
1.1 Senator Latz from the Committee on Judiciary and Public Safety, to which was​
1.2 referred​

1.3 S.F. No. 200: A bill for an act relating to judiciary; eliminating the fee for uncertified​
1.4 copies of instruments from civil or criminal proceedings; providing expedited attorney entry​
1.5 to district courthouse buildings; providing attorneys secured access to court records;​
1.6 amending Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 357.021, subdivision 2; proposing coding for​
1.7 new law in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 484.​

1.8 Reports the same back with the recommendation that the bill be amended as follows:​

1.9 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:​

1.10 "ARTICLE 1​

1.11 DATA PRIVACY​

1.12 Section 1. [13.204] POLITICAL SUBDIVISIONS LICENSING DATA.​

1.13 (a) The following data submitted to a political subdivision by a person seeking to obtain​

1.14 a license are classified as private data on individuals or nonpublic data:​

1.15 (1) a tax return, as defined by section 270B.01, subdivision 2; and​

1.16 (2) a bank account statement.​

1.17 (b) Notwithstanding section 138.17, data collected by a political subdivision as part of​

1.18 a license application and classified under paragraph (a) must be destroyed no later than 90​

1.19 days after a final decision on the license application.​

1.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. Data​

1.21 which a political subdivision collected or created before the effective date of this section,​

1.22 and which would otherwise be subject to the destruction requirement in paragraph (b), must​

1.23 be destroyed no later than 90 days following final enactment.​

1.24 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 13.72, subdivision 19, is amended to read:​

1.25 Subd. 19. Transit customer data. (a) The following data on applicants, users, and​

1.26 customers of public transit are private data on individuals: (1) data collected by or through​

1.27 a government entity's personalized web services or the Metropolitan Council's regional fare​

1.28 collection system are private data on individuals; and (2) data collected by telephone or​

1.29 through a third-party software program for the purposes of booking and using public transit​

1.30 services. As used in this subdivision, the following terms have the meanings given them:​

1.31 (1) "regional fare collection system" means the fare collection system created and​

1.32 administered by the council that is used for collecting fares or providing fare cards or passes​

1.33 for transit services which includes:​

1​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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2.1 (i) regular route bus service within the metropolitan area and paratransit service, whether​

2.2 provided by the council or by other providers of regional transit service;​

2.3 (ii) light rail transit service within the metropolitan area;​

2.4 (iii) rideshare programs administered by the council;​

2.5 (iv) special transportation services provided under section 473.386; and​

2.6 (v) commuter rail service;​

2.7 (2) "personalized web services" means services for which transit service applicants,​

2.8 users, and customers must establish a user account; and​

2.9 (3) "metropolitan area" means the area defined in section 473.121, subdivision 2.; and​

2.10 (4) "third-party software program" means a software program that is proprietary to a​

2.11 third party, including a third-party software program commonly known as a mobile app,​

2.12 that collects and uses a public transit customer's name and other personally identifiable​

2.13 information, pick-up and drop-off locations, and other trip data for the purposes of booking​

2.14 and using public transit services.​

2.15 (b) A government entity may disseminate data on user and customer transaction history​

2.16 and fare card use to government entities, organizations, school districts, educational​

2.17 institutions, and employers that subsidize or provide fare cards to their clients, students, or​

2.18 employees. "Data on user and customer transaction history and fare card use" means:​

2.19 (1) the date a fare card was used;​

2.20 (2) the time a fare card was used;​

2.21 (3) the mode of travel;​

2.22 (4) the type of fare product used; and​

2.23 (5) information about the date, time, and type of fare product purchased.​

2.24 Government entities, organizations, school districts, educational institutions, and employers​

2.25 may use customer transaction history and fare card use data only for purposes of measuring​

2.26 and promoting fare card use and evaluating the cost-effectiveness of their fare card programs.​

2.27 If a user or customer requests in writing that the council limit the disclosure of transaction​

2.28 history and fare card use, the council may disclose only the card balance and the date a card​

2.29 was last used.​

2​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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3.1 (c) A government entity may disseminate transit service applicant, user, and customer​

3.2 data to another government entity to prevent unlawful intrusion into government electronic​

3.3 systems, or as otherwise provided by law.​

3.4 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

3.5 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 13.72, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

3.6 read:​

3.7 Subd. 20. Transit assistance program data. (a) Data on applicants and users of​

3.8 Metropolitan Council programs established under section 473.387, subdivision 4, are​

3.9 classified as private data on individuals under section 13.02, subdivision 12.​

3.10 (b) The council may disclose transit assistance program data to public or private agencies​

3.11 or organizations for the purposes of administering and coordinating human services programs​

3.12 and other support services for the applicants or users.​

3.13 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

3.14 Sec. 4. [13.991] JUDICIAL OFFICIAL DATA; PERSONAL INFORMATION.​

3.15 Personal information of all judicial officials collected, created, or maintained by a​

3.16 government entity is private data on individuals. For purposes of this section, the terms​

3.17 "personal information" and "judicial official" have the meanings given in section 480.40,​

3.18 subdivision 1.​

3.19 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 473.387, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

3.20 Subd. 4. Transit disadvantaged. The council shall establish a program and policies to​

3.21 reduce transportation costs for persons who are, because of limited incomes, age, disability,​

3.22 or other reasons, especially dependent on public transit for common mobility. Data on​

3.23 applicants and users of council programs under this subdivision are classified as private​

3.24 data on individuals under section 13.72, subdivision 20.​

3.25 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

3.26 Sec. 6. [480.40] PERSONAL INFORMATION; CONFIDENTIALITY.​

3.27 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have​

3.28 the meanings given.​

3.29 (b) "Judicial official" includes:​

3​Article 1 Sec. 6.​
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4.1 (1) every Minnesota district court judge, senior judge, and every judge of the Minnesota​

4.2 Court of Appeals and every active, senior, recalled, or retired federal judge who resides in​

4.3 Minnesota;​

4.4 (2) each justice of the Minnesota Supreme Court; and​

4.5 (3) all employees of the Minnesota judicial branch.​

4.6 (c) "Personal information" means:​

4.7 (1) the home address of a judicial official;​

4.8 (2) the home address of the spouse, domestic partner, or children of a judicial official;​

4.9 (3) a nonjudicial branch issued telephone number or email address of a judicial official;​

4.10 (4) the name of any child of a judicial official; and​

4.11 (5) the name of any childcare facility or school that is attended by a child of a judicial​

4.12 official.​

4.13 Subd. 2. Confidentiality. The personal information of all judicial officials maintained​

4.14 by a person, business, or association shall be confidential and no person, business, or​

4.15 association shall publicly post, display, or otherwise make publicly available on the Internet​

4.16 the personal information of any judicial official. Personal information shall be kept in a​

4.17 secure manner to prevent unauthorized access. Personal information may be disseminated​

4.18 pursuant to a specific authorization in law or with the written consent of the judicial official.​

4.19 Sec. 7. [484.94] ATTORNEY ACCESS TO COURT RECORDS.​

4.20 An attorney who is admitted and licensed to practice law in the state may apply for a​

4.21 Minnesota Government Access account to access electronic court records and documents​

4.22 stored in the Minnesota Court Information System for cases in state district courts. An​

4.23 attorney shall be able to view and print case documents and information without cost to the​

4.24 attorney.​

4.25 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.5151, is amended to read:​

4.26 609.5151 DISSEMINATION OF PERSONAL INFORMATION ABOUT LAW​

4.27 ENFORCEMENT OR THE JUDICIARY PROHIBITED; PENALTY.​

4.28 Subdivision 1. Definitions. As used in this section:​

4.29 (1) "family or household member" has the meaning given in section 518B.01, subdivision​

4.30 2;​

4​Article 1 Sec. 8.​
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5.1 (2) "judicial official" includes:​

5.2 (i) every Minnesota district court judge, senior judge, and every judge of the Minnesota​

5.3 Court of Appeals and every active, senior, recalled, or retired federal judge who resides in​

5.4 Minnesota;​

5.5 (ii) each justice of the Minnesota Supreme Court; and​

5.6 (iii) all employees of the Minnesota judicial branch;​

5.7 (3) "law enforcement official" means both peace officers as defined in section 626.84,​

5.8 subdivision 1, and persons employed by a law enforcement agency; and​

5.9 (3) (4) "personal information" means a home address, directions to a home, or​

5.10 photographs of a home.​

5.11 Subd. 2. Crime described. (a) It is a misdemeanor for a person to knowingly and without​

5.12 consent make publicly available, including but not limited to through the Internet, personal​

5.13 information about a law enforcement official or judicial official or an official's family or​

5.14 household member, if:​

5.15 (1) the dissemination poses an imminent and serious threat to the official's safety or the​

5.16 safety of an official's family or household member; and​

5.17 (2) the person making the information publicly available knows or reasonably should​

5.18 know of the imminent and serious threat.​

5.19 (b) A person is guilty of a gross misdemeanor if the person violates paragraph (a) and​

5.20 a law enforcement official or judicial official or an official's family or household member​

5.21 suffers great bodily harm or death as a result of the violation.​

5.22 (c) A person who is convicted of a second or subsequent violation of this section is guilty​

5.23 of a gross misdemeanor.​

5.24 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes​

5.25 committed on or after that date.​

5.26 ARTICLE 2​

5.27 CIVIL REMEDIES​

5.28 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168B.07, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

5.29 Subd. 3. Retrieval of contents; right to reclaim. (a) For purposes of this subdivision:​

5​Article 2 Section 1.​
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6.1 (1) "contents" does not include any permanently affixed mechanical or nonmechanical​

6.2 automobile parts; automobile body parts; or automobile accessories, including audio or​

6.3 video players; and​

6.4 (2) "relief based on need" includes, but is not limited to, receipt of MFIP and Diversionary​

6.5 Work Program, medical assistance, general assistance, emergency general assistance,​

6.6 Minnesota supplemental aid, MSA-emergency assistance, MinnesotaCare, Supplemental​

6.7 Security Income, energy assistance, emergency assistance, Supplemental Nutrition Assistance​

6.8 Program (SNAP) benefits, earned income tax credit, or Minnesota working family tax credit.​

6.9 (b) A unit of government or impound lot operator shall must establish reasonable​

6.10 procedures for retrieval of vehicle contents, and may establish reasonable procedures to​

6.11 protect the safety and security of the impound lot and its personnel.​

6.12 (c) At any time before the expiration of the waiting periods provided in section 168B.051,​

6.13 a registered owner of a vehicle who provides proof of identity that includes photographic​

6.14 identification and documentation from a government or nonprofit agency or legal aid office​

6.15 that the registered owner is homeless, receives relief based on need, or is eligible for legal​

6.16 aid services, has the unencumbered right to retrieve any and all contents without charge and​

6.17 regardless of whether the registered owner pays incurred charges or fees, transfers title, or​

6.18 reclaims the vehicle. A refusal by the impound lot operator to allow the registered owner​

6.19 to retrieve the vehicle contents after the owner provides valid documentation is a violation​

6.20 of this paragraph.​

6.21 (d) An impound lot operator may make copies of the documents presented by the​

6.22 registered owner under paragraph (c), and the impound lot operator must return all of the​

6.23 original documents to the registered owner immediately after copying them.​

6.24 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168B.07, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

6.25 read:​

6.26 Subd. 3a. Retrieval of contents; identification, medicine, and medical equipment. An​

6.27 impound lot operator must allow any registered vehicle owner to retrieve, or must retrieve​

6.28 for the vehicle owner, the following from the impounded vehicle: proof of identification;​

6.29 prescription medicine; and durable medical equipment, including but not limited to​

6.30 wheelchairs, prosthetics, canes, crutches, walkers, and external braces.​

6​Article 2 Sec. 2.​
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7.1 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168B.07, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

7.2 read:​

7.3 Subd. 3b. Retrieval of contents; notice of denial. (a) This subdivision applies to an​

7.4 impound lot operator (1) who operates a nonpublic impound lot, or (2) with which a unit​

7.5 of government exclusively contracts to operate an impound lot solely for public use under​

7.6 section 168B.09.​

7.7 (b) An impound lot operator who denies a request of a registered vehicle owner to retrieve​

7.8 vehicle contents after the registered owner presents documentation pursuant to subdivision​

7.9 3, paragraph (c), must, at the time of denial, provide the registered owner with a written​

7.10 statement that identifies the specific reasons for the denial.​

7.11 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168B.07, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

7.12 read:​

7.13 Subd. 3c. Retrieval of contents; public notice. (a) This subdivision applies to an​

7.14 impound lot operator (1) who operates a nonpublic impound lot, or (2) with which a unit​

7.15 of government exclusively contracts to operate an impound lot solely for public use under​

7.16 section 168B.09.​

7.17 (b) An impound lot operator must post a conspicuous notice at its place of operation in​

7.18 the following form:​

7.19 "If you receive government benefits, are currently homeless, or are eligible for legal aid​

7.20 services, you have the right to get the contents out of your car free of charge IF you provide:​

7.21 (1) a photo ID (such as a driver's license, passport, or employer ID); AND​

7.22 (2) documentation from a government or nonprofit agency or from a legal aid office that​

7.23 shows you get benefits from a government program based on your income, you are homeless,​

7.24 or you are eligible for legal aid services. Examples of this documentation include BUT ARE​

7.25 NOT LIMITED TO:​

7.26 - an EBT card;​

7.27 - a Medical Assistance or MinnesotaCare card;​

7.28 - a Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) card; and​

7.29 - a letter, email, or other document from a government agency, nonprofit organization,​

7.30 or legal aid organization showing that you get benefits from a government program based​

7.31 on your income, you are homeless, or you are eligible for legal aid services."​

7​Article 2 Sec. 4.​
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8.1 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168B.07, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

