
1.1 Senator .................... moves to amend S.F. No. 1272 as follows:​

1.2 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:​

1.3 "Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.04, is amended by adding a subdivision​

1.4 to read:​

1.5 Subd. 26. Notice of employed persons with disabilities program. The commissioner​

1.6 shall provide information on the medical assistance program for employed persons with​

1.7 disabilities under section 256B.057, subdivision 9, to all medical assistance enrollees who​

1.8 indicate they have a disability at the time of initial enrollment and at least annually thereafter.​

1.9 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.056, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

1.10 Subd. 3. Asset limitations for certain individuals. (a) To be eligible for medical​

1.11 assistance, a person must not individually own more than $3,000 in assets, or if a member​

1.12 of a household with two family members, husband and wife, or parent and child, the​

1.13 household must not own more than $6,000 in assets, plus $200 for each additional legal​

1.14 dependent. In addition to these maximum amounts, an eligible individual or family may​

1.15 accrue interest on these amounts, but they must be reduced to the maximum at the time of​

1.16 an eligibility redetermination. The accumulation of the clothing and personal needs allowance​

1.17 according to section 256B.35 must also be reduced to the maximum at the time of the​

1.18 eligibility redetermination. The value of assets that are not considered in determining​

1.19 eligibility for medical assistance is the value of those assets excluded under the Supplemental​

1.20 Security Income program for aged, blind, and disabled persons, with the following​

1.21 exceptions:​

1.22 (1) household goods and personal effects are not considered;​

1.23 (2) capital and operating assets of a trade or business that the local agency determines​

1.24 are necessary to the person's ability to earn an income are not considered;​

1.25 (3) motor vehicles are excluded to the same extent excluded by the Supplemental Security​

1.26 Income program;​

1.27 (4) assets designated as burial expenses are excluded to the same extent excluded by the​

1.28 Supplemental Security Income program. Burial expenses funded by annuity contracts or​

1.29 life insurance policies must irrevocably designate the individual's estate as contingent​

1.30 beneficiary to the extent proceeds are not used for payment of selected burial expenses;​

1.31 (5) for a person who no longer qualifies as an employed person with a disability due to​

1.32 loss of earnings, assets allowed while eligible for medical assistance under section 256B.057,​
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2.1 subdivision 9, are not considered for 12 months, beginning with the first month of ineligibility​

2.2 as an employed person with a disability, to the extent that the person's total assets remain​

2.3 within the allowed limits of section 256B.057, subdivision 9, paragraph (d);​

2.4 (6) a designated employment incentives asset account is disregarded when determining​

2.5 eligibility for medical assistance for a person age 65 years or older under section 256B.055,​

2.6 subdivision 7. An employment incentives asset account must only be designated by a person​

2.7 who has been enrolled in medical assistance under section 256B.057, subdivision 9, for a​

2.8 24-consecutive-month period. A designated employment incentives asset account contains​

2.9 qualified assets owned by the person and the person's spouse in the last month of enrollment​

2.10 in medical assistance under section 256B.057, subdivision 9. Qualified assets include​

2.11 retirement and pension accounts, medical expense accounts, and up to $17,000 of the person's​

2.12 other nonexcluded assets. An employment incentives asset account is no longer designated​

2.13 when a person loses medical assistance eligibility for a calendar month or more before​

2.14 turning age 65. A person who loses medical assistance eligibility before age 65 can establish​

2.15 a new designated employment incentives asset account by establishing a new​

2.16 24-consecutive-month period of enrollment under section 256B.057, subdivision 9. The​

2.17 income of a spouse of a person enrolled in medical assistance under section 256B.057,​

2.18 subdivision 9, during each of the 24 consecutive months before the person's 65th birthday​

2.19 must be disregarded when determining eligibility for medical assistance under section​

2.20 256B.055, subdivision 7. Persons eligible under this clause are not subject to the provisions​

2.21 in section 256B.059; and​

2.22 (7) effective July 1, 2009, certain assets owned by American Indians are excluded as​

2.23 required by section 5006 of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009, Public​

2.24 Law 111-5. For purposes of this clause, an American Indian is any person who meets the​

2.25 definition of Indian according to Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 447.50.​

2.26 (b) No asset limit shall apply to persons eligible under section sections 256B.055,​

2.27 subdivision 15, and 256B.057, subdivision 9.​

2.28 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024, or upon federal approval,​

2.29 whichever occurs later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of​

2.30 statutes when federal approval is obtained.​

2.31 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.057, subdivision 9, is amended to read:​

2.32 Subd. 9. Employed persons with disabilities. (a) Medical assistance may be paid for​

2.33 a person who is employed and who:​
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3.1 (1) but for excess earnings or assets, meets the definition of disabled under the​

3.2 Supplemental Security Income program;​

3.3 (2) meets the asset limits in paragraph (d); and​

3.4 (3) pays a premium and other obligations under paragraph (e).​

3.5 (b) For purposes of eligibility, there is a $65 earned income disregard. To be eligible​

3.6 for medical assistance under this subdivision, a person must have more than $65 of earned​

3.7 income. Earned income must have Medicare, Social Security, and applicable state and​

3.8 federal taxes withheld. The person must document earned income tax withholding. Any​

3.9 spousal income or assets shall be disregarded for purposes of eligibility and premium​

3.10 determinations.​

3.11 (c) After the month of enrollment, a person enrolled in medical assistance under this​

