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Senator Latz from the Committee on Judiciary and Public Safety, to which was
referred

S.F. No. 2909: A bill for an act relating to state government; amending certain judiciary,
public safety, corrections, human rights, firearm, and 911 Emergency Communication
System statutory policy provisions; providing for reports; authorizing rulemaking;
appropriating money for judiciary, courts, civil legal services, Guardian ad Litem Board,
Uniform Laws Commission, Board on Judicial Standards, Board of Public Defense, human
rights, sentencing guidelines, public safety, emergency management, criminal apprehension,
fire marshal, firefighters, Office of Justice programs, Peace Officer Standards and Training
Board, Private Detective Board, corrections, incarceration and release, probation, juveniles,
and Ombudsperson for Corrections; amending Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 13.072,
subdivision 1; 244.03; 244.05, subdivisions 1b, 2, 5; 2971.06, subdivision 1; 299A.38;
299A.41, subdivision 3; 299A.52; 299N.02, subdivision 3; 326.32, subdivision 10; 326.3381,
subdivision 3; 363A.09, subdivisions 1, 2, by adding a subdivision; 403.02, subdivisions
7,9a, 11b, 16a, 17, 17¢c, 18, 19, 19a, 20, 20a, 21, by adding subdivisions; 403.025; 403.03,
subdivision 2; 403.05; 403.06; 403.07; 403.08; 403.09, subdivision 2; 403.10, subdivisions
2,3;403.11;403.113; 403.15, subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, by adding a subdivision; 611.23;
611A.211, subdivision 1; 611A.31, subdivisions 2, 3, by adding a subdivision; 611A.32;
624.712, by adding a subdivision; 624.713, subdivision 1; 624.7131, subdivisions 4, 5, 7,
9, 11; 624.7132, subdivisions 4, 5, 8, 12, 15; proposing coding for new law in Minnesota
Statutes, chapters 244; 299A; 299C; 624; 626; repealing Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections
299C.80, subdivision 7; 403.02, subdivision 13; 403.09, subdivision 3; 624.7131, subdivision
10; 624.7132, subdivisions 6, 14.

Reports the same back with the recommendation that the bill be amended as follows:

Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:

"ARTICLE 1
APPROPRIATIONS

Section 1. APPROPRIATIONS.

The sums shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are appropriated to the agencies

and for the purposes specified in this article. The appropriations are from the general fund,

or another named fund, and are available for the fiscal years indicated for each purpose.

The figures "2024" and "2025" used in this article mean that the appropriations listed under

them are available for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, or June 30, 2025, respectively.

The figure "2023" used in this article means that the appropriations listed under it are

available for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023. "The first year" is fiscal year 2024. "The

second year" is fiscal year 2025. "The biennium" is fiscal years 2024 and 2025.

Appropriations for fiscal year 2023 are effective the day following final enactment.

APPROPRIATIONS
Available for the Year
Ending June 30
2024 2025
Sec. 2. SUPREME COURT
Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation $ 70,971,000 $ 77,372,000

Article 1 Sec. 2. 1
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The amounts that may be spent for each

purpose are specified in the following

subdivisions.

Subd. 2. Supreme Court Operations 46,689,000

(a) Contingent Account

$5,000 each year is for a contingent account

for expenses necessary for the normal

operation of the court for which no other

reimbursement is provided.

(b) Justices' Compensation

Justices' compensation is increased by nine

percent in the first year and six percent in the

second year.

(c) Extreme Risk Protection Orders

$91,000 the first year and $182,000 the second

year are to implement the provisions of Senate

File No. 1117. If this provision or a

substantially similar one is not enacted in the

2023 legislative session, this appropriation

reverts to the general fund.

Subd. 3. Civil Legal Services 24,282,000

The general fund base is $29,899,000 in fiscal

year 2026 and thereafter.

Legal Services to Low-Income Clients in

Family Law Matters

$1,017,000 each year is to improve the access

of low-income clients to legal representation

in family law matters. This appropriation must

be distributed under Minnesota Statutes,

section 480.242, to the qualified legal services

program described in Minnesota Statutes,

section 480.242, subdivision 2, paragraph (a).

Article 1 Sec. 2. 2
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Any unencumbered balance remaining in the

first year does not cancel and is available in

the second year.

Sec. 3. COURT OF APPEALS $ 14,606,000 $

Judges' Compensation

Judges' compensation is increased by nine

percent in the first year and six percent in the

second year.

Sec. 4. DISTRICT COURTS $ 377,862,000 $

(a) Judges' Compensation

Judges' compensation is increased by nine

percent in the first year and six percent in the

second year.

(b) Court Case Backlog

$6,545,000 the first year is to fund the judicial

branch's court case backlog.

(c) Mandated Psychological Services

$1,996,000 each year is for mandated

psychological services.

(d) New Treatment Courts

$422,000 each year is to fund four new

treatment courts.

(e) Courtroom Technology Enhancements

$7,400,000 the first year is for courtroom

technology enhancements.

(f) Law Clerk Salary

$2,033,000 each year is to increase district

court law clerks' starting salaries.

Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section

16A.2835, the agency must not transfer this

appropriation.

Article 1 Sec. 4. 3
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4.1 (g) Interpreter Pay

4.2 $200,000 each year is to fund the increase in

4.3 the hourly fee paid to contract interpreters.

4.4 Sec. 5. GUARDIAN AD LITEM BOARD $ 24,358,000 $ 25,620,000
4.5 Sec. 6. TAX COURT $ 2,133,000 $ 2,268,000
4.6 Sec. 7. UNIFORM LAWS COMMISSION $ 115,000 $ 115,000
4.7 Sec. 8. BOARD ON JUDICIAL STANDARDS § 655,000 $ 645,000

4.8 (a) Availability of Appropriation

4.9 If the appropriation for either year is

4.10  insufficient, the appropriation for the other

411 fiscal year is available.

4.12  (b) Major Disciplinary Actions

413 $125,000 each year is for special investigative

4.14  and hearing costs for major disciplinary

4.15  actions undertaken by the board. This

4.16  appropriation does not cancel. Any

4.17  unencumbered and unspent balances remain

4.18  available for these expenditures until June 30,

4.19 2027.

420  Sec. 9. BOARD OF PUBLIC DEFENSE $ 154,134,000 $ 164,360,000

421  This appropriation is contingent on House File

422 No. 90, or a substantially similar bill funding

423 the Board of Public Defense for the 2025-2026

424  fiscal biennium, not being enacted in the 2023

425  legislative session.

426  Sec. 10. SENTENCING GUIDELINES $ 1,549,000 $ 1,488,000

427  (a) Analysis of Sentencing-Related Data

428  $125,000 the first year and $124,000 the

429  second year are to expand analysis of

430  sentencing-related data.

431 (b) Small Agency Resource Team (SmART)

Article 1 Sec. 10. 4
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$50,000 each year is for the commission's

accounting, budgeting, and human resources

to be provided by the Department of

Administration's small agency resource team.

(c) Court Information System Integration

$340,000 the first year and $348,000 the

second year are to fully integrate the

Sentencing Guidelines information systems

with the Minnesota Criminal Information

System (MNCIS). The base for this is $78,000

in fiscal year 2026 and thereafter.

(d) Comprehensive Review of the

Guidelines

$243,000 the first year and $147,000 the

second year are to begin a comprehensive

review of the Sentencing Guidelines. This is

a onetime appropriation.

Sec. 11. PUBLIC SAFETY

Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation $ 330,879,000 $
Appropriations by Fund
2024 2025

General 234,825,000 209,665,000

Special Revenue 18,074,000 18,327,000

State Government

Special Revenue 103,000 103,000
Environmental 119,000 127,000

Trunk Highway 2,429,000 2,429,000

911 Fund 75,329,000 68,597,000

The amounts that may be spent for each

purpose are specified in the following

subdivisions.

Subd. 2. Emergency Management 5,511,000

Article 1 Sec. 11. 5
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Appropriations by Fund
General 5,392,000 5,470,000
Environmental 119,000 127,000

(a) Supplemental Nonprofit Security Grants

$225,000 each year is for supplemental

nonprofit security grants under this paragraph.

Nonprofit organizations whose applications

for funding through the Federal Emergency

Management Agency's nonprofit security grant

program have been approved by the Division

of Homeland Security and Emergency

Management are eligible for grants under this

paragraph. No additional application shall be

required for grants under this paragraph, and

an application for a grant from the federal

program is also an application for funding

from the state supplemental program.

Eligible organizations may receive grants of

up to $75,000, except that the total received

by any individual from both the federal

nonprofit security grant program and the state

supplemental nonprofit security grant program

shall not exceed $75,000. Grants shall be

awarded in an order consistent with the

ranking given to applicants for the federal

nonprofit security grant program. No grants

under the state supplemental nonprofit security

grant program shall be awarded until the

announcement of the recipients and the

amount of the grants awarded under the federal

nonprofit security grant program.

The commissioner may use up to one percent

of the appropriation received under this

paragraph to pay costs incurred by the

department in administering the supplemental

Article 1 Sec. 11. 6
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nonprofit security grant program. This is a

onetime appropriation.

(b) Emergency Preparedness Staff

$250,000 each year is for two additional

emergency preparedness staff members.

(c) School Safety Center

$150,000 each year is to fund one new school

safety specialist at the Minnesota School

Safety Center.

(d) Local Government Emergency

Management

$1,500,000 each year is to award grants in

equal amounts to the emergency management

organization of the 87 counties, 11 federally

recognized Tribes, and four cities of the first

class for reimbursement of planning and

preparedness activities, including capital

purchases, that are eligible under federal

emergency management grant guidelines.

Local emergency management organizations

must make a request to HSEM for these grants.

Current local funding for emergency

management and preparedness activities may

not be supplanted by these additional state

funds. Of this amount, up to one percent may

be used for the administrative costs of the

agency. Funds appropriated for this purpose

do not cancel and are available until expended.

Unspent money may be redistributed to

eligible local emergency management

organizations.

By March 15, 2025, the commissioner of

public safety must submit a report on the grant

awards to the chairs and ranking minority

Article 1 Sec. 11. 7
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members of the legislative committees with

jurisdiction over emergency management and

preparedness activities. At a minimum, the

report must identify grant recipients and give

detailed information on how the grantees used

the money received.

This is a onetime appropriation.

Subd. 3. Criminal Apprehension 112,699,000
Appropriations by Fund

General 110,263,000 103,111,000

State Government

Special Revenue 7,000 7,000

Trunk Highway 2,429,000 2,429,000

(a) DWI Lab Analysis; Trunk Highway

Fund

Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section

161.20, subdivision 3, $2,429,000 each year

is from the trunk highway fund for staff and

operating costs for laboratory analysis related

to driving-while-impaired cases.

(b) Use of Force Investigations Unit

$4,419,000 each year is to fund the Use of

Force Investigations Unit.

(c) Violent Crime Reduction Strategy;

Violent Crime Support Unit (VCSU)

$2,000,000 each year is for Violent Crime

Support Unit forensic staff and equipment.

(d) Violent Crime Reduction Strategy;

Criminal Information and Operations

(CIOS)

$2,000,000 each year is for analytical and

operational support.

Article 1 Sec. 11. 8
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(e) Violent Crime Reduction Strategy;

Violent Crime Reduction Strategy Initiative

(VCRSI)

$2,000,000 the first year and $1,600,000 the

second year are to fund partnerships among

local, state, and federal agencies. The VCRSI

shall work with civilian criminal intelligence

analysts and forensic science laboratory

personnel to strategically identify those

involved in acts of violence or other threats to

public safety.

(f) Firearm Transfers; Permitting Modified

$70,000 the first year is to implement Senate

File No. 1116. If this provision or a

substantially similar one is not enacted in the

2023 legislative session, this appropriation

reverts to the general fund.

(g) Human Trafficking Response Task

Force

$2,200,000 each year is for staff and operating

costs to support the Bureau of Criminal

Apprehension-led Minnesota Human

Trafficking Investigator's Task Force.

(h) FBI Compliance, Critical IT

Infrastructure, and Cybersecurity

Upgrades

$9,910,000 the first year and $5,097,000 the

second year are for cybersecurity investments,

critical infrastructure upgrades, and Federal

Bureau of Investigation audit compliance. Of

this amount, $6,643,000 the first year and

$1,830,000 the second year are onetime and

is available until June 30, 2026. The base in

fiscal year 2026 and thereafter is $3,267,000.

Article 1 Sec. 11. 9
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(1) State Fraud Unit

$870,000 each year is for staff and operating

costs to create the State Fraud Unit to

centralize the state's response to activities of

fraud with an estimated impact of $100,000

Oor more.

(j) Decrease Forensic Evidence Turnaround

$3,000,000 the first year and $2,500,000 the

second year are to decrease turnaround times

for forensic processing of evidence in criminal

investigations for state and local law

enforcement partners.

(k) Expungement-Related Costs

$3,737,000 the first year and $190,000 the

second year are for costs associated with the

changes to expungement law made in this act.

(1) Report on Fusion Center Activities

$115,000 each year is for the report required

under Minnesota Statutes, section 299C.055.

This is a onetime appropriation.

Subd. 4. Fire Marshal 17,013,000
Appropriations by Fund

General 5,184,000 5,190,000

Special Revenue 11,829,000 12,082,000

The special revenue fund appropriation is from

the fire safety account in the special revenue

fund and is for activities under Minnesota

Statutes, section 299F.012.

(a) Inspections

$300,000 each year is for inspection of nursing

homes and boarding care facilities.

Article 1 Sec. 11. 10
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(b) Hazardous Materials and Emergency

Response Teams

$1,695,000 the first year and $1,595,000 the

second year are from the fire safety account

in the special revenue fund for hazardous

materials and emergency response teams. The

base for these purposes is $1,695,000 in the

first year of future biennia and $1,595,000 in

the second year of future biennia.

(c) Bomb Squad Reimbursements

$300,000 each year is for reimbursements to

local governments for bomb squad services.

(d) Nonresponsible Party Reimbursements

$750,000 each year is for the nonresponsible

party hazardous material and bomb squad

incident reimbursements.

(¢) Hometown Heroes Assistance Program

$4,000,000 each year is for grants to the

Minnesota Firefighter Initiative to fund the

hometown heroes assistance program

established in Minnesota Statutes, section

299A.477.

Subd. 5. Firefighter Training and Education

Board 7,175,000
Appropriations by Fund

General 1,000,000 1,000,000

Special Revenue 6,175,000 6,175,000

The special revenue fund appropriation is from

the fire safety account in the special revenue

fund and is for activities under Minnesota

Statutes, section 299F.012.

(a) Firefighter Training and Education

Article 1 Sec. 11. 11
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$4,500,000 each year from the special revenue

fund and $1,000,000 each year from the

general fund is for firefighter training and

education. The general fund base for this

activity is $0 in fiscal year 2026 and thereafter.

(b) Task Force 1

$1,125,000 each year is for the Minnesota

Task Force 1.

(c) Task Force 2

$200,000 each year is for Minnesota Task

Force 2.

(d) Air Rescue

$350,000 each year is for the Minnesota Air

Rescue Team.

(e) Firefighter Training and Education

$1,000,000 each year is for firefighter training

and education. This is a onetime appropriation.

(f) Unappropriated Revenue

Any additional unappropriated money

collected in fiscal year 2023 is appropriated

to the commissioner of public safety for the

purposes of Minnesota Statutes, section

299F.012. The commissioner may transfer

appropriations and base amounts between

activities in this subdivision.

Subd. 6. Alcohol and Gambling

Enforcement 4,102,000
Appropriations by Fund

General 4,032,000 3,787,000

Special Revenue 70,000 70,000

Article 1 Sec. 11. 12
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(a) $70,000 each year is from the lawful

gambling regulation account in the special

revenue fund.

(b) $600,000 the first year and $100,000 the

second year are for enforcement information

technology improvements.

Subd. 7. Office of Justice Programs 86,505,000
Appropriations by Fund
General 86,409,000 86,507,000

State Government
Special Revenue 96,000 96,000

(a) Federal Victims of Crime Funding Gap

$11,000,000 each year is to fund services for

victims of domestic violence, sexual assault,

child abuse, and other crimes. This is a

onetime appropriation.

(b) Additional Staff

$667,000 each year is for additional Office of

Justice Program administrative and oversight

staff.

(c) Domestic and Sexual Violence Housing

$1,250,000 each year is to establish: a

Domestic Violence Housing First grant

program to provide resources for survivors of

violence to access safe and stable housing and

for staff to provide mobile advocacy and

expertise in housing resources in their

community, and a Minnesota Domestic and

Sexual Violence Transitional Housing

program to develop and support medium- to

long-term transitional housing for survivors

of domestic and sexual violence with

supportive services. This is a onetime

appropriation.

Article 1 Sec. 11. 13

SS2909R

86,603,000



14.1

14.2

14.3

14.4

14.5

14.6

14.7

14.8

14.9

14.10

14.11

14.12

14.13

14.14

14.15

14.16

14.17

14.18

14.19

14.20

14.21

14.22

14.23

14.24

14.25

14.26

14.27

14.28

14.29

14.30

14.31

14.32

14.33

03/31/23 SENATEE SS

(d) Office for Missing and Murdered

African American Women

$790,000 each year is to establish and

maintain the Minnesota Office for Missing

and Murdered African American Women.

(e) Office of Missing and Murdered

Indigenous Relatives (MMIR)

$274,000 each year is for increased staff and

operating costs of the Office and MMIR

Advisory Board.

(f) Reward Account

$110,000 the first year is for deposit into the

reward account in the special revenue fund

created in Minnesota Statutes, section

299A.86.

(g) Minnesota Youth Justice Office

$5,000,000 each year is for staff and data

analysis and evaluation, increased funding for

youth intervention programs, disparities

reduction and delinquency prevention

programming, and to establish a Statewide

Crossover/Dual Status Youth grant program,

justice involved youth mental health grant

program, gang prevention grant program, and

community based alternatives to incarceration

grant program. This is a onetime

appropriation.

(h) Community Crime Prevention Grants

$5,000,000 each year is for Community Crime

Prevention Program grants, authorized under

Minnesota Statutes, section 299A.296. This

1S a onetime appropriation.

(i) Resources for Victims of Crime

Article 1 Sec. 11. 14
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$1,000,000 each year is for general crime

victim grants to meet the needs of victims of

crime not covered by domestic violence,

sexual assault, or child abuse services. This is

a onetime appropriation.

(j) Minnesota Heals

$2,800,000 each year is for the Minnesota

Heals grant program. This is a onetime

appropriation.

(k) Youth Intervention Grants

$5,000,000 each year is for youth intervention

programs under Minnesota Statutes, section

299A.73. This is a onetime appropriation.

(1) Sexual Assault Exam Costs

$4,000,000 each year is to reimburse qualified

health care providers for the expenses

associated with medical examinations

administered to victims of criminal sexual

conduct as required under Minnesota Statutes,

section 609.35.

(m) Pathways to Policing

$400,000 each year is for reimbursement

grants to state and local law enforcement

agencies that operate pathway to policing

programs. Applicants for reimbursement

grants may receive up to 50 percent of the cost

of compensating and training program

participants. Reimbursement grants shall be

proportionally allocated based on the number

of grant applications approved by the

commissioner. This is a onetime appropriation.

(n) Direct Assistance to Crime Victim

Survivors

Article 1 Sec. 11. 15
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$5,000,000 each year is for crime victim

services for the Office of Justice Programs to

provide grants for direct services and advocacy

for victims of sexual assault, general crime,

domestic violence, and child abuse. Funding

must support the direct needs of organizations

serving victims of crime by providing: direct

client assistance to crime victims; competitive

wages for direct service staff; hotel stays and

other housing-related supports and services;

culturally responsive programming; prevention

programming, including domestic abuse

transformation and restorative justice

programming; and other needs of

organizations and crime victim survivors.

Services funded must include services for

victims of crime in underserved communities

most impacted by violence and reflect the

ethnic, racial, economic, cultural, and

geographic diversity of the state. The office

shall prioritize culturally specific programs,

or organizations led and staffed by persons of

color that primarily serve communities of

color, when allocating funds.

(o) Racially Diverse Youth

$250,000 each year is for grants to

organizations to address racial disparity of

youth using shelter services in the Rochester

and St. Cloud regional areas. Of this amount,

$125,000 each year is to address this in the

Rochester area and $125,000 each year is to

address this in the St. Cloud area. A grant

recipient shall establish and operate a pilot

program connected to shelter services to

engage in community intervention outreach,

Article 1 Sec. 11. 16
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mobile case management, family reunification,

aftercare, and follow up when family members

are released from shelter services. A pilot

program must specifically address the high

number of racially diverse youth that enter

shelters in the regions. This is a onetime

appropriation.

(p) Violence Prevention Project Research

Center

$500,000 each year is to fund a violence

prevention project research center that operates

as a nonprofit, nonpartisan research center

dedicated to reducing violence in society and

using data and analysis to improve criminal

justice-related policy and practice in

Minnesota. The research center must place an

emphasis on issues related to gun violence.

This is a onetime appropriation.

(q) Prosecutorial Training Grants

$100,000 each year is for grants to the

Minnesota County Attorneys Association to

be used for prosecutorial and law enforcement

training, including trial school training and

train-the-trainer courses. This is a onetime

appropriation.

(r) Law Enforcement Mental Health and

Wellness Training Grant

$75,000 each year is for a grant to an

accredited, nonprofit graduate school that

trains mental health professionals.

The grantee must use the grant to develop and

implement a law enforcement mental health

and wellness training program to train licensed

counselors to understand the nuances, culture,

Article 1 Sec. 11. 17
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and stressors of the law enforcement

profession so that they can provide effective

and successful treatment to officers in distress.

The grantee must collaborate with law

enforcement officers and mental health

professionals who are familiar with the

psychological, cultural, and professional issues

of their field to develop and implement the

program.

The grantee may provide the program online.

The grantee must seek to recruit additional

participants from outside the 11-county

metropolitan area.

The grantee must create a resource directory

to provide law enforcement agencies with

names of counselors who complete the

program and other resources to support law

enforcement professionals with overall

wellness. The grantee shall collaborate with

the Department of Public Safety and law

enforcement organizations to promote the

directory. This is a onetime appropriation.

(s) Public Safety Innovation Board

$55,000 each year is for the Public Safety

Innovation Board described in Minnesota

Statutes, section 299A.625. This is a onetime

appropriation.

(t) First Responders' Mental Health

$500,000 each year is for a grant to a nonprofit

organization that provides nonmedical mental

health support for present and former law

enforcement officers and first responders

facing employment-related mental health

issues, utilizing interactive group activity and

Article 1 Sec. 11. 18
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other methods. This is a onetime

appropriation.

(u) Administration Costs

Up to 2.5 percent of the grant funds

appropriated in this subdivision may be used

by the commissioner to administer the grant

program.

Subd. 8. Emergency Communication Networks 90,274,000
Appropriations by Fund

General 14,945,000 -0-

911 Fund 75,329,000 68,597,000

This appropriation is from the state

government special revenue fund for 911

emergency telecommunications services unless

otherwise indicated.

(a) Public Safety Answering Points

$28,011,000 the first year and $28,011,000

the second year shall be distributed as

provided under Minnesota Statutes, section

403.113, subdivision 2.

(b) Transition to Next Generation 911

$7,000,000 the first year is to support Public

Safety Answering Points' transition to Next

Generation 911. Funds may be used for

planning, cybersecurity, GIS data collection

and maintenance, 911 call processing

equipment, and new Public Safety Answering

Point technology to improve service delivery.

Funds shall be distributed by October 1, 2023,

as provided in Minnesota Statutes, section

403.113, subdivision 2. Funds are available

until June 30, 2025, and any unspent funds

must be returned to the 911 emergency

Article 1 Sec. 11. 19
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telecommunications service account. This is

a onetime appropriation.

Each eligible entity receiving these funds must

provide a detailed report on how the funds

were used to the commissioner of public safety

by August 1, 2025.

(c) ARMER State Backbone Operating

Costs

$10,116,000 the first year and $10,384,000

the second year are transferred to the

commissioner of transportation for costs of

maintaining and operating the statewide radio

system backbone.

(d) Statewide Emergency Communications

Board

$1,000,000 each year is to the Statewide

Emergency Communications Board. Funds

may be used for operating costs, to provide

competitive grants to local units of

government to fund enhancements to a

communication system, technology, or support

activity that directly provides the ability to

deliver the 911 call between the entry point to

the 911 system and the first responder, and to

further the strategic goals set forth by the

SECB Statewide Communication

Interoperability Plan.

(e) Statewide Public Safety Radio

Communication System Equipment Grants

$9,945,000 the first year from the general fund

is for grants to local government units,

federally recognized Tribal entities, and state

agencies participating in the statewide Allied

Radio Matrix for Emergency Response

Article 1 Sec. 11. 20
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(ARMER) public safety radio communication

system established under Minnesota Statutes,

section 403.36, subdivision le. The grants

must be used to purchase or upgrade portable

radios, mobile radios, and related equipment

that is interoperable with the ARMER system.

Each local government unit may receive only

one grant. The grant is contingent upon a

match of at least five percent from nonstate

funds. The director of the Department of

Public Safety Emergency Communication

Networks division, in consultation with the

Statewide Emergency Communications Board,

must administer the grant program. This

appropriation is available until June 30, 2026.

Subd. 9. Public Safety Administration

(a) Public Safety Officer Survivor Benefits

$1,500,000 each year is for payment of public

safety officer survivor benefits under

Minnesota Statutes, section 299A.44. If the

appropriation for either year is insufficient,

the appropriation for the other year is

available.

(b) Soft Body Armor Reimbursements

$1,000,000 each year is for increases in the

base appropriation for soft body armor

reimbursements under Minnesota Statutes,

section 299A.38. This is a onetime

appropriation.

(c) Body Camera Grants

$4,500,000 the first year and $1,500,000 the

second year are for grants to local units of

government to purchase and maintain portable

recording devices for use by licensed peace

Article 1 Sec. 11. 21
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officers employed by the applicant. Each grant

is contingent upon a local match of at least 25

percent from nonstate funds. The board must

give priority to applicants that do not have a

portable recording system program and to

applicants with law enforcement departments

that employ fewer than 50 licensed peace

officers. Up to 2.5 percent of the appropriation

1s available to be used for administrative costs

incurred by the commissioner in carrying out

the provisions of this paragraph. This is a

onetime appropriation.

(d) First Responder Wellness Office

$600,000 each year is to establish and

administer an office to provide leadership and

resources for improving the mental health of

emergency and first responders statewide.

Sec. 12. PEACE OFFICER STANDARDS AND
TRAINING (POST) BOARD $ 12,863,000 $ 12,717,000

(a) Peace Officer Training Reimbursements

$2,949,000 each year is for reimbursements

to local governments for peace officer training

costs.

(b) Additional Staff

$592,000 the first year and $593,000 the

second year are for additional staff and

equipment. The base for this appropriation is

$576,000 in fiscal year 2026 and thereafter.

(c) Additional Office Space

$228,000 the first year and $30,000 the second

year are for additional office space.

(d) Compliance Reviews and Investigations

Article 1 Sec. 12. 22
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$435,000 each year is to hire investigators and

additional staff to perform compliance reviews

and investigate alleged code of conduct

violations, and to obtain or improve equipment

for that purpose. This is a onetime

appropriation.

Sec. 13. PRIVATE DETECTIVE BOARD $ 476,000 $

$178,000 the first year and $103,000 the

second year are for equipment and an

additional staff member.

Sec. 14. HUMAN RIGHTS $ 8,191,000 $

(a) Civil Rights Enforcement

$1,500,000 each year is for increased civil

rights enforcement. The base for this

appropriation is $2,000,000 in fiscal year 2026

and thereafter.

(b) Mediator Payments

$20,000 each year is to fund payments to

mediators. This appropriation is onetime and

is available until June 30, 2027.

(c) Data Gathering and Reporting

$538,000 the first year and $396,000 the

second year are to gather, analyze, and report

on discrimination and hate incidents

throughout Minnesota.

Sec. 15. CORRECTIONS

Subdivision 1. Total
Appropriation $ 818,323,000 $

The amounts that may be spent for each

purpose are specified in the following

subdivisions.

Article 1 Sec. 15. 23
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Subd. 2. Incarceration and

Prerelease Services 534,052,000

(a) ARMER Radio System

$1,500,000 each year is to upgrade and

maintain the ARMER radio system within

correctional facilities. This is a onetime

appropriation.

(b) State Corrections Safety and Security

$2,055,000 the first year and $2,772,000 the

second year are for state corrections safety

and security investments. The base for this

appropriation is $3,560,000 in fiscal year 2026

and thereafter.

(c) Health Services

$2,348,000 the first year and $3,723,000 the

second year are for the health services

division. Of this amount:

(1) $1,072,000 the first year and $2,542,000

the second year are for 24-hour nursing

support to five state correctional facilities;

(2) $247,000 each year is for behavioral health

care at Minnesota Correctional

Facility-Shakopee;

(3) $247,000 each year is for dental care

equipment, software, and information

technology support;

(4) $225,000 the first year and $375,000 the

second year are to establish a disease

management unit;

(5) $75,000 the first year is for a feasibility

study of creating a private sector nursing home

for difficult-to-place inmates with significant

health care needs; and

Article 1 Sec. 15. 24
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(6) $482,000 the first year and $312,000 the

second year are for investments in

telemedicine. The base for this purpose is

$227,000 in fiscal year 2026 and thereafter.

(d) Virtual Court Coordination

$500,000 each year is for virtual court

coordination and modernization.

(e) Educational Programming and Support

Services

$6,806,000 the first year and $7,631,000 the

second year are for educational programming

and support services. Of this amount:

(1) $2,320,000 the first year and $3,145,000

the second year are for increased education

staffing. The base for this purpose is
$2,901,000 in fiscal year 2026 and thereafter;

(2) $280,000 each year is for increased

classroom space. The base for this purpose is

$285,000 in fiscal year 2026 and thereafter;

(3) $918,000 each year is for information

technology education components. The base

for this purpose is $779,000 in fiscal year 2026

and thereafter;

(4) $650,000 each year is to expand vocational

training. The base for this purpose is $50,000

in fiscal year 2026 and thereafter;

(5) $200,000 each year is to support Pell

partnerships in Minnesota correctional

facilities;

(6) $310,000 each year to expand cognitive

processing therapy at Minnesota Correctional

Facility-Faribault, Minnesota Correctional

Facility-Lino Lakes, and Minnesota

Article 1 Sec. 15. 25
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Correctional Facility-Red Wing minimum

security units;

(7) $128,000 each year is for educational

supplies; and

(8) $2,000,000 each year is to expand work

release, including educational work release.

This is a onetime appropriation.

(f) Successful Re-Entry

$1,000,000 each year is for successful re-entry

initiatives.

(g) Evidence-based Correctional Practices

Unit

$1,000,000 each year is to establish and

maintain a unit to direct and oversee the use

of evidence-based correctional practices across

the department.

(h) Family Support Unit

$446,000 each year is to create a family

support unit to develop strategies and policies

to support incarcerated individuals and their

families.

(1) Inmate Phone Calls

$2,000,000 each year is to support

communications infrastructure for incarcerated

individuals to maintain contact with family

members and supportive contacts. This is a

onetime appropriation.

(j) Compensation for Program Participation

$1,000,000 each year is to increase

compensation for incarcerated persons who

participate in prison programming

Article 1 Sec. 15. 26
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assignments, including work, education, and

treatment. This is a onetime appropriation.

(k) Interstate Compact for Adult

Supervision; Transfer Expense

Reimbursement

$250,000 each year is for reimbursements

under Minnesota Statutes, section 243.1609.

(1) Model Discharge Plans

$80,000 each year is to comply with the model

discharge plan requirements under Minnesota

Statutes, section 641.155. This is a onetime

appropriation.

(m) Task Force on Aiding and Abetting

Felony Murder

$25,000 the first year is for costs associated

with the revival of the task force on aiding and

abetting felony murder.

Subd. 3. Community
Supervision and Postrelease
Services

(2) Community Corrections Act

$142,971,000 each year is for community

supervision services. This appropriation shall

be distributed according to the community

corrections aid funding formula in Minnesota

Statutes, section 401.10.

(b) Tribal Nation Supervision

$2,750,000 each year is for grants to Tribal

Nations to provide supervision in tandem with

the department.

(c) Treatment and Support Grants

$10,000,000 each year is to provide grants to

counties and local providers to implement

Article 1 Sec. 15. 27
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treatment programs, support programs, and

innovative supervision practices to reduce the

risk of recidivism. The base for this activity

is $8,560,000 in fiscal year 2026 and

thereafter.

(d) Community Supervision Advisory

Committee

$75,000 the first year is to fund the community

supervision advisory committee under

Minnesota Statutes, section 401.17.

(e) Successful Re-Entry

$266,000 each year is for successful re-entry

Initiatives.

(f) Community-Based Sex Offender

Treatment

$2,415,000 each year is for additional

community-based sex offender treatment.

(g) Housing Initiatives

$2,130,000 each year is for housing initiatives

to support stable housing of incarcerated

individuals upon release. The base for this

purpose in fiscal year 2026 and thereafter is

$1,685,000. Of this amount:

(1) $1,000,000 each year is for housing

stabilization prerelease services and program

evaluation. The base for this purpose in fiscal

year 2026 and thereafter is $760,000;

(2) $500,000 each year is for rental assistance

for incarcerated individuals approaching

release, on supervised release, or on probation

who are at risk of homelessness;

Article 1 Sec. 15. 28
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(3) $405,000 each year is for culturally

responsive trauma-informed transitional

housing. The base for this purpose in fiscal

year 2026 and thereafter is $200,000; and

(4) $225,000 each year is for housing

coordination activities.

(h) Pathways from Prison to Employment

$1,460,000 the first year and $1,775,000 the

second year are to establish an economic

opportunity and public safety unit to support

job training and connect incarcerated

individuals with public and private employers,

trade associations, and community colleges to

provide stable employment upon release. Of

this amount:

(1) $488,000 the first year and $625,000 the

second year are to establish an Economic

Opportunity and Public Safety (EOPS) unit to

develop and strengthen relationships in the

community and between the state and

employers;

(2) $472,000 the first year and $650,000 the

second year are for the EMPLOY program to

increase employment readiness; and

(3) $500,000 each year is for

community-based contracted programming

and services for prerelease and postrelease

employment and vocational services.

(1) Juvenile Treatment Homes

$5,000,000 the first year is for a grant to

Ramsey County to establish, with input from

community stakeholders, including impacted

youth and families, up to seven intensive

Article 1 Sec. 15. 29

SS2909R



30.1

30.2

30.3

30.4

30.5

30.6

30.7

30.8

30.9

30.10

30.11

30.12

30.13

30.14

30.15

30.16

30.17

30.18

30.19

30.20

30.21

30.22

30.23

30.24

30.25

30.26

30.27

30.28

30.29

30.30

30.31

30.32

30.33

03/31/23 SENATEE SS

trauma-informed therapeutic treatment homes

in Ramsey County that are culturally specific,

community-based, and can be secured. These

residential spaces must provide intensive

treatment and intentional healing for youth as

ordered by the court as part of the disposition

of a case in juvenile court.

(j) Violence Prevention and Wellness

Support

$2,500,000 the first year is for a grant to

Ramsey County to award grants to develop

new and further enhance existing

community-based organizational support

through violence prevention and community

wellness grants. Grantees must use the money

to:

(1) create family support groups and resources

to support families during the time a young

person is placed out-of-home following a

juvenile delinquency disposition and support

the family through the period of post

placement reentry;

(2) create community-based respite options

for conflict or crisis de-escalation to prevent

incarceration or further systems involvement

for families; and

(3) establish additional meaningful

employment opportunities for

systems-involved youth.

(k) Alternatives to Incarceration; Mower

County

$80,000 each year is for Mower County to

facilitate access to community treatment
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options under the alternatives to incarceration

program.

Subd. 4. Organizational, Regulatory, and
Administrative Services

(a) Public Safety Data Infrastructure

$22,500,000 each year is for the development

and management of statewide public safety

information sharing infrastructure and

foundation technologies. The department shall

consult with county correctional supervision

providers, the Judicial Branch, the Minnesota

Sheriff's Association, the Minnesota Chiefs

of Police Association, and the Bureau of

Criminal Apprehension, among other public

safety stakeholders, in the development,

design, and implementation of a statewide

public safety information sharing

infrastructure. This is a onetime appropriation.

(b) Recruitment and Retention

$4,803,000 the first year and $7,323,000 the

second year are for recruitment and retention

initiatives. The base for this purpose is

$4,173,000 in fiscal year 2026 and thereafter.

Of this amount, $2,300,000 each year is to

create a pilot staff wellness program for

trauma recovery, resiliency, and well-being

and for the staff support and wellness unit.

The base for this purpose in fiscal year 2026

and thereafter is $300,000.

(c) Accountability and Transparency

$1,200,000 each year is for Accountability

and Transparency Initiatives. Of this amount,

$191,000 the first year and $362,000 the
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second year are for additional financial

services staff.

(d) Supervised Release Board

$40,000 each year is to establish a supervised

release board as described in Minnesota

Statutes, section 244.049.

(e) State Corrections Safety and Security

$190,000 each year is for a continuity of

operations plan coordinator and continuity of

operations software.

(f) Clemency Review Commission

$986,000 each year is for the clemency review

commission described in Minnesota Statutes,

section 638.09.

Sec. 16. OMBUDSPERSON FOR
CORRECTIONS $ 1,105,000 $ 1,099,000

Sec. 17. COMPETENCY RESTORATION
BOARD $ 11,350,000 $ 10,900,000

Sec. 18. PUBLIC SAFETY OFFICER SURVIVOR BENEFITS DEFICIENCY;
FISCAL YEAR 2023 APPROPRIATION.

$1,000,000 in fiscal year 2023 is appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner

of public safety to be used for payment of public safety officer survivor benefits under

Minnesota Statutes, section 299A.44. This is a onetime appropriation.

Sec. 19. INTENSIVE COMPREHENSIVE PEACE OFFICER EDUCATION AND
TRAINING PROGRAM; OUTREACH; FISCAL YEAR 2023 APPROPRIATION.

$5,000,000 in fiscal year 2023 is appropriated to the commissioner of public safety from

the general fund to implement the intensive comprehensive peace officer education and

training program described in Minnesota Statutes, section 626.8516, and conduct outreach

to qualified candidates under that section. The commissioner shall use the funds to target

and recruit candidates or groups of candidates who meet the program's eligibility

requirements with an emphasis placed on reaching candidates from groups that are currently

underrepresented in law enforcement and who represent the state's increasingly diverse
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population. The commissioner shall conduct outreach directly to statewide and national

peace officer affinity groups that represent groups that are currently underrepresented in

law enforcement. The commissioner shall contract with an agency with proven experience

and success in targeting and recruiting candidates for specific professions.

Sec.20. DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS DEFICIENCY; FISCAL YEAR 2023
APPROPRIATION.

$12,643,000 in fiscal year 2023 is appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner

of corrections for operational expenses. This is a onetime appropriation.

Sec. 21. VIOLENT CRIME INVESTIGATION TEAMS; SPECIAL REVENUE
ACCOUNT; APPROPRIATION.

(a) The violent crime investigation team account is created in the special revenue fund

consisting of money deposited, donated, allotted, transferred, or otherwise provided to the

account. Of the amount in the account, up to $2,800,000 each year is appropriated to the

commissioner of public safety for violent crime investigation teams, organized under

Minnesota Statutes, section 299A.642, to increase their capacity to conduct forensic and

investigatory work to expedite clearance rates.

(b) The commissioner shall allocate the funds to the violent crime investigation teams

that have the most acute need for supplemental resources based on the rate of violent crime

in the team's jurisdiction and the need to improve clearance rates for violent crime

investigations. The commissioner must consult with and consider recommendations from

the Violent Crime Coordinating Council created under Minnesota Statutes, section 299A.642,

prior to awarding grants from this fund.

(c) As a condition of receiving funds from this account, the lead local unit of government

of a violent crime investigation team must enter a joint powers agreement with the

commissioner of public safety under which the commissioner shall provide an investigator

from the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension to be a member of the team.

Sec. 22. VIOLENT CRIME INVESTIGATION TEAM ACCOUNT; TRANSFER.

$14,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 is transferred from the general fund to the violent crime

investigation team account in the special revenue fund. The base for this appropriation is

$0 in fiscal year 2025 and thereafter.
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Sec. 23. COMMUNITY CRIME AND VIOLENCE PREVENTION GRANTS;
SPECIAL REVENUE ACCOUNT; APPROPRIATION.

(a) The community crime and violence prevention account is created in the special

revenue fund consisting of money deposited, donated, allotted, transferred, or otherwise

provided to the account. Of the amount in the account, up to $2,800,000 each year is

appropriated to the commissioner of public safety for grants administered by the Office of

Justice Programs to be awarded to community violence prevention and intervention programs.

(b) Grants may be awarded to community-based nonprofit organizations, local

governments, or the governing bodies of federally recognized Indian Tribes. Applicants

that are nonprofit organizations must demonstrate the support of the local government or

Indian Tribe where the nonprofit will be offering services. Support may be demonstrated

by partnerships with the local government or Indian Tribe, or letters or other affirmations

of support.

(c) Grant recipients must operate crime or violence prevention programs with an

established record of providing direct services to community members. Programs must be

culturally competent and identify specific outcomes that can be tracked and measured to

demonstrate the impact the program has on community crime and violence. Crime or violence

prevention programs may include but are not limited to:

(1) victim services programs, including but not limited to programs that provide services

to victims and families that have experienced gun violence;

(2) re-entry programs that provide support and reintegration services to recently

incarcerated individuals;

(3) homelessness assistance programs;

(4) restorative justice programs;

(5) programs that intervene in volatile situations to mediate disputes before they become

violent; and

(6) juvenile diversion programs.

