Minnesota State Senate

Transportation Committee
Wednesday, February 8, 2023
6:00 PM or At the Call of the ChairLivestream YouTube

Minutes

<u>Present</u>: Senator D. Scott Dibble - Chair, Senator Kelly L. Morrison Vice Chair, Senator Jim Carlson, Senator Julia E. Coleman, Senator Foung Hawj, Senator Jeff R. Howe, Senator John R. Jasinski, Senator Andrew R. Lang, Senator Jennifer A. McEwen, Senator Lindsey Port

Absent: No Members Absent

Chair D. Scott Dibble called the meeting to order at 3:01pm.

Presentations on Bicycle Safety, Pedestrian Safety, and School Bus Safety

The following testimony was heard:

- Ethan Fawley, City of Minneapolis
- Jordan Kocak, Hennepin County
- Mike Hanson, Minnesota Department of Public Safety
- Tess Korbesmeyer Holman
- Biiftuu Ibrahim Adam, Minnesota Department of Public Safety
- Dorian Grilley, Bicycle Alliance of Minnesota
- Louis Moore, Major Taylor Bicycling Club of Minnesota
- Scott Sherman, Mayor of Winona
- Will Wlizlo, Richfield Public Schools, ISD #280
- Angela Olson, Bicycle Alliance of Minnesota
- Kennis Littleton, Venture North Bikes & Coffee, Minneapolis
- Patrick Hollister, Partnership 4 Health, Fergus Falls
- Cindy Winters, Greater Mankato Biking&Walking Advocates (REMOTE)
- Reyna Lopez, Latinos en Bici MN
- Helena Howard, Bicycle Alliance of Minnesota
- Morgan Maki, Erik's Bike, Board, Ski
- Andy Lambert, Cyclehoop US

S.F. 912: Senator Morrison: Bill Dooley Bicycle Safety Act.

Vice Chair Kelly L. Morrison presented S.F.912.

Senator Morrison moved the A2 amendment. Via voice vote, the motion prevailed.

The following Testimony was heard:

- Dorian Grilley, Bicycle Alliance of Minnesota
- Kirby Beck, retired police officer and bike safety expert witness

Senator Morrison moved that S.F.912 be recommended to pass and re-referred to the committee on Education Policy. This motion prevailed via voice vote.

<u>S.F. 1335:</u> Senator Dibble: Policy changes related to State Patrol duties, including school bus inspections, commercial vehicle inspections, and rearview mirror requirements.

Chair Dibble announced that S.F.1335 would not be heard.

S.F. 241: Senator Draheim: School buses requirement to be equipped with stop-signal arm extensions establishment.

Senator Rich Draheim presented S.F.241.

S.F.241 was laid over.

S.F. 243: Senator Draheim: School bus safety education campaign appropriation.

Senator Draheim presented S.F.243.

S.F.243 was laid over.

S.F. 976: Senator Housley: Appropriation for school bus stop-signal arm camera systems amendment.

Senator Karin Housley presented S.F.976.

Senator Housley offered the A1 amendment. Ranking member Senator John R. Jasinski moved the A1 amendment. This motion was adopted via voice vote.

The following testimony was heard:

• Scott H. McMahon, Minnesota School Bus Operators Association

S.F.976 was laid over.

S.F. 3: Senator Boldon: Voter registration provisions modification.

Senator Liz Boldon presented S.F.3.

The following testimony was heard:

- Sean Lim, Minnesota Youth Collective
- Leota Goodney, ISAIAH
- Paul Huffman, League of Women Voters
- Sara Bertschinger
- Sarah Gonski, Center for Secure & Modern Elections

The committee recessed at 5:11pm

The committee was called back to order at 6:08pm by Chair Dibble.

Discussion continued on S.F.3

Senator Jasinski moved the A43 amendment. This failed via voice vote.

Senator Jeff R. Howe offered A44 amendment. This failed via voice vote.

Vice Chair Morrison moved that S.F.3 pass and be referred to the committee on Health and Human Services. The motion prevailed via voice vote.

Chair Dibble adjourned the meeting at 6:16pm.

Senator D. Scott Dibble, Chair

O. Scott Dibble

Alex Will, Legislative Assistant