Senate Counsel, Research, and Fiscal Analysis

Alexis C. Stangl, Director

Minnesota Senate Building 95 University Ave. W. Suite 3300 St. Paul, MN 55155-1800 (651) 296-4791 www.senate.mn/scrfa



S.F. No. 1336 – Various DPS Policy Changes

Author: Senator Foung Hawi

Prepared by: Alexis C. Stangl, Director (651/296-4397)

Date: February 13, 2023

Section 1 [General requirements; fees] allows an applicant for a veterans service organization special plate to present a valid membership card for the Disabled American Veterans.

Section 2 [No fee] specifies that the commissioner of public safety must not charge fees for a personalized Gold Star plate.

Section 3 [USDOT numbers] strikes language related to a person who does not have a USDOT number at the time of registration of certain vehicles.

Section 4 [Dealer's licenses; location change notice; fee] increases the time for issuing a dealer license from 120 days to 180 days after issuance of the temporary license. Makes formatting changes. Allows the commissioner of public safety to deny a license if a dealer is not in compliance with location requirements or has misrepresented information in the dealer license application that would be grounds for suspending or revoking the license.

Section 5 [Dealer plates; distinguishing number, fee, tax, use] strikes an obsolete term.

Section 6 [Records] changes when dealer records may be inspected. Current law allows inspection during reasonable business hours. The bill allows for inspection during the hours listed in the initial dealer license application or on the dealer record.

Section 7 [Special registration plates] strikes the requirement to provide information on a driver when applying for a registration plates for a vehicle subject to an impoundment order.

Section 8 [Contents of application; other information] requires an application for a driver's license or ID card to allow for the applicant to provide caretaker information.

Section 9 [Remote application for incarcerated individuals] requires the commissioner of public safety to establish a process for individuals who are incarcerated to apply remotely for a driver's license or ID card. The commissioner may renew a driver's license or ID card for a person who is

incarcerated if the applicant demonstrates eligibility for the license and other specified criteria are satisfied. The applicant is not required to take a knowledge or road test.

Section 10 [Evidence; lawful status] specifies which documents may be used to demonstrate lawful status when applying for a REAL ID driver's license or ID card.

Section 11 [Evidence; residence in Minnesota] expands the list of documents a person may use to demonstrate residence in the state when applying for a REAL ID driver's license or ID card.

Section 12 [Caretaker information] allows an applicant for a driver's license or ID card to include names and contact information for up to three individuals receiving exclusive care from the applicant. Caretaker data are classified as private data on individuals but may be shared with law enforcement agencies to notify cared-for individuals in an emergency.

Section 13 [Repealer] repeals two subdivisions. **Minn. Stat. 168.345, subd. 1**, prohibitions providing information about vehicle registrations over the phone. **Minn. Stat. 171.06, subd. 3a**, allows a married applicant to include the applicant's previous surname instead of the applicant's given middle name.