(d) As part of the narrative and statistical progress reports provided to the Office of

Justice Programs, grant recipients must report on the specific outcomes identified pursuant

to paragraph (c).

(e) The Office of Justice Programs may use up to 2.5 percent of the annual appropriation

to administer the grants.
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Sec. 24. COMMUNITY CRIME AND VIOLENCE PREVENTION ACCOUNT;
TRANSFER.

$14,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 is transferred from the general fund to the community

crime and violence prevention account in the special revenue fund. The base for this

appropriation is $0 in fiscal year 2025 and thereafter.

Sec. 25. CRISIS RESPONSE AND CRIMINAL INVESTIGATION GRANTS;
SPECIAL REVENUE ACCOUNT; APPROPRIATION.

(a) The crisis response and criminal investigation account is created in the special revenue

fund consisting of money deposited, donated, allotted, transferred, or otherwise provided

to the account. Of the amount in the account, up to $2,800,000 each year is appropriated to

the commissioner of public safety for grants administered by the Office of Justice Programs

to be awarded to local law enforcement agencies or local governments to improve responses

to situations involving individuals experiencing a mental health crisis and to improve criminal

investigations.

(b) Of the amount appropriated in fiscal year 2024, $1,120,000 is for grants to local law

enforcement agencies to acquire, upgrade, or replace technology or equipment used to

investigate crimes or process evidence and $1,680,000 is for the grants described in paragraph
©).

(¢) $2,800,000 in fiscal years 2025, 2026, 2027, and 2028 is for grants to local law

enforcement agencies and local governments to maintain or expand crisis response teams

in which social workers or mental health providers are sent as first responders when calls

for service indicate that an individual is having a mental health crisis.

(d) The Office of Justice Programs may use up to 2.5 percent of the annual appropriation

to administer the grants.

Sec. 26. CRISIS RESPONSE AND CRIMINAL INVESTIGATION ACCOUNT;

TRANSFER.

$14,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 is transferred from the general fund to the crisis response

and criminal investigation account in the special revenue fund. The base for this appropriation

is $0 in fiscal year 2025 and thereafter.
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ARTICLE 2
JUDICIARY

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 13.072, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Opinion; when required. (a) Upon request of a government entity, the
commissioner may give a written opinion on any question relating to public access to
government data, rights of subjects of data, or classification of data under this chapter or
other Minnesota statutes governing government data practices. Upon request of any person
who disagrees with a determination regarding data practices made by a government entity,
the commissioner may give a written opinion regarding the person's rights as a subject of

government data or right to have access to government data.

(b) Upon request of a body subject to chapter 13D, the commissioner may give a written
opinion on any question relating to the body's duties under chapter 13D. Upon request of a
person who disagrees with the manner in which members of a governing body perform their
duties under chapter 13D, the commissioner may give a written opinion on compliance with

chapter 13D. A¢

(c) If the commissioner determines that no opinion will be issued, the commissioner
shall give the government entity or body subject to chapter 13D or person requesting the
opinion notice of the decision not to issue the opinion within five business days of receipt

of the request. Notice must be in writing. For notice by mail, the decision not to issue an

opinion is effective when placed with the United States Postal Service or with the central

mail system of the state of Minnesota. If this notice is not given, the commissioner shall

issue an opinion within 20 50 days of receipt of the request.

state-the reason-forextending the-deadline: The government entity or the members of a body

subject to chapter 13D must be provided a reasonable opportunity to explain the reasons

for its decision regarding the data or how they perform their duties under chapter 13D. The
commissioner or the government entity or body subject to chapter 13D may choose to give
notice to the subject of the data concerning the dispute regarding the data or compliance

with chapter 13D.

(e) This section does not apply to a determination made by the commissioner of health

under section 13.3805, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), or 144.6581.
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(f) A written, numbered, and published opinion issued by the attorney general shall take

precedence over an opinion issued by the commissioner under this section.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 357.021, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Fee amounts. The fees to be charged and collected by the court administrator

shall be as follows:

(1) In every civil action or proceeding in said court, including any case arising under
the tax laws of the state that could be transferred or appealed to the Tax Court, the plaintiff,
petitioner, or other moving party shall pay, when the first paper is filed for that party in said

action, a fee of $285, except in marriage dissolution actions the fee is $315.

The defendant or other adverse or intervening party, or any one or more of several
defendants or other adverse or intervening parties appearing separately from the others,
shall pay, when the first paper is filed for that party in said action, a fee of $285, except in
marriage dissolution actions the fee is $315. This subdivision does not apply to the filing
of an Application for Discharge of Judgment. Section 548.181 applies to an Application

for Discharge of Judgment.
The party requesting a trial by jury shall pay $100.

The fees above stated shall be the full trial fee chargeable to said parties irrespective of
whether trial be to the court alone, to the court and jury, or disposed of without trial, and
shall include the entry of judgment in the action, but does not include copies or certified
copies of any papers so filed or proceedings under chapter 103E, except the provisions

therein as to appeals.

(2) Certified copy of any instrument from a civil or criminal proceeding, $14;-and-$8
for-anuneertifted-copy.

(3) Issuing a subpoena, $16 for each name.

(4) Filing a motion or response to a motion in civil, family, excluding child support, and

guardianship cases, $75.

(5) Issuing an execution and filing the return thereof; issuing a writ of attachment,
injunction, habeas corpus, mandamus, quo warranto, certiorari, or other writs not specifically

mentioned, $55.

(6) Issuing a transcript of judgment, or for filing and docketing a transcript of judgment

from another court, $40.
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(7) Filing and entering a satisfaction of judgment, partial satisfaction, or assignment of
judgment, $5.

(8) Certificate as to existence or nonexistence of judgments docketed, $5 for each name

certified to.

(9) Filing and indexing trade name; or recording basic science certificate; or recording
certificate of physicians, osteopathic physicians, chiropractors, veterinarians, or optometrists,

$5.
(10) For the filing of each partial, final, or annual account in all trusteeships, $55.
(11) For the deposit of a will, $27.
(12) For recording notary commission, $20.

(13) Filing a motion or response to a motion for modification of child support, a fee of

$50.

(14) All other services required by law for which no fee is provided, such fee as compares

favorably with those herein provided, or such as may be fixed by rule or order of the court.

(15) In addition to any other filing fees under this chapter, a surcharge in the amount of
$75 must be assessed in accordance with section 259.52, subdivision 14, for each adoption

petition filed in district court to fund the fathers' adoption registry under section 259.52.

The fees in clauses (3) and (5) need not be paid by a public authority or the party the

public authority represents. No fee may be charged to view or download a publicly available

instrument from a civil or criminal proceeding or for an uncertified copy of that instrument.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 611.23, is amended to read:

611.23 OFFICE OF STATE PUBLIC DEFENDER; APPOINTMENT; SALARY.

The state public defender is responsible to the State Board of Public Defense. The state
public defender shall supervise the operation, activities, policies, and procedures of the
statewide public defender system. When requested by a district public defender or appointed
counsel, the state public defender may assist the district public defender, appointed counsel,
or an organization designated in section 611.216 in the performance of duties, including
trial representation in matters involving legal conflicts of interest or other special
circumstances, and assistance with legal research and brief preparation. The state public

defender shall be appointed by the State Board of Public Defense for a term of four years,
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except as otherwise provided in this section, and until a successor is appointed and qualified.
The state public defender shall be a full-time qualified attorney, licensed to practice law in
this state, serve in the unclassified service of the state, and be removed only for cause by

the appointing authority. Vacancies in the office shall be filled by the appointing authority
for the unexpired term. The salary of the state public defender shall be fixed by the State

Board of Public Defense butmustnotexeeed-thesalary-of-a-districteourtjudge. Terms of
the state public defender shall commence on July 1. The state public defender shall devote

full time to the performance of duties and shall not engage in the general practice of law.

ARTICLE 3
PUBLIC SAFETY

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 13.825, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Retention of data. (a) Portable recording system data that are not active or
inactive criminal investigative data and are not described in paragraph (b) or (c) must be
maintained for at least 90 days and destroyed according to the agency's records retention

schedule approved pursuant to section 138.17.

(b) Portable recording system data must be maintained for at least one year and destroyed
according to the agency's records retention schedule approved pursuant to section 138.17

if:

(1) the data document (i) the discharge of a firearm by a peace officer in the course of
duty if a notice is required under section 626.553, subdivision 2, or (ii) the use of force by

a peace officer that results in substantial bodily harm; or
(2) a formal complaint is made against a peace officer related to the incident.

(c) Portable recording system data that document a peace officer's use of deadly force

must be maintained indefinitely.

(d) If a subject of the data submits a written request to the law enforcement agency to
retain the recording beyond the applicable retention period for possible evidentiary or
exculpatory use related to the circumstances under which the data were collected, the law
enforcement agency shall retain the recording for an additional time period requested by
the subject of up to 180 days and notify the requester that the recording will then be destroyed

unless a new request is made under this paragraph.
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&) (e) Notwithstanding paragraph (b) ez, (c), or (d), a government entity may retain a
recording for as long as reasonably necessary for possible evidentiary or exculpatory use

related to the incident with respect to which the data were collected.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 13A.02, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Access by government. Except as authorized by this chapter, no
government authority may have access to, or obtain copies of, or the information contained
in, the financial records of any customer from a financial institution unless the financial

records are reasonably described and:
(1) the customer has authorized the disclosure;
(2) the financial records are disclosed in response to a search warrant;
(3) the financial records are disclosed in response to a judicial or administrative subpoena;

(4) the financial records are disclosed to law enforcement, a lead investigative agency
as defined in section 626.5572, subdivision 13, or prosecuting authority that is investigating
financial exploitation of a vulnerable adult in response to a judicial subpoena or

administrative subpoena under section 388.23; or

(5) the financial records are disclosed pursuant to section 609.527 or 609.535 or other

statute or rule.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 13A.02, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Release prohibited. No financial institution, or officer, employee, or agent of
a financial institution, may provide to any government authority access to, or copies of, or
the information contained in, the financial records of any customer except in accordance

with the provisions of this chapter.

Nothing in this chapter shall require a financial institution to inquire or determine that
those seeking disclosure have duly complied with the requirements of this chapter, provided
only that the customer authorization, search warrant, subpoena, or written certification

pursuant to section 609.527, subdivision 8; 609.535, subdivision 6; 626.557; or other statute

or rule, served on or delivered to a financial institution shows compliance on its face.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
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Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.6586, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Contents of notice. The commissioners of health and public safety, in
consultation with sexual assault victim advocates and health care professionals, shall develop

the notice required by subdivision 1. The notice must inform the victim, at a minimum, of:

(1) the obligation under section 609.35 of the eeunty-where-the-eriminal-sexual-conduet

eceurred state to pay for the examination performed for the purpose of gathering evidence,
that payment is not contingent on the victim reporting the criminal sexual conduct to law

enforcement, and that the victim may incur expenses for treatment of injuries;

(2) the victim's rights if the crime is reported to law enforcement, including the victim's
right to apply for reparations under sections 611A.51 to 611A.68, information on how to
apply for reparations, and information on how to obtain an order for protection or a

harassment restraining order; and

(3) the opportunity under section 611A.27 to obtain status information about an
unrestricted sexual assault examination kit, as defined in section 299C.106, subdivision 1,

paragraph (h).

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 145.4712, is amended to read:

145.4712 EMERGENCY CARE TO SEXUAL ASSAULT VICTIMS.

Subdivision 1. Emergency care to female sexual assault victims. (a) It shall be the

standard of care for all hospitals and other health care providers that provide emergency

care to, at a minimum:

(1) provide each female sexual assault victim with medically and factually accurate and
unbiased written and oral information about emergency contraception from the American
College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists and distributed to all hospitals by the Department
of Health;

(2) orally inform each female sexual assault victim of the option of being provided with

emergency contraception at the hospital or other health care facility; and

(3) immediately provide emergency contraception to each sexual assault victim who
requests it provided it is not medically contraindicated and is ordered by a legal prescriber.
Emergency contraception shall be administered in accordance with current medical protocols

regarding timing and dosage necessary to complete the treatment.
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(b) A hospital or health care provider may administer a pregnancy test. If the pregnancy

test 1s positive, the hospital or health care provider does not have to comply with the

provisions in paragraph (a).

Subd. 2. Emergency care to male and female sexual assault victims. It shall be the

standard of care for all hospitals and health care providers that provide emergency care to,

at a minimum:

(1) provide each sexual assault victim with factually accurate and unbiased written and
oral medical information about prophylactic antibiotics for treatment of sexually transmitted

diseases infections;

(2) orally inform each sexual assault victim of the option of being provided prophylactic
antibiotics for treatment of sexually transmitted diseases infections at the hospital or other

health care facility; and

(3) immediately provide prophylactic antibiotics for treatment of sexually transmitted
diseases infections to each sexual assault victim who requests it, provided it is not medically

contraindicated and is ordered by a legal prescriber.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 25. Fentanyl. Asused in sections 152.021 to 152.025, "fentanyl" includes fentanyl,

carfentanil, and any fentanyl analogs and fentanyl-related substances listed in section 152.02,

subdivisions 2 and 3.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes

committed on or after that date.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.021, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Sale crimes. A person is guilty of controlled substance crime in the first

degree if:

(1) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully sells one or

more mixtures of a total weight of 17 grams or more containing cocaine or methamphetamine;

(2) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully sells one or
more mixtures of a total weight of ten grams or more containing cocaine or methamphetamine

and:
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(1) the person or an accomplice possesses on their person or within immediate reach, or
uses, whether by brandishing, displaying, threatening with, or otherwise employing, a

firearm; or
(i1) the offense involves two aggravating factors;

(3) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully sells one or

more mixtures of a total weight of ten grams or more, or 40 dosage units or more, containing

heroin or fentanyl;

(4) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully sells one or
more mixtures of a total weight of 50 grams or more containing a narcotic drug other than

cocaine, heroin, fentanyl, or methamphetamine;

(5) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully sells one or
more mixtures of a total weight of 50 grams or more containing amphetamine, phencyclidine,
or hallucinogen or, if the controlled substance is packaged in dosage units, equaling 200 or

more dosage units; or

(6) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully sells one or
more mixtures of a total weight of 25 kilograms or more containing marijuana or

Tetrahydrocannabinols.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes

committed on or after that date.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.021, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Possession crimes. (a) A person is guilty of a controlled substance crime in

the first degree if:

(1) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 50 grams

or more containing cocaine or methamphetamine;

(2) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 25 grams

or more containing cocaine or methamphetamine and:

(1) the person or an accomplice possesses on their person or within immediate reach, or
uses, whether by brandishing, displaying, threatening with, or otherwise employing, a

firearm; or

(i1) the offense involves two aggravating factors;
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(3) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 25 grams

or more, or 100 dosage units or more, containing heroin or fentanyl;

(4) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 500 grams

or more containing a narcotic drug other than cocaine, heroin, fentanyl, or methamphetamine;

(5) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 500 grams
or more containing amphetamine, phencyclidine, or hallucinogen or, if the controlled

substance is packaged in dosage units, equaling 500 or more dosage units; or

(6) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 50
kilograms or more containing marijuana or Tetrahydrocannabinols, or possesses 500 or

more marijuana plants.

(b) For the purposes of this subdivision, the weight of fluid used in a water pipe may
not be considered in measuring the weight of a mixture except in cases where the mixture

contains four or more fluid ounces of fluid.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes

committed on or after that date.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.022, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Sale crimes. A person is guilty of controlled substance crime in the

second degree if:

(1) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully sells one or

more mixtures of a total weight of ten grams or more containing a narcotic drug other than
heroin or fentanyl;
(2) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully sells one or

more mixtures of a total weight of three grams or more containing cocaine or

methamphetamine and:

(1) the person or an accomplice possesses on their person or within immediate reach, or
uses, whether by brandishing, displaying, threatening with, or otherwise employing, a

firearm; or
(11) the offense involves three aggravating factors;

(3) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully sells one or

more mixtures of a total weight of three grams or more, or 12 dosage units or more,

containing heroin or fentanyl;
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(4) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully sells one or
more mixtures of a total weight of ten grams or more containing amphetamine, phencyclidine,
or hallucinogen or, if the controlled substance is packaged in dosage units, equaling 50 or

more dosage units;

(5) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully sells one or
more mixtures of a total weight of ten kilograms or more containing marijuana or

Tetrahydrocannabinols;

(6) the person unlawfully sells any amount of a Schedule I or II narcotic drug to a person
under the age of 18, or conspires with or employs a person under the age of 18 to unlawfully

sell the substance; or

(7) the person unlawfully sells any of the following in a school zone, a park zone, a

public housing zone, or a drug treatment facility:

(1) any amount of a Schedule I or II narcotic drug, lysergic acid diethylamide (LSD),

3,4-methylenedioxy amphetamine, or 3,4-methylenedioxymethamphetamine;
(i1) one or more mixtures containing methamphetamine or amphetamine; or

(iii) one or more mixtures of a total weight of five kilograms or more containing marijuana

or Tetrahydrocannabinols.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes

committed on or after that date.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.022, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Possession crimes. (a) A person is guilty of controlled substance crime in the

second degree if:

(1) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 25 grams

or more containing cocaine or methamphetamine;

(2) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of ten grams

or more containing cocaine or methamphetamine and:

(1) the person or an accomplice possesses on their person or within immediate reach, or
uses, whether by brandishing, displaying, threatening with, or otherwise employing, a

firearm; or

(11) the offense involves three aggravating factors;

Article 3 Sec. 10. 45



46.1

46.2

46.3

46.4

46.5

46.6

46.7

46.8

46.9

46.10

46.11

46.12

46.13

46.14

46.15

46.16

46.17

46.18

46.19

46.20

46.21

46.22

46.23

46.24

46.25

46.26

46.27

46.28

46.29

46.30

46.31

46.32

03/31/23 SENATEE SS SS2909R

(3) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of six grams

or more, or 50 dosage units or more, containing heroin or fentanyl;

(4) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 50 grams

or more containing a narcotic drug other than cocaine, heroin, fentanyl, or methamphetamine;

(5) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 50 grams
or more containing amphetamine, phencyclidine, or hallucinogen or, if the controlled

substance is packaged in dosage units, equaling 100 or more dosage units; or

(6) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 25
kilograms or more containing marijuana or Tetrahydrocannabinols, or possesses 100 or

more marijuana plants.

(b) For the purposes of this subdivision, the weight of fluid used in a water pipe may
not be considered in measuring the weight of a mixture except in cases where the mixture

contains four or more fluid ounces of fluid.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes

committed on or after that date.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.023, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Possession crimes. (a) A person is guilty of controlled substance crime in the

third degree if:

(1) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully possesses
one or more mixtures of a total weight of ten grams or more containing a narcotic drug other

than heroin or fentanyl;

(2) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully possesses
one or more mixtures of: (i) a total weight of three grams or more containing heroin; or (ii)

a total weight of five grams or more, or 25 dosage units or more, containing fentanyl;

(3) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully possesses
one or more mixtures containing a narcotic drug, it is packaged in dosage units, and equals

50 or more dosage units;

(4) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully possesses
any amount of a schedule I or II narcotic drug or five or more dosage units of lysergic acid
diethylamide (LSD), 3,4-methylenedioxy amphetamine, or
3,4-methylenedioxymethamphetamine in a school zone, a park zone, a public housing zone,

or a drug treatment facility;
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(5) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully possesses
one or more mixtures of a total weight of ten kilograms or more containing marijuana or

Tetrahydrocannabinols; or

(6) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures containing methamphetamine
or amphetamine in a school zone, a park zone, a public housing zone, or a drug treatment

facility.

(b) For the purposes of this subdivision, the weight of fluid used in a water pipe may
not be considered in measuring the weight of a mixture except in cases where the mixture

contains four or more fluid ounces of fluid.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes

committed on or after that date.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 214.10, subdivision 10, is amended to read:

Subd. 10. Board of Peace Officers Standards and Training; receipt of

complaint. Notwithstanding the provisions of subdivision 1 to the contrary, when the
executive director or any member of the Board of Peace Officer Standards and Training
produces or receives a written statement or complaint that alleges a violation of a statute or
rule that the board is empowered to enforce, the executive director shall designate the
appropriate law enforcement agency to investigate the complaint and shall may order it to
conduct an inquiry into the complaint's allegations. The investigating agency must complete
the inquiry and submit a written summary of it to the executive director within 30 days of

the order for inquiry.

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 2971.06, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Insurance policies surcharge. (a) Except as otherwise provided in
subdivision 2, each licensed insurer engaged in writing policies of homeowner's insurance
authorized in section 60A.06, subdivision 1, clause (1)(c), or commercial fire policies or
commercial nonliability policies shall collect a surcharge as provided in this paragraph.
ThreughJune30,20143; The surcharge is equal to 0.65 percent of the gross premiums and
assessments, less return premiums, on direct business received by the company, or by its

agents for it, for homeowner's insurance policies, commercial fire policies, and commercial

nonliability insurance policies in this state. BeginningJuly 1, 2043 the sureharge1s-0-5
pereent:
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(b) The surcharge amount collected under paragraph (a) or subdivision 2, paragraph (b),
may not be considered premium for any other purpose. The surcharge amount under
paragraph (a) must be separately stated on either a billing or policy declaration or document

containing similar information sent to an insured.

(c) Amounts collected by the commissioner under this section must be deposited in the

fire safety account established pursuant to subdivision 3.

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299A.38, is amended to read:

299A.38 SOFT BODY ARMOR REIMBURSEMENT.
Subdivision 1. Definitions. As used in this section:
(a) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of public safety.

(b) "Firefighter" means a volunteer, paid on-call, part-time, or career firefighter serving

a general population within the boundaries of the state.

) (c) "Peace officer" means a person who is licensed under section 626.84, subdivision

1, paragraph (c).

(d) "Public safety officer" means a peace officer, firefighter, or qualified emergency

medical service provider.

(e) "Qualified emergency medical service provider" means a person certified under

section 144E.28 who is actively employed by a Minnesota licensed ambulance service.

te) (f) "Vest" means bullet-resistant soft body armor that is flexible, concealable, and

custom fitted to the peaee public safety officer to provide ballistic and trauma protection.

Subd. 2. State and local reimbursement. Peace Public safety officers and heads of
lecalHaw-enforeement agencies and entities who buy vests for the use of peaee public safety
officer employees may apply to the commissioner for reimbursement of funds spent to buy
vests. On approving an application for reimbursement, the commissioner shall pay the
applicant an amount equal to the lesser of one-half of the vest's purchase price or $600, as

adjusted according to subdivision 2a. The pelitieal subdiviston agency or entity that employs

the peaee public safety officer shall pay at least the lesser of one-half of the vest's purchase
price or $600, as adjusted according to subdivision 2a. The pelitical subdivisien employer

may not deduct or pay its share of the vest's cost from any clothing, maintenance, or similar

allowance otherwise provided to the peaee public safety officer by the law-enforcement
ageney employer.
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Subd. 2a. Adjustment of reimbursement amount. On October 1, 2006, the
commissioner of public safety shall adjust the $600 reimbursement amounts specified in
subdivision 2, and in each subsequent year, on October 1, the commissioner shall adjust the
reimbursement amount applicable immediately preceding that October 1 date. The adjusted
rate must reflect the annual percentage change in the Consumer Price Index for all urban
consumers, published by the federal Bureau of Labor Statistics, occurring in the one-year

period ending on the preceding June 1.

Subd. 3. Eligibility requirements. (a) Only vests that either meet or exceed the
requirements of standard 0101.03 of the National Institute of Justice or that meet or exceed
the requirements of that standard, except wet armor conditioning, are eligible for

reimbursement.

(b) Eligibility for reimbursement is limited to vests bought after December 31, 1986, by
or for peace public safety officers (1) who did not own a vest meeting the requirements of

paragraph (a) before the purchase, or (2) who owned a vest that was at least five years old.

(c) The requirement set forth in paragraph (b), clauses (1) and (2), shall not apply to any
peaee public safety officer who purchases a vest constructed from a zylon-based material,
provided that the peaee public safety officer provides proof of purchase or possession of
the vest prior to July 1, 2005.

Subd. 4. Rules. The commissioner may adopt rules under chapter 14 to administer this

section.

Subd. 5. Limitation of liability. A state agency, political subdivision of the state, ex

state or local government employee, or other entity that provides reimbursement for purchase

of a vest under this section is not liable to a peaee public safety officer or the peaee public
safety officer's heirs for negligence in the death of or injury to the peaee public safety officer

because the vest was defective or deficient.

Subd. 6. Right to benefits unaffected. A peace public safety officer who is reimbursed
for the purchase of a vest under this section and who suffers injury or death because the
officer failed to wear the vest, or because the officer wore a vest that was defective or
deficient, may not lose or be denied a benefit or right, including a benefit under section

299A .44, to which the officer, or the officer's heirs, is otherwise entitled.

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299A.41, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Killed in the line of duty. (a) "Killed in the line of duty" does not include

deaths from natural causes, except as provided in this subdivision. In the case of a public
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safety officer, killed in the line of duty includes the death of a public safety officer caused
by accidental means while the public safety officer is acting in the course and scope of

duties as a public safety officer.

(b) Killed in the line of duty also means if a public safety officer dies as the direct and
proximate result of a heart attack, stroke, or vascular rupture, that officer shall be presumed
to have died as the direct and proximate result of a personal injury sustained in the line of

duty if:
(1) that officer, while on duty:

(1) engaged in a situation, and that engagement involved nonroutine stressful or strenuous
physical law enforcement, fire suppression, rescue, hazardous material response, emergency

medical services, prison security, disaster relief, or other emergency response activity; or

(11) participated in a training exercise, and that participation involved nonroutine stressful

or strenuous physical activity;
(2) that officer died as a result of a heart attack, stroke, or vascular rupture suffered:
(1) while engaging or participating under clause (1);
(11) while still on duty after engaging or participating under clause (1); or
(ii1) not later than 24 hours after engaging or participating under clause (1); and

(3) that officer died as a result of a disabling cancer of a type caused by exposure to

heat, radiation, or a known or suspected carcinogen, as defined by the International Agency

for Research on Cancer, and the carcinogen is reasonably linked to the disabling cancer;

and
(4) the presumption is not overcome by competent medical evidence to the contrary.

(c) Killed in the line of duty also means if a public safety officer dies as a result of suicide

when:

(1) alicensed mental health provider previously diagnosed the officer with post-traumatic

stress disorder; and

(2) the officer's mental health provider determined the post-traumatic stress disorder

resulted from the officer's work as a public safety officer.

As used in this paragraph, "public safety officer" includes only the individuals described

in subdivision 4, clauses (1) to (4) and (6) to (9).

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively from January 1, 2017.
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Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299A.41, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 3a. Post-traumatic stress disorder. "Post-traumatic stress disorder" means the

condition as described in the most recently published edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical

Manual of Mental Disorders by the American Psychiatric Association.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively from January 1, 2017.

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299A.41, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Public safety officer. Except as provided in subdivision 3, paragraph (c),

"public safety officer" includes:
(1) a peace officer defined in section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph (c) or (d);

(2) a correction officer employed at a correctional facility and charged with maintaining

the safety, security, discipline, and custody of inmates at the facility;

(3) an individual employed on a full-time basis by the state or by a fire department of a

governmental subdivision of the state, who is engaged in any of the following duties:
(1) firefighting;
(i1) emergency motor vehicle operation;
(111) investigation into the cause and origin of fires;
(iv) the provision of emergency medical services; or
(v) hazardous material responder;

(4) alegally enrolled member of a volunteer fire department or member of an independent

nonprofit firefighting corporation who is engaged in the hazards of firefighting;

(5) a good samaritan while complying with the request or direction of a public safety

officer to assist the officer;

(6) areserve police officer or a reserve deputy sheriff while acting under the supervision

and authority of a political subdivision;

(7) a driver or attendant with a licensed basic or advanced life-support transportation

service who is engaged in providing emergency care;

(8) a first responder who is certified by the emergency medical services regulatory board
to perform basic emergency skills before the arrival of a licensed ambulance service and

who is a member of an organized service recognized by a local political subdivision to
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respond to medical emergencies to provide initial medical care before the arrival of an
ambulance; and

(9) a person, other than a state trooper, employed by the commissioner of public safety
and assigned to the State Patrol, whose primary employment duty is either Capitol security

or the enforcement of commercial motor vehicle laws and regulations.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively from January 1, 2017.

Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299A.52, 1s amended to read:

299A.52 RESPONSIBLE PERSON PARTY.

Subdivision 1. Response liability. A responsible persen party, as described in section
115B.03, is liable for the reasonable and necessary costs, including legal and administrative

costs, of response to a hazardous materials incident or explosives sweep as defined in section

299C.063 incurred by a regtenal hazardous materials response team or local unit of
government. For the purposes of this section, "hazardous substance" as used in section

115B.03 means "hazardous material" as defined in section 299A.49.

Subd. 2. Expense recovery. The commissioner shall assess the responsible persen party

for the-regional state bomb disposal unit or hazardous materials response team costs of

response. The commissioner may bring an action for recovery of unpaid costs, reasonable
attorney fees, and any additional court costs. Any funds received by the commissioner under
this subdivision are appropriated to the commissioner to pay for costs for which the funds

were received. Any remaining funds at the end of the biennium shall be transferred to the

Fire-Safety-Aeeount general fund.

Subd. 3. Attempted avoidance of liability. For purposes of sections 299A.48 to 299A.52
and 299K.095, a responsible persen party may not avoid liability by conveying any right,
title, or interest in real property or by any indemnification, hold harmless agreement, or

similar agreement.

Sec. 19. [299A.53] NONRESPONSIBLE PARTY FUND.

In the event that there is no identified responsible party as defined in section 115B.03,

a special account, to be known as the nonresponsible party fund, shall be created in the state

treasury. The legislature intends that all money in the nonresponsible party fund be

appropriated to the commissioner of public safety to reimburse all reasonable and necessary

costs, including legal and administrative costs, of response to a hazardous materials incident

or explosives sweep as defined in section 299C.063 when there is no identified responsible
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party as described in section 299A.52. Any remaining funds at the end of the biennium shall

be transferred to the general fund.

Sec. 20. [299A.625] PUBLIC SAFETY INNOVATION BOARD.

Subdivision 1. Establishment. The Public Safety Innovation Board is established in the

Office of Justice Programs within the Department of Public Safety. The board has the powers

and duties described in this section.

Subd. 2. Membership. (a) The Public Safety Innovation Board is composed of the

following members:

(1) three individuals with experience conducting research in the areas of crime, policing,

or sociology while employed by an academic or nonprofit entity, appointed by the governor;

(2) five individuals appointed by the governor of whom:

(1) one shall be a victim of a crime or an advocate for victims of crime;

(i1) one shall be a person impacted by the criminal justice system or an advocate for

defendants in criminal cases; and

(ii1) one shall have a background in social work;

(3) four members representing the community-specific boards established under sections

3.922 and 15.0145, with one appointment made by each board; and

(4) three members representing law enforcement, with one appointment by the Minnesota

Sheriffs' Association, one by the Minnesota Chiefs of Police Association, and one by the

Minnesota Police and Peace Officers Association.

(b) The members of the board shall elect one member to serve as chair.

Subd. 3. Terms; removal; vacancy. (a) Members are appointed to serve three-year

terms following the initial staggered-term lot determination and may be reappointed.

(b) Initial appointment of members must take place by August 1, 2023. The initial term

of members appointed under paragraph (a) shall be determined by lot by the secretary of

state and shall be as follows:

(1) five members shall serve one-year terms;

(2) five members shall serve two-year terms; and

(3) five members shall serve three-year terms.
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(c) A member may be removed by the appointing authority at any time for cause, after

notice and hearing.

(d) If a vacancy occurs, the appointing authority shall appoint a new qualifying member

within 90 days.

(e) Compensation of board members is governed by section 15.0575.

Subd. 4. Powers and duties. The board shall improve public safety by increasing the

efficiency, effectiveness, and capacity of public safety providers and has the following

powers and duties:

(1) monitoring trends in crime within Minnesota;

(2) reviewing research on criminal justice and public safety;

(3) providing information on criminal trends and research to the commissioner,

municipalities, and the legislature;

(4) providing advice on awarding grants;

(5) providing advice on evaluating grant applications to assure compliance with

evidence-based practices;

(6) providing advice on assuring an efficient and expeditious distribution of grant funds;

and

(7) working with the Minnesota Statistical Analysis Center to identify appropriate

outcomes to track on an annual basis for both programs receiving grants and local

communities for the purpose of monitoring trends in public safety and the impact of specific

programmatic models.

Subd. 5. Meetings. The board shall meet at least monthly. Meetings of the board are

subject to chapter 13D.

Subd. 6. Report. Each year by January 15, the board shall report to the legislative

committees and divisions with jurisdiction over public safety on the work of the board

conducted pursuant to subdivision 4.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299A.642, subdivision 15, 1s amended to read:

Subd. 15. Required reports. By February 1 of each year, the commissioner of public

safety shall submit the following reports to the chairs and ranking minority members of the
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senate and house of representatives committees and divisions having jurisdiction over

criminal justice policy and funding:

(1) areport containing a summary of all audits conducted on multijurisdictional entities

under subdivision 4;

(2) a report on the results of audits conducted on data submitted to the criminal gang

investigative data system under section 299C.091; and
(3) a report on the activities and goals of the coordinating council; and

(4) a report on how the funds in the violent crime investigation team account were

distributed and how those funds were used by violent crime investigation teams.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299A.73, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 3a. Report. On or before March 31 of each year, the Minnesota Youth Intervention

Programs Association shall report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the

committees and divisions with jurisdiction over public safety policy and finance on the

implementation, use, and administration of the grant program created under this section.

The report shall include information sent by agencies administering youth intervention

programs to the Minnesota Youth Intervention Programs Association and the Office of

Justice Programs. At a minimum, the report must identify:

(1) the grant recipients;

(2) the geographic location of the grant recipients;

(3) the total number of individuals served by all grant recipients, disaggregated by race,

ethnicity, and gender;

(4) the total number of individuals served by all grant recipients who successfully

completed programming, disaggregated by age, race, ethnicity, and gender;

(5) the total amount of money awarded in grants and the total amount remaining to be

awarded from each appropriation;

(6) the amount of money granted to each recipient;

(7) grantee workplan objectives;

(8) how the grant was used based on grantee quarterly narrative reports and financial

reports; and
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(9) summarized relevant youth intervention program outcome survey data measuring

the developmental assets of participants, based on Search Institute's Developmental Assets

Framework.

Sec. 23. [299A.86] REWARD ACCOUNT FOR INFORMATION ON MISSING
AND MURDERED INDIGENOUS RELATIVES.

Subdivision 1. Account created. An account for rewards for information on missing

and murdered Indigenous relatives is created in the special revenue fund. Money deposited

into the account is appropriated to the commissioner of public safety to pay rewards and

for other purposes as authorized under this section.

Subd. 2. Reward. The director of the Office for Missing and Murdered Indigenous

Relatives, in consultation with the reward advisory group established under subdivision 3:

(1) shall determine the eligibility criteria and procedures for granting rewards under this

section; and

(2) 1s authorized to pay a reward to any person who provides relevant information relating

to a missing and murdered Indigenous relative investigation.

Subd. 3. Reward advisory group. (a) The director of the Office for Missing and

Murdered Indigenous Relatives, in consultation with the stakeholder groups described in

section 299A.85, subdivision 5, shall appoint an advisory group to make recommendations

on paying rewards under this section. The advisory group shall consist of the following

individuals:

(1) a representative from the Office for Missing and Murdered Indigenous Relatives;

(2) a representative from a Tribal, statewide, or local organization that provides legal

services to Indigenous women and girls;

(3) arepresentative from a Tribal, statewide, or local organization that provides advocacy

or counseling for Indigenous women and girls who have been victims of violence;

(4) arepresentative from a Tribal, statewide, or local organization that provides services

to Indigenous women and girls;

(5) a Tribal peace officer who works for or resides on a federally recognized American

Indian reservation in Minnesota; and

(6) a representative from the Minnesota Human Trafficking Task Force.
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(b) Members serve a term of four years. The advisory group shall meet as necessary but

at a minimum twice per year to carry out its duties. The group shall elect a chair from among

its members. The chair shall serve a term of two years. The director shall provide necessary

office space and administrative support to the group. Members of the group serve without

compensation but shall receive expense reimbursement as provided in section 15.059.

(c) The representative from the Office for Missing and Murdered Indigenous Relatives

may fully participate in the advisory group's activities but may not vote on issues before

the group.

Subd. 4. Advertising. The director of the Office for Missing and Murdered Indigenous

Relatives, in consultation with the reward advisory group, may spend up to four percent of

available funds on an advertising or public relations campaign to increase public awareness

on the availability of rewards under this section.

Subd. 5. Grants; donations. The director of the Office for Missing and Murdered

Indigenous Relatives, in consultation with the reward advisory group, may apply for and

accept grants and donations from the public and from public and private entities to implement

this section. The commissioner of public safety shall deposit any grants or donations received

under this subdivision into the account established under subdivision 1.

Subd. 6. Definition. As used in this section, "missing and murdered Indigenous relatives"

means missing and murdered Indigenous people from or descended from one of the United

States' federally recognized American Indian Tribes.

Sec. 24. [299A.90] OFFICE FOR MISSING AND MURDERED BLACK WOMEN
AND GIRLS.

Subdivision 1. Establishment. The commissioner shall establish and maintain an office

dedicated to preventing and ending the targeting of Black women and girls within the

Minnesota Office of Justice Programs.

Subd. 2. Director; staff. (a) The commissioner must appoint a director who is a person

closely connected to the Black community and who is highly knowledgeable about criminal

investigations. The commissioner is encouraged to consider candidates for appointment

who are recommended by members of the Black community.

(b) The director may select, appoint, and compensate out of available funds assistants

and employees as necessary to discharge the office's responsibilities.

(c) The director and full-time staff shall be members of the Minnesota State Retirement

Association.
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Subd. 3. Duties. (a) The office has the following duties:

(1) advocate in the legislature for legislation that will facilitate the accomplishment of

mandates identified in the report of the Task Force on Missing and Murdered African

American Women,;

(2) advocate for state agencies to take actions to facilitate the accomplishment of mandates

identified in the report of the Task Force on Missing and Murdered African American

Women;

(3) develop recommendations for legislative and agency actions to address injustice in

the criminal justice system's response to cases of missing and murdered Black women and

girls;

(4) facilitate research to refine the mandates in the report of the Task Force on Missing

and Murdered African American Women and to assess the potential efficacy, feasibility,

and impact of the recommendations;

(5) collect data on missing person and homicide cases involving Black women and girls,

including the total number of cases, the rate at which the cases are solved, the length of time

the cases remain open, and a comparison to similar cases involving different demographic

groups;

(6) collect data on Amber Alerts, including the total number of Amber Alerts issued,

the total number of Amber Alerts that involve Black girls, and the outcome of cases involving

Amber Alerts disaggregated by the child's race and sex;

(7) collect data on reports of missing Black girls, including the number classified as

voluntary runaways, and a comparison to similar cases involving different demographic

groups;

(8) analyze and assess the intersection between cases involving missing and murdered

Black women and girls and labor trafficking and sex trafficking;

(9) develop recommendations for legislative, agency, and community actions to address

the intersection between cases involving missing and murdered Black women and girls and

labor trafficking and sex trafficking;

(10) analyze and assess the intersection between cases involving murdered Black women

and girls and domestic violence, including prior instances of domestic violence within the

family or relationship, whether an offender had prior convictions for domestic assault or

related offenses, and whether the offender used a firearm in the murder or any prior instances

of domestic assault;
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(11) develop recommendations for legislative, agency, and community actions to address

the intersection between cases involving murdered Black women and girls and domestic

violence;

(12) develop tools and processes to evaluate the implementation and impact of the efforts

of the office;

(13) track and collect Minnesota data on missing and murdered Black women and girls,

and provide statistics upon public or legislative inquiry;

(14) facilitate technical assistance for local and Tribal law enforcement agencies during

active cases involving missing and murdered Black women and girls;

(15) conduct case reviews and report on the results of case reviews for the following

types of cases involving missing and murdered Black women and girls: cold cases for

missing Black women and girls and death investigation review for cases of Black women

and girls ruled as suicide or overdose under suspicious circumstances;

(16) conduct case reviews of the prosecution and sentencing for cases where a perpetrator

committed a violent or exploitative crime against a Black woman or girl. These case reviews

must identify those cases where the perpetrator is a repeat offender;

(17) prepare draft legislation as necessary to allow the office access to the data necessary

for the office to conduct the reviews required in this section and advocate for passage of

that legislation;

(18) review sentencing guidelines for crimes related to missing and murdered Black

women and girls, recommend changes if needed, and advocate for consistent implementation

of the guidelines across Minnesota courts;

(19) develop and maintain communication with relevant divisions in the Department of

Public Safety, including but not limited to the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, regarding

any cases involving missing and murdered Black women and girls and on procedures for

investigating cases involving missing and murdered Black women and girls;

(20) consult with the Council for Minnesotans of African Heritage established in section

15.0145; and

(21) coordinate, as relevant, with federal efforts, and efforts in neighboring states and

Canada.

(b) As used in this subdivision:

(1) "labor trafficking" has the meaning given in section 609.281, subdivision 5; and
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(2) "sex trafficking" has the meaning given in section 609.321, subdivision 7a.

