Senate Counsel, Research, and Fiscal Analysis

A Senate

Minnesota Senate Building i
95 University Ave. W. Suite 3300 State of Minnesota

St. PauL, MN 55155-1800
(651) 296-4791
www.senate.mn/scrfa

S.F. No. 2099 — Driver and vehicle service process modifications

Author: Senator John R. Jasinski
Prepared by: Tim Greenfield, Senate Counsel (651/296-3801)
Date: March 9, 2023

S.F. 2099 makes various changes to driver and vehicle services processes to implement the
recommendations from the “Driver and Vehicle Services Report of the Independent Expert Review’
(“Report”) submitted to the legislature on January 12, 2022.1

b

Section 1 [Full-service provider] provides a definition of “full-service provider” in chapter 168
(vehicle registration). A full-service provider is a person who performs the functions of both a
deputy registrar and a full-service driver’s license agent. This corresponds to the term “full-service
deputy registrar” used in the Report.

Section 2 [Records and fees] authorizes full-service providers to issue driver and vehicle records
and collect a fee.

Section 3 [Requests for information; surcharge on fee] requires a full-service provider to impose
a surcharge on certain requests. The full-service provider must submit the fee to the commissioner
to be deposited into the general fund. Effective January 1, 2024.

Section 4 [Exception to fee and surcharge] prohibits a full-service provider from collecting the
surcharge referenced in section 3 in certain situations.

Section 5 [Monitoring and auditing] requires the commissioner of public safety to monitor and
audit full-service providers providing documents in section 3 to ensure compliance with state and
federal law. Effective January 1, 2024.

Section 6 [Use of Vehicle Registration Information] allows information about vehicle
registrations to be provided over the phone to the owner of the vehicle.

! The full report is available here:

https://www.senate.mn/committees/2021-
2022/3102_Committee_on_Transportation_Finance_and_Policy/IER%20Final%20Report%20-
%20Jan%2012%202022.pdf



Section 7 [Reports confidential; evidence, fee, penalty, appropriation] allows a full-service
provider to provide copies of accident reports and to collect a fee. The full-service provider collects
a fee for the request and retains the majority of the fee but must submit a portion of the fee to the
commissioner to be deposited into the general fund.

Section 8 [Monitoring and auditing] requires the commissioner of public safety to monitor and
audit full-service providers providing documents in section 7 to ensure compliance with state and
federal law. Effective January 1, 2024.

Section 9 [Definition of full-service provider] provides definition of “full-service provider” in
Chapter 171 and cross-references the definition provided in section 1.

Section 10 [Pre-application] requires the commissioner to establish a electronic process for an
applicant to submit a preapplication to apply for a driver’s license or identification card. The
preapplication process applies to the commissioner, full-service providers, and driver’s license
agents.

Section 11 [Fees] increases the filing fee for driver’s license transactions. Fees for a new
application for a noncompliant, REAL ID-compliant, or enhanced driver’s license or identification
card are $16, while fees for a renewal application are $11.

Section 12 [Manual and study materials availability] requires the commissioner to post on the
department’s website the driver’s manual and study support materials for the written and skills
exam.

Section 13 [Driver and vehicle services information system; security and auditing] requires
users of MnDRIVE to make a notation when accessing records under certain circumstances.
Prohibits the commissioner from suspending or revoking access to MnDRIVE when the person
properly accessed the data, regardless of whether a transaction was complete. It also requires the
commissioner to establish an appeals process.

Section 14 [Examination subjects and locations; provisions for color blindness, disabled
veterans] requires the commissioner to ensure that 50 or more exam stations are located throughout
the state. The existing requirements on exam station locations is stricken. The requirement that the
commissioner ensure applicants are able to obtain an appointment within 13 days is stricken. The
commissioner is required to provide real-time information on the department’s website about
availability and location of exam appointments.

Section 15 [Waiver when license issued by another jurisdiction] eliminates the requirement for
new Minnesota residents to take the written knowledge test when getting a Minnesota driver’s
license.

Section 16 [Exam pass rates] requires the Department of Public Safety to publicly post student
pass rates for each driver training school. Requires each driver training school to submit a list of
students who completed coursework at the school every six months.

Section 17 [Report; implementation] requires the Department of Public Safety to report to the

legislature on the implementation of the provisions in the bill and the other recommendations and
plans provided in the Report. The commissioner must report to the legislature at the end of the
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year about which recommendations have been implemented, are in the process of being
implemented, or will not be implemented. The commissioner must also report on whether the
recommendations from the March 2021 report by the Legislative Auditor have been implemented.

Section 18 [Appropriation] appropriates $7,000,000 in FY 2024 and $7,000,000 in FY 2025 from
the vehicle services operating account to the commissioner of public safety to make payments to

deputy registrars (including those registrars who are full-service providers) based on number of
transactions.



