# Minnesota State Senate

Transportation Committee Friday, March 24, 2023 1:00 PMLivestream YouTube

Minutes

<u>Present</u>: Senator D. Scott Dibble - Chair, Senator Kelly L. Morrison Vice Chair, Senator Jim Carlson, Senator Julia E. Coleman, Senator Foung Hawj, Senator John R. Jasinski, Senator Andrew R. Lang, Senator Jennifer A. McEwen, Senator Lindsey Port

Absent: Senator Jeff R. Howe

Chair D. Scott Dibble called the meeting to order at 1:10pm. After every agenda item, time was allotted for discussion and questions amongst committee members.

## S.F. 2250: Senator Kunesh: Transfer requirement of Upper Sioux Agency State Park.

Tim Greenfield, Senate Counsel, clarified the scope of S.F.2250 in the scope of the Transportation Committee

Senator Mary K. Kunesh presented S.F.2250.

Senator Kunesh offered the A1 Amendment. Senator Jennifer A. McEwen moved the A1 amendment. Via voice vote, the motion prevailed.

Testimony was heard from the following individuals.

- Bob Meier, Minnesota Department of Natural Resources
- Jon Huseby, Minnesota Department of Transportation
- Erik Rudeen, Minnesota Department of Transportation

Senator Lindsey Port moved that S.F.2250, as amended, pass and be referred the Environment, Climate, and Legacy Committee. Via voice vote, the motion prevailed.

# S.F. 3087: Senator Mohamed: Transportation management and assistance activities appropriation.

Chair Dibble gave the gavel to Senator Port.

Senator Dibble presented S.F.3087 on behalf of Senator Mohamed

#### Transportation management and assistance activities appropriation

Testimony was heard by the following individuals:

- Commissioner Sheila Kiscaden, Olmsted County
- Sam Rockwell, Move Minnesota
- Hanna Zinn, Move Minneapolis

S.F.3087 was laid over.

Senator Port returned the gavel to Chair Dibble.

# S.F. 2171: Senator Rest: Redistricting provision of the Metropolitan Council districts.

Senator Ann H. Rest presented S.F.2171.

Senator Rest offered the A2 amendment.

Senator Port moved an oral amendment on the A2 amendment. The oral amendment was to insert "February 27" after the word "delete" on Line 1.3. Via voice vote, the motion prevailed, and the oral amendment was adopted on the A2 amendment.

Senator Port moved the A2 amendment. Via voice vote, the motion prevailed.

Testimony was heard from the following individuals:

• Judd Schetnan, Metropolitan Council (available for questions)

Chair Dibble moved that S.F.2171, as amended, pass and be referred to the Senate Floor. Via voice vote, the motion prevailed.

### S.F. 2753: Senator Dibble: Refundable sustainable aviation fuel tax credit and related sales tax exemption establishment.

Chair Dibble gave the gavel to Senator Port.

Chair Dibble presented S.F.2753.

- Testimony was heard from the following individuals:
- Tim Sexton, Minnesota Department of Transportation
- Roy Fuhrmann, Metropolitan Airports Commission
- Peter Frosch, Greater MSP
- Jeff Davidman, Delta Air Lines
- Matt O'Mahoney, Delta Air Lines
- Brendan Jordan, Great Plains Institute
- Kathleen Schuler, Health Professionals for a Healthy Climate
- Peter Wagenius, Sierra Club North Star Chapter

Chair Dibble moved that S.F.2753 pass and be referred to the Tax Committee. Via voice vote, the motion prevailed.

Senator Port returned the gavel to Chair Dibble.

# <u>S.F. 2983:</u> Senator Champion: Hennepin County North Minneapolis Service Center full-service deputy registrar\'s office establishment.

Senator Bobby Joe Champion presented S.F.2983.

Testimony was heard from the following individuals:

- Commissioner Irene Fernando, Hennepin County
- Patrick Earley, North Minneapolis Service Center

Chair Dibble moved that S.F.2983 pass and be referred to the Senate floor. Via voice vote, the motion prevailed.

Chair Dibble adjourned the meeting at 2:14pm.

O. Scott Dibble

Senator D. Scott Dibble, Chair

t.la

Alex Will, Legislative Assistant