



JUDICIARY COMMITTEE

Senator Ron Latz, Chair ° MSB 1100 ° 9:00 am

AGENDA FOR MONDAY, APRIL 24, 2023

SF1666 (Gustafson) Enhanced penalties provision for assaulting a sports official (presentation/informational only)

• Joe Piket (virtual)

HF1200 (Oumou Verbeten) State and local jail and prison inmates requirement to be housed in publicly owned and operated jails and prisons

- Jeff Vars, AFSCME Council 5
- William Pharr
- Wintana Melekin

SF3236 (Seeberger) Establishing the crime of carjacking and making confirming changes

SF200 (Latz) Fee for uncertified copies of instruments from civil or criminal proceedings elimination; expedited attorney entry to district courthouse buildings authorization; attorneys secured access to court records establishment (Judiciary and Civil Law Policy Omnibus)

SF1267 (Latz) Enhanced sentences for certain kidnapping offenses clarification (Public Safety Policy Omnibus)

SF2810 (Maye Quade) Minnesota Age-Appropriate Design Code Act (informational only)

- Nichole Rocha, Head of US Affairs, 5Rights Foundation (virtual)
- Meetali Jain, Senior Advisor, Reset.tech (virtual)
- Casey Mock
- Zachary Lilly, Deputy Director of State & Federal Affairs/NetChoice (virtual)
- Andy Kingman, State Privacy & Security Coalition (virtual)
- Jim Bernard, Star Tribune
- Kouri Marshall, Director of State and Local Government Relations/Chamber of Progress (virtual)
- Jordan Rodell, Computer & Communications Industry Association (virtual)

SF1959 (Frentz) Peace officer duty disability provisions modifications and appropriations

- John Swenson, Public Safety Director, City of Lino Lakes, on behalf of the Minnesota Chiefs of Police Association
- Heidi Nelson, City Administrator, City of Maple Grove, on behalf of the League of Minnesota Cities
- Wade Laszlo, MNCORA
- Nancy Herington (virtual)

Senator Ron Latz, Chair

Senator Clare Oumou Verbeten, Vice Chair Senator Warren Limmer, GOP Lead

Senator Sandy Pappas

Senator Jim Carlson Senator Judy Seeberger

Senator Bonnie Westlin

Senator Justin Eichorn

Senator Jeff Howe Senator Michael Kreun