Subd. 4. Coordination with other organizations. In fulfilling its duties, the office may

coordinate, as useful, with stakeholder groups that were represented on the Task Force on

Missing and Murdered African American Women and state agencies that are responsible

for the systems that play a role in investigating, prosecuting, and adjudicating cases involving

violence committed against Black women and girls; those who have a role in supporting or

advocating for missing or murdered Black women and girls and the people who seek justice

for them; and those who represent the interests of Black people. This includes the following

entities: Minnesota Chiefs of Police Association; Minnesota Sheriffs' Association; Bureau

of Criminal Apprehension; Minnesota Police and Peace Officers Association; Tribal law

enforcement; Minnesota County Attorneys Association; United States Attorney's Office;

juvenile courts; Minnesota Coroners' and Medical Examiners' Association; United States

Coast Guard; state agencies, including the Departments of Health, Human Services,

Education, Corrections, and Public Safety; service providers who offer legal services,

advocacy, and other services to Black women and girls; Black women and girls who are

survivors; and organizations and leadership from urban and statewide Black communities.

Subd. 5. Reports. The office must report on measurable outcomes achieved to meet its

statutory duties, along with specific objectives and outcome measures proposed for the

following year. The report must include data and statistics on missing and murdered Black

women and girls in Minnesota, including names, dates of disappearance, and dates of death,

to the extent the data is publicly available. The office must submit the report by January 15

each year to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with

primary jurisdiction over public safety.

Subd. 6. Acceptance of gifts and receipt of grants. (a) A missing and murdered Black

women and girls account is established in the special revenue fund. Money in the account,

including interest earned, is appropriated to the office for the purposes of carrying out the

office's duties, including but not limited to issuing grants to community-based organizations.

(b) Notwithstanding sections 16A.013 to 16A.016, the office may accept funds

contributed by individuals and may apply for and receive grants from public and private

entities. The funds accepted or received under this subdivision must be deposited in the

missing and murdered Black women and girls account created under paragraph (a).

Subd. 7. Grants to organizations. (a) The commissioner in consultation with the office

shall issue grants to community-based organizations that provide services designed to prevent
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or end the targeting of Black women or girls, or to provide assistance to victims of offenses

that targeted Black women or girls.

(b) Grant recipients must use money to:

(1) provide services designed to reduce or prevent crimes or other negative behaviors

that target Black women or girls;

(2) provide training to the community about how to handle situations and crimes involving

the targeting of Black women and girls, including but not limited to training for law

enforcement officers, county attorneys, city attorneys, judges, and other criminal justice

partners; or

(3) provide services to Black women and girls who are victims of crimes or other offenses,

or to the family members of missing and murdered Black women and girls.

(c) Applicants must apply in a form and manner established by the commissioner in

consultation with the office.

(d) Grant recipients must provide an annual report to the office that includes:

(1) the services provided by the grant recipient;

(2) the number of individuals served in the previous year; and

(3) any other information required by the office.

(e) On or before February 1 of each year, the office shall report to the legislative

committees and divisions with jurisdiction over public safety on the work of grant recipients,

including a description of the number of entities awarded grants, the amount of those grants,

and the number of individuals served by the grantees.

(f) The office shall enter into agreements with the Office of Justice Programs for the

administration of grants issued under this subdivision.

Subd. 8. Access to data. Notwithstanding section 13.384 or 13.85, the director has access

to corrections and detention data and medical data maintained by an agency and classified

as private data on individuals or confidential data on individuals to the extent the data is

necessary for the office to perform its duties under this section.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023.

Sec. 25.[299C.055] LEGISLATIVE REPORT ON FUSION CENTER ACTIVITIES.

(a) The superintendent must prepare an annual report for the public and the legislature

on the Minnesota Fusion Center (MNFC) that includes general information about the MNFC;
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the types of activities it monitors; the scale of information it collects; the local, state, and

federal agencies with which it shares information; and the quantifiable benefits it produces.

None of the reporting requirements in this section supersede chapter 13 or any other state

or federal law. The superintendent must report on activities for the preceding calendar year

unless another time period is specified. The report must include the following information,

to the extent allowed by other law:

(1) the MNFC's operating budget for the current biennium, number of staff, and staff

duties;

(2) the number of publications generated and an overview of the type of information

provided in the publications, including products such as law enforcement briefs, partner

briefs, risk assessments, threat assessments, and operational reports;

(3) a summary of audit findings for the MNFC and what corrective actions were taken

pursuant to audits;

(4) the number of data requests received by the MNFC and a general description of those

requests;

(5) the types of surveillance and data analysis technologies utilized by the MNFC, such

as artificial intelligence or social media analysis tools;

(6) a description of the commercial and governmental databases utilized by the MNFC

to the extent permitted by law;

(7) the number of suspicious activity reports (SARs) received and processed by the

MNFC;

(8) the number of SARs received and processed by the MNFC that were converted into

Bureau of Criminal Apprehension case files, that were referred to the Federal Bureau of

Investigation, or that were referred to local law enforcement agencies;

(9) the number of SARs received and processed by the MNFC that involve an individual

on the Terrorist Screening Center watchlist;

(10) the number of requests for information (RFIs) that the MNFC received from law

enforcement agencies and the number of responses to federal requests for RFIs;

(11) the names of the federal agencies the MNFC received data from or shared data

with;

(12) the names of the agencies that submitted SARs;
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(13) a summary description of the MNFC's activities with the Joint Terrorism Task

Force; and

(14) the number of investigations aided by the MNFC's use of SARs and RFIs.

(b) The report shall be provided to the chairs and ranking minority members of the

committees of the house of representatives and senate with jurisdiction over data practices

and public safety issues, and shall be posted on the MNFC website by February 15 each

year beginning on February 15, 2024.

Sec. 26. [299C.061] STATE FRAUD UNIT.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) As used in this section, the following terms have the

meanings provided.

(1) "Fraud" includes any violation of sections 609.466, 609.611, 609.651, 609.7475, or
609.821.

(2) "Peace officer" has the meaning given in section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph

(©).

(3) "State agency" has the meaning given in section 13.02, subdivision 17.

(4) "Superintendent" means the superintendent of the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension.

(5) "Unit" means the State Fraud Unit housed at the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension.

Subd. 2. State Fraud Unit. The superintendent shall form a State Fraud Unit within the

Bureau of Criminal Apprehension to conduct investigations into fraud involving state-funded

programs or services subject to availability of funds.

Subd. 3. Mandatory referral; duty to investigate. A state agency shall refer all

suspected fraudulent activity under the provisions noted within subdivision 1, clause (1),

equaling $100,000 or more, to the unit for evaluation and investigation or appropriate

referral. Upon receipt of this referral, the unit shall review and, where appropriate, conduct

criminal investigations into such allegations. The unit has sole discretion as to which

allegations are investigated further, referred back to the reporting agency for appropriate

regulatory investigation, or referred to another law enforcement agency with appropriate

jurisdiction.

Subd. 4. Discretionary referral. (a) A state agency may refer suspected fraudulent

activity related to any state-funded programs or services equaling less than $100,000 to the

unit for investigation. Upon referral, the unit shall:
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(1) accept the referral and, where appropriate, conduct criminal investigations into the

allegations and make appropriate referrals for criminal prosecution; or

(2) redirect the referral to another appropriate law enforcement agency or civil

investigative authority, offering assistance where appropriate.

Subd. 5. State agency reporting. By January 15 of each year, each state agency must

report all suspected fraudulent activities equaling $10,000 or more to the unit to be

summarized in the report under subdivision 6.

Subd. 6. State Fraud Unit annual report. By February 1 of each odd-numbered year,

the superintendent shall report to the commissioner, the governor, and the chairs and ranking

minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over public safety finance

and policy the following information about the unit:

(1) the number of investigations initiated;

(2) the number of allegations investigated;

(3) the outcomes or current status of each investigation;

(4) the charging decisions made by the prosecuting authority of incidents investigated

by the unit;

(5) the number of plea agreements reached in incidents investigated by the unit;

(6) the number of reports received under subdivision 5; and

(7) any other information relevant to the unit's mission.

EFFECTIVE DATE. Referrals to the unit under subdivisions 3 and 4 may begin on

January 1, 2024.

Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299C.106, subdivision 3, i1s amended to read:

Subd. 3. Submission and storage of sexual assault examination kits. (a) Within 60
days of receiving an unrestricted sexual assault examination kit, a law enforcement agency
shall submit the kit for testing to a forensic laboratory. The testing laboratory shall return
unrestricted sexual assault examination kits to the submitting agency for storage after testing
is complete. The submitting agency must store unrestricted sexual assault examination kits

indefinitely.

(b) Within 60 days of a hospital preparing a restricted sexual assault examination kit or
a law enforcement agency receiving a restricted sexual assault examination kit from a

hospital, the hospital or the agency shall submit the kit to the Burean-ef Criminal
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Apprehenston a forensic laboratory. The bureau laboratory shall store all restricted sexual

assault examination kits collected by hospitals or law enforcement agencies in the state.
The bureau laboratory shall retain a restricted sexual assault examination kit for at least 30

months from the date the bureau laboratory receives the kit.

(c) The receiving forensic laboratory must test the sexual assault examination kit within

90 days of receipt from a hospital or law enforcement agency. Upon completion of testing,

the forensic laboratory will update the kit-tracking database to indicate that testing is

complete. The forensic laboratory must notify the submitting agency when any kit testing

does not meet the 90-day deadline and provide an estimated time frame for testing

completion.

Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299C.53, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Missing and endangered persons. The Bureau of Criminal Apprehension

must operate a missing person alert program. If the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension

receives a report from a law enforcement agency indicating that a person is missing and

endangered, the superintendent must originate an alert. The superintendent may assist the

law enforcement agency in conducting the preliminary investigation, offer resources, and
assist the agency in helping implement the investigation policy with particular attention to
the need for immediate action. The law enforcement agency shall promptly notify all

appropriate law enforcement agencies in the state and is required to issue a missing person

alert utilizing the Crime Alert Network as prescribed in section 299A.61 and, if deemed

appropriate, law enforcement agencies in adjacent states or jurisdictions of any information
that may aid in the prompt location and safe return of a missing and endangered person.

The superintendent shall provide guidance on issuing alerts using this system and provide

the system for law enforcement agencies to issue these alerts. The Bureau of Criminal

Apprehension may provide assistance to agencies in issuing missing person alerts as required

by this section.

Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299N.02, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Powers and duties. (a) The board shall:

(1) review fire service training needs and make recommendations on training to Minnesota

fire service organizations;

(2) establish standards for educational programs for the fire service and develop

procedures for continuing oversight of the programs;
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(3) establish qualifications for fire service training instructors in programs established

under clause (2);

(4) maintain a list of instructors that have met the qualifications established under clause

(3), subject to application procedures and requirements established by the board; and
(5) license full-time firefighters and volunteer firefighters under this chapter.
(b) The board may:
(1) hire or contract for technical or professional services according to section 15.061;
(2) pay expenses necessary to carry out its duties;

(3) apply for, receive, and accept grants, gifts, devises, and endowments that any entity
may make to the board for the purposes of this chapter and may use any money given to it
consistent with the terms and conditions under which the money was received and for the

purposes stated;

(4) accept funding from the fire safety account and allocate funding to Minnesota fire
departments in the form of reimbursements that are consistent with the board's

recommendations and the Department of Public Safety firefighter training;

(5) accept funding from the general fund and allocate funding to Minnesota Board of

Firefighter Training and Education for reimbursements that are consistent with the board's

recommendations and the Department of Public Safety firefighter training;

) (6) set guidelines regarding how the allocated reimbursement funds must be disbursed;

6) (7) set and make available to the fire service standards governing the use of funds

reimbursed under this section;

H (8) make recommendations to the legislature to improve the quality of firefighter

training;
8) (9) collect and provide data, subject to section 13.03;
9) (10) conduct studies and surveys and make reports; and

0 (11) conduct other activities necessary to carry out its duties.

Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 326.32, subdivision 10, is amended to read:

Subd. 10. License holder. "License holder" means any individual, partnership as defined

in section 323A.0101, clause (8), or corporation licensed to perform the duties of a private

detective or a protective agent.
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EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 326.3381, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
Subd. 3. Disqualification. (a) No person is qualified to hold a license who has:

(1) been convicted of (i) a felony by the courts of this or any other state or of the United
States; (ii) acts which, if done in Minnesota, would be criminal sexual conduct; assault;
theft; larceny; burglary; robbery; unlawful entry; extortion; defamation; buying or receiving
stolen property; using, possessing, manufacturing, or carrying weapons unlawfully; using,
possessing, or carrying burglary tools unlawfully; escape; possession, production, sale, or
distribution of narcotics unlawfully; or (ii1) in any other country of acts which, if done in
Minnesota, would be a felony or would be any of the other offenses provided in this clause

and for which a full pardon or similar relief has not been granted;

(2) made any false statement in an application for a license or any document required

to be submitted to the board; or
(3) failed to demonstrate to the board good character, honesty, and integrity.

(b) Upon application for a license, the applicant shall submit, as part of the application,

a full set of fingerprints and the applicant's written consent that their fingerprints shall be

submitted to the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (BCA) and the Federal Bureau of

Investigation (FBI) to determine whether that person has a criminal record. The BCA shall

promptly forward the fingerprints to the FBI and request that the FBI conduct a criminal

history check of each prospective licensee. The Minnesota Board of Private Detective and

Protective Agents Services shall determine if the FBI report indicates that the prospective

licensee or licensee was convicted of a disqualifying offense. The submission to the FBI

shall be coordinated through the BCA. The results of the criminal record check shall be

provided to the board who will determine if the applicant is disqualified from holding a

license under this subdivision.

Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.06, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Formulation of policies. (a) The commissioner shall formulate policies

to effectuate the purposes of this chapter and shall do the following:

(1) exercise leadership under the direction of the governor in the development of human
rights policies and programs, and make recommendations to the governor and the legislature

for their consideration and implementation;
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(2) establish and maintain a principal office in St. Paul, and any other necessary branch

offices at any location within the state;
(3) meet and function at any place within the state;

(4) employ attorneys, clerks, and other employees and agents as the commissioner may

deem necessary and prescribe their duties;

(5) to the extent permitted by federal law and regulation, utilize the records of the
Department of Employment and Economic Development of the state when necessary to

effectuate the purposes of this chapter;

(6) obtain upon request and utilize the services of all state governmental departments

and agencies;
(7) adopt suitable rules for effectuating the purposes of this chapter;

(8) 1ssue complaints, receive and investigate charges alleging unfair discriminatory

practices, and determine whether or not probable cause exists for hearing;

(9) subpoena witnesses, administer oaths, take testimony, and require the production for
examination of any books or papers relative to any matter under investigation or in question

as the commissioner deems appropriate to carry out the purposes of this chapter;

(10) attempt, by means of education, conference, conciliation, and persuasion to eliminate

unfair discriminatory practices as being contrary to the public policy of the state;

(11) develop and conduct programs of formal and informal education designed to
eliminate discrimination and intergroup conflict by use of educational techniques and

programs the commissioner deems necessary;

(12) make a written report of the activities of the commissioner to the governor each

year;

(13) accept gifts, bequests, grants, or other payments public and private to help finance

the activities of the department;

(14) create such local and statewide advisory committees as will in the commissioner's

judgment aid in effectuating the purposes of the Department of Human Rights;

(15) develop such programs as will aid in determining the compliance throughout the
state with the provisions of this chapter, and in the furtherance of such duties, conduct
research and study discriminatory practices based upon race, color, creed, religion, national
origin, sex, age, disability, marital status, status with regard to public assistance, familial

status, sexual orientation, or other factors and develop accurate data on the nature and extent
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of discrimination and other matters as they may affect housing, employment, public

accommodations, schools, and other areas of public life;

(16) develop and disseminate technical assistance to persons subject to the provisions

of this chapter, and to agencies and officers of governmental and private agencies;

(17) provide staff services to such advisory committees as may be created in aid of the

functions of the Department of Human Rights;

(18) make grants in aid to the extent that appropriations are made available for that

purpose in aid of carrying out duties and responsibilities; and

(19) cooperate and consult with the commissioner of labor and industry regarding the
investigation of violations of, and resolution of complaints regarding section 363A.08,

subdivision 7-; and

(20) solicit, receive, and compile information from community organizations, school

districts and charter schools, and individuals regarding incidents committed in whole or in

substantial part because of the victim's or another's actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity,

religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, age, national

origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03, or because of the victim's actual or

perceived association with another person or group of a certain actual or perceived race,

color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression,

age, national origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03, and compile data in the

aggregate on the nature and extent of such incidents and include summary data as defined

by section 13.02, subdivision 19, on this information in the report required under clause

(12), disaggregated by the type of incident and the actual or perceived characteristic for

which the person was targeted. The commissioner shall provide information on the

department's website about when and how a victim can report criminal conduct to a law

enforcement agency. Data collected and maintained under this clause are private data on

individuals as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 12.

In performing these duties, the commissioner shall give priority to those duties in clauses

(8), (9), and (10) and to the duties in section 363A.36.

(b) All gifts, bequests, grants, or other payments, public and private, accepted under
paragraph (a), clause (13), must be deposited in the state treasury and credited to a special
account. Money in the account is appropriated to the commissioner of human rights to help

finance activities of the department.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023.
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Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.2231, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Assaults motivated by bias. (a) Whoever assaults another in whole or in

substantial part because of the victim's or another's actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity,

religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, age, national

origin, or disability as defined in section 363 A.03, age;-ornational-origin or because of the

victim's actual or perceived association with another person or group of a certain actual or

perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity,

gender expression, age, national origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03, may be

sentenced to imprisonment for not more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more

than $3,000, or both.

(b) Whoever violates the provisions of paragraph (a) within five years of a previous
conviction under paragraph (a) is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment
for not more than one year and a day or to payment of a fine of not more than $3,000, or

both.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes

committed on or after that date.

Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.2233, is amended to read:

609.2233 FELONY ASSAULT MOTIVATED BY BIAS; INCREASED
STATUTORY MAXIMUM SENTENCE.

A person who violates section 609.221, 609.222, or 609.223 in whole or in substantial

part because of the victim's or another person's actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity,

religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, age, national

origin, or disability as defined in section 363 A.03, age;-ornational-origin or because of the

victim's actual or perceived association with another person or group of a certain actual or

perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity,

gender expression, age, national origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03, is subject

to a statutory maximum penalty of 25 percent longer than the maximum penalty otherwise

applicable.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes

committed on or after that date.
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Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.35, is amended to read:
609.35 COSTS OF MEDICAL EXAMINATION.

(a) Costs incurred by a eeunty;-etty-er-private hospital or other emergency medical

facility or by a private physician, sexual assault nurse examiner, forensic nurse, or other

licensed health care provider for the examination of a victim of criminal sexual conduct

that occurred in

the state shall be paid by the eeunty-in-which-the-eriminal sexual-conduet-oeeurred state.

These costs include, but are not limited to, the full cost of the rape-kit medical forensic

examination, associated tests and treatments relating to the-eemplainant's sexually transmitted

diseasestatus infection, and pregnancy status, including emergency contraception. A hospital,

emergency medical facility, or health care provider shall submit the costs for examination

and any associated tests and treatment to the Office of Justice Programs for payment. Upon

receipt of the costs, the commissioner shall provide payment to the facility or health care

provider. Reimbursement for an examination and any associated test and treatments shall

not exceed $1,400. Beginning on January 1, 2024, the maximum amount of an award shall

be adjusted annually by the inflation rate.

(b) Nothing in this section shall be construed to limit the duties, responsibilities, or

liabilities of any insurer, whether public or private. Hewever,-aeounty The hospital or other

licensed health care provider performing the examination may seek insurance reimbursement

from the victim's insurer only if authorized by the victim. This authorization may only be
sought after the examination is performed. When seeking this authorization, the eeunty

hospital or other licensed health care provider shall inform the victim that if the victim does

not authorize this, the eeunty state is required by law to pay for the examination and that

the victim is in no way liable for these costs or obligated to authorize the reimbursement.

(c) The applicability of this section does not depend upon whether the victim reports

the offense to law enforcement or the existence or status of any investigation or prosecution.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023, and applies to any

examination that occurs on or after that date.

Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.52, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
Subd. 3. Sentence. Whoever commits theft may be sentenced as follows:

(1) to imprisonment for not more than 20 years or to payment of a fine of not more than

$100,000, or both, if the property is a firearm, or the value of the property or services stolen
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is more than $35,000 and the conviction is for a violation of subdivision 2, clause (3), (4),

(15), (16), or (19), or section 609.2335, subdivision 1, clause (1) or (2), item (i); or

(2) to imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of not more than
$20,000, or both, if the value of the property or services stolen exceeds $5,000, or if the
property stolen was an article representing a trade secret, an explosive or incendiary device,
or a controlled substance listed in Schedule I or II pursuant to section 152.02 with the

exception of marijuana; or

(3) to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more

than $10,000, or both, if any of the following circumstances exist:

(a) the value of the property or services stolen is more than $1,000 but not more than

$5,000; or

(b) the property stolen was a controlled substance listed in Schedule II1, I'V, or V pursuant

to section 152.02; or

(c) the value of the property or services stolen is more than $500 but not more than
$1,000 and the person has been convicted within the preceding five years for an offense
under this section, section 256.98; 268.182; 609.24; 609.245; 609.522; 609.53; 609.582,
subdivision 1, 2, or 3; 609.625; 609.63; 609.631; or 609.821, or a statute from another state,
the United States, or a foreign jurisdiction, in conformity with any of those sections, and
the person received a felony or gross misdemeanor sentence for the offense, or a sentence
that was stayed under section 609.135 if the offense to which a plea was entered would

allow imposition of a felony or gross misdemeanor sentence; or

(d) the value of the property or services stolen is not more than $1,000, and any of the

following circumstances exist:

(1) the property is taken from the person of another or from a corpse, or grave or coffin

containing a corpse; or

(i1) the property is a record of a court or officer, or a writing, instrument or record kept,

filed or deposited according to law with or in the keeping of any public officer or office; or

(1i1) the property is taken from a burning, abandoned, or vacant building or upon its
removal therefrom, or from an area of destruction caused by civil disaster, riot, bombing,

or the proximity of battle; or

(iv) the property consists of public funds belonging to the state or to any political

subdivision or agency thereof; or
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(v) the property stolen is a motor vehicle; or

(4) to imprisonment for not more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than
$3,000, or both, if the value of the property or services stolen is more than $500 but not

more than $1,000; or

(5) in all other cases where the value of the property or services stolen is $500 or less,
to imprisonment for not more than 90 days or to payment of a fine of not more than $1,000,
or both, provided, however, in any prosecution under subdivision 2, clauses (1), (2), (3),
(4), (13), and (19), the value of the money or property or services received by the defendant
in violation of any one or more of the above provisions within any six-month period may
be aggregated and the defendant charged accordingly in applying the provisions of this
subdivision; provided that when two or more offenses are committed by the same person
in two or more counties, the accused may be prosecuted in any county in which one of the

offenses was committed for all of the offenses aggregated under this paragraph.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes

committed on or after that date.

Sec. 37. [609.522] ORGANIZED RETAIL THEFT.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) As used in this section, the terms in this subdivision have

the meanings given.

(b) "Article surveillance system" means any electronic device or other security device

that is designed to detect or prevent the unauthorized removal of retail merchandise from

a retailer.

(c) "Organized retail theft enterprise" means an ongoing criminal enterprise having retail

theft as one of its goals in which two or more individuals participate. The term does not

require that the same individuals participate in each offense.

(d) "Retailer" means a person or entity that sells retail merchandise.

(e) "Retail merchandise" means all forms of tangible property, without limitation, held

out for sale by a retailer.

(f) "Value" means the retail market value at the time of the theft or, if the retail market

value cannot be ascertained, the cost of replacement of the property within a reasonable

time after the theft.

Subd. 2. Organized retail theft. (a) Whoever, while acting as a participant in an

organized retail theft enterprise, steals or fraudulently obtains retail merchandise from a
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retailer commits organized retail theft and may be sentenced as provided in subdivision 3

if the actor:

(1)(1) resells or intends to resell the retail merchandise;

(1) advertises or displays any item of the retail merchandise for sale;

(ii1) returns any item of the retail merchandise to a retailer for anything of value; or

(iv) steals retail merchandise within five years of a conviction under this section; and

(2) has, while acting as a participant in an organized retail theft enterprise, committed

an act described in clause (1) or in paragraph (b), or a combination of the two, on at least

two occasions in the preceding six months.

(b) Whoever, while acting as a participant in an organized retail theft enterprise, receives,

purchases, or possesses retail merchandise knowing or having reason to know the retail

merchandise was stolen from a retailer and with the intent to resell that merchandise may

be sentenced as provided in subdivision 3 if the person has, while acting as a participant in

an organized retail theft enterprise, committed an act described in this paragraph or an act

described in paragraph (a), clause (1), or a combination of the two, on at least two occasions

in the preceding six months.

Subd. 3. Sentence. Whoever commits organized retail theft may be sentenced as follows:

(1) to imprisonment for not more than 15 years or to payment of a fine of not more than

$35,000, or both, if the value of the property stolen exceeds $5,000;

(2) to imprisonment for not more than seven years or to payment of a fine of not more

than $14,000, or both, if either of the following circumstances exist:

(1) the value of the property stolen is more than $1,000 but not more than $5,000; or

(ii) the value of the property is more than $500 but not more than $1,000 and the person

commits the offense within ten years of the first of two or more convictions under this

section;

(3) to imprisonment for not more than two years or to payment of a fine of not more

than $5,000, or both, if either of the following circumstances exist:

(1) the value of the property stolen is more than $500 but not more than $1,000; or

(i1) the value of the property is $500 or less and the person commits the offense within

ten years of a previous conviction under this section; or
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(4) to imprisonment of not more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than

$3,000, or both, if the value of the property stolen is $500 or less.

Subd. 4. Aggregation. The value of the retail merchandise received by the defendant

in violation of this section within any six-month period may be aggregated and the defendant

charged accordingly in applying the provisions of this subdivision; provided that when two

or more offenses are committed by the same person in two or more counties, the accused

may be prosecuted in any county in which one of the offenses was committed for all of the

offenses aggregated under this paragraph.

Subd. 5. Enhanced penalty. If a violation of this section creates a reasonably foreseeable

risk of bodily harm to another, the penalties described in subdivision 3 are enhanced as

follows:

(1) if the penalty is a gross misdemeanor, the person is guilty of a felony and may be

sentenced to imprisonment for not more than three years or to payment of a fine of not more

than $5,000, or both; and

(2) if the penalty is a felony, the statutory maximum sentence for the offense is 50 percent

longer than for the underlying crime.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes

committed on or after that date.

Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.527, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) As used in this section, the following terms have the

meanings given them in this subdivision.

(b) "Direct victim" means any person or entity described in section 611A.01, paragraph

(b), whose identity has been transferred, used, or possessed in violation of this section.

(c) "False pretense" means any false, fictitious, misleading, or fraudulent information
or pretense or pretext depicting or including or deceptively similar to the name, logo, website
address, email address, postal address, telephone number, or any other identifying information
of a for-profit or not-for-profit business or organization or of a government agency, to which

the user has no legitimate claim of right.

(d) "Financial institution" has the meaning given in section 13A.01, subdivision 2.

(e) "Identity" means any name, number, or data transmission that may be used, alone or
in conjunction with any other information, to identify a specific individual or entity, including

any of the following:
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(1) a name, Social Security number, date of birth, official government-issued driver's
license or identification number, government passport number, or employer or taxpayer

1dentification number;

(2) unique electronic identification number, address, account number, or routing code;

or
(3) telecommunication identification information or access device.

te) (f) "Indirect victim" means any person or entity described in section 611A.01,

paragraph (b), other than a direct victim.

D (g) "Loss" means value obtained, as defined in section 609.52, subdivision 1, clause
(3), and expenses incurred by a direct or indirect victim as a result of a violation of this

section.
{g) (h) "Unlawful activity" means:

(1) any felony violation of the laws of this state or any felony violation of a similar law

of another state or the United States; and

(2) any nonfelony violation of the laws of this state involving theft, theft by swindle,
forgery, fraud, or giving false information to a public official, or any nonfelony violation

of a similar law of another state or the United States.

th) (1) "Scanning device" means a scanner, reader, or any other electronic device that 1s
used to access, read, scan, obtain, memorize, or store, temporarily or permanently,
information encoded on a computer chip or magnetic strip or stripe of a payment card,

driver's license, or state-issued identification card.

) (§) "Reencoder" means an electronic device that places encoded information from the
computer chip or magnetic strip or stripe of a payment card, driver's license, or state-issued
identification card, onto the computer chip or magnetic strip or stripe of a different payment
card, driver's license, or state-issued identification card, or any electronic medium that

allows an authorized transaction to occur.

& (k) "Payment card" means a credit card, charge card, debit card, or any other card

that:
(1) 1s 1ssued to an authorized card user; and

(2) allows the user to obtain, purchase, or receive credit, money, a good, a service, or

anything of value.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
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Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.527, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 8. Release of limited account information to law enforcement authorities. (a)

A financial institution may release the information described in paragraph (b) to a law

enforcement or prosecuting authority that certifies in writing that it is investigating or

prosecuting a crime of identity theft under this section. The certification must describe with

reasonable specificity the nature of the suspected identity theft that is being investigated or

prosecuted, including the dates of the suspected criminal activity.

(b) This subdivision applies to requests for the following information relating to a

potential victim's account:

(1) the name of the account holder or holders; and

(2) the last known home address and telephone numbers of the account holder or holders.

(c) A financial institution may release the information requested under this subdivision

that it possesses within a reasonable time after the request. The financial institution may

not impose a fee for furnishing the information.

(d) A financial institution is not liable in a criminal or civil proceeding for releasing

information in accordance with this subdivision.

(e) Release of limited account information to a law enforcement agency under this

subdivision is criminal investigative data under section 13.82, subdivision 7.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.

Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.582, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Burglary in the third degree. (a) Except as otherwise provided in this section,

whoever enters a building without consent and with intent to steal or commit any felony or
gross misdemeanor while in the building, or enters a building without consent and steals or
commits a felony or gross misdemeanor while in the building, either directly or as an
accomplice, commits burglary in the third degree and may be sentenced to imprisonment

for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than $10,000, or both.

(b) Whoever enters a building that is open to the public, other than a building identified

in subdivision 2, paragraph (b), with intent to steal while in the building, or enters a building

that is open to the public, other than a building identified in subdivision 2, paragraph (b),

and steals while in the building, either directly or as an accomplice, commits burglary in
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the third degree and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years or to

payment of a fine of not more than $10,000, or both, if:

(1) the person enters the building within one year after being told to leave the building

and not return; and

(2) the person has been convicted within the preceding five years for an offense under

this section, section 256.98, 268.182, 609.24, 609.245, 609.52, 609.522, 609.53, 609.625,

609.63, 609.631, or 609.821, or a statute from another state, the United States, or a foreign

jurisdiction, in conformity with any of those sections, and the person received a felony

sentence for the offense or a sentence that was stayed under section 609.135 if the offense

to which a plea was entered would allow imposition of a felony sentence.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes

committed on or after that date.

Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.582, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Burglary in the fourth degree. (a) Whoever enters a building without consent
and with intent to commit a misdemeanor other than to steal, or enters a building without
consent and commits a misdemeanor other than to steal while in the building, either directly
or as an accomplice, commits burglary in the fourth degree and may be sentenced to
imprisonment for not more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than $3,000,

or both.

(b) Whoever enters a building that is open to the public, other than a building identified

in subdivision 2, paragraph (b), with intent to steal while in the building, or enters a building

that is open to the public, other than a building identified in subdivision 2, paragraph (b),

and steals while in the building, either directly or as an accomplice, commits burglary in

the fourth degree and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than one year or to

payment of a fine of not more than $3,000, or both, if the person enters the building within

one year after being told to leave the building and not return.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes

committed on or after that date.

Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.595, subdivision 1la, is amended to read:

Subd. 1a. Criminal damage to property in the second degree. (a) Whoever intentionally

causes damage described in subdivision 2, paragraph (a), beeause-of the-property-ewner's

1
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definedinseetion363A-03;age;ornational-erigin is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced

to imprisonment for not more than one year and a day or to payment of a fine of not more

than $3,000, or both, if the damage:

(1) was committed in whole or in substantial part because of the property owner's or

another's actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation,

gender identity, gender expression, age, national origin, or disability as defined in section

363A.03;

(2) was committed in whole or in substantial part because of the victim's actual or

perceived association with another person or group of a certain actual or perceived race,

color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression,

age, national origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03; or

(3) was motivated in whole or in substantial part by an intent to intimidate or harm an

individual or group of individuals because of actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity,

religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, age, national

origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03.

(b) In any prosecution under paragraph (a), the value of property damaged by the
defendant in violation of that paragraph within any six-month period may be aggregated
and the defendant charged accordingly in applying this section. When two or more offenses
are committed by the same person in two or more counties, the accused may be prosecuted
in any county in which one of the offenses was committed for all of the offenses aggregated

under this paragraph.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes

committed on or after that date.

Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.595, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Criminal damage to property in the third degree. (a) Except as otherwise
provided in subdivision 1a, whoever intentionally causes damage to another person's physical
property without the other person's consent may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more
than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than $3,000, or both, if: (1) the damage
reduces the value of the property by more than $500 but not more than $1,000 as measured
by the cost of repair and replacement; or (2) the damage was to a public safety motor vehicle

and the defendant knew the vehicle was a public safety motor vehicle.

(b) Whoever intentionally causes damage to another person's physical property without

the other person's consent
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ornattonal-erigin may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than one year or to

payment of a fine of not more than $3,000, or both, if the damage reduces the value of the

property by not more than $500- and:

(1) was committed in whole or in substantial part because of the property owner's or

another's actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation,

gender identity, gender expression, age, national origin, or disability as defined in section

363A.03;

(2) was committed in whole or in substantial part because of the victim's actual or

perceived association with another person or group of a certain actual or perceived race,

color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression,

age, national origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03; or

(3) was motivated in whole or in substantial part by an intent to intimidate or harm an

individual or group of individuals because of actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity,

religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, age, national

origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03.

(c) In any prosecution under paragraph (a), clause (1), the value of property damaged
by the defendant in violation of that paragraph within any six-month period may be
aggregated and the defendant charged accordingly in applying this section. When two or
more offenses are committed by the same person in two or more counties, the accused may
be prosecuted in any county in which one of the offenses was committed for all of the

offenses aggregated under this paragraph.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes

committed on or after that date.

Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.749, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Aggravated violations. (a) A person who commits any of the following acts
is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years or

to payment of a fine of not more than $10,000, or both:

(1) commits any offense described in subdivision 2 in whole or in substantial part because

of the victim's or another's actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender,
sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, age, national origin, or disability as

defined in section 363A.03, age;-ernational-erigin or because of the victim's actual or

perceived association with another person or group of a certain actual or perceived race,
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color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression,

age, national origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03;

(2) commits any offense described in subdivision 2 by falsely impersonating another;

(3) commits any offense described in subdivision 2 and a dangerous weapon was used

in any way in the commission of the offense;

(4) commits any offense described in subdivision 2 with intent to influence or otherwise
tamper with a juror or a judicial proceeding or with intent to retaliate against a judicial
officer, as defined in section 609.415, or a prosecutor, defense attorney, or officer of the
court, because of that person's performance of official duties in connection with a judicial

proceeding; or

(5) commits any offense described in subdivision 2 against a victim under the age of

18, if the actor is more than 36 months older than the victim.

(b) A person who commits any offense described in subdivision 2 against a victim under
the age of 18, if the actor is more than 36 months older than the victim, and the act is
committed with sexual or aggressive intent, is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to
imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of not more than $20,000,

or both.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes

committed on or after that date.

Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 611A.211, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Grants. The commissioner of public safety shall award grants to programs

which provide support services or emergency shelter and housing supports as defined by

section 611A.31 to victims of sexual assault. The commissioner shall also award grants for

training, technical assistance, and the development and implementation of education programs
to increase public awareness of the causes of sexual assault, the solutions to preventing and

ending sexual assault, and the problems faced by sexual assault victims.

Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 611A.31, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Battered-woman Domestic abuse victim. "Battered-woman" "Domestic abuse

victim" means a woman person who 1s being or has been victimized by domestic abuse as

defined in section 518B.01, subdivision 2.
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Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 611A.31, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Emergency shelter services. "Emergency shelter services" include, but are
not limited to, secure crisis shelters for battered-wemen domestic abuse victims and housing

networks for battered-women domestic abuse victims.

Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 611A.31, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 3a. Housing supports. "Housing supports" means services and supports used to

enable victims to secure and maintain transitional and permanent housing placement. Housing

supports include but are not limited to rental assistance and financial assistance to maintain

housing stability. Transitional housing placements may take place in communal living,

clustered site or scattered site programs, or other transitional housing models.

Sec. 49. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 611A.32, is amended to read:

611A.32 BAFFERED-WOMEN DOMESTIC ABUSE PROGRAMS.

Subdivision 1. Grants awarded. The commissioner shall award grants to programs

which provide emergency shelter services te-battered-wemen, housing supports, and support

services to battered-wemen-and domestic abuse victims and their children. The commissioner
shall also award grants for training, technical assistance, and for the development and
implementation of education programs to increase public awareness of the causes of battering

domestic abuse, the solutions to preventing and ending domestic violence, and the problems

faced by battered-women-and domestic abuse victims. Grants shall be awarded in a manner

that ensures that they are equitably distributed to programs serving metropolitan and

nonmetropolitan populations. ByJuly 1995 community-based domestie-abuse-adveeaey

Subd. 1a. Program for American Indian wemen domestic abuse victims. The

commissioner shall establish at least one program under this section to provide emergency

shelter services and support services to battered American Indian wemen domestic abuse

victims and their children. The commissioner shall grant continuing operating expenses to

the program established under this subdivision in the same manner as operating expenses

are granted to programs established under subdivision 1.

Subd. 2. Applications. Any public or private nonprofit agency may apply to the
commissioner for a grant to provide emergency shelter services to-battered-women, housing

supports, support services, and one or more of these services and supports to domestic abuse
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victims;-er-beth;to-battered-wemen and their children. The application shall be submitted

in a form approved by the commissioner by rule adopted under chapter 14 and shall include:

(1) a proposal for the provision of emergency shelter services for-battered-women,
housing supports, support services, and one or more of these services and supports for

domestic abuse victims;-or-both,for-battered-women and their children;

(2) a proposed budget;

(3) the agency's overall operating budget, including documentation on the retention of

financial reserves and availability of additional funding sources;

(4) evidence of an ability to integrate into the proposed program the uniform method of

data collection and program evaluation established under section 611A.33;

(5) evidence of an ability to represent the interests of battered-woemen-and domestic
abuse victims and their children to local law enforcement agencies and courts, county welfare

agencies, and local boards or departments of health;

(6) evidence of an ability to do outreach to unserved and underserved populations and

to provide culturally and linguistically appropriate services; and

(7) any other content the commissioner may require by rule adopted under chapter 14;

: derined ot o v "

Programs which have been approved for grants in prior years may submit materials
which indicate changes in items listed in clauses (1) to (7), in order to qualify for renewal
funding. Nothing in this subdivision may be construed to require programs to submit

complete applications for each year of renewal funding.

Subd. 3. Duties of grantees. Every public or private nonprofit agency which receives

a grant to provide emergency shelter services te-battered-woemen-and, housing supports, or

support services to battered-women-and domestic abuse victims shall comply with all rules

of the commissioner related to the administration of the pHet programs.

Subd. 5. Classification of data collected by grantees. Personal history information and
other information collected, used or maintained by a grantee from which the identity or
location of any victim of domestic abuse may be determined is private data on individuals,
as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 12, and the grantee shall maintain the data in

accordance with the provisions of chapter 13.
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Sec. 50. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.15, is amended to read:

626.15 EXECUTION AND RETURN OF WARRANT; TIME.

(a) Except as provided in paragraph paragraphs (b) and (c), a search warrant must be

executed and returned to the court which issued it within ten days after its date. After the

expiration of this time, the warrant is void unless previously executed.

(b) A search warrant on a financial institution for financial records is valid for 30 days.

(c) A district court judge may grant an extension of a warrant on a financial institution
for financial records upon an application under oath stating that the financial institution has

not produced the requested financial records within ten-days the 30-day period and that an

extension is necessary to achieve the purposes for which the search warrant was granted.

Each extension may not exceed 30 days.

(d) For the purposes of this paragraph section, "financial institution" has the meaning

given in section 13A.01, subdivision 2, and "financial records" has the meaning given in

section 13A.01, subdivision 3.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.

Sec. 51. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.5531, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Reports required. A peace officer must report to the head of the officer's
department every violation of chapter 609 or a local criminal ordinance if the officer has

reason to believe, or if the victim alleges, that the-effender-was-metivated-to-committhe

aetby the act was committed in whole or in substantial part because of the victim's actual

or perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, natienal-erigin; sex, gender, sexual orientation,

gender identity, gender expression, age, national origin, or disability as defined in section

363 A.03, or characteristiestdentified-assexual ortentation because of the victim's actual or

perceived association with another person or group of a certain actual or perceived race,

color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression,

age, national origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03. The superintendent of the

Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall adopt a reporting form to be used by law enforcement
agencies in making the reports required under this section. The reports must include for

each incident all of the following:

(1) the date of the offense;
(2) the location of the offense;

(3) whether the target of the incident is a person, private property, or public property;
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(4) the crime committed;

(5) the type of bias and information about the offender and the victim that is relevant to

that bias;
(6) any organized group involved in the incident;
(7) the disposition of the case;

(8) whether the determination that the offense was motivated by bias was based on the

officer's reasonable belief or on the victim's allegation; and

(9) any additional information the superintendent deems necessary for the acquisition

of accurate and relevant data.

