Minnesota State Senate

Transportation Committee
Wednesday, March 15, 2023
3:00 PMLivestream YouTube

Minutes

<u>Present</u>: Senator D. Scott Dibble - Chair, Senator Kelly L. Morrison Vice Chair, Senator Jim Carlson, Senator Foung Hawj, Senator John R. Jasinski, Senator Andrew R. Lang, Senator Jennifer A. McEwen, Senator Lindsey Port

Absent: Senator Julia E. Coleman, Senator Jeff R. Howe

Chair D. Scott Dibble called the meeting to order at 3:08pm. After every agenda item, time was allotted for committee discussion and questions.

<u>S.F. 2506:</u> Senator Dibble: Transit enforcement requirements modifications; transit service intervention project establishment; working group establishment; appropriating money.

The new Metro Transit police, Ernest Morales III, chief provided an introduction and outlined his intentions as chief.

Chair Dibble gave the gavel to Vice Chair Kelly L. Morrison.

Chair Dibble presented S.F.2506.

S.F.2506 was laid over (the contents of this bill were included in an amendment to S.F.1049.

S.F. 1049: Senator Dibble: Metropolitan Council authorization to issue administrative citations for transit fare evasion.

Chair Dibble presented S.F.1049.

Senator Dibble moved the A1 Amendment. This amendment largely combined the contents of both bills into the amended S.F.1049. Via voice vote, the motion prevailed, and the A1 amendment was adopted.

Testimony was heard from the following individuals:

- Eva Johnson and Aidan Kilgannon
- Brooke Blakey, City of Saint Paul
- Will Schroeer, East Metro Strong
- Commissioner Jeff Lunde, Hennepin County (REMOTE)
- Jonah Rothstein (REMOTE)
- Bentley Graves, Minnesota Chamber of Commerce
- Judd Schetnan, Metropolitan Council
- Beth Blick

Senator Jasinski moved the A6 Amendment. Via voice vote, the motion prevailed and the A6 amendment was adopted.

Senator Jasinski moved the A7 Amendment. Via voice vote, the motion prevailed and the A7 amendment was adopted.

Senator Jennifer A. McEwen moved that S.F.1049 pass and be referred to the Judiciary and Public Safety Committee. Via voice vote, the motion prevailed.

S.F. 1933: Senator Marty: Metro Mobility partnership pilot program establishment.

Senator Marty presented S.F.1933.

Senator Marty offered the A1 amendment. Chair Dibble moved this amendment and via voice vote, the motion prevailed.

Testimony was heard from the following individuals:

- Mark Hughes
- Trevor Turner, Minnesota Council on Disability
- Charles Carson, Metropolitan Council

Senator Jasinski moved the A2 amendment. Via voice vote, the motion prevailed.

S.F.1933, as amended, was laid over.

<u>S.F. 2648:</u> Senator Seeberger: Public access automated external defibrillators appropriation to be placed in state parks, public boat accesses, waysides and school districts.

Senator Seeberger presented S.F.2648.

Testimony was heard from the following individuals:

- Joel Vogel, Advocates for Health
- Kaitlyn Gilk, Advocates for Health
- Rich Feneis, Advocates for Health (REMOTE)

Senator Jasinski moved the A1 amendment. Via voice vote, the motion prevailed, and the A1 amendment was adopted.

Vice Chair Morrison moved that S.F.2648, as amended, pass and be referred to the Committee on Environment, Climate and Legacy. Via voice vote, the motion prevailed.

S.F. 1579: Senator Jasinski: Electronic signature to transfer ownership of vehicle to insurer after payment of damages authorization.

Senator Jasinski presented S.F.1579.

Testimony was heard from the following individuals:

• Todd Hill

Senator Jasinski moved that S.F.1579 pass and be referred to the floor. This passed via voice vote.

Chair Dibble adjourned the meeting at 5:10pm.

Senator D. Scott Dibble, Chair

O. Scott Dibble

Alex Will, Legislative Assistant

Attextula