3.12 subdivision who:​

3.13 (1) is temporarily unable to work and without receipt of earned income due to a medical​

3.14 condition, as verified by a physician, advanced practice registered nurse, or physician​

3.15 assistant; or​

3.16 (2) loses employment for reasons not attributable to the enrollee, and is without receipt​

3.17 of earned income may retain eligibility for up to four consecutive months after the month​

3.18 of job loss. To receive a four-month extension, enrollees must verify the medical condition​

3.19 or provide notification of job loss. All other eligibility requirements must be met and the​

3.20 enrollee must pay all calculated premium costs for continued eligibility.​

3.21 (d) For purposes of determining eligibility under this subdivision, a person's assets must​

3.22 not exceed $20,000, excluding:​

3.23 (1) all assets excluded under section 256B.056;​

3.24 (2) retirement accounts, including individual accounts, 401(k) plans, 403(b) plans, Keogh​

3.25 plans, and pension plans;​

3.26 (3) medical expense accounts set up through the person's employer; and​

3.27 (4) spousal assets, including spouse's share of jointly held assets.​

3.28 (e) All enrollees must pay a premium to be eligible for medical assistance under this​

3.29 subdivision, except as provided under clause (5).​

3.30 (1) An enrollee must pay the greater of a $35 premium or the premium calculated based​

3.31 on the person's gross earned and unearned income and the applicable family size using a​

3.32 sliding fee scale established by the commissioner, which begins at one percent of income​
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4.1 at 100 percent of the federal poverty guidelines and increases to 7.5 percent of income for​

4.2 those with incomes at or above 300 percent of the federal poverty guidelines.​

4.3 (2) Annual adjustments in the premium schedule based upon changes in the federal​

4.4 poverty guidelines shall be effective for premiums due in July of each year.​

4.5 (3) All enrollees who receive unearned income must pay one-half of one percent of​

4.6 unearned income in addition to the premium amount, except as provided under clause (5).​

4.7 (4) (d) Increases in benefits under title II of the Social Security Act shall not be counted​

4.8 as income for purposes of this subdivision until July 1 of each year.​

4.9 (5) Effective July 1, 2009, American Indians are exempt from paying premiums as​

4.10 required by section 5006 of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009, Public​

4.11 Law 111-5. For purposes of this clause, an American Indian is any person who meets the​

4.12 definition of Indian according to Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 447.50.​

4.13 (f) (e) A person's eligibility and premium shall be determined by the local county agency.​

4.14 Premiums must be paid to the commissioner. All premiums are dedicated to the​

4.15 commissioner.​

4.16 (g) Any required premium shall be determined at application and redetermined at the​

4.17 enrollee's six-month income review or when a change in income or household size is reported.​

4.18 (f) Enrollees must report any change in income or household size within ten days of when​

4.19 the change occurs. A decreased premium resulting from a reported change in income or​

4.20 household size shall be effective the first day of the next available billing month after the​

4.21 change is reported. Except for changes occurring from annual cost-of-living increases, a​

4.22 change resulting in an increased premium shall not affect the premium amount until the​

4.23 next six-month review.​

4.24 (h) Premium payment is due upon notification from the commissioner of the premium​

4.25 amount required. Premiums may be paid in installments at the discretion of the commissioner.​

4.26 (i) Nonpayment of the premium shall result in denial or termination of medical assistance​

4.27 unless the person demonstrates good cause for nonpayment. "Good cause" means an excuse​

4.28 for the enrollee's failure to pay the required premium when due because the circumstances​

4.29 were beyond the enrollee's control or not reasonably foreseeable. The commissioner shall​

4.30 determine whether good cause exists based on the weight of the supporting evidence​

4.31 submitted by the enrollee to demonstrate good cause. Except when an installment agreement​

4.32 is accepted by the commissioner, all persons disenrolled for nonpayment of a premium must​

4.33 pay any past due premiums as well as current premiums due prior to being reenrolled.​

4​Sec. 3.​

COUNSEL LM/LB SCS1272A-1​02/10/23 05:16 pm ​



5.1 Nonpayment shall include payment with a returned, refused, or dishonored instrument. The​

5.2 commissioner may require a guaranteed form of payment as the only means to replace a​

5.3 returned, refused, or dishonored instrument.​

5.4 (j) (g) For enrollees whose income does not exceed 200 percent of the federal poverty​

5.5 guidelines who are: (1) eligible under this subdivision and who are also enrolled in Medicare,;​

5.6 and (2) not eligible for medical assistance reimbursement of Medicare premiums under​

5.7 subdivisions 3, 3a, 3b, or 4, the commissioner shall reimburse the enrollee for Medicare​

5.8 part A and Medicare part B premiums under section 256B.0625, subdivision 15, paragraph​

5.9 (a). and part A and part B coinsurance and deductibles. Reimbursement of the Medicare​

5.10 coinsurance and deductibles, when added to the amount paid by Medicare, must not exceed​

5.11 the total rate the provider would have received for the same service or services if the person​

5.12 was receiving benefits as a qualified Medicare beneficiary.​

5.13 (h) The commissioner must permit any individual who was disenrolled for nonpayment​

5.14 of premiums previously required under this subdivision to reapply for medical assistance​

5.15 under this subdivision and be reenrolled if eligible without paying past due premiums.​

5.16 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024, or upon federal approval,​

5.17 whichever occurs later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of​

5.18 statutes when federal approval is obtained."​
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