Minnesota State Senate

Transportation Committee
Monday, March 6, 2023
3:00 PMLivestream YouTube

Minutes

<u>Present</u>: Senator D. Scott Dibble - Chair, Senator Kelly L. Morrison Vice Chair, Senator Jim Carlson, Senator Julia E. Coleman, Senator Foung Hawj, Senator Jeff R. Howe, Senator John R. Jasinski, Senator Andrew R. Lang, Senator Jennifer A. McEwen, Senator Lindsey Port

Absent: No Members Absent

Chair D. Scott Dibble called the Transportation Committee to order at 3:06pm. After every bill presentation and before committee action, time was allotted for committee discussions and questions.

S.F. 1624: Senator Dibble: Election provision of Metropolitan Council members.

Chair Dibble gave the gavel to Vice Chair Kelly L. Morrison for the duration of his bill presentations.

Chair Dibble presented S.F.1624.

Testimony was heard from the following individuals:

- Myron Orfield, University of Minnesota
- Robert Liberty, Former Portland, Oregon Metropolitan Councilor
- Marion Greene, Hennepin County Commissioner
- Patricia Nauman, Executive Director Metro Cities
- Janet Williams, Mayor City of Savage
- Brad Wiersum, Mayor City of Minnetonka
- David Robins, Stop Light Rail on 81
- Mary Pattock
- Tim David, No Rush Line Coalition

S.F.1624 was laid on the table.

<u>S.F. 1625:</u> Senator Dibble: Commissioner of transportation requirement to be the responsible authority for light rail transit projects.

Chair Dibble presented S.F.1625.

Chair Dibble moved the A3 amendment. Via voice vote, the motion prevailed.

Testimony was heard from the following individuals:

Erik Rudeen, MnDOT

S.F.1625, as amended, was laid over.

S.F. 721: Senator Jasinski: Maximum documentary fees charged by dealers on motor vehicle sales and leases increase.

Senator John R. Jasinski presented S.F.721.

Senator Jasinski moved the A1 Amendment. Via voice vote, the motion prevailed.

Testimony was heard from the following individuals:

• Amber Backhaus, Minnesota Automobile Dealers Association

Senator Jasinski moved S.F.721, as amended be recommended to pass and sent to general orders. Via voice vote, the motion prevailed.

S.F. 1281: Senator Howe: Definition of physically disabled person amendment for the purposes of parking permits.

Senator Jeff R. Howe presented S.F.1281

Testimony was heard from the following individuals:

- Norb Jost
- Chuck D. Waletzko
- Trevor Turner, Minnesota Council on Disability

Senator Howe moved that S.F.1281 do pass and be referred to general orders. Via voice vote, the motion prevailed.

S.F. 2272: Senator Morrison: 24-hour grace period to clear disability parking spaces of obstructions elimination.

Vice Chair Morrison presented S.F.2272

Testimony was heard from the following individuals:

Trevor Turner, Minnesota Council on Disability

Senator Jasinski moved the A1 amendment. Via voice vote, the motion prevailed.

Vice Chair Morrison moved that S.F.2272, as amended, do pass and be referred to the senate floor. Via voice vote the motion prevailed.

Chair Dibble adjourned the meeting at 5:04pm.

Senator D. Scott Dibble, Chair

D. Scott Dibble

Alex Will, Legislative Assistant

Atextul