8.2 read:​

8.3 Subd. 3d. Retrieval of contents; remedy. (a) This subdivision applies to an impound​

8.4 lot operator (1) who operates a nonpublic impound lot, or (2) with which a unit of government​

8.5 exclusively contracts to operate an impound lot solely for public use under section 168B.09.​

8.6 (b) If an impound lot operator denies the registered owner the right to retrieve the vehicle​

8.7 contents in violation of subdivision 3, paragraph (c), an aggrieved registered vehicle owner​

8.8 has a cause of action against the impound lot operator as provided in this subdivision.​

8.9 (c) If the vehicle and its contents remain in the possession of the impound lot operator​

8.10 and retrieval of the vehicle contents was denied in violation of subdivision 3, paragraph (c),​

8.11 an aggrieved registered vehicle owner is entitled to injunctive relief to retrieve the vehicle​

8.12 contents as well as reasonable attorney fees and costs.​

8.13 (d) If an impound lot operator sells or disposes of the vehicle contents after the registered​

8.14 owner has provided the documentation required under subdivision 3, paragraph (c), an​

8.15 aggrieved registered vehicle owner is entitled to statutory damages in an amount of $1,000​

8.16 and reasonable attorney fees and costs. An action brought pursuant to this paragraph must​

8.17 be brought within 12 months of when the vehicle was impounded.​

8.18 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 325F.70, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

8.19 read:​

8.20 Subd. 3. Private enforcement. (a) In addition to the remedies otherwise provided by​

8.21 law, a consumer injured by a violation of sections 325F.68 to 325F.70, in connection with​

8.22 a sale of merchandise for personal, family, household, or agricultural purposes, may bring​

8.23 a civil action and recover damages, together with costs and disbursements, including costs​

8.24 of investigation and reasonable attorney fees, and receive other equitable relief as determined​

8.25 by the court. An action brought under this section benefits the public.​

8.26 (b) For the purposes of this subdivision:​

8.27 (1) "consumer" means a natural person or family farmer;​

8.28 (2) "family farmer" means a person or persons operating a family farm; and​

8.29 (3) "family farm" has the meaning given in section 116B.02, subdivision 6.​

8.30 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to causes​

8.31 of action commenced on or after that date.​

8​Article 2 Sec. 6.​
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9.1 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 573.01, is amended to read:​

9.2 573.01 SURVIVAL OF CAUSES.​

9.3 A cause of action arising out of an injury to the person dies with the person of the party​

9.4 in whose favor it exists, except as provided in survives the death of any party in accordance​

9.5 with section 573.02. All other causes of action by one against another, whether arising on​

9.6 contract or not, survive to the personal representatives of the former and against those of​

9.7 the latter.​

9.8 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and​

9.9 applies to causes of action pending on or commenced on or after that date.​

9.10 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 573.02, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

9.11 Subdivision 1. Death action. When death is caused by the wrongful act or omission of​

9.12 any person or corporation, the trustee appointed as provided in subdivision 3 may maintain​

9.13 an action therefor if the decedent might have maintained an action, had the decedent lived,​

9.14 for an injury caused by the wrongful act or omission. An action to recover damages for a​

9.15 death caused by the alleged professional negligence of a physician, surgeon, dentist, hospital​

9.16 or sanitarium, or an employee of a physician, surgeon, dentist, hospital or sanitarium shall​

9.17 be commenced within three years of the date of death, but in no event shall be commenced​

9.18 beyond the time set forth in section 541.076. An action to recover damages for a death​

9.19 caused by an intentional act constituting murder may be commenced at any time after the​

9.20 death of the decedent. Any other action under this section may be commenced within three​

9.21 years after the date of death provided that the action must be commenced within six years​

9.22 after the act or omission. The recovery in the action is the amount the jury deems fair and​

9.23 just in reference to for all damages suffered by the decedent resulting from the injury prior​

9.24 to the decedent's death and the pecuniary loss resulting from the death, and shall be for the​

9.25 exclusive benefit of the surviving spouse and next of kin, proportionate to the pecuniary​

9.26 loss severally suffered by the death. The court then determines the proportionate pecuniary​

9.27 loss of the persons entitled to the recovery and orders distribution accordingly. Funeral​

9.28 expenses and any demand for the support of the decedent allowed by the court having​

9.29 jurisdiction of the action, are first deducted and paid. Punitive damages may be awarded as​

9.30 provided in section 549.20.​

9.31 If an action for the injury was commenced by the decedent and not finally determined​

9.32 while living, it may be continued by the trustee for recovery of all damages for the exclusive​

9.33 benefit of the surviving spouse and next of kin, proportionate to the pecuniary loss severally​

9​Article 2 Sec. 8.​
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10.1 suffered by the death. The court on motion shall make an order allowing the continuance​

10.2 and directing pleadings to be made and issues framed as in actions begun under this section.​

10.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and​

10.4 applies to causes of action pending on or commenced on or after that date.​

10.5 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 573.02, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

10.6 Subd. 2. Injury action. When injury is caused to a person by the wrongful act or omission​

10.7 of any person or corporation and the person thereafter dies from a cause unrelated to those​

10.8 injuries, the trustee appointed in subdivision 3 may maintain an action for special damages​

10.9 all damages arising out of such injury if the decedent might have maintained an action​

10.10 therefor had the decedent lived. An action under this subdivision may be commenced within​

10.11 three years after the date of death provided that the action must be commenced within six​

10.12 years after the act or omission.​

10.13 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and​

10.14 applies to causes of action pending on or commenced on or after that date.​

10.15 ARTICLE 3​

10.16 HUMAN RIGHTS​

10.17 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.02, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

10.18 Subdivision 1. Freedom from discrimination. (a) It is the public policy of this state to​

10.19 secure for persons in this state, freedom from discrimination:​

10.20 (1) in employment because of race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, marital​

10.21 status, disability, status with regard to public assistance, gender identity, sexual orientation,​

10.22 familial status, and age;​

10.23 (2) in housing and real property because of race, color, creed, religion, national origin,​

10.24 sex, marital status, disability, status with regard to public assistance, gender identity, sexual​

10.25 orientation, and familial status;​

10.26 (3) in public accommodations because of race, color, creed, religion, national origin,​

10.27 sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, and disability;​

10.28 (4) in public services because of race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, marital​

10.29 status, disability, gender identity, sexual orientation, and status with regard to public​

10.30 assistance; and​

10​Article 3 Section 1.​
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11.1 (5) in education because of race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, marital status,​

11.2 disability, status with regard to public assistance, gender identity, sexual orientation, and​

11.3 age.​

11.4 (b) Such discrimination threatens the rights and privileges of the inhabitants of this state​

11.5 and menaces the institutions and foundations of democracy. It is also the public policy of​

11.6 this state to protect all persons from wholly unfounded charges of discrimination. Nothing​

11.7 in this chapter shall be interpreted as restricting the implementation of positive action​

11.8 programs to combat discrimination.​

11.9 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.03, subdivision 23, is amended to read:​

11.10 Subd. 23. Local commission. "Local commission" means an agency of a city, county,​

11.11 or group of counties created pursuant to law, resolution of a county board, city charter, or​

11.12 municipal ordinance for the purpose of dealing with discrimination on the basis of race,​

11.13 color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, age, disability, marital status, status with regard​

11.14 to public assistance, gender identity, sexual orientation, or familial status.​

11.15 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.03, subdivision 44, is amended to read:​

11.16 Subd. 44. Sexual orientation. "Sexual orientation" means having or being perceived as​

11.17 having an emotional, physical, or sexual attachment to another person without regard to the​

11.18 sex of that person or having or being perceived as having an orientation for such attachment,​

11.19 or having or being perceived as having a self-image or identity not traditionally associated​

11.20 with one's biological maleness or femaleness. "Sexual orientation" does not include a physical​

11.21 or sexual attachment to children by an adult.​

11.22 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.03, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

11.23 read:​

11.24 Subd. 50. Gender identity. "Gender identity" means a person's inherent sense of being​

11.25 a man, woman, both, or neither. A person's gender identity may or may not correspond to​

11.26 their assigned sex at birth or to their primary or secondary sex characteristics. A person's​

11.27 gender identity is not necessarily visible to others.​

11.28 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.04, is amended to read:​

11.29 363A.04 CONSTRUCTION AND EXCLUSIVITY.​

11.30 The provisions of this chapter shall be construed liberally for the accomplishment of the​

11.31 purposes thereof. Nothing contained in this chapter shall be deemed to repeal any of the​

11​Article 3 Sec. 5.​
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12.1 provisions of the civil rights law or of any other law of this state relating to discrimination​

12.2 because of race, creed, color, religion, sex, age, disability, marital status, status with regard​

12.3 to public assistance, national origin, gender identity, sexual orientation, or familial status;​

12.4 but, as to acts declared unfair by sections 363A.08 to 363A.19, and 363A.28, subdivision​

12.5 10, the procedure herein provided shall, while pending, be exclusive.​

12.6 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.06, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

12.7 Subdivision 1. Formulation of policies. (a) The commissioner shall formulate policies​

12.8 to effectuate the purposes of this chapter and shall do the following:​

12.9 (1) exercise leadership under the direction of the governor in the development of human​

12.10 rights policies and programs, and make recommendations to the governor and the legislature​

12.11 for their consideration and implementation;​

12.12 (2) establish and maintain a principal office in St. Paul, and any other necessary branch​

12.13 offices at any location within the state;​

12.14 (3) meet and function at any place within the state;​

12.15 (4) employ attorneys, clerks, and other employees and agents as the commissioner may​

12.16 deem necessary and prescribe their duties;​

12.17 (5) to the extent permitted by federal law and regulation, utilize the records of the​

12.18 Department of Employment and Economic Development of the state when necessary to​

12.19 effectuate the purposes of this chapter;​

12.20 (6) obtain upon request and utilize the services of all state governmental departments​

12.21 and agencies;​

12.22 (7) adopt suitable rules for effectuating the purposes of this chapter;​

12.23 (8) issue complaints, receive and investigate charges alleging unfair discriminatory​

12.24 practices, and determine whether or not probable cause exists for hearing;​

12.25 (9) subpoena witnesses, administer oaths, take testimony, and require the production for​

12.26 examination of any books or papers relative to any matter under investigation or in question​

12.27 as the commissioner deems appropriate to carry out the purposes of this chapter;​

12.28 (10) attempt, by means of education, conference, conciliation, and persuasion to eliminate​

12.29 unfair discriminatory practices as being contrary to the public policy of the state;​

12​Article 3 Sec. 6.​
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13.1 (11) develop and conduct programs of formal and informal education designed to​

13.2 eliminate discrimination and intergroup conflict by use of educational techniques and​

13.3 programs the commissioner deems necessary;​

13.4 (12) make a written report of the activities of the commissioner to the governor each​

13.5 year;​

13.6 (13) accept gifts, bequests, grants, or other payments public and private to help finance​

13.7 the activities of the department;​

13.8 (14) create such local and statewide advisory committees as will in the commissioner's​

13.9 judgment aid in effectuating the purposes of the Department of Human Rights;​

13.10 (15) develop such programs as will aid in determining the compliance throughout the​

13.11 state with the provisions of this chapter, and in the furtherance of such duties, conduct​

13.12 research and study discriminatory practices based upon race, color, creed, religion, national​

13.13 origin, sex, age, disability, marital status, status with regard to public assistance, familial​

13.14 status, gender identity, sexual orientation, or other factors and develop accurate data on the​

13.15 nature and extent of discrimination and other matters as they may affect housing,​

13.16 employment, public accommodations, schools, and other areas of public life;​

13.17 (16) develop and disseminate technical assistance to persons subject to the provisions​

13.18 of this chapter, and to agencies and officers of governmental and private agencies;​

13.19 (17) provide staff services to such advisory committees as may be created in aid of the​

13.20 functions of the Department of Human Rights;​

13.21 (18) make grants in aid to the extent that appropriations are made available for that​

13.22 purpose in aid of carrying out duties and responsibilities; and​

13.23 (19) cooperate and consult with the commissioner of labor and industry regarding the​

13.24 investigation of violations of, and resolution of complaints regarding section 363A.08,​

13.25 subdivision 7.​

13.26 In performing these duties, the commissioner shall give priority to those duties in clauses​

13.27 (8), (9), and (10) and to the duties in section 363A.36.​

13.28 (b) All gifts, bequests, grants, or other payments, public and private, accepted under​

13.29 paragraph (a), clause (13), must be deposited in the state treasury and credited to a special​

13.30 account. Money in the account is appropriated to the commissioner of human rights to help​

13.31 finance activities of the department.​
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14.1 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.07, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

14.2 Subd. 2. Referral from commissioner. The commissioner, whether or not a charge has​

14.3 been filed under this chapter, may refer a matter involving discrimination because of race,​

14.4 color, religion, sex, creed, disability, marital status, status with regard to public assistance,​

14.5 national origin, age, gender identity, sexual orientation, or familial status to a local​

14.6 commission for study and report.​

14.7 Upon referral by the commissioner, the local commission shall make a report and make​

14.8 recommendations to the commissioner and take other appropriate action within the scope​

14.9 of its powers.​

14.10 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.08, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

14.11 Subdivision 1. Labor organization. Except when based on a bona fide occupational​

14.12 qualification, it is an unfair employment practice for a labor organization, because of race,​

14.13 color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, marital status, status with regard to public​

14.14 assistance, familial status, disability, gender identity, sexual orientation, or age:​

14.15 (1) to deny full and equal membership rights to a person seeking membership or to a​

14.16 member;​

14.17 (2) to expel a member from membership;​

14.18 (3) to discriminate against a person seeking membership or a member with respect to​

14.19 hiring, apprenticeship, tenure, compensation, terms, upgrading, conditions, facilities, or​

14.20 privileges of employment; or​

14.21 (4) to fail to classify properly, or refer for employment or otherwise to discriminate​

