
1.1 Senator Latz from the Committee on Judiciary and Public Safety, to which was​
1.2 re-referred​

1.3 S.F. No. 2319: A bill for an act relating to labor; establishing protections for​
1.4 transportation network company drivers; proposing coding for new law as Minnesota​
1.5 Statutes, chapter 181C.​

1.6 Reports the same back with the recommendation that the bill be amended as follows:​

1.7 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:​

1.8 "Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 65B.472, is amended by adding a subdivision​

1.9 to read:​

1.10 Subd. 7. Occupational accident insurance. (a) For purposes of this subdivision, a​

1.11 transportation network company driver is engaged on a network company's application or​

1.12 platform starting when the transportation network company driver accepts a rideshare request​

1.13 to when the transportation network company driver completes that rideshare request.​

1.14 (b) Network companies, within 240 days of the effective date of this act, shall purchase​

1.15 occupational accident insurance, as described in paragraph (d), for all transportation network​

1.16 company drivers who are engaged on a network company's platform within the state.​

1.17 (c) The occupational accident insurance policy required under paragraph (b) shall cover​

1.18 medical expenses and lost earnings resulting from injuries suffered while the transportation​

1.19 network company driver is engaged on the network company's online-enabled application​

1.20 or platform. Policies shall at a minimum include an aggregate limit of $1,000,000 per​

1.21 accident and provide for payment of benefits to a covered individual as follows:​

1.22 (1) coverage for medical expenses incurred, up to at least $250,000;​

1.23 (2) continuous weekly compensation of total disability payments, temporary total​

1.24 disability payments, and partial disability payments equal to 66 percent of the transportation​

1.25 network company driver's average weekly earnings, as defined in subdivision 5, paragraph​

1.26 (a), clause (3), from all network companies as of the date of injury not to exceed the​

1.27 maximum weekly compensation rate, unless the transportation network company driver's​

1.28 average weekly earnings are less than the minimum weekly compensation rate, in which​

1.29 case the weekly compensation amount shall be equal to the transportation network company​

1.30 driver's average weekly wage; and​

1.31 (3) for the benefit of spouses, children, or other dependents of a transportation network​

1.32 company driver, accidental death insurance for injuries suffered by a transportation network​

1.33 company driver while engaged on the network company's online-enabled application or​

1.34 platform that result in death. Accidental death insurance shall be in an amount equal to 66​
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2.1 percent of the transportation network company driver's average weekly earnings from all​

2.2 network companies as of the date of injury not to exceed the maximum weekly compensation​

2.3 rate, unless the transportation network company driver's average weekly earnings are less​

2.4 than the minimum weekly compensation rate, in which case the weekly compensation​

2.5 amount shall be equal to the transportation network company driver's average weekly wage,​

2.6 times 156 weeks.​

2.7 (d) If a transportation network company driver engaged on a network company's​

2.8 application or platform is injured in an accident covered by occupational accident insurance​

2.9 maintained by more than one network company, the insurer of the network company against​

2.10 whom a claim is filed is entitled to contribution for the pro rata share of coverage attributable​

2.11 to one or more other network companies up to the coverages and limits in paragraph (d).​

2.12 (e) Any benefits provided to a transportation network company driver under this​

2.13 subdivision shall be considered amounts payable under applicable workers' compensation​

2.14 law or disability insurance benefit for the purpose of determining amounts payable under​

2.15 any insurance provided under section 65B.49, subdivision 3a, or under any personal injury​

2.16 protection coverage, as provided in sections 65B.41 to 65B.71.​

2.17 Sec. 2. [181C.01] DEFINITIONS.​

2.18 (a) For the purposes of this chapter, the terms defined in this section have the meanings​

2.19 given.​

2.20 (b) "Deactivation" means the suspension or termination of a driver's ability to receive​

2.21 connections to potential riders from a transportation network company.​

2.22 (c) "Digital network" has the meaning give in section 65B.472, subdivision 1, paragraph​

2.23 (b).​

2.24 (d) "Prearranged ride" or "ride" has the meaning given in section 65B.472, subdivision​

2.25 1, paragraph (d).​

2.26 (e) "Transportation network company" or "TNC" has the meaning give in section​

2.27 65B.472, subdivision 1, paragraph (e), provided that the term does not include taxicabs,​

2.28 limousines, for-hire vehicles, or a private rider vehicle driven by a volunteer driver, as​

2.29 defined in section 65B.472, subdivision 1, paragraph (h).​

2.30 (f) "Transportation network driver" or "driver" has the meaning given in section 65B.472,​

