Senator ..... moves to amend S.F. No. 2782 as follows: 1.1 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert: 1.2 "ARTICLE 1 1.3 **APPROPRIATIONS** 1.4 Section 1. APPROPRIATIONS. 1.5 (a) The sums shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are appropriated to the 1.6 agencies and for the purposes specified in this article. The appropriations are from the 1.7 general fund, or another named fund, and are available for the fiscal years indicated for 1.8 each purpose. The figures "2024" and "2025" used in this article mean that the appropriations 1.9 listed under them are available for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, or June 30, 2025, 1.10 respectively. "The first year" is fiscal year 2024. "The second year" is fiscal year 2025. "The 1.11 biennium" is fiscal years 2024 and 2025. 1.12 (b) If an appropriation in this article is enacted more than once in the 2023 regular or 1.13 special legislative session, the appropriation must be given effect only once. 1.14 **APPROPRIATIONS** 1.15 Available for the Year 1.16 1.17 **Ending June 30** 2024 2025 1.18 Sec. 2. **DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND** 1.19 **INDUSTRY** 1.20 Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation \$ 46,681,000 \$ 43,613,000 1.21 Appropriations by Fund 1.22 2024 2025 1.23 General 6,911,000 5,227,000 1.24 Workers' 1 25 Compensation 29,859,000 31,621,000 1.26 Workforce 1.27 Development 9,911,000 6,765,000 1.28 The amounts that may be spent for each 1.29 purpose are specified in the following 1.30 subdivisions. 1.31 1.32 Subd. 2. General Support 8,765,000 9,106,000 This appropriation is from the workers' 1.33

1.34

compensation fund.

2.33

to implement and administer the change to the

	03/27/23 08:55 pm		COUNSEL	CDF/DN	SCS2782A-5
3.1	state income tax subtracti	on for the purpo	oses		
3.2	of article 7.				
3.3	(i) \$175,000 the first year	and \$175,000 t	<u>he</u>		
3.4	second year are to the Att	orney General's			
3.5	Office to enforce construc	ction workers w	age		
3.6	protections.				
3.7	Subd. 4. Workers' Comp	<u>oensation</u>		15,190,000	15,725,000
3.8	This appropriation is from	n the workers'			
3.9	compensation fund.				
3.10	Subd. 5. Workplace Safe	<u>ety</u>		7,043,000	6,681,000
3.11	Appropriat	ions by Fund			
3.12	General	1,259,000	<u>0</u>		
3.13 3.14	Workers' Compensation	5,784,000	6,681,000		
3.15	(a) \$477,000 the first year	and \$1,128,000	the		
3.16	second year are from the	workers'			
3.17	compensation fund for edu	cation and outre	ach,		
3.18	staffing, and technology of	development of	<u>the</u>		
3.19	ergonomics program unde	er Minnesota			
3.20	Statutes, section 182.677.	The base			
3.21	appropriation is \$1,487,00	<u>*</u>	026		
3.22	and \$1,196,000 in fiscal y	ear 2027.			
3.23	(b) \$1,259,000 the first ye	ear for the			
3.24	ergonomics safety grant pr	ogram. This amo	<u>ount</u>		
3.25	is available until June 30,	2026. This is a			
3.26	onetime appropriation.				
3.27	Subd. 6. Workforce Deve	elopment Initia	tives	2,659,000	2,371,000
3.28	(a) This appropriation is f	from the workfo	rce		
3.29	development fund.				
3.30	(b) \$300,000 each year is	from the workfo	orce		
3.31	development fund for the	pipeline progra	<u>m.</u>		
3.32	(c) \$200,000 each year is	from the workfo	orce		
3.33	development fund for ide	ntification of			

	03/27/23 08:55 pm	COUNSEL	CDF/DN	SCS2782A-5
5.1	Minnesota, and underserved students.	This		
5.2	appropriation does not cancel and is av	railable		
5.3	until June 30, 2025.			
5.4	Subd. 8. Combative Sports		243,000	254,000
5.5	This appropriation is from the general	fund.		
5.6	Subd. 9. Apprenticeship		5,689,000	2,759,000
5.7	(a) This appropriation is from the wor	kforce		
5.8	development fund.			
5.9	(b) \$1,330,000 the first year and \$1,39	<u>92,000</u>		
5.10	the second year are from the workford	<u>e</u>		
5.11	development fund for the apprenticesh	<u>nip</u>		
5.12	program under Minnesota Statutes, ch	apter		
5.13	<u>178.</u>			
5.14	(c) \$1,134,000 the first year and \$1,14	2,000		
5.15	the second year are from the workford	<u>e</u>		
5.16	development fund for labor education	and		
5.17	advancement program grants under Min	<u>nnesota</u>		
5.18	Statutes, section 178.11.			
5.19	(d) \$3,000,000 onetime in the first year	is from		
5.20	the workforce development fund for gr	cants to		
5.21	registered apprenticeship programs for	r clean		
5.22	economy occupations. Of this amount	, up to		
5.23	five percent is for administration and			
5.24	monitoring of the program. This approp	oriation_		
5.25	is available until June 30, 2026. Grant	funds		
5.26	may be used to:			
5.27	(1) purchase equipment or training ma	<u>terials</u>		
5.28	in clean technologies;			
5.29	(2) fund instructor professional develo	pment		
5.30	in clean technologies;			
5.31	(3) design and refine curriculum in cle	<u>ean</u>		
5.32	technologies; and			

COUNSEL

CDF/DN

SCS2782A-5

03/27/23 08:55 pm

**ARTICLE 2** 7.1 AGRICULTURE AND FOOD PROCESSING WORKERS 7.2 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 179.86, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 7.3 Subdivision 1. **Definition.** For the purpose of this section, "employer" means an employer 7.4 in the meatpacking or poultry processing industry. 7.5 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 179.86, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 7.6 Subd. 3. Information provided to employee by employer. (a) At the start of 7.7 employment, an employer must provide an explanation in an employee's native language 7.8 of the employee's rights and duties as an employee either both person to person or and 7.9 through written materials that, at a minimum, include: 7.10 (1) a complete description of the salary and benefits plans as they relate to the employee; 7.11 (2) a job description for the employee's position; 7.12 (3) a description of leave policies; 7.13 (4) a description of the work hours and work hours policy; and 7.14 (5) a description of the occupational hazards known to exist for the position-; and 7.15 (6) when workers' compensation insurance coverage is required by chapter 176, the 7.16 name of the employer's workers' compensation insurance carrier, the carrier's phone number, 7.17 and the insurance policy number. 7.18 (b) The explanation must also include information on the following employee rights as 7.19 protected by state or federal law and a description of where additional information about 7.20 those rights may be obtained: 7.21 (1) the right to organize and bargain collectively and refrain from organizing and 7.22 bargaining collectively; 7.23 (2) the right to a safe workplace; and 7.24 (3) the right to be free from discrimination.; and 7.25 (4) the right to workers' compensation insurance coverage. 7.26 (c) The Department of Labor and Industry shall provide a standard explanation form for 7.27 7.28 use at the employer's option for providing the information required in subdivision 3. The form shall be available in English and Spanish and additional languages upon request. 7.29

03/27/23 08:55 pm	COUNSEL	CDF/DN	SCS2782A-5

(d) The requirements under this subdivision are in addition to the requirements under section 181.032.

- Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 179.86, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 5. Civil action. An employee injured by a violation of this section has a cause of action for damages for the greater of \$1,000 per violation or twice the employee's actual damages, plus costs and reasonable attorney fees. A damage award shall be the greater of \$1,400 or three times actual damages for an employee injured by an intentional violation of this section. Damages awarded under this subdivision shall be reduced by the amount of any fine paid to the employee under subdivision 6. 8.10
- Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 179.86, is amended by adding a subdivision to 8.11 read: 8.12
- Subd. 6. Fine. The commissioner of labor and industry shall fine an employer not less 8.13 than \$400 or more than \$1,000 for each violation of subdivision 3. The fine shall be payable 8.14 to the employee aggrieved except the amount payable to the employee shall be reduced by 8.15 any damages awarded under subdivision 5. 8.16
  - Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 181.14, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
    - Subdivision 1. **Prompt payment required.** (a) When any such employee quits or resigns employment, the wages or commissions earned and unpaid at the time the employee quits or resigns shall be paid in full not later than the first regularly scheduled payday following the employee's final day of employment, unless an employee is subject to a collective bargaining agreement with a different provision. Wages are earned and unpaid if the employee was not paid for all time worked at the employee's regular rate of pay or at the rate required by law, including any applicable statute, regulation, rule, ordinance, government resolution or policy, contract, or other legal authority, whichever rate of pay is greater. If the first regularly scheduled payday is less than five calendar days following the employee's final day of employment, full payment may be delayed until the second regularly scheduled payday but shall not exceed a total of 20 calendar days following the employee's final day of employment.
    - (b) Notwithstanding the provisions of paragraph (a), in the case of migrant workers, as defined in section 181.85, the wages or commissions earned and unpaid at the time the employee quits or resigns shall become due and payable within five three days thereafter.

8.1

8.2

8.3

8.4

8.5

8.6

8.7

8.8

8.9

8.17

8.18

8.19

8.20

8.21

8.22

8.23

8.24

8.25

8.26

8.27

8.28

8.29

8.30

8.31

9.1 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 181.635, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

- Subdivision 1. **Definitions.** The definitions in this subdivision apply to this section.
- 9.3 (a) "Employer" means a person who employs another to perform a service for hire.
- Employer includes any agent or attorney of an employer who, for money or other valuable consideration paid or promised to be paid, performs any recruiting.
- 9.6 (b) "Person" means a corporation, partnership, limited liability company, limited liability9.7 partnership, association, individual, or group of persons.
- 9.8 (c) "Recruits" means to induce an individual, directly or through an agent, to relocate 9.9 to Minnesota or within Minnesota to work in food processing by an offer of employment 9.10 or of the possibility of employment.
- 9.11 (d) "Food processing" means canning, packing, or otherwise processing poultry or meat 9.12 for consumption.
  - (e) "Terms and conditions of employment" means the following:
- 9.14 (1) nature of the work to be performed;
- 9.15 (2) wage rate, nature and amount of deductions for tools, clothing, supplies, or other 9.16 items;
- 9.17 (3) anticipated hours of work per week, including overtime;
- 9.18 (4) anticipated slowdown or shutdown or if hours of work per week vary more than 25 9.19 percent from clause (3);
- 9.20 (5) duration of the work;

9.2

- 9.21 (6) workers' compensation coverage and name, address, and telephone number of insurer 9.22 and Department of Labor and Industry;
- 9.23 (7) employee benefits available, including any health plans, sick leave, or paid vacation;
- 9.24 (8) transportation and relocation arrangements with allocation of costs between employer 9.25 and employee;
- 9.26 (9) availability and description of housing and any costs to employee associated with housing; and
- 9.28 (10) any other item of value offered, and allocation of costs of item between employer 9.29 and employee.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 181.635, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

- Subd. 2. **Recruiting; required disclosure.** (a) An employer shall provide written disclosure of the terms and conditions of employment to a person at the time it recruits the person to relocate to work in the food processing industry. The disclosure requirement does not apply to an exempt employee as defined in United States Code, title 29, section 213(a)(1). The disclosure must be written in English and Spanish, or English and another language if the person's preferred language is not English or Spanish, dated and signed by the employer and the person recruited, and maintained by the employer for two three years. A copy of the signed and completed disclosure must be delivered immediately to the recruited person. The disclosure may not be construed as an employment contract.
- 10.11 (b) The requirements under this subdivision are in addition to the requirements under section 181.032.
- Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 181.635, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Civil action.** A person injured by a violation of this section has a cause of action for damages for the greater of \$500 \$1,000 per violation or twice their actual damages, plus costs and reasonable attorney's fees. A damage award shall be the greater of \$750 \$1,400 or three times actual damages for a person injured by an intentional violation of this section.

  Damages awarded under this subdivision shall be reduced by the amount of any fine paid to the employee under subdivision 4.
- Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 181.635, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. **Fine.** The Department of Labor and Industry shall fine an employer not less than \$\frac{\$200}{\$400}\$ or more than \$\frac{\$500}{\$1,000}\$ for each violation of this section. The fine shall be payable to the employee aggrieved except the amount payable to the employee shall be reduced by any damages awarded under subdivision 3.
- Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 181.635, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
- Subd. 6. **Standard disclosure form.** The Department of Labor and Industry shall provide a standard form for use at the employer's option in making the disclosure required in subdivision 2. The form shall be available in English and Spanish and additional languages upon request.

10.1

10.2

10.3

10.4

10.5

10.6

10.7

10.8

10.9

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 181.85, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

- Subd. 2. **Agricultural labor.** "Agricultural labor" means field labor associated with the cultivation and harvest of fruits and vegetables and work performed in processing fruits and vegetables for market, as well as labor performed in agriculture as defined in Minnesota Rules, part 5200.0260.
- Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 181.85, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. **Employer.** "Employer" means a processor of fruits or vegetables an individual,
  partnership, association, corporation, business trust, or any person or group of persons that
  employs, either directly or indirectly through a recruiter, more than 30 one or more migrant
  workers per day for more than seven days in any calendar year.
- Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 181.86, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Terms.** (a) An employer that recruits a migrant worker shall provide the migrant worker, at the time the worker is recruited, with a written employment statement which shall state clearly and plainly, in English and Spanish, or English and another language if the worker's preferred language is not English or Spanish:
- 11.16 (1) the date on which and the place at which the statement was completed and provided to the migrant worker;
- 11.18 (2) the name and permanent address of the migrant worker, of the employer, and of the recruiter who recruited the migrant worker;
- (3) the date on which the migrant worker is to arrive at the place of employment, the date on which employment is to begin, the approximate hours of employment, and the minimum period of employment;
- (4) the crops and the operations on which the migrant worker will be employed;
- 11.24 (5) the wage rates to be paid;

11.2

11.3

11.4

- (6) the payment terms, as provided in section 181.87;
- 11.26 (7) any deduction to be made from wages; and
- 11.27 (8) whether housing will be provided—; and
- 11.28 (9) when workers' compensation insurance coverage is required by chapter 176, the
  11.29 name of the employer's workers' compensation insurance carrier, the carrier's phone number,
  11.30 and the insurance policy number.

(b) The Department of Labor and Industry shall provide a standard employment statement form for use at the employer's option for providing the information required in subdivision 1. The form shall be available in English and Spanish and additional languages upon request.

- (c) The requirements under this subdivision are in addition to the requirements under section 181.032.
- Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 181.87, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Biweekly pay.** The employer shall pay wages due to the migrant worker at least every two weeks, except on termination, when the employer shall pay within three days unless payment is required sooner pursuant to section 181.13.
  - Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 181.87, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. Guaranteed hours. The employer shall guarantee to each recruited migrant 12.11 worker a minimum of 70 hours pay for work in any two successive weeks and, should the 12.12 pay for hours actually offered by the employer and worked by the migrant worker provide 12.13 a sum of pay less than the minimum guarantee, the employer shall pay the migrant worker 12.14 the difference within three days after the scheduled payday for the pay period involved. 12.15 Payment for the guaranteed hours shall be at the hourly wage rate, if any, specified in the 12.16 employment statement, or the federal, state, or local minimum wage, whichever is higher 12.17 highest. Any pay in addition to the hourly wage rate specified in the employment statement 12.18 shall be applied against the guarantee. This guarantee applies for the minimum period of 12.19 employment specified in the employment statement beginning with the date on which 12.20 employment is to begin as specified in the employment statement. The date on which 12.21 employment is to begin may be changed by the employer by written, telephonic, or 12.22 telegraphic notice to the migrant worker, at the worker's last known physical address or 12.23 email address, no later than ten days prior to the previously stated beginning date. The 12.24 migrant worker shall contact the recruiter to obtain the latest information regarding the date 12.25 upon which employment is to begin no later than five days prior to the previously stated 12.26 12.27 beginning date. This guarantee shall be reduced, when there is no work available for a period of seven or more consecutive days during any two-week period subsequent to the 12.28 commencement of work, by five hours pay for each such day, when the unavailability of 12.29 12.30 work is caused by climatic conditions or an act of God, provided that the employer pays the migrant worker, on the normal payday, the sum of \$5 \$50 for each such day. 12.31

12.1

12.2

12.3

12.4

12.5

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 181.87, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. **Statement itemizing deductions from wages.** The employer shall provide a written statement at the time wages are paid clearly itemizing each deduction from wages. The written statement shall also comply with all other requirements for an earnings statement in section 181.032.

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 181.88, is amended to read:

## 181.88 RECORD KEEPING.

13.1

13.2

13.3

13.4

13.5

13.6

13.7

13.8

13.9

13.10

13.11

13.12

13.19

13.20

13.24

13.25

13.26

13.27

13.28

13.29

13.30

- Every employer subject to the provisions of sections 181.85 to 181.90 shall maintain complete and accurate records of the names of, the daily hours worked by, the rate of pay for and the wages paid each pay period to for every individual migrant worker recruited by that employer, as required by section 177.30 and shall preserve the records also maintain the employment statements required under section 181.86 for a period of at least three years.
- Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 181.89, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Judgment; damages.** If the court finds that any defendant has violated the provisions of sections 181.86 to 181.88, the court shall enter judgment for the actual damages incurred by the plaintiff or the appropriate penalty as provided by this subdivision, whichever is greater. The court may also award court costs and a reasonable attorney's fee. The penalties shall be as follows:
  - (1) whenever the court finds that an employer has violated the record-keeping requirements of section 181.88, \$50 \$200;
- (2) whenever the court finds that an employer has recruited a migrant worker without providing a written employment statement as provided in section 181.86, subdivision 1, \$250 \$800;
  - (3) whenever the court finds that an employer has recruited a migrant worker after having provided a written employment statement, but finds that the employment statement fails to comply with the requirement of section 181.86, subdivision 1 or section 181.87, \$250 \$800;
  - (4) whenever the court finds that an employer has failed to comply with the terms of an employment statement which the employer has provided to a migrant worker or has failed to comply with any payment term required by section 181.87, \$500 \$1,600;
  - (5) whenever the court finds that an employer has failed to pay wages to a migrant worker within a time period set forth in section 181.87, subdivision 2 or 3, \$500 \$1,600; and

(6) whenever penalties are awarded, they shall be awarded severally in favor of each migrant worker plaintiff and against each defendant found liable.

Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 181.89, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 3. **Enforcement.** In addition to any other remedies available, the commissioner may assess the penalties in subdivision 2 and provide the penalty to the migrant worker aggrieved by the employer's noncompliance.

ARTICLE 3

## NURSING HOME WORKFORCE STANDARDS

Section 1. TITLE.