14.22 against a person or member.​

14.23 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.08, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

14.24 Subd. 2. Employer. Except when based on a bona fide occupational qualification, it is​

14.25 an unfair employment practice for an employer, because of race, color, creed, religion,​

14.26 national origin, sex, marital status, status with regard to public assistance, familial status,​

14.27 membership or activity in a local commission, disability, gender identity, sexual orientation,​

14.28 or age to:​

14.29 (1) refuse to hire or to maintain a system of employment which unreasonably excludes​

14.30 a person seeking employment; or​

14.31 (2) discharge an employee; or​
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15.1 (3) discriminate against a person with respect to hiring, tenure, compensation, terms,​

15.2 upgrading, conditions, facilities, or privileges of employment.​

15.3 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.08, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

15.4 Subd. 3. Employment agency. Except when based on a bona fide occupational​

15.5 qualification, it is an unfair employment practice for an employment agency, because of​

15.6 race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, marital status, status with regard to public​

15.7 assistance, familial status, disability, gender identity, sexual orientation, or age to:​

15.8 (1) refuse or fail to accept, register, classify properly, or refer for employment or​

15.9 otherwise to discriminate against a person; or​

15.10 (2) comply with a request from an employer for referral of applicants for employment​

15.11 if the request indicates directly or indirectly that the employer fails to comply with the​

15.12 provisions of this chapter.​

15.13 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.08, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

15.14 Subd. 4. Employer, employment agency, or labor organization. (a) Except when​

15.15 based on a bona fide occupational qualification, it is an unfair employment practice for an​

15.16 employer, employment agency, or labor organization, before a person is employed by an​

15.17 employer or admitted to membership in a labor organization, to:​

15.18 (1) require or request the person to furnish information that pertains to race, color, creed,​

15.19 religion, national origin, sex, marital status, status with regard to public assistance, familial​

15.20 status, disability, gender identity, sexual orientation, or age; or, subject to section 363A.20,​

15.21 to require or request a person to undergo physical examination; unless for the sole and​

15.22 exclusive purpose of national security, information pertaining to national origin is required​

15.23 by the United States, this state or a political subdivision or agency of the United States or​

15.24 this state, or for the sole and exclusive purpose of compliance with the Public Contracts​

15.25 Act or any rule, regulation, or laws of the United States or of this state requiring the​

15.26 information or examination. A law enforcement agency may, after notifying an applicant​

15.27 for a peace officer or part-time peace officer position that the law enforcement agency is​

15.28 commencing the background investigation on the applicant, request the applicant's date of​

15.29 birth, gender, and race on a separate form for the sole and exclusive purpose of conducting​

15.30 a criminal history check, a driver's license check, and fingerprint criminal history inquiry.​

15.31 The form shall include a statement indicating why the data is being collected and what its​

15.32 limited use will be. No document which has date of birth, gender, or race information will​

15.33 be included in the information given to or available to any person who is involved in selecting​
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16.1 the person or persons employed other than the background investigator. No person may act​

16.2 both as background investigator and be involved in the selection of an employee except that​

16.3 the background investigator's report about background may be used in that selection as long​

16.4 as no direct or indirect references are made to the applicant's race, age, or gender; or​

16.5 (2) seek and obtain for purposes of making a job decision, information from any source​

16.6 that pertains to the person's race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, marital status,​

16.7 status with regard to public assistance, familial status, disability, gender identity, sexual​

16.8 orientation, or age, unless for the sole and exclusive purpose of compliance with the Public​

16.9 Contracts Act or any rule, regulation, or laws of the United States or of this state requiring​

16.10 the information; or​

16.11 (3) cause to be printed or published a notice or advertisement that relates to employment​

16.12 or membership and discloses a preference, limitation, specification, or discrimination based​

16.13 on race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, marital status, status with regard to public​

16.14 assistance, familial status, disability, gender identity, sexual orientation, or age.​

16.15 (b) Any individual who is required to provide information that is prohibited by this​

16.16 subdivision is an aggrieved party under sections 363A.06, subdivision 4, and 363A.28,​

16.17 subdivisions 1 to 9.​

16.18 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.08, is amended by adding a subdivision​

16.19 to read:​

16.20 Subd. 8. Inquiries into pay history prohibited. (a) "Pay history" as used in this​

16.21 subdivision means any prior or current wage, salary, earnings, benefits, or any other​

16.22 compensation about an applicant for employment.​

16.23 (b) An employer, employment agency, or labor organization shall not inquire into,​

16.24 consider, or require disclosure from any source the pay history of an applicant for​

16.25 employment for the purpose of determining wages, salary, earnings, benefits, or other​

16.26 compensation for that applicant. The general prohibition against inquiring into the pay​

16.27 history of an applicant does not apply if the job applicant's pay history is a matter of public​

16.28 record under federal or state law, unless the employer, employment agency, or labor​

16.29 organization sought access to those public records with the intent of obtaining pay history​

16.30 of the applicant for the purpose of determining wages, salary, earnings, benefits, or other​

16.31 compensation for that applicant.​

16.32 (c) Nothing in this subdivision shall prevent an applicant for employment from voluntarily​

16.33 and without asking, encouraging, or prompting disclosing pay history for the purposes of​
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17.1 negotiating wages, salary, benefits, or other compensation. If an applicant for employment​

17.2 voluntarily and without asking, encouraging, or prompting discloses pay history to a​

17.3 prospective employer, employment agency, or labor organization, nothing in this subdivision​

17.4 shall prohibit that employer, employment agency, or labor organization from considering​

17.5 or acting on that voluntarily disclosed salary history information to support a wage or salary​

17.6 higher than initially offered by the employer, employment agency, or labor organization.​

17.7 (d) Nothing in this subdivision limits, prohibits, or prevents a person from bringing a​

17.8 charge, grievance, or any other cause of action alleging wage discrimination because of​

17.9 race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, gender identity, marital status, status with​

17.10 regard to public assistance, familial status, membership or activity in a local commission,​

17.11 disability, sexual orientation, or age, as otherwise provided in this chapter.​

17.12 (e) Nothing in this subdivision shall be construed to prevent an employer from:​

17.13 (1) providing information about the wages, benefits, compensation, or salary offered in​

17.14 relation to a position; or​

17.15 (2) inquiring about or otherwise engaging in discussions with an applicant about the​

17.16 applicant's expectations or requests with respect to wages, salary, benefits, or other​

17.17 compensation.​

17.18 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024. For employment covered​

17.19 by collective bargaining agreements, this section is not effective until the date of​

17.20 implementation of the applicable collective bargaining agreement that is after January 1,​

17.21 2024.​

17.22 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.09, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

17.23 Subdivision 1. Real property interest; action by owner, lessee, and others. It is an​

17.24 unfair discriminatory practice for an owner, lessee, sublessee, assignee, or managing agent​

17.25 of, or other person having the right to sell, rent or lease any real property, or any agent of​

17.26 any of these:​

17.27 (1) to refuse to sell, rent, or lease or otherwise deny to or withhold from any person or​

17.28 group of persons any real property because of race, color, creed, religion, national origin,​

17.29 sex, marital status, status with regard to public assistance, disability, gender identity, sexual​

17.30 orientation, or familial status; or​

17.31 (2) to discriminate against any person or group of persons because of race, color, creed,​

17.32 religion, national origin, sex, marital status, status with regard to public assistance, disability,​

17.33 gender identity, sexual orientation, or familial status in the terms, conditions or privileges​
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18.1 of the sale, rental or lease of any real property or in the furnishing of facilities or services​

18.2 in connection therewith, except that nothing in this clause shall be construed to prohibit the​

18.3 adoption of reasonable rules intended to protect the safety of minors in their use of the real​

18.4 property or any facilities or services furnished in connection therewith; or​

18.5 (3) in any transaction involving real property, to print, circulate or post or cause to be​

18.6 printed, circulated, or posted any advertisement or sign, or use any form of application for​

18.7 the purchase, rental or lease of real property, or make any record or inquiry in connection​

18.8 with the prospective purchase, rental, or lease of real property which expresses, directly or​

18.9 indirectly, any limitation, specification, or discrimination as to race, color, creed, religion,​

18.10 national origin, sex, marital status, status with regard to public assistance, disability, gender​

18.11 identity, sexual orientation, or familial status, or any intent to make any such limitation,​

18.12 specification, or discrimination except that nothing in this clause shall be construed to​

18.13 prohibit the advertisement of a dwelling unit as available to adults-only if the person placing​

18.14 the advertisement reasonably believes that the provisions of this section prohibiting​

18.15 discrimination because of familial status do not apply to the dwelling unit.​

18.16 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.09, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

18.17 Subd. 2. Real property interest; action by brokers, agents, and others. It is an unfair​

18.18 discriminatory practice for a real estate broker, real estate salesperson, or employee, or agent​

18.19 thereof:​

18.20 (1) to refuse to sell, rent, or lease or to offer for sale, rental, or lease any real property​

18.21 to any person or group of persons or to negotiate for the sale, rental, or lease of any real​

18.22 property to any person or group of persons because of race, color, creed, religion, national​

18.23 origin, sex, marital status, status with regard to public assistance, disability, gender identity,​

18.24 sexual orientation, or familial status or represent that real property is not available for​

18.25 inspection, sale, rental, or lease when in fact it is so available, or otherwise deny or withhold​

18.26 any real property or any facilities of real property to or from any person or group of persons​

18.27 because of race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, marital status, status with regard​

18.28 to public assistance, disability, gender identity, sexual orientation, or familial status; or​

18.29 (2) to discriminate against any person because of race, color, creed, religion, national​

18.30 origin, sex, marital status, status with regard to public assistance, disability, gender identity,​

18.31 sexual orientation, or familial status in the terms, conditions or privileges of the sale, rental​

18.32 or lease of real property or in the furnishing of facilities or services in connection therewith;​

18.33 or​
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19.1 (3) to print, circulate, or post or cause to be printed, circulated, or posted any​

19.2 advertisement or sign, or use any form of application for the purchase, rental, or lease of​

19.3 any real property or make any record or inquiry in connection with the prospective purchase,​

19.4 rental or lease of any real property, which expresses directly or indirectly, any limitation,​

19.5 specification or discrimination as to race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, marital​

19.6 status, status with regard to public assistance, disability, gender identity, sexual orientation,​

19.7 or familial status or any intent to make any such limitation, specification, or discrimination​

19.8 except that nothing in this clause shall be construed to prohibit the advertisement of a​

19.9 dwelling unit as available to adults-only if the person placing the advertisement reasonably​

19.10 believes that the provisions of this section prohibiting discrimination because of familial​

19.11 status do not apply to the dwelling unit.​

19.12 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.09, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

19.13 Subd. 3. Real property interest; action by financial institution. It is an unfair​

19.14 discriminatory practice for a person, bank, banking organization, mortgage company,​

19.15 insurance company, or other financial institution or lender to whom application is made for​

19.16 financial assistance for the purchase, lease, acquisition, construction, rehabilitation, repair​

19.17 or maintenance of any real property or any agent or employee thereof:​

19.18 (1) to discriminate against any person or group of persons because of race, color, creed,​

19.19 religion, national origin, sex, marital status, status with regard to public assistance, disability,​

19.20 gender identity, sexual orientation, or familial status of the person or group of persons or​

19.21 of the prospective occupants or tenants of the real property in the granting, withholding,​

19.22 extending, modifying or renewing, or in the rates, terms, conditions, or privileges of the​

19.23 financial assistance or in the extension of services in connection therewith; or​

19.24 (2) to use any form of application for the financial assistance or make any record or​

19.25 inquiry in connection with applications for the financial assistance which expresses, directly​

19.26 or indirectly, any limitation, specification, or discrimination as to race, color, creed, religion,​

19.27 national origin, sex, marital status, status with regard to public assistance, disability, gender​

19.28 identity, sexual orientation, or familial status or any intent to make any such limitation,​

19.29 specification, or discrimination; or​

19.30 (3) to discriminate against any person or group of persons who desire to purchase, lease,​

19.31 acquire, construct, rehabilitate, repair, or maintain real property in a specific urban or rural​

19.32 area or any part thereof solely because of the social, economic, or environmental conditions​

19.33 of the area in the granting, withholding, extending, modifying, or renewing, or in the rates,​
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20.1 terms, conditions, or privileges of the financial assistance or in the extension of services in​

20.2 connection therewith.​

20.3 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.09, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

20.4 Subd. 4. Real property transaction. It is an unfair discriminatory practice for any real​

20.5 estate broker or real estate salesperson, for the purpose of inducing a real property transaction​

20.6 from which the person, the person's firm, or any of its members may benefit financially, to​

20.7 represent that a change has occurred or will or may occur in the composition with respect​

20.8 to race, creed, color, national origin, sex, marital status, status with regard to public​

20.9 assistance, gender identity, sexual orientation, or disability of the owners or occupants in​

20.10 the block, neighborhood, or area in which the real property is located, and to represent,​

20.11 directly or indirectly, that this change will or may result in undesirable consequences in the​

20.12 block, neighborhood, or area in which the real property is located, including but not limited​

20.13 to the lowering of property values, an increase in criminal or antisocial behavior, or a decline​

20.14 in the quality of schools or other public facilities.​

20.15 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.11, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

20.16 Subdivision 1. Full and equal enjoyment of public accommodations. (a) It is an unfair​

20.17 discriminatory practice:​

20.18 (1) to deny any person the full and equal enjoyment of the goods, services, facilities,​

20.19 privileges, advantages, and accommodations of a place of public accommodation because​

20.20 of race, color, creed, religion, disability, national origin, marital status, gender identity,​

20.21 sexual orientation, or sex, or for a taxicab company to discriminate in the access to, full​

20.22 utilization of, or benefit from service because of a person's disability; or​

20.23 (2) for a place of public accommodation not to make reasonable accommodation to the​

