Senate Counsel, Research, and Fiscal Analysis

A Senate

Minnesota Senate Building i
95 University Ave. W. Suite 3300 State of Minnesota

St. PauL, MN 55155-1800
(651) 296-4791
www.senate.mn/scrfa

S.F. No. 362 — Online Driver Education

Author: Senator John R. Jasinski
Prepared by: Tim Greenfield, Senate Counsel (651/296-3801)
Date: February 28, 2023

S.F. 362 authorizes online driver education for people under the age of 18. Under the current rule,
online driver education instruction may be offered to people at least 18 years old.

Section 1 [Person less than 18 years of age] reorganizes the statute allowing the Department of
Public Safety to issue an instruction permit to a person age 15, 16, or 17. Authorizes online driver
education courses as one of the ways a person can complete the driver education requirements.
Effective July 1, 2023.

Section 2 [Online driver education program] authorizes licensed driver education programs to
provide online driver education.

Online driver education programming standards must include: (1) a means for students to measure
performance outcomes; (2) a rotating pool of quiz questions; (3) accountability features to ensure
the identity of the student while engaged in online study; (4) a method of measuring the time spent
by the student in the course; (5) 24/7 technical support to customers; (6) a Minnesota driver
education instructor to monitor student progress and be available to answer questions in a timely
manner but not in real time; (7) secure storage of course content and student data; (8) preventative
measures to prevent unauthorized access to private data; (9) the ability to update course content
uniformly throughout the state; and (10) an online interactive supplemental parental curriculum.

Online driver education programs must meet the same standards and requirements as in-person
classes. Effective July 1, 2023.

Section 3 [Repealer] repeals the rule that authorizes online driver education programs for people
over the age of 18. Effective July 1, 2023.



