Minnesota State Senate

Transportation Committee Wednesday, February 15, 2023 **3:00 PMLivestream YouTube**

Minutes

<u>Present</u>: Senator D. Scott Dibble - Chair, Senator Kelly L. Morrison Vice Chair, Senator Jim Carlson, Senator Julia E. Coleman, Senator Foung Hawj, Senator Jeff R. Howe, Senator John R. Jasinski, Senator Andrew R. Lang, Senator Jennifer A. McEwen

Absent: Senator Lindsey Port

Chair D. Scott Dibble called the meeting to order at 3:02pm.

Metropolitan Council Budget Presentation

The Metropolitan Council presented their budget proposal.

Testimony was heard from the following individuals:

- Judd Schetnan, Metropolitan Council
- Chair Charlie Zelle, Metropolitan Council

The committee opened to discussion.

A quorum was announced by Chair Dibble.

S.F. 1053: Senator Port: Metropolitan Council authority clarification to establish fare programs and passes.

Chair Dibble gave the gavel to Vice Chair Kelly L. Morrison

Chair Dibble presented S.F.1053 on behalf of Senator Lindsey Port.

Testimony was heard from the following individuals:

- Judd Schetnan, Metropolitan Council
- Chair Charlie Zelle, Metropolitan Council
- Dennis Dworshak, Metro Transit

The committee opened to discussion.

Vice Chair Morrison moved that S.F.1053 pass and be referred to the floor. Via voice vote, the motion prevailed.

The gavel was returned to Chair Dibble.

S.F. 1417: Senator McEwen: Minimum crew size requirement for certain rail carriers.

Senator McEwen presented S.F.1417

Testimony was heard from the following individuals:

- Joel Mueller, Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers and Trainmen
- Nick Katich, SMART-TD
- Sarah Erickson, Minnesota Regional Rail Association
- Ronald Williams, Citizens Acting for Rail Safety Twin Cities
- Ronald Williams, Citizens Acting for Rail Safety Twin Cities

The committee opened to discussion.

Senator Jasinski moved the A2 amendment. Via voice vote, the motion prevailed and the amendment was adopted.

Senator McEwen moved that S.F.1417 pass and be referred to the committee on Judiciary and Public Safety. Via voice vote, the motion prevailed.

Chair Dibble adjourned the meeting at 4:40pm.

Scott Dibble

Senator D. Scott Dibble, Chair

vtik

Alex Will, Legislative Assistant