Minnesota State Senate

Transportation Committee
Friday, March 17, 2023
1:30 PMLivestream YouTube

Minutes

<u>Present</u>: Senator D. Scott Dibble - Chair, Senator Kelly L. Morrison Vice Chair, Senator Jim Carlson, Senator Julia E. Coleman, Senator Foung Hawj, Senator John R. Jasinski, Senator Andrew R. Lang, Senator Jennifer A. McEwen, Senator Lindsey Port

Absent: Senator Jeff R. Howe

Chair D. Scott Dibble Called the meeting to order at 1:46pm. After every bill was presented, there was time for discussions and questions from the committee.

<u>S.F. 2499:</u> Senator Abeler: Fees provision and dismissal for certified birth records, identification cards and driver\'s licenses for persons treated for substance use disorder who are eligible for medical assistance.

Senator Jim Abeler presented S.F.2499.

Senator John R. Jasinski moved the A3 amendment. Via voice vote, the motion prevailed.

Testimony was heard from the following individuals:

• Brian Zirbes, Northstar Behavioral Heath

Senator Jasinski moved that S.F.2499, as amended, be recommended to pass, and referred to the committee on Human Services. The motion prevailed.

Chair Dibble gave the gavel to Senator Lindsey Port who chaired the meeting in his absence.

S.F. 1562: Senator Dibble: Federal transportation grants technical assistance and match requirements appropriation.

Chair Dibble presented S.F.1562.

Chair Dibble moved the A3 amendment. Via voice vote, the motion prevailed.

Testimony was heard from the following individuals:

- Anne Finn, League of Minnesota Cities
- Emily Murray, Association of Minnesota Counties
- Margaret Donahoe, Minnesota Transportation Alliance

S.F.1562 was laid over.

S.F. 203: Senator Morrison: Transportation management and assistance activities appropriation.

Chair Dibble, on behalf Vice Chair Kelly L. Morrison, presented S.F.203.

Testimony was heard from the following individuals:

• Melissa Madison, Executive Director – 494 Corridor Coalition

S.F.203 was laid over.

Senator Port returned the gavel to Chair Dibble.

<u>S.F. 2591:</u> Senator McEwen: Certain entities use of public roads for the purpose of constructing, using, operating and maintaining high voltage transmission lines authorization.

Senator Jennifer A McEwen presented S.F.2591.

Senator McEwen moved the A2 amendment. Via voice vote, the motion prevailed.

Testimony was heard from the following individuals:

- Nancy Daubenberger, Commissioner MnDOT
- Danell Herzig, NextEra Energy Resources
- Beth Soholt, Clean Grid Alliance
- Mark Rathbun, Great River Energy
- Lucas Franco, LIUNA Minnesota and North Dakota

S.F.2591 was laid on the table pending the possible adoption of A3 Amendment. The A3 was not adopted or voted on, but it was considered.

S.F. 2650: Senator Carlson: Small community partnerships on infrastructure projects appropriation.

Senator Jim Carlson presented S.F.2650.

Testimony was heard from the following individuals:

• Patrick Chilton, Minnesota Valley Transit Authority

S.F.2650 was laid over.

S.F. 622: Senator Jasinski: Requirement modification of a study on post-COVID pandemic public transportation.

Senator Jasinski presented S.F.622.

Senator Jasinski moved the A2 amendment. Via voice vote, the motion prevailed.

Senator Jasinski moved that S.F.622 be passed as amended and be referred to the Finance Committee. Via voice vote, the motion prevailed.

S.F. 1545: Senator Jasinski: Description amendment of the Caleb L. Erickson Memorial Highway.

Senator Jasinski presented S.F.1545.

Senator Jasinski moved that S.F.1545 pass and be referred to the floor. Via voice vote, the motion prevailed.

S.F. 1823: Senator Jasinski: Corridors of Commerce program appropriation.

Senator Jasinski presented S.F.1823.

Testimony was heard from the following individuals:

• Shane Zahrt, Coalition of Greater Minnesota Cities

S.F.1823 was laid over.

S.F. 2804: Senator Carlson: Transit service appropriation.

Senator Carlson presented S.F.2804.

S.F.2804 was laid over.

S.F. 1859: Senator Jasinski: Selection process procedures modification for Corridors of Commerce projects.

Senator Jasinski presented S.F1859.

Testimony was heard from the following individuals:

• Shane Zahrt, Coalition of Greater Minnesota Cities

Senator Jasinski moved that S.F.1859 pass and be referred to the floor. Via voice vote, the motion prevailed.

Chair Dibble adjourned the meeting at 3:31pm.

O. Scott Dibble

Senator D. Scott Dibble, Chair

Alex Will, Legislative Assistant