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Senator .................... moves to amend the delete-everything amendment (SCS2934A-1)
to S.F. No. 2934 as follows:

Page 79, after line 32, insert:
"Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256R.02, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 32b. Multioccupancy room. "Multioccupancy room" means a resident room with

more than one bed or in which more than one resident is accommodated, or any arrangement

of sleeping quarters in which more than one bed shares access to the corridor.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256R.02, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 47b. Single occupancy room. "Single occupancy room" means a resident room

with one bed where the bed does not share access to the corridor with another bed and only

one resident 1s accommodated in the room.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256R.06, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Private pay rates not to exceed medical assistance residents' rates. (a) A
nursing facility is not eligible to receive medical assistance payments unless it refrains from
charging a private paying residentsrates resident for simtlarserviees-which-exeeed-these

whieh-are a multioccupancy room and services at a rate that exceeds the prospective desk

audit rate for a multioccupancy room and similar services approved by the state agency for

a medical assistance reeipients-as-determined-by-the-prospective-desk-auditrate recipient.
The nursing facility may (1) charge private paying residents a higher rate for a private single

occupancy room, and (2) charge private paying residents for special services whieh that are

not included in the daily rate if medical assistance residents are charged separately at the

same rate for the same services in addition to the daily rate paid by the commissioner.
(b) Services covered by the payment rate must be the same regardless of payment source.
(c) Special services, if offered, must:
(1) be available to all residents in all areas of the nursing facility;
(2) be charged separately at the same rate; and

(3) not include services whieh that must be provided by the nursing facility in order to
comply with licensure or certification standards and that if not provided would result in a

deficiency or violation by the nursing facility. Services beyond those required to comply

Sec. 12. 1
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with licensure or certification standards must not be charged separately as a special service

if they were included in the payment rate for the previous reporting period.
(d) Residents must be free to select or decline special services."

Page 81, after line 17, insert:

"Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256R.44, is amended to read:

256R.44 RATE ADJUSTMENT FOR PRIVATE SINGLE OCCUPANCY ROOMS
FOR MEDICAL NECESSITFY ASSISTANCE RECIPIENTS.

Subdivision 1. Single occupancy room rate. (a) The-ameuntpatdfoeraprivate roomis

commisstoner-on-the-basis-ef-medical neeessity The payment rate add-on for single

occupancy rooms for medical assistance recipients is $35 per day, adjusted annually for

rate years beginning on or after January 1, 2025, as specified in subdivision 2.

the-commisstoneron-the-basts-of mediealneeesstty The single occupancy room rate add-on

applies to a documented overnight stay by a medical assistance resident in a single occupancy

room lasting at least 23 hours and any subsequent consecutive calendar days. For the purposes

of this section, a calendar day is measured from midnight to midnight.

Subd. 2. Inflation adjustment. For rate years beginning on or after January 1, 2025,

the commissioner must adjust the single occupancy room payment rate add-on by the percent

change in the IHS Markit, the Skilled Nursing Facility Total Market Basket Index, and the

four-quarter moving average percentage change line or a comparable index if this index

ceases to be published. The commissioner shall use the fourth quarter index of the upcoming

Sec. 15. 2
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calendar year from the forecast published for the third quarter of the calendar year

immediately prior to the rate year for which the rate is being determined.

Subd. 3. Conditions for single occupancy room rate; medical necessity. (a) The

commissioner shall apply the single occupancy room rate add-on to a facility's total payment

rate for a documented overnight stay due to medical necessity by a medical assistance

resident in a single occupancy room lasting at least 23 hours and any subsequent consecutive

calendar days on which a medical assistance recipient occupies a single occupancy room

due to medical necessity. For the purposes of this section, a calendar day is measured from

midnight to midnight.

(b) While a medical assistance recipient is in a single occupancy room due to medical

necessity, a facility must not place a roommate or roommates in the same room even if the

room is a multioccupancy room and must accept the single occupancy room rate as payment

in full for the recipient's occupancy of the room.

(c) A medical assistance recipient requiring a single occupancy room due to medical

necessity or because the recipient needs immediate admission when no other accommodations

are available may be assigned to any of the provider's single occupancy rooms. The recipient

does not have a right to insist on the single occupancy room of the recipient's choice, but

the recipient's preferences should be given the same consideration as if the recipient were

paying all provider charges.

Subd. 4. Conditions for single occupancy room rate; nonmedical necessity. (a) If a

Medicaid recipient is admitted to a provider that only has single occupancy rooms, the

facility is eligible for the single-occupancy room rate add-on, but must accept the single

occupancy room rate as payment in full for the recipient's occupancy of the room.

(b) A provider having both single occupancy and multioccupancy rooms may charge a

medical assistance recipient in excess of the medical assistance single occupancy room rate

for a single occupancy room when not medically necessary if the recipient chooses. The

maximum amount a provider may charge a medical assistance recipient for a single

occupancy room under this paragraph is the difference between the customary private pay

total charge for the room occupied and the total amount medical assistance would pay if

the single occupancy room were medically necessary.

Subd. 5. Prohibited actions. A nursing facility is prohibited from discharging residents

for the purpose of establishing a single occupancy room in order to receive the single

occupancy room rate add-on."

Renumber the sections in sequence

Sec. 15. 3
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