14.1

14.2

14.3

14.4

14.5

14.6

14.7

14.8

14.9

14.10

14.13

14.14

14.15

14.16

14.17

14.18

14.19

14.20

14.21

14.22

14.23

14.24

14.25

14.26

14.27

14.28

14.29

14.30

14.31

14.32

Sections 181.211 to 181.217 shall be known as the "Minnesota Nursing Home Workforce
 Standards Board Act."

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 177.27, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. Employer liability. If an employer is found by the commissioner to have violated a section identified in subdivision 4, or any rule adopted under section 177.28, 181.213, or 181.215, and the commissioner issues an order to comply, the commissioner shall order the employer to cease and desist from engaging in the violative practice and to take such affirmative steps that in the judgment of the commissioner will effectuate the purposes of the section or rule violated. The commissioner shall order the employer to pay to the aggrieved parties back pay, gratuities, and compensatory damages, less any amount actually paid to the employee by the employer, and for an additional equal amount as liquidated damages. Any employer who is found by the commissioner to have repeatedly or willfully violated a section or sections identified in subdivision 4 shall be subject to a civil penalty of up to \$1,000 for each violation for each employee. In determining the amount of a civil penalty under this subdivision, the appropriateness of such penalty to the size of the employer's business and the gravity of the violation shall be considered. In addition, the commissioner may order the employer to reimburse the department and the attorney general for all appropriate litigation and hearing costs expended in preparation for and in conducting the contested case proceeding, unless payment of costs would impose extreme financial hardship on the employer. If the employer is able to establish extreme financial hardship, then the commissioner may order the employer to pay a percentage of the total costs that will not cause extreme financial hardship. Costs include but are not limited to the costs of

services rendered by the attorney general, private attorneys if engaged by the department, 15.1 administrative law judges, court reporters, and expert witnesses as well as the cost of 15.2 15.3 transcripts. Interest shall accrue on, and be added to, the unpaid balance of a commissioner's order from the date the order is signed by the commissioner until it is paid, at an annual rate 15.4 provided in section 549.09, subdivision 1, paragraph (c). The commissioner may establish 15.5 escrow accounts for purposes of distributing damages. 15.6 Sec. 3. [181.211] DEFINITIONS. 15.7 Subdivision 1. **Application.** The terms defined in this section apply to sections 181.211 15.8 15.9 to 181.217. Subd. 2. **Board.** "Board" means the Minnesota Nursing Home Workforce Standards 15.10 15.11 Board established under section 181.212. Subd. 3. Certified worker organization. "Certified worker organization" means a 15.12 15.13 worker organization that is certified by the board to conduct nursing home worker trainings under section 181.214. 15.14 Subd. 4. **Commissioner.** "Commissioner" means the commissioner of labor and industry. 15.15 15.16 Subd. 5. **Employer organization.** "Employer organization" means: (1) an organization that is exempt from federal income taxation under section 501(c)(6) 15.17 of the Internal Revenue Code and that represents nursing home employers; or 15.18 (2) an entity that employers, who together employ a majority of nursing home workers 15.19 in Minnesota, have selected as a representative. 15.20 Subd. 6. Nursing home. "Nursing home" means a nursing home licensed under chapter 15.21 144A, or a boarding care home licensed under sections 144.50 to 144.56. 15.22 Subd. 7. Nursing home employer. "Nursing home employer" means an employer of 15.23 nursing home workers in a licensed, Medicaid-certified facility that is reimbursed under 15.24 15.25 chapter 256R. Subd. 8. Nursing home worker. "Nursing home worker" means any worker who provides 15.26 services in a nursing home in Minnesota, including direct care staff, non-direct care staff, 15.27 15.28 and contractors, but excluding administrative staff, medical directors, nursing directors, 15.29 physicians, and individuals employed by a supplemental nursing services agency. Subd. 9. Worker organization. "Worker organization" means an organization that is 15.30 exempt from federal income taxation under section 501(c)(3), 501(c)(4), or 501(c)(5) of 15.31 the Internal Revenue Code, that is not dominated or interfered with by any nursing home 15.32

03/27/23 08:55 pm	COUNSEL	CDF/DN	SCS2782A-5

employer within the meaning of United States Code, title 29, section 158a(2), and that has 16.1 at least five years of demonstrated experience engaging with and advocating for nursing 16.2 16.3 home workers. Sec. 4. [181.212] MINNESOTA NURSING HOME WORKFORCE STANDARDS 16.4 **BOARD; ESTABLISHMENT.** 16.5 Subdivision 1. Board established; membership. The Minnesota Nursing Home 16.6 Workforce Standards Board is created with the powers and duties established by law. The 16.7 board is composed of the following voting members: 16.8 (1) the commissioner of human services or a designee; 16.9 (2) the commissioner of health or a designee; 16.10 (3) the commissioner of labor and industry or a designee; 16.11 (4) three members who represent nursing home employers or employer organizations, 16.12 appointed by the governor in accordance with section 15.066; and 16.13 16.14 (5) three members who represent nursing home workers or worker organizations, appointed by the governor in accordance with section 15.066. 16.15 Subd. 2. Terms; vacancies. (a) Board members appointed under subdivision 1, clause 16.16 (4) or (5), shall serve four-year terms following the initial staggered-lot determination. 16.17 (b) For members appointed under subdivision 1, clause (4) or (5), the governor shall fill 16.18 16.19 vacancies occurring prior to the expiration of a member's term by appointment for the unexpired term. A member appointed under subdivision 1, clause (4) or (5), must not be 16.20 appointed to more than two consecutive terms. 16.21 (c) A member serves until a successor is appointed. 16.22 Subd. 3. Chairperson. The board shall elect a member by majority vote to serve as its 16.23 chairperson and shall determine the term to be served by the chairperson. 16.24 Subd. 4. Staffing. The commissioner may employ an executive director for the board 16.25 and other personnel to carry out duties of the board under sections 181.211 to 181.217. 16.26 Subd. 5. Compensation. Compensation of board members is governed by section 16.27 15.0575. 16.28 Subd. 6. Application of other laws. Meetings of the board are subject to chapter 13D. 16.29 The board is subject to chapter 13. The board shall comply with section 15.0597. 16.30

03/27/23 08:55 p	m COUNSEL	CDF/DN	SCS2782A-5

Subd. 7. **Voting.** The affirmative vote of five board members is required for the board to take any action, including actions necessary to establish minimum nursing home employment standards under section 181.213.

Subd. 8. **Hearings and investigations.** To carry out its duties, the board shall hold public hearings on, and conduct investigations into, working conditions in the nursing home industry in accordance with section 181.213.

Subd. 9. **Department support.** The commissioner shall provide staff support to the board. The support includes professional, legal, technical, and clerical staff necessary to perform rulemaking and other duties assigned to the board. The commissioner shall supply necessary office space and supplies to assist the board in its duties.

Subd. 10. Antitrust compliance. The board shall establish operating procedures that meet all state and federal antitrust requirements and may prohibit board member access to data to meet the requirements of this subdivision.

## Sec. 5. [181.213] DUTIES OF THE BOARD; MINIMUM NURSING HOME EMPLOYMENT STANDARDS.

Subdivision 1. Authority to establish minimum nursing home employment standards. (a) The board must adopt rules establishing minimum nursing home employment standards that are reasonably necessary and appropriate to protect the health and welfare of nursing home workers, to ensure that nursing home workers are properly trained about and fully informed of their rights under sections 181.211 to 181.217, and to otherwise satisfy the purposes of sections 181.211 to 181.217. Standards established by the board must include, as appropriate, standards on compensation and other working conditions for nursing home workers. The board may not adopt standards that are less protective of or beneficial to nursing home workers as any other applicable statute or rule or any standard previously established by the board unless there is a determination by the board under subdivision 2 that existing standards exceed the operating payment rate and external fixed costs payment rates included in the most recent budget and economic forecast completed under section 16A.103. In establishing standards under this section, the board must establish statewide standards, and may adopt standards that apply to specific nursing home occupations.

development of these standards prior to beginning the rule adoption process.

17.1

17.2

17.3

17.4

17.5

17.6

17.7

17.8

17.9

17.10

17.11

17.12

17.13

17.14

17.15

17.16

17.17

17.18

17.19

17.20

17.21

17.22

17.23

17.24

17.25

17.26

17.27

17.28

17.29

17.30

17.31

17.32

17.33

(b) The board must adopt rules establishing initial standards for wages for nursing home

workers no later than August 1, 2024. The board may use the authority in section 14.389

to adopt rules under this paragraph. The board shall consult with the department in the

05/2//25 06:55 pm COUNSEL CDF/DN 5C52/62A	03/27/23 08:55 pm	COUNSEL	CDF/DN	SCS2782A
---	-------------------	---------	--------	----------

(c) To the extent that any minimum standards that the board finds are reasonably 18.1 necessary and appropriate to protect the health and welfare of nursing home workers fall 18.2 18.3 within the jurisdiction of chapter 182, the board shall not adopt rules establishing the standards but shall instead recommend the occupational health and safety standards to the 18.4 commissioner. The commissioner shall adopt nursing home health and safety standards 18.5 under section 182.655 as recommended by the board, unless the commissioner determines 18.6 that the recommended standard is outside the statutory authority of the commissioner, 18.7 18.8 presents enforceability challenges, is infeasible to implement, or is otherwise unlawful and issues a written explanation of this determination. 18.9 Subd. 2. Investigation of market conditions. (a) The board must investigate market 18.10 conditions and the existing wages, benefits, and working conditions of nursing home workers 18.11 for specific geographic areas of the state and specific nursing home occupations. Based on 18.12 this information, the board must seek to adopt minimum nursing home employment standards 18.13 that meet or exceed existing industry conditions for a majority of nursing home workers in 18.14 18.15 the relevant geographic area and nursing home occupation. Except for standards exceeding the threshold determined in paragraph (d), initial employment standards established by the 18.16 board are effective beginning January 1, 2025, and shall remain in effect until any subsequent 18.17 standards are adopted by rules. 18.18 (b) The board must consider the following types of information in making determinations 18.19 that employment standards are reasonably necessary to protect the health and welfare of 18.20 nursing home workers: 18.21 (1) wage rate and benefit data collected by or submitted to the board for nursing home 18.22 workers in the relevant geographic area and nursing home occupations; 18.23 (2) statements showing wage rates and benefits paid to nursing home workers in the 18.24 18.25 relevant geographic area and nursing home occupations; (3) signed collective bargaining agreements applicable to nursing home workers in the 18.26 relevant geographic area and nursing home occupations; 18.27 18.28 (4) testimony and information from current and former nursing home workers, worker organizations, nursing home employers, and employer organizations; 18.29 18.30 (5) local minimum nursing home employment standards; (6) information submitted by or obtained from state and local government entities; and 18.31 18.32 (7) any other information pertinent to establishing minimum nursing home employment

standards.

05/2//25 06:55 pm COUNSEL CDF/DN 5C52/62A	03/27/23 08:55 pm	COUNSEL	CDF/DN	SCS2782A
---	-------------------	---------	--------	----------

(c) In considering wage and benefit increases, the board must determine the impact of nursing home operating payment rates determined pursuant to section 256R.21, subdivision 3, and the employee benefits portion of the external fixed costs payment rate determined pursuant to section 256R.25. If the board, in consultation with the commissioner of human services, determines the operating payment rate and employee benefits portion of the external fixed costs payment rate will increase to comply with the new employment standards, the board shall report to the legislature the increase in funding needed to increase payment rates to comply with the new employment standards and must make implementation of any new nursing home employment standards contingent upon an appropriation, as determined by sections 256R.21 and 256R.25, to fund the rate increase necessary to comply with the new employment standards. (d) In evaluating the impact of the employment standards on payment rates determined by sections 256R.21 and 256R.25, the board, in consultation with the commissioner of human services, must consider the following: (1) the statewide average wage rates for employees pursuant to section 256R.10, subdivision 5, and benefit rates pursuant to section 256R.02, subdivisions 18 and 22, as determined by the annual Medicaid cost report used to determine the operating payment rate and the employee benefits portion of the external fixed costs payment rate for the first day of the calendar year immediately following the date the board has established minimum wage and benefit levels; (2) compare the results of clause (1) to the operating payment rate and employee benefits portion of the external fixed costs payment rate increase for the first day of the second calendar year after the adoption of any nursing home employment standards included in the most recent budget and economic forecast completed under section 16A.103; and (3) if the established nursing home employment standards result in an increase in costs that exceed the operating payment rate and external fixed costs payment rate increase included in the most recent budget and economic forecast completed under section 16A.103, effective on the proposed implementation date of the new nursing home employment standards, the board must determine if the rates will need to be increased to meet the new employment standards and the standards must not be effective until an appropriation sufficient

(e) The budget and economic forecasts completed under section 16A.103 shall not assume an increase in payment rates determined under chapter 256R resulting from the new

to cover the rate increase and federal approval of the rate increase is obtained.

19.1

19.2

19.3

19.4

19.5

19.6

19.7

19.8

19.9

19.10

19.11

19.12

19.13

19.14

19.15

19.16

19.17

19.18

19.19

19.20

19.21

19.22

19.23

19.24

19.25

19.26

19.27

19.28

19.29

19.30

19.31

19.32

03/27/23 08:55 pm	COUNSEL	CDF/DN	SCS2782A-5

employment standards until the board certifies the rates will need to be increased and the 20.1 legislature appropriates funding for the increase in payment rates. 20.2 20.3 Subd. 3. **Review of standards.** At least once every two years, the board shall: (1) conduct a full review of the adequacy of the minimum nursing home employment 20.4 20.5 standards previously established by the board; and (2) following that review, adopt new rules, amend or repeal existing rules, or make 20.6 20.7 recommendations to adopt new rules or amend or repeal existing rules for minimum nursing home employment standards using the expedited rulemaking process in section 14.389, as 20.8 appropriate to meet the purposes of sections 181.211 to 181.217. 20.9 Subd. 4. Conflict. (a) In the event of a conflict between a standard established by the 20.10 board in rule and a rule adopted by another state agency, the rule adopted by the board shall 20.11 apply to nursing home workers and nursing home employers. 20.12 (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), in the event of a conflict between a standard 20.13 established by the board in rule and a rule adopted by another state agency, the rule adopted 20.14 by the other state agency shall apply to nursing home workers and nursing home employers 20.15 if the rule adopted by the other state agency is adopted after the board's standard and the 20.16 rule adopted by the other state agency is more protective or beneficial than the board's 20.17 standard. 20.18 (c) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), if the commissioner of health determines that a 20.19 standard established by the board in rule or recommended by the board conflicts with 20.20 requirements in federal regulations for nursing home certification or with state statutes or 20.21 rules governing licensure of nursing homes, the federal regulations or state nursing home 20.22 licensure statutes or rules shall take precedence, and the conflicting board standard or rule 20.23 shall not apply to nursing home workers or nursing home employers. 20.24 20.25 Subd. 5. Effect on other agreements. Nothing in sections 181.211 to 181.217 shall be construed to: 20.26 20.27 (1) limit the rights of parties to a collective bargaining agreement to bargain and agree with respect to nursing home employment standards; or 20.28 (2) diminish the obligation of a nursing home employer to comply with any contract, 20.29 collective bargaining agreement, or employment benefit program or plan that meets or 20.30 exceeds, and does not conflict with, the minimum standards and requirements in sections 20.31 181.211 to 181.217 or established by the board. 20.32

Sec. 6. [181.214] DUTIES OF THE BOARD; TRAINING FOR NURSING HOME 21.1 21.2 WORKERS. 21.3 Subdivision 1. Certification of worker organizations. The board shall certify worker organizations that it finds are qualified to provide training to nursing home workers according 21.4 to this section. The board shall by rule establish certification criteria that a worker 21.5 organization must meet in order to be certified and provide a process for renewal of 21.6 certification upon the board's review of the worker organization's compliance with this 21.7 section. In adopting rules to establish certification criteria under this subdivision, the board 21.8 may use the authority in section 14.389. The criteria must ensure that a worker organization, 21.9 if certified, is able to provide: 21.10 (1) effective, interactive training on the information required by this section; and 21.11 (2) follow-up written materials and responses to inquiries from nursing home workers 21.12 in the languages in which nursing home workers are proficient. 21.13 21.14 Subd. 2. Curriculum. (a) The board shall establish requirements for the curriculum for the nursing home worker training required by this section. A curriculum must at least provide 21.15 the following information to nursing home workers: 21.16 (1) the applicable compensation and working conditions in the minimum standards or 21.17 local minimum standards established by the board; 21.18 (2) the antiretaliation protections established in section 181.216; 21.19 (3) information on how to enforce sections 181.211 to 181.217 and on how to report 21.20 violations of sections 181.211 to 181.217 or of standards established by the board, including 21.21 contact information for the Department of Labor and Industry, the board, and any local 21.22 enforcement agencies, and information on the remedies available for violations; 21.23 (4) the purposes and functions of the board and information on upcoming hearings, 21.24 investigations, or other opportunities for nursing home workers to become involved in board 21.25 proceedings; 21.26 21.27 (5) other rights, duties, and obligations under sections 181.211 to 181.217; (6) any updates or changes to the information provided according to clauses (1) to (5) 21.28 since the most recent training session; 21.29 (7) any other information the board deems appropriate to facilitate compliance with 21.30

Article 3 Sec. 6.

