

Minnesota Senate Labor Committee

Thursday, January 19, 2023 12:30pm

Chair

Jennifer McEwen

Vice Chair

Grant Hauschild

Ranking Minority Member

Gene Dornink

Members

Glenn Gruenhagen Robert Kupec Bill Lieske John Marty Clare Oumou Verbeten Sandra Pappas Nathan Wesenberg

Committee Staff:

Committee Administrator

Fabian Bean (651) 296-8092 fabian.bean@senate.mn

Committee Legislative Assistant

Jack Fischer (651) 296-4188 jack.fischer@senate.mn

Research

Daniel Gillis (DFL) Jon Boesche (R)

Senate Counsel

Carlon Doyle Fontaine

Senate Fiscal Analyst

Erik Olson

Committee Pages

Sam Schachtman Andrew George

Agenda:

- I. Call to Order
- II. S.F. 58 (Murphy) Worker safety requirements establishment and appropriation
 - A. Zoom: Irene Tung, National Employment Law Project
 - B. Khali Jama
 - C. Mohamed Hassan, w/ interpreter Sabah Yusuf
 - D. Rikki Schreiner, Teamsters Local 638 member
- III. S.F. 2 (Mann) Paid family and medical leave establishment and appropriation
 - A. Deb Fitzpatrick, the Policy and Legislative Affairs Director, Children's Defense Fund MN
 - B. Commissioner Nicole Blissenbach, Department of Labor and Industry
 - C. John Reynolds, State Director, National Federation of Independent Business
 - D. Dr. Hannah Lichtsinn, MN Chapter of American Academy of Pediatrics
 - E. Lauryn Schothorst, Director of Workplace Management and Workforce Development Policy, MN Chamber of Commerce
 - F. Zoom: Andrea Rubesch, Registered Nurse at St. Luke's Hospital in Duluth, MNA member
 - G. Zoom: Justine Henry, Chair of Laurentian Chamber of Commerce Legislative Affairs Committee
 - H. Zoom: Christina Eichorn, AFSCME member, Hennepin County Human Services Representative
 - I. Zoom: Andrew Kopplin, owner of Kopplins Coffee
 - J. Laura Ziegler, Director of Highway/Heavy and Government Affairs, Associated General Contractors of MN
 - K. Adam Duininck, Director Of Government Affairs, North Central States Regional Council of Carpenters
- IV. Adjourn