20.24 known physical, sensory, or mental disability of a disabled person. In determining whether​

20.25 an accommodation is reasonable, the factors to be considered may include:​

20.26 (i) the frequency and predictability with which members of the public will be served by​

20.27 the accommodation at that location;​

20.28 (ii) the size of the business or organization at that location with respect to physical size,​

20.29 annual gross revenues, and the number of employees;​

20.30 (iii) the extent to which disabled persons will be further served from the accommodation;​

20.31 (iv) the type of operation;​
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21.1 (v) the nature and amount of both direct costs and legitimate indirect costs of making​

21.2 the accommodation and the reasonableness for that location to finance the accommodation;​

21.3 and​

21.4 (vi) the extent to which any persons may be adversely affected by the accommodation.​

21.5 (b) State or local building codes control where applicable. Violations of state or local​

21.6 building codes are not violations of this chapter and must be enforced under normal building​

21.7 code procedures.​

21.8 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.12, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

21.9 Subdivision 1. Access to public service. It is an unfair discriminatory practice to​

21.10 discriminate against any person in the access to, admission to, full utilization of or benefit​

21.11 from any public service because of race, color, creed, religion, national origin, disability,​

21.12 sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, or status with regard to public assistance or to fail​

21.13 to ensure physical and program access for disabled persons unless the public service can​

21.14 demonstrate that providing the access would impose an undue hardship on its operation. In​

21.15 determining whether providing physical and program access would impose an undue​

21.16 hardship, factors to be considered include:​

21.17 (1) the type and purpose of the public service's operation;​

21.18 (2) the nature and cost of the needed accommodation;​

21.19 (3) documented good faith efforts to explore less restrictive or less expensive alternatives;​

21.20 and​

21.21 (4) the extent of consultation with knowledgeable disabled persons and organizations.​

21.22 Physical and program access must be accomplished within six months of June 7, 1983,​

21.23 except for needed architectural modifications, which must be made within two years of June​

21.24 7, 1983.​

21.25 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.13, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

21.26 Subdivision 1. Utilization; benefit or services. It is an unfair discriminatory practice​

21.27 to discriminate in any manner in the full utilization of or benefit from any educational​

21.28 institution, or the services rendered thereby to any person because of race, color, creed,​

21.29 religion, national origin, sex, age, marital status, status with regard to public assistance,​

21.30 gender identity, sexual orientation, or disability, or to fail to ensure physical and program​

21.31 access for disabled persons. For purposes of this subdivision, program access includes but​
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22.1 is not limited to providing taped texts, interpreters or other methods of making orally​

22.2 delivered materials available, readers in libraries, adapted classroom equipment, and similar​

22.3 auxiliary aids or services. Program access does not include providing attendants, individually​

22.4 prescribed devices, readers for personal use or study, or other devices or services of a​

22.5 personal nature.​

22.6 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.13, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

22.7 Subd. 2. Exclude, expel, or selection. It is an unfair discriminatory practice to exclude,​

22.8 expel, or otherwise discriminate against a person seeking admission as a student, or a person​

22.9 enrolled as a student because of race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, age, marital​

22.10 status, status with regard to public assistance, gender identity, sexual orientation, or disability.​

22.11 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.13, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

22.12 Subd. 3. Admission form or inquiry. It is an unfair discriminatory practice to make or​

22.13 use a written or oral inquiry, or form of application for admission that elicits or attempts to​

22.14 elicit information, or to make or keep a record, concerning the creed, religion, gender identity,​

22.15 sexual orientation, or disability of a person seeking admission, except as permitted by rules​

22.16 of the department.​

22.17 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.13, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

22.18 Subd. 4. Purpose for information and record. It is an unfair discriminatory practice​

22.19 to make or use a written or oral inquiry or form of application that elicits or attempts to​

22.20 elicit information, or to keep a record concerning the race, color, national origin, sex, gender​

22.21 identity, sexual orientation, age, or marital status of a person seeking admission, unless the​

22.22 information is collected for purposes of evaluating the effectiveness of recruitment,​

22.23 admissions, and other educational policies, and is maintained separately from the application.​

22.24 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.16, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

22.25 Subdivision 1. Personal or commercial credit. It is an unfair discriminatory practice​

22.26 to discriminate in the extension of personal or commercial credit to a person, or in the​

22.27 requirements for obtaining credit, because of race, color, creed, religion, disability, national​

22.28 origin, sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, or marital status, or due to the receipt of​

22.29 federal, state, or local public assistance including medical assistance.​
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23.1 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.17, is amended to read:​

23.2 363A.17 BUSINESS DISCRIMINATION.​

23.3 It is an unfair discriminatory practice for a person engaged in a trade or business or in​

23.4 the provision of a service:​

23.5 (1) to refuse to do business with or provide a service to a woman based on her use of​

23.6 her current or former surname; or​

23.7 (2) to impose, as a condition of doing business with or providing a service to a woman,​

23.8 that a woman use her current surname rather than a former surname; or​

23.9 (3) to intentionally refuse to do business with, to refuse to contract with, or to discriminate​

23.10 in the basic terms, conditions, or performance of the contract because of a person's race,​

23.11 national origin, color, sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, or disability, unless the alleged​

23.12 refusal or discrimination is because of a legitimate business purpose.​

23.13 Nothing in this section shall prohibit positive action plans.​

23.14 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.21, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

23.15 Subdivision 1. Housing. The provisions of section 363A.09 shall not apply to:​

23.16 (1) rooms in a temporary or permanent residence home run by a nonprofit organization,​

23.17 if the discrimination is by sex; or​

23.18 (2) the rental by a resident owner or occupier of a one-family accommodation of a room​

23.19 or rooms in the accommodation to another person or persons if the discrimination is by sex,​

23.20 marital status, status with regard to public assistance, gender identity, sexual orientation,​

23.21 or disability. Except as provided elsewhere in this chapter or other state or federal law, no​

23.22 person or group of persons selling, renting, or leasing property is required to modify the​

23.23 property in any way, or exercise a higher degree of care for a person having a disability​

23.24 than for a person who does not have a disability; nor shall this chapter be construed to relieve​

23.25 any person or persons of any obligations generally imposed on all persons regardless of any​

23.26 disability in a written lease, rental agreement, or contract of purchase or sale, or to forbid​

23.27 distinctions based on the inability to fulfill the terms and conditions, including financial​

23.28 obligations of the lease, agreement, or contract; or.​

23.29 (3) the rental by a resident owner of a unit in a dwelling containing not more than two​

23.30 units, if the discrimination is on the basis of sexual orientation.​
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24.1 Sec. 26. REPEALER.​

24.2 Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 363A.20, subdivision 3; and 363A.27, are repealed.​

24.3 ARTICLE 4​

24.4 CIVIL AND CRIMINAL PROCEDURE​

24.5 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 169A.63, subdivision 8, is amended to read:​

24.6 Subd. 8. Administrative forfeiture procedure. (a) A motor vehicle used to commit a​

24.7 designated offense or used in conduct resulting in a designated license revocation is subject​

24.8 to administrative forfeiture under this subdivision.​

24.9 (b) Within 60 days from when a motor vehicle is seized under subdivision 2, or within​

24.10 a reasonable time after seizure, the appropriate agency shall serve the driver or operator of​

24.11 the vehicle with a notice of the seizure and intent to forfeit the vehicle. Additionally, when​

24.12 a motor vehicle is seized under subdivision 2, or within a reasonable time after that, all​

24.13 persons known to have an ownership, possessory, or security interest in the vehicle must​

24.14 be notified of the seizure and the intent to forfeit the vehicle. For those vehicles required to​

24.15 be registered under chapter 168, the notification to a person known to have a security interest​

24.16 in the vehicle is required only if the vehicle is registered under chapter 168 and the interest​

24.17 is listed on the vehicle's title. Upon motion by the appropriate agency or prosecuting​

24.18 authority, a court may extend the time period for sending notice for a period not to exceed​

24.19 90 days for good cause shown. Notice mailed by certified mail to the address shown in​

24.20 Department of Public Safety records is sufficient notice to the registered owner of the​

24.21 vehicle. For motor vehicles not required to be registered under chapter 168, notice mailed​

24.22 by certified mail to the address shown in the applicable filing or registration for the vehicle​

24.23 is sufficient notice to a person known to have an ownership, possessory, or security interest​

24.24 in the vehicle. Otherwise, notice may be given in the manner provided by law for service​

24.25 of a summons in a civil action.​

24.26 (c) The notice must be in writing and contain:​

24.27 (1) a description of the vehicle seized;​

24.28 (2) the date of seizure; and​

24.29 (3) notice of the right to obtain judicial review of the forfeiture and of the procedure for​

24.30 obtaining that judicial review, printed in English. This requirement does not preclude the​

24.31 appropriate agency from printing the notice in other languages in addition to English.​

24.32 Substantially the following language must appear conspicuously in the notice:​
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25.1 "WARNING: If you were the person arrested when the property was seized, you will​

25.2 automatically lose the above-described property and the right to be heard in court if you do​

25.3 not file a lawsuit and serve the prosecuting authority within 60 days. You may file your​

25.4 lawsuit in conciliation court if the property is worth $15,000 or less; otherwise, you must​

25.5 file in district court. You do not have to pay a filing fee for your lawsuit.​

25.6 WARNING: If you have an ownership interest in the above-described property and were​

25.7 not the person arrested when the property was seized, you will automatically lose the​

25.8 above-described property and the right to be heard in court if you do not notify the​

25.9 prosecuting authority of your interest in writing within 60 days."​

25.10 (d) If notice is not sent in accordance with paragraph (b), and no time extension is granted​

25.11 or the extension period has expired, the appropriate agency shall return the vehicle to the​

25.12 owner. An agency's return of property due to lack of proper notice does not restrict the​

25.13 agency's authority to commence a forfeiture proceeding at a later time.​

25.14 (e) Within 60 days following service of a notice of seizure and forfeiture under this​

25.15 subdivision, a claimant may file a demand for a judicial determination of the forfeiture. The​

25.16 demand must be in the form of a civil complaint and must be filed with the court​

25.17 administrator in the county in which the seizure occurred, together with proof of service of​

25.18 a copy of the complaint on the prosecuting authority having jurisdiction over the forfeiture.​

25.19 The claimant may serve the complaint by certified mail or any means permitted by court​

25.20 rules. If the value of the seized property is $15,000 or less, the claimant may file an action​

25.21 in conciliation court for recovery of the seized vehicle. A copy of the conciliation court​

25.22 statement of claim must may be served personally or by mail as permitted by the Rules of​

25.23 Conciliation Court Procedure on the prosecuting authority having jurisdiction over the​

25.24 forfeiture within 60 days following service of the notice of seizure and forfeiture under this​

25.25 subdivision. The claimant does not have to pay the court filing fee.​

25.26 No responsive pleading is required of the prosecuting authority and no court fees may​

25.27 be charged for the prosecuting authority's appearance in the matter. The prosecuting authority​

25.28 may appear for the appropriate agency. Pleadings, filings, and methods of service are​

25.29 governed by the Rules of Civil Procedure and, where applicable, by the Rules of Conciliation​

25.30 Court Procedure.​

25.31 (f) The complaint must be captioned in the name of the claimant as plaintiff and the​

25.32 seized vehicle as defendant, and must state with specificity the grounds on which the claimant​

25.33 alleges the vehicle was improperly seized, the claimant's interest in the vehicle seized, and​

25.34 any affirmative defenses the claimant may have. Notwithstanding any law to the contrary,​
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26.1 an action for the return of a vehicle seized under this section may not be maintained by or​

26.2 on behalf of any person who has been served with a notice of seizure and forfeiture unless​

26.3 the person has complied with this subdivision.​

26.4 (g) If the claimant makes a timely demand for a judicial determination under this​

26.5 subdivision, the forfeiture proceedings must be conducted as provided under subdivision​

26.6 9.​

26.7 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

26.8 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 504B.301, is amended to read:​

26.9 504B.301 EVICTION ACTION FOR UNLAWFUL DETENTION.​

26.10 A person may be evicted if the person has unlawfully or forcibly occupied or taken​

26.11 possession of real property or unlawfully detains or retains possession of real property.​

26.12 A seizure under section 609.5317, subdivision 1, for which there is not a defense under​

26.13 section 609.5317, subdivision 3, constitutes unlawful detention by the tenant.​

26.14 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

26.15 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 590.01, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

26.16 Subd. 4. Time limit. (a) No petition for postconviction relief may be filed more than​

26.17 two years after the later of:​

26.18 (1) the entry of judgment of conviction or sentence if no direct appeal is filed; or​

26.19 (2) an appellate court's disposition of petitioner's direct appeal.​

26.20 (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), a court may hear a petition for postconviction relief​

26.21 if:​

26.22 (1) the petitioner establishes that a physical disability or mental disease precluded a​

26.23 timely assertion of the claim;​

26.24 (2) the petitioner alleges the existence of newly discovered evidence, including scientific​

26.25 evidence, that provides the factual predicate for one or more claims for relief, if such evidence​

26.26 could not have been ascertained by the exercise of due diligence by the petitioner or​

26.27 petitioner's attorney within the two-year time period for filing a postconviction petition, and​

26.28 the evidence is not cumulative to evidence presented at trial, and is not for impeachment​

26.29 purposes, and establishes by a clear and convincing standard that the petitioner is innocent​

26.30 of the offense or offenses for which the petitioner was convicted;​

26​Article 4 Sec. 3.​
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27.1 (3) the petitioner asserts a new interpretation of federal or state constitutional or statutory​

27.2 law by either the United States Supreme Court or a Minnesota appellate court and the​

27.3 petitioner establishes that this interpretation is retroactively applicable to the petitioner's​

27.4 case;​

27.5 (4) the petition is brought pursuant to subdivision 3; or​

27.6 (5) the petitioner establishes to the satisfaction of the court that the petition is not frivolous​