21.31

sections 181.211 to 181.217; and

03/27/23 08:55 pm	COUNSEL	CDF/DN	SCS2782A-5
-------------------	---------	--------	------------

22.1	(8) information on labor standards in other applicable local, state, and federal laws, rules,
22.2	and ordinances regarding nursing home working conditions or nursing home worker health
22.3	and safety.
22.4	(b) Before establishing initial curriculum requirements, the board must hold at least one
22.5	public hearing to solicit input on the requirements.
22.6	Subd. 3. Topics covered in training session. A certified worker organization is not
22.7	required to cover all of the topics listed in subdivision 2 in a single training session. A
22.8	curriculum used by a certified worker organization may provide instruction on each topic
22.9	listed in subdivision 2 over the course of up to three training sessions.
22.10	Subd. 4. Annual review of curriculum requirements. The board must review the
22.11	adequacy of its curriculum requirements at least annually and must revise the requirements
22.12	as appropriate to meet the purposes of sections 181.211 to 181.217. As part of each annual
22.13	review of the curriculum requirements, the board must hold at least one public hearing to
22.14	solicit input on the requirements.
22.15	Subd. 5. Duties of certified worker organizations. A certified worker organization:
22.16	(1) must use a curriculum for its training sessions that meets requirements established
22.17	by the board;
22.18	(2) must provide trainings that are interactive and conducted in the languages in which
22.19	the attending nursing home workers are proficient;
22.20	(3) must, at the end of each training session, provide attending nursing home workers
22.21	with follow-up written or electronic materials on the topics covered in the training session,
22.22	in order to fully inform nursing home workers of their rights and opportunities under sections
22.23	181.211 to 181.217;
22.24	(4) must make itself reasonably available to respond to inquiries from nursing home
22.25	workers during and after training sessions; and
22.26	(5) may conduct surveys of nursing home workers who attend a training session to assess
22.27	the effectiveness of the training session and industry compliance with sections 181.211 to
22.28	181.217 and other applicable laws, rules, and ordinances governing nursing home working
22.29	conditions or worker health and safety.
22.30	Subd. 6. Nursing home employer duties regarding training. (a) A nursing home
22.31	employer must ensure that every two years each of its nursing home workers completes one
22.32	hour of training that meets the requirements of this section and is provided by a certified
22.33	worker organization. The nursing home employer must certify its compliance with this

