Senate Counsel, Research, and Fiscal Analysis

Alexis C. Stangl, Director

Minnesota Senate Building 95 University Ave. W. Suite 3300 St. Paul, MN 55155-1800 (651) 296-4791 www.senate.mn/scrfa



S.F. No. 1056 – Modifying the Metropolitan Fiscal Disparities Program Area

Author: Senator D. Scott Dibble

Prepared by: Bjorn Arneson, Legislative Analyst (651/296-3812)

Date: March 16, 2023

Background:

Under current law, the metropolitan fiscal disparities program area comprises Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, and Washington Counties, excluding the cities of New Prague and Northfield. The local governments in the program area share part of the growth in the commercial-industrial tax base across the program area.

The area under the jurisdiction of the Metropolitan Council comprises Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, and Washington Counties, excluding the cities of Cannon Falls, Hanover, New Prague, Northfield, and Rockford.

Proposal:

The bill proposes to align the definition of the area and municipalities included in the metropolitan fiscal disparities program with the definition of the area and municipalities under the jurisdiction of the Metropolitan Council.

Aligning these definitions would make the cities of Hanover and Rockford ineligible for continued participation in the metropolitan fiscal disparities program. (As of 2023, Cannon Falls is located entirely in Goodhue County and has never been eligible to participate in the metropolitan fiscal disparities program.)

The proposal would be effective for taxes payable in 2024 and thereafter.