27.7 and is in the interests of justice.​

27.8 (c) Any petition invoking an exception provided in paragraph (b) must be filed within​

27.9 two years of the date the claim arises.​

27.10 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.​

27.11 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.5314, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

27.12 Subd. 3. Judicial determination. (a) Within 60 days following service of a notice of​

27.13 seizure and forfeiture under this section, a claimant may file a demand for a judicial​

27.14 determination of the forfeiture. The demand must be in the form of a civil complaint and​

27.15 must be filed with the court administrator in the county in which the seizure occurred,​

27.16 together with proof of service of a copy of the complaint on the prosecuting authority for​

27.17 that county. The claimant may serve the complaint on the prosecuting authority by certified​

27.18 mail or any means permitted by court rules. If the value of the seized property is $15,000​

27.19 or less, the claimant may file an action in conciliation court for recovery of the seized​

27.20 property. A copy of the conciliation court statement of claim may be served personally or​

27.21 as permitted by the Rules of Conciliation Court Procedure on the prosecuting authority​

27.22 having jurisdiction over the forfeiture within 60 days following service of the notice of​

27.23 seizure and forfeiture under this subdivision. The claimant does not have to pay the court​

27.24 filing fee. No responsive pleading is required of the prosecuting authority and no court fees​

27.25 may be charged for the prosecuting authority's appearance in the matter. The district court​

27.26 administrator shall schedule the hearing as soon as practicable after, and in any event no​

27.27 later than 90 days following, the conclusion of the criminal prosecution. The proceedings​

27.28 are governed by the Rules of Civil Procedure and, where applicable, by the Rules of​

27.29 Conciliation Court Procedure.​

27.30 (b) The complaint must be captioned in the name of the claimant as plaintiff and the​

27.31 seized property as defendant, and must state with specificity the grounds on which the​

27.32 claimant alleges the property was improperly seized and the plaintiff's interest in the property​

27.33 seized. Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, an action for the return of property seized​
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28.1 under this section may not be maintained by or on behalf of any person who has been served​

28.2 with a notice of seizure and forfeiture unless the person has complied with this subdivision.​

28.3 (c) If the claimant makes a timely demand for judicial determination under this​

28.4 subdivision, the appropriate agency must conduct the forfeiture under section 609.531,​

28.5 subdivision 6a. The limitations and defenses set forth in section 609.5311, subdivision 3,​

28.6 apply to the judicial determination.​

28.7 (d) If a demand for judicial determination of an administrative forfeiture is filed under​

28.8 this subdivision and the court orders the return of the seized property, the court may order​

28.9 sanctions under section 549.211. If the court orders payment of these costs, they must be​

28.10 paid from forfeited money or proceeds from the sale of forfeited property from the appropriate​

28.11 law enforcement and prosecuting agencies in the same proportion as they would be distributed​

28.12 under section 609.5315, subdivision 5.​

28.13 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

28.14 Sec. 5. [634.025] CONFESSION; INADMISSIBLE WHEN DECEPTION IS USED.​

28.15 Any admission, confession, or statement, whether written or oral, made by any person​

28.16 during a custodial interrogation by a law enforcement agency official, juvenile court official,​

28.17 or their agent, is involuntarily made and inadmissible in any proceeding if, during the​

28.18 interrogation, a law enforcement agency official or juvenile court official or their agent​

28.19 knowingly:​

28.20 (1) communicated false facts about evidence;​

28.21 (2) misrepresented the accuracy of facts; or​

28.22 (3) communicated unauthorized statements regarding leniency.​

28.23 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024, and applies to admission,​

28.24 confession, or statement, whether written or oral, made on or after that date.​

28.25 Sec. 6. REPEALER.​

28.26 Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 504B.305, is repealed.​

28.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​
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29.1 ARTICLE 5​

29.2 MARRIAGE AND NAME CHANGE​

29.3 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 259.11, is amended to read:​

29.4 259.11 ORDER; FILING COPIES.​

29.5 (a) Upon meeting the requirements of section 259.10, the court shall grant the application​

29.6 unless: (1) it finds that there is an intent to defraud or mislead; (2) section 259.13 prohibits​

29.7 granting the name change; or (3) in the case of the change of a minor child's name, the court​

29.8 finds that such name change is not in the best interests of the child. The court shall set forth​

29.9 in the order the name and age of the applicant's spouse and each child of the applicant, if​

29.10 any, and shall state a description of the lands, if any, in which the applicant and the spouse​

29.11 and children, if any, claim to have an interest. The court administrator shall file such order,​

29.12 and record the same in the judgment book. If lands be described therein, a certified copy of​

29.13 the order shall be filed for record, by the applicant, with the county recorder of each county​

29.14 wherein any of the same are situated. Before doing so the court administrator shall present​

29.15 the same to the county auditor who shall enter the change of name in the auditor's official​

29.16 records and note upon the instrument, over an official signature, the words "change of name​

29.17 recorded." Any such order shall not be filed, nor any certified copy thereof be issued, until​

29.18 the applicant shall have paid to the county recorder and court administrator the fee required​

29.19 by law. No application shall be denied on the basis of the marital status of the applicant.​

29.20 (b) When a person applies for a name change, the court shall determine whether the​

29.21 person has a criminal history in this or any other state. The court may conduct a search of​

29.22 national records through the Federal Bureau of Investigation by submitting a set of​

29.23 fingerprints and the appropriate fee to the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension. If it is​

29.24 determined that the person has a criminal history in this or any other state, the court shall,​

29.25 within ten days after the name change application is granted, report the name change to the​

29.26 Bureau of Criminal Apprehension. The person whose name is changed shall also report the​

29.27 change to the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension within ten days. The court granting the​

29.28 name change application must explain this reporting duty in its order. Any person required​

29.29 to report the person's name change to the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension who fails to​

29.30 report the name change as required under this paragraph is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.​

29.31 (c) Paragraph (b) does not apply to either:​

29.32 (1) a request for a name change as part of an application for a marriage license under​

29.33 section 517.08; or​
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30.1 (2) a request for a name change in conjunction with a marriage dissolution under section​

30.2 518.27; or​

30.3 (3) a request for a name change filed under section 259.14.​

30.4 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 259.13, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

30.5 Subdivision 1. Procedure for seeking name change. (a) A person with a felony​

30.6 conviction under Minnesota law or the law of another state or federal jurisdiction shall serve​

30.7 a notice of application for a name change on the prosecuting authority that obtained the​

30.8 conviction against the person when seeking a name change through one of the following​

30.9 procedures:​

30.10 (1) an application for a name change under section 259.10;​

30.11 (2) a request for a name change as part of an application for a marriage license under​

30.12 section 517.08; or​

30.13 (3) (2) a request for a name change in conjunction with a marriage dissolution under​

30.14 section 518.27.; or​

30.15 (3) a request for a name change under section 259.14.​

30.16 If the conviction is from another state or federal jurisdiction, notice of application must also​

30.17 be served on the attorney general.​

30.18 (b) A person who seeks a name change under section 259.10 or 518.27 shall file proof​

30.19 of service with the court as part of the name change request. A person who seeks a name​

30.20 change under section 517.08 shall file proof of service with the county as part of the​

30.21 application for a marriage license.​

30.22 (c) The name change request may not be granted during the 30-day period provided for​

30.23 in subdivision 2 or, if an objection is filed under subdivision 2, until satisfaction of the​

30.24 requirements in subdivision 3 or 4. Nothing in this section shall delay the granting of a​

30.25 marriage license under section 517.08, which may be granted without the name change.​

30.26 Sec. 3. [259.14] POSTDISSOLUTION NAME CHANGE.​

30.27 (a) Unless section 259.13 applies, a person who has resided in this state for at least six​

30.28 months and obtained the person's most recent final marriage dissolution from a district court​

30.29 may apply to the district court in the county where the person resides to change the person's​

30.30 name to the legal name on the person's birth certificate. A person applying for a name change​

30.31 must submit a certified copy of the certificate of dissolution issued pursuant to section​
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31.1 518.148 and a certified copy of the person's birth certificate. A person applying for a name​

31.2 change who obtained a divorce in a state other than Minnesota must submit a certified copy​

31.3 of the certificate of dissolution or a certified copy of an equivalent court order ending the​

31.4 marriage and a certified copy of the person's birth certificate.​

31.5 (b) A court shall not require a person applying for a name change to pay filing fees for​

31.6 an application submitted pursuant to this section. Notwithstanding section 259.10, a court​

31.7 shall not require the person applying for a name change pursuant to this section to provide​

31.8 proof of the person's identity by two witnesses unless the proof of identity is necessary to​

31.9 determine whether the person has an intent to defraud or mislead the court.​

31.10 (c) Upon meeting the requirements of this section, the court shall grant the application​

31.11 for a name change unless the court finds that (1) the person has an intent to defraud or​

31.12 mislead the court; or (2) the name change is subject to section 259.13. The court shall notify​

31.13 the person applying for a name change that using a different surname without complying​

31.14 with section 259.13, if applicable, is a gross misdemeanor.​

31.15 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 517.04, is amended to read:​

31.16 517.04 PERSONS AUTHORIZED TO PERFORM CIVIL MARRIAGES.​

31.17 Civil marriages may be solemnized throughout the state by an individual who has attained​

31.18 the age of 21 years and is a judge of a court of record, a retired judge of a court of record,​

31.19 a court administrator, a retired court administrator with the approval of the chief judge of​

31.20 the judicial district, a former court commissioner who is employed by the court system or​

31.21 is acting pursuant to an order of the chief judge of the commissioner's judicial district, the​

31.22 residential school superintendent of the Minnesota State Academy for the Deaf and the​

31.23 Minnesota State Academy for the Blind, a licensed or ordained minister of any religious​

31.24 denomination, an individual who registers as a civil marriage officiant with a local registrar​

31.25 in a county of this state, or by any mode recognized in section 517.18. For purposes of this​

31.26 section, a court of record includes the Office of Administrative Hearings under section​

31.27 14.48.​

31.28 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 517.08, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:​

31.29 Subd. 1a. Form. Application for a civil marriage license shall be made by both of the​

31.30 parties upon a form provided for the purpose and shall contain the following information:​

31.31 (1) the full names of the parties and the sex of each party;​

31.32 (2) their post office addresses and county and state of residence;​
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32.1 (3) their full ages;​

32.2 (4) if either party has previously been married, the party's married name, and the date,​

32.3 place and court in which the civil marriage was dissolved or annulled or the date and place​

32.4 of death of the former spouse;​

32.5 (5) whether the parties are related to each other, and, if so, their relationship;​

32.6 (6) the address of the parties after the civil marriage is entered into to which the local​

32.7 registrar shall send a certified copy of the civil marriage certificate;​

32.8 (7) the full names the parties will have after the civil marriage is entered into and the​

32.9 parties' Social Security numbers. The Social Security numbers must be collected for the​

32.10 application but must not appear on the civil marriage license. If a party listed on a civil​

32.11 marriage application does not have a Social Security number, the party must certify on the​

32.12 application, or a supplement to the application, that the party does not have a Social Security​

32.13 number;​

32.14 (8) if one or both of the parties party to the civil marriage license has a felony conviction​

32.15 under Minnesota law or the law of another state or federal jurisdiction, the parties shall​

32.16 provide to the county proof of service upon the prosecuting authority and, if applicable, the​

32.17 attorney general, as required by party may not change the party's name through the marriage​

32.18 application process and must follow the process in section 259.13 to change the party's​

32.19 name; and​

32.20 (9) notice that a party who has a felony conviction under Minnesota law or the law of​

32.21 another state or federal jurisdiction may not use a different name after a civil marriage​

32.22 except as authorized by section 259.13, and that doing so is a gross misdemeanor.​

32.23 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 517.08, subdivision 1b, is amended to read:​

32.24 Subd. 1b. Term of license; fee; premarital education. (a) The local registrar shall​

32.25 examine upon oath the parties applying for a license relative to the legality of the​

32.26 contemplated civil marriage. Both parties must present proof of age to the local registrar.​

32.27 If one party is unable to appear in person, the party appearing may complete the absent​

32.28 applicant's information. The local registrar shall provide a copy of the civil marriage​

32.29 application to the party who is unable to appear, who must verify the accuracy of the​

32.30 appearing party's information in a notarized statement. The verification statement must be​

32.31 accompanied by a copy of proof of age of the party. The civil marriage license must not be​

32.32 released until the verification statement and proof of age has been received by the local​

32.33 registrar. If the local registrar is satisfied that there is no legal impediment to it, including​
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33.1 the restriction contained in section 259.13, the local registrar shall issue the license,​

33.2 containing the full names of the parties before and after the civil marriage, and county and​

33.3 state of residence, with the county seal attached, and make a record of the date of issuance.​

33.4 The license shall be valid for a period of six months. Except as provided in paragraph (b),​

33.5 the local registrar shall collect from the applicant a fee of $115 for administering the oath,​

33.6 issuing, recording, and filing all papers required, and preparing and transmitting to the state​

33.7 registrar of vital records the reports of civil marriage required by this section. If the license​

33.8 should not be used within the period of six months due to illness or other extenuating​

33.9 circumstances, it may be surrendered to the local registrar for cancellation, and in that case​

33.10 a new license shall issue upon request of the parties of the original license without fee. A​

33.11 local registrar who knowingly issues or signs a civil marriage license in any manner other​

33.12 than as provided in this section shall pay to the parties aggrieved an amount not to exceed​

33.13 $1,000.​

33.14 (b) The civil marriage license fee for parties who have completed at least 12 hours of​

33.15 premarital education is $40. In order to qualify for the reduced license fee, the parties must​

33.16 submit at the time of applying for the civil marriage license a statement that is signed, dated,​

33.17 and notarized or marked with a church seal from the person who provided the premarital​