02/27/22 09.55	COLINICEI	CDE/DN	CCC2702 A F
03/27/23 08:55 pm	COUNSEL	CDF/DN	SCS2782A-5

subdivision to the board. A nursing home employer may, but is not required to, host training 23.1 sessions on the premises of the nursing home. 23.2 (b) If requested by a certified worker organization, a nursing home employer must, after 23.3 a training session provided by the certified worker organization, provide the certified worker 23.4 organization with the names and contact information of the nursing home workers who 23.5 attended the training session, unless a nursing home worker opts out according to paragraph 23.6 23.7 (c). (c) A nursing home worker may opt out of having the worker's nursing home employer 23.8 provide the worker's name and contact information to a certified worker organization that 23.9 23.10 provided a training session attended by the worker by submitting a written statement to that effect to the nursing home employer. 23.11 Subd. 7. Compensation. A nursing home employer must compensate its nursing home 23.12 workers at their regular hourly rate of wages and benefits for each hour of training completed 23.13 as required by this section and reimburse any travel expenses if the training sessions are 23.14 not held on the premises of the nursing home. 23.15 23.16 Sec. 7. [181.215] REQUIRED NOTICES. Subdivision 1. **Provision of notice.** (a) Nursing home employers must provide notices 23.17 23.18 informing nursing home workers of the rights and obligations provided under sections 181.211 to 181.217 of applicable minimum nursing home employment standards and local 23.19 minimum standards and that for assistance and information, nursing home workers should 23.20 contact the Department of Labor and Industry. A nursing home employer must provide 23.21 notice using the same means that the nursing home employer uses to provide other 23.22 work-related notices to nursing home workers. Provision of notice must be at least as 23.23 conspicuous as: 23.24 23.25 (1) posting a copy of the notice at each work site where nursing home workers work and where the notice may be readily seen and reviewed by all nursing home workers working 23.26 at the site; or 23.27 (2) providing a paper or electronic copy of the notice to all nursing home workers and 23.28 applicants for employment as a nursing home worker. 23.29 (b) The notice required by this subdivision must include text provided by the board that 23.30 23.31 informs nursing home workers that they may request the notice to be provided in a particular language. The nursing home employer must provide the notice in the language requested 23.32

	~~~~~	~~~	~~~
03/27/23 08:55 pm	COUNSEL	CDF/DN	SCS2782A-5

by the nursing home worker. The board must assist nursing home employers in translating 24.1 the notice in the languages requested by their nursing home workers. 24.2 24.3 Subd. 2. **Minimum content and posting requirements.** The board must adopt rules under section 14.389 specifying the minimum content and posting requirements for the 24.4 24.5 notices required in subdivision 1. The board must make available to nursing home employers a template or sample notice that satisfies the requirements of this section and rules adopted 24.6 under this section. 24.7 Sec. 8. [181.216] RETALIATION PROHIBITED. 24.8 (a) A nursing home employer shall not discharge, discipline, penalize, interfere with, 24.9 threaten, restrain, coerce, or otherwise retaliate or discriminate against a nursing home 24.10 24.11 worker because the person has exercised or attempted to exercise rights protected under this act, including but not limited to: 24.12 (1) exercising any right afforded to the nursing home worker under sections 181.211 to 24.13 181.217; 24.14 (2) participating in any process or proceeding under sections 181.211 to 181.217, 24.15 including but not limited to board hearings, board or department investigations, or other 24.16 related proceedings; or 24.17 24.18 (3) attending or participating in the training required by section 181.214. (b) It shall be unlawful for an employer to: 24.19 (1) inform another employer that a nursing home worker or former nursing home worker 24.20 has engaged in activities protected under sections 181.211 to 181.217; or 24.21 (2) report or threaten to report the actual or suspected citizenship or immigration status 24.22 of a nursing home worker, former nursing home worker, or family member of a nursing 24.23 24.24 home worker to a federal, state, or local agency for exercising or attempting to exercise any right protected under this act. 24.25 24.26 (c) A person found to have experienced retaliation in violation of this section shall be entitled to back pay and reinstatement to the person's previous position, wages, benefits, 24.27 hours, and other conditions of employment. 24.28 Sec. 9. [181.217] ENFORCEMENT. 24.29 24.30 Subdivision 1. Minimum nursing home employment standards. Except as provided in section 181.213, subdivision 4, paragraph (b) or (c), the minimum wages and other 24.31

working conditions established by the board in rule as minimum nursing home employment standards shall be the minimum wages and standard conditions of labor for nursing home workers or a subgroup of nursing home workers as a matter of state law. Except as provided in section 181.213, subdivision 4, paragraph (b) or (c), it shall be unlawful for a nursing home employer to employ a nursing home worker for lower wages than those established as the minimum nursing home employment standards or under any other working conditions that violate the minimum nursing home employment standards. Subd. 2. **Investigations.** The commissioner may investigate possible violations of sections 181.214 to 181.217 or of the minimum nursing home employment standards established by the board whenever it has cause to believe that a violation has occurred, either on the basis of a report of a suspected violation or on the basis of any other credible information, including violations found during the course of an investigation. Subd. 3. Civil action by nursing home worker. (a) One or more nursing home workers may bring a civil action in district court seeking redress for violations of sections 181.211 to 181.217 or of any applicable minimum nursing home employment standards or local 25.15 minimum nursing home employment standards. Such an action may be filed in the district 25.16 court of the county where a violation or violations are alleged to have been committed or 25.17 where the nursing home employer resides, or in any other court of competent jurisdiction, 25.18 and may represent a class of similarly situated nursing home workers. 25.19 (b) Upon a finding of one or more violations, a nursing home employer shall be liable to each nursing home worker for the full amount of the wages, benefits, and overtime compensation, less any amount the nursing home employer is able to establish was actually paid to each nursing home worker, and for an additional equal amount as liquidated damages. 25.23 In an action under this subdivision, nursing home workers may seek damages and other 25.24 appropriate relief provided by section 177.27, subdivision 7, or otherwise provided by law, including reasonable costs, disbursements, witness fees, and attorney fees. A court may also issue an order requiring compliance with sections 181.211 to 181.217 or with the applicable minimum nursing home employment standards or local minimum nursing home employment standards. A nursing home worker found to have experienced retaliation in violation of 25.29 section 181.216 shall be entitled to back pay and reinstatement to the worker's previous 25.30 position, wages, benefits, hours, and other conditions of employment. (c) An agreement between a nursing home employer and nursing home worker or labor union that fails to meet the minimum standards and requirements in sections 181.211 to 181.217 or established by the board is not a defense to an action brought under this subdivision.

25.1

25.2

25.3

25.4

25.5

25.6

25.7

25.8

25.9

25.10

25.11

25.12

25.13

25.14

25.20

25.21

25.22

25.25

25.26

25.27

25.28

25.31

25.32

25.33

25.34

03/27/23 08:55 pm	COUNSEL	CDF/DN	SCS2782A-5
03/2//23 00:33 pm	COULDE	CDI/DI	505276211

26.1	Sec. 10. INITIAL APPOINTMENTS.
26.2	The governor shall make initial appointments to the Minnesota Nursing Home Workforce
26.3	Standards Board under Minnesota Statutes, section 181.212, no later than August 1, 2023.
26.4	Notwithstanding section 181.212, subdivision 2, the initial terms of members appointed
26.5	under subdivision 1, clauses (4) and (5), shall be determined by lot by the secretary of state
26.6	and shall be as follows:
26.7	(1) one member appointed under each of subdivision 1, clauses (4) and (5), shall serve
26.8	a two-year term;
26.9	(2) one member appointed under each of subdivision 1, clauses (4) and (5), shall serve
26.10	a three-year term; and
26.11	(3) one member appointed under each of subdivision 1, clauses (4) and (5), shall serve
26.12	a four-year term.
26.13	The commissioner of labor and industry must convene the first meeting by September 1,
26.14	2023. The board must elect a chair at its first meeting.
26.15	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective the day following final enactment.
26.16	ARTICLE 4
26.16 26.17	ARTICLE 4 COMBATIVE SPORTS
26.17	COMBATIVE SPORTS
<ul><li>26.17</li><li>26.18</li></ul>	COMBATIVE SPORTS  Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 341.21, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:
26.17 26.18 26.19	COMBATIVE SPORTS  Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 341.21, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:  Subd. 2a. Combatant. "Combatant" means an individual who employs the act of attack
26.17 26.18 26.19 26.20	COMBATIVE SPORTS  Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 341.21, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:  Subd. 2a. Combatant. "Combatant" means an individual who employs the act of attack and defense as a professional boxer, professional or amateur tough person, martial artist
26.17 26.18 26.19 26.20 26.21	COMBATIVE SPORTS  Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 341.21, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:  Subd. 2a. Combatant. "Combatant" means an individual who employs the act of attack and defense as a professional boxer, professional or amateur tough person, martial artist professional or amateur kickboxer, or professional or amateur mixed martial artist while
26.17 26.18 26.19 26.20 26.21 26.22	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 341.21, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:  Subd. 2a. Combatant. "Combatant" means an individual who employs the act of attack and defense as a professional boxer, professional or amateur tough person, martial artist professional or amateur kickboxer, or professional or amateur mixed martial artist while engaged in a combative sport.
26.17 26.18 26.19 26.20 26.21 26.22 26.23	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 341.21, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:  Subd. 2a. Combatant. "Combatant" means an individual who employs the act of attack and defense as a professional boxer, professional or amateur tough person, martial artist professional or amateur kickboxer, or professional or amateur mixed martial artist while engaged in a combative sport.  Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 341.21, subdivision 2b, is amended to read:
26.17 26.18 26.19 26.20 26.21 26.22 26.23 26.23	COMBATIVE SPORTS  Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 341.21, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:  Subd. 2a. Combatant. "Combatant" means an individual who employs the act of attack and defense as a professional boxer, professional or amateur tough person, martial artist professional or amateur kickboxer, or professional or amateur mixed martial artist while engaged in a combative sport.  Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 341.21, subdivision 2b, is amended to read:  Subd. 2b. Combative sport. "Combative sport" means a sport that employs the act of
26.17 26.18 26.19 26.20 26.21 26.22 26.23 26.24 26.25	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 341.21, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:  Subd. 2a. Combatant. "Combatant" means an individual who employs the act of attack and defense as a professional boxer, professional or amateur tough person, martial artist professional or amateur kickboxer, or professional or amateur mixed martial artist while engaged in a combative sport.  Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 341.21, subdivision 2b, is amended to read:  Subd. 2b. Combative sport. "Combative sport" means a sport that employs the act of attack and defense with the fists, with or without using padded gloves, or feet that is practiced
26.17 26.18 26.19 26.20 26.21 26.22 26.23 26.24 26.25 26.26	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 341.21, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:  Subd. 2a. Combatant. "Combatant" means an individual who employs the act of attack and defense as a professional boxer, professional or amateur tough person, martial artist professional or amateur kickboxer, or professional or amateur mixed martial artist while engaged in a combative sport.  Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 341.21, subdivision 2b, is amended to read:  Subd. 2b. Combative sport. "Combative sport" means a sport that employs the act of attack and defense with the fists, with or without using padded gloves, or feet that is practiced as a sport under the rules of the Association of Boxing Commissions, unified rules for mixed

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 341.21, subdivision 2c, is amended to read:

- Subd. 2c. **Combative sports contest.** "Combative sports contest" means a professional boxing, a professional or amateur tough person, a professional or amateur kickboxing, or a professional or amateur martial art contest or mixed martial arts contest, bout, competition,
- 27.5 match, or exhibition.

27.2

27.3

- Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 341.21, subdivision 4f, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4f. **Martial art.** "Martial art" means a variety of weaponless disciplines of combat or self-defense that utilize physical skill and coordination, and are practiced as combat sports. The disciplines include, but are not limited to, Wing Chun, kickboxing, Tae kwon do, savate, karate, <del>Muay Thai,</del> sanshou, Jiu Jitsu, judo, ninjitsu, kung fu, Brazilian Jiu Jitsu,
- 27.11 wrestling, grappling, tai chi, and other weaponless martial arts disciplines.
- Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 341.21, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- 27.14 <u>Subd. 4i.</u> <u>Kickboxing.</u> "Kickboxing" means the act of attack and defense with the fists 27.15 using padded gloves and bare feet.
- Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 341.21, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
- Subd. 7. **Tough person contest.** "Tough person contest," including contests marketed as tough man or tough woman contests, means a contest of two-minute rounds consisting of not more than four rounds between two or more individuals who use their hands, or their feet, or both in any manner. Tough person contest includes kickboxing and other recognized martial art contest boxing match or similar contest where each combatant wears headgear
- 27.22 and gloves that weigh at least 12 ounces.
- Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 341.221, is amended to read:
- **341.221 ADVISORY COUNCIL.**
- 27.25 (a) The commissioner must appoint a Combative Sports Advisory Council to advise the commissioner on the administration of duties under this chapter.
- 27.27 (b) The council shall have <u>nine five</u> members appointed by the commissioner. <del>One</del>
  27.28 member must be a retired judge of the Minnesota District Court, Minnesota Court of Appeals,
  27.29 Minnesota Supreme Court, the United States District Court for the District of Minnesota,
  27.30 or the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals. At least four All five members must have knowledge

03/27/23 08:55 p	m COUNSEL	CDF/DN	SCS2782A-5

28.1	of the boxing industry. At least four members must have knowledge of the mixed martial
28.2	arts industry combative sports. The commissioner shall make serious efforts to appoint
28.3	qualified women to serve on the council.
28.4	(c) Council members shall serve terms of four years with the terms ending on the first
28.5	Monday in January.
28.6	(d) (c) The council shall annually elect from its membership a chair.
28.7	(e) (d) Meetings shall be convened by the commissioner, or by the chair with the approval
28.8	of the commissioner.
28.9	(f) The commissioner shall designate two of the members to serve until the first Monday
28.10	in January 2013; two members to serve until the first Monday in January 2014; two members
28.11	to serve until the first Monday in January 2015; and three members to serve until the first
28.12	Monday in January 2016.
28.13	(e) Appointments to the council and the terms of council members are governed by
28.14	sections 15.059 and 15.0597.
28.15	(g) (f) Removal of members, filling of vacancies, and compensation of members shall
28.16	be as provided in section 15.059.
28.17	(g) Meetings convened for the purpose of advising the commissioner on issues related
28.18	to a challenge filed under section 341.345 are exempt from the open meeting requirements
28.19	of chapter 13D.
28.20	Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 341.25, is amended to read:
28.21	341.25 RULES.
28.22	(a) The commissioner may adopt rules that include standards for the physical examination
28.23	and condition of combatants and referees.
28.24	(b) The commissioner may adopt other rules necessary to carry out the purposes of this
28.25	chapter, including, but not limited to, the conduct of all combative sport contests and their
28.26	manner, supervision, time, and place.
28.27	(c) The commissioner must adopt unified rules for mixed martial arts contests.
28.28	(d) The commissioner may adopt the rules of the Association of Boxing Commissions,
28.29	with amendments.
28.30	(e) (c) The most recent version of the Unified Rules of Mixed Martial Arts, as

28.31

promulgated by the Association of Boxing Commissions and amended August 2, 2016, are,

03/27/23 08:55 pm	COUNSEL	CDF/DN	SCS2782A-5

is incorporated by reference and made a part of this chapter except as qualified by this 29.1 chapter and Minnesota Rules, chapter 2202. In the event of a conflict between this chapter 29.2 and the Unified Rules, this chapter must govern. 29.3 (d) The most recent version of the Unified Rules of Boxing, as promulgated by the 29.4 Association of Boxing Commissions, is incorporated by reference and made a part of this 29.5 chapter except as qualified by this chapter and Minnesota Rules, chapter 2201. In the event 29.6 of a conflict between this chapter and the Unified Rules, this chapter must govern. 29.7 (e) The most recent version of the Unified Rules of Kickboxing, as promulgated by the 29.8 Association of Boxing Commissions, is incorporated by reference and made a part of this 29.9 29.10 chapter except as qualified by this chapter and any applicable Minnesota Rules. In the event of a conflict between this chapter and the Unified Rules, this chapter must govern. 29.11 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 341.27, is amended to read: 29.12 29.13 341.27 COMMISSIONER DUTIES. The commissioner shall: 29.14 (1) issue, deny, renew, suspend, or revoke licenses; 29.15 (2) make and maintain records of its acts and proceedings including the issuance, denial, 29.16 renewal, suspension, or revocation of licenses; 29.17 (3) keep public records of the council open to inspection at all reasonable times; 29.18 (4) develop rules to be implemented under this chapter; 29.19 (5) conform to the rules adopted under this chapter; 29.20 (6) develop policies and procedures for regulating boxing, kickboxing, and mixed martial 29.21 29.22 arts;

(7) approve regulatory bodies to oversee martial arts and amateur boxing contests under 29.23

section 341.28, subdivision 5; 29.24

29.25

29.26

29.27

29.28

29.29

29.30

(7) (8) immediately suspend an individual license for a medical condition, including but not limited to a medical condition resulting from an injury sustained during a match, bout, or contest that has been confirmed by the ringside physician. The medical suspension must be lifted after the commissioner receives written information from a physician licensed in the home state of the licensee indicating that the combatant may resume competition, and any other information that the commissioner may by rule require. Medical suspensions are

03/27/23 08:55 pm	COUNSEL	CDF/DN	SCS2782A-5

not subject to section 326B.082 or the contested case procedures provided in sections 14.57 to 14.69; and

(8) (9) immediately suspend an individual combatant license for a mandatory rest period, which must commence at the conclusion of every combative sports contest in which the license holder competes and does not receive a medical suspension. A rest suspension must automatically lift after 14 calendar days from the date the combative sports contest passed without notice or additional proceedings. Rest suspensions are not subject to section 326B.082 or the contested case procedures provided in sections 14.57 to 14.69.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 341.28, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

- Subd. 2. **Regulatory authority; tough person contests.** All professional and amateur tough person contests are subject to this chapter. All tough person contests are subject to the most recent version of the Unified Rules of Boxing, as promulgated by the Association of Boxing Commissions rules. Every contestant in a tough person contest shall have a physical examination prior to their bouts. Every contestant in a tough person contest shall wear <a href="headgear and">headgear and</a> padded gloves that weigh at least 12 ounces. All tough person bouts are limited to two-minute rounds and a maximum of four total rounds. Officials at all tough person contests shall be licensed under this chapter.
- Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 341.28, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. Regulatory authority; mixed martial arts contests; similar sporting

  events. All professional and amateur mixed martial arts contests, martial arts contests except

  amateur contests regulated by the Minnesota State High School League (MSHSL), recognized

  martial arts studios and schools in Minnesota, and recognized national martial arts

  organizations holding contests between students, ultimate fight contests, and similar sporting

  events are subject to this chapter and all officials at these events must be licensed under this

  chapter.
- Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 341.28, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 4. Regulatory authority; kickboxing contests. All professional and amateur kickboxing contests are subject to this chapter and all officials at these events must be licensed under this chapter.

30.1

30.2

30.3

30.4

30.5

30.6

30.7

30.8

30.9

30.10

30.11

30.12

30.13

30.14

30.15

30.16

03/27/23 08:55 pm	COUNSEL	CDF/DN	SCS2782A-5

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 341.28, is amended by adding a subdivision to 31.1 read: 31.2 Subd. 5. Regulatory authority; martial arts and amateur boxing. (a) Unless this 31.3 chapter specifically states otherwise, contests or exhibitions for martial arts and amateur 31.4 boxing are exempt from the requirements of this chapter and officials at these events are 31.5 not required to be licensed under this chapter. 31.6 (b) Martial arts and amateur boxing contests, unless subject to the exceptions set forth 31.7 in subdivision 7, must be regulated by a nationally recognized organization approved by 31.8 the commissioner. The organization must have a set of written standards, procedures, or 31.9 31.10 rules used to sanction the combative sports it oversees. (c) Any regulatory body overseeing a martial arts or amateur boxing event must submit 31.11 bout results to the commissioner within 72 hours after the event. If the regulatory body 31.12 issues suspensions, the regulatory body must submit to the commissioner a list of any 31.13 suspensions resulting from the event within 72 hours after the event. Regulatory bodies that 31.14 oversee combative sports or martial arts contests under subdivision 6 are not subject to this 31.15 paragraph. 31.16 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 341.28, is amended by adding a subdivision to 31.17 read: 31.18 Subd. 6. Regulatory authority; certain students. Combative sports or martial arts 31.19 contests regulated by the Minnesota State High School League, National Collegiate Athletic 31.20 Association, National Junior Collegiate Athletic Association, National Association of 31.21 Intercollegiate Athletics, or any similar organization that governs interscholastic athletics 31.22 are not subject to this chapter and officials at these events are not required to be licensed 31.23 under this chapter. 31.24 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 341.30, subdivision 4, is amended to read: 31.25 Subd. 4. **Prelicensure requirements.** (a) Before the commissioner issues a promoter's 31.26 license to an individual, corporation, or other business entity, the applicant shall, a minimum 31.27 of six weeks before the combative sport contest is scheduled to occur, complete a licensing 31.28 application on the Office of Combative Sports website or on forms furnished or approved 31.29 prescribed by the commissioner and shall: 31.30

(1) provide the commissioner with a copy of any agreement between a combatant and the applicant that binds the applicant to pay the combatant a certain fixed fee or percentage of the gate receipts;

- (2) (1) show on the licensing application the owner or owners of the applicant entity and the percentage of interest held by each owner holding a 25 percent or more interest in the applicant;