Sec. 52. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.843, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 1c. Rules governing certain misconduct. No later than January 1, 2025, the

board must adopt rules under chapter 14 that permit the board to take disciplinary action

on a licensee for a violation of a standard of conduct in Minnesota Rules, chapter 6700,

whether or not criminal charges have been filed and in accordance with the evidentiary

standards and civil processes for boards under chapter 214.

Sec. 53. [626.8443] OPIATE ANTAGONISTS; TRAINING; CARRYING:; USE.

Subdivision 1. Training. A chief law enforcement officer must provide basic training

to peace officers employed by the chief's agency on:

(1) identifying persons who are suffering from narcotics overdoses; and

(2) the proper use of opiate antagonists to treat a narcotics overdose.

Subd. 2. Mandatory supply. A chief law enforcement officer must maintain a sufficient

supply of opiate antagonists to ensure that officers employed by the chief's agency can

satisfy the requirements of subdivision 3.

Subd. 3. Mandatory carrying. Each on-duty peace officer who is assigned to respond

to emergency calls must have at least two unexpired opiate antagonist doses readily available

when the officer's shift begins. An officer who depletes their supply of opiate antagonists

during the officer's shift shall replace the expended doses from the officer's agency's supply

so long as replacing the doses will not compromise public safety.
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Subd. 4. Authorization of use. (a) A chieflaw enforcement officer must authorize peace

officers employed by the chief's agency to perform administration of an opiate antagonist

when an officer believes a person is suffering a narcotics overdose.

(b) In order to administer opiate antagonists, a peace officer must comply with section

151.37, subdivision 12, paragraph (b), clause (1).

Sec. 54. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.8451, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Training course; crimes motivated by bias. (a) The board must prepare

a approve a list of training eeurse courses to assist peace officers in identifying and,

responding to, and reporting crimes mettvated-by committed in whole or in substantial part

because of the victim's or another's actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion,

nattenal-erigin; sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, age,
national origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03, or eharaeteristies-identified-as

sexual-ortentation because of the victim's actual or perceived association with another person

or group of a certain actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual

orientation, gender identity, gender expression, age, national origin, or disability as defined

in section 363A.03. The course must include material to help officers distinguish bias crimes

from other crimes, to help officers in understanding and assisting victims of these crimes,

and to ensure that bias crimes will be accurately reported as required under section 626.5531.

The eeurse-must-be-updated-periodically board must review the approved courses every

three years and update the list of approved courses as the board, in consultation with

communities most targeted by hate crimes because of their characteristics as described

above, organizations with expertise in providing training on hate crimes, and the statewide

coalition of organizations representing communities impacted by hate crimes, considers

appropriate.

(b) In updating the list of approved training courses described in paragraph (a), the board

must consult and significantly incorporate input from communities most targeted by hate

crimes because of their characteristics as described above, organizations with expertise in

providing training on hate crimes, and the statewide coalition of organizations representing

communities impacted by hate crimes.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023.

Sec. 55. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.8469, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. In-service training required. (a) Beginning July 1, 2018, the chief law

enforcement officer of every state and local law enforcement agency shall provide in-service
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training in crisis intervention and mental illness crises; conflict management and mediation;
and recognizing and valuing community diversity and cultural differences to include implicit

bias training; and training to assist peace officers in identifying, responding to, and reporting

incidents committed in whole or in substantial part because of the victim's actual or perceived

race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender

expression, age, national origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03, or because of

the victim's actual or perceived association with another person or group of a certain actual

or perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity,

gender expression, age, national origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03, to every

peace officer and part-time peace officer employed by the agency. The training shall comply
with learning objectives developed and approved by the board and shall meet board

requirements for board-approved continuing education credit. Every three years the board

shall review the learning objectives and must consult and collaborate with communities

most targeted by hate crimes because of their characteristics as described above, organizations

with expertise in providing training on hate crimes, and the statewide coalition of

organizations representing communities impacted by hate crimes in identifying appropriate

objectives and training courses related to identifying, responding to, and reporting incidents

committed in whole or in substantial part because of the victim's or another's actual or

perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, national origin, sex, gender, sexual orientation,

gender identity, gender expression, age, national origin, or disability as defined in section

363A.03, or because of the victim's actual or perceived association with another person or

group of a certain actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual

orientation, gender identity, gender expression, age, national origin, or disability as defined

in section 363A.03. The training shall consist of at least 16 continuing education credits

within an officer's three-year licensing cycle. Each peace officer with a license renewal date
after June 30, 2018, is not required to complete this training until the officer's next full

three-year licensing cycle.

(b) Beginning July 1, 2021, the training mandated under paragraph (a) must be provided
by an approved entity. The board shall create a list of approved entities and training courses
and make the list available to the chief law enforcement officer of every state and local law
enforcement agency. Each peace officer (1) with a license renewal date before June 30,
2022, and (2) who received the training mandated under paragraph (a) before July 1, 2021,
is not required to receive this training by an approved entity until the officer's next full

three-year licensing cycle.
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(c) For every peace officer and part-time peace officer with a license renewal date of

June 30, 2022, or later, the training mandated under paragraph (a) must:

(1) include a minimum of six hours for crisis intervention and mental illness crisis

training that meets the standards established in subdivision 1a; and

(2) include a minimum of four hours to ensure safer interactions between peace officers

and persons with autism in compliance with section 626.8474.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023.

Sec. 56. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.8473, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Written policies and procedures required. (a) The chief officer of every state
and local law enforcement agency that uses or proposes to use a portable recording system
must establish and enforce a written policy governing its use. In developing and adopting
the policy, the law enforcement agency must provide for public comment and input as
provided in subdivision 2. Use of a portable recording system without adoption of a written
policy meeting the requirements of this section is prohibited. The written policy must be

posted on the agency's website, if the agency has a website.

(b) At a minimum, the written policy must incorporate and require compliance with the

following:

(1) the requirements of section 13.825 and other data classifications, access procedures,
retention policies, and data security safeguards that, at a minimum, meet the requirements

of chapter 13 and other applicable law;

(2) prohibit altering, erasing, or destroying any recording made with a peace officer's

portable recording system or data and metadata related to the recording prior to the expiration

of the applicable retention period under section 13.825, subdivision 3;

(3) mandate that a portable recording system be:

(1) worn where it affords an unobstructed view, and above the mid-line of the waist;

(i1) activated during all contacts with citizens in the performance of official duties other

than community engagement, to the extent practical without compromising officer safety;

and

(ii1) activated when the officer arrives on scene of an incident and remain active until

the conclusion of the officer's duties at the scene of the incident;
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(4) mandate that officers assigned a portable recording system wear and operate the

system in compliance with the agency's policy adopted under this section while performing

law enforcement activities under the command and control of another chief law enforcement

officer or federal law enforcement official;

(5) procedures for testing the portable recording system to ensure adequate functioning;

3) (6) procedures to address a system malfunction or failure, including requirements

for documentation by the officer using the system at the time of a malfunction or failure;

4 (7) circumstances under which recording is mandatory, prohibited, or at the discretion

of the officer using the system,;
5) (8) circumstances under which a data subject must be given notice of a recording;

6) (9) circumstances under which a recording may be ended while an investigation,

response, or incident is ongoing;

1 (10) procedures for the secure storage of portable recording system data and the

creation of backup copies of the data; and

8) (11) procedures to ensure compliance and address violations of the policy, which
must include, at a minimum, supervisory or internal audits and reviews, and the employee

discipline standards for unauthorized access to data contained in section 13.09.

(c) The board has authority to inspect state and local law enforcement agency policies

to ensure compliance with this section. The board may conduct this inspection based upon

a complaint it receives about a particular agency or through a random selection process.

The board may impose licensing sanctions and seek injunctive relief under section 214.11

for an agency's or licensee's failure to comply with this section.

Sec. 57. [626.8516] INTENSIVE COMPREHENSIVE PEACE OFFICER
EDUCATION AND TRAINING PROGRAM.

Subdivision 1. Establishment; title. A program is established within the Department

of Public Safety to fund the intensive comprehensive law enforcement education and training

of college degree holders. The program shall be known as the intensive comprehensive

peace officer education and training program.

Subd. 2. Purpose. The program is intended to address the critical shortage of peace

officers in the state. The program shall reimburse law enforcement agencies that recruit,

educate, and train highly qualified college graduates to become licensed peace officers in

the state.
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Subd. 3. Eligibility for reimbursement grant; grant cap. (a) The chief law enforcement

officer of a law enforcement agency may apply to the commissioner for reimbursement of

the cost of educating, training, paying, and insuring an eligible peace officer candidate until

the candidate is licensed by the board as a peace officer.

(b) The commissioner must reimburse an agency for the actual cost of educating, training,

paying, and insuring an eligible peace officer candidate up to $50,000.

(c) The commissioner shall not award a grant under this section until the candidate has

been licensed by the board.

Subd. 4. Eligibility for retention bonus reimbursement grant. (a) The chief law

enforcement officer of a law enforcement agency may apply to the commissioner for a

onetime reimbursement grant for a retention bonus awarded to an eligible peace officer

candidate after the candidate has worked for a minimum of two years as a licensed peace

officer for the applicant's agency.

(b) The commissioner must reimburse an agency for the actual cost of an eligible retention

bonus up to $10,000.

Subd. 5. Eligibility for student loan reimbursement grant. (a) An eligible peace officer

candidate, after serving for ....... consecutive years as a licensed peace officer in good

standing for a law enforcement agency, may apply to the commissioner for a grant to cover

student loan debt incurred by the applicant in earning the applicant's four-year degree.

(b) The commissioner shall reimburse the applicant for the amount of the applicant's

student loan debt up to $20,000.

Subd. 6. Forms. The commissioner must prepare the necessary grant application forms

and make them available on the agency's public website.

Subd. 7. Intensive education and sKkills training program. No later than February 1,

2024, the commissioner, in consultation with the executive director of the board and the

institutions designated as education providers under subdivision 8, shall develop an intensive

comprehensive law enforcement education and skills training curriculum that will provide

eligible peace officer candidates with the law enforcement education and skills training

needed to be licensed as a peace officer. The curriculum must be designed to be completed

in eight months or less and shall be offered at the institutions designated under subdivision

8. The curriculum may overlap, coincide with, or draw upon existing law enforcement

education and training programs at institutions designated as education providers under

subdivision 8. The commissioner may designate existing law enforcement education and
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training programs that are designed to be completed in eight months or less as intensive

comprehensive law enforcement education and skills training programs for purposes of this

section.

Subd. 8. Education providers; sites. (a) No later than September 1, 2023, the Board

of Trustees of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities shall designate at least two

regionally diverse system campuses to provide the required intensive comprehensive law

enforcement education and skills training to eligible peace officer candidates.

(b) In addition to the campuses designated under paragraph (a), the commissioner may

designate private, nonprofit postsecondary institutions to provide the required intensive

comprehensive law enforcement education and skills training to eligible peace officer

candidates.

Subd. 9. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have the

meanings given.

(b) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of public safety.

(c) "Eligible peace officer candidate" means a person who:

(1) holds a four-year degree from an accredited college or university;

(2) is a citizen of the United States;

(3) passed a thorough background check, including searches by local, state, and federal

agencies, to disclose the existence of any criminal record or conduct which would adversely

affect the candidate's performance of peace officer duties;

(4) possesses a valid Minnesota driver's license or, in case of residency therein, a valid

driver's license from another state, or eligibility to obtain either license; and

(5) is sponsored by a state or local law enforcement agency.

(d) "Law enforcement agency" has the meaning given in section 626.84, subdivision 1,

paragraph (f), clause (1).

(e) "Program" means the intensive comprehensive peace officer education and training

program.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
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92.1 Sec. 58. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 11, article 1, section 15, subdivision 3,

922  1s amended to read:
923 Subd. 3. Peace Officer Training Assistance

924  Philando Castile Memorial Training Fund
925 $6,000,000 each year is to support and
92.6  strengthen law enforcement training and

92.7  implement best practices, including but not

92.8  limited to reimbursing costs related to training

92.9  courses that qualify for reimbursement under

92.10 Minnesota Statutes, 626.8452 (use of force),

92.11  sections 626.8469 (training in crisis response,

92.12  conflict management, and cultural diversity),

92.13  and 626.8474 (autism training). This funding

92.14  shall be named the "Philando Castile Memorial

92.15  Training Fund."

92.16  Each sponsor of a training course is required
92.17  to include the following in the sponsor's

92.18  application for approval submitted to the
92.19  board: course goals and objectives; a course
92.20  outline including at a minimum a timeline and
9221  teaching hours for all courses; instructor
9222  qualifications, including skills and concepts
92.23  such as crisis intervention, de-escalation, and
92.24  cultural competency that are relevant to the
92.25  course provided; and a plan for learning

92.26  assessments of the course and documenting
9227  the assessments to the board during review.
9228  Upon completion of each course, instructors
92.29  must submit student evaluations of the

92.30  instructor's teaching to the sponsor.

9231  The board shall keep records of the

9232 applications of all approved and denied

92.33  courses. All continuing education courses shall
9234  be reviewed after the first year. The board

92.35  must set a timetable for recurring review after
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the first year. For each review, the sponsor
must submit its learning assessments to the
board to show that the course is teaching the

learning outcomes that were approved by the

board.

A list of licensees who successfully complete
the course shall be maintained by the sponsor
and transmitted to the board following the
presentation of the course and the completed
student evaluations of the instructors.
Evaluations are available to chief law
enforcement officers. The board shall establish
a data retention schedule for the information

collected in this section.

Each year, if funds are available after
reimbursing all eligible requests for courses
approved by the board under this subdivision,
the board may use the funds to reimburse law
enforcement agencies for other
board-approved law enforcement training
courses. The base for this activity is $0 in

fiscal year 2026 and thereafter.

Sec. 59. EXCEPTION TO TOLLING PERIOD.

SS2909R

Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 299A.47, a claim for benefits may be made

from the public safety officer's death benefit account by or on behalf of a survivor of a

public safety officer who died by suicide between January 1, 2017, and June 30, 2023,

within two years of the effective date of this act if the officer is considered killed in the line

of duty under the changes made to Minnesota Statutes, section 299A .41, in this act.

Sec. 60. INITTAL APPOINTMENT AND FIRST MEETING FOR THE REWARD

ADVISORY GROUP FOR THE OFFICE OF MISSING AND MURDERED

INDIGENOUS RELATIVES.

The Director of the Office of Missing and Murdered Indigenous Relatives must appoint

the first members to the reward advisory group under Minnesota Statutes, section 299A.86,
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subdivision 3, by August 15, 2023, and must convene the first meeting of the group by

October 1, 2023. The group must elect a chair at its first meeting.

Sec. 61. RULES; SOFT BODY ARMOR REIMBURSEMENT.

The commissioner of public safety shall amend rules adopted under Minnesota Statutes,

section 299A.38, subdivision 4, to reflect the soft body armor reimbursement for public

safety officers under that section.

Sec. 62. REVISOR INSTRUCTION.

The revisor of statutes shall make necessary changes to statutory cross-references to

reflect the changes made to Minnesota Statutes, section 299A.38, in this act.

Sec. 63. REPEALER.

Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299C.80, subdivision 7, is repealed.

ARTICLE 4
CORRECTIONS
Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 241.01, subdivision 3a, is amended to read:

Subd. 3a. Commissioner, powers and duties. The commissioner of corrections has the

following powers and duties:

(a) To accept persons committed to the commissioner by the courts of this state for care,

custody, and rehabilitation.

(b) To determine the place of confinement of committed persons in a correctional facility
or other facility of the Department of Corrections and to prescribe reasonable conditions
and rules for their employment, conduct, instruction, and discipline within or outside the

facility. Inmates shall not exercise custodial functions or have authority over other inmates.
(c) To administer the money and property of the department.
(d) To administer, maintain, and inspect all state correctional facilities.

(e) To transfer authorized positions and personnel between state correctional facilities

as necessary to properly staff facilities and programs.

(f) To utilize state correctional facilities in the manner deemed to be most efficient and
beneficial to accomplish the purposes of this section, but not to close the Minnesota

Correctional Facility-Stillwater or the Minnesota Correctional Facility-St. Cloud without
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legislative approval. The commissioner may place juveniles and adults at the same state
minimum security correctional facilities, if there is total separation of and no regular contact
between juveniles and adults, except contact incidental to admission, classification, and

mental and physical health care.

(g) To organize the department and employ personnel the commissioner deems necessary
to discharge the functions of the department, including a chief executive officer for each
facility under the commissioner's control who shall serve in the unclassified civil service

and may, under the provisions of section 43A.33, be removed only for cause.

(h) To define the duties of these employees and to delegate to them any of the
commissioner's powers, duties and responsibilities, subject to the commissioner's control

and the conditions the commissioner prescribes.

(1) To annually develop a comprehensive set of goals and objectives designed to clearly
establish the priorities of the Department of Corrections. This report shall be submitted to
the governor commencing January 1, 1976. The commissioner may establish ad hoc advisory

committees.

(j) To publish, administer, and award grant contracts with state agencies, local units of

government, and other entities for correctional programs embodying rehabilitative concepts,

for restorative programs for crime victims and the overall community, and for implementing

legislative directives.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 241.021, subdivision 1d, is amended to read:

Subd. 1d. Public notice of restriction, revocation, or suspension. If the license of a
facility under this section is revoked or suspended, or use of the facility is restricted for any

reason under a conditional license order, or a correction order is issued to a facility, the

commissioner shall post the facility, the status of the facility's license, and the reason for

the correction order, restriction, revocation, or suspension publicly and on the department's

website.

Sec. 3. [243.1609] INTERSTATE ADULT OFFENDER TRANSFER
TRANSPORTATION EXPENSES.

Subject to the amount of money appropriated for this purpose, the commissioner of

corrections may reimburse sheriffs for transportation expenses related to the return of

probationers to the state who are being held in custody under section 243.1605.

Reimbursement shall be based on a fee schedule agreed to by the Department of Corrections
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and the Minnesota Sheriffs' Association. The required return to the state of a probationer

in custody as a result of a nationwide warrant issued pursuant to the Interstate Compact for

Adult Supervision shall be arranged and supervised by the sheriff of the county in which

the court proceedings are to be held and at the expense of the state as provided for in this

section. This expense offset is not applicable to the transport of individuals from pickup

locations within 250 miles of the office of the sheriff arranging and supervising the offender's

return to the state.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.05, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 2a. Exception. (a) A person may not be held criminally liable for a violation of

section 609.185, paragraph (a), clause (3), for a death caused by another unless the person

intentionally aided, advised, hired, counseled, or conspired with or otherwise procured the

other with the intent to cause the death of a human being.

(b) A person may not be held criminally liable for a violation of section 609.19,

subdivision 2, clause (1), for a death caused by another unless the person was a major

participant in the underlying felony and acted with extreme indifference to human life.

(c) A "major participant" under paragraph (b) is one who:

(1) used a deadly weapon during the commission of the underlying felony or provided

a deadly weapon to another participant where it was reasonably foreseeable that the weapon

would be used in the underlying felony;

(2) was not present at the time of the commission of the underlying felony but coerced

a participant to undertake actions in furtherance of the underlying felony that proximately

caused the death, and where it was reasonably foreseeable that such actions would cause

death or great bodily harm; or

(3) impeded another person from preventing the death either by physical action or by

threat of physical action when it was reasonably foreseeable that death or great bodily harm

would result.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes

committed on or after that date.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 641.15, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Medical aid. Except as provided in section 466.101, the county board shall

pay the costs of medical services provided to prisoners pursuant to this section. The amount
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paid by the county board for a medical service shall not exceed the maximum allowed
medical assistance payment rate for the service, as determined by the commissioner of
human services. In the absence of a health or medical insurance or health plan that has a
contractual obligation with the provider or the prisoner, medical providers shall charge no
higher than the rate negotiated between the county and the provider. In the absence of an
agreement between the county and the provider, the provider may not charge an amount
that exceeds the maximum allowed medical assistance payment rate for the service, as
determined by the commissioner of human services. The county is entitled to reimbursement
from the prisoner for payment of medical bills to the extent that the prisoner to whom the
medical aid was provided has the ability to pay the bills. The prisoner shall, at a minimum,
incur co-payment obligations for health care services provided by a county correctional
facility. The county board shall determine the co-payment amount. Notwithstanding any
law to the contrary, the co-payment shall be deducted from any of the prisoner's funds held
by the county, to the extent possible. If there is a disagreement between the county and a
prisoner concerning the prisoner's ability to pay, the court with jurisdiction over the defendant
shall determine the extent, if any, of the prisoner's ability to pay for the medical services.
If a prisoner is covered by health or medical insurance or other health plan when medical
services are provided, the medical provider shall bill that health or medical insurance or
other plan. If the county providing the medical services for a prisoner that has coverage
under health or medical insurance or other plan, that county has a right of subrogation to
be reimbursed by the insurance carrier for all sums spent by it for medical services to the
prisoner that are covered by the policy of insurance or health plan, in accordance with the
benefits, limitations, exclusions, provider restrictions, and other provisions of the policy or
health plan. The county may maintain an action to enforce this subrogation right. The county
does not have a right of subrogation against the medical assistance program. The county

shall not charge prisoners for telephone calls to MNsure navigators, the Minnesota Warmline,

a mental health provider, or calls for the purpose of providing case management or mental

health services as defined in section 245.462 to prisoners.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 641.155, 1s amended to read:

641.155 DISCHARGE PLANS; OFFENDERSWITHSERIOUSAND PERSISTENTF
MENTFALE-H-ENESS.

Subdivision 1. Discharge plans. The commissioner of corrections shall develop and
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jail or county regional jail. The commissioner may specify different model discharge plans

for prisoners who have been detained pretrial and prisoners who have been sentenced to

jail. The commissioner must consult best practices and the most current correctional health

care standards from national accrediting organizations. The commissioner must review and

update the model process as needed.

Subd. 2. Discharge plans for people with serious and persistent mental illnesses. An

offender A person with a serious and persistent mental illness, as defined in section 245.462,
subdivision 20, paragraph (c), who has been convicted and sentenced to serve three or more
months and is being released from a county jail or county regional jail shall be referred to

the appropriate staff in the county human services department at least 60 days before being

released. The county human services department may-earry-eut-provisions-of the-medel
discharge-planningpreeess-sueh-as must complete a discharge plan with the prisoner no

less than 14 days before release that may include:

(1) providing assistance in filling out an application for medical assistance or

MinnesotaCare;

(2) making a referral for case management as outlined under section 245.467, subdivision

4;
(3) providing assistance in obtaining a state photo identification;

(4) securing a timely appointment with a psychiatrist or other appropriate community

mental health providers; and
(5) providing prescriptions for a 30-day supply of all necessary medications.

Subd. 3. Reentry coordination programs. (a) A county may establish a program to

provide services and assist prisoners with reentering the community. Reentry services may

include but are not limited to:

(1) providing assistance in meeting the basic needs of the prisoner immediately after

release, including but not limited to provisions for transportation, clothing, food, and shelter;

(2) providing assistance in filling out an application for medical assistance or

MinnesotaCare;

(3) providing assistance in obtaining a state photo identification;

(4) providing assistance in obtaining prescriptions for all necessary medications;

(5) coordinating services with the local county services agency or the social services

agency in the county where the prisoner is a resident; and
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(6) coordinating services with a community mental health or substance use disorder

provider.

Sec. 7. LIABILITY FOR MURDER COMMITTED BY ANOTHER; RETROACTIVE
APPLICATION.

Subdivision 1. Purpose. Any person is entitled to petition to have the person's conviction

vacated pursuant to this section if the person was:

(1) charged with aiding and abetting first-degree murder under Minnesota Statutes,

section 609.185, paragraph (a), clause (3), and thereafter convicted of a violation of

Minnesota Statutes, section 609.185, paragraph (a), clause (3); 609.19, subdivision 1, clause
(1); or 609.19, subdivision 2, clause (1); or

(2) charged with aiding and abetting second-degree unintentional murder under Minnesota

Statutes, section 609.19, subdivision 2, clause (1), and thereafter convicted of a violation

of Minnesota Statutes, section 609.185, paragraph (a), clause (3); 609.19, subdivision 1,

clause (1); or 609.19, subdivision 2, clause (1).

Subd. 2. Notification. (a) By December 1, 2023, the commissioner of corrections shall

notify individuals convicted for a violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 609.185, paragraph

(a), clause (3); 609.19, subdivision 1, clause (1); or 609.19, subdivision 2, clause (1), of the

right to file a preliminary application for relief if:

(1) the person was convicted for a violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 609.185,

paragraph (a), clause (3), and did not actually cause the death of a human being or

intentionally aid, advise, hire, counsel, or conspire with or otherwise procure another with

the intent to cause the death of a human being;

(2) the person was convicted for a violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 609.19,

subdivision 2, clause (1), and did not actually cause the death of a human being or was not

a major participant, as described in Minnesota Statutes, section 609.05, subdivision 2a,

paragraph (¢), in the underlying felony who acted with extreme indifference to human life;

or

(3) the person was charged with aiding and abetting first-degree murder under Minnesota

Statutes, section 609.185, paragraph (a), clause (3), or second-degree unintentional murder

under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.19, subdivision 2, clause (1), and thereafter convicted

for a violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 609.19, subdivision 1, clause (1), and did not

actually cause the death of a human being or was not a major participant, as described in
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Minnesota Statutes, section 609.05, subdivision 2a, paragraph (c), in the underlying felony

who acted with extreme indifference to human life.

(b) The notice shall include the address of Ramsey County District Court administration.

(c) The commissioner of corrections may coordinate with the judicial branch to establish

a standardized notification form.

Subd. 3. Preliminary application. (a) An applicant shall submit a preliminary application

to the Ramsey County District Court. The preliminary application must contain:

(1) the applicant's name and, if different, the name under which the person was convicted;

(2) the applicant's date of birth;

(3) the district court case number of the case for which the person is seeking relief;

(4) a statement as to whether the applicant was convicted following a trial or pursuant

to a plea;

(5) a statement as to whether the person filed a direct appeal from the conviction, a

petition for postconviction relief, or both;

(6) a brief statement, not to exceed 3,000 words, explaining why the applicant is entitled

to relief under this section from a conviction for the death of a human being caused by

another; and

(7) the name and address of any attorney representing the applicant.

(b) The preliminary application may contain:

(1) the name, date of birth, and district court case number of any other person charged

with, or convicted of, a crime arising from the same set of circumstances for which the

applicant was convicted; and

(2) a copy of a criminal complaint or indictment, or the relevant portions of a presentence

investigation or life imprisonment report, describing the facts of the case for which the

applicant was convicted.

(c) The judicial branch may establish a standardized preliminary application form, but

shall not reject a preliminary application for failure to use a standardized form.

(d) Any person seeking relief under this section must submit a preliminary application

no later than October 1, 2024. Submission is complete upon mailing.

(e) Submission of a preliminary application shall be without costs or any fees charged

to the applicant.
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Subd. 4. Review of preliminary application. (a) Upon receipt of a preliminary

application, the court administrator of the Ramsey County District Court shall immediately

direct attention of the filing thereof to the chief judge or judge acting on the chief judge's

behalf who shall promptly assign the matter to a judge in said district.

(b) The judicial branch may appoint a special master to review preliminary applications

and may assign additional staff as needed to assist in the review of preliminary applications.

(c) The reviewing judge shall determine whether, in the discretion of that judge, there

is a reasonable probability that the applicant is entitled to relief under this section.

(d) In making the determination under paragraph (c), the reviewing judge shall consider

the preliminary application and any materials submitted with the preliminary application

and may consider relevant records in the possession of the judicial branch.

(e) The court may summarily deny an application when the applicant was not convicted

of a violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 609.185, paragraph (a), clause (3); 609.19,

subdivision 1, clause (1); or 609.19, subdivision 2, clause (1), before August 1, 2023, or

the only issues raised in the application are not relevant to the relief available under this

section.

(f) If the reviewing judge determines that there is a reasonable probability that the

applicant is entitled to relief, the judge shall send notice to the applicant and the applicant's

attorney, if any, and the prosecutorial office responsible for prosecuting the applicant. In

the event the applicant is without counsel, the reviewing judge shall send notice to the state

public defender and shall advise the applicant of such referral.

(g) If the reviewing judge determines that there is not a reasonable probability that the

applicant is entitled to relief, the judge shall send notice to the applicant and the applicant's

attorney, if any. The notice must contain a brief statement explaining the reasons the

reviewing judge concluded that there is not a reasonable probability that the applicant is

entitled to relief.

Subd. 5. Petition for relief; hearing. (a) Unless extended for good cause, within 60

days of receipt of the notice sent pursuant to subdivision 4, paragraph (f), the individual

seeking relief shall file and serve a petition to vacate the conviction. The petition must be

filed in the district court of the judicial district in the county where the conviction took place

and must contain the information identified in subdivision 3, paragraph (a), and a statement

of why the petitioner is entitled to relief under this section. The petition may contain any

other relevant information, including police reports, trial transcripts, and plea transcripts

involving the petitioner or any other person investigated for, charged with, or convicted of
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a crime arising out of the same set of circumstances for which the petitioner was convicted.

The filing of the petition and any document subsequent thereto and all proceedings thereon

shall be without costs or any fees charged to the petitioner.

(b) Upon receipt of the petition, the prosecutor shall make a good faith and reasonable

effort to notify any person determined to be a victim of the underlying offense that a petition

has been filed.

(c) A county attorney representing the prosecutorial office shall respond to the petition

by answer or motion within 45 days after the filing of the petition pursuant to paragraph

(a), unless extended for good cause. The response shall be filed with the court administrator

of the district court and served on the petitioner if unrepresented or on the petitioner's

attorney. The response may serve notice of the intent to support the petition or include a

statement explaining why the petitioner is not entitled to relief along with any supporting

documents. The filing of the response and any document subsequent thereto and all

proceedings thereon shall be without costs or any fees charged to the county attorney.

(d) The petitioner may file a reply to the response filed by the county attorney within

15 days after the petitioner receives the response, unless extended for good cause.

(e) Within 30 days of receipt of the reply from the petitioner or, if no reply is filed,

within 30 days of receipt of the response from the county attorney, the court shall:

(1) 1ssue an order pursuant to subdivision 6 and schedule the matter for sentencing or

resentencing pursuant to subdivision 6, paragraph (e), if the county attorney indicates an

intent to support the petition;

(2) issue an order denying the petition without prejudice if additional information or

submissions establish that there is not a reasonable probability that the applicant is entitled

to relief under this section and a memorandum identifying the additional information or

submissions and explaining the reasons why the court concluded that there is not a reasonable

probability that the applicant is entitled to relief; or

(3) schedule the matter for a hearing and issue any appropriate order regarding submission

of evidence or identification of witnesses.

(f) The hearing shall be held in open court and conducted pursuant to Minnesota Statutes,

section 590.04, except that the petitioner must be present at the hearing, unless excused

under Rules of Criminal Procedure, rule 26.03, subdivision 1, clause (3). The prosecutor

shall make a good faith and reasonable effort to notify any person determined to be a victim

of the hearing.
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Subd. 6. Determination; order; resentencing. (a) A petitioner who was convicted of

a violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 609.185, paragraph (a), clause (3), is entitled to

relief if the petitioner shows by a preponderance of the evidence that the petitioner:

(1) did not cause the death of a human being; and

(2) did not intentionally aid, advise, hire, counsel, or conspire with or otherwise procure

another with the intent to cause the death of a human being.

(b) A petitioner who was convicted of a violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 609.19,

subdivision 2, clause (1), is entitled to relief if the petitioner shows by a preponderance of

the evidence that the petitioner:

(1) did not cause the death of a human being; and

(2) was not a major participant, as described in Minnesota Statutes, section 609.05,

subdivision 2a, paragraph (c), in the underlying felony and did not act with extreme

indifference to human life.

(c) A petitioner who was charged with aiding and abetting first-degree murder under

Minnesota Statutes, section 609.185, paragraph (a), clause (3), and thereafter convicted of

a violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 609.19, subdivision 1, clause (1), is entitled to

relief if the petitioner shows by a preponderance of the evidence that the petitioner:

(1) did not cause the death of a human being; and

(2) was not a major participant, as described in Minnesota Statutes, section 609.05,

subdivision 2a, paragraph (c), in the underlying felony and did not act with extreme

indifference to human life.

(d) A petitioner who was charged with aiding and abetting second-degree unintentional

murder under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.19, subdivision 2, clause (1), and thereafter

convicted of a violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 609.19, subdivision 1, clause (1), is

entitled to relief if the petitioner shows by a preponderance of the evidence that the petitioner:

(1) did not cause the death of a human being; and

(2) was not a major participant, as described in Minnesota Statutes, section 609.05,

subdivision 2a, paragraph (c), in the underlying felony and did not act with extreme

indifference to human life.

(e) If the court determines that the petitioner does not qualify for relief, the court shall

issue an order denying the petition. If the court determines that the petitioner is entitled to

relief, the court shall issue an order vacating the conviction for a violation of Minnesota
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Statutes, section 609.185, paragraph (a), clause (3), or 609.19, subdivision 2, clause (1),

and either:

(1) resentence the petitioner for the most serious remaining offense for which the

petitioner was convicted; or

(2) enter a conviction and impose a sentence for the most serious predicate felony arising

out of the course of conduct that served as the factual basis for the conviction vacated by

the court.

(f) The new sentence announced by the court under this section must be for the most

serious predicate felony unless the most serious remaining offense for which the petitioner

was convicted is that offense or a more serious offense.

(g) The court shall state in writing or on the record the reasons for its decision on the

petition.

(h) If the court intends to resentence a petitioner or impose a sentence on a petitioner,

the court must hold the hearing at a time that allows any victim an opportunity to submit a

statement consistent with Minnesota Statutes, section 611A.038. The prosecutor shall make

a good faith and reasonable effort to notify any person determined to be a victim of the

hearing and the right to submit or make a statement. A sentence imposed under this

subdivision shall not increase the petitioner's period of confinement or, if the petitioner was

serving a stayed sentence, increase the period of supervision. A person resentenced under

this paragraph is entitled to credit for time served in connection with the vacated offense.

(1) Relief granted under this section shall not be treated as an exoneration for purposes

of the Incarceration and Exoneration Remedies Act.

() Appeals from an order of the court issued under this subdivision may be made pursuant

to Minnesota Statutes, section 590.06.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.

Sec. 8. TASK FORCE ON AIDING AND ABETTING FELONY MURDER.

(a) Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 11, article 2, section 53, subdivisions 2, 3,

4, and 5, are revived and reenacted on the effective date of this section to expand the focus

of the task force's duties and work beyond the intersection of felony murder and aiding and

abetting liability for felony murder to more generally apply to the broader issues regarding

the state's felony murder doctrine and aiding and abetting liability schemes discussed in
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"Task Force on Aiding and Abetting Felony Murder," Report to the Minnesota Legislature,

dated February 1, 2022, "The Task Force's recommendations," number 4.

(b) On or before January 15, 2024, the task force shall submit a report to the chairs and

ranking minority members of the house of representatives and senate committees and

divisions with jurisdiction over crime and sentencing on the findings and recommendations

of the task force.

(c) The task force expires January 16, 2024, or the day after submitting its report under

paragraph (b), whichever is earlier.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

ARTICLE 5§
CLEMENCY PROVISIONS

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 13.871, subdivision 8, is amended to read:

Subd. 8. Beard-ef Pardens Clemency Review Commission records. Access to Beard

ef Pardens records of the Clemency Review Commission is governed by section 638-07

638.20.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299C.11, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
Subd. 3. Definitions. For purposes of this section:

(1) "determination of all pending criminal actions or proceedings in favor of the arrested

person" does not include:

(1) the sealing of a criminal record pursuant to section 152.18, subdivision 1, 242.31, or

chapter 609A;
(1) the arrested person's successful completion of a diversion program;
(ii1) an order of discharge under section 609.165; or
(iv) a pardon granted under seetion-638-02 chapter 638; and

(2) "targeted misdemeanor" has the meaning given in section 299C.10, subdivision 1.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 638.01, is amended to read:

638.01 BOARD OF PARDONS;- HOW-CONSTITUTED; POWERS.

The Board of Pardons shall-eensist consists of the governor, the chief justice of the

supreme court, and the attorney general. The beard governor in conjunction with the board
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heremnafter preseribed,-butnet-otherwise clemency according to this chapter.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 4. [638.011] DEFINITIONS.

Subdivision 1. Scope. For purposes of this chapter, the terms defined in this section have

the meanings given.

Subd. 2. Board. "Board" means the Board of Pardons under section 638.01.

Subd. 3. Clemency. Unless otherwise provided, "clemency" includes a pardon,

commutation, and reprieve after conviction for a crime against the state except in cases of

impeachment.

Subd. 4. Commission. "Commission" means the Clemency Review Commission under

section 638.09.

Subd. 5. Department. "Department" means the Department of Corrections.

Subd. 6. Waiver request. "Waiver request" means a request to waive a time restriction

under sections 638.12, subdivisions 2 and 3, and 638.19, subdivision 1.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.

Sec. 5. [638.09] CLEMENCY REVIEW COMMISSION.

Subdivision 1. Establishment; duties. (a) The Clemency Review Commission is

established to:

(1) review each eligible clemency application and waiver request that it receives;

(2) recommend to the board, in writing, whether to grant or deny the application or

waiver request, with each member's vote reported;

(3) recommend to the board, in writing, whether the board should conduct a hearing on

a clemency application, with each member's vote reported; and

(4) provide victim support services, assistance to applicants, and other assistance as the

board requires.

(b) Unless otherwise provided:
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(1) the commission's recommendations under this chapter are nonbinding on the governor

or the board; and

(2) chapter 15 applies unless otherwise inconsistent with this chapter.

Subd. 2. Composition. (a) The commission consists of nine members, each serving a

term coterminous with the governor.

(b) The governor, the attorney general, and the chief justice of the supreme court must

each appoint three members to serve on the commission and replace members when the

members' terms expire. Members serve at the pleasure of their appointing authority.

Subd. 3. Appointments to commission. (a) An appointing authority is encouraged to

consider the following criteria when appointing a member:

(1) expertise in law, corrections, victims' services, correctional supervision, mental

health, and substance abuse treatment; and

(2) experience addressing systemic disparities, including but not limited to disparities

based on race, gender, and ability.

(b) An appointing authority must seek out and encourage qualified individuals to apply

to serve on the commission, including:

(1) members of Indigenous communities, Black communities, and other communities

of color;

(2) members diverse as to gender identity; and

(3) members diverse as to age and ability.

(c) If there is a vacancy, the appointing authority who selected the vacating member

must make an interim appointment to expire at the end of the vacating member's term.

(d) A member may continue to serve until the member's successor is appointed, but a

member may not serve more than eight years in total.

Subd. 4. Commission; generally. (a) The commission must biennially elect one of its

members as chair and one as vice-chair. The chair serves as the board's secretary.

(b) Each commission member must be:

(1) compensated at a rate of $150 for each day or part of the day spent on commission

activities; and

(2) reimbursed for all reasonable expenses actually paid or incurred by the member while

performing official duties.

Article 5 Sec. 5. 107



108.1

108.2

108.3

108.4

108.5

108.6

108.7

108.8

108.9

108.10

108.11

108.12

108.13

108.14

108.15

108.16

108.17

108.18

108.19

108.20

108.21

108.22

108.23

108.24

108.25

108.26

108.27

108.28

108.29

108.30

108.31

03/31/23 SENATEE SS SS2909R

(c) Beginning January 1, 2025, and annually thereafter, the board may set a new per

diem rate for commission members, not to exceed an amount ten percent higher than the

previous year's rate.

Subd. 5. Executive director. (a) The board must appoint a commission executive director

knowledgeable about clemency and criminal justice. The executive director serves at the

pleasure of the board in the unclassified service as an executive branch employee.

(b) The executive director's salary is set in accordance with section 15A.0815, subdivision

3.

(c) The executive director may obtain office space and supplies and hire administrative

staff necessary to carry out the commission's official functions, including providing

administrative support to the board and attending board meetings. Any additional staff serve

in the unclassified service at the pleasure of the executive director.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.

Sec. 6. [638.10] CLEMENCY APPLICATION.

Subdivision 1. Required contents. A clemency application must:

(1) be in writing;

(2) be signed under oath by the applicant; and

(3) state the clemency sought, state why the clemency should be granted, and contain

the following information and any additional information that the commission or board

requires:

(1) the applicant's name, address, and date and place of birth, and every alias by which

the applicant is or has been known;

(11) the applicant's demographic information, including race, ethnicity, gender, disability

status, and age, only if voluntarily reported;

(ii1) the name of the crime for which clemency is requested, the date and county of

conviction, the sentence imposed, and the sentence's expiration or discharge date;

(iv) the names of the sentencing judge, the prosecuting attorney, and any victims of the

crime;

(v) a brief description of the crime and the applicant's age at the time of the crime;

(vi) the date and outcome of any prior clemency application, including any application

submitted before July 1, 2024;
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(vii) to the best of the applicant's knowledge, a statement of any past criminal conviction

and any pending criminal charge or investigation;

(viii) for an applicant under the department's custody, a statement describing the

applicant's reentry plan should clemency be granted; and

(ix) an applicant statement acknowledging and consenting to the disclosure to the

commission, board, and public of any private data on the applicant in the application or in

any other record relating to the clemency being sought, including conviction and arrest

records.