33.18 education on their letterhead confirming that it was received. The premarital education must​

33.19 be provided by a licensed or ordained minister or the minister's designee, a person authorized​

33.20 to solemnize civil marriages under section 517.18, or a person authorized to practice marriage​

33.21 and family therapy under section 148B.33. The education must include the use of a premarital​

33.22 inventory and the teaching of communication and conflict management skills.​

33.23 (c) The statement from the person who provided the premarital education under paragraph​

33.24 (b) must be in the following form:​

33.25 "I, .......................... (name of educator), confirm that .......................... (names of both​

33.26 parties) received at least 12 hours of premarital education that included the use of a premarital​

33.27 inventory and the teaching of communication and conflict management skills. I am a licensed​

33.28 or ordained minister, a person authorized to solemnize civil marriages under Minnesota​

33.29 Statutes, section 517.18, or a person licensed to practice marriage and family therapy under​

33.30 Minnesota Statutes, section 148B.33."​

33.31 The names of the parties in the educator's statement must be identical to the legal names​

33.32 of the parties as they appear in the civil marriage license application. Notwithstanding​

33.33 section 138.17, the educator's statement must be retained for seven years, after which time​

33.34 it may be destroyed.​
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34.1 (d) If section 259.13 applies to the request for a civil marriage license, the local registrar​

34.2 shall grant the civil marriage license without the requested name change. Alternatively, the​

34.3 local registrar may delay the granting of the civil marriage license until the party with the​

34.4 conviction:​

34.5 (1) certifies under oath that 30 days have passed since service of the notice for a name​

34.6 change upon the prosecuting authority and, if applicable, the attorney general and no​

34.7 objection has been filed under section 259.13; or​

34.8 (2) provides a certified copy of the court order granting it. The parties seeking the civil​

34.9 marriage license shall have the right to choose to have the license granted without the name​

34.10 change or to delay its granting pending further action on the name change request.​

34.11 ARTICLE 6​

34.12 REAL PROPERTY​

34.13 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 336.9-601, is amended to read:​

34.14 336.9-601 RIGHTS AFTER DEFAULT; JUDICIAL ENFORCEMENT;​

34.15 CONSIGNOR OR BUYER OF ACCOUNTS, CHATTEL PAPER, PAYMENT​

34.16 INTANGIBLES, OR PROMISSORY NOTES.​

34.17 (a) Rights of secured party after default. After default, a secured party has the rights​

34.18 provided in this part and, except as otherwise provided in section 336.9-602, those provided​

34.19 by agreement of the parties. A secured party:​

34.20 (1) may reduce a claim to judgment, foreclose, or otherwise enforce the claim, security​

34.21 interest, or agricultural lien by any available judicial procedure; and​

34.22 (2) if the collateral is documents, may proceed either as to the documents or as to the​

34.23 goods they cover.​

34.24 (b) Rights and duties of secured party in possession or control. A secured party in​

34.25 possession of collateral or control of collateral under section 336.7-106, 336.9-104,​

34.26 336.9-105, 336.9-106, or 336.9-107 has the rights and duties provided in section 336.9-207.​

34.27 (c) Rights cumulative; simultaneous exercise. The rights under subsections (a) and​

34.28 (b) are cumulative and may be exercised simultaneously.​

34.29 (d) Rights of debtor and obligor. Except as otherwise provided in subsection (g) and​

34.30 section 336.9-605, after default, a debtor and an obligor have the rights provided in this part​

34.31 and by agreement of the parties.​
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35.1 (e) Lien of levy after judgment. If a secured party has reduced its claim to judgment,​

35.2 the lien of any levy that may be made upon the collateral by virtue of an execution based​

35.3 upon the judgment relates back to the earliest of:​

35.4 (1) the date of perfection of the security interest or agricultural lien in the collateral;​

35.5 (2) the date of filing a financing statement covering the collateral; or​

35.6 (3) any date specified in a statute under which the agricultural lien was created.​

35.7 (f) Execution sale. A sale pursuant to an execution is a foreclosure of the security interest​

35.8 or agricultural lien by judicial procedure within the meaning of this section. A secured party​

35.9 may purchase at the sale and thereafter hold the collateral free of any other requirements​

35.10 of this article.​

35.11 (g) Consignor or buyer of certain rights to payment. Except as otherwise provided​

35.12 in section 336.9-607 (c), this part imposes no duties upon a secured party that is a consignor​

35.13 or is a buyer of accounts, chattel paper, payment intangibles, or promissory notes.​

35.14 (h) Security interest in collateral that is agricultural property; enforcement. A​

35.15 person may not begin to enforce a security interest in collateral that is agricultural property​

35.16 subject to sections 583.20 to 583.32 that has secured a debt of more than the amount provided​

35.17 in section 583.24, subdivision 5, unless: a mediation notice under subsection (i) is served​

35.18 on the debtor after a condition of default has occurred in the security agreement and a copy​

35.19 served on the director of the agricultural Minnesota extension service; and the debtor and​

35.20 creditor have completed mediation under sections 583.20 to 583.32; or as otherwise allowed​

35.21 under sections 583.20 to 583.32.​

35.22 (i) Mediation notice. A mediation notice under subsection (h) must contain the following​

35.23 notice with the blanks properly filled in.​

35.24 "TO: ...(Name of Debtor)...​

35.25 YOU HAVE DEFAULTED ON THE ...(Debt in Default)... SECURED BY​

35.26 AGRICULTURAL PROPERTY DESCRIBED AS ...(Reasonable Description of Agricultural​

35.27 Property Collateral). THE AMOUNT OF THE OUTSTANDING DEBT IS ...(Amount of​

35.28 Debt)...​

35.29 AS A SECURED PARTY, ...(Name of Secured Party)... INTENDS TO ENFORCE​

35.30 THE SECURITY AGREEMENT AGAINST THE AGRICULTURAL PROPERTY​

35.31 DESCRIBED ABOVE BY REPOSSESSING, FORECLOSING ON, OR OBTAINING A​

35.32 COURT JUDGMENT AGAINST THE PROPERTY.​
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36.1 YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO HAVE THE DEBT REVIEWED FOR MEDIATION.​

36.2 IF YOU REQUEST MEDIATION, A DEBT THAT IS IN DEFAULT WILL BE​

36.3 MEDIATED ONLY ONCE. IF YOU DO NOT REQUEST MEDIATION, THIS DEBT​

36.4 WILL NOT BE SUBJECT TO FUTURE MEDIATION IF THE SECURED PARTY​

36.5 ENFORCES THE DEBT.​

36.6 IF YOU PARTICIPATE IN MEDIATION, THE DIRECTOR OF THE​

36.7 AGRICULTURAL MINNESOTA EXTENSION SERVICE WILL PROVIDE AN​

36.8 ORIENTATION MEETING AND A FINANCIAL ANALYST TO HELP YOU TO​

36.9 PREPARE FINANCIAL INFORMATION. IF YOU DECIDE TO PARTICIPATE IN​

36.10 MEDIATION, IT WILL BE TO YOUR ADVANTAGE TO ASSEMBLE YOUR FARM​

36.11 FINANCE AND OPERATION RECORDS AND TO CONTACT A COUNTY EXTENSION​

36.12 OFFICE AS SOON AS POSSIBLE. MEDIATION WILL ATTEMPT TO ARRIVE AT​

36.13 AN AGREEMENT FOR HANDLING FUTURE FINANCIAL RELATIONS.​

36.14 TO HAVE THE DEBT REVIEWED FOR MEDIATION YOU MUST FILE A​

36.15 MEDIATION REQUEST WITH THE DIRECTOR WITHIN 14 DAYS AFTER YOU​

36.16 RECEIVE THIS NOTICE. THE MEDIATION REQUEST FORM IS AVAILABLE AT​

36.17 ANY COUNTY RECORDER'S OR COUNTY EXTENSION OFFICE FROM THE​

36.18 DIRECTOR OF THE MINNESOTA EXTENSION SERVICE.​

36.19 FROM: ...(Name and Address of Secured Party)..."​

36.20 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 507.07, is amended to read:​

36.21 507.07 WARRANTY AND QUITCLAIM DEEDS; FORMS.​

36.22 Warranty and quitclaim deeds may be substantially in the following forms:​

36.23 WARRANTY DEED​

36.24 A.B., grantor, of (here insert the place of residence), for and in consideration of (here​

36.25 insert the consideration), conveys and warrants to C.D., grantee, of (here insert the place​

36.26 of residence), the following described real estate in the county of .........................., in the​

36.27 state of Minnesota: (here describe the premises).​

36.28 Dated this ............... day of ................, .......​

36.29 (Signature) ...................................​

36.30 Every such instrument, duly executed as required by law, shall be a conveyance in fee​

36.31 simple of the premises described to the grantee, the grantee's heirs and assigns, with​

36.32 covenants on the part of the grantor, the grantor's heirs and personal representatives, that​
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37.1 the grantor is lawfully seized of the premises in fee simple and has good right to convey​

37.2 the same; that the premises are free from all encumbrances; that the grantor warrants to the​

37.3 grantee, the grantee's heirs and assigns, the quiet and peaceable possession thereof; and that​

37.4 the grantor will defend the title thereto against all persons who may lawfully claim the same.​

37.5 Such covenants shall be obligatory upon any grantor, the grantor's heirs and personal​

37.6 representatives, as fully and with like effect as if written at length in such deed.​

37.7 QUITCLAIM DEED​

37.8 A.B., grantor, of (here insert the place of residence), for the consideration of (here insert​

37.9 the consideration), conveys and quitclaims to C.D., the grantee, of (here insert the place of​

37.10 residence), all interest in the following described real estate in the county of ..........................,​

37.11 in the state of Minnesota: (here describe the premises).​

37.12 Dated this ............... day of ................, .......​

37.13 (Signature) ...................................​

37.14 Every such instrument, duly executed, shall be a conveyance to the grantee, the grantee's​

37.15 heirs and assigns, of all right, title, and interest of the grantor in the premises described, but​

37.16 shall not extend to after acquired title, unless words expressing such intention be added.​

37.17 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 508.52, is amended to read:​

37.18 508.52 CONVEYANCE; CANCELLATION OF OLD AND ISSUANCE OF NEW​

37.19 CERTIFICATE.​

37.20 An owner of registered land who desires to convey the land, or a portion thereof, in fee,​

37.21 shall execute a deed of conveyance, and record the deed with the registrar. The deed of​

37.22 conveyance shall be recorded and endorsed with the number and place of registration of​

37.23 the certificate of title. Before canceling the outstanding certificate of title the registrar shall​

37.24 show by memorial thereon the registration of the deed on the basis of which it is canceled.​

37.25 The encumbrances, claims, or interests adverse to the title of the registered owner shall be​

37.26 stated upon the new certificate, except so far as they may be simultaneously released or​

37.27 discharged. The registrar shall not carry forward as a memorial on the new certificate of​

37.28 title any memorials of a transfer on death deed if the grantors of the transfer on death deed​

37.29 retain no fee interest in the land covered by the new certificate. The certificate of title shall​

37.30 be marked "Canceled" by the registrar, who shall enter in the register a new certificate of​

37.31 title to the grantee and prepare and deliver to the grantee a copy of the new certificate of​

37.32 title. The registrar, upon request, shall deliver to the grantee a copy of the new certificate​

37.33 of title. If a deed in fee is for a portion of the land described in a certificate of title, the​
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38.1 memorial of the deed entered by the registrar shall include the legal description contained​

38.2 in the deed and the registrar shall enter a new certificate of title to the grantee for the portion​

38.3 of the land conveyed and, except as otherwise provided in this section, issue a residue​

38.4 certificate of title to the grantor for the portion of the land not conveyed. The registrar shall​

38.5 prepare and, upon request, deliver to each of the parties a copy of their respective certificates​

38.6 of title. In lieu of canceling the grantor's certificate of title and issuing a residue certificate​

38.7 to the grantor for the portion of the land not conveyed, the registrar may if the grantor's​

38.8 deed does not divide a parcel of unplatted land, and in the absence of a request to the contrary​

38.9 by the registered owner, mark by the land description on the certificate of title "Part of land​

38.10 conveyed, see memorials." The fee for a residue certificate of title shall be paid to the​

38.11 registrar only when the grantor's certificate of title is canceled after the conveyance by the​

38.12 grantor of a portion of the land described in the grantor's certificate of title. When two or​

38.13 more successive conveyances of the same property are filed for registration on the same​

38.14 day the registrar may enter a certificate in favor of the grantee or grantees in the last of the​

38.15 successive conveyances, and the memorial of the previous deed or deeds entered on the​

38.16 prior certificate of title shall have the same force and effect as though the prior certificate​

38.17 of title had been entered in favor of the grantee or grantees in the earlier deed or deeds in​

38.18 the successive conveyances. The fees for the registration of the earlier deed or deeds shall​

38.19 be the same as the fees prescribed for the entry of memorials. The registrar of titles, with​

38.20 the consent of the transferee, may mark "See memorials for new owner(s)" by the names​

38.21 of the registered owners on the certificate of title and also add to the memorial of the​

38.22 transferring conveyance a statement that the memorial shall serve in lieu of a new certificate​

38.23 of title in favor of the grantee or grantees therein noted and may refrain from canceling the​

38.24 certificate of title until the time it is canceled by a subsequent transfer, and the memorial​

38.25 showing such transfer of title shall have the same effect as the entry of a new certificate of​

38.26 title for the land described in the certificate of title; the fee for the registration of a conveyance​

38.27 without cancellation of the certificate of title shall be the same as the fee prescribed for the​

38.28 entry of a memorial.​

38.29 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 518.191, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

38.30 Subdivision 1. Abbreviated judgment and decree. If real estate is described in a​

38.31 judgment and decree of dissolution, the court may shall direct either of the parties or their​