- 32.7 (3) (2) provide the commissioner with a copy of the latest financial statement of the applicant;
- 32.9 (4) provide the commissioner with a copy or other proof acceptable to the commissioner
  32.10 of the insurance contract or policy required by this chapter;
- 32.11 (5) (3) provide proof, where applicable, of authorization to do business in the state of
  32.12 Minnesota; and
  - (6) (4) deposit with the commissioner a eash bond or surety bond in an amount set by the commissioner, which must not be less than \$10,000. The bond shall be executed in favor of this state and shall be conditioned on the faithful performance by the promoter of the promoter's obligations under this chapter and the rules adopted under it.
    - (b) Before the commissioner issues a license to a combatant, the applicant shall:
    - (1) submit to the commissioner the results of a current medical examination examinations on forms furnished or approved prescribed by the commissioner that state that the combatant is cleared to participate in a combative sport contest. The medical examination must include an ophthalmological and neurological examination, and documentation of test results for HBV, HCV, and HIV, and any other blood test as the commissioner by rule may require. The ophthalmological examination must be designed to detect any retinal defects or other damage or condition of the eye that could be aggravated by combative sports. The neurological examination must include an electroencephalogram or medically superior test if the combatant has been knocked unconscious in a previous contest. The commissioner may also order an electroencephalogram or other appropriate neurological or physical examination before any contest if it determines that the examination is desirable to protect the health of the combatant. The commissioner shall not issue a license to an applicant submitting positive test results for HBV, HCV, or HIV; The applicant must undergo and submit the results of the following medical examinations, which do not exempt a combatant from the requirements in section 341.33:

32.1

32.2

32.3

32.4

32.5

32.6

32.13

32.14

32.15

32.16

32.17

32.18

32.19

32.20

32.21

32.22

32.23

32.24

32.25

32.26

32.27

32.28

32.29

32.30

32.31

33.1	(i) a physical examination performed by a licensed medical doctor, doctor of osteopathic
33.2	medicine, advance practice nurse practitioner, or a physician assistant. Physical examinations
33.3	are valid for one year from the date of the exam;
33.4	(ii) an ophthalmological examination performed by an ophthalmologist or optometrist
33.5	that includes dilation designed to detect any retinal defects or other damage or a condition
33.6	of the eye that could be aggravated by combative sports. Ophthalmological examinations
33.7	are valid for one year from the date of the exam;
33.8	(iii) blood work results for HBsAg (Hepatitis B surface antigen), HCV (Hepatitis C
33.9	antibody), and HIV. Blood work results are good for one year from the date blood was
33.10	drawn. The commissioner shall not issue a license to an applicant submitting positive test
33.11	results for HBsAg, HCV, or HIV; and
33.12	(iv) other appropriate neurological or physical examinations before any contest, if the
33.13	commissioner determines that the examination is desirable to protect the health of the
33.14	combatant;
33.15	(2) complete a licensing application on the Office of Combative Sports website or on
33.16	forms furnished or approved prescribed by the commissioner; and
33.17	(3) provide proof that the applicant is 18 years of age. Acceptable proof is a photo driver's
33.18	license, state photo identification card, passport, or birth certificate combined with additional
33.19	photo identification.
33.20	(c) Before the commissioner issues a license to a referee, judge, or timekeeper, the
33.21	applicant must submit proof of qualifications that may include certified training from the
33.22	Association of Boxing Commissions, licensure with other regulatory bodies, professional
33.23	references, or a log of bouts worked.
33.24	(d) Before the commissioner issues a license to a ringside physician, the applicant must
33.25	submit proof that they are licensed to practice medicine in the state of Minnesota and in
33.26	good standing.
33.27	Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 341.32, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
33.28	Subd. 2. Expiration and application. Licenses issued on or after January 1, 2023, shall
33.29	expire annually on December 31 one year after the date of issuance. A license may be
33.30	applied for each year by filing an application for licensure and satisfying all licensure
33.31	requirements established in section 341.30, and submitting payment of the license fees
33.32	established in section 341.321. An application for a license and renewal of a license must
33.33	be on a form provided by the commissioner.

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 341.321, is amended to read:

## 341.321 FEE SCHEDULE.

- 34.3 (a) The fee schedule for professional and amateur licenses issued by the commissioner is as follows:
- 34.5 (1) referees, \$25;

- 34.6 (2) promoters, \$700;
- 34.7 (3) judges and knockdown judges, \$25;
- 34.8 (4) trainers and seconds, \$80;
- 34.9 (5) timekeepers, \$25;
- 34.10 (6) professional combatants, \$70;
- 34.11 (7) amateur combatants, \$50; and
- 34.12 (8) ringside physicians, \$25.
- 34.13 License fees for promoters are due at least six weeks prior to the combative sport contest.
- 34.14 All other license fees shall be paid no later than the weigh-in prior to the contest. No license
- may be issued until all prelicensure requirements in section 341.30 are satisfied and fees
- 34.16 are paid.
- 34.17 (b) The commissioner shall establish a contest fee for each combative sport contest and
- 34.18 shall consider the size and type of venue when establishing a contest fee. The A promoter
- or event organizer of an event regulated by the Department of Labor and Industry must pay,
- per event, a combative sport contest fee is \$1,500 per event or not more than four percent
- of the gross ticket sales, whichever is greater<del>, as determined by the commissioner when the</del>
- 34.22 combative sport contest is scheduled. The fee must be paid as follows:
- 34.23 (c) A professional or amateur combative sport contest fee is nonrefundable and shall be
- 34.24 paid as follows:
- 34.25 (1) \$500 at the time the combative sport contest is scheduled; and
- 34.26 (2) \$1,000 at the weigh-in prior to the contest;
- 34.27 (3) if four percent of the gross ticket sales is greater than \$500, the balance is due to the
- 34.28 commissioner within 14 days of the completed contest; and
- 34.29 (4) the value of all complimentary tickets distributed for an event, to the extent they
- 34.30 exceed five percent of total event attendance, counts toward gross tickets sales for the

	03/27/23 08:55 pm	COUNSEL	CDF/DN	SCS2782A-5
35.1	purposes of determining a combative	sports contest fee.	For purposes of the	nis clause, the
35.2	lowest advertised ticket price shall be	used to calculate t	he value of compli	mentary tickets.
35.3	If four percent of the gross ticket sale	s is greater than \$	1,500, the balance	is due to the
35.4	commissioner within seven days of the	ne completed conte	<del>est.</del>	
35.5	(d) The commissioner may establi	sh the maximum i	number of complin	nentary tickets
35.6	allowed for each event by rule.			
35.7	(e) (c) All fees and penalties colle	cted by the commi	ssioner must be de	eposited in the
35.8	commissioner account in the special r	·		
35.9	Sec. 18. [341.322] PAYMENT SCI	HEDULE.		
35.10	The commissioner may establish a	a schedule of payn	nents to be paid by	a promoter to
35.11	referees, judges and knockdown judg	es, timekeepers, an	nd ringside physici	ans.
	G 10 10 11 2001 PV IFINE A PROD	<b>N</b>		
35.12	Sec. 19. [341.323] EVENT APPRO	JVAL.		
35.13	Subdivision 1. Preapproval docu	mentation. Before	e the commissione	r approves a
35.14	combative sports contest, the promote	er shall provide the	e commissioner, at	least six weeks
35.15	before the combative sport contest is	scheduled to occur	r, information abou	it the time, date,
35.16	and location of the contest and at leas	t 72 hours before	the combative spor	t contest is
35.17	scheduled to occur:			
35.18	(1) a copy of any agreement between	een a combatant ai	nd the promoter tha	at binds the
35.19	promoter to pay the combatant a certa	nin fixed fee or per	centage of the gate	e receipts;
35.20	(2) a copy or other proof acceptab	le to the commissi	oner of the insurar	nce contract or
35.21	policy required by this chapter;			
35.22	(3) proof acceptable to the commi	ssioner that the pro	omoter will provid	e, at the cost of
35.23	the promoter, at least one uniformed s	security guard or u	niformed off-duty	member of law
35.24	enforcement to provide security at an	y event regulated l	by the Department	of Labor and
35.25	Industry. The commissioner may requ	uire a promoter to	take additional sec	urity measures
35.26	to ensure the safety of participants an	d spectators at an	event; and	
35.27	(4) proof acceptable to the commi	ssioner that the pro	omoter will provid	e an ambulance
35.28	service as required by section 341.324	•	•	
		<del>_</del>		

35.29

35.30

the commissioner must ensure that the promoter is properly licensed under this chapter.

Subd. 2. **Proper licensure.** Before the commissioner approves a combative sport contest,

	03/27/23 08:55 pm	COUNSEL	CDF/DN	SCS2782A-5
36.1	The promoter must maintain proper lice	nsure from the tin	ne it schedules a co	ombative sports
36.2	contest through the date of the contest.			
36.3	Subd. 3. <b>Discretion.</b> Nothing in this	section limits the	e commissioner's d	liscretion in
36.4	deciding whether to approve a combativ	ve sport contest or	r event.	
26.5	Sac 20 1241 2241 AMDUL ANCE			
36.5	Sec. 20. [341.324] AMBULANCE.			
36.6	A promoter must ensure, at the cost	of the promoter, 1	that a licensed am	bulance service
36.7	with two emergency medical technician	s is on the premis	ses during a comb	ative sports
36.8	contest.			
36.9	Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, sec	tion 341.33, is an	nended to read:	
36.10	341.33 PHYSICAL EXAMINATION	ON REQUIRED	; FEES.	
36.11	Subdivision 1. Examination by phy	y <b>sician.</b> All comb	eatants must be exa	amined by a
36.12	physician licensed by this state within 3	6 hours before en	tering the ring, and	d the examining
36.13	physician shall immediately file with the	e commissioner a	written report of tl	ne examination.
36.14	The physician's examination may report	on the condition o	f the combatant's h	eart and general
36.15	physical and general neurological condit	ion. The physician	n's report may reco	rd the condition
36.16	of the combatant's nervous system and br	rain as required by	y the commissione	r. The physician
36.17	may prohibit the combatant from enterin	g the ring if, in the	e physician's profe	ssional opinion,
36.18	it is in the best interest of the combatant	's health. The cos	t of the examination	on is payable by
36.19	the promoter conducting the contest or	exhibition.		
36.20	Subd. 2. Attendance of physician. A	A promoter holdin	g or sponsoring a	combative sport
36.21	contest shall have in attendance a physi-	cian licensed by t	<del>his state</del> Minnesot	ta. <del>The</del>
36.22	commissioner may establish a schedule	of fees to be paid	l to each attending	<del>; physician by</del>
36.23	the promoter holding or sponsoring the	<del>contest.</del>		
36.24	Sec. 22. <b>[341.331] PROHIBITED PI</b>	ERFORMANCE	ENHANCING S	SUBSTANCES
36.25	AND TESTING.			
36.26	Subdivision 1. <b>Performance enhanci</b>	ing substances an	ıd masking agents	nrohibited All
36.27	combatants are prohibited from using the	-		
36.28	in the World Anti-Doping Code publish			
36.28	combatant meets an applicable exception			icy, umess a
JU.29	comparant meets an applicable exception	n set forth thefell	11.	

36.30 (1) S0, nonapproved substances;

36.31 (2) S1, anabolic agents;

03/27/23 08:55 pm	COLINICEL	CDE/DN	SCS2782A-5
U3/2//23 U8:33 DM	COUNSEL	CDF/DN	SCS2/82A-3

37.1	(3) S2, peptide hormones, growth factors, and related substances and mimetics;
37.2	(4) S3, beta-2 agonists;
37.3	(5) S4, hormone and metabolic modulators; and
37.4	(6) S5, diuretics and masking agents.
37.5	Subd. 2. Testing. The commissioner may administer drug testing to discover violations
37.6	of subdivision 1 as follows:
37.7	(a) The commissioner may require a combatant to submit to a drug test to determine if
37.8	substances are present in the combatant's system in violation of subdivision 1. This testing
37.9	may occur at any time after the official weigh-in, on the day of the contest in which the
37.10	combatant is participating, or within 24 hours of competing in a combative sports contest
37.11	in a manner prescribed by the commissioner. The commissioner may require testing based
37.12	on reasonable cause or random selection. Grounds for reasonable cause includes observing
37.13	or receiving credible information that a combatant has used prohibited performance enhancing
37.14	drugs. If testing is based on random selection, both combatants competing in a selected bout
37.15	shall submit to a drug test.
37.16	(b) Specimens may include urine, hair samples, or blood. Specimens shall be tested at
37.17	a facility acceptable to the commissioner. Results of all drug tests shall be submitted directly
37.18	to the commissioner.
37.19	(c) The promoter shall pay the costs relating to drug testing combatants. Any requests
37.20	for follow-up or additional testing must be paid by the combatant.
37.21	Subd. 3. Discipline. (a) If a combatant fails to provide a sample for drug testing when
37.22	required, and the request is made before a bout, the combatant shall not be allowed to
37.23	compete in the bout. If the request is made after a bout, and the combatant fails to provide
37.24	a sample for drug testing, the combatant shall be subject to disciplinary action under section
37.25	<u>341.29.</u>
37.26	(b) If a combatant's specimen tests positive for any prohibited substances, the combatant
37.27	shall be subject to disciplinary action under section 341.29.
37.28	(c) A combatant who is disciplined and was the winner of a bout shall be disqualified
37.29	and the decision shall be changed to no contest. The results of a bout shall remain unchanged
37.30	if a combatant who is disciplined was the loser of the bout.

Sec. 23. [341.345] CHALLENGING THE OUTCOME OF A COMBATIVE SPORT
CONTEST.
Subdivision 1. Challenge. (a) If a combatant disagrees with the outcome of a combative
sport contest regulated by the Department of Labor and Industry in which the combatant
participated, the combatant may challenge the outcome.
(b) If a third party makes a challenge on behalf of a combatant, the third party must
provide written confirmation that they are authorized to make the challenge on behalf of
the combatant. The written confirmation must contain the combatant's signature and must
be submitted with the challenge.
Subd. 2. Form. A challenge must be submitted on a form prescribed by the commissioner,
set forth all relevant facts and the basis for the challenge, and state what remedy is being
sought. A combatant may submit photos, videos, documents, or any other evidence the
combatant would like the commissioner to consider in connection to the challenge. A
combatant may challenge the outcome of a contest only if it is alleged that:
(1) the referee made an incorrect call or missed a rule violation that directly affected the
outcome of the contest;
(2) there was collusion amongst officials to affect the outcome of the contest; or
(3) scores were miscalculated.
Subd. 3. Timing. A challenge must be submitted within ten days of the contest.
(a) For purposes of this subdivision, the day of the contest shall not count toward the
ten-day period. If the tenth day falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, then a combatant
shall have until the next day that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday to submit a
challenge.
(b) The challenge must be submitted to the commissioner at the address, fax number,
or email address designated on the commissioner's website. The date on which a challenge
is submitted by mail shall be the postmark date on the envelope in which the challenge is
mailed. If the challenge is faxed or emailed, it must be received by the commissioner by

Subd. 4. **Opponent's response.** If the requirements of subdivisions 1 to 3 are met, the commissioner shall send a complete copy of the challenge documents, along with any supporting materials submitted, to the opposing combatant by mail, fax, or email. The opposing combatant has 14 days from the date the commissioner sends the challenge and supporting materials to submit a response to the commissioner. Additional response time

4:30 p.m. Central Time on the day the challenge is due.

38.28

38.29

38.30

38.31

38.32

03/27/23 08:55 pm	COUNSEL	CDF/DN	SCS2782A-5

is not added when the commissioner sends the challenge to the opposing combatant by mail. 39.1 The opposing combatant may submit photos, videos, documents, or any other evidence the 39.2 39.3 opposing combatant would like the commissioner to consider in connection to the challenge. The response must be submitted to the commissioner at the address, fax number, or email 39.4 address designated on the commissioner's website. The date on which a response is submitted 39.5 by mail is the postmark date on the envelope in which the response is mailed. If the response 39.6 is faxed or emailed, it must be received by the commissioner by 4:30 p.m. Central Time on 39.7 39.8 the day the response is due. Subd. 5. Licensed official review. The commissioner may, if the commissioner 39.9 determines it would be helpful in resolving the issues raised in the challenge, send a complete 39.10 copy of the challenge or response, along with any supporting materials submitted, to any 39.11 licensed official involved in the combative sport contest at issue by mail, fax, or email and 39.12 request the official's views on the issues raised in the challenge. 39.13 Subd. 6. Order. The commissioner shall issue an order on the challenge within 60 days 39.14 after receiving the opposing combatant's response. If the opposing combatant does not 39.15 submit a response, the commissioner shall issue an order on the challenge within 75 days 39.16 after receiving the challenge. 39.17 Subd. 7. Nonacceptance. If the requirements of subdivisions 1 through 3 are not met, 39.18 the commissioner must not accept the challenge and may send correspondence to the person 39.19 who submitted the challenge stating the reasons for nonacceptance of the challenge. A 39.20 combatant has no further appeal rights if the combatant's challenge is not accepted by the 39.21 39.22 commissioner. Subd. 8. Administrative hearing. After the commissioner issues an order under 39.23 subdivision 6, each combatant under section 326B.082, subdivision 8, has 30 days after 39.24 service of the order to submit a request for hearing before an administrative law judge. 39.25 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 341.355, is amended to read: 39.26 341.355 CIVIL PENALTIES. 39.27 When the commissioner finds that a person has violated one or more provisions of any 39.28 statute, rule, or order that the commissioner is empowered to regulate, enforce, or issue, the 39.29 commissioner may impose, for each violation, a civil penalty of up to \$10,000 for each 39.30

Article 4 Sec. 24.

39.31

39.32

39.33

violation, or a civil penalty that deprives the person of any economic advantage gained by

the violation, or both. The commissioner may also impose these penalties against a person

who has violated section 341.28, subdivision 5, paragraph (b) or (c).

40.1 ARTICLE 5

40.3

40.4

40.5

40.6

40.7

40.8

40.9

40.10

40.11

40.12

40.13

40.14

40.15

40.16

40.17

40.18

40.19

40.20

40.21

40.22

40.23

40.24

40.25

40.26

40.27

40.28

40.29

40.30

40.31

40.2 MISCELLANEOUS POLICY

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 116J.871, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. **Prevailing wage required.** (a) A state agency may provide financial assistance to a person only if the person receiving or benefiting from the financial assistance certifies to the commissioner of labor and industry that laborers and mechanics at the project site during construction, installation, remodeling, and repairs for which the financial assistance was provided will be paid the prevailing wage rate as defined in section 177.42, subdivision 6. The person receiving or benefiting from the financial assistance is also subject to the requirements and enforcement provisions of sections 177.27, 177.30, 177.32, 177.41 to 177.435, and 177.45.

(b) For purposes of complying with section 177.30, paragraph (a), clauses (6) and (7), the state agency awarding the financial assistance is considered the contracting authority and the project is considered a public works project. The person receiving or benefiting from the financial assistance shall notify all employers on the project of the record keeping and reporting requirements in section 177.30, paragraph (a), clauses (6) and (7). Each employer shall submit the required information to the contracting authority.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 175.16, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Established.** The Department of Labor and Industry shall consist of the following divisions: Division of Workers' Compensation, Division of Construction Codes and Licensing, Division of Occupational Safety and Health, Division of Statistics, Division of Labor Standards, and <u>Division of Apprenticeship</u>, and such other divisions as the commissioner of the Department of Labor and Industry may deem necessary and establish. Each division of the department and persons in charge thereof shall be subject to the supervision of the commissioner of the Department of Labor and Industry and, in addition to such duties as are or may be imposed on them by statute, shall perform such other duties as may be assigned to them by the commissioner. Notwithstanding any other law to the contrary, the commissioner is the administrator and supervisor of all of the department's dispute resolution functions and personnel and may delegate authority to compensation judges and others to make determinations under sections 176.106, 176.238, and 176.239 and to approve settlement of claims under section 176.521.

Article 5 Sec. 2.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 177.26, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Creation. The Division of Labor Standards and Apprenticeship in the

Department of Labor and Industry is supervised and controlled by the commissioner of

41.4 labor and industry.

- Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 177.26, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Powers and duties.** The Division of Labor Standards and Apprenticeship shall administer this chapter and chapters 178, 181, 181A, and 184.
- Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 177.27, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. Compliance orders. The commissioner may issue an order requiring an
- 41.10 employer to comply with sections 177.21 to 177.435, 179.86, 181.02, 181.03, 181.031,
- 41.11 181.032, 181.101, 181.11, 181.13, 181.14, 181.145, 181.15, 181.172, paragraph (a) or (d),
- 41.12 181.214 to 181.217, 181.275, subdivision 2a 181.635,, 181.722, 181.79, and 181.939 to
- 41.13 181.943, and 181.165 or with any rule promulgated under section 177.28, 181.213, or
- 41.14 <u>181.215</u>. The commissioner shall issue an order requiring an employer to comply with
- sections 177.41 to 177.435 or 181.165 if the violation is repeated. For purposes of this
- subdivision only, a violation is repeated if at any time during the two years that preceded
- 41.17 the date of violation, the commissioner issued an order to the employer for violation of
- sections 177.41 to 177.435 or 181.165 and the order is final or the commissioner and the
- employer have entered into a settlement agreement that required the employer to pay back
- wages that were required by sections 177.41 to 177.435. The department shall serve the
- order upon the employer or the employer's authorized representative in person or by certified
- mail at the employer's place of business. An employer who wishes to contest the order must
- 41.23 file written notice of objection to the order with the commissioner within 15 calendar days
- 41.24 after being served with the order. A contested case proceeding must then be held in
- accordance with sections 14.57 to 14.69 or 181.165. If, within 15 calendar days after being
- served with the order, the employer fails to file a written notice of objection with the
- 41.27 commissioner, the order becomes a final order of the commissioner.
- Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 178.01, is amended to read:
- 41.29 **178.01 PURPOSES.**
- The purposes of this chapter are: to open to all people regardless of race, sex, creed,
- 41.31 color or national origin, the opportunity to obtain training and on-the-job learning that will
- equip them for profitable employment and citizenship; to establish as a means to this end,

03/27/23 08:55 pm	COUNSEL	CDF/DN	SCS2782A-5

a program of voluntary apprenticeship under approved apprenticeship agreements providing facilities for their training and guidance in the arts, skills, and crafts of industry and trade or occupation, with concurrent, supplementary instruction in related subjects; to promote apprenticeship opportunities under conditions providing adequate training and on-the-job learning and reasonable earnings; to relate the supply of skilled workers to employment demands; to establish standards for apprentice training; to establish an Apprenticeship Board and apprenticeship committees to assist in effectuating the purposes of this chapter; to provide for a Division of Labor Standards and Apprenticeship within the Department of Labor and Industry; to provide for reports to the legislature regarding the status of apprentice training in the state; to establish a procedure for the determination of apprenticeship agreement controversies; and to accomplish related ends.

- Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 178.011, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
- Subd. 7. **Division.** "Division" means the department's <del>Labor Standards and</del> Apprenticeship Division, established under sections 175.16 and 178.03, and the State Apprenticeship Agency as defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title 29, part 29, section 29.2.
- Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 178.03, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Establishment of division.** There is established a Division of <del>Labor</del>

  42.18 Standards and Apprenticeship in the Department of Labor and Industry. This division shall be administered by a director, and be under the supervision of the commissioner.
- Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 178.11, is amended to read:

### 178.11 LABOR EDUCATION ADVANCEMENT GRANT PROGRAM.

The commissioner shall establish the labor education advancement grant program for the purpose of facilitating the participation or retention of minorities people of color, Indigenous people, and women in apprenticeable trades and occupations registered apprenticeship programs. The commissioner shall award grants to community-based and nonprofit organizations and Minnesota Tribal governments as defined in section 10.65, serving the targeted populations on a competitive request-for-proposal basis. Interested organizations shall apply for the grants in a form prescribed by the commissioner. As part of the application process, applicants must provide a statement of need for the grant, a description of the targeted population and apprenticeship opportunities, a description of activities to be funded by the grant, evidence supporting the ability to deliver services, information related to coordinating grant activities with other employment and learning

42.1

42.2

42.3

42.4

42.5

42.6

42.7

42.8

42.9

42.10

42.11

42.21

42.22

42.23

42.24

42.25

42.26

42.27

42.28

42.29

42.30

42.31

programs, identification of matching funds, a budget, and performance objectives. Each submitted application shall be evaluated for completeness and effectiveness of the proposed grant activity.

- Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 181.9435, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Investigation.** The Division of Labor Standards and Apprenticeship shall receive complaints of employees against employers relating to sections 181.172, paragraph (a) or (d), and 181.939 to 181.9436 and investigate informally whether an employer may be in violation of sections 181.172, paragraph (a) or (d), and 181.939 to 181.9436. The division shall attempt to resolve employee complaints by informing employees and employers of the provisions of the law and directing employers to comply with the law. For complaints related to section 181.939, the division must contact the employer within two business days and investigate the complaint within ten days of receipt of the complaint.
- Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 181.9436, is amended to read:

### 43.14 **181.9436 POSTING OF LAW.**

43.1

43.2

43.3

43.4

43.5

43.6

43.7

43.8

43.9

43.10

43.11

- The Division of Labor Standards and Apprenticeship shall develop, with the assistance of interested business and community organizations, an educational poster stating employees' rights under sections 181.940 to 181.9436. The department shall make the poster available, upon request, to employers for posting on the employer's premises.
- 43.19 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 182.666, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Willful or repeated violations.** Any employer who willfully or repeatedly violates the requirements of section 182.653, or any standard, rule, or order adopted under the authority of the commissioner as provided in this chapter, may be assessed a fine not to exceed \$70,000 \\$156,259 for each violation. The minimum fine for a willful violation is \$5,000 \\$11,162.
- Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 182.666, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Serious violations.** Any employer who has received a citation for a serious violation of its duties under section 182.653, or any standard, rule, or order adopted under the authority of the commissioner as provided in this chapter, shall be assessed a fine not to exceed \$7,000 \$15,625 for each violation. If a serious violation under section 182.653, subdivision 2, causes or contributes to the death of an employee, the employer shall be assessed a fine of up to \$25,000 for each violation.

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 182.666, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

- Subd. 3. **Nonserious violations.** Any employer who has received a citation for a violation of its duties under section 182.653, subdivisions 2 to 4, where the violation is specifically determined not to be of a serious nature as provided in section 182.651, subdivision 12, may be assessed a fine of up to \$7,000 \$15,625 for each violation.
- Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 182.666, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
  - Subd. 4. **Failure to correct a violation.** Any employer who fails to correct a violation for which a citation has been issued under section 182.66 within the period permitted for its correction, which period shall not begin to run until the date of the final order of the commissioner in the case of any review proceedings under this chapter initiated by the employer in good faith and not solely for delay or avoidance of penalties, may be assessed a fine of not more than \$7,000 \$15,625 for each day during which the failure or violation continues.
- Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 182.666, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
- Subd. 5. **Posting violations.** Any employer who violates any of the posting requirements, as prescribed under this chapter, except those prescribed under section 182.661, subdivision 3a, shall be assessed a fine of up to \$7,000 \$15,625 for each violation.
- Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 182.666, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 6a. Increases for inflation. (a) Each year, beginning in 2023, the commissioner shall determine the percentage change in the Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI, Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers (CPI-U) from the month of October in the preceding calendar year to the month of October in the current calendar year.
- (b) The commissioner shall increase the fines in subdivisions 1 to 5, except for the fine for a serious violation under section 182.653, subdivision 2, that causes or contributes to the death of an employee, by the percentage change determined by the commissioner under paragraph (a), if the percentage change is greater than zero. The fines shall be increased to the nearest one dollar.
- (c) If the percentage change determined by the commissioner under paragraph (a) is not greater than zero, the commissioner shall not change any of the fines in subdivisions 1 to 5.

44.2

44.3

44.4

44.5

44.7

44.8

44.9

44.10

44.11

44.12

03/27/23 08:55 pm COUNSEL CDF/DN SCS2782A-5
---------------------------------------------

(d) A fine increased under this subdivision takes effect on the next January 15 after the 45.1 commissioner determines the percentage change under paragraph (a) and applies to all fines 45.2 45.3 assessed on or after the next January 15. (e) No later than December 1 of each year, the commissioner shall give notice in the 45.4 45.5 State Register of any increase to the fines in subdivisions 1 to 5. Sec. 18. [182.677] ERGONOMICS. 45.6 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the definitions in this 45.7 subdivision apply unless otherwise specified. 45.8 45.9 (b) "Health care facility" means a hospital with a North American Industrial Classification system code of 622110, 622210, or 622310; an outpatient surgical center with a North 45.10 American Industrial Classification system code of 621493; and a nursing home with a North 45.11 American Industrial Classification system code of 623110. 45.12 45.13 (c) "Warehouse distribution center" means an employer with 100 or more employees in Minnesota and a North American Industrial Classification system code of 493110, 423110 45.14 to 423990, 424110 to 424990, 454110, or 492110. 45.15 (d) "Meatpacking site" means a meatpacking or poultry processing site with 100 or more 45.16 employees in Minnesota and a North American Industrial Classification system code of 45.17 311611 to 311615, except 311613. 45.18 (e) "Musculoskeletal disorder" (MSD) means a disorder of the muscles, nerves, tendons, 45.19 ligaments, joints, cartilage, blood vessels, or spinal discs. 45.20 Subd. 2. Ergonomics program required. (a) Every licensed health care facility, 45.21 45.22 warehouse distribution center, or meatpacking site in the state shall create and implement an effective written ergonomics program establishing the employer's plan to minimize the 45.23 risk of its employees developing or aggravating musculoskeletal disorders by utilizing an 45.24 ergonomics process. The ergonomics program shall focus on eliminating the risk. To the 45.25 extent risk exists, the ergonomics program must include feasible administrative or engineering 45.26 controls to reduce the risk. 45.27 (b) The program shall include: 45.28 (1) an assessment of hazards with regard to prevention of musculoskeletal disorders; 45.29 (2) an initial and ongoing training of employees on ergonomics and its benefits, including 45.30 the importance of reporting early symptoms of musculoskeletal disorders; 45.31

03/27/23 08:55 pm	COUNSEL	CDF/DN	SCS2782A-5
U3/2//23 U6.33 DIII	COUNSEL	CDF/DN	3C32/02A-3

46.1	(3) a procedure to ensure early reporting of musculoskeletal disorders to prevent or
46.2	reduce the progression of symptoms, the development of serious injuries, and lost-time
46.3	<u>claims;</u>
46.4	(4) a process for employees to provide possible solutions that may be implemented to
46.5	reduce, control, or eliminate workplace musculoskeletal disorders;
46.6	(5) procedures to ensure that physical plant modifications and major construction projects
46.7	are consistent with program goals; and
46.8	(6) annual evaluations of the ergonomics program and whenever a change to the work
46.9	process occurs.
46.10	Subd. 3. Annual evaluation of program required. There must be an established
46.11	procedure to annually assess the effectiveness of the ergonomics program, including
46.12	evaluation of corrective actions taken in response to reporting of symptoms by employees.
46.13	The annual assessment shall determine the success of the implemented ergonomic solutions
46.14	and whether goals set by the ergonomics program have been met.
46.15	Subd. 4. Employee training. (a) An employer subject to this section must train all new
46.16	and existing employees on the following:
46.17	(1) the name of each individual on the employer's safety committee;
46.18	(2) the facility's hazard prevention and control plan;
46.19	(3) the early signs and symptoms of musculoskeletal injuries and the procedures for
46.20	reporting them;
46.21	(4) the procedures for reporting injuries and other hazards;
46.22	(5) any administrative or engineering controls related to ergonomic hazards that are in
46.23	place or will be implemented at the facility;
46.24	(6) how to use personal protective equipment, whether it is available, and where it is
46.25	located; and
46.26	(7) the requirements of subdivision 9.
46.27	(b) New and current employees must be trained according to paragraph (a) prior to
46.28	starting work. The employer must provide the training during working hours and compensate
46.29	the employee for attending the training at the employee's standard rate of pay. All training
46.30	must be in a language and with vocabulary that the employee can understand.

03/27/23 08:55 pm	COLINICEL	CDE/DN	SCS2782A-5
U3/2//23 U8:33 DM	COUNSEL	CDF/DN	SCS2/82A-3

7.1	(c) operates to the information conveyed in the training shall be communicated to
7.2	employees as soon as practicable.
17.3	Subd. 5. Involvement of employees. Employers subject to this section must solicit
17.4	feedback for its ergonomics program through its safety committee required by section
17.5	182.676, in addition to any other opportunities for employee participation the employer
17.6	may provide. The safety committee must be directly involved in ergonomics worksite
17.7	assessments and participate in the annual evaluation required by subdivision 3.
17.8	Subd. 6. Workplace program or AWAIR. An employer subject to this section must
17.9	reference its ergonomics program in a written Workplace Accident and Injury Reduction
17.10	(AWAIR) program required by section 182.653, subdivision 8.
17.11	Subd. 7. Recordkeeping. An employer subject to this section must maintain:
17.12	(1) a written certification dated and signed by each person who provides training and
17.13	each employee who receives training pursuant to this section. The certification completed
17.14	by the training providers must state that the employer has provided training consistent with
17.15	the requirements of this section;
17.16	(2) a record of all worker visits to on site medical or first aid personnel for the last five
17.17	years, regardless of severity or type of illness or injury; and
17.18	(3) a record of all ergonomic injuries suffered by employees for the last five years.
17.19	Subd. 8. Availability of records. (a) The employer must ensure that the certification
17.20	records required by subdivision 7, clause (1) are up to date and available to the commissioner
17.21	employees, and authorized employee representatives, if any, upon request.
17.22	(b) Upon the request of the commissioner, an employee, or an authorized employee
17.23	representative, the employer must provide the requestor a redacted version of the medical
17.24	or first aid records and records of all ergonomic injuries. The name, contact information,
17.25	and occupation of an employee, and any other information that would reveal the identity
17.26	of an employee, must be removed in the redacted version. The redacted version must only
17.27	include, to the extent it would not reveal identity of an employee, the location where the
17.28	employee worked, the date of the injury or visit, a description of the medical treatment or
17.29	first aid provided, and a description of the injury suffered.
17.30	(c) The employer must also make available to the commissioner the unredacted medica
17.31	or first aid records and unredacted records of ergonomic injuries required by subdivision
17.32	7, clause (2), upon request.

03/27/23 08:55 pm	COUNSEL	CDF/DN	SCS2782A-5

48.1	Subd. 9. Reporting encouraged. Any employer subject to this section must not institute
48.2	or maintain any program, policy, or practice that discourages employees from reporting
48.3	injuries, hazards, or safety and health standard violations, including ergonomic-related
48.4	hazards and symptoms of musculoskeletal disorders.
48.5	Subd. 10. Training materials. The commissioner shall make training materials on
48.6	implementation of this section available to all employers, upon request, at no cost as part
48.7	of the duties of the commissioner under section 182.673.
48.8	Subd. 11. Enforcement. This section shall be enforced by the commissioner under
48.9	sections 182.66 and 182.661. A violation of this section is subject to the penalties provided
48.10	under section 182.666.
48.11	Subd. 12. Grant program. (a) The commissioner shall establish an ergonomics grant
48.12	program to provide matching funding for employers who are subject to this section to make
48.13	ergonomic improvements recommended by an on-site safety survey. Minnesota Rules,
48.14	chapter 5203, shall apply to the administration of the grant program.
48.15	(b) To be eligible for a grant under this section, an employer must:
48.16	(1) be a licensed health care facility, warehouse distribution center, or meatpacking site
48.17	as defined by subdivision 1;
48.18	(2) have current workers' compensation insurance provided through the assigned risk
48.19	plan, provided by an insurer subject to penalties under chapter 176, or as an approved
48.20	self-insured employer; and
48.21	(3) have an on-site safety survey with results that recommend specific equipment or
48.22	practices that will reduce the risk of injury or illness to employees and prevent
48.23	musculoskeletal disorders. This survey must have been conducted by a Minnesota
48.24	occupational safety and health compliance investigator or workplace safety consultation
48.25	consultant, an in-house safety and health committee, a workers' compensation insurance
48.26	underwriter, a private consultant, or a person under contract with the assigned risk plan.
48.27	(c) Grant funds may be used for all or part of the cost of the following:
48.28	(1) purchasing and installing recommended equipment intended to prevent
48.29	musculoskeletal disorders;
48.30	(2) operating or maintaining recommended equipment intended to prevent musculoskeletal
48.31	disorders;

03/27/23 08:55 pm	COUNSEL	CDF/DN	SCS2782A-5

49.1	(3) property, if the property is necessary to meet the recommendations of the on-site
49.2	safety survey that are related to prevention of musculoskeletal disorders;
49.3	(4) training required to operate recommended safety equipment to prevent musculoskeletal
49.4	disorders; and
49.5	(5) tuition reimbursement for educational costs related to identifying ergonomic-related
49.6	issues that are related to the recommendations of the on-site safety survey.
49.7	(d) The commissioner shall evaluate applications, submitted on forms developed by the
49.8	commissioner, based on whether the proposed project:
49.9	(1) is technically and economically feasible;
49.10	(2) is consistent with the recommendations of the on-site safety survey and the objective
49.11	of reducing risk of injury or illness to employees and preventing musculoskeletal disorders;
49.12	(3) was submitted by an applicant with sufficient experience, knowledge, and commitment
49.13	for the project to be implemented in a timely manner;
49.14	(4) has the necessary financial commitments to cover all project costs;
49.15	(5) has the support of all public entities necessary for its completion; and
49.16	(6) complies with federal, state, and local regulations.
49.17	(e) Grants under this section shall provide a match of up to \$10,000 for private funds
49.18	committed by the employer to implement the recommended ergonomics-related equipment
49.19	or practices.
49.20	(f) Grants will be awarded to all applicants that meet the eligibility and evaluation criteria
49.21	under paragraphs (b), (c), and (d) until funding is depleted. If there are more eligible requests
49.22	than funding, awards will be prorated.
49.23	(g) Grant recipients are not eligible to apply for another grant under chapter 176 until
49.24	two years after the date of the award.
49.25	Subd. 13. Standard development. The commissioner may propose an ergonomics
49.26	standard using the authority provided in section 182.655.
49.27	Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 326B.092, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
49.28	Subd. 6. Fees nonrefundable. Application and examination fees, license fees, license
49.29	renewal fees, and late fees are nonrefundable except for:

(1) license renewal fees received more than two years after expiration of the license, as 50.1 described in section 326B.094, subdivision 2; 50.2 (2) any overpayment of fees; and 50.3 (3) if the license is not issued or renewed, the contractor recovery fund fee and any 50.4 50.5 additional assessment paid under subdivision 7, paragraph (e). Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 326B.096, is amended to read: 50.6 326B.096 REINSTATEMENT OF LICENSES. 50.7 Subdivision 1. Reinstatement after revocation. (a) If a license is revoked under this 50.8 chapter and if an applicant for a license needs to pass an examination administered by the 50.9 commissioner before becoming licensed, then, in order to have the license reinstated, the 50.10 person who holds the revoked license must: 50.11 (1) retake the examination and achieve a passing score; and 50.12 (2) meet all other requirements for an initial license, including payment of the application 50.13 and examination fee and the license fee. The person holding the revoked license is not 50.14 eligible for Minnesota licensure without examination based on reciprocity. 50.15 50.16 (b) If a license is revoked under a chapter other than this chapter, then, in order to have the license reinstated, the person who holds the revoked license must: 50.17 50.18 (1) apply for reinstatement to the commissioner no later than two years after the effective date of the revocation; 50.19 (2) pay a \$100 \$50 reinstatement application fee and any applicable renewal license fee; 50.20 and 50.21 (3) meet all applicable requirements for licensure, except that, unless required by the 50.22 order revoking the license, the applicant does not need to retake any examination and does 50.23 not need to repay a license fee that was paid before the revocation. 50.24 Subd. 2. Reinstatement after suspension. If a license is suspended, then, in order to 50.25 have the license reinstated, the person who holds the suspended license must: 50.26 (1) apply for reinstatement to the commissioner no later than two years after the 50.27 completion of the suspension period; 50.28

and

50.29

50.30

(2) pay a \$100 \$50 reinstatement application fee and any applicable renewal license fee;

03/27/23 08:55 pm	COUNSEL	CDF/DN	SCS2782A-5

(3) meet all applicable requirements for licensure, except that, unless required by the 51.1 order suspending the license, the applicant does not need to retake any examination and 51.2 does not need to repay a license fee that was paid before the suspension. 51.3 Subd. 3. Reinstatement after voluntary termination. A licensee who is not an individual 51.4 may voluntarily terminate a license issued to the person under this chapter. If a licensee has 51.5 voluntarily terminated a license under this subdivision, then, in order to have the license 51.6 reinstated, the person who holds the terminated license must: 51.7 (1) apply for reinstatement to the commissioner no later than the date that the license 51.8 would have expired if it had not been terminated; 51.9 (2) pay a \$100 \$25 reinstatement application fee and any applicable renewal license fee; 51.10 and 51.11 (3) meet all applicable requirements for licensure, except that the applicant does not 51.12 need to repay a license fee that was paid before the termination. 51.13 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 326B.103, is amended by adding a subdivision 51.14 to read: 51.15 Subd. 6a. Electric vehicle capable space. "Electric vehicle capable space" means a 51.16 designated automobile parking space that has electrical infrastructure, including but not 51.17 limited to raceways, cables, electrical capacity, and panelboard or other electrical distribution 51.18 space necessary for the future installation of an electric vehicle charging station. 51.19 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 326B.103, is amended by adding a subdivision 51.20 to read: 51.21 Subd. 6b. Electric vehicle charging station. "Electric vehicle charging station" means 51.22 a designated automobile parking space that has a dedicated connection for charging an 51.23 electric vehicle. 51.24 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 326B.103, is amended by adding a subdivision 51.25 to read: 51.26 Subd. 6c. Electric vehicle ready space. "Electric vehicle ready space" means a designated 51.27 automobile parking space that has a branch circuit capable of supporting the installation of 51.28

51.29

an electric vehicle charging station.

Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 326B.103, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

- Subd. 10a. Parking facilities. "Parking facilities" includes parking lots, garages, ramps, or decks.
- Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 326B.103, subdivision 13, is amended to read:
- Subd. 13. **State licensed facility.** "State licensed facility" means a building and its grounds that are licensed by the state as a hospital, nursing home, supervised living facility, assisted living facility, including assisted living facility with dementia care, free-standing outpatient surgical center, correctional facility, boarding care home, or residential hospice.
  - Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 326B.106, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
    - Subdivision 1. Adoption of code. (a) Subject to paragraphs (c) and (d) and sections 326B.101 to 326B.194, the commissioner shall by rule and in consultation with the Construction Codes Advisory Council establish a code of standards for the construction, reconstruction, alteration, and repair of buildings, governing matters of structural materials, design and construction, fire protection, health, sanitation, and safety, including design and construction standards regarding heat loss control, illumination, and climate control. The code must also include duties and responsibilities for code administration, including procedures for administrative action, penalties, and suspension and revocation of certification. The code must conform insofar as practicable to model building codes generally accepted and in use throughout the United States, including a code for building conservation. In the preparation of the code, consideration must be given to the existing statewide specialty codes presently in use in the state. Model codes with necessary modifications and statewide specialty codes may be adopted by reference. The code must be based on the application of scientific principles, approved tests, and professional judgment. To the extent possible, the code must be adopted in terms of desired results instead of the means of achieving those results, avoiding wherever possible the incorporation of specifications of particular methods or materials. To that end the code must encourage the use of new methods and new materials. Except as otherwise provided in sections 326B.101 to 326B.194, the commissioner shall administer and enforce the provisions of those sections.
