

March 20, 2023

The Honorable Senator Scott Dibble Senate Transportation Committee 75 Rev Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Boulevard St. Paul, MN 55155

Dear Chairman Dibble:

On behalf of AAA—The Auto Club Group, with more than 630,000 AAA members in Minnesota, I am writing to express AAA's support for the proposed SF 2321/The Safe Roads Act. This act would establish an Advisory Council on traffic safety, provide a technical fix to the hands-free bill, and provide funding for numerous pilot projects, and community and enforcement programs, all of which will help increase traffic safety and reduce roadway fatalities in Minnesota.

As a traffic-safety organization, AAA strives to ensure members' safety on roadways throughout the state by advocating for safe driving education, behavior, and legislation. In the last few years, traffic fatalities and serious injuries have been trending upward – the wrong direction. The proposed Safe Roads Act would provide funding for traffic safety initiatives and bring together key players throughout the state so that we can all work together to create safer roadways through numerous fronts.

Currently, there are many separate organizations and coalitions all working to reduce traffic fatalities on the small scale, but no one group has all the key players and funding needed to make large impacts throughout the state. The proposed advisory council would be able to bridge this gap. Additionally, the funding pieces and pilot projects would help equip traffic safety partners from multiple disciplines to be able to create actionable campaigns, implement programs, and conduct research that will help make Minnesota roadways safer for all users now and in the future.

Please do not hesitate to reach out if you would like further information on this topic and why we support it as a great step forward in the traffic safety sphere. We stand at the ready to work with the committee and bill sponsors to address this growing problem on Minnesota roadways.

Sincerely, Meredith Mitts

cc: Senate Transportation Committee Members