



JUDICIARY COMMITTEE

Senator Ron Latz, Chair ° Capitol G15 ° 12:30 pm

AGENDA FOR WEDNESDAY, MARCH 22, 2023

- SF1384 (McEwen) Occupational Safety and Health Act citation data classification (re-referral to Labor Committee)
- SF1657 (Dziedzic) Data classification for licenses issued by local governments
 - Phil Steger
- SF412 (Pappas) Violence prevention project research center appropriation
 Dr. Jillian Peterson, Co-founder and President, The Violence Project
 - Dr. James Densley, Co- founder and President, The Violence Project
- SF2484 (Pappas) State fire marshal account establishment
 - Tom Brace, MN Chapter of the National Fire Sprinkler Association
 - Jon Nisja, MN Chapter of the National Fire Sprinkler Association
- SF1972 (Pappas) Visual inspection prohibition of children and youth in detention facilities
 - o Sarah Walter, Assistant Attorney, Hennepin County Attorney's office
 - Chauntyll Allen, Director of Criminal Justice Policy and Activism, Wayfinder Foundation
 - Myon Burrell, Prison Advocacy Project Coordinator, Wayfinder Foundation, and ex-incarcerated person
 - Lola Johnson, formerly incarcerated individual, with David Boehnke, Twin Cities Incarcerated Workers Organizing Committee
 - Malaika Eban, Interim Executive Director, Legal Rights Center
 - Matt Bauer Superintendent, Dakota County Juvenile Services Center
 - Elliot Butay, Senior Policy Coordinator, NAMI Minnesota
- SF2137 (Gustafson) Department of Corrections appropriation for additional correctional officers and increased salaries
 - Mitch Kuhne, Corrections Sergeant, MCF Lino Lakes
 - Paul Schnell, Commissioner, Department of Corrections
- SF2712 (Gustafson) Remedies provision to debtors with coerced debt
- SF2042 (Kupec) Minnesota's schedules of controlled substances modification





- SF2659 (Seeberger) Same weight threshold and penalty provision for fentanyl as is for heroin
 - Shane Myre, President, Hennepin County Sheriff's Deputies Association
 - Bridgette Norring, Constituent (virtual)
 - Abbey Bryduck
 - Nathan Benusa, Assistant Sherburne County Attorney, on behalf of Minnesota County Attorneys Association
- SF2380 (Seeberger) Supervision standards committee establishment; probation, supervised release and community corrections provisions modifications; appropriating money
 - Paul Schnell, Commissioner, Department of Corrections
 - Kevin Anderson, Commissioner, Hennepin County
 - Karla Bigham, Commissioner, Washington County
 - Waniyetu Bald Eagle, Community Member (virtual)
- SF2396 (Latz) Private detectives license requirement modification
- SF2914 (Westlin) Grants authorization to county attorneys to reduce criminal caseload backlogs and fund innovative initiatives
 - John Choi Ramsey County Attorney
 - Mary Moriarty, Hennepin County Attorney
- SF1087 (Cwodzinski) Curriculum to assist licensed therapists to gain skills to provide services to first responders development appropriation
 - LeAnne Renteria, St. Paul, former police officer & therapist
 - Scott Boerboom, Chief of Police, Minnetonka
- SF733 (Coleman) Penalties increase for transferring certain firearms to persons who are ineligible to possess firearms
 - Reid LeBeau, Minnesota Police and Peace Officers Association
- SF2676 (Howe) Reimbursement program establishment for use of force training
 - Scott Berger, Vice President of Academics and Student Affairs, Alexandria Technical and Community College
 - Tom Draper, Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST) Board Professional Peace Officer and Education Coordinator, Hennepin Technical College
- SF2225 (Mitchell) Data practices provisions modifications; Office of Collaborative and dispute resolution and Office of Enterprise Sustainability establishment (presented by Sen. Westlin)
 - Taya Moxley-Goldsmith, Director, Data Practices Office
- SF2059 (Frentz) Prosecutorial and law enforcement training appropriation (presented by Sen. Latz)

Senator Ron Latz, Chair • Senator Clare Oumou Verbeten, Vice Chair Senator Warren Limmer, GOP Lead • Senator Sandy Pappas • Senator Jim Carlson Senator Judy Seeberger • Senator Bonnie Westlin • Senator Justin Eichorn • Senator Jeff Howe Senator Michael Kreun





 Michelle County the Minnesota County Attorneys Association (virtual) Zehnder Fisher, Nicollet Attorney, President of