2.31 subdivision 1, paragraph (f).​
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3.1 (g) "Personal vehicle" has the meaning given in section 65B.472, subdivision 1, paragraph​

3.2 (c).​

3.3 Sec. 3. [181C.02] MINIMUM COMPENSATION.​

3.4 (a) All fees provided in this section must be calculated on a per-trip basis and may not​

3.5 be combined.​

3.6 (b) Minimum compensation paid by a TNC shall be as follows:​

3.7 (1) at least $1.85 per mile and $0.25 per minute to all drivers, subject to paragraph (e),​

3.8 for the time transporting a passenger;​

3.9 (2) when a cancellation occurs after the driver has already departed to pick up the rider,​

3.10 the TNC must provide 80 percent of the cancellation fee to the driver; and​

3.11 (3) a $1.25 per mile and $0.10 per minute fee if the TNC charges a fee for a long pickup.​

3.12 The fee reverts to normal after the pickup.​

3.13 (c) A TNC that uses its software or collection technology to collect fees or fares must​

3.14 pay a driver the fees or fares earned by the driver, regardless of whether the fees or fares​

3.15 are actually collected.​

3.16 (d) A TNC must provide to the applicable driver all tips that a passenger provides to the​

3.17 driver on the driver's next payment.​

3.18 (e) Beginning July 1, 2024, and each July 1 thereafter, the fares and fees provided in​

3.19 paragraph (b), clauses (1) to (4), are subject to an automatic annual adjustment equal to the​

3.20 cost-of-living percentage published by the United States Department of Labor.​

3.21 Sec. 4. [181C.03] DEACTIVATION.​

3.22 (a) A TNC must have clear written rules stating the circumstances under which a driver​

3.23 may be deactivated or sanctioned, either permanently or temporarily, and stating fair,​

3.24 objective, and reasonable appeals procedures for the handling of driver appeals under​

3.25 paragraph (d). These rules and any updates must be available both online and in written​

3.26 form to drivers at least 30 days before they are enforceable. The rules must clearly list the​

3.27 circumstances that constitute minor infractions and major infractions, and indicate those​

3.28 infractions that subject a driver to deactivation and the corresponding number of days or​

3.29 range of days of deactivation.​

3.30 (b) A TNC must provide the driver with a written account of the basis for any proposed​

3.31 deactivation or other sanction, including the rule or rules the TNC claims have been violated.​

3​Sec. 4.​
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4.1 The driver must have the opportunity to present their position and any other relevant​

4.2 information or witnesses regarding the alleged infraction prior to deactivation or a sanction​

4.3 being imposed. The TNC must consider any information provided by the driver. The burden​

4.4 of persuasion for any rule violation is more likely than not and must be based on substantial,​

4.5 credible evidence. For a deactivation to occur, it must be a reasonable action based on the​

4.6 totality of the circumstances. A deactivation hearing must occur within ten days of a TNC​

4.7 becoming aware of an alleged violation. A traffic ticket or other traffic or criminal charge​

4.8 is not conclusive evidence of a violation unless there has been a conviction.​

4.9 (c) An appeal under paragraph (d) must occur prior to any deactivation or other sanction​

4.10 being applied, except that a TNC may temporarily deactivate a driver for a major infraction​

4.11 that endangers public safety. In such instances, if the violation is not substantiated, the TNC​

4.12 must immediately reinstate the driver. If no appeal under paragraph (d) occurs within the​

4.13 required time period, and no continuance is agreed to, the alleged claim of a violation must​

4.14 be dismissed and cannot form the basis of any further deactivation or other sanction.​

4.15 (d) A driver may appeal a deactivation hearing decision under paragraph (b) to the TNC,​

4.16 if the decision would result in the deactivation of a driver or a suspension of more than ten​

4.17 days.​

4.18 (e) This provision does not affect layoffs for economic reasons that are not targeted at​

4.19 a particular driver or drivers.​

4.20 (f) A driver who has previously been deactivated may reapply for driver status. The​

4.21 mere fact of a previous deactivation does not disqualify an applicant. The TNC shall notify​

4.22 an applicant of the reason for the denial of the application and give the applicant an​

4.23 opportunity to respond to the reason for the denial.​

4.24 (g) A TNC may not retaliate against or discipline a driver for making a complaint, or​

4.25 pursuing enforcement of the provisions of this chapter.​

4.26 Sec. 5. [181C.04] DISCRIMINATION PROHIBITED.​

4.27 A TNC may not discriminate against any of its drivers, qualified applicants to become​

4.28 drivers, riders, or potential riders due to race, national origin, color, religion, age, gender,​

