## Minnesota State Senate

Judiciary and Public Safety Committee Friday, February 24, 2023 11:00 AM, Livestream YouTube

Minutes

<u>Present</u>: Senator Ron Latz - Chair, Senator Clare Oumou Verbeten Vice Chair, Senator Jim Carlson, Senator Michael E. Kreun, Senator Warren Limmer, Senator Sandra L. Pappas, Senator Judy Seeberger, Senator Bonnie S. Westlin

Absent: Senator Justin D. Eichorn, Senator Jeff R. Howe

Senator Ron Latz called the meeting to order at 11:03a Senator Oumou Verbeten takes the gavel at 12:24p Senator Latz takes the gavel at 1:00p Recess at 1:02p Resume at 1:18p

Courts overview and priorities discussion and presentation

Presenter: Jeff Shorba (State Court Administrator)

S.F. 357: Senator Oumou Verbeten: Civil legal services appropriation.

Testifiers: Dori Rapaport (Exec Dir of Legal Aid Service of NE MN)

A-2 Oumou Verbeten moves, passes by voice vote

As amended, be laid over.

<u>S.F. 872:</u> Senator Dibble: Youth intervention programs appropriation.

Testifiers: Stacey Guilfoyle Collier (YIP Alum, Exec Dir YMCA Youth and Family Services); Enzo La Hoz Calasara (student); Paul Meunier (Exec Dir, YIPA);

A-1 Pappas moves, passed by voice vote

As amended, be laid over.

**S.F. 1333:** Senator Latz: Department of Corrections Fugitive Apprehension Unit authority expansion.

Testifiers: Mark Koderick (Asst Dir Office of Special Investigations, DOC); Paul Schnell (Comm DOC)

Senator Latz moved that S.F. 1333, be recommended to pass. - MOTION PREVAILED.

<u>S.F. 1450:</u> Senator Latz: Mental health unit pilot program for individuals with mental illness and incarcerated in jails establishment.

Testfiers: Paul Schnell (Comm DOC); Scott Hable (Sheriff, Renville County)

Recess: 1:02p-1:18p

Be recommended to pass.

S.F. 1819: Senator Pappas: Juvenile risk assessments authorization.

**Testifiers: Curtis Shanklin (Deputy Comm of DOC)** 

A-1 Pappas moves, passed by voice

As amended, be laid over.

Discussion of Community Supervision programs with Dept. of Corrections and Association of Metro Counties/Minnesota Association of Community Corrections Act Counties staff

Presenters: Carli Stark (Policy Analyst, Assoc of MN Counties); Paul Schnell (Commissioner, Department of Corrections)

The meeting was adjourned at 2:29p

Senator Ron Latz, Chair

Diana Rico

Diana Rico, Legislative Assistant