newly licensed teachers, defined as an individual who earned an additional qualifying teaching license (a Tier 3 or Tier 4 license) for the first time in a license shortage area. Specifies that the credit equals \$2,500 and it is limited the amount paid for tuition, fees, books, and other necessary instructional materials. Provides that an individual may claim only one credit per taxable year and that married joint filers may claim a credit for each spouse who is an eligible newly licensed teacher or eligible master's degree recipient.

Effective for taxable years beginning after December 31, 2022.