Subd. 2. Required form. (a) An application must be made on a commission-approved

form or forms and filed with the commission by commission-prescribed deadlines. The

commission must consult with the board on the forms and deadlines.

(b) The application must include language informing the applicant that the board and

the commission will consider any and all past convictions and that the applicant may provide

information about the convictions.

Subd. 3. Reviewing application for completeness. The commission must review an

application for completeness. An incomplete application must be returned to the applicant,

who may then provide the missing information and resubmit the application within a

commission-prescribed period.

Subd. 4. Notice to applicant. After the commission's initial investigation of a clemency

application, the commission must notify the applicant of the scheduled date, time, and

location that the applicant must appear before the commission for a meeting under section

638.14.

Subd. 5. Equal access to information. Each board and commission member must have

equal access to information under this chapter that is used when making a clemency decision.

Sec. 7. [638.11] THIRD-PARTY NOTIFICATIONS.

Subdivision 1. Notice to victim; victim rights. (a) After receiving a clemency

application, the commission must make all reasonable efforts to locate any victim of the

applicant's crime.

(b) At least 30 calendar days before the commission meeting at which the application

will be heard, the commission must notify any located victim of:

(1) the application;

(2) the meeting's scheduled date, time, and location; and
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(3) the victim's right to attend the meeting and submit an oral or written statement to the

commission.

(c) The commission must make all reasonable efforts to ensure that a victim can:

(1) submit an oral or written statement; and

(2) receive victim support services as necessary to help the victim submit a statement

and participate in the clemency process.

Subd. 2. Notice to sentencing judge and prosecuting attorney. (a) At least 30 calendar

days before the commission meeting at which the application will be heard, the commission

must notify the sentencing judge and prosecuting attorney or their successors of the

application and solicit the judge's and attorney's written statements on whether to grant

clemency.

(b) Unless otherwise provided in this chapter, "law enforcement agency" includes the

sentencing judge and prosecuting attorney or their successors.

Subd. 3. Notice to public. At least 30 calendar days before the commission meeting at

which the application will be heard, the commission must publish notice of an application

in a qualified newspaper of general circulation in the county in which the applicant's crime

occurred.

Sec. 8. [638.12] TYPES OF CLEMENCY; ELIGIBILITY AND WAIVER.

Subdivision 1. Types of clemency; requirements. (a) The board may:

(1) pardon a criminal conviction imposed under the laws of this state;

(2) commute a criminal sentence imposed by a court of this state to time served or a

lesser sentence; or

(3) grant a reprieve of a sentence imposed by a court of this state.

(b) A grant of clemency must be in writing and has no force or effect if the governor or

a board majority duly convened opposes the clemency. Every conditional grant of clemency

must state the terms and conditions upon which it was granted, and every commutation

must specify the terms of the commuted sentence.

(c) A granted pardon sets aside the conviction and purges the conviction from an

individual's criminal record. The individual is not required to disclose the conviction at any

time or place other than:

(1) in a judicial proceeding; or
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(2) during the licensing process for peace officers.

Subd. 2. Pardon eligibility; waiver. (a) An individual convicted of a crime in a court

of this state may apply for a pardon of the individual's conviction on or after five years from

the sentence's expiration or discharge date.

(b) An individual may request the board to waive the waiting period if there is a showing

of unusual circumstances and special need.

(c) The commission must review a waiver request and recommend to the board whether

to grant the request. When considering a waiver request, the commission is exempt from

the meeting requirements under section 638.14 and chapter 13D.

(d) The board must grant a waiver request unless the governor or a board majority

opposes the waiver.

Subd. 3. Commutation eligibility. (a) An individual may apply for a commutation of

an unexpired criminal sentence imposed by a court of this state, including an individual

confined in a correctional facility or on probation, parole, supervised release, or conditional

release. An application for commutation may not be filed until the date that the individual

has served at least one-half of the sentence imposed or on or after five years from the

conviction date, whichever is earlier.

(b) An individual may request the board to waive the waiting period if there is a showing

of unusual circumstances and special need.

(c) The commission must review a waiver request and recommend to the board whether

to grant the request. When considering a waiver request, the commission is exempt from

the meeting requirements under section 638.14 and chapter 13D.

(d) The board must grant a waiver request unless the governor or a board majority

opposes the waiver.

Sec. 9. [638.13] ACCESS TO RECORDS; ISSUING SUBPOENA.

Subdivision 1. Access to records. (a) Notwithstanding chapter 13 or any other law to

the contrary, upon receiving a clemency application, the board or commission may request

and obtain any relevant reports, data, and other information from state courts, law

enforcement agencies, or state agencies. The board and the commission must have access

to all relevant sealed or otherwise inaccessible court records, presentence investigation

reports, police reports, criminal history reports, prison records, and any other relevant

information.
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(b) State courts, law enforcement agencies, and state agencies must promptly respond

to record requests from the board or the commission.

Subd. 2. Issuing subpoena. The board or the commission may issue a subpoena requiring

the presence of any person before the commission or board and the production of papers,

records, and exhibits in any pending matter. When a person is summoned before the

commission or the board, the person may be allowed compensation for travel and attendance

as the commission or the board considers reasonable.

Sec. 10. [638.14] COMMISSION MEETINGS.

Subdivision 1. Frequency. The commission must meet at least four times each year for

one or more days at each meeting to hear eligible clemency applications and recommend

appropriate action to the board on each application. One or more of the meetings may be

held at a department-operated correctional facility.

Subd. 2. When open to the public. All commission meetings are open to the public as

provided under chapter 13D, but the commission may hold closed meetings:

(1) as provided under chapter 13D; or

(2) as necessary to protect sensitive or confidential information, including (i) a victim's

identity, and (i1) sensitive or confidential victim testimony.

Subd. 3. Recording. When possible, the commission must record its meetings by audio

or audiovisual means.

Subd. 4. Board attendance. The governor, attorney general, and chief justice, or their

designees, may attend commission meetings as ex officio nonvoting members, but their

attendance does not affect whether the commission has a quorum.

Subd. 5. Applicant appearance; third-party statements. (a) An applicant for clemency

must appear before the commission either in person or through available forms of

telecommunication.

(b) The victim of an applicant's crime may appear and speak at the meeting or submit a

written statement to the commission. The commission may treat a victim's written statement

as confidential and not disclose the statement to the applicant or the public if there is or has

been an order for protection, harassment restraining order, or other no-contact order

prohibiting the applicant from contacting the victim.

(c) A law enforcement agency's representative may provide the agency's position on

whether the commission should recommend clemency by:

Article 5 Sec. 10. 112



03/31/23 SENATEE SS SS2909R

113.1 (1) appearing and speaking at the meeting; or
113.2 (2) submitting a written statement to the commission.
1133 (d) The sentencing judge and the prosecuting attorney, or their successors, may provide

113.4  their positions on whether the commission should recommend clemency by:

113.5 (1) appearing and speaking at the meeting; or

113.6 (2) submitting their statements under section 638.11, subdivision 2.

113.7 Sec. 11. [638.15] COMMISSION RECOMMENDATION.

113.8 Subdivision 1. Grounds for recommending clemency. (a) When recommending whether

113.9  to grant clemency, the commission must consider any factors that the commission deems

113.10 appropriate, including but not limited to:

113.11 (1) the nature, seriousness, and circumstances of the applicant's crime; the applicant's

113.12 age at the time of the crime; and the time that has elapsed between the crime and the

113.13  application;

113.14 (2) the successful completion or revocation of previous probation, parole, supervised

113.15 release, or conditional release;

113.16 (3) the number, nature, and circumstances of the applicant's other criminal convictions;

113.17 (4) the extent to which the applicant has demonstrated rehabilitation through

113.18 postconviction conduct, character, and reputation;

113.19 (5) the extent to which the applicant has accepted responsibility, demonstrated remorse,

113.20 and made restitution to victims;

113.21 (6) whether the sentence is clearly excessive in light of the applicant's crime and criminal

113.22 history and any sentence received by an accomplice and with due regard given to:

113.23 (1) any plea agreement;

113.24 (1) the sentencing judge's views; and

113.25 (ii1) the sentencing ranges established by law;

113.26 (7) whether the applicant's age or medical status indicates that it is in the best interest

113.27 of society that the applicant receive clemency;

113.28 (8) the applicant's asserted need for clemency, including family needs and barriers to

113.29 housing or employment created by the conviction;
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114.1 (9) for an applicant under the department's custody, the adequacy of the applicant's

1142 reentry plan;

114.3 (10) the amount of time already served by the applicant and the availability of other

1144  forms of judicial or administrative relief;

114.5 (11) the extent to which there is credible evidence indicating that the applicant is or may

114.6  be innocent of the crime for which they were convicted; and

114.7 (12) if provided by the applicant, the applicant's demographic information, including

114.8  race, ethnicity, gender, disability status, and age.

114.9 (b) Unless an applicant knowingly omitted past criminal convictions on the application,

114.10 the commission or the board must not prejudice an applicant for failing to identify past

114.11 criminal convictions.

114.12 Subd. 2. Recommending denial of commutation without hearing. (a) At a meeting

114.13 under section 638.14, the commission may recommend denying a commutation application

114.14  without a board hearing if:

114.15 (1) the applicant is challenging the conviction or sentence through court proceedings;

114.16 (2) the applicant has failed to exhaust all available state court remedies for challenging

114.17 the sentence; or

114.18 (3) the commission determines that the matter should first be considered by the parole

114.19 authority.

114.20 (b) A commission recommendation to deny an application under paragraph (a) must be

11421 sent to the board along with the application.

114.22 Subd. 3. Considering public statements. When making its recommendation on an

114.23 application, the commission must consider any statement provided by a victim or law

11424 enforcement agency.

114.25 Subd. 4. Commission recommendation; notifying applicant. (a) Before the board's

11426 next meeting at which the clemency application may be considered, the commission must

11427 send to the board:

114.28 (1) the application;

114.29 (2) the commission's recommendation;
114.30 (3) any recording of the commission's meeting related to the application; and
11431 (4) all statements from victims and law enforcement agencies.
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(b) No later than 14 calendar days after its dated recommendation, the commission must

notify the applicant in writing of its recommendation.

Sec. 12. [638.16] BOARD MEETINGS.

Subdivision 1. Frequency. (a) The board must meet at least two times each year to

consider clemency applications that have received favorable recommendations under section

638.09, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clauses (2) and (3), from the commission and any

other applications for which at least one board member seeks consideration.

(b) Any board member may request a hearing on any application.

Subd. 2. When open to the public. All board meetings are open to the public as provided

under chapter 13D, but the board may hold closed meetings:

(1) as provided under chapter 13D; or

(2) as necessary to protect sensitive or confidential information, including (i) a victim's

identity, and (i1) sensitive or confidential victim testimony.

Subd. 3. Executive director; attendance required. Unless excused by the board, the

executive director and the commission's chair or vice-chair must attend all board meetings.

Subd. 4. Considering statements. (a) Applicants, victims, and law enforcement agencies

may not submit oral or written statements at a board meeting unless:

(1) a board member requests a hearing on an application; or

(2) the commission has recommended a hearing on an application.

(b) The board must consider any statements provided to the commission when

determining whether to consider a clemency application.

Sec. 13. [638.17] BOARD DECISION; NOTIFYING APPLICANT.

Subdivision 1. Board decision. (a) At each meeting, the board must render a decision

on each clemency application considered at the meeting or continue the matter to a future

board meeting. If the board continues consideration of an application, the commission must

notify the applicant in writing and explain why the matter was continued.

(b) If the commission recommends denying an application and no board member seeks

consideration of the recommendation, it is presumed that the board concurs with the adverse

recommendation and that the application has been considered and denied on the merits.
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Subd. 2. Notifying applicant. The commission must notify the applicant in writing of

the board's decision to grant or deny clemency no later than 14 calendar days from the date

of the board's decision.

Sec. 14. [638.18] FILING COPY OF CLEMENCY; COURT ACTION.

Subdivision 1. Filing with district court. After clemency has been granted, the

commission must file a copy of the pardon, commutation, or reprieve with the district court

of the county in which the conviction and sentence were imposed.

Subd. 2. Court action; pardon. For a pardon, the court must:

(1) order the conviction set aside;

(2) include a copy of the pardon in the court file; and

(3) send a copy of the order and the pardon to the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension.

Subd. 3. Court action; commutation. For a commutation, the court must:

(1) amend the sentence to reflect the specific relief granted by the board;

(2) include a copy of the commutation in the court file; and

(3) send a copy of the amended sentencing order and commutation to the commissioner

of corrections and the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension.

Sec. 15. [638.19] REAPPLYING FOR CLEMENCY.

Subdivision 1. Time-barred from reapplying; exception. (a) After the board has

considered and denied a clemency application on the merits, an applicant may not file a

subsequent application for five years after the date of the most recent denial.

(b) An individual may request permission to reapply before the five-year period expires

based only on new and substantial information that was not and could not have been

previously considered by the board or commission.

(c) If a waiver request contains new and substantial information, the commission must

review the request and recommend to the board whether to waive the time restriction. When

considering a waiver request, the commission is exempt from the meeting requirements

under section 638.14 and chapter 13D.

(d) The board must grant a waiver request unless the governor or a board majority

opposes the waiver.
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Subd. 2. Applying for pardon not precluded. An applicant who is denied or granted

a commutation is not precluded from later seeking a pardon of the criminal conviction once

the eligibility requirements of this chapter have been met.

Sec. 16. [638.20] COMMISSION RECORD KEEPING.

Subdivision 1. Record keeping. The commission must keep a record of every application

received, its recommendation on each application, and the final disposition of each

application.

Subd. 2. When open to public. The commission's records and files are open to public

inspection at all reasonable times, except for:

(1) sealed court records;

(2) presentence investigation reports;

(3) Social Security numbers;

(4) financial account numbers;

(5) driver's license information;

(6) medical records;

(7) confidential Bureau of Criminal Apprehension records;

(8) the identities of victims who wish to remain anonymous and confidential victim

statements; and

(9) any other confidential data on individuals, private data on individuals, not public

data, or nonpublic data under chapter 13.

Sec. 17. [638.21] LANGUAGE ACCESS AND VICTIM SUPPORT.

Subdivision 1. Language access. The commission and the board must take reasonable

steps to provide meaningful language access to applicants and victims. Applicants and

victims must have language access to information, documents, and services under this

chapter, with each communicated in a language or manner that the applicant or victim can

understand.

Subd. 2. Interpreters. (a) Applicants and victims are entitled to interpreters as necessary

to fulfill the purposes of this chapter, including oral or written communication. Sections

546.42 to 546.44 apply, to the extent consistent with this section.
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(b) The commission or the board may not discriminate against an applicant or victim

who requests or receives interpretation services.

Subd. 3. Victim services. The commission and the board must provide or contract for

victim support services as necessary to support victims under this chapter.

Sec. 18. [638.22] LEGISLATIVE REPORT.

Beginning February 15, 2025, and every February 15 thereafter, the commission must

submit a written report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the house of

representatives and senate committees with jurisdiction over public safety, corrections, and

judiciary that contains at least the following information:

(1) the number of clemency applications received by the commission during the preceding

calendar year;

(2) the number of favorable and adverse recommendations made by the commission for

each type of clemency;

(3) the number of applications granted and denied by the board for each type of clemency;

(4) the crimes for which the applications were granted by the board, the year of each

conviction, and the individual's age at the time of the crime; and

(5) summary data voluntarily reported by applicants, including but not limited to

demographic information on race, ethnicity, gender, disability status, and age, of applicants

recommended or not recommended for clemency by the commission.

Sec. 19. [638.23] RULEMAKING.

(a) The board and commission may jointly adopt rules, including amending Minnesota

Rules, chapter 6600, to:

(1) enforce their powers and duties under this chapter and ensure the efficient processing

of applications; and

(2) allow for expedited review of applications if there is unanimous support from the

sentencing judge or successor, the prosecuting attorney or successor, and any victims of the

crime.

(b) The time limit to adopt rules under section 14.125 does not apply.
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Sec. 20. TRANSITION PERIOD.

(a) Beginning August 1, 2023, through March 1, 2024, the Department of Corrections

must provide the Clemency Review Commission with administrative assistance, technical

assistance, office space, and other assistance necessary for the commission to carry out its

duties under sections 4 to 21.

(b) Beginning July 1, 2024, the Clemency Review Commission must begin reviewing

applications for pardons, commutations, and reprieves. Applications received after the

effective date of this section but before July 1, 2024, must be considered according to

Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 638.02, subdivisions 2 to 5, and 638.03 to 638.08.

(c) A pardon, commutation, or reprieve that is granted during the transition period has

no force or effect if the governor or a board majority duly convened opposes the clemency.

(d) By July 1, 2024, the Clemency Review Commission must develop application forms

in consultation with the Board of Pardons.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 21. REPEALER.

Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 638.02; 638.03; 638.04; 638.05; 638.06; 638.07;
638.075; and 638.08, are repealed.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 22. EFFECTIVE DATE.

Sections 1, 2, and 6 to 19 are effective July 1, 2024.

ARTICLE 6
911 EMERGENCY COMMUNICATION SYSTEM

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. Automatic location identification. "Automatic location identification" means

the process of electronically identifying and displaying the-name-of the-subseriber-and-the
leeation, where available, efthe-eallingtelephone-number the name of the subscriber, the

communications device's current location, and the callback number to a persen public safety

telecommunicator answering a 911 emergency call.
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Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, subdivision 9a, is amended to read:

Subd. 9a. Callback number. "Callback number" means a telephone number or

functionally equivalent Internet address or device identification number used by the public

safety answering point to reeentaet contact the leeatien device from which the 911 call was

placed.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 10a. Cost recovery. "Cost recovery" means costs incurred by

commissioner-approved originating service providers specifically for the purpose of providing

access to the 911 network for their subscribers or maintenance of 911 customer databases.

These costs may be reimbursed to the requesting originating service provider. Recoverable

costs include only those costs that the requesting provider would avoid if the provider were

not providing access to the 911 network or maintenance of 911 customer databases.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 10b. Cybersecurity. "Cybersecurity" means the prevention of damage to,

unauthorized use of, exploitation of, and if needed, the restoration of, electronic information

and communications systems and services and the information contained therein to ensure

confidentiality, integrity, and availability.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 10c. Emergency communications network service provider

(ECNSP). "Emergency communications network service provider" or "ECNSP" means a

service provider, determined by the commissioner to be capable of providing effective and

efficient components of the 911 network or its management that provides or manages all

or portions of the statewide 911 emergency communications network. The ECNSP is the

entity or entities that the state contracts with to provide facilities and services associated

with operating and maintaining the Minnesota statewide 911 network.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, subdivision 11b, is amended to read:

Subd. 11b. Emergency response location. "Emergency response location" means a

location to which a 911 emergeneyrespense-team services may be dispatched. The location
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must be specific enough to provide a reasonable opportunity for the-emergeneyresponse
team-to-toeate a caller to be located anywhere within it.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 11c. Emergency services. "Emergency services" includes but is not limited to

firefighting, police, ambulance, medical, or other mobile services dispatched, monitored,

or controlled by a public safety answering point.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 11d. Emergency Services Internet (ESInet). "Emergency Services Internet" or

"ESInet" means an Internet protocol-based and multipurpose network supporting local,

regional, and national public safety communications services in addition to 911 services.

The ESInet is comprised of three network components, including ingress network, next

generation core services, and egress network.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 12a. End user equipment. "End user equipment" means any device held or

operated by an employee of a public safety agency, except for public safety

telecommunicators, for the purpose of receiving voice or data communications outside of

a public safety answering point. This includes but is not limited to mobile radios, portable

radios, pagers, mobile computers, tablets, and cellular telephones.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 13a. Geographical Information System (GIS). "Geographical Information

System" or "GIS" means a system for capturing, storing, displaying, analyzing, and managing

data and associated attributes that are spatially referenced.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 14a. Internet protocol (IP). "Internet protocol" or "IP" means the method by

which data are sent from one computer to another on the Internet or other networks.
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Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, subdivision 16a, is amended to read:

Subd. 16a. Multiline telephone system (MLTS). "Multiline telephone system" or

"MLTS" means a private-telephone system comprised of common control units, telephones;
and telephone sets, control hardware and, software thatshare-a-common-interfaceto-the

publie-switehed-telephenenetwerk, and adjunct systems used to support the capabilities

outlined in this chapter. This includes network and premises-based systems such as Centrex,

VoIP, PBX, Hybrid, and Key Telephone Systems, as classified by the Federal

Communications Commission requirements under Code of Federal Regulations, title 47,

part 68, and systems owned or leased by governmental agencies and, nonprofit entities, as

well-as and for-profit businesses.

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 16¢c. Next generation core services (NGCS). "Next generation core services" or

"NGCS" means the base set of services needed to process a 911 call on an ESInet. These

services include but are not limited to the Emergency Services Routing Proxy, Emergency

Call Routing Function, Location Validation Function, Border Control Function, Bridge,

Policy Store, Logging Services, and typical IP services such as DNS and DHCP. Next

generation core services includes only the services and not the network on which they

operate.

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 16d. Next generation 911 (NG911). "Next generation 911" or "NG911" means

an Internet protocol-based system comprised of managed Emergency Services IP networks,

functional elements and applications, and databases that replicate the traditional E911

features and functions and that also provides additional capabilities based on industry

standards. NG911 is designed to provide access to emergency services from all connected

communications services and provide multimedia data capabilities for public safety answering

points and other emergency services organizations.

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 16e. 911 call. "911 call" means any form of communication requesting any type

of emergency services by contacting a public safety answering point, including voice or
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nonvoice communications, as well as transmission of any analog or digital data. 911 call

includes a voice call, video call, text message, or data-only call.

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 16f. 911 network. "911 network" means:

(1) a legacy telecommunications network that supports basic and enhanced 911 service;

(2) the ESInet that is used for 911 calls that can be shared by all public safety answering

points and that provides the IP transport infrastructure upon which independent public safety

application platforms and core functional processes can be deployed, including but not

limited to those necessary for providing next generation 911 service capability.

A network may be constructed from a mix of dedicated and shared facilities and may be

interconnected at local, regional, state, national, and international levels.

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 16g. 911 system. "911 system" means a coordinated system of technologies,

networks, hardware, and software applications that a public safety answering point must

procure and maintain in order to connect to the state 911 network and provide 911 services.

Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 16h. Originating service provider (OSP). "Originating service provider" or

"OSP" means an entity that provides the capability for customers to originate 911 calls to

public safety answering points, including wire-line communications service providers, Voice

over Internet Protocol service providers, and wireless communications service providers.

Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, subdivision 17, is amended to read:

Subd. 17. 911 service. "911 service" means a-telecommunications-service-that

answering-point—9H-serviee-ineludes: the emergency response service a public safety

answering point provides as a result of processing 911 calls through its 911 system.
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Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, subdivision 17c, is amended to read:

Subd. 17c. 941 Public safety telecommunicator. "9+ Public safety telecommunicator"

means a person employed by a public safety answering point, an emergency medical dispatch
service provider, or both, who is qualified to answer incoming emergency telephone calls,

text messages, and computer notifications or provide for the appropriate emergency response

either directly or through communication with the appropriate public safety answering point.

Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 17¢. Point of interconnection (POI). "Point of interconnection" or "POI" means

the location or locations within the 911 network where OSPs deliver 911 calls on behalf of

their users or subscribers for delivery to the appropriate public service answering point.

Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, subdivision 18, is amended to read:

Subd. 18. Public safety agency. "Public safety agency" means afunetional-diviston-of

provides emergency services to the public.

Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, subdivision 19, is amended to read:

Subd. 19. Public safety answering point (PSAP). "Public safety answering point" or
"PSAP" means a governmental agency operating a 24-hour communications facility eperated

oena24-hour-basts-whieh that first receives 911 and other emergency calls frempersons-in

a9 -serviee-area-and-whichmay;,-as-apprepriate, central station notifications, text messages,
and computer notifications and directly dispateh-publiesafety dispatches emergency response

services or extend;transfer;-errelay- 91 -ealls relays communications to appropriate public

safety agencies according to a specific operational policy.
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Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, subdivision 19a, is amended to read:

Subd. 19a. Secondary public safety answering point. "Secondary public safety
answering point" means a communications facility that:{1)is-eperated-ona24-hourbasts;

N D AP a o I

PSAP-when-the PSAP-isunable-torecerve-oranswer-9H-calls receives calls transferred

from a public safety answering point and is connected to the 911 network.

Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 19c¢. Public Utilities Commission (PUC). "Public Utilities Commission" or

"PUC" means the Minnesota state commission defined in section 216A.03.

Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 19d. Regional board. "Regional board" means one of the seven emergency

services and emergency communications boards in this state.

Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 19e. Service user. "Service user" means any person who initiates a 911 call to

receive emergency services.

Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 19f. Voice over Internet Protocol (VolIP) service provider. "Voice over Internet

Protocol service provider" or "VoIP service provider" means an entity that provides distinct

packetized voice information in a digital format using the Internet protocol directly or

through a third party, marketed or sold as either a telephone service or an information service

interconnected with the PSTN, including both facilities-based service providers and resellers

of such services.
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Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, subdivision 20, is amended to read:

Subd. 20. Wire-line telecommunieations communications service provider. "Wire-line

telecommunieations communications service provider" means a person, firm, association,

corporation, or other legal entity, however organized, or combination of them, authorized

by state or federal regulatory agencies to furnish teleeemmunteations communications

service, including local service, over wire-line facilities.

Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, subdivision 20a, is amended to read:

Subd. 20a. Wireless telecommunications communications service. "Wireless

telecommunieations communications service" means a commercial mobile radio service,

as that term is defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title 47, section 20.3, including all
broadband personal communication services, wireless radio telephone services, and
geographic area specialized mobile radio licensees, that offer real-time, two-way voice

service interconnected with the public switched telephone network.

Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, subdivision 21, is amended to read:

Subd. 21. Wireless telecommunieations communications service provider. "Wireless

telecommunieations communications service provider" means a provider of wireless

telecommuniecations communications service.

Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.025, is amended to read:

403.025 911 EMERGENCY FEEECOMMUNICATHONS COMMUNICATIONS
SYSTEM AND SERVICES REQUIRED.

bdivision L € .  Eael ol i o C
] - .

Subd. 1a. Emergency telephone number 911. The digits 911, so designated by the
Federal Communications Commission, must be the primary emergency telephone number
within the system 911 network. A public safety agency may maintain a separate secondary

backup number for emergency calls and shall must maintain a separate number for

nonemergency telephone calls.

Subd. 1b. State requirements. The commissioner must establish, maintain, and make

available to all counties a statewide interoperable ESInet backbone 911 network that ensures

interoperability between all public safety answering points connected to the network and
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meets the requirements of counties operating 911 systems that have an approved update to

their 911 plans.

Subd. 1c. Contractual requirements. (a) The commissioner must contract with one or

more ECNSPs to deliver the 911 network.

(b) The contract language or subsequent amendments to the contracts between the parties

must contain provisions on how the 911 call routing and location validation data provided

by the counties will be utilized by the ECNSPs, including how data coordination and quality

assurance with the counties will be conducted.

(c) The contract language or subsequent amendments to contracts between the parties

must contain provisions for resolving disputes.

(d) All data required under this chapter or Minnesota Rules, chapter 7580, to route 911

calls, provide caller location, or validate possible 911 caller location information that is

utilized or intended to be utilized by the 911 system must be provided by the counties and

the state without cost and may be utilized by ECNSPs and OSPs for purposes of performing

location data quality assurance, ensuring 911 system performance and statutory compliance.

Use of the data is governed by section 403.07 and Minnesota Rules, chapter 7580.

Subd. 1d. Intergovernmental agreements. Intergovernmental agreements may be

implemented between the commissioner and counties or regional boards to support 911

system plan changes, communicate the network design, and specify cybersecurity standards.

The commissioner must develop the master agreement in collaboration with the governmental

entity.

Subd. le. County requirements. (a) Each county must operate and maintain a 911

system and provide 911 services.

(b) Each county is responsible for creating and maintaining a master street address guide

and Geographical Information Systems data necessary to support accurate 911 call routing

and location validation required to support the 911 network.

Subd. 1f. 911 plans. Each participating county, federal, Tribal, or other organization

must maintain and update a 911 plan that accurately documents current operations and 911

system configurations within the public safety answering point in accordance with Minnesota

Rules, chapter 7580. The commissioner must review 911 system plans for compliance with

911 network and cybersecurity standards required under Minnesota Rules, chapter 7580.
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Subd. 1g. Secondary public safety answering point requirements. Secondary public

safety answering points may be required to engage in agreements with the commissioner

regarding network design standards, cybersecurity standards, and 911 fee audits.

Subd. 2. Multijurisdictional system. The 911 network, 911 services, and 911 systems

may be multijurisdictional and regional in character provided that design and implementation
are preceded by cooperative planning on a county-by-county basis with local public safety

agencies. An intergovernmental agreement must be in place between the participating

government entities in a multijurisdictional or regional system, and the commissioner must

be notified of the 911 plan change in accordance with Minnesota Rules, chapter 7580.

Subd. 3. Connected telecommunieations originating service provider

Every OSP must allow Minnesota customers to access 911 without charge and deliver the

request for emergency assistance to the 911 network at a state-designated POI and provide

caller location information unless there are circumstances beyond the control of the provider

to define a valid caller address, geographic location, and primary place of address.

Subd. 3a. Originating service provider contractual requirements. (a) The state may

contract with the appropriate wire-line telecommunications service providers or other entities

determined by the commissioner to be eligible for cost recovery for providing access to the

911 network for their subscribers.

(b) The contract language or subsequent amendments to the contract must include a

description of the costs that are being reimbursed. The contract language or subsequent

amendments must include the terms of compensation based on the effective tariff or price

list filed with the Public Utilities Commission or the prices agreed to by the parties.

(c) The contract language or subsequent amendments to contracts between the parties

must contain a provision for resolving disputes.

Subd. 5. Pay phone requirements. Every pay phone owner and operator shall must

permit dialing of the 911 number without coin and without charge to the caller.
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Subd. 6. Multistation or PBX system. Every owner and operator of a multistation or

private branch exchange (PBX) multiline telephone system shall must design and maintain

the system to dial the 911 number without charge to the caller.

Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.03, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Telephone cardiopulmonary resuscitation program. (a) On-erbefore July
12021 Every public safety answering point must maintain a telephone cardiopulmonary

resuscitation program by either:

(1) providing each 911 telecommunicator with training in cardiopulmonary resuscitation;

or

(2) transferring callers to another public safety answering point with 911

telecommunicators that have received training in cardiopulmonary resuscitation.
(b) Training in cardiopulmonary resuscitation must, at a minimum, include:

(1) use of an evidence-based protocol or script for providing cardiopulmonary
resuscitation instruction that has been recommended by an academic institution or a nationally
recognized organization specializing in medical dispatch and, if the public safety answering

point has a medical director, approved by that medical director; and

(2) appropriate continuing education, as determined by the evidence-based protocol for
providing cardiopulmonary resuscitation instruction and, if the public safety answering

point has a medical director, approved by that medical director.
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(c) A public safety answering point that transfers callers to another public safety
answering point must, at a minimum:

(1) use an evidence-based protocol for the identification of a person in need of

cardiopulmonary resuscitation;

(2) provide each 911 telecommunicator with appropriate training and continuing education
to identify a person in need of cardiopulmonary resuscitation through the use of an

evidence-based protocol; and

(3) ensure that any public safety answering point to which calls are transferred uses 911

telecommunicators who meet the training requirements under paragraph (b).

(d) Each public safety answering point shall conduct ongoing quality assurance of its

telephone cardiopulmonary resuscitation program.

Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.05, is amended to read:

403.05 911 SYSTEM NETWORK OPERATION AND MAINTENANCE.

Subdivision 1. Operate and maintain. Each-county-or-any-other governmental-ageney
shall The commissioner must operate and maintain its a statewide 911 systemto-meet

network meeting the requirements ef gevernmental-agenetes-whese-serviees-are-avatlable

UU s y Cl . U P sans e U U Cl U y -S—et

forth by the commissioner through rules established under chapter 14, including but not

limited to network and data performance measures, diversity, redundancy, interoperability,

and cybersecurity. Each county, federal, Tribal, or other organization connected to the

statewide 911 network must operate and maintain a 911 system that meets the requirements

of governmental agencies whose services are available through the 911 network.

Subd. 1a. GIS validation and aggregation. The commissioner must provide geospatial

data validation and aggregation tools that counties need in order to share the GIS data

required for the 911 network.

Subd. 2a. Responsibilities of PSAPs. (a) Each PSAP connecting to the statewide 911

network must comply with state and, where applicable, regional 911 plans. Federal, Tribal,

or other governmental organizations operating their own 911 systems must be approved by

the commissioner.
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(b) Any PSAP not connected to the state 911 network that desires to interact with a 911

system or has an agreement for shared 911 services must be interoperable with the state

911 network.

Subd. 3. Agreements for service. Each-county-orany-othergovernmental-ageneyshall

eounty: The state must contract for facilities and services associated with the operation and

maintenance of the statewide 911 network and ESInet. The contract and any subsequent

amendments must include a description of the services to be provided and the terms of

compensation based on the prices agreed to by the parties.

Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.06, 1s amended to read:

403.06 COMMISSIONER'S DUTIES.

Subdivision 1. System coordination, improvements, variations, and agreements. The

commissioner shall may coordinate with counties on the management and maintenance of

their 911 systems. If requested, the commissioner shall must aid counties in the formulation
of eeneepts;metheds; their public safety answering point plans, system design plans,

performance and operational requirements, and procedures which will improve the operation

and maintenance of their 911 systems. The-commisstonershall-establish-proceduresfor

Subd. 1a. Biennial budget; annual financial report. The commissioner shall must

prepare a biennial budget for-maintaining-the-91H-system: by December 15 of each year;.

The commissioner shall must submit a report to the legislature detailing the expenditures

for maintaining the 911 system network, the 911 fees collected, the balance of the 911 fund,
the 911-related administrative expenses of the commissioner, and the most recent forecast
of revenues and expenditures for the 911 emergency telecommunications service account,
including a separate projection of E9H 911 fees from prepaid wireless customers and

projections of year-end fund balances. The commissioner is authorized to expend money
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that has been appropriated to pay for the maintenance, enhancements, and expansion of the

911 system network.

Subd. 1b. Connection plan required; commissioner review and enforcement. (a)

The commissioner must respond to network and database change requests by OSPs promptly

and no later than 45 days after the request unless otherwise mutually agreed to by the parties.

All network and location database variances requested by OSPs connecting to the ESInet

must comply with Minnesota Rules.

(b) All OSPs must submit and maintain a plan for connection to the 911 network POIs

in accordance with the requirements set forth in Minnesota Rules. The commissioner must

review all connection plans to ensure compliance with all 911 network and database design

and performance requirements.

Subd. 2. Waiver. Any county, ether governmental-ageney,wirelesstelecommunteations
serviee-provider,-or-wire-lne teleecommunteationsserviee-provider federal, Tribal, or other

organization connected to the statewide 911 network or OSP may petition the commissioner

for a waiver of all or portions of the requirements. A waiver may be granted upon a

demonstration by the petitioner that the requirement is economically infeasible.

Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.07, is amended to read:

403.07 NETWORK STANDARDS ESTABLISHED; DATA PRIVACY.

Subdivision 1. Rules. The commissioner shall must establish and adopt in accordance
with chapter 14, rules for the administration of this chapter and for the development of 911

systems network in the state including:

(1) design and performance standards for the 911 systems-incorporatingthe-standards

apu ga O-SHoatVv O] O H vCh ouhty 1 O0PoO ah-area l’letWOI"k,il’lCludll'lg

but not limited to network, routing, and database standards for counties, OSPs, and ECNSPs;

and

destgn-standards design and performance standards for the ten-county metropolitan area,

incorporating the standards adopted pursuant to subdivision 2.

Subd. 2. Design standards for metropolitan area. The Metropolitan Emergency

Services Board shall must establish and adopt design and performance standards for the

the rules-adopted pursuant-to-thisseetion: 911 network for the ten-county metropolitan area,

including but not limited to network design, routing, and database standards for counties,
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OSPs, and ECNSPs operating in the ten-county metropolitan area and provide them to the

commissioner in accordance with chapter 14 for incorporation into the rules adopted pursuant

to this section. The standards must be interoperable with the statewide 911 network and

data standards.

Subd. 3. Database Location data. In9H-systems-thathave been-approved-by-the

seetton222;-subseetton{g): All OSPs must provide to the 911 network, at the time of each

911 call, the location of the device making the 911 call, unless there are circumstances

beyond the control of the provider that prevents the OSP from sharing the location data.

Any OSP supplying the location of 911 calls in civic address form must prevalidate the

address to location data supplied by the county accessible through the NGCS.

Subd. 3a. Access to data for accuracy. (a) OSPs must, upon request of the state, a

region, the ECNSP, or a PSAP, provide a description or copy of subscriber address location

information or GIS data used by the OSP that is necessary to verify location and routing

accuracy of 911 calls. Any ECNSP routing 911 calls must, upon request of the state, provide

a copy of routing files used in determining PSAP selection for the purpose of verifying

routing accuracy.

(b) OSPs must, upon request of the state, a region, the ECNSP, or a PSAP, provide a

copy of subscriber address location information for uses specific to 911 systems. This request

may carry a cost to the requester.

Subd. 3b. Database standards in metropolitan area. The Metropolitan Emergency

Services Board must establish and adopt 911 database standards for OSPs operating in the

ten-county metropolitan area 911 system and provide them to the commissioner for

incorporation in accordance with chapter 14 into the rules adopted pursuant to this section.

Subd. 4. Use of furnished information. (a) Names, addresses, and telephone numbers

provided to a 911 system under subdivision 3 are private data and may be used only:

(1) to identify the location or identity, or both, of a person calling a 911 publie-safety
answeringpoint PSAP; or

(2) by a publiesatety-answering-point PSAP to notify the public of an emergency.
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(b) The information furnished under subdiviston3 this chapter and the rules adopted

pursuant to subdivision 1 may not be used or disclosed by 911 system agencies, their agents,

or their employees for any other purpose except under a court order.

) (c) For purposes of this subdivision, "emergency" means a situation in which property
or human life is in jeopardy and the prompt notification of the public by the public safety

answering point is essential.

Subd. 5. Liability. (a) A—wire-line-telecommunieations-servieeprovider An OSP, its

employees, or its agents are not liable to any person who uses enhaneed-9++
telecommunieations-serviee NG911 services for release of subscriber information required

under this chapter to any publie-safety-answeringpoint PSAP.
(b) A-wire-linetelecommunteationsserviee provider An OSP is not liable to any person

for the good-faith release to emergency communications personnel of information not in

the public record, including, but not limited to, nonpublished or nonlisted telephone numbers,

except for willful or wanton misconduct.

(e)A-telecommunteationsserviee-provider (c) An OSP that participates in or cooperates

with the public safety answering point in notifying the public of an emergency, as authorized

under subdivision 4, is immune from liability arising out of the notification except for willful

or wanton misconduct.

Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.08, is amended to read:

403.08 VARELESS TEEECOMMUNICATIONS ORIGINATING SERVICE
PROVIDER PROVIDERS.

Subd. 7. Duties. Each-wireless-telecommunieationsserviee-providershall-cooperatein

.......... Ao intag crnwrith enhaneed(O cotam
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for-implementation: Each originating service provider (OSP) must cooperate in planning

and implementing integration with the statewide 911 network to meet Federal

Communications Commission and Public Utilities Commission 911 requirements, as

applicable.

Subd. 9. Scope. Planning considerations must include eest-degree-efintegrationinte

9H-standards a plan to interconnect to the 911 network POlIs, the retention and reuse of

existing 911 infrastructure, and the implications of the Federal Communications

Commission's wireless location accuracy requirements.

Subd. 10. Plan integration. Ceunties-shallineorporate-the statewide-design-when

oo connt-Oll plancto-nrovideforinteo o wrrelace O arvica trto_e

eounty- 9 H-systems: An OSP must annually submit plans to the commissioner detailing

how they will connect, or confirming how they already connect, to the statewide 911 network.

Subd. 11. Liability. (a) No wireless-enhanced9H-emergeney-telecommunieations
service-provider OSP, its employees, or its agents are liable to any person for civil damages

resulting from or caused by any act or omission in the development, design, installation,
operation, maintenance, performance, or provision of enhaneed 911 wireless service, except

for willful or wanton misconduct.

(b) A multiline telephone system manufacturer, provider, or operator is not liable for

any civil damages or penalties as a result of any act or omission, except willful or wanton

misconduct, in connection with developing, designing, installing, maintaining, performing,

provisioning, adopting, operating, or implementing any plan or system required by section

403.15.
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Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.09, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Commission authority. At the request of the public utilities commission, the
attorney general may commence proceedings before the district court pursuant to section
237.27, against any wire-line-telecommunieations originating service provider that falls

under the commission's authority and refuses to comply with this chapter.

Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.10, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Notice to publie safety government agency. Publicsafety Government agencies

with jurisdictional responsibilities shall must in all cases be notified by the public safety

answering point of a request for service in their jurisdiction.

Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.10, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Allocating costs. Counties, public agencies, operating public safety answering
points, and other local governmental units may enter into cooperative agreements under
section 471.59 for the allocation of operational and capital costs attributable to the 911

system and 911 services.

Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.11, is amended to read:
403.11 911 SYSTEM COST ACCOUNTING REQUIREMENTS; FEE.