    - (b) The commissioner shall develop rules addressing the plan review fee assessed to similar buildings without significant modifications including provisions for use of building systems as specified in the industrial/modular program specified in section 326B.194.

52.1

52.2

52.3

52.4

52.10

52.11

52.12

52.13

52.14

52.15

52.16

52.17

52.18

52.19

52.20

52.21

52.22

52.23

52.24

52.25

52.26

52.27

52.28

52.29

52.30

52.31

Additional plan review fees associated with similar plans must be based on costs commensurate with the direct and indirect costs of the service.

53.1

53.2

53.3

53.4

53.5

53.6

53.7

53.8

53.9

53.10

53.11

53.12

53.13

53.14

53.15

53.16

53.17

53.18

53.19

53.20

53.21

53.22

53.23

53.24

53.25

53.26

53.27

53.28

53.29

53.30

53.31

53.32

53.33

53.34

- (c) Beginning with the 2018 edition of the model building codes and every six years thereafter, the commissioner shall review the new model building codes and adopt the model codes as amended for use in Minnesota, within two years of the published edition date. The commissioner may adopt amendments to the building codes prior to the adoption of the new building codes to advance construction methods, technology, or materials, or, where necessary to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the public, or to improve the efficiency or the use of a building.
- (d) Notwithstanding paragraph (c), the commissioner shall act on each new model residential energy code and the new model commercial energy code in accordance with federal law for which the United States Department of Energy has issued an affirmative determination in compliance with United States Code, title 42, section 6833. The commissioner may adopt amendments prior to adoption of the new energy codes, as amended for use in Minnesota, to advance construction methods, technology, or materials, or, where necessary to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the public, or to improve the efficiency or use of a building.
- (e) Beginning in 2024, the commissioner shall act on the new model commercial energy code by adopting each new published edition of ASHRAE 90.1 or a more efficient standard. The commercial energy code in effect in 2036 and thereafter must achieve an 80 percent reduction in annual net energy consumption or greater, using the ASHRAE 90.1-2004 as a baseline. The commissioner shall adopt commercial energy codes from 2024 to 2036 that incrementally move toward achieving the 80 percent reduction in annual net energy consumption. By January 15 of the year following each new code adoption, the commissioner shall make a report on progress under this section to the legislative committees with jurisdiction over the energy code. The commissioner may adjust the standard as necessary upon consideration of the impact to building affordability, energy reliability, and other factors deemed appropriate. Nothing in this paragraph shall be construed to limit the installation, operation, or use of a system, appliance, or other equipment based on the energy source used to power the system, appliance, or other equipment.
- (f) Nothing in this section shall be interpreted to limit the ability of a public utility to offer code support programs, or to claim energy savings resulting from such programs, through its energy conservation and optimization plans approved by the commissioner of commerce under section 216B.241 or an energy conservation and optimization plan filed by a consumer-owned utility under section 216B.2403.

Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 326B.106, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

- Subd. 4. **Special requirements.** (a) **Space for commuter vans.** The code must require that any parking ramp or other parking facility constructed in accordance with the code include an appropriate number of spaces suitable for the parking of motor vehicles having a capacity of seven to 16 persons and which are principally used to provide prearranged commuter transportation of employees to or from their place of employment or to or from a transit stop authorized by a local transit authority.
- (b) **Smoke detection devices.** The code must require that all dwellings, lodging houses, apartment houses, and hotels as defined in section 299F.362 comply with the provisions of section 299F.362.
- (c) **Doors in nursing homes and hospitals.** The State Building Code may not require that each door entering a sleeping or patient's room from a corridor in a nursing home or hospital with an approved complete standard automatic fire extinguishing system be constructed or maintained as self-closing or automatically closing.
- (d) Child care facilities in churches; ground level exit. A licensed day care center serving fewer than 30 preschool age persons and which is located in a belowground space in a church building is exempt from the State Building Code requirement for a ground level exit when the center has more than two stairways to the ground level and its exit.
- (e) **Family and group family day care.** Until the legislature enacts legislation specifying appropriate standards, the definition of dwellings constructed in accordance with the International Residential Code as adopted as part of the State Building Code applies to family and group family day care homes licensed by the Department of Human Services under Minnesota Rules, chapter 9502.
- (f) **Enclosed stairways.** No provision of the code or any appendix chapter of the code may require stairways of existing multiple dwelling buildings of two stories or less to be enclosed.
- (g) **Double cylinder dead bolt locks.** No provision of the code or appendix chapter of the code may prohibit double cylinder dead bolt locks in existing single-family homes, townhouses, and first floor duplexes used exclusively as a residential dwelling. Any recommendation or promotion of double cylinder dead bolt locks must include a warning about their potential fire danger and procedures to minimize the danger.
- (h) **Relocated residential buildings.** A residential building relocated within or into a political subdivision of the state need not comply with the State Energy Code or section

54.1

54.2

54.3

54.4

54.5

54.6

54.7

54.8

54.9

54.10

54.11

54.12

54.13

54.14

54.15

54.16

54.17

54.18

54.19

54.20

54.21

54.22

54.23

54.24

54.25

54.26

54.27

54.28

54.29

54.30

54.31

54.32

05/2//25 06:55 pm COUNSEL CDF/DN 5C52/62A	03/27/23 08:55 pm	COUNSEL	CDF/DN	SCS2782A
-------------------------------------------	-------------------	---------	--------	----------

326B.439 provided that, where available, an energy audit is conducted on the relocated building.

- (i) **Automatic garage door opening systems.** The code must require all residential buildings as defined in section 325F.82 to comply with the provisions of sections 325F.82 and 325F.83.
- (j) Exterior wood decks, patios, and balconies. The code must permit the decking surface and upper portions of exterior wood decks, patios, and balconies to be constructed of (1) heartwood from species of wood having natural resistance to decay or termites, including redwood and cedars, (2) grades of lumber which contain sapwood from species of wood having natural resistance to decay or termites, including redwood and cedars, or (3) treated wood. The species and grades of wood products used to construct the decking surface and upper portions of exterior decks, patios, and balconies must be made available to the building official on request before final construction approval.
- (k) **Bioprocess piping and equipment.** No permit fee for bioprocess piping may be imposed by municipalities under the State Building Code, except as required under section 326B.92 subdivision 1. Permits for bioprocess piping shall be according to section 326B.92 administered by the Department of Labor and Industry. All data regarding the material production processes, including the bioprocess system's structural design and layout, are nonpublic data as provided by section 13.7911.
- (l) **Use of ungraded lumber.** The code must allow the use of ungraded lumber in geographic areas of the state where the code did not generally apply as of April 1, 2008, to the same extent that ungraded lumber could be used in that area before April 1, 2008.
- (m) Window cleaning safety. The code must require the installation of dedicated anchorages for the purpose of suspended window cleaning on (1) new buildings four stories or greater; and (2) buildings four stories or greater, only on those areas undergoing reconstruction, alteration, or repair that includes the exposure of primary structural components of the roof. The commissioner shall adopt rules, using the expedited rulemaking process in section 14.389, requiring window cleaning safety features that comply with a nationally recognized standard as part of the State Building Code. Window cleaning safety features shall be provided for all windows on:
- (1) new buildings where determined by the code; and
- 55.32 (2) existing buildings undergoing alterations where both of the following conditions are
  55.33 met:

55.1

55.2

55.3

55.4

55.5

55.6

55.7

55.8

55.9

55.10

55.11

55.12

55.13

55.14

55.15

55.16

55.17

55.18

55.19

55.20

55.21

55.22

55.23

55.24

55.25

55.26

55.27

55.28

55.29

56.1	(i) the windows do not currently have safe window cleaning features; and
56.2	(ii) the proposed work area being altered can include provisions for safe window cleaning.
56.3	The commissioner may waive all or a portion of the requirements of this paragraph
56.4	related to reconstruction, alteration, or repair, if the installation of dedicated anchorages
56.5	would not result in significant safety improvements due to limits on the size of the project,
56.6	or other factors as determined by the commissioner.
56.7	(n) Adult-size changing facilities. The commissioner shall adopt rules requiring
56.8	adult-size changing facilities as part of the State Building Code.
56.9	Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 326B.106, is amended by adding a subdivision
56.10	to read:
56.11	Subd. 16. Electric vehicle charging. The code shall require a minimum number of
56.12	electric vehicle ready spaces, electric vehicle capable spaces, and electric vehicle charging
56.13	stations either within or adjacent to new commercial and multifamily structures that provide
56.14	on-site parking facilities. Residential structures with fewer than four dwelling units are
56.15	exempt from this subdivision.
56.16	Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 326B.802, subdivision 15, is amended to read:
56.17	Subd. 15. Special skill. "Special skill" means one of the following eight categories:
56.18	(a) Excavation. Excavation includes work in any of the following areas:
56.19	(1) excavation;
56.20	(2) trenching;
56.21	(3) grading; and
56.22	(4) site grading.
56.23	(b) Masonry and concrete. Masonry and concrete includes work in any of the following
56.24	areas:
56.25	(1) drain systems;
56.26	(2) poured walls;
56.27	(3) slabs and poured-in-place footings;
56.28	(4) masonry walls;
56.29	(5) masonry fireplaces;

(c) Carpentry. Carpentry includes work in any of the following areas:

57.1

57.2

- 57.4 (1) rough framing;
- 57.5 (2) finish carpentry;
- 57.6 (3) doors, windows, and skylights;
- 57.7 (4) porches and decks, excluding footings;
- 57.8 (5) wood foundations; and
- 57.9 (6) drywall installation, excluding taping and finishing.
- 57.10 (d) **Interior finishing.** Interior finishing includes work in any of the following areas:
- 57.11 (1) floor covering;
- 57.12 (2) wood floors;
- 57.13 (3) cabinet and counter top installation;
- 57.14 (4) insulation and vapor barriers;
- 57.15 (5) interior or exterior painting;
- 57.16 (6) ceramic, marble, and quarry tile;
- 57.17 (7) ornamental guardrail and installation of prefabricated stairs; and
- 57.18 (8) wallpapering.
- (e) **Exterior finishing.** Exterior finishing includes work in any of the following areas:
- 57.20 (1) siding;
- 57.21 (2) soffit, fascia, and trim;
- 57.22 (3) exterior plaster and stucco;
- 57.23 (4) painting; and
- 57.24 (5) rain carrying systems, including gutters and down spouts.
- 57.25 (f) **Drywall and plaster.** Drywall and plaster includes work in any of the following
- 57.26 areas:
- 57.27 (1) installation;

58.26 Sec. 31. **REPEALER.** 

58.27 Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 177.26, subdivision 3, is repealed.

03/27/23 08:55 pm	COUNSEL	CDF/DN	SCS2782A-5
-------------------	---------	--------	------------

59.1	ARTICLE 6
59.2	SAFE WORKPLACES FOR MEAT AND POULTRY PROCESSING WORKERS
59.3	Section 1. [179.87] TITLE.
59.4	Sections 179.87 to 179.8757 may be titled the Safe Workplaces for Meat and Poultry
59.5	Processing Workers Act.
59.6	Sec. 2. [179.871] DEFINITIONS.
59.7	Subdivision 1. <b>Definitions.</b> For purposes of sections 179.87 to 179.8757, the terms in
59.8	this section have the meanings given.
59.9	Subd. 2. Authorized employee representative. "Authorized employee representative"
59.10	has the meaning given in section 182.651, subdivision 22.
59.11	Subd. 3. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of labor and industry
59.12	or the commissioner's designee.
59.13	Subd. 4. Coordinator. "Coordinator" means the meatpacking industry worker rights
59.14	coordinator or the coordinator's designee.
59.15	Subd. 5. Meat-processing worker. "Meat-processing worker" or "worker" means any
59.16	individual who a meat-processing employer suffers or permits to work directly in contact
59.17	with raw meatpacking products in a meatpacking operation, including independent contractors
59.18	and persons performing work for an employer through a temporary service or staffing
59.19	agency. Workers in a meatpacking operation who inspect or package meatpacking products
59.20	and workers who clean, maintain, or sanitize equipment or surfaces are included in the
59.21	definition of a meat-processing worker. Meat-processing worker does not include a federal,
59.22	state, or local government inspector.
59.23	Subd. 6. Meatpacking operation. "Meatpacking operation" or "meat-processing
59.24	employer" means a business with 50 or more meat-processing workers in which slaughtering,
59.25	butchering, meat canning, meatpacking, meat manufacturing, poultry canning, poultry
59.26	packing, poultry manufacturing, or processing of meatpacking products occurs. Meatpacking
59.27	operation or meat-processing employer does not mean a grocery store, butcher shop, meat
59.28	market, deli, restaurant, or other business preparing meat or poultry products for immediate
59.29	consumption or for sale in a retail establishment or otherwise directly to an end-consumer.
59.30	Subd. 7. Meatpacking products. "Meatpacking products" means meat food products
59.31	and poultry food products as defined in section 31A.02, subdivision 10.

03/27/23 08:55 pm	COUNSEL	CDF/DN	SCS2782A-5

Sec. 3. [179.8715] WORKER RIGHTS COORDINATOR
----------------------------------------------

60.1

60.2

60.3

60.4

60.5

60.6

60.7

60.8

60.9

60.15

60.19

(a) The commissioner must appoint a meatpacking industry worker rights coordinator
in the Department of Labor and Industry and provide the coordinator with necessary office
space, furniture, equipment, supplies, and assistance.

- (b) The commissioner must enforce sections 179.87 to 179.8757, including inspecting, reviewing, and recommending improvements to the practices and procedures of meatpacking operations in Minnesota. A meat-processing employer must grant the commissioner full access to all meatpacking operations in this state at any time that meatpacking products are being processed or meat-processing workers are on the job.
- (c) No later than December 1 each year, the coordinator must submit a report to the
  governor and the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with
  jurisdiction over labor. The report must include recommendations to promote better treatment
  of meat-processing workers. The coordinator shall also post the report on the Department
  of Labor and Industry's website.

# Sec. 4. [179.872] REFUSAL TO WORK UNDER DANGEROUS CONDITIONS.

A meat-processing worker has a right to refuse to work under dangerous conditions in accordance with section 182.654, subdivision 11. Pursuant to that provision, the worker shall continue to receive pay and shall not be subject to discrimination.

## Sec. 5. [179.875] ENFORCEMENT AND COMPLIANCE.

- Subdivision 1. Administrative enforcement. The commissioner, either on the
  commissioner's initiative or in response to a complaint, may inspect a meatpacking operation
  and subpoena records and witnesses as provided in sections 175.20 and 182.659. If a
  meat-processing employer does not comply with the commissioner's inspection, the
  commissioner may seek relief as provided in this section or chapter 175 or 182.
- Subd. 2. Compliance authority. The commissioner of labor and industry may issue a compliance order under section 177.27, subdivision 4, requiring an employer to comply with sections 179.8755, paragraphs (b) and (c); 179.8756, subdivision 7, paragraphs (f) and (g); and 179.8757. The commissioner also has authority, pursuant to section 182.662, subdivision 1, to issue a stop work or business closure order when there is a condition or practice that could result in death or serious physical harm.
- 60.31 Subd. 3. Private civil action. If a meat-processing employer does not comply with a provision in sections 179.87 to 179.8757, an aggrieved worker, authorized employee

03/27/23 08:55 pm COUNSEL CDF/DN SCS2782A-	03/27/23 08:55 pm	COUNSEL	CDF/DN	SCS2782A-5
--------------------------------------------	-------------------	---------	--------	------------

representative, or other person may bring a civil action in a court of competent jurisdiction
within three years of an alleged violation and, upon prevailing, must be awarded the reli
provided in this section. Pursuing administrative relief is not a prerequisite for bringing
civil action.
Subd. 4. Other government enforcement. The attorney general may enforce section
179.87 to 179.8757 under section 8.31. A city or county attorney may also enforce these
sections. Such law enforcement agencies may inspect meatpacking operations and subpoe
records and witnesses and, where such agencies determine that a violation has occurred,
may bring a civil action as provided in this section.
Subd. 5. Relief. (a) In a civil action or administrative proceeding brought to enforce
sections 179.87 to 179.8757, the court or commissioner must order relief as provided in the
subdivision.
(b) For any violation of sections 179.87 to 179.8757:
(1) an injunction to order compliance and restrain continued violations;
(2) payment to a prevailing worker by a meat-processing employer of reasonable cos
disbursements, and attorney fees; and
(3) a civil penalty payable to the state of not less than \$100 per day per worker affect
by the meat-processing employer's noncompliance with sections 179.87 to 179.8757.
(c) Any worker who brings a complaint under sections 179.87 to 179.8757 and suffe
retaliation is entitled to treble damages in addition to lost pay and recovery of attorney fe
and costs.
(d) Any company who is found to have retaliated against a meat-processing worker mu
pay a fine of up to \$10,000 to the commissioner, in addition to other penalties available
under law.
Subd. 6. Whistleblower enforcement; penalty distribution. (a) The relief provided
this section may be recovered through a private civil action brought on behalf of the
commissioner in a court of competent jurisdiction by another individual, including an
authorized employee representative, pursuant to this subdivision.
(b) The individual must give written notice to the coordinator of the specific provision
or provisions of sections 179.87 to 179.8757 alleged to have been violated. The individu
or representative organization may commence a civil action under this subdivision if no
enforcement action is taken by the commissioner within 30 days.

	03/27/23 08:55 pm	COUNSEL	CDF/DN	SCS2782A-5
52.1	(c) Civil penalties recovered pursu	ant to this subdivis	ion must be distrib	uted as follows:
52.2	(1) 70 percent to the commissioner	r for enforcement o	f sections 179.87 to	o 179.8757; and
52.3	(2) 30 percent to the individual or	authorized employ	vee representative.	
52.4	(d) The right to bring an action un	der this subdivision	n shall not be impa	aired by private
52.5	contract. A public enforcement action	must be tried pron	nptly, without rega	rd to concurrent
2.6	adjudication of a private claim for the	e same alleged viol	ation.	
2.7	Sec. 6. [179.8755] RETALIATION	N AGAINST EMP	LOYEES AND	
2.8	WHISTLEBLOWERS PROHIBIT	<u>ED.</u>		
2.9	(a) Pursuant to section 182.669, n	o meat-processing	employer or other	person may
2.10	discharge or discriminate against a wo	orker because the en	nployee has raised	a concern about
2.11	a meatpacking operation's health and s	safety practices to th	ne employer or othe	erwise exercised
2.12	any right authorized under sections 1	82.65 to 182.674.		
2.13	(b) No meat-processing employer	or other person ma	y attempt to requir	e any worker to
2.14	sign a contract or other agreement that	at would limit or pr	event the worker f	rom disclosing
2.15	information about workplace health a	and safety practices	or hazards, or to o	otherwise abide
2.16	by a workplace policy that would lim	it or prevent such o	lisclosures. Any su	ich agreements
2.17	or policies are hereby void and unenf	orceable as contrar	y to the public pol	icy of this state.
2.18	An employer's attempt to impose such	h a contract, agreer	ment, or policy sha	ll constitute an
.19	adverse action enforceable under sect	tion 179.875.		
2.20	(c) Reporting or threatening to rep	oort a meat-process	ing worker's suspe	cted citizenship
2.21	or immigration status, or the suspected	l citizenship or imm	nigration status of a	family member
.22	of the worker, to a federal, state, or loo	cal agency because	the worker exercis	ses a right under
.23	sections 179.87 to 179.8757 constitut	es an adverse actio	n for purposes of	establishing a
.24	violation of that worker's rights. For p	ourposes of this par	agraph, "family m	ember" means a
2.25	spouse, parent, sibling, child, uncle, an	unt, niece, nephew,	cousin, grandparer	nt, or grandchild
2.26	related by blood, adoption, marriage,	or domestic partne	rship.	
2.27	Sec. 7. [179.8756] MEATPACKIN	IG WORKER CH	RONIC INJURI	ES AND
2.28	WORKPLACE SAFETY.			
2.29	Subdivision 1. Safe worker progra	am required; facili	ty committee. (a)	Meat-processing
2.30	employers must adopt a safe worker j	program as part of	the employer's wor	rk accident and

62.31

injury reduction program to minimize and prevent musculoskeletal disorders. For purposes

03/27/23 08·55 nm	COUNSEL	CDF/DN	SCS2782A-5

63.1	of this section, "musculoskeletal disorders" includes carpal tunnel syndrome, tendinitis,
63.2	rotator cuff injuries, trigger finger, epicondylitis, muscle strains, and lower back injuries.
63.3	(b) The meat-processing employer's safe worker program must be developed and
63.4	implemented by a committee of individuals who are knowledgeable of the tasks and work
63.5	processes performed by workers at the employer's facility. The committee must include:
63.6	(1) a certified professional ergonomist;
63.7	(2) a licensed, board-certified physician, with preference given to a physician who has
63.8	specialized experience and training in occupational medicine; and
63.9	(3) at least three workers employed in the employer's facility who have completed a
63.10	general industry outreach course approved by the commissioner, one of whom must be an
63.11	authorized employee representative if the employer is party to a collective bargaining
63.12	agreement.
63.13	(c) If it is not practicable for a certified professional ergonomist or a licensed,
63.14	board-certified physician to be a member of the committee required by paragraph (b), the
63.15	meatpacking employer must have their safe worker program reviewed by a certified
63.16	professional ergonomist and a licensed, board-certified physician prior to implementation
63.17	of the program and annually thereafter.
63.18	(d) The meatpacking employer must solicit feedback for its safe worker program through
63.19	its safety committee required by section 182.676, in addition to any other opportunities for
63.20	employee participation the employer may provide. The safety committee must be directly
63.21	involved in ergonomics worksite assessments and participate in the annual evaluation of
63.22	the program.
63.23	Subd. 2. Program elements. (a) The committee must establish written procedures to
63.24	identify ergonomic hazards and contributing risk factors, which must include:
63.25	(1) the ergonomic assessment tools used to measure ergonomic hazards;
63.26	(2) all jobs where the committee has an indication or knowledge that ergonomic hazards
63.27	may exist; and
63.28	(3) workers who perform the same job or a sample of workers in that job who have the
63.29	greatest exposure to the ergonomic hazard.
63.30	(b) The committee must conduct ergonomic assessments to identify hazards and
63.31	contributing risk factors; review all surveillance data at least quarterly to identify ergonomic
63.32	hazards and contributing risk factors; and maintain records of the hazard identification

03/27/23 08:55 pm	COUNSEL	CDF/DN	SCS2782A-5

64.1	process, which, at a minimum, must include the completed ergonomic assessment tools,
64.2	the results of the ergonomic assessments including the jobs and workers evaluated, and the
64.3	assessment dates.
64.4	(c) The committee must implement a written ergonomic hazard prevention and control
64.5	plan to identify and select methods to eliminate, prevent, or control the ergonomic hazards
64.6	and contributing risk factors. The plan must:
64.7	(1) set goals, priorities, and a timeline to eliminate, prevent, or control the ergonomic
64.8	hazards and contributing risk factors identified;
64.9	(2) identify the person or persons responsible for ergonomic hazard assessments and
64.10	implementation of controls;
64.11	(3) rely upon the surveillance data and the ergonomic risk assessment results; and
64.12	(4) take into consideration the severity of the risk, the numbers of workers at risk, and