4.29 disabilities, sexual orientation, or gender identity. Nothing in this language prohibits​

4.30 providing reasonable accommodations to people with disabilities, for religious reasons, due​

4.31 to pregnancy, or to remedy previous discriminatory behavior.​
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5.1 Sec. 6. [181C.05] CIVIL ACTION.​

5.2 A driver or a driver's beneficiaries may bring a civil action for damages for​

5.3 noncompliance or a violation of this chapter against a TNC in district court. An action​

5.4 brought under this section shall be commenced within two years.​

5.5 Sec. 7. [181C.06] REVOCATION OF LICENSE.​

5.6 Failure to comply with the requirements of this chapter subjects a TNC to revocation of​

5.7 any license and right to operate issued by a local unit of government.​

5.8 Sec. 8. [181C.07] TRANSPARENCY.​

5.9 (a) When a TNC alerts a driver of a possible assignment to transport a rider, the TNC​

5.10 must indicate:​

5.11 (1) the number of miles and likely travel time from the driver's current location to the​

5.12 pickup;​

5.13 (2) the length and likely travel time of the trip; and​

5.14 (3) the minimum fare compensation for the trip.​

5.15 (b) Within 24 hours of each trip completion, the TNC must transmit an electronic receipt​

5.16 to the driver containing the following information for each unique trip or portion of a unique​

5.17 trip:​

5.18 (1) the date, location, total distance traveled, and time spent from acceptance of the​

5.19 assignment to its completion;​

5.20 (2) the time taken and total distance traveled from pickup to drop-off of the rider;​

5.21 (3) an itemization of the total fare or fee paid by the passenger;​

5.22 (4) the total compensation to the driver specifying the rate or rates of pay, the rate per​

5.23 minute, rate per mile, any applicable price multiplier or variable pricing policy in effect,​

5.24 tip compensation, and a specifically itemized list of all costs and reimbursements to, or​

5.25 charged to, the driver; and​

5.26 (5) any other information necessary to implement this chapter.​

5.27 (c) Each driver must be provided with a detailed and itemized explanation communicated​

5.28 either in writing or electronically of how the driver's compensation is calculated. The​

5.29 communication must specify:​

5.30 (1) all factors that impact a driver's compensation or reimbursement; and​
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6.1 (2) on average, the percentage of the total collected fees and costs incurred by the TNC​

6.2 that are allocated to the drivers.​

6.3 (d) Any changes in the criteria, formula, or method of calculating the total compensation​

6.4 to drivers must be provided to drivers in writing at least 30 days prior to taking effect.​

6.5 (e) A TNC may not use assignment of rides to favor or disfavor any driver for any reason.​

6.6 The assignments must be on a nonpreferential basis. A TNC must not withhold or change​

6.7 assignments to a driver because a driver refused potential dispatches. All dispatches must​

6.8 be made on a driver-neutral basis. A TNC is prohibited from promising preferential treatment​

6.9 in rider assignments if a driver agrees to refrain from joining an organization of drivers or​

6.10 for any other reason.​

6.11 Sec. 9. [181C.08] COLLECTIVE BARGAINING AGREEMENTS; EMPLOYMENT​

6.12 STATUS.​

6.13 Nothing in this chapter prohibits collective bargaining or is a basis to conclude whether​

6.14 a driver is an employee or independent contractor.​

6.15 Sec. 10. [181C.09] DRIVER CONTRACT REQUIREMENTS.​

6.16 A copy of this chapter must be attached to every driver contract for drivers in this state.​

6.17 The rights and remedies established in this chapter are not required to be pursued through​

6.18 arbitration and shall be at the election of the driver. Contracts that have already been executed​

6.19 must have an addendum provided to each driver that includes a copy of this chapter and​

6.20 notice that a driver may elect to pursue the remedies provided in this chapter, rather than​

6.21 through arbitration. For cases that go to arbitration, the rights and damages that drivers are​

6.22 entitled to in an arbitration proceeding shall be as provided in this chapter.​

6.23 Sec. 11. [181C.10] RELATIONSHIP OF THE PARTIES.​

6.24 Notwithstanding any other provision of law regarding independent contractors or​

6.25 employee status, nothing in this chapter affects whether a TNC is an employer of a driver,​

6.26 nor whether a TNC driver is an employee of the TNC."​

6.27 Amend the title numbers accordingly​

6.28 And when so amended the bill be reported to the Senate without recommendation.​

6.29 Amendments adopted. Report adopted.​

6.30 .............................................................................
6.31 (Committee Chair)​
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7.1 May 10, 2023.......................................................
7.2 (Date of Committee recommendation)​
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