Prepared by Dr. John W. Palmer, Ph.D. for members of the Senate Transportation Committee on February 27th 2023

An internet search found that the most recent status of State requirements of driver education is more than a decade old. As an Chair Emeritus of the Operator Education and Regulation Committee of the National Research Council's Transportation Research Board, editor of the Chronicle of Driver Education and member of the American Driver and Traffic Safety Education Association the information reported in 2012 is an accurate reflection of the current status of State requirements of driver education prior to driver licensure.

With 23 States, including Minnesota, requiring the successful completion of a driver education program prior to licensure as a driver, many under 18 candidates for a Minnesota Driver Licensure that move from another state will not have been required to successfully complete a driver education program prior to receiving a driver license from the state they are moving from. If the proposed deletion on line 1.10 becomes law, licensed under 18 year olds moving to Minnesota from states that do not require completion of a driver education program prior to licensure will be held to a lower standard than Minnesota under 18 driver license candidates.

The same standards should apply to all under 18 driver license candidates. Current law does apply the same standards to all under 18 driver license candidates. Current law should remain enforce to make sure all under 18 year olds who desire a driver license benefit from a driver education program. (Source information on the next page)

Current State of Driver Education

Researchers held in-depth discussions with driver licensing officials in 40 States, and conducted other extensive research efforts (e.g., Internet searches, driver manual reviews) for the remaining States to document the current status of driver edu- cation in the United States. The research efforts revealed that:

- ■■ Twenty-three States require driver education for all Drivers ers under 18. An additional 6 States require short prelicensing courses or drug-and-alcohol-awareness courses for all drivers under 18.
- ■In 35 States, a teen can obtain an unrestricted license before 18 whether or not he/she takes driver education. In 25 States, a teen who takes driver education can get an unrestricted license at a younger age.

TRAFFIC TECH Technology Transfer Series DOT HS 811 615 April 2012-

https://www.nhtsa.gov/traffic-tech/29621