38.32 legal counsel to prepare and submit to the court a proposed summary real estate disposition​

38.33 judgment. Upon approval by the court and filing of the summary real estate disposition​

38.34 judgment with the court administrator, the court administrator shall provide to any party​

38.35 upon request certified copies of the summary real estate disposition judgment.​
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39.1 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 518.191, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

39.2 Subd. 3. Court order. An order or provision in a judgment and decree that provides​

39.3 that the judgment and decree must be recorded in the office of the county recorder or filed​

39.4 in the office of the registrar of titles means, if a summary real estate disposition judgment​

39.5 has been approved by the court, that the summary real estate disposition judgment, rather​

39.6 than the judgment and decree, must be recorded in the office of the county recorder or filed​

39.7 in the office of the registrar of titles. The recorder or registrar of titles is not responsible for​

39.8 determining if a summary real estate disposition judgment has been approved by the court.​

39.9 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 541.023, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

39.10 Subd. 6. Limitations; certain titles not affected. This section shall not affect any rights​

39.11 of the federal government; nor increase the effect as notice, actual or constructive, of any​

39.12 instrument now of record; nor bar the rights of any person, partnership, state agency or​

39.13 department, or corporation in possession of real estate. This section shall not impair the​

39.14 record title or record interest, or title obtained by or through any congressional or legislative​

39.15 grant, of any railroad corporation or other public service corporation or any trustee or receiver​

39.16 thereof or of any educational or religious corporation in any real estate by reason of any​

39.17 failure to record further evidence of such title or interest even though the record thereof is​

39.18 now or hereafter more than 40 years old; nor shall this section require the recording of any​

39.19 notice as provided for in this section as to any undischarged mortgage or deed of trust​

39.20 executed by any such corporation or any trustee or receiver thereof or to any claim or action​

39.21 founded upon any such undischarged mortgage or deed of trust. The exceptions of this​

39.22 subdivision shall not include (1) reservations or exceptions of land for right-of-way or other​

39.23 railroad purposes contained in deeds of conveyance made by a railroad company or by​

39.24 trustees or receivers thereof, unless said reserved or excepted land shall have been put to​

39.25 railroad use within 40 years after the date of said deeds of conveyance, (2) nor any rights​

39.26 under any conditions subsequent or restrictions contained in any such deeds of conveyance.​

39.27 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 550.365, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

39.28 Subd. 2. Contents. A mediation notice must contain the following notice with the blanks​

39.29 properly filled in.​

39.30 "TO: ....(Name of Judgment Debtor)....​

39.31 A JUDGMENT WAS ORDERED AGAINST YOU BY ....(Name of Court).... ON​

39.32 ....(Date of Judgment).​
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40.1 AS A JUDGMENT CREDITOR, ....(Name of Judgment Creditor).... INTENDS TO​

40.2 TAKE ACTION AGAINST THE AGRICULTURAL PROPERTY DESCRIBED​

40.3 AS....(Description of Agricultural Property).... TO SATISFY THE JUDGMENT IN THE​

40.4 AMOUNT OF ....(Amount of Debt)....​

40.5 YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO HAVE THE DEBT REVIEWED FOR MEDIATION.​

40.6 IF YOU REQUEST MEDIATION, A DEBT THAT IS IN DEFAULT WILL BE​

40.7 MEDIATED ONLY ONCE. IF YOU DO NOT REQUEST MEDIATION, THIS DEBT​

40.8 WILL NOT BE SUBJECT TO FUTURE MEDIATION IF THE SECURED PARTY​

40.9 ENFORCES THE DEBT.​

40.10 IF YOU PARTICIPATE IN MEDIATION, THE DIRECTOR OF THE​

40.11 AGRICULTURAL MINNESOTA EXTENSION SERVICE WILL PROVIDE AN​

40.12 ORIENTATION MEETING AND A FINANCIAL ANALYST TO HELP YOU PREPARE​

40.13 FINANCIAL INFORMATION. IF YOU DECIDE TO PARTICIPATE IN MEDIATION,​

40.14 IT WILL BE TO YOUR ADVANTAGE TO ASSEMBLE YOUR FARM FINANCE AND​

40.15 OPERATION RECORDS AND TO CONTACT A COUNTY EXTENSION OFFICE AS​

40.16 SOON AS POSSIBLE. MEDIATION WILL ATTEMPT TO ARRIVE AT AN​

40.17 AGREEMENT FOR HANDLING FUTURE FINANCIAL RELATIONS.​

40.18 TO HAVE THE DEBT REVIEWED FOR MEDIATION YOU MUST FILE A​

40.19 MEDIATION REQUEST WITH THE DIRECTOR WITHIN 14 DAYS AFTER YOU​

40.20 RECEIVE THIS NOTICE. THE MEDIATION REQUEST FORM IS AVAILABLE AT​

40.21 ANY COUNTY RECORDER'S OR COUNTY EXTENSION OFFICE FROM THE​

40.22 DIRECTOR OF THE MINNESOTA EXTENSION SERVICE.​

40.23 FROM: ....(Name and Address of Judgment Creditor)...."​

40.24 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 559.209, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

40.25 Subd. 2. Contents. A mediation notice must contain the following notice with the blanks​

40.26 properly filled in.​

40.27 "TO: ....(Name of Contract for Deed Purchaser)....​

40.28 YOU HAVE DEFAULTED ON THE CONTRACT FOR DEED OF THE​

40.29 AGRICULTURAL PROPERTY DESCRIBED AS ....(Size and Reasonable Location of​

40.30 Property, Not Legal Description). THE AMOUNT OF THE OUTSTANDING DEBT IS​

40.31 ....(Amount of Debt)....​

40.32 AS THE CONTRACT FOR DEED VENDOR, ....(Contract for Deed Vendor)....​

40.33 INTENDS TO TERMINATE THE CONTRACT AND TAKE BACK THE PROPERTY.​
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41.1 YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO HAVE THE CONTRACT FOR DEED DEBT​

41.2 REVIEWED FOR MEDIATION. IF YOU REQUEST MEDIATION, A DEBT THAT IS​

41.3 IN DEFAULT WILL BE MEDIATED ONLY ONCE. IF YOU DO NOT REQUEST​

41.4 MEDIATION, THIS DEBT WILL NOT BE SUBJECT TO FUTURE MEDIATION IF​

41.5 THE CONTRACT FOR DEED VENDOR BEGINS REMEDIES TO ENFORCE THE​

41.6 DEBT.​

41.7 IF YOU PARTICIPATE IN MEDIATION, THE DIRECTOR OF THE​

41.8 AGRICULTURAL MINNESOTA EXTENSION SERVICE WILL PROVIDE AN​

41.9 ORIENTATION MEETING AND A FINANCIAL ANALYST TO HELP YOU PREPARE​

41.10 FINANCIAL INFORMATION. IF YOU DECIDE TO PARTICIPATE IN MEDIATION,​

41.11 IT WILL BE TO YOUR ADVANTAGE TO ASSEMBLE YOUR FARM FINANCE AND​

41.12 OPERATION RECORDS AND TO CONTACT A COUNTY EXTENSION OFFICE AS​

41.13 SOON AS POSSIBLE. MEDIATION WILL ATTEMPT TO ARRIVE AT AN​

41.14 AGREEMENT FOR HANDLING FUTURE FINANCIAL RELATIONS.​

41.15 TO HAVE THE CONTRACT FOR DEED DEBT REVIEWED FOR MEDIATION​

41.16 YOU MUST FILE A MEDIATION REQUEST WITH THE DIRECTOR WITHIN 14​

41.17 DAYS AFTER YOU RECEIVE THE NOTICE. THE MEDIATION REQUEST FORM​

41.18 IS AVAILABLE AT ANY COUNTY EXTENSION OFFICE FROM THE DIRECTOR​

41.19 OF THE MINNESOTA EXTENSION SERVICE.​

41.20 FROM: ....(Name and Address of Contract for Deed Vendor)...."​

41.21 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 582.039, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

41.22 Subd. 2. Contents. A mediation notice must contain the following notice with the blanks​

41.23 properly filled in.​

41.24 "TO: ....(Name of Record Owner)....​

41.25 YOU HAVE DEFAULTED ON THE MORTGAGE OF THE AGRICULTURAL​

41.26 PROPERTY DESCRIBED AS ....(Size and Reasonable Location, Not Legal Description).​

41.27 THE AMOUNT OF THE OUTSTANDING DEBT ON THIS PROPERTY IS ....(Amount​

41.28 of Debt)....​

41.29 AS HOLDER OF THE MORTGAGE, ....(Name of Holder of Mortgage).... INTENDS​

41.30 TO FORECLOSE ON THE PROPERTY DESCRIBED ABOVE.​

41.31 YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO HAVE THE MORTGAGE DEBT REVIEWED FOR​

41.32 MEDIATION. IF YOU REQUEST MEDIATION, A DEBT THAT IS IN DEFAULT WILL​

41.33 BE MEDIATED ONLY ONCE. IF YOU DO NOT REQUEST MEDIATION, THIS DEBT​
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42.1 WILL NOT BE SUBJECT TO FUTURE MEDIATION IF THE SECURED PARTY​

42.2 ENFORCES THE DEBT.​

42.3 IF YOU PARTICIPATE IN MEDIATION, THE DIRECTOR OF THE​

42.4 AGRICULTURAL MINNESOTA EXTENSION SERVICE WILL PROVIDE AN​

42.5 ORIENTATION MEETING AND A FINANCIAL ANALYST TO HELP YOU PREPARE​

42.6 FINANCIAL INFORMATION. IF YOU DECIDE TO PARTICIPATE IN MEDIATION,​

42.7 IT WILL BE TO YOUR ADVANTAGE TO ASSEMBLE YOUR FARM FINANCE AND​

42.8 OPERATION RECORDS AND TO CONTACT A COUNTY EXTENSION OFFICE AS​

42.9 SOON AS POSSIBLE. MEDIATION WILL ATTEMPT TO ARRIVE AT AN​

42.10 AGREEMENT FOR HANDLING FUTURE FINANCIAL RELATIONS.​

42.11 TO HAVE THE MORTGAGE DEBT REVIEWED FOR MEDIATION YOU MUST​

42.12 FILE A MEDIATION REQUEST WITH THE DIRECTOR WITHIN 14 DAYS AFTER​

42.13 YOU RECEIVE THIS NOTICE. THE MEDIATION REQUEST FORM IS AVAILABLE​

42.14 AT ANY COUNTY RECORDER'S OR COUNTY EXTENSION OFFICE FROM THE​

42.15 DIRECTOR OF THE MINNESOTA EXTENSION SERVICE.​

42.16 FROM: ....(Name and Address of Holder of Mortgage)...."​

42.17 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 583.25, is amended to read:​

42.18 583.25 VOLUNTARY MEDIATION PROCEEDINGS.​

42.19 A debtor that owns agricultural property or a creditor of the debtor may request mediation​

42.20 of the indebtedness by a farm mediator by applying to the director. The director shall make​

42.21 provide voluntary mediation application forms available at the county recorder's and county​

42.22 extension office in each county when requested. The director must evaluate each request​

42.23 and may direct a mediator to meet with the debtor and creditor to assist in mediation.​

42.24 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 583.26, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

42.25 Subd. 2. Mediation request. (a) A debtor must file a mediation request form with the​

42.26 director by 14 days after receiving a mediation notice. The debtor must state all known​

42.27 creditors with debts secured for agricultural property and must authorize the director to​

42.28 obtain the debtor's credit report from one or more credit reporting agencies. The mediation​

42.29 request form must include an instruction that the debtor must state all known creditors with​

42.30 debts secured by agricultural property and unsecured creditors that are necessary for the​

42.31 farm operation of the debtor. It is the debtor's discretion as to which unsecured creditors​

42.32 are necessary for the farm operation but the mediation request form must notify the debtor​
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43.1 that omission of a significant unsecured creditor could result in a bad-faith determination​

43.2 pursuant to section 583.27, subdivisions 1, paragraph (a), clause (2), and 2. The mediation​

43.3 request must state the date that the notice was served on the debtor. The director shall make​

43.4 provide mediation request forms available in the county recorder's and county extension​

43.5 office of each county when requested.​

43.6 (b) Except as provided in section 583.24, subdivision 4, paragraph (a), clause (3), a​

43.7 debtor who fails to file a timely mediation request waives the right to mediation for that​

43.8 debt under the Farmer-Lender Mediation Act. The director shall notify the creditor who​

43.9 served the mediation notice stating that the creditor may proceed against the agricultural​

43.10 property because the debtor has failed to file a mediation request.​

43.11 (c) If a debtor has not received a mediation notice and is subject to a proceeding of a​

43.12 creditor enforcing a debt against agricultural property under chapter 580 or 581 or sections​

43.13 336.9-601 to 336.9-628, terminating a contract for deed to purchase agricultural property​

43.14 under section 559.21, or garnishing, levying on, executing on, seizing, or attaching​

43.15 agricultural property, the debtor may file a mediation request with the director. The mediation​

43.16 request form must indicate that the debtor has not received a mediation notice.​

43.17 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 600.23, is amended to read:​

43.18 600.23 RECORDERS AND COURT ADMINISTRATORS.​

43.19 Subdivision 1. Deposit of papers. Every county recorder, upon being paid the legal fees​

43.20 therefor, shall may receive and deposit in the office any instruments or papers which shall​

43.21 be are offered for that purpose and, if required requested, shall give to the person depositing​

43.22 the same a receipt therefor.​

43.23 Subd. 2. Endorsed and filed. Any such instruments or papers so received shall be filed​

43.24 by the officer receiving the same, and so endorsed as to indicate their general nature, the​

43.25 names of the parties thereto, and time when received, and shall be deposited and kept by​

43.26 the officer and successors in office in the same manner as the officer's official papers, but​