Subdivision 1. Emergency telecommunications service fee; account. (a) Each customer

of a-wireless-or-wire-line-switched-or packet-based-telecommunieations an originating

service provider connected to the public switched telephone network that furnishes service

capable of originating a 911 emergency telephone call is assessed a fee based upon the

number of wired or wireless telephone lines, or their equivalent, to provide access to the

911 network and maintenance of the 911 customer database, or when the only option, to

cover the costs of ongoing maintenance and related improvements for trunking and central

office switching equipment and maintenance of 911 customer databases for 911 emergency

telecommunications service, to offset administrative and staffing costs of the commissioner
related to managing the 911 emergency telecommunications service program, to make

distributions provided for in section 403.113, and to offset the costs, including administrative
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and staffing costs, incurred by the State Patrol Division of the Department of Public Safety

in handling 911 emergency calls made from wireless phones.

(b) Money remaining in the 911 emergency telecommunications service account after

all other obligations are paid and defined reserves are met must not cancel and is carried

forward to subsequent years and may be appropriated frem-time-te-time to the commissioner

to provide financial assistance to eeunties eligible entities for the improvement of leeal

emergeney-telecommunieations-serviees 911 systems in compliance with use as designated

in section 403.113, subdivision 3.

(c) The fee may not be more than 95 cents a month on or after July 1, 2010, for each
customer access line or other basic access service, including trunk equivalents as designated
by the Public Utilities Commission for access charge purposes and including wireless
telecommunications services. With the approval of the commissioner of management and

budget, the commissioner of public safety shall must establish the amount of the fee within

the limits specified and inform the companies and carriers of the amount to be collected.

bends-isnelengerneeded: The commissioner shall must provide companies and carriers a
minimum of 45 days' notice of each fee change. The fee must be the same for all customers,
except that the fee imposed under this subdivision does not apply to prepaid wireless
telecommunications service, which is instead subject to the fee imposed under section

403.161, subdivision 1, paragraph (a).

(d) The fee must be collected by each wireless-er-wire-line-telecommunieations
originating service provider subject to the fee. Fees are payable to and must be submitted
to the commissioner monthly before the 25th of each month following the month of
collection, except that fees may be submitted quarterly if less than $250 a month is due, or
annually if less than $25 a month is due. Receipts must be deposited in the state treasury
and credited to a 911 emergency telecommunications service account in the special revenue
fund. The money in the account may only be used for 911 telecommunications services.

The money in the account may only be used for costs outlined in section 403.113.

(e) Competitive local exchanges carriers holding certificates of authority from the Public

Utilities Commission are eligible to receive payment for recurring 911 services.

Subd. 1a. Fee collection declaration. If the commissioner disputes the accuracy of a

fee submission or if no fees are submitted by a-wireless;-wire-line;-erpacket-based
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teleecommunieations an originating service provider shal, the OSP must submit a sworn

declaration signed by an officer of the company certifying, under penalty of perjury, that
the information provided with the fee submission is true and correct. The sworn declaration
must specifically describe and affirm that the 911 fee computation is complete and accurate.

When a-wi

fails to provide a sworn declaration within 90 days of notice by the commissioner that the
fee submission is disputed, the commissioner may estimate the amount due from the wireless;

wire-line;-erpacket-based-telecommunteations-servieeprovider OSP and refer that amount

for collection under section 16D.04.

Subd. 1b. Examination of fees. If the commissioner determines that an examination is
necessary to document the fee submission and sworn declaration in subdivision 1a, the

OSP must contract

with an independent certified public accountant to conduct an examination of fees. The

examination must be conducted in accordance with attestation audit standards.

Subd. 3. Method of payment. (a) Any wireless or wire-line telecommunications service

provider incurring reimbursable costs under subdivision 1 shall submitaninveieeitemizing

aalamente by countorcarreearaatothe comy snerfor0 ervices furnished-usn

the-inveiee must be paid in accordance with the amount and terms of their valid cost recovery

contract as described in section 403.025, subdivision 3a.

(b) The commissioner shall must estimate the amount required to reimburse 9+

telecommunieations-serviee-providers the OSP for the state's obligations under subdivision

1 and the governor shall must include the estimated amount in the biennial budget request.
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Subd. 3c. Audit. If the commissioner determines that an audit is necessary to document

the invetee-and-sworn-deelarationinsubdivisten3b costs eligible for recovery as detailed
in subdivision 1, the wireless-er-wire-line-telecommunieationsserviee previder OSP must

contract with an independent certified public accountant to conduct the audit. The audit

must be conducted according to generally accepted accounting principles. The wireless-or

wire-line-telecommunieations-serviee provider OSP is responsible for any costs associated
with the audit.

Subd. 3d. Eligible telecommunications carrier; requirement. No wireless
communteationsprovider OSP may provide telecommunications services under a designation
of eligible telecommunications carrier, as provided under Minnesota Rules, part 7811.1400,
until and unless the commissioner of public safety certifies to the chair of the public utilities
commission that the wireless telecommunications provider is not in arrears in amounts owed

to the 911 emergency telecommunications service account in the special revenue fund.

Subd. 4. Local recurring costs. Recurring costs ef not covered as part of the state 911

network contracts for telecommunications equipment and services at public safety answering

points must be borne by the local governmental agency operating the public safety answering
point or allocated pursuant to section 403.10, subdivision 3. Costs attributable to local
government electives for services not otherwise addressed under section 403.11 or 403.113

must be borne by the governmental agency requesting the elective service.

Subd. 5. Tariff notification. Wire-line telecommunications service providers or wireless
telecommunications service providers holding eligible telecommunications carrier status
shall must give notice to the commissioner and any other affected governmental agency of
tariff or price list changes related to 911 service at the same time that the filing is made with

the public utilities commission.
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Subd. 6. OSP report. (a) Beginning Each September 1;2043;-and-eontinuing
semtannually-thereafter and March 1, each wireless-telecommunicationsserviee-provider

shall OSP must report to the commissioner, based on the mebtle subscriber's telephone

number;-both. Wireless communication providers must include the total number of prepaid

wireless telecommunications subscribers sourced to Minnesota and the total number of
wireless telecommunications subscribers sourced to Minnesota. The report must be filed

on the same schedule as Federal Communications Commission Form 477.

(b) The commissioner shall must make a standard form available to all wireless
telecommunications service providers for submitting information required to compile the

report required under this subdivision.

(c) The information provided to the commissioner under this subdivision is considered
trade secret information under section 13.37 and may only be used for purposes of

administering this chapter.

Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.113, is amended to read:

403.113 ENHANCED 911 SERVICE COSTS:; FEE.

Subdivision 1. Fee. A portion of the fee collected under section 403.11 must be used to
fund implementation, operation, maintenance, enhancement, and expansion of enhaneed
the 911 serviee network, including acquisition of necessary equipment and the costs of the

commissioner to administer the program in accordance with Federal Communications

Commission rules.

Subd. 2. Distribution of money. (a) After payment of the costs of the commissioner to

administer the program, the commissioner shall must distribute the money collected under

this section as follows:

(1) one-half of the amount equally to all qualified counties, and after October 1, 1997,
to all qualified counties, existing ten public safety answering points operated by the
Minnesota State Patrol, and each governmental entity operating the individual public safety
answering points serving the Metropolitan Airports Commission, the Red Lake Indian

Reservation, and the University of Minnesota Police Department; and

(2) the remaining one-half to qualified counties and cities with existing 911 systems
based on each county's or city's percentage of the total population of qualified counties and
cities. The population of a qualified city with an existing system must be deducted from its
county's population when calculating the county's share under this clause if the city seeks

direct distribution of its share.
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(b) A county's share under subdivision 1 must be shared pro rata between the county
and existing city systems in the county. A county or city or other governmental entity as
described in paragraph (a), clause (1), shall must deposit money received under this
subdivision in an interest-bearing fund or account separate from the governmental entity's
general fund and may use money in the fund or account only for the purposes specified in

subdivision 3.

(c) A county or city or other governmental entity as described in paragraph (a), clause
(1), is not qualified to share in the distribution of money for enhaneed 911 service if it has

not implemented enhanced 911 service before December 31, 1998.

(d) For the purposes of this subdivision, "existing city system" means a city 911 system

that provides at least basic 911 service and that was implemented on or before April 1, 1993.

Subd. 3. Local expenditures. (a) Money distributed under subdivision 2 for enhaneed

911 serviee systems or services may be spent on enhaneed 911 system costs for the purposes

stated in subdivision 1:

ealler: as well as expenses deemed allowable in accordance with Code of Federal Regulations,

title 47, section 9.2.

(b) Money distributed for enhaneed 911 serviee systems or services may not be spent

on:

(1) purchasing or leasing of real estate or cosmetic additions to or remodeling of

eommunteations-eenters public safety answering points;

(2) mobilecommunieations-vehieles; fire engines, ambulances, law enforcement vehicles,

or other emergency vehicles;

(3) signs, posts, or other markers related to addressing or any costs associated with the

installation or maintenance of signs, posts, or markers:;

(4) any purposes prohibited by the Federal Communications Commission;
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(5) the transfer of 911 fees into a state or other jurisdiction's general fund or other fund

for non-911 purposes;

(6) public safety telecommunicator salaries unless associated with training functions;

and

(7) the leasing or purchase of end user equipment.

Subd. 4. Audits. (a) Each county and city or ether-gevernmental-entity federal, Tribal,

or other organization connected to the statewide 911 network as described in subdivision

2, paragraph (a), clause (1), shalt or secondary public safety answering point must conduct

an-annual-audit a compliance report in accordance with Minnesota Rules, chapter 7580, and

Code of Federal Regulations, title 47, section 9.25, on the use of funds distributed to it for

enhaneed 911 serviee systems or services to ensure the distribution is spent according to

subdivision 3. A copy of each audit compliance report must be submitted to the

commissioner.

(b) The commissioner may request a state audit of a county, federal, Tribal, or other

organization connected to the statewide 911 network which receives 911 funds from the

state to operate its 911 system or service to ensure compliance with subdivision 3.

(c) Failure to submit a compliance report may result in a disruption of 911 fee distribution

until the compliance report is submitted.

Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.15, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Multistation or PBX system. Except as otherwise provided in this
section, every owner and operator of a new multistation or private branch exchange (PBX)
multiline telephone system purchased or upgraded after December 31, 2004, shall must

design and maintain the system to provide a callback number or ten-digit caller ID and

emergency response location.

Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.15, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Multiline telephone system user dialing instructions. (a) Each multiline
telephone system (MLTS) operator must demonstrate or otherwise inform each new telephone
system user how to call for emergency assistance from that particular multiline telephone

system.

(b) MLTS platforms that are manufactured, imported, offered for first sale or lease, first

sold or leased, or installed after February 16, 2020, must enable users to directly initiate a

call to 911 from any station equipped with dialing facilities without dialing any additional
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digit, code, prefix, or postfix, including any trunk-access code such as the digit nine,

regardless of whether the user is required to dial such a digit, code, prefix, or postfix for

other calls.

(c) MLTSs that are manufactured, imported, offered for first sale or lease, first sold or

leased, or installed after February 16, 2020, must be configured so that upon an occurrence

of a 911 call it will provide a notification that a 911 call has been made to a central location

at the facility where the system is installed or to another person or organization, regardless

of location, if the system is able to be configured to provide the notification without an

improvement to the hardware or software of the system.

Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.15, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Shared residential multiline telephone system. On and after January 1, 2005,
operators of shared multiline telephone systems, whenever installed, serving residential
customers shall must ensure that the shared multiline telephone system is connected to the
public switched network and that 911 calls from the system result in at least one distinctive
automatic number identification and automatic location identification for each residential
unit, except those requirements do not apply if the residential facility maintains one of the

following:
(1) automatic location identification for each respective emergency response location;

(2) the ability to direct emergency responders to the 911 caller's location through an
alternative and adequate means, such as the establishment of a 24-hour private answering

point operated by the facility; or

(3) a connection to a switchboard operator, attendant, or other designated on-site

individual.

Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.15, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Hotel or motel multiline telephone system. Operators of hotel and motel

multiline telephone systems shall must permit the dialing of 911 and shall must ensure that

911 calls originating from hotel or motel multiline telephone systems allow the 911 system

to clearly identify the address and specific location of the 911 caller.

Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.15, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Business multiline telephone system. (a) An operator of business multiline

telephone systems connected to the public switched telephone network and serving business
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locations of one employer shall must ensure that calls to 911 from any telephone on the

system result in one of the following:
(1) automatic location identification for each respective emergency response location;

(2) an ability to direct emergency responders to the 911 caller's location through an
alternative and adequate means, such as the establishment of a 24-hour private answering

point operated by the employer; or

(3) a connection to a switchboard operator, attendant, or other designated on-site

individual.

(b) Except as provided in paragraph (c), providers of multiline telephone systems serving

multiple employers' business locations shall must ensure that calls to 911 from any telephone

result in automatic location identification for the respective emergency response location

of each business location sharing the system.
(c) Only one emergency response location is required in the following circumstances:

(1) an employer's work space is less than 40,000 square feet, located on a single floor

and on a single contiguous property;

(2) an employer's work space is less than 7,000 square feet, located on multiple floors

and on a single contiguous property; or

(3) an employer's work space is a single public entrance, single floor facility on a single

contiguous property.

Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.15, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Schools. A multiline telephone system operated by a public or private
educational institution, including a system serving dormitories and other residential
customers, is subject to this subdivision and is not subject to subdivision 3. The operator
of the education institution multiline system connected to the public switched network must

ensure that calls to 911 from any telephone on the system result in one of the following:
(1) automatic location identification for each respective emergency response location;

(2) an ability to direct emergency responders to the 911 caller's location through an
alternative and adequate means, such as the establishment of a 24-hour private answering

point operated by the educational institution; or

(3) a connection to a switchboard operator, attendant, or other designated on-site

individual.
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Sec. 49. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.15, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 9. MLTS location compliance notification. Beginning July 1, 2023, all vendors

of MLTSs or hosted MLTS services in Minnesota must disclose to their customers the 911

location requirements in this chapter and include 911 location compliant capabilities in the

systems or services they sell.

Sec. 50. RENUMBERING.

In Minnesota Statutes, the revisor of statutes shall renumber the subdivisions of Minnesota

Statutes, section 403.02.

Sec. 51. REPEALER.

Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 403.02, subdivision 13; and 403.09, subdivision 3,

are repealed.

ARTICLE 7
MINNESOTA REHABILITATION AND REINVESTMENT PROVISIONS

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 244.03, is amended to read:

244.03 REHABILITATIVE PROGRAMS.

Subdivision 1. Commissioner responsibility. (a) For individuals committed to the

commissioner's authority, the commissioner shall provide-appropriate mental-healthprograms

approepriated-for-such-programs. must develop, implement, and provide, as appropriate:

(1) substance use disorder treatment programs;

(2) sexual offender treatment programming;

(3) domestic abuse programming;

(4) medical and mental health services;

(5) spiritual and faith-based programming;

(6) culturally responsive programming;

(7) vocational, employment and career, and educational programming; and
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(8) other rehabilitative programs.

(b) While evidence-based programs must be prioritized, selecting, designing, and

implementing programs under this section are the sole responsibility of the commissioner,

acting within the limitations imposed by the funds appropriated for the programs under this

section.

Subd. 2. Challenge prohibited. No action challenging the level of expenditures for

rehabilitative programs authorized under this section, nor any action challenging the selection,
design, or implementation of these programs, including employee assignments, may be

maintained by an inmate in any court in this state.

Subd. 3. Disciplinary sanctions. The commissioner may impose disciplinary sanctions

upen on any inmate who refuses to participate in rehabilitative programs.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 244.05, subdivision 1b, is amended to read:

Subd. 1b. Supervised release; effenders inmates who commit crimes on or after
August 1, 1993. (a) Except as provided in subdivisions 4 and 5, every inmate sentenced to
prison for a felony offense committed on or after August 1, 1993, shall serve a supervised
release term upon completion of the inmate's term of imprisonment and any disciplinary
confinement period imposed by the commissioner due to the inmate's violation of any
disciplinary rule adopted by the commissioner or refusal to participate in a rehabilitative

program required under section 244.03. The amount of time the inmate serves on supervised

release shall-be is equal inlength-te-the-amount-of timeremainingin to one-third of the
inmate's fixed executed sentence after-the-inmate-has-served-the-term-ofimprisonmentand

ed-by-the-eommissioner, less any disciplinary

confinement period imposed by the commissioner and regardless of any earned incentive

release credit applied toward the individual's term of imprisonment under section 244.44.

(b) No inmate who violates a disciplinary rule or refuses to participate in a rehabilitative
program as required under section 244.03 shall be placed on supervised release until the
inmate has served the disciplinary confinement period for that disciplinary sanction or until

the inmate is discharged or released from punitive segregation restrictive-housing

confinement, whichever is later. The imposition of a disciplinary confinement period shall
be considered to be a disciplinary sanction imposed upon an inmate, and the procedure for
imposing the disciplinary confinement period and the rights of the inmate in the procedure
shall be those in effect for the imposition of other disciplinary sanctions at each state

correctional institution.
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(c) For purposes of this subdivision, "earned incentive release credit" has the meaning

given in section 244.41, subdivision 7.

Sec. 3. [244.40] MINNESOTA REHABILITATION AND REINVESTMENT ACT.

Sections 244.40 to 244.51 may be cited as the "Minnesota Rehabilitation and

Reinvestment Act."

Sec. 4. [244.41] DEFINITIONS.

Subdivision 1. Scope. For purposes of the act, the terms defined in this section have the

meanings given.

Subd. 2. Act. "Act" means the Minnesota Rehabilitation and Reinvestment Act.

Subd. 3. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of corrections.

Subd. 4. Correctional facility. "Correctional facility" means a state facility under the

direct operational authority of the commissioner but does not include a commissioner-licensed

local detention facility.

Subd. 5. Direct-cost per diem. "Direct-cost per diem" means the actual nonsalary

expenditures, including encumbrances as of July 31 following the end of the fiscal year,

from the Department of Corrections expense budgets for food preparation; food provisions;

personal support for incarcerated persons, including clothing, linen, and other personal

supplies; transportation; and professional technical contracted health care services.

Subd. 6. Earned compliance credit. "Earned compliance credit" means a one-month

reduction from the period during active supervision of the supervised release term for every

two months that a supervised individual exhibits compliance with the conditions and goals

of the individual's supervision plan.

Subd. 7. Earned incentive release credit. "Earned incentive release credit" means credit

that is earned and included in calculating an incarcerated person's term of imprisonment for

completing objectives established by their individualized rehabilitation plan under section

244.42.

Subd. 8. Earned incentive release savings. "Earned incentive release savings" means

the calculation of the direct-cost per diem multiplied by the number of incarcerated days

saved for the period of one fiscal year.

Subd. 9. Executed sentence. "Executed sentence" means the total period for which an

incarcerated person is committed to the custody of the commissioner.
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Subd. 10. Incarcerated days saved. "Incarcerated days saved" means the number of

days of an incarcerated person's original term of imprisonment minus the number of actual

days served, excluding days not served due to death or as a result of time earned in the

challenge incarceration program under sections 244.17 to 244.173.

Subd. 11. Incarcerated person. "Incarcerated person" has the meaning given "inmate"

in section 244.01, subdivision 2.

Subd. 12. Supervised release. "Supervised release" means the release of an incarcerated

person according to section 244.05.

Subd. 13. Supervised release term. "Supervised release term" means the period equal

to one-third of the individual's fixed executed sentence, less any disciplinary confinement

period or punitive restrictive-housing confinement imposed under section 244.05, subdivision

1b.

Subd. 14. Supervision abatement status. "Supervision abatement status" means an end

to active correctional supervision of a supervised individual without effect on the legal

expiration date of the individual's executed sentence less any earned incentive release credit.

Subd. 15. Term of imprisonment. "Term of imprisonment" has the meaning given in

section 244.01, subdivision 8.

Sec. 5. [244.42] COMPREHENSIVE ASSESSMENT AND INDIVIDUALIZED
REHABILITATION PLAN REQUIRED.

Subdivision 1. Comprehensive assessment. (a) The commissioner must develop a

comprehensive assessment process for each person who:

(1) is committed to the commissioner's custody and confined in a state correctional

facility on or after January 1, 2025; and

(2) has 365 or more days remaining until the person's scheduled supervised release date

or parole eligibility date.

(b) As part of the assessment process, the commissioner must take into account

appropriate rehabilitative programs under section 244.03.

Subd. 2. Individualized rehabilitation plan. After completing the assessment process,

the commissioner must ensure the development of an individualized rehabilitation plan,

along with identified goals, for every person committed to the commissioner's custody. The

individualized rehabilitation plan must be holistic in nature by identifying intended outcomes

for addressing:
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(1) the incarcerated person's needs and risk factors;

(2) the person's identified strengths; and

(3) available and needed community supports, including victim safety considerations

as required under section 244.47, if applicable.

Subd. 3. Victim input. (a) If an individual is committed to the commissioner's custody

for a crime listed in section 609.02, subdivision 16, the commissioner must make reasonable

efforts to notify a victim of the opportunity to provide input during the assessment and

rehabilitation plan process. Victim input may include:

(1) a summary of victim concerns relative to release;

(2) concerns related to victim safety during the committed individual's term of

imprisonment; or

(3) requests for imposing victim safety protocols as additional conditions of imprisonment

or supervised release.

(b) The commissioner must consider all victim input statements when developing an

individualized rehabilitation plan and establishing conditions governing confinement or

release.

Subd. 4. Transition and release plan. For an incarcerated person with less than 365

days remaining until the person's supervised release date, the commissioner, in consultation

with the incarcerated person, must develop a transition and release plan.

Subd. 5. Scope of act. This act is separate and distinct from other legislatively authorized

release programs, including the challenge incarceration program, work release, conditional

medical release, or the program for the conditional release of nonviolent controlled substance

offenders.

Sec. 6. [244.43] EARNED INCENTIVE RELEASE CREDIT.

Subdivision 1. Policy for earned incentive release credit; stakeholder consultation. (a)

To encourage and support rehabilitation when consistent with the public interest and public

safety, the commissioner must establish a policy providing for earned incentive release

credit as a part of the term of imprisonment. The policy must be established in consultation

with the following organizations:

(1) Minnesota County Attorneys Association;

(2) Minnesota Board of Public Defense;
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(3) Minnesota Association of Community Corrections Act Counties;

(4) Minnesota Indian Women's Sexual Assault Coalition;

(5) Violence Free Minnesota;

(6) Minnesota Coalition Against Sexual Assault;

(7) Minnesota Alliance on Crime;

(8) Minnesota Sheriffs' Association;

(9) Minnesota Chiefs of Police Association;

(10) Minnesota Police and Peace Officers Association; and

(11) faith-based organizations that reflect the demographics of the incarcerated population.

(b) The policy must:

(1) provide circumstances upon which an incarcerated person may receive earned

incentive release credits, including participation in rehabilitative programming under section

244.03; and

(2) address circumstances where:

(1) the capacity to provide rehabilitative programming in the correctional facility is

diminished but the programming is available in the community; and

(i1) the conditions under which the incarcerated person could be released to the

community-based resource but remain subject to commitment to the commissioner and

could be considered for earned incentive release credit.

Subd. 2. Policy on disparities. The commissioner must develop a policy establishing a

process for assessing and addressing any systemic and programmatic gender and racial

disparities that may be identified when awarding earned incentive release credits.

Sec. 7. [244.44] APPLYING EARNED INCENTIVE RELEASE CREDIT.

Earned incentive release credits are included in calculating the term of imprisonment

but are not added to the person's supervised release term, the total length of which remains

unchanged. The maximum amount of earned incentive release credit that can be earned and

subtracted from the term of imprisonment is 17 percent of the total executed sentence.

Earned credit cannot reduce the term of imprisonment to less than one-half of the incarcerated

person's executed sentence. Once earned, earned incentive release credits are nonrevocable.
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Sec. 8. [244.45] INELIGIBILITY FOR EARNED INCENTIVE RELEASE CREDIT.

The following individuals are ineligible for earned incentive release credit:

(1) those serving life sentences;

(2) those given indeterminate sentences for crimes committed on or before April 30,

1980; or

(3) those subject to good time under section 244.04 or similar laws.

Sec. 9. [244.46] EARNED COMPLIANCE CREDIT AND SUPERVISION

ABATEMENT STATUS.

Subdivision 1. Adopting policy for earned compliance credit; supervision abatement

status. (a) The commissioner must adopt a policy providing for earned compliance credit.

(b) Except as otherwise provided in the act, once the time served on active supervision

plus earned compliance credits equals the total length of the supervised release term, the

commissioner must place the individual on supervision abatement status for the remainder

of the supervised release term.

Subd. 2. Violating conditions of release; commissioner action. If an individual violates

the conditions of release while on supervision abatement status, the commissioner may:

(1) return the individual to active supervision for the remainder of the supervised release

term, with or without modifying the conditions of release; or

(2) revoke the individual's supervised release in accordance with section 244.05,

subdivision 3.

Subd. 3. Supervision abatement status; requirements. A person who is placed on

supervision abatement status under this section must not be required to regularly report to

a supervised release agent or pay a supervision fee but must continue to:

(1) obey all laws;

(2) report any new criminal charges; and

(3) abide by section 243.1605 before seeking written authorization to relocate to another

state.

Subd. 4. Applicability. This section does not apply to individuals:

(1) serving life sentences;

(2) given indeterminate sentences for crimes committed on or before April 30, 1980; or
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(3) subject to good time under section 244.04 or similar laws.

Sec. 10. [244.47] VICTIM INPUT.

Subdivision 1. Notifying victim; victim input. (a) If an individual is committed to the

custody of the commissioner for a crime listed in section 609.02, subdivision 16, and is

eligible for earned incentive release credit, the commissioner must make reasonable efforts

to notify the victim that the committed individual is eligible for earned incentive release

credit.

(b) Victim input may include:

(1) a summary of victim concerns relative to eligibility of earned incentive release credit;

(2) concerns related to victim safety during the committed individual's term of

imprisonment; or

(3) requests for imposing victim safety protocols as additional conditions of imprisonment

or supervised release.

Subd. 2. Victim input statements. The commissioner must consider victim input

statements when establishing requirements governing conditions of release. The

commissioner must provide the name and telephone number of the local victim agency

serving the jurisdiction of release to any victim providing input on earned incentive release

credit.

Sec. 11. [244.48] VICTIM NOTIFICATION.

Nothing in this act limits any victim notification obligations of the commissioner required

by statute related to a change in custody status, committing offense, end-of-confinement

review, or notification registration.

Sec. 12. [244.49] INTERSTATE COMPACT.

(a) This section applies to a person serving a Minnesota sentence while being supervised

in another state according to the Interstate Compact for Adult Supervision.

(b) As may be allowed under section 243.1605, a person may be eligible for supervision

abatement status according to the act only if they meet eligibility criteria for earned

compliance credit as established under section 244.46.
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Sec. 13. [244.50] REALLOCATING EARNED INCENTIVE RELEASE SAVINGS.

Subdivision 1. Establishing reallocation revenue account. The reallocation of earned

incentive release savings account is established in the special revenue fund in the state

treasury. Funds in the account are appropriated to the commissioner and must be expended

in accordance with the allocation established in subdivision 4 after the requirements of

subdivision 2 are met. Funds in the account are available until expended.

Subd. 2. Certifying earned incentive release savings. On or before the final closeout

date of each fiscal year, the commissioner must certify to Minnesota Management and

Budget the earned incentive release savings from the previous fiscal year. The commissioner

must provide the detailed calculation substantiating the savings amount, including

accounting-system-generated data where possible, supporting the direct-cost per diem and

the incarcerated days saved.

Subd. 3. Savings to be transferred to reallocation revenue account. After the

certification in subdivision 2 is completed, the commissioner must transfer funds from the

appropriation from which the savings occurred to the reallocation revenue account according

to the allocation in subdivision 4. Transfers must occur by September 1 each year.

Subd. 4. Distributing reallocation funds. The commissioner must distribute funds as

follows:

(1) 25 percent must be transferred to the Office of Justice Programs in the Department

of Public Safety for crime victim services;

(2) 25 percent must be transferred to the Community Corrections Act subsidy

appropriation and to the Department of Corrections for supervised release and intensive

supervision services, based upon a three-year average of the release jurisdiction of supervised

releasees and intensive supervised releasees across the state;

(3) 25 percent must be transferred to the Department of Corrections for:

(1) grants to develop and invest in community-based services that support the identified

needs of correctionally involved individuals or individuals at risk of becoming involved in

the criminal justice system; and

(i1) sustaining the operation of evidence-based programming in state and local correctional

facilities; and

(4) 25 percent must be transferred to the general fund.
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Sec. 14. [244.51] REPORTING REQUIRED.

Subdivision 1. Annual report required. (a) Beginning January 15, 2026, and by January

15 each year thereafter for ten years, the commissioner must provide a report to the chairs

and ranking minority members of the house of representatives and senate committees and

divisions with jurisdiction over public safety and judiciary.

(b) For the 2026 report, the commissioner must report on implementing the requirements

in this act. Starting with the 2027 report, the commissioner must report on the status of the

requirements in this act for the previous fiscal year.

(c) Each report must be provided to the sitting president of the Minnesota Association

of Community Corrections Act Counties and the executive directors of the Minnesota

Sentencing Guidelines Commission, the Minnesota Indian Women's Sexual Assault Coalition,

the Minnesota Alliance on Crime, Violence Free Minnesota, the Minnesota Coalition Against

Sexual Assault, and the Minnesota County Attorneys Association.

(d) The report must include but not be limited to:

(1) a qualitative description of policy development; implementation status; identified

implementation or operational challenges; strategies identified to mitigate and ensure that

the act does not create or exacerbate gender, racial, and ethnic disparities; and proposed

mechanisms for projecting future savings and reallocation of savings;

(2) the number of persons who were granted earned incentive release credit, the total

number of days of incentive release earned, a summary of committing offenses for those

persons who earned incentive release credit, a summary of earned incentive release savings,

and the demographic data for all persons eligible for earned incentive release credit and the

reasons and demographic data of those eligible persons for whom earned incentive release

credit was unearned or denied;

(3) the number of persons who earned supervision abatement status, the total number

of days of supervision abatement earned, the committing offenses for those persons granted

supervision abatement status, the number of revocations for reoffense while on supervision

abatement status, and the demographic data for all persons eligible for, considered for,

granted, or denied supervision abatement status and the reasons supervision abatement status

was unearned or denied;

(4) the number of persons deemed ineligible to receive earned incentive release credits

and supervise abatement and the demographic data for the persons; and
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(5) the number of victims who submitted input, the number of referrals to local

victim-serving agencies, and a summary of the kinds of victim services requested.

Subd. 2. Soliciting feedback. (a) The commissioner must solicit feedback on

victim-related operational concerns from the Minnesota Indian Women's Sexual Assault

Coalition, Minnesota Alliance on Crime, Minnesota Coalition Against Sexual Assault, and

Violence Free Minnesota.

(b) The feedback should relate to applying earned incentive release credit and supervision

abatement status options. A summary of the feedback from the organizations must be

included in the annual report.

Subd. 3. Evaluating earned incentive release credit and act. The commissioner must

direct the Department of Corrections' research unit to regularly evaluate earned incentive

release credits and other provisions of the act. The findings must be published on the

Department of Corrections' website and in the annual report.

Sec. 15. EFFECTIVE DATE.

Sections 1 to 14 are effective August 1, 2023.

ARTICLE 8

SUPERVISED RELEASE BOARD; CHANGES TO RELEASE DETERMINATIONS
AND ELIGIBILITY FOR CERTAIN OFFENDERS

Section 1. [244.049] SUPERVISED RELEASE BOARD.

Subdivision 1. Establishment; membership. (a) The Supervised Release Board is

established to review eligible cases and make release and final discharge decisions for:

(1) inmates serving life sentences with the possibility of parole or supervised release

under sections 243.05, subdivision 1, and 244.05, subdivision 5;

(2) inmates serving indeterminate sentences for crimes committed on or before April

30, 1980; and

(3) inmates eligible for early supervised release under section 244.05, subdivision 4a.

(b) The authority to grant discretionary release and final discharge previously vested in

the commissioner under sections 243.05, subdivisions 1, paragraph (a), and 3; 244.08; and

609.12 is transferred to the board.

(c) The board consists of seven members as follows:
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(1) four individuals appointed by the governor from which each of the majority leaders

and minority leaders of the house of representatives and senate provide two candidate

recommendations for consideration;

(2) two members appointed by the governor who have expertise in the neurological

development of juveniles; and

(3) the commissioner, who serves as chair.

(d) The members defined in paragraph (c), clause (1), must meet the following

qualifications, at a minimum:

(1) a law degree or a bachelor's degree in criminology, corrections, social work, or a

related social science;

(2) five years of experience in corrections, a criminal justice or community corrections

field, rehabilitation programming, behavioral health, or criminal law; and

(3) demonstrated knowledge of victim issues and correctional processes.

Subd. 2. Terms; compensation. (a) Appointed board members serve four-year staggered

terms, but the terms of the initial members are as follows:

(1) three members must be appointed for terms that expire January 1, 2026; and

(2) three members must be appointed for terms that expire January 1, 2028.

(b) An appointed member is eligible for reappointment and a vacancy must be filled

according to subdivision 1.

(c) For appointed members, compensation and removal are as provided in section 15.0575.

Subd. 3. Quorum; compensation; administrative duties. (a) Subject to the requirements

in paragraph (b), the majority of members constitutes a quorum.

(b) When reviewing cases involving people who were 18 or older at the time of the

offense, the board must comprise a quorum of the five members identified in subdivision

1, paragraph (c), clauses (1) and (3). When reviewing cases involving people who were

under 18 at the time of the offense, the board must comprise a quorum of all seven members

and include at least one member identified in subdivision 1, paragraph (c), clause (2).

(c) An appointed board member must visit at least one state correctional facility every

12 months.
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(d) The commissioner must provide the board with personnel, supplies, equipment,

office space, and other administrative services necessary and incident to fulfilling the board's

functions.

Subd. 4. Limitation. Nothing in this section:

(1) supersedes the commissioner's authority to set conditions of release or revoke an

inmate's release for violating any of the conditions; or

(2) impairs the power of the Board of Pardons to grant a pardon or commutation in any

case.

Subd. 5. Report. (a) On or before February 15 each year, the board must submit to the

chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over

criminal justice policy a written report that:

(1) details the number of inmates reviewed,;

(2) identifies inmates granted release or final discharge in the preceding year; and

(3) provides demographic data of inmates who were granted release or final discharge

and inmates who were denied release or final discharge, including whether any of the

individuals were under 18 years of age at the time of committing the offense.

(b) The report must also include the board's recommendations to the commissioner for

policy modifications that influence the board's duties.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 244.05, subdivision 1b, is amended to read:

Subd. 1b. Supervised release; offenders who commit crimes on or after August 1,
1993. (a) Except as provided in subdivisions 4, 4a, and 5, every inmate sentenced to prison
for a felony offense committed on or after August 1, 1993, shall serve a supervised release
term upon completion of the inmate's term of imprisonment and any disciplinary confinement
period imposed by the commissioner due to the inmate's violation of any disciplinary rule
adopted by the commissioner or refusal to participate in a rehabilitative program required
under section 244.03. The amount of time the inmate serves on supervised release shall be
equal in length to the amount of time remaining in the inmate's executed sentence after the
inmate has served the term of imprisonment and any disciplinary confinement period imposed

by the commissioner.

(b) No inmate who violates a disciplinary rule or refuses to participate in a rehabilitative
program as required under section 244.03 shall be placed on supervised release until the

inmate has served the disciplinary confinement period for that disciplinary sanction or until
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the inmate is discharged or released from punitive segregation confinement, whichever is
later. The imposition of a disciplinary confinement period shall be considered to be a
disciplinary sanction imposed upon an inmate, and the procedure for imposing the
disciplinary confinement period and the rights of the inmate in the procedure shall be those

in effect for the imposition of other disciplinary sanctions at each state correctional institution.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 244.05, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Rules. (a) Notwithstanding section 14.03, subdivision 3, paragraph (b), clause

(1), the commissioner of corrections shall adopt by rule standards and procedures for the
revocation of supervised or conditional release, and shall specify the period of revocation

for each violation of release except in accordance with subdivision 5, paragraph (1).

(b) Procedures for the-revoeation-of revoking release shall must provide due process of

law for the inmate.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 244.05, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Minimum imprisonment, life sentence. (a) An inmate serving a mandatory

life sentence under section 609.106, subdivision 2, or 609.3455, subdivision 2, paragraph

(a), must not be given supervised release under this section.

(b) Except as provided in paragraph (f), an inmate serving a mandatory life sentence

under section 609.185, paragraph (a), clause (3), (5), or (6); or Minnesota Statutes 2004,
section 609.109, subdivision 3, must not be given supervised release under this section

without having served a minimum term of 30 years.

(c) Except as provided in paragraph (f), an inmate serving a mandatory life sentence

under section 609.385 must not be given supervised release under this section without having

served a minimum term of imprisonment of 17 years.

(d) An inmate serving a mandatory life sentence under section 609.3455, subdivision 3
or 4, must not be given supervised release under this section without having served the

minimum term of imprisonment specified by the court in its sentence.

(e) An inmate serving a mandatory life sentence under section 609.106, subdivision 3,

or 609.3455, subdivision 2, paragraph (c), must not be given supervised release under this

section without having served a minimum term of imprisonment of 15 years.

Article 8 Sec. 4. 158



159.1

159.2

159.3

159.4

159.5

159.6

159.7

159.8

159.9

159.10

159.11

159.12

159.13

159.14

159.15

159.16

159.17

159.18

159.19

159.20

159.21

159.22

159.23

159.24

159.25

159.26

159.27

159.28

159.29

159.30

159.31

03/31/23 SENATEE SS SS2909R

(f) An inmate serving a mandatory life sentence for a crime described in paragraph (b)

or (c¢) who was under 18 years of age at the time of the commission of the offense must not

be given supervised release under this section without having served a minimum term of

imprisonment of 15 years.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 244.05, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 4a. Eligibility for early supervised release; offenders who were under 18 at

the time of offense. (a) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, any person who was

under the age of 18 at the time of the commission of an offense is eligible for early supervised

release if the person is serving an executed sentence that includes a term of imprisonment

of more than 15 years or separate, consecutive executed sentences for two or more crimes

that include combined terms of imprisonment that total more than 15 years.

(b) A person eligible for early supervised release under paragraph (a) must be considered

for early supervised release pursuant to section 244.049 after serving 15 years of

imprisonment.

(c) Where the person is serving separate, consecutive executed sentences for two or

more crimes, the person may be granted early supervised release on all sentences.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 244.05, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Supervised release, life sentenee and indeterminate sentences. (a) The
commissioner-of-eorreetions board may, under rules promulgated adopted by the

commissioner, give grant supervised release or parole as follows:

seetion609109subdivision3; after the inmate has served the minimum term of

imprisonment specified in subdivision 4 or section 243.05, subdivision 1, paragraph (a);

(2) at any time for an inmate serving a nonlife indeterminate sentence for a crime

committed on or before April 30, 1980; or

(3) to an inmate eligible for early supervised release under subdivision 4a after the inmate

has served the minimum term of imprisonment.

(b) For cases involving multiple sentences, the board must grant or deny supervised

release as follows:
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(1) if an inmate is serving multiple sentences that are concurrent to one another, the

board must grant or deny supervised release on all sentences; and

(2) notwithstanding any other law to the contrary, if an inmate eligible for early supervised

release under section 244.05, subdivision 4a, is serving multiple sentences that are

consecutive to one another, the board may grant or deny supervised release on one or more

sentences.

(c) The eommisstoner-shall board must require the preparation of a community
investigation report and shal consider the findings of the report when making a supervised

release or parole decision under this subdivision. The report shall must:

(1) reflect the sentiment of the various elements of the community toward the inmate,

both at the time of the offense and at the present time—The-repertshall;

(2) include the views of the sentencing judge, the prosecutor, any law enforcement
personnel who may have been involved in the case, and any successors to these individuals
who may have information relevant to the supervised release decision-—Thereportshall-alse;

and

3) include the views of the victim and the victim's family unless the victim or the victim's
y

family chooses not to participate.

(d) For an individual who was under 18 years of age when they committed their offense,

the board must require the preparation of a development report and consider the report's

findings when making a supervised release decision under this subdivision. The report must

be prepared by a mental health professional under section 2451.04, subdivision 2, clause

(1) to (4) or (6), and must address the inmate's cognitive, emotional, and social maturity.

The board may use a previous report that was prepared within 12 months immediately

preceding the hearing.

te) (e) The eommisstionershall board must make reasonable efforts to notify the victim,
in advance, of the time and place of the inmate's supervised release review hearing. The
victim has a right to submit an oral or written statement at the review hearing. The statement
may summarize the harm suffered by the victim as a result of the crime and give the victim's
recommendation on whether the inmate should be given supervised release at this time. The

eommisstener board must consider the victim's statement when making the supervised

release or parole decision.

&) (f) Supervised release or parole must be granted with a majority vote of the board

members. When considering whether to give grant supervised release or parole to an inmate
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serving a life or indeterminate sentence underseetion-609-3455;subdiviston3-or4 or early

supervised release to an inmate under subdivision 4a, the eemmisstenershall board must

consider, at a minimum, the following:
(1) the risk the inmate poses to the community if released;;
(2) the inmate's progress in treatment;;
(3) the inmate's behavior while incarcerated;;
(4) psychological or other diagnostic evaluations of the inmate;;
(5) the inmate's criminal historys;

(6) a victim statement under paragraph (e), if submitted;

(7) for an inmate who was under 18 years of age when they committed their offense:

(1) the development report under paragraph (d); and

(1) relevant science on the neurological development of juveniles and information on

the inmate's maturity and rehabilitation while incarcerated; and

(8) any other relevant conduct of the inmate while incarcerated or before incarceration.

