## Minnesota State Senate

Transportation Committee
Friday, March 31, 2023
2:00 PMLivestream YouTube

## **Minutes**

<u>Present</u>: Senator D. Scott Dibble - Chair, Senator Jim Carlson, Senator Julia E. Coleman, Senator Foung Hawj, Senator John R. Jasinski, Senator Andrew R. Lang, Senator Jennifer A. McEwen, Senator Lindsey Port

Absent: Senator Kelly L. Morrison - Vice Chair, Senator Jeff R. Howe

Chair D. Scott Dibble called the meeting to order at 2:07pm.

<u>S.F. 3187:</u> Senator Kupec: A bill for an act relating to transportation; rail safety; providing for emergency incident preparedness for rail transport of oil and other hazardous substances; establishing railroad training requirements; expanding training requirements to emergency managers and incident response teams; requiring incident reports; amending data provisions; modifying assessment of railroads; transferring money; appropriating money.

Senator Kupec presented S.F.3187.

Senator Kupec offered the A3 Amendment. This passed via voice vote.

Senator Jasinski moved the A2 Amendment. Via voice vote, the motion prevailed.

Testimony was heard from the following individuals:

- Gabe Tweten, Clay County Emergency Management Director (REMOTE)
- Ronald Williams, Citizens Acting for Rail Safety Twin Cities
- Claire Ruebeck, Citizens Acting for Rail Safety Twin Cities (REMOTE)
- Joel Mueller, Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers and Trainmen
- Katie Nicholson

Senator Jim Carlson moved that S.F.3187 pass and be re-referred to the Committee on Judiciary and Public Safety. Via voice vote, the motion prevailed.

<u>S.F. 3157:</u> Senator Dibble: Transportation Finance Omnibus: Public Testimony (please see instructions for offering written or inperson testimony).

This time was reserved for public testimony and input. No action was taken of S.F.3157 and it was laid on the table at the conclusion of testimony.

Testimony was heard from the following individuals:

- Bob Jacobson, MN Department of Public Safety Commissioner
- Nancy Daubenberger, MN Department of Transportation Commissioner
- Charlie Zelle, Metropolitan Council Chair
- Steve Huser, City of Minneapolis
- Hollies Winston, Brooklyn Park Mayor
- Adam Bell, Crystal City Manager
- Forest Eibdo, Crystal City Council Member
- Mia Parisian, Robbinsdale City Council Member
- Marion Greene, Hennepin County Commissioner

- George Berg, Kandiyohi County Commissioner (REMOTE)
- Ryan Daniel, MN Public Transit Association
- Pat Benner, AFSCME Council 5
- Ryan Timlin, ATU Local 1005
- John Pollard, IUOE Local 49
- Kris Fredson, LIUNA MN and ND
- Cap O'Rourke, MN Association of Small Cities
- Emily Murray, Association of MN Counties
- Gary Burdorf, MN Association of Townships
- Julie Hanson
- Matt Massman, MN Inter-County Association
- Shane Zahrt, Coalition of Greater MN Cities
- Margaret Donahoe, MN Transportation Alliance
- Luther Wynder, MN Valley Transit Authority
- Dan McConnell, MN Building and Construction Trades Council
- Devin Bruce, MN Association of Professional Employees
- Jamie Pfuhl, MN Grocers Association
- Bruce Nustad, MN Retailers Association
- Anna Odegaard, MN Asset Building Coalition
- Brian Martinson, MCTAB
- Jim Hirst, MN Deputy Registrars' Association
- Todd Hill, Deputy Registrar Business Owners Association
- Dorian Grilley, Bicycle Alliance of MN
- Aurora Vautrin, 100% Campaign
- Abdinasir Nourkadi, Move MN
- Moaz Uddin, Drive Electric MN
- Patrick Hynes, Alliance for Automotive Innovation
- Brendan Jordan, Future Fuels Coalition
- Steve Morse, MN Environmental Partnership
- Joshua Houdek, Sierra Club North Star Chapter
- Grace Waltz, Minneapolis Regional Chamber
- Amity Foster, ISAIAH
- JJ Haywood, Pizza Lucé
- David Benowitz, Craft and Crew Hospitality
- Jill Sims, Hospitality MN
- Kylee Smet
- Bryce Riesner
- Katie Nicholson
- Jesse Cook
- Darwin Schaeferlane
- Matthew Holinshead, Sierra Club

The meeting was adjourned at 4:45pm

1) Scott Dibble

Senator D. Scott Dibble, Chair

**Alex Will, Legislative Assistant** 

Atextur