43.27 in a place separate therefrom.​

43.28 Subd. 3. Withdrawal. Papers and instruments so deposited shall not be made public or​

43.29 withdrawn from the office except upon the written order of the person depositing the same,​

43.30 or the person's executors or administrators, or on the order of some court for the purpose​

43.31 of being read in the court, and then to be returned to the office.​

43.32 Subd. 3a. Retention and disposal. Papers and instruments deposited for safekeeping​

43.33 shall be retained, at a minimum, until the earlier of:​
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44.1 (1) the county recorder learns of the depositor's death, at which time the county recorder​

44.2 may deliver the paper or instrument to the appropriate court, or deliver the paper or instrument​

44.3 to the depositor's executors or administrators; or​

44.4 (2) 20 years following the deposit of the paper or instrument, at which time the county​

44.5 recorder shall dispose of the paper or instrument pursuant to its county's retention policy.​

44.6 Subd. 4. Certificate that instrument cannot be found. The certificate of any officer​

44.7 to whom the legal custody of any instrument belongs, stating that the officer has made​

44.8 diligent search for such instrument and that it cannot be found, shall be prima facie evidence​

44.9 of the fact so certified to in all cases, matters, and proceedings.​

44.10 Sec. 13. REPEALER.​

44.11 Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 346.02; and 582.14, are repealed.​

44.12 ARTICLE 7​

44.13 MULTIMEMBER AGENCY APPOINTMENTS​

44.14 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 15.0597, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

44.15 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) As used in this section, the following terms shall have​

44.16 the meanings given them.​

44.17 (b) "Agency" means (1) a state board, commission, council, committee, authority, task​

44.18 force, including an advisory task force created under section 15.014 or 15.0593, a group​

44.19 created by executive order of the governor, or other similar multimember agency created​

44.20 by law and having statewide jurisdiction; and (2) the Metropolitan Council, metropolitan​

44.21 agency, Capitol Area Architectural and Planning Board, and any agency with a regional​

44.22 jurisdiction created in this state pursuant to an interstate compact.​

44.23 (c) "Vacancy" or "vacant agency position" means (1) a vacancy in an existing agency,​

44.24 or (2) a new, unfilled agency position. Vacancy includes a position that is to be filled through​

44.25 appointment of a nonlegislator by a legislator or group of legislators; Vacancy does not​

44.26 mean (1) a vacant position on an agency composed exclusively of persons employed by a​

44.27 political subdivision or another agency, or (2) a vacancy to be filled by a person required​

44.28 to have a specific title or position, (3) a vacancy that is to be filled through appointment of​

44.29 a legislator by a legislator or group of legislators, or (4) a position appointed by a private​

44.30 entity or individual, in the manner specified in the document creating the agency, unless​

44.31 otherwise provided.​

44.32 (d) "Secretary" means the secretary of state.​
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45.1 (e) "Appointing authority" means the individual or entity with the specific authority to​

45.2 appoint open or direct appointment positions. This includes, but is not limited to, the​

45.3 governor, state agency commissioners, indigenous Tribal leaders, designated legislative​

45.4 leaders and local agency heads, persons who have been specifically delegated the authority​

45.5 to make those appointments, or private entities or persons as designated by the document​

45.6 creating the agency. Appointments should be evidenced by a document signed by the​

45.7 appointing authority's most senior official. Appointments that do not specify an appointing​

45.8 authority shall be made in the manner provided in section 4.04.​

45.9 (f) "Direct appointments" refers to: (1) the appointment of members to an agency,​

45.10 pursuant to a process not subject to this section; and (2) those members of an agency​

45.11 appointed through a process not subject to this section. Direct appointments must be provided​

45.12 for specifically in the documents creating the agency, whether enabling law, executive order,​

45.13 commissioner's order, or otherwise.​

45.14 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 15.0597, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

45.15 Subd. 4. Notice of vacancies. The chair of an existing agency, shall notify the secretary​

45.16 by electronic means of a vacancy scheduled to occur in the agency as a result of the expiration​

45.17 of membership terms at least 45 days before the vacancy occurs. The chair of an existing​

45.18 agency shall give electronic notification to must notify the secretary of each vacancy​

45.19 occurring as a result of newly created agency positions and of every other vacancy occurring​

45.20 for any reason other than the expiration of membership terms as soon as possible upon​

45.21 learning of the vacancy and in any case within 15 days after the occurrence of the vacancy.​

45.22 The chair may submit vacancy notices by posting seat openings on the secretary of state's​

45.23 boards and commissions website.​

45.24 (b) If a vacancy is to be appointed by the governor, the chair must first notify the governor​

45.25 and receive permission to post the vacancy. Where a vacancy is created by resignation, the​

45.26 vacancy may not be posted until receipt and acceptance of the resignation of the incumbent​

45.27 as provided by section 351.01, subdivision 1, clause (2), is confirmed by the governor.​

45.28 (c) The appointing authority for newly created agencies shall give electronic notification​

45.29 to the secretary of all vacancies in the new agency within 15 days after the creation of the​

45.30 agency. The secretary may require the submission of notices required by this subdivision​

45.31 by electronic means.​

45.32 (d) The secretary shall publish monthly on the website of the secretary of state a list of​

45.33 all vacancies of which the secretary has been so notified. Only one notice of a vacancy shall​

45.34 be so published, unless the appointing authority rejects all applicants and requests the​
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46.1 secretary to republish the notice of vacancy. One copy of the listing shall be made available​

46.2 at the office of the secretary to any interested person. The secretary shall distribute by mail​

46.3 or electronic means copies of the listings to requesting persons.​

46.4 (e) The listing for all vacancies scheduled to occur in the month of January shall be​

46.5 published on the website of the secretary of state together with the compilation of agency​

46.6 data required to be published pursuant to subdivision 3.​

46.7 (f) If a vacancy occurs within three months after an appointment is made to fill a regularly​

46.8 scheduled vacancy, the appointing authority may, upon notification by electronic means to​

46.9 the secretary, fill the vacancy by appointment from the list of persons submitting applications​

46.10 to fill the regularly scheduled vacancy.​

46.11 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 15.0597, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

46.12 Subd. 5. Nominations for vacancies. Any person may make a self-nomination for​

46.13 appointment to an agency vacancy by completing an application on a form prepared and​

46.14 distributed by the secretary. The secretary may provide for the submission of the application​

46.15 by electronic means. Any person or group of persons may, on the prescribed application​

46.16 form, nominate another person to be appointed to a vacancy so long as the person so​

46.17 nominated consents on the application form to the nomination. The application form shall​

46.18 specify the nominee's name, mailing address, electronic mail address, telephone number,​

46.19 preferred agency position sought, a statement that the nominee satisfies any legally prescribed​

46.20 qualifications, a statement whether the applicant has ever been convicted of a felony, and​

46.21 any other information the nominating person feels would be helpful to the appointing​

46.22 authority. The nominating person has the option of indicating the nominee's sex, political​

46.23 party preference or lack thereof, status with regard to disability, race, veteran status, and​

46.24 national origin on the application form. The application form shall make the option known.​

46.25 If a person submits an application at the suggestion of an appointing authority, the person​

46.26 shall so indicate on the application form. Twenty-one days after publication of a vacancy​

46.27 on the website of the secretary of state pursuant to subdivision 4, the secretary shall submit​

46.28 electronic copies of all applications received for a position to the appointing authority​

46.29 charged with filling the vacancy. If no applications have been received by the secretary for​

46.30 the vacant position by the date when electronic copies must be submitted to the appointing​

46.31 authority, the secretary shall so inform the appointing authority. Applications received by​

46.32 the secretary shall be deemed to have expired one year after receipt of the application. An​

46.33 application for a particular agency position shall be deemed to be an application for all​
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47.1 vacancies in that agency occurring prior to the expiration of the application and shall be​

47.2 public information.​

47.3 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 15.0597, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

47.4 Subd. 6. Appointments. (a) In making an appointment to a vacant agency position, the​

47.5 appointing authority shall consider applications for positions in that agency supplied by the​

47.6 secretary. No appointing authority may appoint someone to a vacant agency position until​

47.7 (1) ten five days after receipt of the applications for positions in that agency from the​

47.8 secretary or (2) receipt of notice from the secretary that no applications have been received​

47.9 for vacant positions in that agency as provided for in subdivision 5. At least five days before​

47.10 the date of appointment, the appointing authority shall issue a public announcement and​

47.11 inform the secretary by electronic means of the name of the person the appointing authority​

47.12 intends to appoint has appointed to fill the agency vacancy and the expiration date of that​

47.13 person's term.​

47.14 (b) No person may serve in a position until the appointing authority has submitted either​

47.15 (1) a signed notice of appointment or (2) the documents required by paragraph (e) to the​

47.16 secretary of state, and the term of the appointee may not commence on a date preceding the​

47.17 date of the signature on the notice of appointment or the paragraph (e) submission.​

47.18 (c) An oath of office for each appointee to an agency must be submitted to the secretary​

47.19 of state under section 358.05.​

47.20 (d) If the appointing authority intends to appoint a person other than one for whom an​

47.21 application was submitted pursuant to this section, the appointing authority shall complete​

47.22 an application form on behalf of the appointee and submit it to the secretary indicating on​

47.23 the application that it is submitted by the appointing authority.​

47.24 (e) An appointing authority making a direct appointment must submit a letter to the​

47.25 secretary of state stating the name of the person appointed, the agency and the specific seat​

47.26 to which they are appointed, contact information, the date on which the term begins, and​

47.27 length of the term.​

47.28 (f) No person may simultaneously occupy more than one position on the same agency​

47.29 board. Appointment or designation of a member as chair of an agency does not constitute​

47.30 a violation of this paragraph.​
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48.1 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 351.01, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

48.2 Subd. 2. When effective. Except as provided by subdivision 3 or other express provision​

48.3 of law or charter to the contrary, a resignation is effective when it is received by the officer,​

48.4 body, or board authorized to receive it. In the case of a position appointed by the governor​

48.5 under section 15.0597, the resignation must be submitted to the governor.​

48.6 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 364.021, is amended to read:​

48.7 364.021 PUBLIC AND PRIVATE EMPLOYMENT; CONSIDERATION OF​

48.8 CRIMINAL RECORDS.​

48.9 (a) A public or private employer may not inquire into or consider or require disclosure​

48.10 of the criminal record or criminal history of an applicant for employment until the applicant​

48.11 has been selected for an interview by the employer or, if there is not an interview, before a​

48.12 conditional offer of employment is made to the applicant.​

48.13 (b) This section does not apply to the Department of Corrections or to employers who​

48.14 have a statutory duty to conduct a criminal history background check or otherwise take into​

48.15 consideration a potential employee's criminal history during the hiring process.​

48.16 (c) This section does not prohibit an employer from notifying applicants that law or the​

48.17 employer's policy will disqualify an individual with a particular criminal history background​

48.18 from employment in particular positions.​

48.19 (d) An appointing authority may not inquire into or consider or require disclosure of the​

48.20 criminal record or criminal history of an applicant for appointment to multimember agencies,​

48.21 including boards, commissions, agencies, committees, councils, authorities, advisory task​

48.22 forces, and advisory councils, on an application form or, until the applicant has been selected​

48.23 for an interview by the appointing authority or is otherwise selected as a final candidate for​

48.24 appointment.​

48.25 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 364.06, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

48.26 Subdivision 1. Public employers. Any complaints or grievances concerning violations​

48.27 of sections 364.01 to 364.10 by public employers or violations of section 364.021 by public​

48.28 appointing authorities shall be processed and adjudicated in accordance with the procedures​

48.29 set forth in chapter 14, the Administrative Procedure Act."​

48.30 Delete the title and insert:​
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49.1 "A bill for an act​

49.2 relating to judiciary; amending policy provisions governing data privacy and access,​
49.3 civil remedies, human rights, civil forfeiture, criminal procedure, marriage, name​
49.4 changes, real property, and multimember agency appointments; amending​
49.5 Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 13.72, subdivision 19, by adding a subdivision;​
49.6 15.0597, subdivisions 1, 4, 5, 6; 168B.07, subdivision 3, by adding subdivisions;​
49.7 169A.63, subdivision 8; 259.11; 259.13, subdivision 1; 325F.70, by adding a​
49.8 subdivision; 336.9-601; 351.01, subdivision 2; 363A.02, subdivision 1; 363A.03,​
49.9 subdivisions 23, 44, by adding a subdivision; 363A.04; 363A.06, subdivision 1;​
49.10 363A.07, subdivision 2; 363A.08, subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 4, by adding a subdivision;​
49.11 363A.09, subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 4; 363A.11, subdivision 1; 363A.12, subdivision​
49.12 1; 363A.13, subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 4; 363A.16, subdivision 1; 363A.17; 363A.21,​
49.13 subdivision 1; 364.021; 364.06, subdivision 1; 473.387, subdivision 4; 504B.301;​
49.14 507.07; 508.52; 517.04; 517.08, subdivisions 1a, 1b; 518.191, subdivisions 1, 3;​
49.15 541.023, subdivision 6; 550.365, subdivision 2; 559.209, subdivision 2; 573.01;​
49.16 573.02, subdivisions 1, 2; 582.039, subdivision 2; 583.25; 583.26, subdivision 2;​
49.17 590.01, subdivision 4; 600.23; 609.5151; 609.5314, subdivision 3; proposing​
49.18 coding for new law in Minnesota Statutes, chapters 13; 259; 480; 484; 634;​
49.19 repealing Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 346.02; 363A.20, subdivision 3;​
49.20 363A.27; 504B.305; 582.14."​

49.21 And when so amended the bill do pass. Amendments adopted. Report adopted.​

49.22 .............................................................................
49.23 (Committee Chair)​

49.24 April 24, 2023......................................................
49.25 (Date of Committee recommendation)​
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