(g) The 1SS1 board may not give grant supervised release or parole to the an

inmate unless:
(1) while in prison:
(1) the inmate has successfully completed appropriate sex offender treatment, if applicable;

(11) the inmate has been assessed for substance use disorder needs and, if appropriate,

has successfully completed substance use disorder treatment; and

(i11) the inmate has been assessed for mental health needs and, if appropriate, has

successfully completed mental health treatment; and
(2) a comprehensive individual release plan is in place for the inmate that:

(1) ensures that, after release, the inmate will have suitable housing and receive appropriate

aftercare and community-based treatment—Fhe-cemprehenstve plan-alse-mustinelade; and

(i1) includes a postprison employment or education plan for the inmate.

(h) No earlier than three years before an inmate reaches their minimum term of

imprisonment, the commissioner must conduct a formal review and make programming

recommendations relevant to the inmate's release review. The board must conduct a

supervised release review hearing as soon as practicable before an inmate reaches their
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minimum term of imprisonment. If an inmate is not released after a hearing, the board must

conduct a subsequent review hearing no more than once every three years.

(1) Within 30 days after a supervised release review hearing, the board must issue a

decision on granting release, including an explanation for the decision. If the board does

not grant supervised release, the explanation must identify specific steps that the inmate

can take to increase the likelihood that release will be granted at a future hearing.

(j) When granting supervised release under this subdivision, the board must set prerelease

conditions to be followed by the inmate, if time permits, before their actual release or before

constructive parole becomes effective. If the inmate violates any of the prerelease conditions,

the commissioner may rescind the grant of supervised release without a hearing at any time

before the inmate's release or before constructive parole becomes effective. A grant of

constructive parole becomes effective once the inmate begins serving the consecutive

sentence.

(k) If the commissioner rescinds a grant of supervised release or parole, the board:

(1) must set a release review date that occurs within 90 days of the commissioner's

rescission; and

(2) by majority vote, may set a new supervised release date or set another review date.

(1) If the commissioner revokes supervised release or parole for an inmate serving a life

sentence, the revocation is not subject to the limitations under section 244.30 and the board:

(1) must set a release review date that occurs within one year of the commissioner's final

revocation decision; and

(2) by majority vote, may set a new supervised release date or set another review date.

(m) The board may, by a majority vote, grant a person on supervised release or parole

for a life or indeterminate sentence a final discharge from their sentence in accordance with

section 243.05, subdivision 3. In no case, however, may a person subject to a mandatory

lifetime conditional release term under section 609.3455, subdivision 7, be discharged from

that term.

(n) For purposes of this subdivision:

(1) "board" means the Supervised Release Board under section 244.049;

(2) "constructive parole" means the status of an inmate who has been paroled from an

indeterminate sentence to begin serving a consecutive sentence in prison; and
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(e)-As-used-in-this-subdivisien; (3) "victim" means the an individual who has directl
suffered loss or harm as-aresultofthe from an inmate's crime or;ifthe-individualis-deceased;

the-deceased's a murder victim's surviving spouse or, next of kin, or family kin.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 244.101, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Executed sentences. Except as provided in section 244.05, subdivision

4a, when a felony offender is sentenced to a fixed executed sentence for an offense committed
on or after August 1, 1993, the executed sentence consists of two parts: (1) a specified
minimum term of imprisonment that is equal to two-thirds of the executed sentence; and
(2) a specified maximum supervised release term that is equal to one-third of the executed
sentence. The amount of time the inmate actually serves in prison and on supervised release

1s subject to the provisions of section 244.05, subdivision 1b.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.106, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Life without release. Except as provided in subdivision 3, the court shall

sentence a person to life imprisonment without possibility of release under the following

circumstances:

(1) the person is convicted of first-degree murder under section 609.185, paragraph (a),

clause (1), (2), (4), or (7);

(2) the person is convicted of committing first-degree murder in the course of a

kidnapping under section 609.185, paragraph (a), clause (3); or

(3) the person is convicted of first-degree murder under section 609.185, paragraph (a),
clause (3), (5), or (6), and the court determines on the record at the time of sentencing that

the person has one or more previous convictions for a heinous crime.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.106, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 3. Offender under age 18; life imprisonment. The court shall sentence a person

who was under 18 years of age at the time of the commission of an offense under the

circumstances described in subdivision 2 to imprisonment for life.
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Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.3455, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Mandatory life sentence without release; egregious first-time and repeat

offenders. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (c), notwithstanding the statutory maximum

penalty otherwise applicable to the offense, the court shall sentence a person convicted
under section 609.342, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), (b), (¢), (d), or (e), or subdivision 1a,
clause (a), (b), (¢), (d), (h), or (1); or 609.343, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), (b), (c), (d), or
(e), or subdivision la, clause (a), (b), (c), (d), (h), or (i), to life without the possibility of

release if:
(1) the fact finder determines that two or more heinous elements exist; or

(2) the person has a previous sex offense conviction for a violation of section 609.342,
609.343, 609.344, or 609.3458, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), and the fact finder determines

that a heinous element exists for the present offense.

(b) A fact finder may not consider a heinous element if it is an element of the underlying
specified violation of section 609.342 or 609.343. In addition, when determining whether
two or more heinous elements exist, the fact finder may not use the same underlying facts

to support a determination that more than one element exists.

(c) The court shall sentence a person who was under 18 years of age at the time of the

commission of an offense described in paragraph (a) to imprisonment for life.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.3455, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Life sentences; minimum term of imprisonment. At the time of sentencing
under subdivision 3 or 4, the court shall specify a minimum term of imprisonment, based
on the sentencing guidelines or any applicable mandatory minimum sentence, that must be

served before the offender may be considered for supervised release. If the offender was

under 18 years of age at the time of the commission of the offense, the minimum term of

imprisonment specified by the court shall not exceed 15 years.

Sec. 12. REVISOR INSTRUCTION.

When necessary to reflect the transfer under Minnesota Statutes, section 244.049,

subdivision 1, the revisor of statutes must change the term "commissioner" or "commissioner

of corrections" to "Supervised Release Board" or "board" in Minnesota Statutes, sections

243.05, subdivisions 1, paragraph (a), and 3; 244.08; and 609.12 and make any other

necessary grammatical changes.
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Sec. 13. EFFECTIVE DATE.

Sections 2,4, 5, 7, and 8 to 11 are effective July 1, 2023, and apply to offenders sentenced

on or after that date and retroactively to offenders:

(1) sentenced to life imprisonment without possibility of release following a conviction

under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.185, paragraph (a), for an offense committed when

the offender was under 18 years of age and when a sentence was imposed pursuant to

Minnesota Statutes, section 609.106, subdivision 2;

(2) sentenced to life imprisonment without possibility of release following a conviction

under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.3455, subdivision 2, for an offense committed when

the offender was under 18 years of age;

(3) sentenced to life imprisonment under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.185, paragraph

(a), clause (3), (5), or (6); or Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.109, subdivision 3, for

an offense committed when the offender was under 18 years of age;

(4) sentenced to life imprisonment under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.385, for an

offense committed when the offender was under 18 years of age;

(5) sentenced to life imprisonment under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.3455,

subdivision 3 or 4, if the minimum term of imprisonment specified by the court in its sentence

exceeds 15 years for an offense committed when the offender was under 18 years of age;

or

(6) sentenced to an executed sentence that includes a term of imprisonment of more than

15 years or separate, consecutive executed sentences for two or more crimes that include

combined terms of imprisonment that total more than 15 years for an offense committed

when the offender was under 18 years of age.

ARTICLE 9
EXPUNGEMENT WITHOUT PETITION

Section 1. [609A.015] AUTOMATIC EXPUNGEMENT OF RECORDS.

Subdivision 1. Eligibility; dismissal; exoneration. (a) A person who is the subject of

a criminal record or delinquency record is eligible for a grant of expungement relief without

the filing of a petition:

(1) if the person was arrested and all charges were dismissed after a case was filed unless

dismissal was based on a finding that the defendant was incompetent to proceed;
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(2) upon the dismissal and discharge of proceedings against a person under section

152.18, subdivision 1, for violation of section 152.024, 152.025, or 152.027 for possession

of a controlled substance; or

(3) if all pending actions or proceedings were resolved in favor of the person.

(b) For purposes of this chapter, a verdict of not guilty by reason of mental illness is not

a resolution in favor of the person. For purposes of this chapter, an action or proceeding is

resolved in favor of the person if the petitioner received an order under section 590.11

determining that the person is eligible for compensation based on exoneration.

Subd. 2. Eligibility; diversion and stay of adjudication. A person is eligible for a grant

of expungement relief if the person has successfully completed the terms of a diversion

program or stay of adjudication for a qualifying offense that is not a felony and has not been

petitioned or charged with a new offense, other than an offense that would be a petty

misdemeanor, in Minnesota:

(1) for one year immediately following completion of the diversion program or stay of

adjudication; or

(2) for one year immediately preceding a subsequent review performed pursuant to

subdivision 6, paragraph (a).

Subd. 3. Eligibility; pardon. A person is eligible for a grant of expungement relief if

the person receives a pardon extraordinary under chapter 638.

Subd. 4. Eligibility; certain criminal proceedings. (a) A person is eligible for a grant

of expungement relief if the person:

(1) was convicted of a qualifying offense;

(2) has not been convicted of a new offense, other than an offense that would be a petty

misdemeanor, in Minnesota:

(1) during the applicable waiting period immediately following discharge of the disposition

or sentence for the crime; or

(i) during the applicable waiting period immediately preceding a subsequent review

performed pursuant to subdivision 6, paragraph (a); and

(3) i1s not charged with an offense, other than an offense that would be a petty

misdemeanor, in Minnesota at the time the person reaches the end of the applicable waiting

period or at the time of a subsequent review.

(b) As used in this subdivision, "qualifying offense" means a conviction for:
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167.1 (1) any petty misdemeanor offense other than a violation of a traffic regulation relating

1672 to the operation or parking of motor vehicles;

167.3 (2) any misdemeanor offense other than:

167.4 (1) section 169A.20 under the terms described in section 169A.27 (fourth-degree driving

167.5  while impaired);

167.6 (i1) section 518B.01, subdivision 14 (violation of an order for protection);
167.7 (111) section 609.224 (assault in the fifth degree);

167.8 (iv) section 609.2242 (domestic assault);

167.9 (v) section 609.748 (violation of a harassment restraining order);
167.10 (vi) section 609.78 (interference with emergency call);

167.11 (vii) section 609.79 (obscene or harassing phone calls);

167.12 (viii) section 617.23 (indecent exposure);

167.13 (ix) section 609.746 (interference with privacy); or

167.14 (x) section 629.75 (violation of domestic abuse no contact order);
167.15 (3) any gross misdemeanor offense other than:

167.16 (1) section 169A.25 (second-degree driving while impaired);

167.17 (i1) section 169A.26 (third-degree driving while impaired);

167.18 (111) section 518B.01, subdivision 14 (violation of an order for protection);

167.19 (iv) section 609.2113, subdivision 3 (criminal vehicular operation);

167.20 (v) section 609.2231 (assault in the fourth degree);

167.21 (vi) section 609.224 (assault in the fifth degree);

167.22 (vii) section 609.2242 (domestic assault);

167.23 (vii1) section 609.233 (criminal neglect);

167.24 (ix) section 609.3451 (criminal sexual conduct in the fifth degree);
167.25 (x) section 609.377 (malicious punishment of child);

167.26 (xi) section 609.485 (escape from custody);

167.27 (xi1) section 609.498 (tampering with witness);

167.28 (xiii) section 609.582, subdivision 4 (burglary in the fourth degree);
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(xiv) section 609.746 (interference with privacy);

(xv) section 609.748 (violation of a harassment restraining order);

(xvi) section 609.749 (harassment; stalking);

(xvii) section 609.78 (interference with emergency call);

(xviii) section 617.23 (indecent exposure);

(xix) section 617.261 (nonconsensual dissemination of private sexual images); or

(xx) section 629.75 (violation of domestic abuse no contact order); or

(4) any felony offense listed in section 609A.02, subdivision 3, paragraph (b), other

than:

(1) section 609.485, subdivision 4, paragraph (a), clause (2) or (4) (escape from civil

commitment for mental illness);

(1) section 609.746, subdivision 1, paragraph (e) (interference with privacy; subsequent

violation or minor victim);

(iii) section 152.023, subdivision 2 (possession of a controlled substance in the third

degree); and

(iv) section 152.024, subdivision 2 (possession of a controlled substance in the fourth

degree).

(c) As used in this subdivision, "applicable waiting period" means:

(1) if the offense was a petty misdemeanor, two years since discharge of the sentence;

(2) if the offense was a misdemeanor, two years since discharge of the sentence for the

crime;

(3) if the offense was a gross misdemeanor, three years since discharge of the sentence

for the crime;

(4) if the offense was a felony violation of section 152.025, four years since the discharge

of the sentence for the crime; and

(5) if the offense was any other felony, five years since discharge of the sentence for the

crime.

(d) Felony offenses deemed to be a gross misdemeanor or misdemeanor pursuant to

section 609.13, subdivision 1, remain ineligible for expungement under this section. Gross
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misdemeanor offenses ineligible for a grant of expungement under this section remain

ineligible if deemed to be for a misdemeanor pursuant to section 609.13, subdivision 2.

Subd. 5. Notice. (a) The court shall notify a person who may become eligible for an

automatic expungement under this section of that eligibility at any hearing where the court

dismisses and discharges proceedings against a person under section 152.18, subdivision

1, for violation of section 152.024, 152.025, or 152.027 for possession of a controlled

substance; concludes that all pending actions or proceedings were resolved in favor of the

person; grants a person's placement into a diversion program; or sentences a person or

otherwise imposes a consequence for a qualifying offense.

(b) To the extent possible, prosecutors, defense counsel, supervising agents, and

coordinators or supervisors of a diversion program shall notify a person who may become

eligible for an automatic expungement under this section of that eligibility.

(c) If any party gives notification under this subdivision, the notification shall inform

the person that:

(1) a record expunged under this section may be opened for purposes of a background

study by the Department of Human Services under section 245C.08 and for purposes of a

background check by the Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board as required

under section 122A.18, subdivision 8; and

(2) the person can file a petition to expunge the record and request that the petition be

directed to the commissioner of human services and the Professional Educator Licensing

and Standards Board.

Subd. 6. Bureau of Criminal Apprehension to identify eligible persons and grant

expungement relief. (a) The Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall identify any records

that qualify for a grant of expungement relief pursuant to this subdivision or subdivision 1,

2, 3, or 4. The Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall make an initial determination of

eligibility within 30 days of the end of the applicable waiting period. If a record is not

eligible for a grant of expungement at the time of the initial determination, the Bureau of

Criminal Apprehension shall make subsequent eligibility determinations annually until the

record is eligible for a grant of expungement.

(b) In making the determination under paragraph (a), the Bureau of Criminal

Apprehension shall identify individuals who are the subject of relevant records through the

use of finger and thumb prints where finger and thumb prints are available. Where finger

and thumb prints are not available, the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall identify

individuals through the use of the person's name and date of birth. Records containing the
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same name and date of birth shall be presumed to refer to the same individual unless other

evidence establishes, by a preponderance of the evidence, that they do not refer to the same

individual. The Bureau of Criminal Apprehension is not required to review any other

evidence in making a determination.

(c) The Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall grant expungement relief to qualifying

persons and seal its own records without requiring an application, petition, or motion.

Records shall be sealed 60 days after notice is sent to the judicial branch pursuant to

paragraph (e) unless an order of the judicial branch prohibits sealing the records or additional

information establishes that the records are not eligible for expungement.

(d) Nonpublic criminal records maintained by the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension

and subject to a grant of expungement relief shall display a notation stating "expungement

relief granted pursuant to section 609A.015."

(e) The Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall inform the judicial branch of all cases

for which expungement relief was granted pursuant to this section. Notification may be

through electronic means and may be made in real time or in the form of a monthly report.

Upon receipt of notice, the judicial branch shall seal all records relating to an arrest,

indictment or information, trial, verdict, or dismissal and discharge for any case in which

expungement relief was granted and shall issue any order deemed necessary to achieve this

purpose.

(f) The Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall inform each law enforcement agency

that its records may be affected by a grant of expungement relief. Notification may be

through electronic means. Each notified law enforcement agency that receives a request to

produce records shall first contact the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension to determine if the

records were subject to a grant of expungement under this section. The law enforcement

agency must not disclose records relating to an arrest, indictment or information, trial,

verdict, or dismissal and discharge for any case in which expungement relief was granted

and must maintain the data consistent with the classification in paragraph (g). This paragraph

does not apply to requests from a criminal justice agency as defined in section 609A.03,

subdivision 7a, paragraph (f), for the purposes of:

(1) initiating, furthering, or completing a criminal investigation or prosecution or for

sentencing purposes or providing probation or other correctional services; or

(2) evaluating a prospective employee in a criminal justice agency without a court order.
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(g) Data on the person whose offense has been expunged under this subdivision, including

any notice sent pursuant to paragraph (f), are private data on individuals as defined in section

13.02, subdivision 12.

(h) The prosecuting attorney shall notify the victim that an offense qualifies for automatic

expungement under this section in the manner provided in section 611A.03, subdivisions

1 and 2.

(1) In any subsequent prosecution of a person granted expungement relief, the expunged

criminal record may be pleaded and has the same effect as if the relief had not been granted.

(j) The Bureau of Criminal Apprehension is directed to develop, modify, or update a

system to provide criminal justice agencies with uniform statewide access to criminal records

sealed by expungement.

Subd. 7. Immunity from civil liability. Employees of the Bureau of Criminal

Apprehension shall not be held civilly liable for the exercise or the failure to exercise, or

the decision to exercise or the decision to decline to exercise, the powers granted by this

section or for any act or omission occurring within the scope of the performance of their

duties under this section.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025, and applies to offenses

that meet the eligibility criteria on or after that date and retroactively to offenses that met

those qualifications before January 1, 2025, and are stored in the Bureau of Criminal

Apprehension's criminal history system as of January 1, 2025.

ARTICLE 10
EXPUNGEMENT BY PETITION

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609A.02, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Certain criminal proceedings. (a) A petition may be filed under section
609A.03 to seal all records relating to an arrest, indictment or information, trial, or verdict

if the records are not subject to section 299C.11, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), and if:

(1) all pending actions or proceedings were resolved in favor of the petitioner. For
purposes of this chapter, a verdict of not guilty by reason of mental illness is not a resolution
in favor of the petitioner. For the purposes of this chapter, an action or proceeding is resolved
in favor of the petitioner, if the petitioner received an order under section 590.11 determining

that the petitioner is eligible for compensation based on exoneration;
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(2) the petitioner has successfully completed the terms of a diversion program or stay
of adjudication and has not been charged with a new crime for at least one year since

completion of the diversion program or stay of adjudication;

(3) the petitioner was convicted of erreeetved-a-stayed-senteneefor a petty misdemeanor

or misdemeanor or the sentence imposed was within the limits provided by law for a

misdemeanor and the petitioner has not been convicted of a new crime for at least two years

since discharge of the sentence for the crime;

(4) the petitioner was convicted of erreeetved-a-stayed-senteneefor a gross misdemeanor

or the sentence imposed was within the limits provided by law for a gross misdemeanor

and the petitioner has not been convicted of a new crime for at least four three years since

discharge of the sentence for the crime; or

(5) the petitioner was convicted of a gross misdemeanor that is deemed to be for a

misdemeanor pursuant to section 609.13, subdivision 2, clause (2), and has not been convicted

of a new crime for at least three years since discharge of the sentence for the crime;

(6) the petitioner was convicted of a felony violation of section 152.025 and has not

been convicted of a new crime for at least four years since discharge of the sentence for the

crime;

(7) the petitioner was convicted of a felony that is deemed to be for a gross misdemeanor

or misdemeanor pursuant to section 609.13, subdivision 1, clause (2), and has not been

convicted of a new crime for at least five years since discharge of the sentence for the crime;

or

5) (8) the petitioner was convicted of errecerved-astayed-sentencefor a felony violation

of an offense listed in paragraph (b), and has not been convicted of a new crime for at least

five four years since discharge of the sentence for the crime.
(b) Paragraph (a), clause 5) (7), applies to the following offenses:
(1) section 35.824 (altering livestock certificate);
(2) section 62A.41 (insurance regulations);
(3) section 86B.865, subdivision 1 (certification for title on watercraft);

(4) section 152.023, subdivision 2 (possession of a controlled substance in the third

degree); 152.024, subdivision 2 (possession of a controlled substance in the fourth degree);

152.025 (controlled substance in the fifth degree); or 152.097 (sale of simulated controlled

substance);
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(5) section 168A.30, subdivision 1 (certificate of title false information); or 169.09,

subdivision 14, paragraph (a), clause (2) (accident resulting in great bodily harm);
(6) chapter 201; 203B; or 204C (voting violations);
(7) section 228.45; 228.47; 228.49; 228.50; or 228.51 (false bill of lading);
(8) section 256.984 (false declaration in assistance application);
(9) section 296A.23, subdivision 2 (willful evasion of fuel tax);
(10) section 297D.09, subdivision 1 (failure to affix stamp on scheduled substances);
(11) section 297G.19 (liquor taxation); or 340A.701 (unlawful acts involving liquor);

(12) section 325F.743 (precious metal dealers); or 325F.755, subdivision 7 (prize notices

and solicitations);
(13) section 346.155, subdivision 10 (failure to control regulated animal);
(14) section 349.2127; or 349.22 (gambling regulations);
(15) section 588.20 (contempt);
(16) section 609.27, subdivision 1, clauses (2) to (5) (coercion);
(17) section 609.31 (leaving state to evade establishment of paternity);

(18) section 609.485, subdivision 4, paragraph (a), clause (2) or (4) (escape from civil

commitment for mental illness);
(19) section 609.49 (failure to appear in court);

(20) section 609.52, subdivision 2, when sentenced pursuant to section 609.52,
subdivision 3, clause (3)(a) (theft of $5,000 or less);-or-other-theft-offense-thatis-sentenced
under-this-previsten; or 609.52, subdivision 3a, clause (1) (theft of $1,000 or less with risk

of bodily harm); or any other offense sentenced pursuant to section 609.52, subdivision 3,

clause (3)(a);

(21) section 609.521 (possession of shoplifting gear);

ZH (22) section 609.525 (bringing stolen goods into state);
22) (23) section 609.526, subdivision 2, clause (2) (metal dealer receiving stolen goods);

23) (24) section 609.527, subdivision 5b (possession or use of scanning device or
reencoder); 609.528, subdivision 3, clause (3) (possession or sale of stolen or counterfeit

check); or 609.529 (mail theft);
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174.1 24) (25) section 609.53 (receiving stolen goods);

174.2 25) (26) section 609.535, subdivision 2a, paragraph (a), clause (1) (dishonored check

1743 over $500);

174.4 26) (27) section 609.54, clause (1) (embezzlement of public funds $2,500 or less);
174.5 27 (28) section 609.551 (rustling and livestock theft);

174.6 28) (29) section 609.5641, subdivision la, paragraph (a) (wildfire arson);

174.7 29) (30) section 609.576, subdivision 1, clause (3), item (iii) (negligent fires);

174.8 (31) section 609.582, subdivision 3 (burglary in the third degree);

174.9 (32) section 609.59 (possession of burglary or theft tools);

174.10 30) (33) section 609.595, subdivision 1, clauses (3) to (5), and subdivision 1a, paragraph

174.11 (a) (criminal damage to property);
174.12 31 (34) section 609.597, subdivision 3, clause (3) (assaulting or harming police horse);

174.13 32) (35) section 609.625 (aggravated forgery); 609.63 (forgery); 609.631, subdivision
174.14 4, clause (3)(a) (check forgery $2,500 or less); 609.635 (obtaining signature by false

174.15 pretense); 609.64 (recording, filing forged instrument); or 609.645 (fraudulent statements);

174.16 33) (36) section 609.65, clause (1) (false certification by notary); or 609.651, subdivision

174.17 4, paragraph (a) (lottery fraud);
174.18 34 (37) section 609.652 (fraudulent driver's license and identification card);

174.19 35) (38) section 609.66, subdivision 1a, paragraph (a) (discharge of firearm; silencer);

174.20 or 609.66, subdivision 1b (furnishing firearm to minor);
174.21 36) (39) section 609.662, subdivision 2, paragraph (b) (duty to render aid);
174.22 37 (40) section 609.686, subdivision 2 (tampering with fire alarm);

174.23 38) (41) section 609.746, subdivision 1, paragraph (e) (interference with privacy;

174.24 subsequent violation or minor victim);

174.25 39) (42) section 609.80, subdivision 2 (interference with cable communications system);
174.26 40) (43) section 609.821, subdivision 2 (financial transaction card fraud);

174.27 (41 (44) section 609.822 (residential mortgage fraud);

174.28 42) (45) section 609.825, subdivision 2 (bribery of participant or official in contest);
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43) (46) section 609.855, subdivision 2, paragraph (c), clause (1) (interference with
transit operator);
44) (47) section 609.88 (computer damage); or 609.89 (computer theft);

45) (48) section 609.893, subdivision 2 (telecommunications and information services

fraud);
46) (49) section 609.894, subdivision 3 or 4 (cellular counterfeiting);

47 (50) section 609.895, subdivision 3, paragraph (a) or (b) (counterfeited intellectual
property);

48) (51) section 609.896 (movie pirating);

49) (52) section 624.7132, subdivision 15, paragraph (b) (transfer pistol to minor);
624.714, subdivision 1a (pistol without permit; subsequent violation); or 624.7141,

subdivision 2 (transfer of pistol to ineligible person); or
50) (53) section 624.7181 (rifle or shotgun in public by minor).

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023, and applies to all offenses

that meet the eligibility criteria on or after that date.

ARTICLE 11
EXPUNGEMENT CHANGES; CONFORMING CHANGES

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 13.871, subdivision 14, is amended to read:

Subd. 14. Expungement petitions. (a) Provisions regarding the classification and sharing
of data contained in a petition for expungement of a criminal record are included in section

609A.03.

(b) Provisions regarding the classification and sharing of data related to automatic

expungements are included in sections 299C.097 and 609A.015.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.18, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Deferring prosecution for certain first time drug offenders. (a) A
court may defer prosecution as provided in paragraph (c) for any person found guilty, after
trial or upon a plea of guilty, of a violation of section 152.023, subdivision 2, 152.024,
subdivision 2, 152.025, subdivision 2, or 152.027, subdivision 2, 3, 4, or 6, paragraph (d),

for possession of a controlled substance, who:
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(1) has not previously participated in or completed a diversion program authorized under

section 401.065;

(2) has not previously been placed on probation without a judgment of guilty and

thereafter been discharged from probation under this section; and

(3) has not been convicted of a felony violation of this chapter, including a felony-level
attempt or conspiracy, or been convicted by the United States or another state of a similar
offense that would have been a felony under this chapter if committed in Minnesota, unless

ten years have elapsed since discharge from sentence.

(b) The court must defer prosecution as provided in paragraph (c) for any person found

guilty of a violation of section 152.025, subdivision 2, who:
(1) meets the criteria listed in paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (3); and

(2) has not previously been convicted of a felony offense under any state or federal law

or of a gross misdemeanor under section 152.025.

(c) In granting relief under this section, the court shall, without entering a judgment of
guilty and with the consent of the person, defer further proceedings and place the person
on probation upon such reasonable conditions as it may require and for a period, not to
exceed the maximum sentence provided for the violation. The court may give the person
the opportunity to attend and participate in an appropriate program of education regarding
the nature and effects of alcohol and drug abuse as a stipulation of probation. Upon violation
of a condition of the probation, the court may enter an adjudication of guilt and proceed as
otherwise provided. The court may, in its discretion, dismiss the proceedings against the
person and discharge the person from probation before the expiration of the maximum
period prescribed for the person's probation. If during the period of probation the person
does not violate any of the conditions of the probation, then upon expiration of the period
the court shall discharge the person and dismiss the proceedings against that person.
Discharge and dismissal under this subdivision shall be without court adjudication of guilt,
but a not public record of it shall be retained by the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension for
the purpose of use by the courts in determining the merits of subsequent proceedings against
the person. The not public record may also be opened only upon court order for purposes

of a criminal investigation, prosecution, or sentencing. Upon receipt of notice that the

proceedings were dismissed, the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall notify the arresting

or citing law enforcement agency and direct that agency to seal its records related to the

charge. Upon request by law enforcement, prosecution, or corrections authorities, the bureau

shall notify the requesting party of the existence of the not public record and the right to
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seek a court order to open it pursuant to this section. The court shall forward a record of
any discharge and dismissal under this subdivision to the bureau which shall make and
maintain the not public record of it as provided under this subdivision. The discharge or
dismissal shall not be deemed a conviction for purposes of disqualifications or disabilities

imposed by law upon conviction of a crime or for any other purpose.

For purposes of this subdivision, "not public" has the meaning given in section 13.02,

subdivision 8a.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 181.981, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Limitation on admissibility of criminal history. Information regarding
a criminal history record of an employee or former employee may not be introduced as
evidence in a civil action against a private employer or its employees or agents that is based

on the conduct of the employee or former employee, if:

(1) the duties of the position of employment did not expose others to a greater degree
of risk than that created by the employee or former employee interacting with the public

outside of the duties of the position or that might be created by being employed in general;
(2) before the occurrence of the act giving rise to the civil action;:
(1) a court order sealed any record of the criminal case;

(i1) any record of the criminal case was sealed as the result of an automatic expungement,

including but not limited to a grant of expungement made pursuant to section 609A.015;

or
(ii1) the employee or former employee received a pardon;
(3) the record is of an arrest or charge that did not result in a criminal conviction; or

(4) the action is based solely upon the employer's compliance with section 364.021.

Sec. 4. [299C.097] DATABASE FOR IDENTIFYING INDIVIDUALS ELIGIBLE
FOR EXPUNGEMENT.

(a) The superintendent of the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall maintain a

computerized data system relating to petty misdemeanor and misdemeanor offenses that

may become eligible for expungement pursuant to section 609A.015 and which do not

require fingerprinting pursuant to section 299C.10 and are not linked to an arrest record in

the criminal history system.

(b) This data is private data on individuals under section 13.02, subdivision 12.

Article 11 Sec. 4. 177



178.1

178.2

178.3

178.4

178.5

178.6

178.7

178.8

178.9

178.10

178.11

178.12

178.13

178.14

178.15

178.16

178.17

178.18

178.19

178.20

178.21

178.22

178.23

178.24

178.25

178.26

178.27

178.28

178.29

178.30

178.31

03/31/23 SENATEE SS SS2909R

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299C.10, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Required fingerprinting. (a) Sheriffs, peace officers, and community
corrections agencies operating secure juvenile detention facilities shall take or cause to be
taken immediately finger and thumb prints, photographs, distinctive physical mark
identification data, information on any known aliases or street names, and other identification

data requested or required by the superintendent of the bureau, of the following:

(1) persons arrested for, appearing in court on a charge of, or convicted of a felony, gross

misdemeanor, or targeted misdemeanor;

(2) juveniles arrested for, appearing in court on a charge of, adjudicated delinquent for,
or alleged to have committed felonies or gross misdemeanors as distinguished from those

committed by adult offenders;
(3) adults and juveniles admitted to jails or detention facilities;
(4) persons reasonably believed by the arresting officer to be fugitives from justice;

(5) persons in whose possession, when arrested, are found concealed firearms or other
dangerous weapons, burglar tools or outfits, high-power explosives, or articles, machines,
or appliances usable for an unlawful purpose and reasonably believed by the arresting officer

to be intended for such purposes;

(6) juveniles referred by a law enforcement agency to a diversion program for a felony

or gross misdemeanor offense; and

(7) persons currently involved in the criminal justice process, on probation, on parole,
or in custody for any offense whom the superintendent of the bureau identifies as being the
subject of a court disposition record which cannot be linked to an arrest record, and whose
fingerprints are necessary to reduce the number of suspense files, or to comply with the
mandates of section 299C.111, relating to the reduction of the number of suspense files.
This duty to obtain fingerprints for the offenses in suspense at the request of the bureau
shall include the requirement that fingerprints be taken in post-arrest interviews, while
making court appearances, while in custody, or while on any form of probation, diversion,

or supervised release.

(b) Unless the superintendent of the bureau requires a shorter period, within 24 hours

of taking the fingerprints and data, the fingerprint records and other identification data
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specified under paragraph (a) must be electronically entered into a bureau-managed

searchable database in a manner as may be prescribed by the superintendent.

(c) Prosecutors, courts, and probation officers and their agents, employees, and
subordinates shall attempt to ensure that the required identification data is taken on a person
described in paragraph (a). Law enforcement may take fingerprints of an individual who is

presently on probation.
(d) Finger and thumb prints must be obtained no later than:
(1) release from booking; or
(2) if not booked prior to acceptance of a plea of guilty or not guilty.

Prior to acceptance of a plea of guilty or not guilty, an individual's finger and thumb
prints must be submitted to the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension for the offense. If finger
and thumb prints have not been successfully received by the bureau, an individual may,
upon order of the court, be taken into custody for no more than eight hours so that the taking
of prints can be completed. Upon notice and motion of the prosecuting attorney, this time
period may be extended upon a showing that additional time in custody is essential for the

successful taking of prints.

(e) For purposes of this section, a targeted misdemeanor is a misdemeanor violation of
section 169A.20 (driving while impaired), 518B.01 (order for protection violation), 609.224
(fifth-degree assault), 609.2242 (domestic assault), 609.746 (interference with privacy),

609.748 (harassment or restraining order violation), 609.749 (obscene or harassing telephone

calls), 617.23 (indecent exposure), or 629.75 (domestic abuse no contact order).

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299C.111, is amended to read:

299C.111 SUSPENSE FILE REPORTING.

The superintendent shall immediately notify the appropriate entity or individual when

a disposition record for a felony, gross misdemeanor, or targeted misdemeanor is received

that cannot be linked to an arrest record.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299C.17, is amended to read:

299C.17 REPORT BY COURT ADMINISTRATOR.

The superintendent shall require the court administrator of every court which sentences

a defendant for a felony, gross misdemeanor, ertargeted misdemeanor, or petty misdemeanor
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to electronically transmit within 24 hours of the disposition of the case a report, in a form
prescribed by the superintendent providing information required by the superintendent with
regard to the prosecution and disposition of criminal cases. A copy of the report shall be

kept on file in the office of the court administrator.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609A.01, is amended to read:

609A.01 EXPUNGEMENT OF CRIMINAL RECORDS.

This chapter provides the grounds and procedures for expungement of criminal records

under section 13.82; 152.18, subdivision 1; 299C.11, where expungement is automatic under

section 609A.015, or a petition is authorized under section 609A.02, subdivision 3; or other

applicable law. The remedy available is limited to a court order or grant of expungement

under section 609A.015 sealing the records and prohibiting the disclosure of their existence

or their opening except under court order or statutory authority. Nothing in this chapter

authorizes the destruction of records or their return to the subject of the records.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609A.03, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Nature of remedy; standard. (a) Except as otherwise provided by paragraph

(b), expungement of a criminal record under this section is an extraordinary remedy to be

granted only upon clear and convincing evidence that it would yield a benefit to the petitioner

commensurate with the disadvantages to the public and public safety of:
(1) sealing the record; and

(2) burdening the court and public authorities to issue, enforce, and monitor an

expungement order.

(b) Except as otherwise provided by this paragraph, if the petitioner is petitioning for
the sealing of a criminal record under section 609A.02, subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clause
(1) or (2), the court shall grant the petition to seal the record unless the agency or jurisdiction
whose records would be affected establishes by clear and convincing evidence that the
interests of the public and public safety outweigh the disadvantages to the petitioner of not

sealing the record.
(c) In making a determination under this subdivision, the court shall consider:

(1) the nature and severity of the underlying crime, the record of which would be sealed;
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181.1 (2) the risk, if any, the petitioner poses to individuals or society;

181.2 (3) the length of time since the crime occurred;

181.3 (4) the steps taken by the petitioner toward rehabilitation following the crime;

181.4 (5) aggravating or mitigating factors relating to the underlying crime, including the

181.5 etitioner's level of participation and context and circumstances of the underlying crime;
p p p ymg

181.6 (6) the reasons for the expungement, including the petitioner's attempts to obtain

181.7 employment, housing, or other necessities;

181.8 (7) the petitioner's criminal record;

181.9 (8) the petitioner's record of employment and community involvement;

181.10 (9) the recommendations of interested law enforcement, prosecutorial, and corrections
181.11 officials;

181.12 (10) the recommendations of victims or whether victims of the underlying crime were

181.13 minors;

181.14 (11) the amount, if any, of restitution outstanding, past efforts made by the petitioner
181.15 toward payment, and the measures in place to help ensure completion of restitution payment

181.16 after expungement of the record if granted; and
181.17 (12) other factors deemed relevant by the court.

181.18 (d) Notwithstanding section 13.82, 13.87, or any other law to the contrary, if the court
181.19 issues an expungement order it may require that the criminal record be sealed, the existence
181.20 of the record not be revealed, and the record not be opened except as required under

181.21 subdivision 7. Records must not be destroyed or returned to the subject of the record.

181.22 (e) Information relating to a criminal history record of an employee, former employee,
181.23 or tenant that has been expunged before the occurrence of the act giving rise to the civil
181.24 action may not be introduced as evidence in a civil action against a private employer or
181.25 landlord or its employees or agents that is based on the conduct of the employee, former

181.26 employee, or tenant.

181.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.

181.28  Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609A.03, subdivision 7a, is amended to read:

181.29 Subd. 7a. Limitations of order effective January 1, 2015, and later. (a) Upon issuance
181.30 of an expungement order related to a charge supported by probable cause, the DNA samples

181.31 and DNA records held by the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension and collected under authority
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other than section 299C.105 shall not be sealed, returned to the subject of the record, or

destroyed.
(b) Notwithstanding the issuance of an expungement order:

(1) except as provided in clause (2), an expunged record may be opened, used, or
exchanged between criminal justice agencies without a court order for the purposes of
initiating, furthering, or completing a criminal investigation or prosecution or for sentencing

purposes or providing probation or other correctional services;

(2) when a criminal justice agency seeks access to a record that was sealed under section
609A.02, subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clause (1), after an acquittal or a court order dismissing
for lack of probable cause, for purposes of a criminal investigation, prosecution, or
sentencing, the requesting agency must obtain an ex parte court order after stating a

good-faith basis to believe that opening the record may lead to relevant information;

(3) an expunged record of a conviction may be opened for purposes of evaluating a

prospective employee in a criminal justice agency without a court order;

(4) an expunged record of a conviction may be opened for purposes of a background
study under section 245C.08 unless the commissioner had been properly served with notice
of the petition for expungement and the court order for expungement is directed specifically

to the commissioner of human services;

(5) an expunged record of a conviction may be opened for purposes of a background
check required under section 122A.18, subdivision 8, unless the court order for expungement

is directed specifically to the Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board; and

(6) the court may order an expunged record opened upon request by the victim of the
underlying offense if the court determines that the record is substantially related to a matter

for which the victim is before the courts;

(7) a prosecutor may request, and the district court shall provide, certified records of

conviction for a record expunged pursuant to sections 609A.015, 609A.02, and 609A.025,

and the certified records of conviction may be disclosed and introduced in criminal court

proceedings as provided by the rules of court and applicable law; and

(8) the subject of an expunged record may request, and the court shall provide, certified

or uncertified records of conviction for a record expunged pursuant to sections 609A.015,

609A.02, and 609A.025.

(c) An agency or jurisdiction subject to an expungement order shall maintain the record

in a manner that provides access to the record by a criminal justice agency under paragraph
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(b), clause (1) or (2), but notifies the recipient that the record has been sealed. The Bureau
of Criminal Apprehension shall notify the commissioner of human services or the
Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board of the existence of a sealed record
and of the right to obtain access under paragraph (b), clause (4) or (5). Upon request, the
agency or jurisdiction subject to the expungement order shall provide access to the record
to the commissioner of human services or the Professional Educator Licensing and Standards

Board under paragraph (b), clause (4) or (5).

(d) An expunged record that is opened or exchanged under this subdivision remains

subject to the expungement order in the hands of the person receiving the record.

(e) A criminal justice agency that receives an expunged record under paragraph (b),
clause (1) or (2), must maintain and store the record in a manner that restricts the use of the

record to the investigation, prosecution, or sentencing for which it was obtained.

(f) For purposes of this section, a "criminal justice agency" means a court or government

agency that performs the administration of criminal justice under statutory authority.

(g) This subdivision applies to expungement orders subject to its limitations and effective
on or after January 1, 2015, and grants of expungement relief issued on or after January 1,

2025.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609A.03, subdivision 9, is amended to read:

Subd. 9. Stay of order; appeal. An expungement order issued under this section shall

be stayed automatically for 60 days after the order is filed and, if the order is appealed,
during the appeal period. A person or an agency or jurisdiction whose records would be
affected by the order may appeal the order within 60 days of service of notice of filing of
the order. An agency or jurisdiction or its officials or employees need not file a cost bond

or supersedeas bond in order to further stay the proceedings or file an appeal.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 611A.03, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Plea agreements; notification of victim. Prior to the entry of the factual
basis for a plea pursuant to a plea agreement recommendation, a prosecuting attorney shall

make a reasonable and good faith effort to inform the victim of:
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(1) the contents of the plea agreement recommendation, including the amount of time
recommended for the defendant to serve in jail or prison if the court accepts the agreement;

ad

(2) the right to be present at the sentencing hearing and at the hearing during which the
plea is presented to the court and to express orally or in writing, at the victim's option, any
objection to the agreement or to the proposed disposition. If the victim is not present when
the court considers the recommendation, but has communicated objections to the prosecuting

attorney, the prosecuting attorney shall make these objections known to the court:; and

(3) the eligibility of the offense for automatic expungement pursuant to section 609A.015.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025, and applies to plea

agreements entered into on or after that date.

