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Heat and Repairs

When a family pays its rent on time and in full, they have the right to a unit that is safe, healthy and fully func-
tional. But, too often, renters in Minnesota have little recourse when their landlords do not provide timely
and required maintenance or repairs that are included in their lease. HOME Line calls for the following policy

changes to ensure that renter households have fair access to due process and the legal right to safe and

healthy living conditions.

CURRENT LANDSCAPE
Heat Code

HOME Line receives hundreds of calls each year about lack of
heat or inadequate heating, which can have serious health
consequences, particularly for children and seniors.
Currently, there is a hodgepodge of city-adopted

minimum heat codes for rental properties across

the state, many of which simply require that heating
equipment be able to heat units to a certain temperature,

not that they actually maintain apartments at that
temperature.

Emergency Repairs

Minnesota law lists only the following as emergency issues,
allowing an expedited process to get into court:
e |oss of running water
e |oss of hot water
e |oss of heat
e |oss of electricity
e |oss of sanitary facilities
e |loss of other essential services (“essential services”
serves as a catch-all, but is difficult to know what else
might be covered)

Court Filing Fees

If a landlord fails to comply with repair orders/requests,
tenants can file a Rent Escrow in court for approximately
$70 to enforce their rights. This is set by law at the

same price as a small claims court to make it accessible.
However, if a tenant has a serious emergency, such as

no heat in the winter or being locked out of their home

by the landlord, the tenant has to pay the full court filing
fee of $300 for an Emergency Tenant Remedies Action
(ETRA) or a lockout petition.

OUR PROPOSALS

Minnesota would have a statewide minimum
heat code, enforceable both by city rental
inspectors where applicable, and by
individual tenants through their own

private court actions. If the tenant does
not control the heat, from Oct 1 to April
30 the heating would be maintained at a
minimum of 68 degrees Fahrenheit.

The law would include, but not be limited to,
the following emergencies: no working
refrigerator; no working air conditioning
(if rental was advertised as having air
conditioning and included in the lease);
loss of any conditions, services, or
facilities that pose a serious and negative
impact on health or safety; Notice of Intent to
Condemn for unsafe/unsanitary conditions; non-
working elevators; serious infestations?

Filing an Emergency Tenant Remedies Action /
Lockout petition would be the same cost as
the lower small claims court filing fee for
rent escrow, making it more accessible
for tenants facing serious and immediate
housing repairs.

1- These are among the most common seriously harmful rental housing disrepair scenarios we hear from tenants throughout the
state. Each situation can effectively cause displacement, detrimental health effects, or worse; and should be remedied quickly.

Questions? Contact HOME Line’s Public Policy Director, Michael Dahl, michaeld@homelinemn.org



