COUNSEL

1.1	Senator moves to amend S.F. No. 721 as follows:
1.2	Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:

^{1.3} "Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168.27, subdivision 31, is amended to read:

1.4 Subd. 31. Documentary fee. (a) A motor vehicle dealer may not charge a documentary

1.5 fee or document administration fee in excess of the amounts provided under paragraph (b)

1.6 for services actually rendered to, for, or on behalf of the retail buyer or lessee to prepare,

1.7 handle, and process documents for the closing of a motor vehicle retail sale or lease of a

1.8 vehicle being registered in the state of Minnesota. The fee must be separately stated on the

1.9 sales agreement maintained under Minnesota Rules, part 7400.5200, and may be excluded1.10 from the dealer's advertised price.

1.11 (b) For motor vehicle sales or leases made on or after July 1, 2017 2023, through June

1.12 30, $\frac{2020}{2024}$, the maximum fee is $\frac{100}{100}$ the lesser of 200 or an amount equal to ten percent

1.13 of the value of the sale or lease. For motor vehicle sales or leases made on or after July 1,

1.14 2020 2024, through June 30, 2025, the maximum fee is \$125 the lesser of \$275 or an amount

1.15 equal to ten percent of the value of the sale or lease. For motor vehicle sales or leases made

- 1.16 on or after July 1, 2025, the maximum fee is the lesser of \$350 or an amount equal to ten
- 1.17 percent of the value of the sale or lease.
- 1.18 (c) "Documentary fee" and "document administration fee" do not include an optional
 1.19 electronic transfer fee as defined under section 53C.01, subdivision 14.

1.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for motor vehicle sales and leases made 1.21 on or after July 1, 2023."