ARTICLE 12
COMMUNITY SUPERVISION

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 243.05, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Conditional release. (a) The commissioner of corrections may parole
any person sentenced to confinement in any state correctional facility for adults under the

control of the commissioner of corrections, provided that:

(1) no inmate serving a life sentence for committing murder before May 1, 1980, other
than murder committed in violation of clause (1) of section 609.185 who has not been
previously convicted of a felony shall be paroled without having served 20 years, less the
diminution that would have been allowed for good conduct had the sentence been for 20

years;

(2) no inmate serving a life sentence for committing murder before May 1, 1980, who
has been previously convicted of a felony or though not previously convicted of a felony
1s serving a life sentence for murder in the first degree committed in violation of clause (1)
of section 609.185 shall be paroled without having served 25 years, less the diminution

which would have been allowed for good conduct had the sentence been for 25 years;

(3) any inmate sentenced prior to September 1, 1963, who would be eligible for parole

had the inmate been sentenced after September 1, 1963, shall be eligible for parole; and

(4) any new rule or policy or change of rule or policy adopted by the commissioner of

corrections which has the effect of postponing eligibility for parole has prospective effect
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only and applies only with respect to persons committing offenses after the effective date

of the new rule or policy or change.

(b) Upon being paroled and released, an inmate is and remains in the legal custody and
under the control of the commissioner, subject at any time to be returned to a facility of the
Department of Corrections established by law for the confinement or treatment of convicted

persons and the parole rescinded by the commissioner.

(c) The written order of the commissioner of corrections, is sufficient authority for any
peace officer, state correctional investigator, or state parole and probation agent to retake
and place in actual custody any person on parole or supervised release. In addition, when
it appears necessary in order to prevent escape or enforce discipline, any state parole and
probation agent or state correctional investigator may, without order of warrant, take and
detain a parolee or person on supervised release or work release and bring the person to the

commissioner for action.

(d) The written order of the commissioner of corrections is sufficient authority for any
peace officer, state correctional investigator, or state parole and probation agent to retake
and place in actual custody any person on probation under the supervision of the
commissioner pursuant to section 609.135. Additionally, when it appears necessary in order
to prevent escape or enforce discipline, any state parole and probation agent or state
correctional investigator may, without an order, retake and detain a probationer and bring

the probationer before the court for further proceedings under section 609.14.

(e) The written order of the commissioner of corrections is sufficient authority for any
peace officer, state correctional investigator, or state parole and probation agent to detain
any person on pretrial release who absconds from pretrial release or fails to abide by the

conditions of pretrial release.

(f) Persons conditionally released, and those on probation under the supervision of the
commissioner of corrections pursuant to section 609.135 may be placed within or outside
the boundaries of the state at the discretion of the commissioner of corrections or the court,

and the limits fixed for these persons may be enlarged or reduced according to their conduct.

(g) Except as otherwise provided in subdivision 1b, in considering applications for
conditional release or discharge, the commissioner is not required to hear oral argument
from any attorney or other person not connected with an adult correctional facility of the
Department of Corrections in favor of or against the parole or release of any inmates. The
commissioner may institute inquiries by correspondence, taking testimony, or otherwise,

as to the previous history, physical or mental condition, and character of the inmate and, to
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that end, has the authority to require the attendance of the chief executive officer of any

state adult correctional facility and the production of the records of these facilities, and to

compel the attendance of witnesses. The commissioner is authorized to administer oaths to

witnesses for these purposes.
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187.1

187.2

187.3

187.4

187.5

187.6

187.7

187.8

187.9

187.10

187.11

187.12

187.13

187.14

187.15

187.16  Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 244.05, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

187.17 Subd. 3. Sanctions for violation. (a) If an inmate violates the conditions of the inmate's

187.18 supervised release imposed by the commissioner, the commissioner may:

187.19 (1) continue the inmate's supervised release term; with or without:

187.20 (1) modifying or enlarging the conditions imposed on the inmate; or

187.21 (1) transferring the inmate's case to a specialized caseload; or

187.22 (2) revoke the inmate's supervised release and reimprison the inmate for the appropriate

187.23 period eftime.

187.24 (b) Before revoking an inmate's supervised release because of a technical violation that

187.25 would result in reimprisonment, the commissioner must identify alternative interventions

187.26 to address and correct the violation only if:

187.27 (1) the inmate does not present a risk to the public; and
187.28 (2) the inmate is amenable to continued supervision.
187.29 (c) If alternative interventions are appropriate and available, the commissioner must

187.30 restructure the inmate's terms of release to incorporate the alternative interventions.
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(d) Prior to revoking a nonviolent controlled substance offender's supervised release
based on a technical violation, when the offender does not present a risk to the public and
the offender 1s amenable to continued supervision in the community, the commissioner
must identify community options to address and correct the violation including, but not
limited to, inpatient substance use disorder treatment. If the commissioner determines that
community options are appropriate, the commissioner shall restructure the inmate's terms
of release to incorporate those options. If a nonviolent controlled substance offender's
supervised release is revoked, the offender's agent must first attempt to place the offender
in a local jail. For purposes of this subdivision, "nonviolent controlled substance offender"
is a person who meets the criteria described under section 244.0513, subdivision 2, clauses
(1), (2), and (5), and "technical violation" means a violation of a condition of supervised
release, except an allegation of a subsequent criminal act that is alleged in a formal complaint,

citation, or petition.

(e) The period of time for which a supervised release may be revoked may not exceed
the period of time remaining in the inmate's sentence, except that if a sex offender is
sentenced and conditionally released under Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.108,
subdivision 5, the period of time for which conditional release may be revoked may not

exceed the balance of the conditional release term.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 244.19, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Appointment; joint services; state services. (a) If a county or group of
counties has established a human services board pursuant to chapter 402, the district court
may appoint one or more county probation officers as necessary to perform court services,
and the human services board shall appoint persons as necessary to provide correctional
services within the authority granted in chapter 402. In all counties of more than 200,000
population, which have not organized pursuant to chapter 402, the district court shall appoint
one or more persons of good character to serve as county probation officers during the
pleasure of the court. All other counties shall provide adult misdemeanant and juvenile

probation services to district courts in one of the following ways:

(1) the court, with the approval of the county boards, may appoint one or more salaried

county probation officers to serve during the pleasure of the court;

(2) when two or more counties offer probation services the district court through the
county boards may appoint common salaried county probation officers to serve in the several

counties;
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(3) a county or a district court may request the commissioner of corrections to furnish
probation services in accordance with the provisions of this section, and the commissioner
of corrections shall furnish such services to any county or court that fails to provide its own

probation officer by one of the two procedures listed above;

(4) if a county or district court providing probation services under clause (1) or (2) asks
the commissioner of corrections or the legislative body for the state of Minnesota mandates
the commissioner of corrections to furnish probation services to the district court, the
probation officers and other employees displaced by the changeover shall be employed by
the commissioner of corrections. Years of service in the county probation department are

to be given full credit for future sick leave and vacation accrual purposes;

serve if a county receiving probation services under clause (3) decides to provide the services

under clause (1) or (2), the probation officers and other employees displaced by the

changeover shall be employed by the county at no loss of salary. Years of service in the

state are to be given full credit for future sick leave and vacation accrual purposes in the

county or counties they are now serving.

(b) A county or counties providing probation services under paragraph (a), clause (1)

or (2), is designated a "CPO county" for purposes of receiving a subsidy under chapter 401.

A county or counties receiving probation services under paragraph (a), clause (3), is not

eligible for a subsidy under chapter 401 and the commissioner of corrections is appropriated

the county's share of funding for the purpose of providing probation services and authority

to seek reimbursement from the county under subdivision 5.

(c) A county that requests the commissioner of corrections to provide probation services

under paragraph (a), clause (3), shall collaborate with the commissioner to develop a

comprehensive plan as described in section 401.06.

®) (d) The commissioner of management and budget shall place employees transferred
to state service under paragraph (a), clause (4), in the proper classifications in the classified
service. Each employee is appointed without examination at no loss in salary or accrued
vacation or sick leave benefits, but no additional accrual of vacation or sick leave benefits
may occur until the employee's total accrued vacation or sick leave benefits fall below the
maximum permitted by the state for the employee's position. An employee appointed under
paragraph (a), clause (4), shall serve a probationary period of six months. After exhausting
labor contract remedies, a noncertified employee may appeal for a hearing within ten days

to the commissioner of management and budget, who may uphold the decision, extend the
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probation period, or certify the employee. The decision of the commissioner of management
and budget is final. The state shall negotiate with the exclusive representative for the
bargaining unit to which the employees are transferred regarding their seniority. For purposes
of computing seniority among those employees transferring from one county unit only, a
transferred employee retains the same seniority position as the employee had within that

county's probation office.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 244.19, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

neeessary-expenses-ineurred-in-the perfermanee-of theiroffietal- duties: In all counties which

obtain probation services from the commissioner of corrections the commissioner shall, out

of appropriations provided therefor, pay probation officers the salary and all benefits fixed
by the state law or applicable bargaining unit and all necessary expenses, including secretarial
service, office equipment and supplies, postage, telephone and telegraph services, and travel
and subsistence. Each county receiving probation services from the commissioner of

corrections shall reimburse the department of corrections for the total cost and expenses of
such services as incurred by the commissioner of corrections, excluding the cost and expense

of services provided under the state's obligation in section 244.20. Fetal-annual-costsfor

- At least every
six months the commissioner of corrections shall bill for the total cost and expenses incurred
by the commissioner on behalf of each county which has received probation services. The
commissioner of corrections shall notify each county of the cost and expenses and the county
shall pay to the commissioner the amount due for reimbursement. All such reimbursements

shall be depesited-inthe-general-fund used to provide services for each county according

to their reimbursement amount. Objections by a county to all allocation of such cost and

expenses shall be presented to and determined by the commissioner of corrections. Each
county providing probation services under this section is hereby authorized to use unexpended

funds and to levy additional taxes for this purpose.

The county commissioners of any county of not more than 200,000 population shall,

when requested to do so by the juvenile judge, provide probation officers with suitable
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offices, and may provide equipment, and secretarial help needed to render the required

services.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 244.195, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) As used in this subdivision and sections 244.196 to

244.1995, the following terms have the meanings given them.
(b) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of corrections.

(c) "Conditional release" means parole, supervised release, conditional release as
authorized by section 609.3455, subdivision 6, 7, or 8; Minnesota Statutes 2004, section
609.108, subdivision 6; or Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.109, subdivision 7, work
release as authorized by sections 241.26, 244.065, and 631.425, probation, furlough, and

any other authorized temporary release from a correctional facility.

(d) "Court services director" means the director or designee of a county probation agency

that is not organized under section 244.19 or an agency organized under chapter 401.

(e) "Detain" means to take into actual custody, including custody within a local

correctional facility.

(f) "Local correctional facility" has the meaning given in section 241.021, subdivision

(g) "Probation agency" means the Department of Corrections field office or a probation

agency organized under section 244.19 or chapter 401.

(h) "Probation officer" means a court services director, county probation officer, or any

other community supervision officer employed by the commissioner or by a probation

agency organized under section 244.19 or chapter 401.

(1) "Release" means to release from actual custody.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 244.195, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Detention pending hearing. When it appears necessary to enforce discipline
or to prevent a person on conditional release from escaping or absconding from supervision,
a court services director has the authority to issue a written order directing any peace officer
or any probation officer in the state serving the district and juvenile courts to detain and
bring the person before the court or the commissioner, whichever is appropriate, for

disposition. If the person on conditional release commits a violation described in section

609.14, subdivision 1a, paragraph (a), the court services director must have a reasonable
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belief that the order is necessary to prevent the person from escaping or absconding from

supervision or that the continued presence of the person in the community presents a risk

to public safety before issuing a written order. This written order is sufficient authority for

the peace officer or probation officer to detain the person for not more than 72 hours,
excluding Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays, pending a hearing before the court or the

commissioner.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 244.195, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 6. Intermediate sanctions. (a) Unless the district court directs otherwise, a

probation officer may require a person committed to the officer's care by the court to perform

community work service for violating a condition of probation imposed by the court.

Community work service may be imposed for the purpose of protecting the public, aiding

the person's rehabilitation, or both. A probation officer may impose up to eight hours of

community work service for each violation and up to a total of 24 hours per person per

12-month period, beginning on the date on which community work service is first imposed.

The court services director or probation agency may authorize an additional 40 hours of

community work service, for a total of 64 hours per person per 12-month period, beginning

with the date on which community work service is first imposed. At the time community

work service is imposed, probation officers are required to provide written notice to the

person that states:

(1) the condition of probation that has been violated;

(2) the number of hours of community work service imposed for the violation; and

(3) the total number of hours of community work service imposed to date in the 12-month

period.

(b) A person on supervision may challenge the imposition of community work service

by filing a petition in district court within five days of receiving written notice that

community work service is being imposed. If the person challenges the imposition of

community work service, the state bears the burden of showing, by a preponderance of the

evidence, that the imposition of community work service is reasonable under the

circumstances.

(c) Community work service includes sentencing to service.
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Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 244.195, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 7. Contacts. Supervision contacts may be conducted over videoconference

technology in accordance with the probation agency's established policy.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 244.20, 1s amended to read:

244.20 PROBATION SUPERVISION.

Notwithstanding sections 244.19, subdivision 1, and 609.135, subdivision 1, the

Department of Corrections shall have exclusive responsibility for providing probation

services for adult felons in counties that do not take part in the Community Corrections Act.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 244.21, is amended to read:

244.21 INFORMATION ON OFFENDERS UNDER SUPERVISION; REPORTS.

Subdivision 1. Collection of information by probation service providers; report
required. By January 1, 1998, probation service providers shall begin collecting and
maintaining information on offenders under supervision. The commissioner of corrections
shall specify the nature and extent of the information to be collected. By April 1 of every
year, each probation service provider shall report a summary of the information collected

to the commissioner as a condition of state subsidy funding under chapter 401.

Subd. 2. Commissioner of corrections report. By January 15, 1998 2024, the

commissioner of corrections shall report to the chairs of the senate-erimepreventien-and
house-of representativesjudietary legislative committees with jurisdiction over public safety

and finance on recommended methods of coordinating the exchange of information collected

on offenders under subdivision 1: (1) between probation service providers; and (2) between

probation service providers and the Department of Corrections;-witheut requiringserviee
» . '

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 401.01, is amended to read:

401.01 PURPOSE AND DEFINITION; ASSISTANCE GRANTS SUBSIDIES.

Subdivision 1. Grants Subsidies. For the purpose of more effectively protecting society

and to promote efficiency and economy in the delivery of correctional services, the
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commissioner is authorized to make-grants-to-assist subsidize counties in the development,
implementation, and operation of community-based corrections programs including

preventive or diversionary correctional programs, conditional release programs, community

corrections centers, and facilities for the detention or confinement, care and treatment of

persons convicted of crime or adjudicated delinquent. The-commissionermay-authorize-the

Subd. 2. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of sections 401.01 to 401.16, the following

terms have the meanings given them.
(b) "CCA county" means a county that participates in the Community Corrections Act.
(c) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of corrections or a designee.

(d) "Conditional release" means parole, supervised release, conditional release as
authorized by section 609.3455, subdivision 6, 7, or 8; Minnesota Statutes 2004, section
609.108, subdivision 6; or Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.109, subdivision 7, work
release as authorized by sections 241.26, 244.065, and 631.425, probation, furlough, and

any other authorized temporary release from a correctional facility.
(e) "County probation officer" means a probation officer appointed under section 244.19.

() "CPO county" means a county that participates in funding under this act by providing

local corrections service for all juveniles and individuals on probation for misdemeanors,

pursuant to section 244.19, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (1) or (2).

(g) "Detain" means to take into actual custody, including custody within a local

correctional facility.
tg) (h) "Joint board" means the board provided in section 471.59.

th) (1) "Local correctional facility" has the meaning given in section 241.021, subdivision

) (j) "Local correctional service" means those services authorized by and employees,

officers, and agents appointed under section 244.19, subdivision 1.
() (k) "Release" means to release from actual custody.

(1) "Tribal government" means one of the federally recognized Tribes described in section

3.922.
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Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 401.02, is amended to read:

401.02 COUNTIES OR REGIONS; SERVICES INCLUDABLE.

Subdivision 1. Qualification of counties or Tribal governments. (a) One or more

or Tribal governments

may qualify for a grant-as-previded-in subsidy under section 401.01 by the-enactment-of

opriateresolutions-ereatingand-establishing-a-corrections-advisory board; designating
the officer or agency to be responsible for administering grant-funds subsidies, and providing
for the preparation of a comprehensive plan for the development, implementation and
operation of the correctional services described in seetien sections 401.01 and 401.11,
including the assumption of those correctional services, other than the operation of state
facilities, presently provided in such counties by the Department of Corrections, and
providing for centralized administration and control of those correctional services described

in section 401.01. Counties participating as a CCA county must also enact the appropriate

resolutions creating and establishing a corrections advisory board.

Where counties or Tribal governments combine as authorized in this section, they shall

comply with the provisions of section 471.59.

(b) A county that has participated in the Community Corrections Act for five or more

years is eligible to continue to participate in the Community Corrections Act.

(c) If a county or Tribal government withdraws from the subsidy program as outlined

in subdivision 1 and asks the commissioner of corrections or the legislature mandates the

commissioner of corrections to furnish probation services to the county, the probation

officers and other employees displaced by the changeover shall be employed by the

commissioner of corrections at no loss of salary. Years of service in the county probation

department are to be given full credit for future sick leave and vacation accrual purposes.

Subd. 2. Planning counties; advisory board members expenses. To assist counties
which have complied with the provisions of subdivision 1 and require financial aid to defray
all or a part of the expenses incurred by corrections advisory board members in discharging
their official duties pursuant to section 401.08, the commissioner may designate counties
as "planning counties", and, upon receipt of resolutions by the governing boards of the
counties certifying the need for and inability to pay the expenses described in this subdivision,
advance to the counties an amount not to exceed five percent of the maximum quarterly
subsidy for which the counties are eligible. The expenses described in this subdivision shall

be paid in the same manner and amount as for state employees.
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Subd. 3. Establishment and reorganization of administrative structure. Any county
or group of counties which have qualified for participation in the eemmuntty-cerreetions
subsidy program provided by this chapter may establish, organize, and reorganize an
administrative structure and provide for the budgeting, staffing, and operation of court
services and probation, construction or improvement to juvenile detention and juvenile
correctional facilities and adult detention and correctional facilities, and other activities

required to conform to the purposes of this chapter. No contrary general or special statute

divests any county or group of counties of the authority granted by this subdivision.

196.27

196.28

196.29
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Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 401.025, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Peace officers and probation officers serving CCA counties. (a) When
it appears necessary to enforce discipline or to prevent a person on conditional release from
escaping or absconding from supervision, the chief executive officer or designee of a
community corrections agency in a CCA county has the authority to issue a written order
directing any peace officer or any probation officer in the state serving the district and
juvenile courts to detain and bring the person before the court or the commissioner, whichever

is appropriate, for disposition. If the person on conditional release commits a violation

described in section 609.14, subdivision 1a, paragraph (a), the chief executive officer or

designee must have a reasonable belief that the order is necessary to prevent the person

from escaping or absconding from supervision or that the continued presence of the person

in the community presents a risk to public safety before issuing a written order. This written

order is sufficient authority for the peace officer or probation officer to detain the person
for not more than 72 hours, excluding Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays, pending a hearing

before the court or the commissioner.

(b) The chief executive officer or designee of a community corrections agency ina CCA
county has the authority to issue a written order directing a peace officer or probation officer
serving the district and juvenile courts to release a person detained under paragraph (a)
within 72 hours, excluding Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays, without an appearance before
the court or the commissioner. This written order is sufficient authority for the peace officer

or probation officer to release the detained person.

(c) The chief executive officer or designee of a community corrections agency in a CCA
county has the authority to issue a written order directing any peace officer or any probation
officer serving the district and juvenile courts to detain any person on court-ordered pretrial
release who absconds from pretrial release or fails to abide by the conditions of pretrial
release. A written order issued under this paragraph is sufficient authority for the peace

officer or probation officer to detain the person.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1,2023, and applies to violations

that occur on or after that date.
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Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 401.06, is amended to read:

401.06 COMPREHENSIVE PLAN; STANDARDS OF ELIGIBILITY;
COMPLIANCE.

Subdivision 1. Commissioner approval required. (a) No county or group of counties

or Tribal government or group of Tribal governments electing to provide correctional

services pursuant-to-seetions-40+-01te-401-16-shall-be under this chapter is eligible for the
subsidy hereinprovided unless and until its comprehensive plan shall-have has been approved

by the commissioner. A comprehensive plan must comply with commissioner-developed

standards and reporting requirements and must sufficiently address community needs and

supervision standards.

(b) If the commissioner provides supervision to a county that elects not to provide the

supervision, the commissioner must prepare a comprehensive plan for the county and present

it to the local county board of commissioners. The Department of Corrections is subject to

all the standards and requirements under this chapter and supervision standards and policies.

(c) A comprehensive plan is valid for four years and a corrections advisory board must

review and update the plan two years after the plan has been approved or two years after

submitted to the commissioner, whichever is earlier.

(d) All approved comprehensive plans, including updated plans, must be made publicly

available on the Department of Corrections website.

Subd. 2. Rulemaking. The commissioner shall must, pursaantte in accordance with

the Administrative Procedure Act, promulgate adopt rules establishing standards of eligibility
for CCA and CPO counties and Tribal governments to receive funds under seetions-464+-0+

to-401-16 this chapter.

Subd. 3. Substantial compliance required. (a) To remain eligible for the subsidy,

counties shall and Tribal governments must maintain substantial compliance with the

minimum standards established pursuant according to seetions401-01-to-401-16 this chapter
and the policies and procedures governing the services deseribed-in under section 401.025

as prescribed by the commissioner.

(b) Counties shall-also must:

(1) be in substantial compliance with other correctional operating standards permitted

by law and established by the commissioner; and
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shall (2) report statistics required by the commissioner, including but not limited to

information on individuals convicted as an extended jurisdiction juvenile tdentifiedin under

section 241.016, subdivision 1, paragraph (c).

Subd. 4. Commissioner review. (a) The commissioner shall must review annually the

comprehensive plans submitted by participating counties and Tribal governments, including

the facilities and programs operated under the plans. The commissioner ishereby-authorized

te may enter upon any facility operated under the plan, and inspect books and records, for

purposes of recommending needed changes or improvements.

When (b) If the commissioner shall-determine determines that there are reasonable

grounds to believe that a county or group of counties or Tribal government or group of

Tribal governments is not in substantial compliance with minimum standards, the

commissioner must provide at least 30 days' notice shall-be-given to the county or counties

and or Tribal government or Tribal governments of a commissioner-conducted hearing

condueted-by-the-commisstoner to ascertain whether there is substantial compliance or

satisfactory progress being made toward compliance.

Subd. 5. Noncompliance with comprehensive plan. (a) After a hearing, the

commissioner may sanction a county or group of counties or Tribal government or group

of Tribal governments under this subdivision if the commissioner determined that the agency

is not maintaining substantial compliance with minimum standards or that satisfactory

progress toward compliance has not been made.

(b) The commissioner may suspend all or a portion of any subsidy until-the-required
standard-ef-eperatton-has-been-met without issuing a corrective action plan.

(c) The commissioner may issue a corrective action plan, which must:

(1) be in writing;

(2) identify all deficiencies;

(3) detail the corrective action required to remedy the deficiencies; and

(4) provide a deadline to:

(1) correct each deficiency; and

(11) report to the commissioner progress toward correcting the deficiency.

(d) After the deficiency has been corrected, documentation must be submitted to the

commissioner detailing compliance with the corrective action plan. If the commissioner

determines that the county or group of counties or Tribal government or group of Tribal
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governments has not complied with the plan, the commissioner may suspend all or a portion

of the subsidy.

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 401.09, is amended to read:

401.09 OTHER SUBSIDY PROGRAMS; PURCHASE OF STATE SERVICES.

Failure of a county or group of counties to elect to come within the provisions of sections
401.01 to 401.16 shall not affect their eligibility for any other state grant or subsidy for
correctional purposes otherwise provided by law. Any comprehensive plan submitted
pursuant to sections 401.01 to 401.16 may include the purchase of selected correctional
services from the state by contract, including the temporary detention and confinement of
persons convicted of crime or adjudicated delinquent; confinement to be in an appropriate
state facility as otherwise provided by law. The commissioner shall annually determine the
costs of the purchase of services under this section and deduct them from the subsidy due
and payable to the county or counties concerned; provided that no contract shall exceed in

cost the amount of subsidy to which the participating county or counties are eligible.

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 401.10, is amended to read:

401.10 COMMUNITY CORRECTIONS AID.

Subdivision 1. Add-ealenlations Funding formula. Te-determine-the-community
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(a) Beginning in fiscal year 2024, the subsidy paid to each county and Tribal government

and the commissioner of corrections for supervision in counties or Tribal jurisdictions served

by the department shall equal the sum of:

(1) a base funding amount equal to $200,000, plus:

(1) ten percent of the total for all appropriations to the commissioner for community

supervision and postrelease services during the fiscal year prior to the fiscal year for which
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the subsidy will be paid multiplied by the county's or Tribe's percent share of the state's

total population as determined by the most recent census; and

(i1) ten percent of the total for all appropriations to the commissioner for community

supervision and postrelease services during the fiscal year prior to the fiscal year for which

the subsidy will be paid multiplied by the county's or Tribe's percent share of the state's

total geographic area; and

(2) a community supervision formula equal to the sum of:

(1) for felony cases, a felony per diem rate of $5.33 multiplied by the sum of the county's

adult felony population, adult supervised release and parole populations, and juvenile

supervised release and parole populations as reported in the most recent probation survey

published by the commissioner and then, multiplied by 365; and

(11) for gross misdemeanor, misdemeanor, and juvenile probation cases, the felony per

diem rate used in item (i) multiplied by 0.5 and then multiplied by the sum of the county's

gross misdemeanor, misdemeanor, and juvenile populations as reported in the most recent

probation survey published by the commissioner, multiplied by 365.

(b) Each participating county's "community corrections aid amount" equals the sum of

(1) the county's base funding amount, and (2) the county's formula amount.

(c) If in any year the total amount appropriated for the purpose of this section is more

than or less than the total of base funding plus community supervision formula funding for

all counties, then the sum of each county's base funding plus community supervision formula

funding shall be adjusted by the ratio of amounts appropriated for this purpose divided by

the total of base funding plus community supervision formula funding for all counties.

Subd. 2. Transfer of funds. Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, the commissioner
of corrections, after notifying the committees on finance of the senate and ways and means
of the house of representatives, may, at the end of any fiscal year, transfer any unobligated

funds, including funds available due the withdrawal of a county under section 401.16, in

any appropriation to the Department of Corrections to the appropriation under sections
401.01 to 401.16, which appropriation shall not cancel but is reappropriated for the purposes
of sections 401.01 to 401.16.

Subd. 3. Formula review. Priorto-January 16,2002 the-committees-with-jurisdiction
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ts-eontinuation;, meodification; replacement;-or-diseontintation: For fiscal year 2025 and

subsequent fiscal years, the commissioner shall make a funding recommendation based

upon the commissioner's workload study and the caseload data collected by the commissioner.

Subd. 4. Report; supervision fees. (a) The commissioner must collect annual summary

expenditure data and funding from each community supervision provider in the state.

(b) On January 15, 2025, and every year thereafter, the commissioner must submit a

report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees and divisions

with jurisdiction over public safety finance and policy on the data collected under paragraph

(a). The report may be made in conjunction with reporting under section 244.21.

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 401.11, is amended to read:

401.11 COMPREHENSIVE PLAN ITEMS; GRANT REVIEW,

Subdivision 1. Items. The comprehensive plan submitted to the commissioner for

approval shall must include these items prescribed by rule policy of the commissioner,
which-may require-the-inelusten-oef the-foelloewing including but not limited to:

ta) (1) the manner in which presentence and postsentence investigations and reports for

the district courts and social history reports for the juvenile courts will be made;

{b) (2) the manner in which conditional release services to the courts and persons under

jurisdiction of the commissioner ef-eerreetions will be provided;

te) (3) a program for the-detention; supervision;-and-treatmentof detaining, supervising,

and treating persons under pretrial detention or under commitment;

() (4) delivery of other local correctional services defined-in-seetion404-01;

te) (5) proposals for new programs, which proposals must demonstrate a need for the

program, #s and the program's purpose, objective, administrative structure, staffing pattern,

staff training, financing, evaluation process, degree of community involvement, client

participation, and duration efpregram; and

(6) outcome and output data, expenditures, and costs.

Subd. 2. Review.

participating CCA county or group of counties shall must develop and implement a procedure

for thereview-oefgrant reviewing subsidy applications made to the corrections advisory

board and for the manner in which corrections advisory board action will be taken on them

the applications. A description of this the procedure must be made available to members of

the public upon request.
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Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 401.14, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Installment payments. The commissioner of corrections shall make payments
for community corrections services to each county in 12 installments per year. The
commissioner shall ensure that the pertinent payment of the allotment for each month is
made to each county on the first working day after the end of each month of the calendar
year, except for the last month of the calendar year. The commissioner shall ensure that

each county receives its payment of the allotment for that month no later than the last

working day of that month. Fhe paymentdeseribed-n-this subdivision-for services rendered

a_on-the O ng A I 0§
W F-aay HY

Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 401.16, 1s amended to read:

401.16 WITHDRAWAL FROM PROGRAM.

Any participating county or Tribal government may, at the beginning of any calendar

quarter, by resolution of its board of commissioners or Tribal government leaders, notify

the commissioner of its intention to withdraw from the subsidy program established by

sections 401.01 to 401.16, and the withdrawal shall be effective the last day of the lastmenth
of the-quarterin third quarter after which the notice was given. HUpen-withdrawalthe

Sec. 20. [401.17] COMMUNITY SUPERVISION ADVISORY COMMITTEE.

Subdivision 1. Establishment; members. (a) The commissioner must establish a

Community Supervision Advisory Committee to develop and make recommendations to

the commissioner on standards for probation, supervised release, and community supervision.

The committee consists of 16 members as follows:

(1) two directors appointed by the Minnesota Association of Community Corrections

Act Counties;

(2) two probation directors appointed by the Minnesota Association of County Probation

Officers;

(3) three county commissioner representatives appointed by the Association of Minnesota

Counties;
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(4) two behavioral health, treatment, or programming providers who work directly with

individuals on correctional supervision, one appointed by the Department of Human Services

and one appointed by the Minnesota Association of County Social Service Administrators;

(5) two representatives appointed by the Minnesota Indian Affairs Council;

(6) one commissioner-appointed representative from the Department of Corrections;

(7) the chair of the statewide Evidence-Based Practice Advisory Committee;

(8) three individuals who have been supervised, either individually or collectively, under

each of the state's three community supervision delivery systems appointed by the

commissioner in consultation with the Minnesota Association of County Probation Officers

and the Minnesota Association of Community Corrections Act Counties; and

(9) an advocate for victims of crime appointed by the commissioner.

(b) When an appointing authority selects an individual for membership on the committee,

the authority must make reasonable efforts to reflect geographic diversity and to appoint

qualified members of protected groups, as defined under section 43A.02, subdivision 33.

(c) The commissioner must convene the first meeting of the committee on or before July

15, 2024.

Subd. 2. Terms; removal; reimbursement. (a) If there is a vacancy, the appointing

authority must appoint an individual to fill the vacancy. Committee members must elect

any officers and create any subcommittees necessary for the efficient discharge of committee

duties.

(b) A member may be removed by the appointing authority at any time at the pleasure

of the appointing authority.

(c) Each committee member must be reimbursed for all reasonable expenses actually

paid or incurred by that member in the performance of official duties in the same manner

as other employees of the state. The public members of the committee must be compensated

at the rate of $55 for each day or part of the day spent on committee activities.

Subd. 3. Duties; committee. (a) The committee must comply with section 401.10.

(b) By June 30, 2024, the committee must provide written advice and recommendations

to the commissioner on developing policy on:

(1) developing statewide supervision standards and definitions to be applied to community

supervision provided by CPO counties, CCA counties, the Department of Corrections, and

Tribal governments;
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(2) requiring community supervision agencies to use the same agreed-upon risk screener

and risk and needs assessment tools as the main supervision assessment methods or a

universal five-level matrix allowing for consistent supervision levels and that all tools in

use be validated on Minnesota's community supervision population and revalidated every

five years;

(3) requiring the use of assessment-driven, formalized collaborative case planning to

focus case planning goals on identified criminogenic and behavioral health need areas for

moderate- and high-risk individuals;

(4) limiting standard conditions required for all people on supervision across all

supervision systems and judicial districts, ensuring that conditions of supervision are directly

related to the offense of the person on supervision, and tailoring special conditions to people

on supervision identified as high-risk and high-need;

(5) providing gender-responsive, culturally appropriate services and trauma-informed

approaches;

(6) developing a statewide incentives and sanctions grid to guide responses to client

behavior while under supervision to be reviewed and updated every five years to maintain

alignment with national best practices;

(7) developing performance indicators for supervision success as well as recidivism;

(8) developing a statewide training, coaching, and quality assurance system overseen

by an evidence-based practices coordinator; and

(9) devising a plan, by December 1, 2024, to eliminate the financial penalty incurred by

a jurisdiction that successfully discharges an offender from supervision before the offender's

term of supervision concludes.

(c) By December 1, 2024, and every six years thereafter, the committee must review

and reassess the existing workload study published by the commissioner under subdivision

4 and make recommendations to the commissioner based on the committee's review.

(d) By June 30, 2024, the committee must submit a report on supervision fees to the

commissioner and the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees

with jurisdiction over corrections policy and funding. The committee must collect data on

supervision fees and include the data in the report.

Subd. 4. Duties; commissioner. The commissioner, in consultation with the committee,

must complete a workload study by December 1, 2024, to develop a capitated rate for
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equitably funding community supervision throughout the state. The study must be updated

every six years after the initial study is completed.

Subd. 5. Data collection; report. (a) By June 1, 2024, the advisory committee, in

consultation with the Minnesota Counties Computer Cooperative, must create a method to

(1) standardize data classifications across the three delivery systems, and (2) collect data

for the commissioner to publish in an annual report to the chairs and ranking minority

members of the legislative committees and divisions with jurisdiction over public safety

finance and policy.

(b) The advisory committee's method, at a minimum, must provide for collecting the

following data:

(1) the number of offenders placed on probation each year;

(2) the offense levels and offense types for which offenders are placed on probation;

(3) violation and revocation rates and the identified grounds for the violations and

revocations, including final disposition of the violation action such as execution of the

sentence, imposition of new conditions, or a custodial sanction;

(4) the number of offenders granted early discharge from probation;

(5) the number of offenders restructured on supervision, including imposition of new

conditions of release; and

(6) the number of offenders revoked from supervision and the identified grounds for

revocation.

(c) On February 1, 2025, and every year thereafter, the commissioner must prepare a

report that contains the data collected under the method established by the committee under

this subdivision. The report must provide an analysis of the collected data by race, gender,

and county.

(d) Nothing in this section overrides the commissioner's authority to require additional

data be provided under sections 241.065, 401.06, 401.10, and 401.11.

Subd. 6. Response. (a) Within 45 days of receiving the committee's recommendations,

the commissioner must respond in writing to the committee's advice and recommendations

under subdivision 3. The commissioner's response must explain:

(1) whether the agency will adopt policy changes based on the recommendations;

(2) the timeline for adopting policy changes; and
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(3) why the commissioner will not or cannot include any individual recommendations

of the committee in the agency's policy.

(b) The commissioner must submit the advice and recommendations of the committee

to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction

over public safety and finance.

Subd. 7. Staff; meeting room; office equipment. The commissioner must provide the

committee with a committee administrator, staff support, a meeting room, and access to

office equipment and services.

Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.14, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Grounds. (a) When it appears that the defendant has violated any of the
conditions of probation or intermediate sanction, or has otherwise been guilty of misconduct
which warrants the imposing or execution of sentence, the court may without notice revoke

the stay and direct that the defendant be taken into immediate custody. Revocation should

only be used as a last resort when rehabilitation has failed.

(b) When it appears that the defendant violated any of the conditions of probation during
the term of the stay, but the term of the stay has since expired, the defendant's probation
officer or the prosecutor may ask the court to initiate probation revocation proceedings
under the Rules of Criminal Procedure at any time within six months after the expiration
of the stay. The court also may initiate proceedings under these circumstances on its own
motion. If proceedings are initiated within this six-month period, the court may conduct a
revocation hearing and take any action authorized under rule 27.04 at any time during or

after the six-month period.

(c) Notwithstanding the provisions of section 609.135 or any law to the contrary, after
proceedings to revoke the stay have been initiated by a court order revoking the stay and
directing either that the defendant be taken into custody or that a summons be issued in
accordance with paragraph (a), the proceedings to revoke the stay may be concluded and
the summary hearing provided by subdivision 2 may be conducted after the expiration of
the stay or after the six-month period set forth in paragraph (b). The proceedings to revoke
the stay shall not be dismissed on the basis that the summary hearing is conducted after the
term of the stay or after the six-month period. The ability or inability to locate or apprehend
the defendant prior to the expiration of the stay or during or after the six-month period shall
not preclude the court from conducting the summary hearing unless the defendant
demonstrates that the delay was purposefully caused by the state in order to gain an unfair

advantage.
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EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1,2023, and applies to violations

that occur on or after that date.

Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.14, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 1a. Violations where policies favor continued rehabilitation. (a) Correctional

treatment is better provided through a community resource than through confinement, it

would not unduly depreciate the seriousness of the violation if probation was not revoked,

and the policies favoring probation outweigh the need for confinement if a person has not

previously violated a condition of probation or intermediate sanction and does any of the

following in violation of a condition imposed by the court:

(1) fails to abstain from the use of controlled substances without a valid prescription,

unless the person is under supervision for a violation of section:

(1) 169A.20;

(1) 609.2112, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clauses (2) to (6); or

(ii1) 609.2113, subdivision 1, clauses (2) to (6), 2, clauses (2) to (6), or 3, clauses (2) to
(6);

(2) fails to abstain from the use of alcohol, unless the person is under supervision for a

violation of section:

(1) 169A.20;

(i1) 609.2112, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clauses (2) to (6); or

(111) 609.2113, subdivision 1, clauses (2) to (6), 2, clauses (2) to (6), or 3, clauses (2) to
(6);

(3) possesses drug paraphernalia in violation of section 152.092;

(4) fails to obtain or maintain employment;

(5) fails to pursue a course of study or vocational training;

(6) fails to report a change in employment, unless the person is prohibited from having

contact with minors and the employment would involve such contact;

(7) violates a curfew;

(8) fails to report contact with a law enforcement agency, unless the person was charged

with a misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor, or felony; or
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(9) commits any offense for which the penalty is a petty misdemeanor.

(b) A violation by a person described in paragraph (a) does not warrant the imposition

or execution of sentence and the court may not direct that the person be taken into immediate

custody unless the court receives a written report, signed under penalty of perjury pursuant

to section 358.116, showing probable cause to believe the person violated probation and

establishing by a preponderance of the evidence that the continued presence of the person

in the community would present a risk to public safety. If the court does not direct that the

person be taken into custody, the court may request a supplemental report from the

supervising agent containing:

(1) the specific nature of the violation;

(2) the response of the person under supervision to the violation, if any; and

(3) the actions the supervising agent has taken or will take to address the violation.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to violations

that occur on or after that date.

Sec. 23. LOCAL CORRECTIONAL FEES; IMPOSITION ON OFFENDERS.

By August 1, 2025, each local correctional agency under Minnesota Statutes, section

244.18, must provide a plan for phasing out local correctional fees. A copy of the plan must

be provided to all individuals under supervision by the agency. Local correctional fees must

not increase from the effective date of this section through August 1, 2025.

Sec. 24. COMMUNITY SUPERVISION ADVISORY COMMITTEE; REPORT.

(a) By January 15, 2025, the committee must submit a report to the chairs and ranking

minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over public safety policy

and finance on progress toward developing standards and recommendations under Minnesota

Statutes, section 401.17, subdivision 3.

(b) By January 15, 2026, the committee must submit a final report to the chairs and

ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over public safety

policy and finance on the standards and recommendations developed according to Minnesota

Statutes, section 401.17, subdivision 3. At a minimum, the recommendations must include

a proposed state-level Community Supervision Advisory Board with a governance structure

and duties for the board.
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Sec. 25. REPEALER.

(a) Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 244.19, subdivisions 6, 7, and 8; 244.22; 244.24;
and 244.30, are repealed.

(b) Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 244.18, is repealed.

EFFECTIVE DATE. Paragraph (a) is effective August 1, 2023, and paragraph (b) is

effective August 1, 2025."

Amend the title accordingly

And when so amended the bill do pass and be re-referred to the Committee on Finance.

Amendments adopted. Report adopted.

(Committee Chair)

March 29, 2023,
(Date of Committee recommendation)
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