64.13	the likelihood that the intervention will reduce the risk.
64.14	(d) A meat-processing employer must control, reduce, or eliminate ergonomic hazards
64.15	which lead to musculoskeletal disorders to the extent feasible by using engineering, work
64.16	practice, and administrative controls.
64.17	(e) The committee must monitor at least annually the implementation of the plan including
64.18	the effectiveness of controls and evaluate progress in meeting program goals.
64.19	Subd. 3. New employee training. (a) A meat-processing employer must work with the
64.20	committee to provide each new employee with information regarding:
64.21	(1) the committee and its members;
64.22	(2) the facility's workplace accident and injury reduction program under section 182.653,
64.23	subdivision 8, as well as any other hazard prevention and control plan the facility may have;
64.24	(3) early signs and symptoms of musculoskeletal injuries and the procedures for reporting
64.25	them;
64.26	(4) procedures for reporting other injuries and hazards;
64.27	(5) engineering and administrative hazard controls implemented in the workplace,
64.28	including ergonomic hazard controls; and
64.29	(6) how to use personal protective equipment, and where it is located.
64.30	(b) A meat-processing employer must work with the committee and ensure that new
64 31	workers receive safety training prior to starting a job that the worker has not performed

03/27/23 08:55 pm	COUNSEL	CDF/DN	SCS2782A-5
U3/27/23 U8:33 DM	COUNSEL	CDF/DN	3C3Z78ZA-3

before. The employer must provide the safety training during working hours and compensate 65.1 the new employee at the employee's standard rate of pay. The employer also must give a 65.2 65.3 new employee an opportunity within 30 days of the employee's hire date to receive a refresher training on the topics covered in the new worker safety training. The employer must provide 65.4 new employee training in a language and with vocabulary that the employee can understand. 65.5 65.6 Subd. 4. New task and annual safety training. (a) Meat-processing employers must provide every worker who is assigned a new task if the worker has no previous work 65.7 65.8 experience with training on how to safely perform the task, the ergonomic and other hazards associated with the task, and training on the early signs and symptoms of musculoskeletal 65.9 injuries and the procedures for reporting them. The employer must give a worker an 65.10 opportunity within 30 days of receiving the new task training to receive refresher training 65.11 on the topics covered in the new task training. The employer must provide this training in 65.12 a language and with vocabulary that the employee can understand. 65.13 (b) Meat-processing employers must provide each worker with no less than eight hours 65.14 of safety training each year. This annual training must address health and safety topics that 65.15 are relevant to the establishment and the worker's job assignment, such as cuts, lacerations, 65.16 amputations, machine guarding, biological hazards, lockout/tagout, hazard communication, 65.17 ergonomic hazards, and personal protective equipment. At least two of the eight hours of 65.18 annual training must be on topics related to the facility's ergonomic injury prevention 65.19 program, including the assessment of surveillance data, the ergonomic hazard prevention 65.20 and control plan, and the early signs and symptoms of musculoskeletal disorders and the 65.21 procedures for reporting them. The employer must provide this training in a language and 65.22 with vocabulary that the employee can understand. 65.23 Subd. 5. Attestation and record keeping. Meat-processing employers must maintain 65.24 a written attestation dated and signed by each person who provides training and each 65.25 employee who receives training pursuant to this section. The attestation completed by the 65.26 65.27 training provider must certify that the employer has provided training consistent with the requirements of this section. The employer must ensure that these records are up to date 65.28 65.29 and available to the commissioner, the coordinator, and the authorized employee representative upon request. 65.30 65.31 Subd. 6. Medical services and qualifications. (a) Meat-processing employers must ensure that: 65.32 (1) all first-aid providers, medical assistants, nurses, and physicians engaged by the 65.33 employer are licensed and perform their duties within the scope of their licensed practice; 65.34

66.1	(2) medical management of musculoskeletal disorders is under direct supervision of a
66.2	licensed physician specializing in occupational medicine who will advise on best practices
66.3	for management and prevention of work-related musculoskeletal disorders; and
66.4	(3) medical management of musculoskeletal injuries follows the most current version
66.5	of the American College of Occupational and Environmental Medicine practice guidelines
66.6	(b) Meat-processing employers must make a record of all worker visits to medical or
66.7	first aid personnel, regardless of severity or type of illness or injury, and make a redacted
66.8	version of these records available to the coordinator and the authorized employee
66.9	representative. The name, contact information, and occupation of an employee, and any
66.10	other information that would reveal the identity of an employee, must be removed in the
66.11	redacted version. The redacted version must only include, to the extent it would not reveal
66.12	identity of an employee, the location where the employee worked, the date of the injury or
66.13	visit, a description of the medical treatment or first aid provided, and a description of the
66.14	injury suffered. The employer must make an unredacted version of the records available to
66.15	the commissioner and the authorized employee representative upon their request.
66.16	(c) Meat-processing employers must maintain records of all ergonomic injuries suffered
66.17	by workers for at least five years.
66.18	(d) The coordinator may compile, analyze, and publish annually, either in summary or
66.19	detailed form, all reports or information obtained under sections 179.87 to 179.8757,
66.20	including information about safe worker programs, and may cooperate with the United
66.21	States Department of Labor in obtaining national summaries of occupational deaths, injuries
66.22	and illnesses. The coordinator and authorized employee representative must preserve the
66.23	anonymity of each employee with respect to whom medical reports or information is obtained
66.24	(e) Meat-processing employers must not institute or maintain any program, policy, or
66.25	practice that discourages employees from reporting injuries, hazards, or safety standard
66.26	violations, unless the employee authorizes his or her information be shared.
66.27	Subd. 7. Pandemic protections. (a) This subdivision applies during a public health
66.28	emergency that involves airborne transmission.
66.29	(b) Meat-processing employers must maintain a radius of space around and between
66.30	each worker according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention guidelines unless
66.31	a nonporous barrier separates the workers. An employer may accomplish such distancing
66.32	by increasing physical space between workstations, slowing production speeds, staggering
66.33	shifts and breaks, adjusting shift size, or a combination thereof. The employer must
66.34	reconfigure common or congregate spaces to allow for such distancing, including lunch

05/2//25 06:55 pm COUNSEL CDF/DN 5C52/62A	03/27/23 08:55 pm	COUNSEL	CDF/DN	SCS2782A
-------------------------------------------	-------------------	---------	--------	----------

rooms, break rooms, and locker rooms. The employer must reinforce social distancing by 67.1 allowing workers to maintain six feet of distance along with the use of nonporous barriers. 67.2 67.3 (c) Meat-processing employers must provide employees with face masks and must make face shields available on request. Face masks, including replacement face masks, and face 67.4 67.5 shields must be provided at no cost to the employee. All persons present at the meatpacking operation must wear face masks in the facility except in those parts of the facility where 67.6 infection risk is low because workers work in isolation. 67.7 (d) Meat-processing employers must provide all meat-processing workers with the ability 67.8 to frequently and routinely sanitize their hands with either hand-washing or hand-sanitizing 67.9 67.10 stations. The employer must ensure that restrooms have running hot and cold water and paper towels and are in sanitary condition. The employer must provide gloves to those who 67.11 67.12 request them. (e) Meat-processing employers must clean and regularly disinfect all frequently touched 67.13 surfaces in the workplace, such as workstations, training rooms, machinery controls, tools, 67.14 protective garments, eating surfaces, bathrooms, showers, and other similar areas. Employers 67.15 must install and maintain ventilation systems that ensure unidirectional air flow, outdoor 67.16 air, and filtration in both production areas and common areas such as cafeterias and locker 67.17 67.18 rooms. 67.19 (f) Meat-processing employers must disseminate all required communications, notices, and any published materials regarding these protections in English, Spanish, and other 67.20 languages as required for employees to understand the communication. 67.21 (g) Consistent with sections 177.253 and 177.254, meat-processing employers must 67.22 provide adequate break time for workers to use the bathroom, wash their hands, and don 67.23 and doff protective equipment. Nothing in this section relieves an employer of its obligation 67.24 to comply with federal and state wage and hour laws. 67.25 (h) Meat-processing employers must provide sufficient personal protective equipment 67.26 for each employee for each shift, plus replacements, at no cost to the employee. 67.27 Meat-processing employers must provide training in proper use of personal protective 67.28 equipment, safety procedures, and sanitation. 67.29 67.30 (i) Meat-processing employers must record all injuries and illnesses in the facility and make these records available upon request to the health and safety committee. The name, 67.31 contact information, and occupation of an employee, and any other information that would 67.32 reveal the identity of an employee, must be removed. The redacted records must only include, 67.33 to the extent it would not reveal identity of an employee, the location where the employee 67.34

03/27/23 08:55 pm COUNSEL CDF/DN SCS2782A-5
---------------------------------------------

worked, the date of the injury or visit, a description of the medical treatment or first aid 68.1 provided, and a description of the injury suffered. The employer also must make its records 68.2 available to the commissioner, and where there is a collective bargaining agreement, to the 68.3 authorized bargaining representative. 68.4 (j) Except for paragraphs (f) and (g), this section shall be enforced by the commissioner 68.5 under sections 182.66 and 182.661. A violation of this section is subject to the penalties 68.6 provided under section 182.666. Paragraphs (f) and (g) are enforceable by the commissioner 68.7 as described in section 179.875, subdivision 2. 68.8 (k) This subdivision may also be enforced as described in section 179.875, subdivisions 68.9 68.10 3 to 6. Sec. 8. [179.8757] NOTIFICATION REQUIRED. 68.11 (a) Meat-processing employers must provide written information and notifications about 68.12 employee rights under section 179.86 and sections 179.87 to 179.8757 to workers in their 68.13language of fluency at least annually. If a worker is unable to understand written information 68.14 68.15 and notifications, the employer must provide such information and notices orally in the 68.16 worker's language of fluency. (b) The coordinator must notify covered employers of the provisions of sections 179.87 68.17 68.18 to 179.8757 and any recent updates at least annually. (c) The coordinator must place information explaining sections 179.87 to 179.8757 on 68.19 the Department of Labor and Industry's website in at least English, Spanish, and any other 68.20 language that at least ten percent of meat-processing workers communicate in fluently. The 68.21 coordinator must also make the information accessible to persons with impaired visual 68.22 acuity. 68.23 68.24 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 182.654, subdivision 11, is amended to read: Subd. 11. Refusal to work under dangerous conditions. An employee acting in good 68.25 68.26 faith has the right to refuse to work under conditions which the employee reasonably believes present an imminent danger of death or serious physical harm to the employee. 68.27 A reasonable belief of imminent danger of death or serious physical harm includes but 68.28 is not limited to a reasonable belief of the employee that the employee has been assigned 68.29 to work in an unsafe or unhealthful manner with a hazardous substance, harmful physical 68.30 agent or infectious agent. 68.31

02/27/22 00.55	COLINICEI	CDE/DN	CCC2702 A 5
03/27/23 08:55 pm	COUNSEL	CDF/DN	SCS2782A-5

An employer may not discriminate against an employee for a good faith refusal to 69.1 perform assigned tasks if the employee has requested that the employer correct the hazardous 69.2 conditions but the conditions remain uncorrected. 69.3 An employee who has refused in good faith to perform assigned tasks and who has not 69.4 been reassigned to other tasks by the employer shall, in addition to retaining a right to 69.5 continued employment, receive pay for the tasks which would have been performed if (1) 69.6 the employee requests the commissioner to inspect and determine the nature of the hazardous 69.7 69.8 condition, and (2) the commissioner determines that the employee, by performing the assigned tasks, would have been placed in imminent danger of death or serious physical 69.9 harm. 69.10 Additionally, an administrative law judge may order, in addition to the relief found in 69.11 182.669: 69.12 (1) reinstatement of the worker to the same position held before any adverse personnel 69.13 action or to an equivalent position, reinstatement of full fringe benefits and seniority rights, 69.14 and compensation for unpaid wages, benefits and other remuneration, or front pay in lieu 69.15 of reinstatement; and 69.16 (2) compensatory damages payable to the aggrieved worker equal to the greater of \$5,000 69.17 or twice the actual damages, including unpaid wages, benefits and other remuneration, and 69.18 punitive damages. 69.19 **ARTICLE 7** 69.20 REGULATION OF RESTRICTIVE EMPLOYMENT AGREEMENTS 69.21 Section 1. [181.141] SEXUAL HARASSMENT OR ABUSE SETTLEMENT; 69.22 PAYMENT AS SEVERANCE OR WAGES PROHIBITED. 69.23 In a sexual harassment or abuse settlement between an employer and an employee, when 69.24 there is a financial settlement provided, the financial settlement cannot be provided as wages 69.25 or severance pay to the employee regardless of whether the settlement includes a 69.26nondisclosure agreement. 69.27

69.28

69.29

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment and

applies to settlements entered into on or after that date.

	Sec. 2. [181.987] COVENANTS NOT TO COMPETE VOID IN EMPLOYMENT
	AGREEMENTS; SUBSTANTIVE PROTECTIONS OF MINNESOTA LAW APPLY.
	Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) "Covenant not to compete" means an agreement between
	an employee and employer that restricts the employee, after termination of the employment,
	from performing:
	(1) work for another employer for a specified period of time;
	(2) work in a specified geographical area; or
	(3) work for another employer in a capacity that is similar to the employee's work for
	the employer that is party to the agreement.
	A covenant not to compete does not include a nondisclosure agreement, or agreement
(	designed to protect trade secrets or confidential information. A covenant not to compete
(	does not include a nonsolicitation agreement, or agreement restricting the ability to use
(	client or contact lists, or solicit customers of the employer.
	(b) "Employer" means any individual, partnership, association, corporation, business,
	trust, or any person or group of persons acting directly or indirectly in the interest of an
(	employer in relation to an employee.
	(c) "Employee" as used in this section means any individual who performs services for
6	an employer, including independent contractors.
	(d) "Independent contractor" means any individual whose employment is governed by
	a contract and whose compensation is not reported to the Internal Revenue Service on a
,	W-2 form. For purposes of this section, independent contractor also includes any corporation,
	limited liability corporation, partnership, or other corporate entity when an employer requires
	an individual to form such an organization for purposes of entering into a contract for
•	services as a condition of receiving compensation under an independent contractor agreement.
	Subd. 2. Covenants not to compete void and unenforceable. (a) Any covenant not to
	compete contained in a contract or agreement is void and unenforceable.
	(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), a covenant not to compete is valid and enforceable
	<u>if:</u>
	(1) the covenant not to compete is agreed upon during the sale of a business. The person
	selling the business and the partners, members, or shareholders, and the buyer of the business
	may agree on a temporary and geographically restricted covenant not to compete that will

03/27/23 08:55 pm	COUNSEL	CDF/DN	SCS2782A-5

/1.1	promote the seller of the dusiness from carrying on a similar dusiness within a reasonable
71.2	geographic area and for a reasonable length of time; or
71.3	(2) the covenant not to compete is agreed upon in anticipation of the dissolution of a
71.4	business. The partners, members, or shareholders, upon or in anticipation of a dissolution
71.5	of a partnership, limited liability company, or corporation may agree that all or any number
71.6	of the parties will not carry on a similar business within a reasonable geographic area where
71.7	the business has been transacted.
71.8	(c) Nothing in this subdivision shall be construed to render void or unenforceable any
71.9	other provisions in a contract or agreement containing a void or unenforceable covenant
71.10	not to compete.
71.11	(d) In addition to injunctive relief and any other remedies available, a court may award
71.12	an employee who is enforcing rights under this section reasonable attorney fees.
71.13	Subd. 3. Choice of law; venue. (a) An employer must not require an employee who
71.14	primarily resides and works in Minnesota, as a condition of employment, to agree to a
71.15	provision in an agreement or contract that would do either of the following:
71.16	(1) require the employee to adjudicate outside of Minnesota a claim arising in Minnesota
71.17	<u>or</u>
71.18	(2) deprive the employee of the substantive protection of Minnesota law with respect to
71.19	a controversy arising in Minnesota.
71.20	(b) Any provision of a contract or agreement that violates paragraph (a) is voidable at
71.21	any time by the employee and if a provision is rendered void at the request of the employee
71.22	the matter shall be adjudicated in Minnesota and Minnesota law shall govern the dispute.
71.23	(c) In addition to injunctive relief and any other remedies available, a court may award
71.24	an employee who is enforcing rights under this section reasonable attorney fees.
71.25	(d) For purposes of this section, adjudication includes litigation and arbitration.
71.26	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective the day following final enactment and
71.27	applies to contracts and agreements entered into on or after that date.
71.28	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 290.0132, is amended by adding a subdivision
71.29	to read:
71.30	Subd. 34. Damages for sexual harassment or abuse. The amount of qualifying damages
71 21	received is a subtraction. For nurnoses of this subdivision, "qualifying damages" means:

	03/27/23 08:55 pm	COUNSEL	CDF/DN	SCS2782A-5
72.1	(1) damages received under a se	exual harassment or a	buse claim that ar	re not excluded
72.2	from gross income under section 104(a)(2) of the Internal Revenue Code because the injury			
72.3	or sickness for which the damages are paid are not physical; or			
72.4	(2) severance pay received under	er a financial settleme	nt of a sexual hara	assment or abuse
72.5	claim that does not include a nondisclosure agreement.			
72.6	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section	on is effective for taxa	ble years beginnin	g after December
72.7	<u>31, 2022.</u>			
72.8		ARTICLE 8		
72.9	BUILDING AND	CONSTRUCTION	CONTRACTS	
72.10	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 202	22, section 15.71, is a	mended by addin	g a subdivision
72.11	to read:			
72.12	Subd. 1a. Indemnification agree	ement. "Indemnificati	on agreement" me	ans an agreement
72.13	by the promisor to indemnify, defer	nd, or hold harmless	the promisee agai	nst liability or
72.14	claims of liability for damages arisi	ing out of bodily inju	ry to persons or o	ut of physical
72.15	damage to tangible or real property	· •		
72.16	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022,	section 15.71 is ame	nded by adding a	subdivision to
72.17	read:	section 13.71, is affic	nded by adding a	Subdivision to
/2.1/	reau.			
72.18	Subd. 1b. <b>Promisee.</b> "Promisee"	" includes that party's	s independent con	tractors, agents,
72.19	employees, or indemnitees.			
72.20	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022,	section 15.72, is ame	nded by adding a	subdivision to
72.21	read:			
72.22	Subd. 3. Unenforceability of co	ertain agreements. (	a) An indemnifica	ation agreement
72.23	contained in, or executed in connec	etion with, a contract	for a public impro	ovement is

172.24 unenforceable except to the extent that:
 172.25 (1) the underlying injury or damage is attributable to the negligent or otherwise wrongful
 172.26 act or omission, including breach of a specific contractual duty, of the promisor or the
 172.27 promisor's independent contractors, agents, employees, or delegatees; or

(2) an owner, a responsible party, or a governmental entity agrees to indemnify a contractor directly or through another contractor with respect to strict liability under environmental laws.

72.28

72.29

03/27/23 08:55 pm	COUNSEL	CDF/DN	SCS2782A-5

(b) A provision in a public building or construction contract that requires a party to
provide insurance coverage to one or more other parties, including third parties, for the
negligence or intentional acts or omissions of any of those other parties, including third
parties, is against public policy and is void and unenforceable.
(c) Paragraph (b) does not affect the validity of a provision that requires a party to provide
or obtain workers' compensation insurance, construction performance or payment bonds,
builder's risk policies, owner or contractor-controlled insurance programs or policies, or
project-specific insurance for claims arising out of the promisor's negligent acts or omissions
or the negligent acts or omissions of the promisor's, independent contractors, agents,
employees, or delegatees.
(d) Paragraph (b) does not affect the validity of a provision that requires the promisor
to provide or obtain insurance coverage for the promisee's vicarious liability, or liability
imposed by warranty, arising out of the acts or omissions of the promisor.
(e) Paragraph (b) does not apply to building and construction contracts for work within
50 feet of public or private railroads, or railroads regulated by the Federal Railroad
Administration.
Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 337.01, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
Subd. 3. Indemnification agreement. "Indemnification agreement" means an agreement
by the promisor to indemnify, defend, or hold harmless the promisee against liability or
claims of liability for damages arising out of bodily injury to persons or out of physical
damage to tangible or real property.
Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 337.05, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
Subdivision 1. Agreements valid. (a) Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (b),
sections 337.01 to 337.05 do not affect the validity of agreements whereby a promisor agrees
to provide specific insurance coverage for the benefit of others.
(b) A provision that requires a party to provide insurance coverage to one or more other
parties, including third parties, for the negligence or intentional acts or omissions of any of
those other parties, including third parties, is against public policy and is void and
unenforceable.
(c) Paragraph (b) does not affect the validity of a provision that requires a party to provide
or obtain workers' compensation insurance, construction performance or payment bonds,
or project-specific insurance, including without limitation, builder's risk policies or owner

03/27/23 08:55 pm	COLNICEI	CDE/DN	SCS2782A-5
U3/2//23 U8:33 pm	COUNSEL	CDF/DN	SCS2/82A-3

- or contractor-controlled insurance programs or policies builder's risk policies, owner or contractor-controlled insurance programs or policies, or project-specific insurance for claims arising out of the promisor's negligent acts or omissions or the negligent acts or omissions of the promisor's, independent contractors, agents, employees, or delegatees.
- (d) Paragraph (b) does not affect the validity of a provision that requires the promisor to provide or obtain insurance coverage for the promisee's vicarious liability, or liability imposed by warranty, arising out of the acts or omissions of the promisor.
- (e) Paragraph (b) does not apply to building and construction contracts for work within
   50 feet of public or private railroads, or railroads regulated by the Federal Railroad
   Administration.

### Sec. 6. EFFECTIVE DATE.

74.1

74.2

74.3

74.4

74.5

74.6

74.7

- Sections 1 to 5 are effective the day following final enactment and apply to agreements
  entered into on or after that date."
- 74.14 Amend the title accordingly